General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Hairs on August 21, 2023, 06:46:51 PM

Title: 2023-2024 Fire Season.
Post by: Hairs on August 21, 2023, 06:46:51 PM
The Clarence Valley has just been classified as a S44.
Which is declared a high Fire Risk, the Commisoner can ask for what ever resources needed from the state to attend.
With windy conditions, and fires throughout The Clarence Valley over the last week or more, Brigades have been stretched.
A Chinook Water Bomber was use yesterday on a fire near Coutts Crossing.
Our Brigade, lost a Cat7 on Friday night,  our town was under threat. Local farmers used tractors & bulldozers to help put in fire breaks.
Yet yesterday, a neighbour thought it was a good time to burn off 2 piles of fallen trees, about 6 acres were burnt, Our team attended, 3 hours, two appliances(Cat1 & 9), 6 volunteers.
I believe he will be charged.
Frosts over the last 2 months has the grass dead, it's not looking good.
Just thought I would share this, Be prepared, clean up around your property, clean gutters, do not have open fires.
To all Myswag members who are members of  their local Bush Fire Brigades and emergency services, Take care.

You don't use magic to disappear, ya use a 4x4 & Swag.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230821/3ce58bacac925a25dc454d8252a92966.jpg)
Title: Re: 2023-2024 Fire Season.
Post by: Bad Scott on August 21, 2023, 07:40:22 PM
Being home at the right time in a loooooooong time will allow me to do a massive garden clean up.
Big clean, Big cuts, Big burns

Sent from the roads less travelled

Post by: Fizzie on August 22, 2023, 07:06:46 AM
Our Brigade, lost a Cat7 on Friday night,  our town was under threat. Local farmers used tractors & bulldozers to help put in fire breaks.

"Just" grass fires, or bush ???
Post by: Hairs on August 22, 2023, 07:21:18 AM
"Just" grass fires, or bush ???
Hi Fizzie, both.
The farming country is dry as, dead grass, as well as dry swamp country, so it's attacked from the air, back burn, and wait for it burn it's self out.
The fire jumped Sportsman's creek into pine plantation.

Post by: Hairs on August 22, 2023, 07:26:17 AM
Some 4000ha have burnt in the last 10 day from this fire.
It started in country west of the summerland H/way, Dilkoon.(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230821/591d6e5185c4429835c324ecc68f8db1.jpg)

Post by: Bird on August 22, 2023, 10:25:11 AM
Quote from: Hairs
Our Brigade, lost a Cat7 on Friday night, 
Define lost ??? ??? ???

Saw the news sayin there was a bit going on in your area..
Post by: Hairs on August 22, 2023, 12:31:44 PM
Define lost ??? ??? ???

It ended up in the Creek, missed a turn in the smoke.
All are safe, but wet.

Post by: Bad Scott on August 22, 2023, 12:33:55 PM
Define lost ??? ??? ???

Lost but found.
Sounds familiar eh Bird

Post by: austastar on August 22, 2023, 01:09:39 PM
   'Lost' reminds me of.....

Using an older Rural Toyota tanker on the flanks of Mt. Wellington years ago.
Petrol fire pump playing up and cutting out all the time which we diagnosed as a carby float not seating properly and flooding.
Radioed in for a replacement part.
But no.
Troops may not do repairs, a replacement vehicle will be sent.
So a shiny new Toyota arrives to swap over.
We were parked, in gear, low range and handbrake on.
Replacement driver parks, climbs out leaving the motor running and walks up to us - only to turn and stare open mouthed as his Toyota rolls back down the hill, gaining speed before becoming airborne and rolling.
That was a very expensive carby float.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

Post by: Hairs on August 22, 2023, 05:15:34 PM
Austastar,
Do you know how the incident report went? ;)

Post by: austastar on August 22, 2023, 05:49:13 PM
   Not sure on that, I was driving the old Toyota just for that day, and it was from another brigade. The new vehicle was driven by one of the Townies, but I heard on the grapevine that the chassis was bent and was a right off.
I nearly put the old Toyota off the road at the end of the day; all day driving on fire trails  and then finding that bar tread 'walks on bitumen corners.

Post by: Hairs on August 22, 2023, 06:00:07 PM
I have completed my RFD on road to drive a Cat1(MR) under lights & sirens, I'm yet to do my off road assessment, to be able to drive off road.
Listening to other RFS Members, things can quickly go wrong on Fire Ground, seconds count.
There is a lot to learn, there is a lot to take in and be calm about when sh1t hits the fan.

You still a member?
There are couple of other Myswaggers who are, or use to be Firies.
In our 4wd Club we have 4 members out 15 vehicles who are active RFS members.

Post by: austastar on August 22, 2023, 09:16:34 PM
   Life member of our local brigade, but stopped active attendance as I lost night vision and couldn't read dials and LCD screens and felt I wasn't performing at the right level.

Post by: Hairs on August 23, 2023, 08:30:58 AM

   Life member of our local brigade.

Thank you for your service.

Post by: Hairs on August 27, 2023, 04:54:03 PM
Yesterday I attended to a patril of the boundary of the Fire that crossed the Summerland H/way, this was to extinguish any hot spots, stumps burning and tree roots under ground, 9 hours. Weather conditions have been kinder to crews today, and many swaggers that are involved in their local Bush Fire Brigades, only know to well the hours spent dealing with these.
Still many fires around The Clarence Valley and the state.
Take care.(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230827/d889c88552c3f899049a83a39c10f88a.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230827/6554bb9eb8a8550b73eed09ba949a36d.jpg)

Post by: Hairs on August 27, 2023, 05:37:33 PM
There are a couple of dry storms moving through atm :(

Post by: Ultimate Adventures Podcast on August 29, 2023, 07:17:29 AM
The Clarence Valley has just been classified as a S44.
Which is declared a high Fire Risk, the Commisoner can ask for what ever resources needed from the state to attend.
With windy conditions, and fires throughout The Clarence Valley over the last week or more, Brigades have been stretched.
A Chinook Water Bomber was use yesterday on a fire near Coutts Crossing.
Yet yesterday, a neighbour thought it was a good time to burn off 2 piles of fallen trees, about 6 acres were burnt, Our team attended, 3 hours, two appliances(Cat1 & 9), 6 volunteers.
I believe he will be charged.
Frosts over the last 2 months has the grass dead, it's not looking good.
Just thought I would share this, Be prepared, clean up around your property, clean gutters, do not have open fires.
To all Myswag members who are members of  their local Bush Fire Brigades and emergency services, Take care.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230821/3ce58bacac925a25dc454d8252a92966.jpg)
We are currently in Thredbo.  All the open plains around the Cooma area, are just completely dead.  Only green stuff is around dairy farms as they are obviously irrigating it.   Could be a bad fire season I thing
Post by: Hairs on August 29, 2023, 11:14:57 AM
Yes, As a brigade we are preparing for a long dry season. The state authorities are also gearing towards a terrible fire season.
My wife is an SES Member in our village, they too are preparing to assist the RFS where possible.
Both agencies help each other where possible.
The astounding thing is, people are still burning off, :(
Do they not have access to media broadcasts, social media or family & friends to know how dry it is?
:(

Post by: Ultimate Adventures Podcast on September 04, 2023, 10:22:17 AM
Yes, As a brigade we are preparing for a long dry season. The state authorities are also gearing towards a terrible fire season.
My wife is an SES Member in our village, they too are preparing to assist the RFS where possible.
Both agencies help each other where possible.
The astounding thing is, people are still burning off, :(
Do they not have access to media broadcasts, social media or family & friends to know how dry it is?

Yes, but they are just morons.  You can not help stupid.
Post by: Fizzie on September 04, 2023, 04:24:41 PM
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2023-09-04/queensland-catastrophic-fire-risk-bushfire-grass-fire/102809692 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2023-09-04/queensland-catastrophic-fire-risk-bushfire-grass-fire/102809692)

We were thinking of a trip both up & out there in October, but have to give it a miss ??? :'(
Post by: Hairs on September 04, 2023, 05:54:14 PM
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2023-09-04/queensland-catastrophic-fire-risk-bushfire-grass-fire/102809692 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2023-09-04/queensland-catastrophic-fire-risk-bushfire-grass-fire/102809692)

We were thinking of a trip both up & out there in October, but have to give it a miss ??? :'(
Sorry to hear you have to change your travel plans, better safe hey.

Post by: Hairs on September 07, 2023, 06:50:14 PM
Bloody hell, Country is dry as, yet some brain dead has decided to have an unauthorised burn, just out of town.

Post by: Fizzie on September 08, 2023, 07:02:12 AM
What's the fine for something like that ???
Post by: Hairs on September 08, 2023, 07:46:04 AM
I actually don't know.
Sorry.

Post by: Hairs on September 18, 2023, 07:25:27 PM
Sunday our Brigade, along with many others over the last week and coming weeks, holds a Ready Day.
We invite community members to attend, ask questions, help people prepare for a Fire Event.
We put on a free sausage sizzle, have information packs, kids activities.
It was well attended, a lot of new residents to our area.
Be aware, be prepared.

Over the weekend there were warnings to leave, if safe to do so on the Sunshine Coast QLD.
A return with caution is in place.

Take care.

Post by: Hairs on September 18, 2023, 07:27:47 PM
I asked our Group Captain yesterday, he said it was up to the court to determine the penalty.

Post by: Hairs on September 30, 2023, 05:44:57 PM
Alerts have been posted on social media for a Fire Warning tomorrow across the State of NSW.
To keep up to date, visit the RFS Web Site.
https://www.rfs.nsw.gov.au/fire-information/fdr-and-tobans (https://www.rfs.nsw.gov.au/fire-information/fdr-and-tobans)

This happened today, I don't know the circumstances, I hope all who are involved are OK.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230930/e50fe60aacb7d656b7f4fed3edc9d8c4.jpg)

Post by: Hairs on October 01, 2023, 01:49:06 PM
It's a concern to see so many active fires today across NSW alone.
Wonder what other states are like?(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20231001/2cb3031a0b856087429eff3ffc34cc6d.jpg)

Post by: Fizzie on October 01, 2023, 02:11:34 PM
Not that different  :'(

https://www.arcgis.com/home/webmap/viewer.html?webmap=dcb5bb2e432b4c79858bbc48def2e814 (https://www.arcgis.com/home/webmap/viewer.html?webmap=dcb5bb2e432b4c79858bbc48def2e814)
Post by: Hairs on October 01, 2023, 02:14:00 PM
WOW, Not looking good :(
 Thank you for sharing that link mate.

Post by: Hairs on October 02, 2023, 06:49:28 AM
Here is a link I came across a couple of years ago, I forgot about it.
Hotspots.
https://hotspots.dea.ga.gov.au/ (https://hotspots.dea.ga.gov.au/).

Post by: NZMarkb on October 02, 2023, 07:04:03 AM
Here's another interesting one

https://myfirewatch.landgate.wa.gov.au/map.html

There's an interesting filter that shows what has been control burnt in the last 1, 2 & 3 years
Post by: Hairs on October 02, 2023, 10:45:24 AM
Thanks For that.
Interesting.

Post by: Bird on October 03, 2023, 09:41:32 AM
Sleepless nights for some out east of Melb... and how windy it is wouldnt fill you with confidence... now the storm has hit with lightning and Shit, radio says possible flash flooding is next....
Post by: Gandalf the White on October 03, 2023, 05:41:56 PM
Hopefully this wet front will dampen this a bit
Post by: Brij on October 03, 2023, 09:29:32 PM
Was amazing fo see on the Emergency App a flood warning icon right beside the Emergency Warning - Prepare to evacute icons for the Briag fire this morning.
Has been raining in Latrobe Valley since about 11am. 57mm so far. Good soaking rain. Not heavy.
Post by: Hairs on October 15, 2023, 05:42:06 PM
The call out has been asked. For members, Strike teams required.
Active(Nsw RFS app for members) has been pinging most of the day.

Post by: Bird on October 16, 2023, 12:54:18 PM
lets hope the weather helps

https://www.news.com.au/technology/environment/out-of-control-bushfire-rages-near-byron-bay-coastline/news-story/16ca3cc9d52b907ec2c9f70721a45467a (https://www.news.com.au/technology/environment/out-of-control-bushfire-rages-near-byron-bay-coastline/news-story/16ca3cc9d52b907ec2c9f70721a45467a)
Post by: Hairs on October 17, 2023, 06:03:25 AM
lets hope the weather helps

https://www.news.com.au/technology/environment/out-of-control-bushfire-rages-near-byron-bay-coastline/news-story/16ca3cc9d52b907ec2c9f70721a45467a (https://www.news.com.au/technology/environment/out-of-control-bushfire-rages-near-byron-bay-coastline/news-story/16ca3cc9d52b907ec2c9f70721a45467a)
Sorry mate, link doesn't work.
:((https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20231016/dcc5eb59fd38dbc613937488346afd53.jpg)

Post by: Bird on October 17, 2023, 09:06:20 AM
Sorry mate, link doesn't work.
:((https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20231016/dcc5eb59fd38dbc613937488346afd53.jpg)

works without the a on the end :(
https://www.news.com.au/technology/environment/out-of-control-bushfire-rages-near-byron-bay-coastline/news-story/16ca3cc9d52b907ec2c9f70721a45467 (https://www.news.com.au/technology/environment/out-of-control-bushfire-rages-near-byron-bay-coastline/news-story/16ca3cc9d52b907ec2c9f70721a45467)
Post by: Hairs on October 17, 2023, 11:48:55 AM
Thanks mate.

Post by: Hairs on October 19, 2023, 07:14:48 PM
Our 4wd Club has cancelled this Sundays Hut Maintenance day, there are many fires in the country we visit
No point in putting anyone at risk.

Post by: Bird on October 30, 2023, 12:04:11 PM
Doesnt sound good.....

https://www.news.com.au/technology/environment/anxious-wait-for-residents-as-fires-blaze-across-queensland/news-story/cc4716bdf74791f4ce814fca7368f845 (https://www.news.com.au/technology/environment/anxious-wait-for-residents-as-fires-blaze-across-queensland/news-story/cc4716bdf74791f4ce814fca7368f845)
Post by: Hairs on October 30, 2023, 01:01:39 PM
Hey Bird,
We got 38mm Thursday night, Friday, was good, but nowhere near what is needed.
Heaps of people on FB asking who delivers water. Nymboida residents  asking council to waiver water fee on the Cubes that are used for firefighting.
And there are people watering lawns, in Yamba, Maclean & Grafton, even here in Lawrence.
Unbelievable :(

Post by: Bad Scott on October 30, 2023, 01:26:58 PM
What's it like out towards Moree? Got a job out there in a weeks time
Post by: Bird on October 30, 2023, 01:30:25 PM
https://www.rfs.nsw.gov.au/fire-information/fires-near-me (https://www.rfs.nsw.gov.au/fire-information/fires-near-me)
Post by: Hairs on October 30, 2023, 01:50:23 PM
This link shows Hot Spots.
https://hotspots.dea.ga.gov.au/ (https://hotspots.dea.ga.gov.au/)
The Hazzards Near Me app is good, but gets overloaded.
Talking with a lady who just bought a property west of Bingra, it's dry.
Take care mate.

Post by: Bad Scott on October 31, 2023, 08:15:29 AM
Talking with a lady who just bought a property west of Bingra, it's dry.
I was out there a month ago. Noticed it was extremely dry :cheers:
Post by: Hairs on October 31, 2023, 01:45:05 PM
My pager(Active RFS), Has just asked for all Clarence Valley Members to assemble at their stations and jobs will be assigned.

Post by: Fizzie on October 31, 2023, 03:17:09 PM
Good luck & stay safe!
Post by: Bad Scott on October 31, 2023, 03:18:52 PM
Stay outta trouble champ

Post by: Bird on October 31, 2023, 03:57:35 PM
good thing not to head into Qld on travel or holidays.. reports 38 and windy as intercourse.
Post by: Hairs on October 31, 2023, 04:20:43 PM
Hey, Thanks guys.
Unfortunately I can't attend, screwed my knee 5 weeks ago, still waiting to have X-rays.
My thoughts are with all crews, and those that have lost homes in QLD and elsewhere.

Post by: Hairs on October 31, 2023, 08:03:30 PM
good thing not to head into Qld on travel or holidays.. reports 38 and windy as intercourse.
A Long night & couple of days ahead for crews.
And those that have lost everything.
Floods make a mess, fires leave nothing. :(

Post by: jclures on November 01, 2023, 03:03:16 PM
I have helicopters and aeroplanes buzzing around, Firefighters down my back yard. They tell me they are going to defend the hospital.
Post by: Hairs on November 01, 2023, 03:12:36 PM
I have helicopters and aeroplanes buzzing around, Firefighters down my back yard. They tell me they are going to defend the hospital.
Where abouts are you mate?
Hope all will be good.
Take care.

Post by: Bird on November 01, 2023, 03:15:41 PM
Quote from: jclures

just about to post on your region..
' near Herberton have also been told to leave their properties immediately. '

https://www.news.com.au/technology/environment/qld-residents-ordered-to-evacuate-fireys-hospitalised-after-truck-rolls/news-story/010de46e44338c1ea6c5b90b700c00a7 (https://www.news.com.au/technology/environment/qld-residents-ordered-to-evacuate-fireys-hospitalised-after-truck-rolls/news-story/010de46e44338c1ea6c5b90b700c00a7)
Post by: jclures on November 01, 2023, 03:45:08 PM
They can but I won’t. they list my street; I am the only one on my street though.
I have a fire brake around the house, I asked why not back burn from the the fire brake, but then said no.
No actual fire here, just up the back burning over the hills, nothing there but old abandoned mines.
Post by: jclures on November 01, 2023, 03:52:16 PM
I am actually camping, I come home for other things, but I plan on going back later this afternoon.
Post by: Fizzie on November 03, 2023, 06:33:19 AM
Are you OK up there, JC ???
Post by: jclures on November 03, 2023, 03:05:12 PM
All good here, the fire stopped at the fire brake on the next hill.
Post by: Bird on November 17, 2023, 09:49:03 AM
 :'(
Post by: Hairs on November 17, 2023, 02:30:43 PM
R.I.P Leo.

Post by: Hairs on November 19, 2023, 10:18:10 AM
Fingers crossed, the rain event predicted for mid week eventually comes and extinguishes many of these fires across the country.

Post by: Fizzie on November 20, 2023, 07:39:38 AM
Indeed!

They got at least some yesterday in areas that desperately need it :cup:

http://www.bom.gov.au/qld/flood/index.shtml?ref=hdr (http://www.bom.gov.au/qld/flood/index.shtml?ref=hdr)
Post by: Hairs on December 12, 2023, 03:28:35 PM
While the little amount of rain has helped, fires are starting to pop up again. :(
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20231212/45ae390dcf6187936643a8f052f7806b.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20231212/b1c7db81d8ed95c03aaf69600789b0df.jpg)

Post by: Hairs on December 15, 2023, 06:45:56 PM
Although the country here looks green, we have only had 558ml this year.
Yearly average is about 1800ml.
Thankfully, we haven't seen conditions that other areas have.

Post by: Hairs on December 24, 2023, 05:33:59 PM
Well, we had a little rain, atm fires here are not an issue.
In other parts of the country it is catastrophic, WA homes/property have been lost, our prayers are with anyone dealing with fire or those dealing with the aftermath of cyclone Jasper in North Queen.
Take care.

Post by: Hairs on January 06, 2024, 08:48:54 AM
Our Brigade has been issued with Flood Kits.
Each appliance will carry one.
This is so we can assist SES in floods.
Another module of training to be completed, assessed, certified :)

Post by: Fizzie on January 07, 2024, 07:12:22 AM
So what's in a Flood Kit ???
Post by: Hairs on January 07, 2024, 07:31:57 AM
So what's in a Flood Kit ???
Not 100% sure,
I wasn't able to attend that afternoon.
Here is a pic, however I will ask my Deputy  Captain.(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240106/8f8580cab765345584e235d3a5cc2579.jpg)

Post by: Bad Scott on January 07, 2024, 08:10:28 AM
Where's the floaties  ;D
Post by: Hairs on January 07, 2024, 02:12:55 PM
That's it.
Vest, helmet, rope, gloves.
What training is involved, unsure of that at this time.

Post by: Hairs on January 07, 2024, 02:14:01 PM
Where's the floaties  ;D
And Mankeeny, ;D

Post by: Bad Scott on January 07, 2024, 02:17:21 PM
And Mankeeny, ;D

That's an image no one needs

Sent from my SM-X806B using Tapatalk

Post by: Fizzie on January 08, 2024, 08:03:29 AM
That's an image no one needs

I dunno, could be very effective marketing ???

If it's flooded, just think about who'll be rescuing you!

(https://hurly-burly.com.au/cdn/shop/products/Borat_Mankini.jpg?v=1493617408)
Post by: Hairs on February 04, 2024, 04:09:58 PM
I know, A stupid thing to do in this humidity, anyway our RFS brigade had training this morning.
4 young kids, 1 has just completed their BF, The other 3 have just started their journey.
We practised draughting and associated skills. Pumping from a static water supply to one appliance, then to another appliance, then attacking a (pretend), even a couple of Over runs. Even the old hats felt it.
Valuable training, this is were we learn to work as a team, keep an eye on each other, make sure members are drinking enough water.
Anyway, just thought I share.

Post by: Bird on February 04, 2024, 04:22:15 PM
I know, A stupid thing to do in this humidity, anyway our RFS brigade had training this morning.
4 young kids, 1 has just completed their BF, The other 3 have just started their journey.
We practised draughting and associated skills. Pumping from a static water supply to one appliance, then to another appliance, then attacking a (pretend), even a couple of Over runs. Even the old hats felt it.
Valuable training, this is were we learn to work as a team, keep an eye on each other, make sure members are drinking enough water.
Anyway, just thought I share.

nice work... Shitty fire weather here today :(
Post by: Hairs on February 04, 2024, 04:52:01 PM
nice work... Shitty fire weather here today :(
Cheers mate, It's what we need to do more often, no matter what the temp is. As I said to one of the young girls, just image, you're trying to contain a fire, it's blowing a gale, your hands are drenched in sweat, your have been tasked to run out a line of 38, connect the two hoses and nozzle, those tools are slippery as, even operating the levers to direct the water through the valves/pump, to get water to where you need it. It can be a struggle.

In NSW, I'm surprised there aren't more fires with the weather we've had the last fortnight.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240204/165e8bac952ad00779eef1eb8423be52.jpg)

Post by: Fizzie on February 05, 2024, 07:19:01 AM
I'm surprised there aren't more fires with the weather we've had the last fortnight.

I was trying to work out how there are any fires in Qld after these last few weeks ???

Now I'm trying to reconcile two maps, one saying half the state is on fire, the other saying most of it is under water! ???

https://bushfire.io/?location=3.9052631892221226/-25.531761540534873/143.69271751693236/satellite/0/0 (https://bushfire.io/?location=3.9052631892221226/-25.531761540534873/143.69271751693236/satellite/0/0)
Post by: Bird on February 06, 2024, 09:12:18 AM
Quote from: Hairs
those tools are slippery as, even operating the levers to direct the water through the valves/pump, to get water to where you need it. It can be a struggle.
Give em a 65 and turn it up :) It'll get there... may not be where you need it but it'll get somewhere ;)
Post by: Hairs on February 06, 2024, 02:33:00 PM
Give em a 65 and turn it up :) It'll get there... may not be where you need it but it'll get somewhere ;)
Deputy captain did something similar, just to show the force of the pressure at the nozzle.
One young bloke full of gusto, was surprised how much strength was need to control the hose with the pump at full song.
Days like this are good for the newbies and also for the Old Hats.
I believe our next couple of training sessions will be focused on EV's.

Post by: Fizzie on February 07, 2024, 07:25:07 AM
I believe our next couple of training sessions will be focused on EV's.

By my layman's understanding, that's stand back & let it burn itself out, while trying to make sure it doesn't spread ??? :-\
Post by: austastar on February 07, 2024, 09:09:44 AM
    Yep, protect exposures .

Sent from my Pixel 4a using Tapatalk

Post by: Hairs on February 14, 2024, 07:18:42 AM
By my layman's understanding, that's stand back & let it burn itself out, while trying to make sure it doesn't spread ??? :-\
Yes, Identity the risk, if safe to do so attend to anyone in the vehicle.
Contain the area.

Structural fires where there are solar panels and batteries on site are another cause for caution and being aware of unseen dangers.

Post by: Hairs on February 14, 2024, 07:23:28 AM
    Yep, protect exposures .

Sent from my Pixel 4a using Tapatalk
Yes.

Post by: Brij on February 14, 2024, 09:32:27 PM

Yes that was our unofficial training as well.

Unofficial because there is apparently no officially recognised training available in Aus.
Post by: Bird on February 28, 2024, 12:54:43 PM
Had a mate heading to perth.. didnt get far, been in Beaufort since Thursday last week. Ended up staying and helping the community and fireys.

https://www.9news.com.au/national/bushfires-australia-live-updates-latest-weather-warnings-victoria-news/8b54729f-9566-4e03-b5ac-40e92ddd2df5 (https://www.9news.com.au/national/bushfires-australia-live-updates-latest-weather-warnings-victoria-news/8b54729f-9566-4e03-b5ac-40e92ddd2df5)