General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Pottsy on March 09, 2018, 06:42:29 PM

Title: What series have you watched?
Post by: Pottsy on March 09, 2018, 06:42:29 PM
So I don't hijack the movies topic, what series have you watched that you would recommend.

Just finished watching season one of Secret City on Foxtel catch up, spooks and politics in Canberra.
Cannot wait for series 2, very well produced Australian drama.  :cheers:
Title: Re: What series have you watched?
Post by: jmorgan1981 on March 09, 2018, 06:47:41 PM
"The code" was was a cracking aussie show. Set in canberra as well.

Post by: Rumpig on March 09, 2018, 07:46:42 PM
Summit Expeditions on YouTube...his solo CSR trip and Kimberley trip are both a good watch.
Expedition Overland South America is another good series’s to watch, and there’s a young couple in a troopy that left WA and shipped their vehicle from Darwin to Indonesia that i’m currently watching their series also....can’t recall the name of that series currently off the top of my head though.
I don’t watch much in the way of “main stream tv”, more interested in touring holiday type stuff myself.
Post by: rockrat on March 09, 2018, 09:04:13 PM
I can highly recommend Narcos, El Chapo and Mindhunter on Netflix.
Post by: PWE on March 09, 2018, 09:10:29 PM
Utopia, and it is true, so very true!

Lost
GoT
Westworld

Post by: plusnq on March 09, 2018, 09:14:28 PM
Loved Mindhunter. Also recommend Altered Carbon, Jessica Jones, Ozark,
Post by: rockrat on March 09, 2018, 09:20:47 PM
Loved Mindhunter. Also recommend Altered Carbon, Jessica Jones, Ozark,
I forgot about Ozark, I can’t wait for season 2.
Post by: Trev-p on March 10, 2018, 12:51:01 AM
Boardwalk Empire starring Steve Buscemi, the series has concluded so a full binge can be done
Post by: Rodt on March 10, 2018, 05:28:16 AM
I'm a Celebrity - Get Me Outta Here  :'(
Post by: Pottsy on March 10, 2018, 07:19:00 AM
Boardwalk Empire starring Steve Buscemi, the series has concluded so a full binge can be done

Watched that series a couple of weeks ago when a bit crook, great series, loosely based on real characters during prohibition. Highly recommended.
Post by: Bird on March 10, 2018, 09:06:54 AM
Married with Children... hasnt been anything worth pissing on since then
Post by: gordo350 on March 10, 2018, 11:05:06 AM
Married with Children... hasnt been anything worth pissing on since then
Or the Australian version.  Kingswood County
Post by: tedota on March 10, 2018, 11:14:49 AM
X2 for Narco's. Also watch Dirty Money. A good insight into corruption and the legal systems.
Post by: monbeg on March 10, 2018, 12:00:34 PM
Norsemen on Netflix.

It's a tongue in cheek version of Vikings and very close to the bone as to how politics and corruption works while being hilarious.
Post by: whitey1 on March 10, 2018, 02:02:26 PM
Loved West World on Foxtel. Can't wait for season 2 but don't have foxtel now so someone will have to record it for us.
Post by: Humphreythebear on March 10, 2018, 02:07:25 PM
Altered Carbon , Bloodline ,Westworld - belting the internet watching Roadkill , Dirt everyday and Hot Rod Garage
Post by: Bird on March 10, 2018, 02:40:33 PM
Or the Australian version.  Kingswood County
yea that was getting another run last year too on tele!! as was Love Thy Neighbour :D
Post by: trinityalyce on March 11, 2018, 10:29:37 AM
Been watching Suits. There are some plot holes bigger than Kings Canyon from time to time, but the show is amusing nonetheless.

Before that it was The Good Wife (went downhill after the first season or so...). Before that How to Get Away With Murder, which was mostly fantastic.

Gotta love Netflix...
Post by: Hookie on March 11, 2018, 10:40:50 AM
Gotta love Netflix...

I sure do. Netflix is bringing out more good looking shows than we could ever hope to watch, since we really only get a few hours of tv watching time in a week. We pretty much never watch free to air tv. 50% ads and 50% garbage and they wonder why so many people prefer streaming.

I'm more than happy paying $18/month for netflix.
Post by: trinityalyce on March 11, 2018, 10:42:43 AM
I sure do. Netflix is bringing out more good looking shows than we could ever hope to watch, since we really only get a few hours of tv watching time in a week. We pretty much never watch free to air tv. 50% ads and 50% garbage and they wonder why so many people prefer streaming.

I'm more than happy paying $18/month for netflix.

Absolutely! We have the cheapest Netflix plan possible and honestly? I can't complain. The SD quality is absolutely fine, even streamed to the TV, and we never want to watch on more than one device at a time anyway! It has been a long time now since we've watched anything more than the news on free to air TV...
Post by: corndog on March 11, 2018, 11:15:52 AM
Been watching Chicago Med.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on March 12, 2018, 10:19:23 PM
Watched the current series of "The Bridge" On SBS on demand.
It's different.
Post by: shanegtr on March 13, 2018, 01:07:59 AM
Recently watched the end of the f****ing world on Netflix - it’s a dark comedy which I got several laughs from. Some other notable comedy series on Netflix, everything sucks (great if you where a 90’s teenager), the good place, broklyn 9 9, Frankie and grace.
Post by: rockrat on March 13, 2018, 09:00:58 PM
I’ve been watching Grand Designs on Netflix.  Even though it’s the UK version, it is great to see people with a passion go to extraordinary lengths to fulfill their dream.
Post by: gronk on March 13, 2018, 09:40:16 PM
Haven't watched a series since Dallas !!
Post by: Steffo1 on March 14, 2018, 08:37:28 AM
I got the box set of "Monkey" a few years ago.  :cup: :cup: :cup:  Only series I've watched!................nope, wrong, "The Blackadder" too.
Post by: grantxx on March 14, 2018, 06:47:46 PM
Also agree we usually Netflix and Stan. Currently watching The Following on Stan pretty good if you like a bit of a serial killer story. Orphan black worth a watch but recent favourite ‘new to us’ was Deadwood

Also forced to watch Outlander
Post by: noel_w on March 15, 2018, 08:43:40 AM
Have been binging on Shameless (US version) on Nexflix. William H Macy blitzes his character Frank.
Post by: Bird on March 15, 2018, 08:47:08 AM
Quote from: Steffo1
I got the box set of "Monkey" a few years ago. 

Its sad they felt the need to do a remake of it.. using Kiwis... :( Loved the original show.. although the shemale (I could never figure it out) never got to where shim was going
Post by: jmorgan1981 on March 15, 2018, 08:52:18 AM
Another one that I have been watching is McMafia. It is about the Russian Mafia. Very good watch.

It is on Amazon Prime Video.

Post by: shanegtr on March 15, 2018, 09:04:23 AM
Have been binging on Shameless (US version) on Nexflix. William H Macy blitzes his character Frank.
I reckon the UK version of frank looks/sounds more convincing as a drunk. I actually prefer the UK version as it was the first one I watched. The first season the of the US version was hard to watch as it was the same basic script as the UK version, lucky it took its own path after season one and got a lot better
Post by: grmas1 on March 18, 2018, 04:42:00 PM
Got sucked into Halt and Catch Fire on Foxtel a seasons ago and now up to season 5. Is based on the evolution of PC's and the internet
Post by: Shippo on March 18, 2018, 05:10:52 PM
'Stranger Things' on netflix was a good one. Watched one episode and then binged watched the rest over a few days!
Post by: corndog on March 18, 2018, 05:34:53 PM
Practical guide to modern towing from RV Daily with Pat Callinan. For those that don't know you should watch.
Post by: rockrat on March 18, 2018, 06:21:27 PM
Got sucked into Halt and Catch Fire on Foxtel a seasons ago and now up to season 5. Is based on the evolution of PC's and the internet
Haven’t heard of it before but will check it out.
Post by: speewa158 on March 18, 2018, 06:54:14 PM
Every arvo in my shed as the sun goes down the last of the sun puts on a Huge Display  .
Sadly those that don't have the time to kick back & watch ,  miss out Big Time .
 The sun presents a row of sun balls that are late arvo light shining through the corrugated iron roof edge .
 lf you are able to watch the progress of the balls up the wall & kick back with  :cheers: then you have slowed down to be in harmony with the event .
Watching this will get you into the Slow Flow of the daily event .                   :cup: :cheers:
Post by: Troopy_03 on March 18, 2018, 07:13:52 PM
All Free to Air on SBS or SBS catchup.
Vikings
Nightfall
The bridge
Safe Harbor
The Handmaid's Tale
The Young Pope
Just One Look
Berlin Station
Monster
Ride Upon the Storm
Six
Chance
The Frozen Dead
Fortitude
Midnight Sun
The Tunnel
Resistance
Lilyhammer
Denmark's War
Plus a few others I can't think of... One of them was even on GEM TV.
Post by: rockrat on March 19, 2018, 08:17:14 PM
I’ve been watching Frontier on Netflix. Sadly, only 1 episode left before I am all caught up.
Post by: Rumpig on March 19, 2018, 08:22:01 PM
Every arvo in my shed as the sun goes down the last of the sun puts on a Huge Display  .
Sadly those that don't have the time to kick back & watch ,  miss out Big Time .
 The sun presents a row of sun balls that are late arvo light shining through the corrugated iron roof edge .
 lf you are able to watch the progress of the balls up the wall & kick back with  :cheers: then you have slowed down to be in harmony with the event .
Watching this will get you into the Slow Flow of the daily event .                   :cup: :cheers:
can't say i am watching that series lately....after getting to work on the other side of town last Thursday at 6.30 a.m, I left the jobsite at 7.00 p.m........it would be nice to get home early one arvo, but not happening lately.
Post by: rseydler on March 19, 2018, 11:03:03 PM
Islands of the future on netflix. Good to see what can be done if the will is there.

Getting my way through Cosmos now.
Post by: Kangaron on March 23, 2018, 12:42:27 PM
In the last year or so have sat through the entire series of,

The Wire (2002) - has been digitally remastered and re-released in 16.9

Tour of Duty (1987)

Life on Mars (uk ver 2006)

Line of Duty (uk 2012)

and have now lined up all 15 seasons of "A Touch of Frost"
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 23, 2018, 12:43:28 PM
I started watching the Munster's this week.

As goofy and corny as it is, it makes me smile, so that's a good thing...yeah.
Post by: Swannie on March 23, 2018, 03:12:47 PM
Married at first site, it ended up a swingers show 😂
Post by: gordo350 on March 23, 2018, 05:27:30 PM
I started watching the Munster's this week.

As goofy and corny as it is, it makes me smile, so that's a good thing...yeah.
Wouldn't you love his car
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on March 23, 2018, 07:08:16 PM

Wouldn't you love his car
I would.
Post by: gordo350 on March 23, 2018, 07:24:07 PM
Yup. Good shopping center car(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180323/08a46b3c1752cd53c18e10dac21c72e8.jpg)
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on March 23, 2018, 08:35:36 PM
Yup. Good shopping center car(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180323/08a46b3c1752cd53c18e10dac21c72e8.jpg)

Yep real attention grabber.
Post by: shanegtr on March 26, 2018, 10:14:19 PM
In the last year or so have sat through the entire series of,

The Wire (2002) - has been digitally remastered and re-released in 16.9

Tour of Duty (1987)

Life on Mars (uk ver 2006)

Line of Duty (uk 2012)

and have now lined up all 15 seasons of "A Touch of Frost"
The wire is probably one of my all time fav TV series - especially season 1
Post by: jmorgan1981 on March 27, 2018, 05:28:24 AM
One that is now up to date on Netflix is Rake.

A very funny Australian show.
Post by: trinityalyce on March 27, 2018, 10:19:25 AM
Now switched over to watching Designated Survivor on Netflix. Haven't watched Kiefer Sutherland in anything in years... So far, so good...
Post by: RedProw on March 28, 2018, 08:38:53 AM
The IT Crowd on Netflix - only 5 series with 5or 6 episodes in each series - great for a laugh, even the kids enjoy watching it.