Author Topic: We're new and want to learn and have fun!  (Read 4677 times)

Offline wambesi

• My blog
We're new and want to learn and have fun!
« on: July 29, 2013, 03:09:03 PM »
Hi there,

I’ve been sitting back researching and reading for a bit so thought I would finally get on here properly and introduce myself.

I’m a family man with four little young-lings varying from 3-9 years and am looking to finally break free of caravan parks and show the kids some real camping – well, as real as I can get while having a few conveniences of a camper trailer and the like.

Looking to sell off my commuter and purchase a Pajero (probably new) as we need to keep the Kia Grand Carnival for my wife’s day-care business and following that, a camper trailer instead of our tent we've been using for the last several years.

I have a lot of research to go but we’re looking at a family friendly and budget friendly camper and I don’t want to go over 10k.

As to the Pajero, looking at what is here in Canberra (online only at this stage) leaves a lot to be desired and I’m wondering if travelling to Sydney and working out if you can purchase from there with ACT rego or somehow do that to save me a few quid.

Anyway, it’s good to see a few familiar names from other forums, mainly coffee and brewing related – yes I've checked out those relevant threads and may have some to contribute later on.

We’re also a keen geocaching family and like to get out as often as possible, a photo below of our adventure at Mount Majura this weekend just gone.

As a little more introduction I currently work in the Army so I have and do travel around the country a bit and am keen to share those experiences with my kids – to the point I’m thinking of taking the kids out of school in a few years when my long service has accumulated nicely and taking them on the road for a learning experience they won’t forget.

I guess that’s enough for now, back to reading about dual battery systems, trailers, bull bars and everything else that is new to me - I last drove a 4x4 many years ago so I’m back to being a complete newbie with no idea.

Apologies in advance for the stupid questions that may follow!  :D

Nick

Summary for those who didn't want to read the essay above: I’m new to it all and looking to learn as much as I can and get out with the family and have some fun!

The view from Mount Majura, Canberra while out geocaching with the kids.

Re: We're new and want to learn and have fun!
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2013, 03:44:54 PM »
Welcome to the tribe Nick.  Good luck with all your decisions.  Plenty of info on here.

« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2013, 04:41:21 PM »
G'day and welcome Nick and family.
What a great intro. :cup:
Heaps of help here for your Campertrailer search too.
Good luck and happy camping mate. ;D

Offline Nay-DMAX

« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2013, 04:46:16 PM »
Welcome to Myswag you will love it here and there is plenty of info and fun to be had as well. What a great experience that will be if you do get to take your kids on the road wish I had got to see more of this great country when I was little, once you have a job mortgage etc does make it a little harder but long service leave should help with that.  As much as a formal education is good for them and future job prospects so is seeing things they may never have had the chance gaining social skills if you are meeting new people etc. Have fun.

« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2013, 05:11:17 PM »
G'day Nick and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:

« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2013, 06:04:11 PM »
Welcome crew.

A few geocachers here as well. Crisp Image for 1. An interesting past time, which I wish I was fit enough to get into.

Enjoy your time here.

« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2013, 06:34:21 PM »
G'day Nick & Family,

Look forward to reading your trips. There is plenty of great info here to help you get setup and enjoy this wonderful country we call home.
I hope you find what suits you guys and can get the most out it.

« Reply #7 on: July 30, 2013, 08:31:59 PM »
Hello and welcome.

I know it may sound a little crazy but I would seriously consider looking in VIC for your Pajero.

From our searching cars seem to be cheaper in VIC for some reason. There will of course be an additional cost of transferring the rego but from what I have seen this can still save you some dollars.

« Reply #8 on: July 30, 2013, 08:39:58 PM »
Hi Nick and family, welcome to MySwag. Good luck with your hunting.

« Reply #9 on: July 30, 2013, 08:42:43 PM »
Hi Nick and family welcome to My Swag

AdrianLR

« Reply #10 on: July 30, 2013, 08:53:26 PM »
Welcome!

We've bought both our campers interstate. Bit of extra effort but as each unit, even from the same manufacturer and the same year, is likely to have different options or changes made by the previous owner, you can get very close to what you're after. Helpful sellers will provide lots of information if keen to sell. The trip to inspect and collect is part of the adventure. In fact, I'm off to Albury on Saturday to meet the person we've just bought a camper from who's just north of Canberra:) We're in Melbourne.  Did the deal a few weeks back returning from a holiday in Baremans Bay! Also, had a call during the week from a chap in the Riverina interested in our old one.

Adrian.

Offline weso

• be good or be good at it !!!!!!!!!!!!
    • 64eh.com
« Reply #11 on: July 30, 2013, 08:54:11 PM »
Welcome aboard

64 EH(premier sedan)gone but will never be forgotten, 64VAN(windowless panel van),
2008 Nisan Navara, leisure matters ranger hard floor

Offline thommo19

« Reply #12 on: July 30, 2013, 09:27:21 PM »
Welcome and enjoy.
Jeff

Offline Talawana5

« Reply #13 on: July 30, 2013, 09:55:34 PM »
Welcome Nick and family to a great family at Myswag

« Reply #14 on: July 31, 2013, 06:29:15 AM »
Welcome Nick,

Enjoy the friendly people on this site and ask all the questions you want as there is many informed people willing to assist.
Happy camping,

Offline Sparky74

« Reply #15 on: July 31, 2013, 08:20:38 PM »
Welcome Nick!

I'm in a similar position with a 7 and 9 year old  :D. We love camping and have now bought a 4x4 to see more of OZ; camper ordered.

Best wishes for you search.

Sparky.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2013, 08:23:20 PM by Sparky74 »
MY14 Jeep Grand Cherokee CRD with ORAII
Adventure Offroad Camper Trailer - Pilbara

Offline Tjupurula

« Reply #16 on: August 11, 2013, 01:04:29 AM »
Hi Nick
Welcome to what I consider the best site, family friendly, knowledgeable and always helpful...that is the MySwag family.
I hope your little ones enjoy the funny photo's as much as my grandkids do.