Author Topic: The Daily Scam Thread  (Read 106276 times)

Re: The Daily Scam Thread
« Reply #150 on: December 22, 2017, 08:40:46 AM »
Also asked to CONFIRM HER 16 DIGIT VISA CARD NUMBERS WERE XXXXX,

How the hell did they already have her card number ???

Offline moeite

« Reply #151 on: December 22, 2017, 09:04:27 AM »
I reckon that the biggest scam getting around is the NBN (Nationally Broken Network, No Bloody Network, etc.) I pay for a 50Mbps connection and get a MAX of 12.5 when it's working at all. >:( Phone calls, e-mails and registered letters all result in finger pointing and nothing else.

And I reckon that if I had taken up all the offers for penis enhancement and weight loss pills I'd have a penis 1 kilometre long and I'd weigh about 1.2 grams...  ;D
Mark F...
VK3KW
2002 Discovery 2 Td5 auto
2004 Outback Sturt rear fold soft floor
Http://jandmf.com

Offline Bookleaf

« Reply #152 on: December 22, 2017, 11:09:41 AM »
Yes
Seems the method of operation is to spam call phone numbers until they get one that continually answers and the user gets rely angry. Then come in with the white night "Telstra Help Line" advising they believe the user has been having hassle calls and they can fix that by supplying a magic device.  They then charge for the device and (no doubt) never deliver it.  If ever caught and challenged they no doubt have as a defence that the user read out their CC number and hence gave authority to charge against it.  Of course, there was never any mention of charging or of the cost at any time by the white night.
And may use it again since the scam went over undetected/challenged/cancelled the first time.

The scary thing is that the white night knows the users' CC number in the first place.
Isuzu MUX, LS-M, Cameron Canvas Camper

« Reply #153 on: December 22, 2017, 11:47:22 AM »
Quote from: Bookleaf
The scary thing is that the white night knows the users' CC number in the first place.
With all the hacking going on globally with all these big corp's - that never admit a problem for 12 months after it happened, all our card numbers are probably in the wrong hands already.

« Reply #154 on: December 22, 2017, 02:00:59 PM »
These last few days my wife's mobile has been getting hammered with solar energy offers & so on >:(

Have never had a problem on it till now, & she doesn't list her mobile for online forms etc, but, strangely enough, just last weekend I sorted her phone out to sync with her g-mail contacts & now all of a sudden... >:(

Is there something you're not telling us, Mr Google ???

« Reply #155 on: December 22, 2017, 03:06:04 PM »
Quote from: Fizzie
These last few days my wife's mobile has been getting hammered with solar energy offers & so on >:(
I've had 1 number call me 32 times this week - my work phone that the number doesn't get handed out anywhere... only about 10-15 to my personal phone.... starting at lunchtime through to 7pm... never answered once. but google shows its parasites calling.

its like junk mail, then we had spam emails, now its spam calls.. what next?

Offline rossm

« Reply #156 on: December 22, 2017, 08:29:56 PM »
The boys from Windows technical department are really hammering me.

I usually hang up when there is silence but the last few days have stayed on to find out who is hassling me. I have had four calls this week.

Does anybody still fall for this stuff? I guess they do otherwise the call centres would give up.

« Reply #157 on: December 23, 2017, 09:53:57 AM »

I usually hang up when there is silence but the last few days have stayed on to find out who is hassling me. I have had four calls this week.

Does anybody still fall for this stuff? I guess they do otherwise the call centres would give up.
     Once they have a victim engaged, they are passed up the line to an 'expert' who leads them through the 'fix'.
This involves installing remote access software which enables covert surveillance for saleable data such as PINS or passwords etc.
A friend allowed him self to be 'led' through the process as far as he wanted to go, just to see the process.
Scarily, the last person he spoke to in the experiment had an Australian accent.

Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: rossm

Offline slave

« Reply #158 on: December 23, 2017, 11:16:22 AM »
Pretty sure I had one yesterday from multi prizes . com/074 giving me a final reminder to claim my iphoneX i had one or they would give it to someone else, I feel so sad I missed it ;D
2003 Holden Ute
1996 Cub Camper

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #159 on: December 23, 2017, 03:52:09 PM »
     Once they have a victim engaged, they are passed up the line to an 'expert' who leads them through the 'fix'.
This involves installing remote access software which enables covert surveillance for saleable data such as PINS or passwords etc.
A friend allowed him self to be 'led' through the process as far as he wanted to go, just to see the process.
Scarily, the last person he spoke to in the experiment had an Australian accent.

Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk
I've got a sacrificial virtual machine I waste their time with...  Great fun!

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #160 on: December 23, 2017, 04:39:41 PM »
I had my card scammed last year.

After they saw my bank account, they sent me $50.00 and a couple of Coles vouchers. I pays to be a poor lawn mower man.

Now, if they'd have tried digging around my back yard, well... ya just never know... do ya.

Offline gordo350

« Reply #161 on: December 23, 2017, 05:52:47 PM »
I'm coming up to buy your van. I'll pay you with what I find with the shovel 😎
Gordo 350
2015 Ford Ranger Super Cab
Aussie Jays Big Red
everyone is entitled to my opinion

« Reply #162 on: December 24, 2017, 03:29:53 AM »
I'm coming up to buy your van. I'll pay you with what I find with the shovel 😎

The spots are marked out in the shape of a swimming pool to fool people.

Dig away, 6 feet deep on one end and 3 feet on the other please.

« Reply #163 on: December 24, 2017, 11:44:44 AM »
What if he gets it mixed up Jeepers?

Offline gordo350

« Reply #164 on: December 24, 2017, 07:13:47 PM »
What if he gets it mixed up Jeepers?
Aw come on. I'm not that silly that I'd bury the van and steal the clean fill. On the other hand 💡
Gordo 350
Aussie Jays Big Red
The following users thanked this post: Cruiser 105Tvan

« Reply #165 on: December 25, 2017, 05:40:00 AM »
Yeah Gordo, I've seen some of your posts...its possible.  :D

C'mon, get up here and grab the van... its gotto go. ;D

Good scam, until they got busted.
I was reading the other day, in the States, one of the scams is to steal a high end car, something like a rare Yenko Camaro, Shelby Mustangs, Cadillac Eldo convertible's and then the bad guys, would take them back to shed, strip the things down and then dump the body shell where it would be found.

The car is found, the Insurance company pays out and then try's to auction off the almost bare shell.
The bad guys, then buy the shell back and receive a clear title for the car and get the thing back to their shed/barn.

Here, they reassemble car and stick it back out for sale for healthy profit.

A cop,(good guy) noticed on one of the shells, nothing was cut, all the wiring had been unplugged.
All the brake lines were undone rather than hacked etc. Someone had taken some care pulling it down.

So he followed them after the purchase of a shell and found a huge barn with a heap of cars in either assembly or disassembly stages.
The story went, they were putting out a couple of cars every couple of months.

From theft to a saleable car again was around a 6 to 8 month turn around. 

« Reply #166 on: December 25, 2017, 09:11:36 AM »
Yeah Gordo, I've seen some of your posts...its possible.  :D

C'mon, get up here and grab the van... its gotto go. ;D

Good scam, until they got busted.
I was reading the other day, in the States, one of the scams is to steal a high end car, something like a rare Yenko Camaro, Shelby Mustangs, Cadillac Eldo convertible's and then the bad guys, would take them back to shed, strip the things down and then dump the body shell where it would be found.

The car is found, the Insurance company pays out and then try's to auction off the almost bare shell.
The bad guys, then buy the shell back and receive a clear title for the car and get the thing back to their shed/barn.

Here, they reassemble car and stick it back out for sale for healthy profit.

A cop,(good guy) noticed on one of the shells, nothing was cut, all the wiring had been unplugged.
All the brake lines were undone rather than hacked etc. Someone had taken some care pulling it down.

So he followed them after the purchase of a shell and found a huge barn with a heap of cars in either assembly or disassembly stages.
The story went, they were putting out a couple of cars every couple of months.

From theft to a saleable car again was around a 6 to 8 month turn around.
Same thing was going on in VIC with HSV's and the like in the late 90's.  Guys were rebirthing 6 month old Clubsports for as little as 3K.

Hence why Vicroads now have a stolen and written off register. Those mint bare shells can no longer be re-registered.

« Reply #167 on: December 25, 2017, 05:40:47 PM »
Aw come on. I'm not that silly that I'd bury the van and steal the clean fill. On the other hand 💡

I was just thinking you'd get excited and dig a round pool with the ends the opposite of what Jeepers wanted. >:D >:D >:D

« Reply #168 on: December 25, 2017, 05:53:06 PM »
Or dig the hole upside down.

« Reply #169 on: December 25, 2017, 06:03:32 PM »
Or dig the hole upside down.

I wasn't game to mention that, just in case it happened.   ;D ;D ;D

Offline gordo350

« Reply #170 on: December 25, 2017, 07:14:18 PM »
Isn't an inverse pool called a raised shed site? Win win
Gordo 350
Aussie Jays Big Red

« Reply #171 on: December 26, 2017, 08:48:57 AM »
Or you could always get Speewa to put in a load of PDFPs & that way you wouldn't have to dig the pool out ;D >:D

« Reply #172 on: January 09, 2018, 03:26:34 PM »
New style scam mate just got the email on... LOL! Just as pathetic as the last 10000 efforts..

I'm afraid you dont know me but thats not the point of this email, i am contacting you regarding an urgent issue that requires your immediate  attention

I am a member of Elite Black Group and we setup a very aggressive malvware inside a porn website with adult videos

You accesed the website to watch videos and have some fun (you know what I mean, no problem with that, you have a good taste, lol)

While you were watching the video our virus started to work and setup your computer as a Remote Desktop. When this happened i had full control of your computer screen and your camera (yes i could see what you were watching along with your face and actions by your cam). We also collected all your contacts from Messengers, Social Networks, Emails.

So what i did next? Well, i started to record an live double-screen video (first part your screen sharing, second part your camera while watching porn)

You dont need to freak out, there is an easy way to fix all this mess and you will not have your privacy exposed:

All you have to do is pay me U$450 i think this is a fair value to keep our little secret safe.

You will make this payment by Bitcoin (if you dont know what is Bitcoin or  how to use it, just search "How to buy bitcoin" on internet, its easy). The wallet address you will send the money to is: _________Lots of numbers and letters_____________

You have only 24h from the time you read this email to make my payment
(i setup a tracking pixel in this message and i will know when you read it).

If i dont receive my Bitcoins i will send your video to all contacts that i collected from you.

If i receive my money all the evidence will be destroyed and you will never hear from me again.

Now its up to you, will you be smart enough or the joke of your family and friends forever
?

I asked if he'd been to any porn sites lol.. he said no ;)

« Reply #173 on: January 09, 2018, 03:34:48 PM »
Well I hope they realise they will be in so much trouble. Not allowed to use the term 'black' in their name, 'Elite Black Group'.  Yep, that will teach them.  ;D

Kevin

« Reply #174 on: January 09, 2018, 04:27:41 PM »

Get a sports whistle and blow it down the phone, they soon F.... ..ff!