Author Topic: Specials on at Aldi this week!  (Read 159039 times)

Offline kizza1

Re: Specials on at Aldi this week!
« Reply #250 on: December 20, 2016, 05:05:57 PM »
I've got mine still. Have used it about 10 times. But I agree there weak as piss. I bought 2 a ruined the first one the first time I opened it. I have actually just bought an oztrail deluxe as I don't think it will last much longer.
They are light but fragile

Offline Mattsglxr

« Reply #251 on: December 20, 2016, 06:10:32 PM »
Does anyone have a review for this gazebo on sale this Saturday (xmas eve)
https://www.aldi.com.au/en/special-buys/special-buys-sat-24-december/saturday-detail-wk51/ps/p/gazebo/

I am after a new one that doesn't weigh heaps.
We bought one and I took it back before it broke and went and bought an Oztrail deluxe much stronger.

Offline me217

• datebest.net - visit website and win smartphone!
« Reply #252 on: December 20, 2016, 06:48:52 PM »
picked up a set of bluetooth headphones for my daughter, and they are pretty good, they even have line in so they can be used as a normal head phone. tempting to get a set for me.

i ended up returning the headphones as they had a lot of background noise, and turned on with a deafening greeting. not very good for a 5 year old.

i see they got 80w solar panels coming up. unfortunately they wont fit on my roof
https://t.me/pump_upp

Offline me217

• datebest.net - visit website and win smartphone!
« Reply #253 on: January 03, 2017, 06:58:46 PM »
i see aldi has portable bbqs for $239 on jan 14. same as what they had a couple of months ago. unfortunately i don't think i'll have the funds this time either.
« Last Edit: January 03, 2017, 07:02:27 PM by me217 »
https://t.me/pump_upp

« Reply #254 on: February 13, 2017, 07:55:37 PM »
Aldi has caravan and camping gear on sale 18th Feb.
Might just grab a spare caravan cover for $100.

« Reply #255 on: February 13, 2017, 11:19:20 PM »
There was some of that on sale at my Local ALDI today.
Folding chairs, either caravan or car cover(not sure which).
Also a portable power washer, smaller version of a Karcher?
And a coleman PIZZA oven. (don't tell "Excavator")

Offline wakychapmans

Wayne & Kyria Chapman
(+ Tucker & Monty the Samoyeds)
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=58855.msg1064705#msg1064705
www.youtube.com/@morepawstravels/about
105 series Landcruiser 1HZ (soooooo much power)
1994, Supreme Getaway 14' (a "renovators dream")
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56736.

Offline mrdenn1s

• Dennis Does Cricket
« Reply #257 on: February 14, 2017, 08:30:14 AM »
entire page here:

https://www.aldi.com.au/en/special-buys/special-buys-sat-18-february/

but wondering what peoples thoughts are on the BBQ?

https://www.aldi.com.au/en/special-buys/special-buys-sat-18-february/saturday-detail-wk07/ps/p/portable-bbq-2/

I got one of these two years back.

Not very hot. Have to cook with lid on. Also, drip tray not very big. Had hot fat splash everywhere.

I wouldn't buy another one
2014 Blue Water Tanami Soft floor Camper
2000 Landcruiser 105 GXL Inline 6
2011 Kia Sorento
The following users thanked this post: wakychapmans

« Reply #258 on: February 14, 2017, 09:05:32 AM »

Not very hot. Have to cook with lid on. Also, drip tray not very big. Had hot fat splash everywhere.

looked at that myself... good to know to steer clear.

« Reply #259 on: February 14, 2017, 09:12:51 AM »
I had something that looked very similar, used once, eventually it warmed the snags up, and that was it. Lucky we won it, wasn't much of a win....
The following users thanked this post: wakychapmans

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #260 on: February 14, 2017, 10:02:34 AM »

thanks for that. Good to know.

will save my sheckels for a Webber...

However... the Silicone washing up tub is looking good...

Wayne & Kyria Chapman
(+ Tucker & Monty the Samoyeds)
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=58855.msg1064705#msg1064705
www.youtube.com/@morepawstravels/about
105 series Landcruiser 1HZ (soooooo much power)
1994, Supreme Getaway 14' (a "renovators dream")
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56736.

Offline Nay-DMAX

« Reply #261 on: February 14, 2017, 11:27:14 AM »
thanks for that. Good to know.

will save my sheckels for a Webber...

However... the Silicone washing up tub is looking good...

We don't have the wash tub but I was looking for a long time for a small dish drainer for the camper ended up getting a pop up one from kmart after I posted a question on here was $10 makes washing up a lot easier than dishes sliding on the bench part.

« Reply #262 on: February 14, 2017, 11:37:03 AM »

but wondering what peoples thoughts are on the BBQ

I got one about 4-5 years ago.
Lasted 3 months before I upgraded to a Weber.

As others said. Crap hotplate, crap grill and not very hot. It was reasonably light which was good, but that was due to the wafer thin materials used.

The portable offerings from Beefeater, Ziggy and Weber are definitely worth the extra cost.

« Reply #263 on: February 14, 2017, 06:18:34 PM »
Yeah I got one when they first came out at about $59 or $79........total waste of space...........started a big fat fire on its first outing. Chucked it in the bin on the way home. At $229 better off saving a few bucks for a weber.......you'll be much happier

« Reply #264 on: February 14, 2017, 06:35:37 PM »
I had something that looked very similar, used once, eventually it warmed the snags up, and that was it. Lucky we won it, wasn't much of a win....
Depends Grasshopper how you define  " Win "  Lucky , You  won  .  :cup: Didn't have to pay for it  . Learned a cheap lesson  " There aint No Free Lunch "        >:D
            You have learned  " Grasshopper "                             :cheers: :cheers: :angel:

« Reply #265 on: February 24, 2017, 11:34:18 AM »
There's a few tools on sale tomorrow; https://www.aldi.com.au/en/special-buys/special-buys-sat-25-february/

Looking at the digital verniers for those crappy jobs where I don't want to wreck my good pair.
And the digital angle level could come in handy around the house, the old line of cords are a bit cumbersome to use sometimes.

I saw this old post of mine and thought I should give a final summary.

These cooler things are absolute RUBBISH!!!! They don't even work as an esky.  >:(
A 30 pack of tinnies fits neat with a 5kg bag of ice. With the fan running the whole day, most of the ice was gone by the evening and in morning there was warm beers floating in warm water.
Tried again the next day with another 5kg of ice and didn't turn the fan on, got pretty much the same result.

And if you're wondering, yes the beers did taste like crap after this little exercise.
I did find out one thing though, cans of Carlton mid that have been warm and chilled twice taste very much like normal cans of XXXX Gold.... ;D ;D :-*

I did pick up a cooler to throw in some drinks on day trips.
Had it in heat for an hour and didn't get real hot. But the cooler seams to go alright, it's not a fridge.

Basically just an esky with a cooling fan, but that's all we really needed. Besides it's the only fridge/cooler/esky that fits in the tiny space behind the seats in the JK.

I thought I'd have some fun with the ARB fan boys too, I recon this fridge the best thing ARB never made. ;)
« Last Edit: February 24, 2017, 11:36:10 AM by Pete79 »
The following users thanked this post: Troopy_03

Offline marvellous_matt

« Reply #266 on: March 27, 2017, 10:29:46 PM »
so it looks like 12v fridges are back this week, I think they are slightly more this time around ($499?) but do they still represent good value . I have 2 friends that are fridgeless, I have said that in the past they are good value, don't want to give poor recomendation

Offline pommiedic

« Reply #267 on: March 29, 2017, 06:38:11 AM »
No issues with our fridge, including being bounced around in the rental camper.  Paid $499 for it 2 years ago.  During testing we had it down to -18, according to the guage; my mates fridge got down to -21.  Highly recommended for the price.
Why is the 1st Tea of the day the best?
The following users thanked this post: marvellous_matt

Offline Andy_Q

« Reply #268 on: March 29, 2017, 08:37:22 PM »
My Aldi fridge has been ok for a couple of years also. Best value fridge would probably be the 4wd supercenter one if they would like a 60l one.

« Reply #269 on: March 29, 2017, 08:45:03 PM »
My Aldi fridge has been ok for a couple of years also. Best value fridge would probably be the 4wd supercenter one if they would like a 60l one.

EvaKool have a Seconds 50L listed on their website for the same money, but I suppose it depends on how much of a premium you put on not having to deal with 4WD Supacentre... or waiting for them to deliver something they've got your money for.... Also possibly cheaper shipping from EvaKool or free shipping on their eBay store

Offline Ragman

« Reply #270 on: March 29, 2017, 11:32:38 PM »
how about the thermal cooker for $99.99

$269 at BCF

« Reply #271 on: March 30, 2017, 07:59:40 AM »
EvaKool have a Seconds 50L listed on their website for the same money, but I suppose it depends on how much of a premium you put on not having to deal with 4WD Supacentre... or waiting for them to deliver something they've got your money for.... Also possibly cheaper shipping from EvaKool or free shipping on their eBay store

Check the dimensions of your new fridge too, if you decide to get one.
Friend has an MSA drop slide in his vehicle, he didn't check before getting the Evakool 50L fridge.
The new fridge is too wide to fit the drop slide. 
Now he's a bit cranky, because the MSA wasn't cheap, and he's lost a seating position in the front.

« Reply #272 on: March 30, 2017, 10:29:14 AM »
Check the dimensions of your new fridge too, if you decide to get one.
Friend has an MSA drop slide in his vehicle, he didn't check before getting the Evakool 50L fridge.
The new fridge is too wide to fit the drop slide. 
Now he's a bit cranky, because the MSA wasn't cheap, and he's lost a seating position in the front.

My main one is available space in the car - I'm unlikely to go the way of a slide as we vary too much what we have in the back of the car - as there is enough room for our existing esky in between the bike in the back of the car, so that is the limiting factor.

« Reply #273 on: March 30, 2017, 10:33:02 AM »
how about the thermal cooker for $99.99

Also good to see the little butane cookers coming back down to a proper price - as soon as they were withdrawn then re-released, prices in most places jumped to ~$35 & stayed there >:(

Offline Gandalf the White

• Wise Wandering Wizard
  • Feelin great with a 2.8
« Reply #274 on: April 11, 2017, 04:54:49 PM »
Managed to grab one of these last Saturday. Got there early and was at the front of the queue. Problem was when they opened the front door, about 15 people rushed past me. Luckily they weren't after these.
How to fall asleep in a chair
1 - sit in a chair
2 - be old
The following users thanked this post: Bad Scott, peter01