Author Topic: Is it just me, or is everyone upgrading to vans?  (Read 17505 times)

Offline Hookie

Re: Is it just me, or is everyone upgrading to vans?
« Reply #50 on: June 20, 2018, 06:11:27 AM »
Any replacement will be limited to sub 14ft and 2000kg.

Wife, or caravan?

We started with a cheapo soft floor, in less than 2 years upgraded to swan for far better setup/prep times, as most things are permanently kept in the trailer rather than in plastic tubs that we haul in and out of the trailer. It's also nice to have a clean, dry place to sleep in any weather. In our soft floor when it rained everything got damp and there was no escaping it.
One thing we weren't prepared for is how much extra campfire cooking gear we've had to buy now, as we no longer have an outdoor kitchen, and nobody wants to go inside to cook!

Our dream is the smallest offroad van or poptop we can comfortably live in. Outside kitchen, indoor bathroom not necessary if it has an outside shower, just a clean, dry bed, and maybe a small place to sit on cold rainy days, and we're good. Just gotta get rid of the kids first.

« Reply #51 on: June 20, 2018, 06:12:41 AM »
Started with a tent
Bought a jayco Swan
Bought a jayco Starcraft
Now looking for next full bunk van with full ensuite and every other available option 😳
What do I prefer... a swag

Similar for us.
Tents to start.
Camper Trailer.
Pop top Van.
Going to house on 12 acres next. (don't have to travel to get away from everyone.  :D

« Reply #52 on: June 20, 2018, 10:25:34 AM »
Always been a camper, mainly with a small 3 baby tent (have to be really good mates to be 3 man) strapped across the gearsack rack on the bike with a frypan on the fire as my cooking gear.
After getting married the same gear went into the back of the Subie along with some new additions for the other half

Upgraded to a 2nd hand Trackie and used that for a fair while until life fell apart and it's now only me (mostly until recently) so the Trackie had to go as I couldn't pack it up with my crook back.
The ute came along for a few years and camped out of the canopy with a swag under the awning. Nice but limiting when you want to stay somewhere for a few days and do day trips.
Looked around for a while at different options. Would have really liked a small hybrid but $$$$ were the killer. I just couldn't afford one.
Then I found an Aussie made Modcon Imperial at the right price and it went straight to the poolroom.
To be honest it fits most of the ticks as far as a hybrid goes but was much more affordable. Time will tell when I hit the road on my lap around Oz.
The biggest problem is the limited kitchen space but currently building a set of drawers in the ute for that.
This will do me for a few years until I can't go camping anymore. The new other half totally approves of it and is always asking when the next adventure will be. Happy other half, happy lfe.

« Reply #53 on: June 20, 2018, 11:50:05 AM »
Top Stuff Noel.
Get out there while you can.
Here for a good time, not a long time. :cheers:
The following users thanked this post: noel_w

« Reply #54 on: June 20, 2018, 12:45:36 PM »
Our neighbours just upgraded from their old slide on with a flash new one, Reckon you would need good mobility as its a decent climb up the ladder steps when on the truck .

Yep some are no better then just a ladder rung while others have very good stairs.  If I was in the position to go that way it would end up being a custom job, incorporating about four current brands.   

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #55 on: June 20, 2018, 01:54:12 PM »
let's see now...

Started on a Mongoose TwoFour BMX cruiser (the bicycle guys can google that one) with cheap arse racks bolted on and daypacks converted into panniers. Slept in an even cheaper two man "A" frame tent on an equally cheap LiLo. (broke the racks and rear axle out near Griffith)

Moved to a proper mountain bike for a big lap in 92' with a thermorest and a one n a bit man (or one man and two female Austrian backpackers... but that's a different story) lightweight hiking tent and proper panniers and cycle touring gear.

Same bike as above, more lightweight gear for a trip to the Cape in 95' - still just me...

Progressed to a Troopy and sleeping in the back - yep... still just me...

Got me a wife... kept the Troopy.

Moved to a 105 series... same wife. added a roof top tent.

Got rid of the roof top tent and added the "half an 80 series" camper trailer. Same wife, added a dog.

Next step will probably be... a very old (and cheap) 2nd hand Tvan... or something similar.

Wayne & Kyria Chapman
(+ Tucker & Monty the Samoyeds)
www.youtube.com/@morepawstravels/about
105 series Landcruiser 1HZ (soooooo much power)
1994, Supreme Getaway 14' (a "renovators dream")
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56736.0
2 x titanium fatbikes with 4.8" tyres

Offline Cyclone71

« Reply #56 on: June 20, 2018, 06:41:43 PM »
Gee I don’t know if I could buy a new van or one made in the last 5 years if you have a look at Lemon Caravans on Facebook.It is scary what you could end up being stuck with.
Wow there are some sickening stories on there. I would love a van but will stick with my hard floor camper for now I think.

« Reply #57 on: June 20, 2018, 07:41:25 PM »
Always been a camper, mainly with a small 3 baby tent (have to be really good mates to be 3 man) strapped across the gearsack rack on the bike with a frypan on the fire as my cooking gear.
After getting married the same gear went into the back of the Subie along with some new additions for the other half

Upgraded to a 2nd hand Trackie and used that for a fair while until life fell apart and it's now only me (mostly until recently) so the Trackie had to go as I couldn't pack it up with my crook back.
The ute came along for a few years and camped out of the canopy with a swag under the awning. Nice but limiting when you want to stay somewhere for a few days and do day trips.
Looked around for a while at different options. Would have really liked a small hybrid but $$$$ were the killer. I just couldn't afford one.
Then I found an Aussie made Modcon Imperial at the right price and it went straight to the poolroom.
To be honest it fits most of the ticks as far as a hybrid goes but was much more affordable. Time will tell when I hit the road on my lap around Oz.
The biggest problem is the limited kitchen space but currently building a set of drawers in the ute for that.
This will do me for a few years until I can't go camping anymore. The new other half totally approves of it and is always asking when the next adventure will be. Happy other half, happy lfe.

There will always be "Helping Hands" you know!
« Last Edit: June 20, 2018, 07:46:28 PM by Steffo1 »

The following users thanked this post: noel_w

Offline SEADOO

« Reply #58 on: June 20, 2018, 11:35:15 PM »
Gee I don’t know if I could buy a new van or one made in the last 5 years if you have a look at Lemon Caravans on Facebook.It is scary what you could end up being stuck with.
Wow there are some sickening stories on there. I would love a van but will stick with my hard floor camper for now I think.

I'm in the same boat mate. We would love to upgrade to a off road Jayco (can't  afford anything else) but I'm afraid of getting a POS.

At least with our current camper, 2015 Lifestyle Elite Walkthrough, it's built like a brick out house and the canvas will last a life time if looked after. I could sell the camper tomorrow for nothing and purchase a 10 yo Jayco, but I just can't bring myself to give away a perfectly good camper to purchase something unknown.

If we were in the position to afford to loose so much on the current camper and drop $40k on something new, we would tomorrow, but I'm not in that position.

Offline Hewy54

« Reply #59 on: June 21, 2018, 08:04:42 AM »
We are in the same boat as many others.
Started with a soft floor, then upgraded to a KK. Loved it, but my wife struggled with the zips , velcro and canvas.
Changed to a Vista Crossover 3 years ago and love it.
Still able to go anywhere with a few extra comforts.
I have suggested that we change to a caravan, but the wife will have none of it.
Happy wife, happy camping.

80 Series
Vista Crossover XL

« Reply #60 on: June 21, 2018, 08:22:50 AM »
There will always be "Helping Hands" you know!
Haha, I would prefer her helping hands  :angel: :angel: :angel:

« Reply #61 on: June 21, 2018, 09:05:18 AM »
Quote from: SEADOO
If we were in the position to afford to loose so much on the current camper and drop $40k on something new, we would tomorrow, but I'm not in that position.
your not the lone ranger there !

« Reply #62 on: June 21, 2018, 09:36:16 AM »

No good for your back, that but evere so sweet.

« Reply #63 on: June 21, 2018, 04:26:15 PM »

Wonder what she looks like now?
That's a great photo, but it was taken a while back.

https://www.pinterest.com.au/ashleysmith553/carolyn-jones-morticia-addams/?lp=true
« Last Edit: June 21, 2018, 04:30:56 PM by Cruiser 105Tvan »

Offline listo

« Reply #64 on: June 21, 2018, 05:54:46 PM »
Wonder what she looks like now?
That's a great photo, but it was taken a while back.

https://www.pinterest.com.au/ashleysmith553/carolyn-jones-morticia-addams/?lp=true

Not too flash I imagine, she died in 1983 from colon cancer it says on Wikipedia

« Reply #65 on: June 21, 2018, 08:54:55 PM »
Gotta go sumtime.  Nobody lives forever.  Rip. Morticia.

I started with School Army Cadets and nylon hootchies back in the 60's.
Progressed, if you call it that, to a 16' Caravan when I married.
Then for various reasons a 6x4 trailer with a canopy was it, with a 10 x 14 Tent for a quite a few years.
I've had the Tvan since 2009, and it's been a great bit of gear.
Having a Caravan was like towing a house around by comparison.

Offline Niley

« Reply #66 on: June 21, 2018, 09:31:17 PM »
Tried selling the modcon hardfloor for 6 months and got little interest until the day we decided to keep it and save the $$$ that we would have otherwise spent on are on a Hybrid. Will spend a few bucks on it to keep the handbrake pleased for future use and go buy an Aussie muscle car to park in the garage that will appreciate in value.
Landcruiser Prado & ?????

« Reply #67 on: June 21, 2018, 09:48:23 PM »
WTF are these hybrid campers ??? Strictly for hybrid car owners I suppose ::) For the slowpokes and uninitiated they're traditionally called Jayco Doves among other birds of flight and strictly pulled with internal combustion engines but if you're too geriatric to pull out the beds you get the Penguin and a cordless drill before the old folks home. I guess that's why Jayco named it after a flightless bird with a sense of premonition and Gawdelpus a caravan is a pre-paid funeral plan :'(
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

Offline Hewy54

« Reply #68 on: June 21, 2018, 10:08:06 PM »
WTF are these hybrid campers ??? Strictly for hybrid car owners I suppose ::) For the slowpokes and uninitiated they're traditionally called Jayco Doves among other birds of flight and strictly pulled with internal combustion engines but if you're too geriatric to pull out the beds you get the Penguin and a cordless drill before the old folks home. I guess that's why Jayco named it after a flightless bird with a sense of premonition and Gawdelpus a caravan is a pre-paid funeral plan :'(
Not quite sure if I can understand that, but do not agree with your definition of a hybrid camper.
Do not remember any mention of Jayco or birds.

80 Series
Vista Crossover XL

« Reply #69 on: June 22, 2018, 08:53:50 AM »
Quote from: prodigyrf
WTF are these hybrid campers ???

its the latest flog's buzz word for a vastly overpriced tiny caravan

« Reply #70 on: June 22, 2018, 10:22:47 AM »

They used to be called Pop Tops, been around for years in various forms.
Salesmen tell 'em it's a new idea (lying through their teeth) and they all flock around..
You make up your own mind, the hype is just "Sales talk".

« Reply #71 on: June 22, 2018, 11:01:10 AM »
Here is my classification for Campers/Caravans

Camper Trailer - Soft floor
  • Canvas walls and roof,
  • Soft floor that folds out onto the ground
  • Can be side fold or rear fold
  • Usually outside kitchen (although can also be inclosed)

Camper Trailer - Hard floor
  • Canvas walls and roof
  • Camper folds out with a hard floor.
  • Can be Forward, Rear or side fold.
  • Usually outside kitchen (although can be enclosed)

Camper Vans
  • Hard roof, canvas walls
  • Inside kitchen
  • Often with slide out beds

Caravans
  • Hard walls hard roof (may have pop up roof section but sides are predominatly hard)
  • Inside Kitchen

Hybrids
Generally a hybrid of the above categories but usually
  • Has a hard roof,
  • Has an outside kitchen
  • Has smaller dimensions than a caravan for better offroad ability.

Teardrops
  • Hard walls and roof but not high enough to stand up in
  • A packed footprint not much larger than the bed
  • Traditionally shaped like a teardrop
  • Has an outside kitchen (can be in the rear or slide out from the side.)

Could probably do with further clarification but it's a start.
« Last Edit: June 22, 2018, 11:53:01 AM by tryagain »

Offline Hewy54

« Reply #72 on: June 22, 2018, 11:08:14 AM »
They used to be called Pop Tops, been around for years in various forms.
Salesmen tell 'em it's a new idea (lying through their teeth) and they all flock around..
You make up your own mind, the hype is just "Sales talk".
Interesting.

What would you class the Tvan as?

80 Series
Vista Crossover XL

« Reply #73 on: June 22, 2018, 11:22:38 AM »
Interesting.

What would you class the Tvan as?

That didn't fit in my list but I'd say that would be a teardrop camper, might need to add another category. edit now added it.
« Last Edit: June 22, 2018, 11:36:46 AM by tryagain »

Offline Merts

« Reply #74 on: June 22, 2018, 11:47:48 AM »

Yeah, not really. I reckon Tryagain's definitions are pretty spot on. Hybrids have external kitchens and generally don't have the seating etc that caravans do.

I'd agree many are vastly overpriced, but there are options (like the one I have) which are very reasonably priced.

I can tell you, when you pull up to camp when it's absolutely p#$$ing down, you really appreciate just having to unclip the four corners and push the roof up, rather than spending 10 to 20 minutes rooting around with canvas, ropes and pegs in the rain. Ditto when packing up.
Towing a a National Campers 'Hermit 10' hybrid with an MQ Triton. Previously towed an Outback Campers 'Sturt' softfloor. (PM me if you want to buy the Sturt!)