Author Topic: G'day from the Hunter Valley  (Read 6569 times)

Offline Cage

• Camel Beachcomber
G'day from the Hunter Valley
« on: December 06, 2014, 04:01:20 PM »
Just bought a Camel Beachcomber and am in the process of modifying it with some essentials like a 120AH battery to keep the Fridgemate cold, or more importantly it's contents. Also looking at solar panels.

Being on Mr Abbot's geriatric payroll I'm not real flash with cash, so will be mainly free camping.

Hope to spend next winter in the north with the GRR and Kimberleys high on my bucket list. I'm also a keen photographer with a love of the outback.

At present I have all the bits to do the wiring for a CTEK D250S Dual DC/DC charger in the camper via an Anderson plug on the rear of the Triton so I have heaps of questions, hopefully not to many dumb ones.

Looking forward to finishing my set-up and hopefully catching up with some of you at a weekend get-away.

Cage
Triton GLX+ with some mods
Camel Beachcomber
Itchy Feet

Offline nathan.moles.3

Re: G'day from the Hunter Valley
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2014, 04:21:13 PM »
Welcome mate what part of the hunter valley u from n I allso have a trition

« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2014, 04:40:27 PM »
Welcome Cage, congrats on the new camel CT. Might catch you out on the tracks one day.

« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2014, 12:13:29 AM »
G'day cage,
                 Welcome..Hope you enjoy time here.... lots of gr8 ppl here with great knowledge and experience

Offline berlitza

« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2014, 12:54:28 AM »
g'day and welcome ,,,,,,,,,,keep in mind though

« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2014, 08:36:08 AM »

Welcome to myswag Cage plenty off information here
     just ask away

CHEERS GRC   :cheers:

« Reply #6 on: December 07, 2014, 10:12:09 AM »
Welcome to the forum.  Congrats on the CT purchase.  Post up some pics as we like photos on here.

« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2014, 10:17:38 AM »
Welcome Cage,

Well done with the new CT, does look like you have started the Mods with all the right gear.

« Reply #8 on: December 07, 2014, 11:28:44 AM »
G'day Cage and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:

Offline Cage

• Camel Beachcomber
« Reply #9 on: December 07, 2014, 01:23:14 PM »
Thanks all for the warm welcome. 

Just back from BCF and Bunnings with a fridge stand, some rubber mats to go under the tent floor and an el cheapo 2 burner stove.

Seems like most of my mods seem to revolve around the fridge and keeping it's contents at about 3°C

Camel Beachcomber
Itchy Feet

Offline Jacko

• Here for a good time not a long time!
« Reply #10 on: December 07, 2014, 04:29:18 PM »
Welcome mate, hope you enjoy your time, plenty of info around. Those Camels are top CT's aren't they, but I maybe a little biased ;D ;D

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=15012.msg227580#msg227580
FZJ105 and Camel Discovery Plus CT

« Reply #11 on: December 08, 2014, 02:44:01 PM »
Welcome to Myswag,

If you would like to meet lots of fellow MySwaggers, then get ya backside to the 2015 Nat Meet at Rainbow Beach.
Check it out in the Trips, Tracks, Touring and Reports section. Towards the top of the page

« Reply #12 on: December 08, 2014, 03:09:09 PM »
welcome mate :cheers:

Offline Trailer Bloke

• You never know what's around the corner
« Reply #13 on: December 11, 2014, 11:47:51 AM »
Welcome might see you out and about one day I live on the Central Coast we do a few trips around The Hunter and Port Stephens areas :cheers:

Offline tk421

• Out of the Office... Road trips round Australia
« Reply #14 on: December 11, 2014, 02:49:33 PM »
Welcome - just new myself, but haven't bought yet.. still deciding

Good choice for over wintering: The Kimberley is #1 on my favorite parts of Australia (so far) list.  GRR is #2.  ;)
“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.”  - Ernest Hemingway

Offline Cage

• Camel Beachcomber
« Reply #15 on: December 11, 2014, 05:07:31 PM »
Cheers.   :cheers:

What a friendly and helpful forum.    :cup:
Camel Beachcomber
Itchy Feet

« Reply #16 on: December 11, 2014, 05:14:05 PM »
Cheers.   :cheers:

What a friendly and helpful forum.    :cup:

You obviously haven't been to the electrical section yet........... :-X :-X :-X

Welcome.
Jump in and get that canvas dirty...........
Overuse it! and love every minute of it.

« Reply #17 on: December 11, 2014, 05:57:28 PM »
Welcome to MySwag, enjoy your stay and join in the banter

Offline dales133

« Reply #18 on: December 11, 2014, 06:03:27 PM »
Welcome mate piece of paradise you reside in there.
I lived in port stephens for a couple of years and loved it.

Offline Cage

• Camel Beachcomber
« Reply #19 on: December 11, 2014, 06:51:39 PM »
Thanks guys.

And Brian, I'm asking dumb questions in the electrickery section at present.   ::)
Camel Beachcomber
Itchy Feet

Offline ianola

« Reply #20 on: December 14, 2014, 10:16:13 AM »
Welcome Cage. You have made a good decision to head North in the cooler part of the year...Its fairly hot and humid up here at the moment. We are also heading to the  Kimberleys next year and have  allowed a few months to take it all in.
All the best
Ianola
Ecomate  RF hard floor camper
Landcruiser Turbo Ute

You have as much right to be wrong as you have to be right