General => General Discussion => Topic started by: McGirr on June 30, 2015, 10:42:01 PM

Title: Private Health Insurance.
Post by: McGirr on June 30, 2015, 10:42:01 PM

With the end of the financial year Penny and I decided to get full health insurance cover, especially living here at Warburton. I haven't had full cover for over 15 years. After going through a number of health funds, what a nightmare that is, we decided on HIF. The initial quote was $568 per month which gives us top hospital cover , dental etc and with no excess for hospital. A second quote with a $200 excess for hospital a quote was $518. Not bad.

Great we can save money here as I don't expect, hopefully, to be in a hospital for a long time. Any way as we gave them a Po box for our mail in Alice Springs we got a cheaper quote of $468.00. It seems NT and WA are the cheapest states for health cover.  ;D

The guy on the phone then explained that Qld and Vic are the dearest states to have health cover. Go figure. I asked for a better discount but the best he could do was a $50 gift voucher. It doesn't hurt to ask.

Title: Re: Private Health Insurance.
Post by: WilSurf on July 01, 2015, 10:10:59 AM
We are with HIF as well as work had it arranged for me and we kept it.
For our family of 4 we pay $196.25 a month. We don't have the full maximum cover but all we need.
Post by: Swannie on July 01, 2015, 11:17:00 AM
I'm with Bupa, top family & top Extras $400pm
Post by: Goose on July 01, 2015, 11:30:39 AM
I'm in the industry and those prices seem a bit high sorry.

If you're not a regular patient in hospital, then I'd be looking at the $500 hospital excess first up. What you have in monthly premiums will quickly offset the occasional hospital visit excess. Its the same as car insurance.

$200 - $250 month is about normal. A lot of people pay way more than they need to out of guilt or a belief they will get better treatment.
Post by: WilSurf on July 01, 2015, 01:36:52 PM
Looks like my under $200 is alright then.
Post by: callmejoe on July 01, 2015, 03:19:36 PM
Having had to actually use my private heath cover I think its croc of ship....
Save that money. Invest it add to your home loan what ever. Then in time of need call back on YOUR $$ that has been working for you.
You'll get the same doctor as a public patient. The private room ONLY if available.  Same food. Only good benefits is the waiting period but yet this too only to a degree.

Plus with public no out of pocket expenses.  Trust me with specialist that adds up realllllllllll quick.

1 service I definitely have is ambulance cover though.

Just my thought anyway.
Post by: Goose on July 01, 2015, 03:40:30 PM
You'll get the same doctor as a public patient. The private room ONLY if available.  Same food.

This here. You would be amazed how many people think private insurance = private room in a public hospital.

My partner is a nurse in a public hospital and they get this daily. The ads on TV that show private insurance customers in private rooms don't help either.

In a public hospital, the private room has to be available and you need to justifiably need it, i.e., you're contagious or infectious or within hours of our death.
Post by: rotare on July 01, 2015, 03:51:35 PM
Having had to actually use my private heath cover I think its croc of ship....
Save that money. Invest it add to your home loan what ever. Then in time of need call back on YOUR $$ that has been working for you.
You'll get the same doctor as a public patient. The private room ONLY if available.  Same food. Only good benefits is the waiting period but yet this too only to a degree.

Plus with public no out of pocket expenses.  Trust me with specialist that adds up realllllllllll quick.

1 service I definitely have is ambulance cover though.

Just my thought anyway.

Your points are very interesting and something the wife and I have been discussing recently.  We have some level of medical cover but not full private health insurance and have been debating as to whether it's worth it.

None of my friends who have private health cover are convinced it's hugely more beneficial, in fact most are convinced it's cost them more whenever they've needed medical assistance.

Recently a couple of them have had kids and they reckon the hospital bills amounted to over a thousand dollars, where as had they gone public the cost would have been minuscule, if anything at all. Another example was where two mates ended up in hospital due to chest pain ( a couple of months between the incidences).  One had private health insurance, they other just used the public system.  When comparing notes at a BBQ the other day, both stayed in the hospital for the same length of time, both had similar if not the same types of tests performed (blood tests, ECG etc).  The cost to the public guy was zero, the guy that has private health insurance said so far the invoices for the tests, specialists etc is over $500, and he expects there's more yet to come.  So where is the benefit with private health insurance?

Be interested to hear peoples thoughts and experiences on this topic.   
Post by: D4D on July 01, 2015, 04:02:04 PM
I believe it is wrong to think of it as insurance, you need to make it work for you. Understand your requirements, kids, glasses, physio etc. and find/purchase a plan that suits. If you can't get back what you put in for the year then you may have too much cover.

For medical reasons, we went full private for the pregnancy and birth of our son. Total costs were $10K+, from memory out of pocket was about $2K.
My wife and I get an eye test and $300 each rebate on a pair of prescription glasses per year.
Recently I had to go to the physio at $70/visit, which I got 1/2 back.

Re the comment about if you're paying more than $200/m then you're paying too much. I'm not convinced, every family with kids I know is paying around$400-600/m for top cover.

Re getting better treatment, the answer is it depends. Using the example above sure the physio is the same public or private. For the pregnancy/birth, we had specific specialists, surgeons and obstetricians that you would be lucky to get in the public system.

Oh and between your 20's to late 30's you're typically in good health so you may only need emergency cover. Once you hit the big 4-0 you need it more as stuff starts to wear out.
Post by: brickiematt on July 01, 2015, 04:24:14 PM
I agree with D4D; you need to make it work for your situation.
Our cover has covered dental/orthodontic work for both of our girls, when my wife had pneumonia a few years ago and had to spend nearly 2 weeks in hospital it was a godsend, and our eldest daughter had her tonsils removed last week. Had her own room at Knox Private, 2 night stay, surgery etc etc. Cost to us: nil.
The only time it hasn't worked to our advantage  (ie. out of pocket expenses), is when using the emergency dept.
Choose the right level of cover for your current situation and it is a good peace of mind,  as all insurance is.
Post by: callmejoe on July 01, 2015, 04:38:02 PM
My wife and I get an eye test and $300 each rebate on a pair of prescription glasses per year.

Oh and between your 20's to late 30's you're typically in good health so you may only need emergency cover. Once you hit the big 4-0 you need it more as stuff starts to wear out.

Just like to add. But my wife gets free yearly check ups from a eye specialist chain. Who then will add deals such as your free pair of glasses free. All done with no cover..

quick sums.
Your 20's and 30's = 20yrs.
200 per mth = $2400 per yr
$2400 yr @ 20 yrs = $ 48,000.

That's alot of coin.
IF and IF you did pay that $200 per month into yr home loan or something I FEEL someone could be better off.

Post by: D4D on July 01, 2015, 04:40:40 PM
You could do the same maths for any insurance, it's all about how much risk you're comfortable with.
Post by: terravista on July 01, 2015, 04:41:25 PM
I have not had Private Cover for many years.
5 years ago I ended up with a leaky heart valve, and after a few weeks of Staph infection that did more valve damage, I was hospitalised from a stroke which hospitalised me for 5 weeks of coma, including two heart attacks, chest cut open 4 times for a valve replacement and another repaired, kidney failure and collapsed lung, a plastic tube cut into my throat for a breathing machine, and a food tube stuck down my nose.
This was in the Public system, but I had the same Specialists as some Private Insured patients, same room, food etc.
I walked out (slowly) after 8 weeks with no out of pocket expense, whereas a co-ward guy on Private cover had a bill over $3 000 just for a heart attack recovery and three stents.
Apparently the Private cover gets people in quicker, and that would be beneficial over dying, but when you finally get there it seems cheaper.
I guess it's a balancing act.
Ian
Post by: Swannie on July 01, 2015, 04:43:30 PM
I agree with D4D, I am a family of 5 with 3 kids, all kids were born in a private hospital in a single room, all kids have had optical & dental work done for an average out of pocket expense of around $40. I have also had 2 root canals (out of pocket was $68.00) I believe they are a couple of k each, I also have regular sports physio & chiro where I pay on average of $30 a visit. Wife also had  a heap of major dental work done I did the sums and I'm way in front.

On  aside note I also pay pet insurance | that has saved me even more money!!
Post by: callmejoe on July 01, 2015, 04:46:19 PM
You could do the same maths for any insurance, it's all about how much risk you're comfortable with.

For sure, agree 100%.
In reality for many to budget and save $$ in these method isn't going to happen.  Just showing it could be possible.

Joe
Post by: tk421 on July 01, 2015, 04:56:00 PM
Agree with D4D.

Its the other stuff - eg for me glasses/contacts which aren't cheap for my script. Just been told that eldest kid is going to need orthodontics soon. I used it for my physio after tearing a calf muscle, wife had to have elective day surgery,. etc etc.  Without it, things would have been a lot more expensive and in my wife's case she would have had to put up with a lot of pain for over year if she went public.

you never know when you need it. We have friends who have no medical insurance and who's daughter was diagnosed with a heart issue, they ended up being 25K out of pocket. They could have waited to go on the public but the health risks were too great

However we did have 3 kids via the Public system - not a cent was paid by us and we got top notch care at a good hospital. Friends who went to the private hospital, literally over the road, ended up paying $2k and felt that their care was pretty ordinary. 
Post by: cetacean on July 01, 2015, 05:07:15 PM
I work in the Health system, at a Private Hospital in fact. No HBF or other private cover for me......has to be one of the biggest rip-offs of all time. You'd be amazed at the extra tests etc ordered by some doctors for private patients.You just gotta have a look at the Masaratis, Porcshe's, BMW'S,etc in the Doctor's car park at work to be sceptical !
Have had my share of health issues over the years and have always been happy with the treatment I've received as a public patient in a public hospital.
Post by: gronk on July 01, 2015, 05:20:27 PM
As seen , everyones needs are different, same as everyones idea of need !!

As you get older, the benefits of private insurance is waiting lists.....new knee, new hip, elective surgery etc etc !
Plus for you younger people, if you haven't joined before age 40, you get slugged an extra premium for every year over 40..

But for a run of the mill broken bone, a trip to hospital is cheaper if you are a public patient......don't even mention you are private..

But for a run of the mill colonoscopy, the specialist will normally do it in a private hospital, so the private insurance will cover all of it ( apart from any excess you might have )
Post by: achjimmy on July 01, 2015, 05:45:14 PM
Sames as D4D make it work for you. We are in a industry fund. Being long term we get dividends when they have a good year (most) and we use there free dental clinic and eye clinic and every 6mths. Plus physio etc.
Post by: Mallory Black on July 01, 2015, 05:54:06 PM
Private Health cover is essentially "Group Insurance"  that means there is no underwriting, just some pre-existing condition exclusions. so you can be pretty healthy and pay the same rates as someone who is a train wreck, or decides to have a bunch of children and get their benefits.

The last 3 experiences went like this

Boxing day 2012, stepped on a sewing needle and bits broke off in my foot, went to St Andrews Emergency, pretty sure I would need admitting for surgery, the doctor agreed but there were no surgeons, so because they could not admit me they charged me $300 for the consult + $85 for the x-ray. Didn't want to be a burden on the public but had no choice.

Daughter gets booked into the Wes for knee surgery. nil by mouth since night before, supposed to be operated on at 1pm, didn't get done till 10.30 that evening so fancy a 16y/o with no food for 24 hours. They were Hopeless,

Then there's the $250pa for glasses, but when you get your glasses which by the way as a total spend are less than $250 but then the provider says they will only pay this much for lenses, this much for coatings, that much for frames, I'm still spending $100 out of my pocket.

And believe me, we weren't paying what most of you are paying because I had a corporate rate and got in many many years ago when there was a deal that froze premiums to the entry age.

At the end of the day, the deal is crook, the service is ordinary, it wasn't always like that but that's been our experience over the past few years.

We were facing the prospect of not being able to afford the gap between benefits and cost so cancelled the stupid thing, bumped up our trauma insurance and moved on

Worst thing they could have done is float on the stock market. they have to generate too much gravy for the investors, and I'm paying for that? forget it
Post by: McGirr on July 01, 2015, 07:44:05 PM

Great comments. Yes in 20years time I will find out if it has been worth it. As mentioned everyone's need for health cover will always vary. Am I paying too much only time will tell. I will be using every benefit I can next time in town, new glasses , massages etc  ;D

Regarding insurance we all have car, building, contents etc and hopefully we never claim but peace of mind if we need to. I look at it the other way, I can replace items but me  ;D

Post by: Moggy on July 01, 2015, 07:53:47 PM
Like all insurance it's main currency is FEAR!!!!
Post by: Oldandslow on July 01, 2015, 08:35:04 PM
I have not had Private Cover for many years.
5 years ago I ended up with a leaky heart valve, and after a few weeks of Staph infection that did more valve damage, I was hospitalised from a stroke which hospitalised me for 5 weeks of coma, including two heart attacks, chest cut open 4 times for a valve replacement and another repaired, kidney failure and collapsed lung, a plastic tube cut into my throat for a breathing machine, and a food tube stuck down my nose.
This was in the Public system, but I had the same Specialists as some Private Insured patients, same room, food etc.
I walked out (slowly) after 8 weeks with no out of pocket expense, whereas a co-ward guy on Private cover had a bill over $3 000 just for a heart attack recovery and three stents.
Apparently the Private cover gets people in quicker, and that would be beneficial over dying, but when you finally get there it seems cheaper.
I guess it's a balancing act.
Ian

This is the norm.  The reality of private insurance is that its only benefit is if you need elective surgery. In the public system you go on a waiting list for any elective surgery, such as knee and hip replacements, but you do then get the same quality of care with no out of pocket expenses. With private cover you get access to almost immediate treatment for elective surgery but you will also get a substantial bill at the end. For serious medical problems the time frame and care is the same for private and public patients. Private rooms for private patients just doesn't happen unless you go to high end private hospitals and then pay the excessive gap payments.
Post by: D4D on July 01, 2015, 08:40:52 PM
Private rooms for private patients just doesn't happen unless you go to high end private hospitals and then pay the excessive gap payments.

That's not my experience
Post by: Black Diamond on July 01, 2015, 08:44:35 PM
I'm in the industry and those prices seem a bit high sorry.

If you're not a regular patient in hospital, then I'd be looking at the $500 hospital excess first up. What you have in monthly premiums will quickly offset the occasional hospital visit excess. Its the same as car insurance.

$200 - $250 month is about normal. A lot of people pay way more than they need to out of guilt or a belief they will get better treatment.
Well said mate. We were paying over $400 with Bupa. About a month ago we spoke with a consultant, re adjusted a few things and now we are saving around $150 per month for all the cover we need. Turns out we were paying for extra's we would never use like pregnancy ;D now considering the missus was put up on blocks and had the gearbox taken out I don't think we would be needing it ;D cut a long story short it pays to make a phone call :cheers:
Post by: kiwipride on July 02, 2015, 07:05:10 AM
Just like to add. But my wife gets free yearly check ups from a eye specialist chain. Who then will add deals such as your free pair of glasses free. All done with no cover..

quick sums.
Your 20's and 30's = 20yrs.
200 per mth = $2400 per yr
$2400 yr @ 20 yrs = $ 48,000.

That's alot of coin.
IF and IF you did pay that $200 per month into yr home loan or something I FEEL someone could be better off.

Sitting in hospital now just had TDR. We joined Private Bupa one year ago. With out insurance this OP alone would have cost over $40,000. Or a 4-6 year public wait.

So, yes $48k over 20 years is a lot but are you banking on not needing major surgery until you have saved up for 20 Years?

By the way, my 23 other OP's were all public with minimal waiting,

Post by: alnjan on July 02, 2015, 10:45:34 AM
Have always had private cover and yes it cost a lot but once we needed it, sure glad we had it.  Jan was diagnosed with cancer in her right femur.  After major surgery to remove 23cm of the femur and basically reconstruct her right leg, a fortnight in Hospital after the op, heaps of physio to learn to walk again, follow up op a year later with another week in Hospital and more ongoing physio, not to mention the ongoing chronic pain afterwards, we are glad to have had the cover.  We still have top cover as there is still more, albeit benign growth still in the knee section of the remaining femur.  Not to mention all the other medical stuff between us. 

Yes you could save the same amount as the expense of Private Cover and try and save it or pay off mortgage but, that first op, the best we could tally up the bills for Hospital, two teams of specialist Drs plus other medical expenses came in of $200k.  Yes we are broke and still with a mortgage but it has been 17 years since that fateful day and the best part about it is we are still together enjoying each day.
Post by: gronk on July 02, 2015, 10:51:44 AM
Sitting in hospital now just had TDR. We joined Private Bupa one year ago. With out insurance this OP alone would have cost over $40,000. Or a 4-6 year public wait.

So, yes $48k over 20 years is a lot but are you banking on not needing major surgery until you have saved up for 20 Years?

By the way, my 23 other OP's were all public with minimal waiting,

I don't know what a TDR is mate, but with a total of 24 ops, you have had some pretty bad luck in your life..... :'(

( ps; the best I could come up with was a Total Dick Reconstruction ?? )

But I hope that didn't offend you.....and if you can, maybe you'll get a laugh out of it ??   :cheers:
Post by: kiwipride on July 02, 2015, 01:43:50 PM
I don't know what a TDR is mate, but with a total of 24 ops, you have had some pretty bad luck in your life..... :'(

But I hope that didn't offend you.....and if you can, maybe you'll get a laugh out of it ??   :cheers:

LOL. My TDR is Total Disc Replacement. (Neck)
Post by: oldmate on July 02, 2015, 01:59:19 PM

Pmsl, and this time doc can we make it bigger, fatter and bad'r then you ever have before  ;D
Post by: fishfinder on July 02, 2015, 02:27:59 PM
We have health cover, not top cover but for dental and eyes. My daughter had dental work done in WA and out of $9000 we were able to claim $6500 back through health insurance.so we were out of pocket $2500 The WA awfuldontist said the continual treatment is Australia wide and we need not to pay no more. Well we shifted to Tasmania shortly after and apparently Tasmania is not part of Australia and they do not continue the treatment so we had to pay an extra $6500 to continue the treatment and was unable to claim back on insurance as we have already made a claim. So is it worth it ????
Post by: Moggy on July 02, 2015, 06:11:41 PM
Pmsl, and this time doc can we make it bigger, fatter and bad'r then you ever have before  ;D
Now that made me smile

I gotta get private health insurance

Post by: slydar on July 02, 2015, 06:54:41 PM
did anyone read about the pensioner who is paying private health but has been told that his cover 'no longer pays' for so much of what he had done on his last hospital trip? he has or has to lose an arm to cancer to stop it spreading and has about six months to live if he doesn't have the surgery
Post by: krisandkev on July 03, 2015, 06:52:51 AM
did anyone read about the pensioner who is paying private health but has been told that his cover 'no longer pays' for so much of what he had done on his last hospital trip? he has or has to lose an arm to cancer to stop it spreading and has about six months to live if he doesn't have the surgery

If it is true there may be a lot more to that story?  If it is true......  Kevin
Post by: Redcherokee on July 03, 2015, 08:24:57 PM
We did this process a year or so ago and went full hospital but absolutely no extras.  Looked at the extras we would actually claim, and realised there was just no way we could claim more than the cost of the cover for the things we are likely to use.  Including maximum massages and glasses etc. 

Seriously, have a look at how much you can claim (eg $60 per physio to a max of $X) and see if you can win.

Post by: 99disco on July 05, 2015, 04:57:56 PM
^^^
We've not got private health at all and although I've often earned good money and pay a fairly big Medicare levy the private health never adds up for us (I've done the maths every financial year).

At the end of the day they are an insurance company, their am is to make money not for you to win.

Shane
Post by: alnjan on July 08, 2015, 10:13:32 PM
Hi, I'm the Jan part of alnjan, I know Al has already put a little bit about me, but I thought I'd just add to it a little...

As Al said, I was diagnosed with a rare form of bone cancer in the right femur (that's the big bone in the top of the leg, it's surprising how many folks don't know that, so I'm not trying to be a smart arse or anything).  In the nine weeks from the first xray to the 13 hour op where I got a new leg, there were countless tests and scans, a lot of which weren't covered by medicare at the time.  We're talking hundreds of dollars for each test.  So being a public or private patient would still have meant we had to pay for it all; having private health insurance meant we could claim some of it back.

The big difference though, for my particular circumstance was the LEG I ended up with.  The cancer was so advanced, that I was having surgery asap, private or public, that wouldn't have made much difference...at least I hope not, because I was pretty damn close to not seeing my kids birthdays apparently.  The big difference was the way they went about fixing me up.  You see, I now have someone else's bone in my leg.

I had experimental surgery, where 23cm of my own femur was removed and a donor-bone grafted in to replace it.  My fibula (the small bone from the back of the calf) was also removed and grafted alongside the donor-bone to provide live bone from the top to the bottom of my leg.  A bloody huge plate holds it all in securely from hip to knee, where the pronged end is bent at right angles and belted into holes drilled into the top of my knee.  I had to go back a few months later to have the top graft redone, as the graft hadn't taken the first time around, and a second plate was put over it to help hold everything as still as possible.

In the public system, IF I was lucky I would have had a metal rod put in the place of my femur, which would have had to be removed within 5 years because the ends of the rod would have worn away at the bone shaft to which it would be anchored.  And then my leg would be amputated.  But I would have had a few more years of having a full leg.  If I wasn't so lucky, my leg would have been amputated there and then.

The care I received during the two weeks in the private hospital was unbelievable.  Each nurse only had 4 patients per shift; one high-needs and ranging down to the fourth one due for discharge.  I had my own room and private bathroom.  Alan was allowed to be with me from sun-up to late at night - I can never express how important his continued presence and support was to me, and I'm grateful he was allowed to stay with me.

And that's the difference between the two systems.  And do you know they are STILL amputating people's legs for similar bone tumours?  STILL!  WHY?  The only answer that comes to mind is the difference between the public and the private health systems.

Eighteen years later, and I'm still walking around on my donated bone.  I've had several 'maintenance operations' over that time, and will continue to do so all my life.  But I've lived to see my kids grow, I've played backyard cricket with them - although watching me try to run is a belly-laugh, I've even walked our daughter "down the aisle, with Al on the other side of her. And I'm looking forward to seeing our son married soon. These are things that almost slipped away from me.

I know my story is on the other end of the 'normal day to day' range, but trust me, these things happen.  We had been talking about dropping our health cover only a few months before all my 'leg business' happened.  Now, of course, we don't dare drop it, because the mechanics of my leg require specialist attention - even the simple knee replacement I will need in the future won't be so simple, as they will have to design a special joint to hold my plate anchored, and Lord knows what will happen to the fibula stump where all the muscles in my calf were anchored. But that's in the future, and I refuse to worry about it.  For now, there's a lot of Australia to explore, and I can do it on my own two legs...well, my own one and a half legs and a borrowed other half! ;-)

Jan
xxxx 
Post by: areyonga on July 09, 2015, 08:19:17 PM
Anyone looking for private health cover should look at Defence Health, I am on top hospital and top extras and paying a lot less that the replies are quoting.  While there is a limit on who can join, it is very open and if a sibling, grandfather, father or mother etc was in defence, or a defence contractor or civilian in defence you can join.  It is non profit and the returns are good.
Post by: Nomad on July 09, 2015, 08:45:11 PM
Your nothing short of a legend Jan.
Post by: Redcherokee on July 09, 2015, 09:12:03 PM
Wow, that is an amazing story, Jan.

Glad you are still around. 

Post by: alnjan on July 09, 2015, 09:52:53 PM
lol I never thought of my being a legend, been too busy getting on with the job of living and enjoying every moment that I can, but thanks guys.  I have to admit, my "little" turned out to be quite a bit bigger when I'd finished writing...and I trimmed it down, would you believe!

Jan
xxxx
Post by: edz on July 09, 2015, 10:46:43 PM
I know this isnt the what made you smile thread, but you damwell made me smile .. Love ya spirit Jan. :cup:
Post by: Bird on March 09, 2017, 02:44:03 PM
Chick at work saying her medibank is going up to $466 a month for her and hubby!

I can see thousands dropping off this gig like a brides nighty
Post by: LB on March 09, 2017, 03:03:02 PM
Have to admit we have great cover through the mine my husband works at. We pay about $250 per month for the second top hospital with a $250 Excess. With out extra's we pay only 15% of the bill and have huge limits. Told my husband he will be working there till retirement. It also covers my children till they are 25.
Post by: trinityalyce on March 09, 2017, 03:31:05 PM
Jan, that's an incredible story. So glad that it all worked out the way it did for you.

The whole debate over private room vs not issue can really depend on the hospital facilities, staff available, all sorts of things. So the level of care some will get as a private patient in some hospitals in some areas will be amazing, and in other areas may not differ pretty much at all from the level of care you'd get as a public patient. At least that's my understanding on it...

I have some degree of hospital and extras cover, and I do make sure I use it as much as I can! You have to make it work for you to get the benefit from it - you're paying the premiums so you may as well!

I also have a strong view that in some cases you get what you pay for in the medical system. I've been to bulk bill doctors I wouldn't trust (well I've been to non-bulk billing GPs I wouldn't trust either...), and choose to pay to see my doctor. I've had similar terrible experiences with an optometrist who bulk billed my eye exam then told me I needed glasses (which I didn't, so it turns out... what a waste of money which sadly I handed over being young and naive back then!). I apply that view to everything when it comes to my health. Maybe you will have out of pocket expenses, but I'd rather trust the opinions given to me when it comes to something as important as my own health.
Post by: LB on March 09, 2017, 04:06:13 PM
I really do struggle with this, you are happy to pay insurance on your car but not for yourself and your family.

My son need urgent surgery or could have ended up with permanent issues on his hand many years ago due to a rubgy accident. It was considered non urgent via the public system so it would have been 6 - 12 months wait. To have paid for it through private would have cost 15K. That is not including all the physio afterwards. Thank you to our health insurance surgery was done in less than a week no out of pocket and we only paid $20 for each physio session.

Next week I am have a knee reconstruction which I would have had to wait 12 - 18 months through the public system. That could have meant around 2 years before I could return to the SES Field work. Now I will be back in 6-9 months. Would have been looking around the 15k for this as well out of pocket $1000.

I even have health insurance on my dog.

I do this so I never have to make a choice about the health and safety of my family.
Post by: Pete79 on March 09, 2017, 04:41:44 PM
Just read this thread from the beginning, some interesting comments in there.
After I made a post in the rant thread I was starting to think I was the only one that knew this private cover thing was a scam. Apparently there are others that see through the blanket of fear that covers this insurance industry.

And my take on the bulk bill V non-bulk bill thing.
The local GP in our little country town parks his Porsche at the back door of the surgery, you look at it as you walk towards the examination room as a friendly reminder why he doesn't bulk bill.
The level of care is average at best and the level of contempt shown by the receptionist is disgusting.

So I choose to drive 20 minutes to the closest GP that does bulk bill. I get awesome care there and I even get spoken to like a real person every time I walk in the door.

My personally experience has been, the GPs that do bulk bill are there to help with the health needs of the community.
The GPs that don't bulk bill are there to make money, and lots of it...
Post by: LB on March 09, 2017, 05:22:46 PM
Just to point out GPs have nothing to do with the private health system that is totally to do with Medicare. My doctor bulk bills and she is amazing. That's a doctor by doctor thing.

Private health insurance whilst maybe over priced but it is not a scam.

My mum was diagnosed with cancer at 44 years of age, prior I don't think she had had a sick day in her life. She had always insisted on private health insurance even though they had little money. Dad told me if it hadn't been for the private health insurance he would have gone bankrupt.

Not everything is available under the public system, which Jan highlighted earlier. In my mothers case things were done that were considered unnecessary in the eyes of the public system, so would not have happened with out the insurance to cover the cost. My mothers quality of life was hugely improved by those treatments. One was a hip replacement that had been caused by bone cancer.

Like any insurance you always hope that nothing will go wrong, but Shit happens and like having your house burnt down there would be very few people who regardless how much they had put away could cover that. Sometimes medical bills can rake up to more than a house.

So if your prepared to take the risk that's your choice, but I hate nothing more (as I have heard it from my friends) is complaint about waiting lists, dentist bills, glasses for the kids etc  because they chose not to have insurance.

Its not a scam its insurance
Post by: Rumpig on March 09, 2017, 05:58:11 PM
How funny is that...whilst reading this thread my misses walks up to me and says, "we need to either look st changing our health insurance or look at cancelling it".....she just mentioned what our new fortnightly cost is going up to...reckon we might be cancelling it soon.
Post by: Bird on March 09, 2017, 06:23:30 PM
Quote from: LB
I really do struggle with this, you are happy to pay insurance on your car but not for yourself and your family.
$460 a month is $600 out of reach of many families, no matter what sort of warm and fuzzy story you put infront of it - and that price I mentioned is 2 60+ yr olds, no kids.
Post by: LB on March 09, 2017, 06:45:09 PM
$460 a month is $600 out of reach of many families, no matter what sort of warm and fuzzy story you put infront of it - and that price I mentioned is 2 60+ yr olds, no kids.

I just jumped on the medibank private site and looked how much it would cost for basic hospital (doesn't cover pregenacy , hip replacements stuff like that) but does cover most of the stuff families will cop plus 55% back on your extra's and it was $250 per month. Figured most would not be earning over $180000. Far cry from the 400 - 600 you are saying. Most families don't need top hospital that tends to be something you need later in life when stuff starts wearing out.  Now it is with a $500 excess but there is no excess on kids.
Post by: LB on March 09, 2017, 06:52:53 PM
Just checked over 60's for Top Hospital and basic extra's and it was about $287. medibank private
Post by: Bird on March 09, 2017, 06:53:25 PM
I just jumped on the medibank private site and looked how much it would cost for basic hospital (doesn't cover pregenacy , hip replacements stuff like that) but does cover most of the stuff families will cop plus 55% back on your extra's and it was $250 per month. Figured most would not be earning over $180000. Far cry from the 400 - 600 you are saying. Most families don't need top hospital that tends to be something you need later in life when stuff starts wearing out.  Now it is with a $500 excess but there is no excess on kids.
I have no idea what cover level she is on, but that's the price she had in the letter. I know her hubby is retired, and shes planning to retire this yr, dunno if that changes it, but shes been planning on retiring for last 4yrs.
Post by: listo on March 09, 2017, 06:59:37 PM
I've looked into it & it's too much for us. We have extras to keep ourselves tuned up when we need it, but I can't bring myself to get more than that.
I insure my cars because if anything happens to it, no one else will fix it. If anything happens to me, insurance or not, I'll get fixed up. I had kidney failure 10years ago & I couldn't have been looked after better, by the public system.
Post by: LB on March 09, 2017, 07:07:09 PM
I have no idea what cover level she is on, but that's the price she had in the letter. I know her hubby is retired, and shes planning to retire this yr, dunno if that changes it, but shes been planning on retiring for last 4yrs.

It greatly depends on the cover you chose, If you have top everything with no or little excess and high extra returns you will pay big bikkies. The biggest problem is people who have had the same health policy for a long time don't often take a good look at what they are paying for. Things like a 60 you probably don't need fertility treatment or orthodontic. By checking to make sure you only have the cover that is appropriate for you is the way to go. There is no point for a 40 year old to be covered for a hip replacement they wont even look at you till you are over 60. Know that because my hubby has arthritis in his knees and they wont do it. Knowing it would happen in the future I rang a spoke to medibank and the lovely lady said they usually let you know 12 to 18 months before they will consider doing it, up your cover then waste of money now.

I would strongly suggest she takes a good look at her cover and see what else is around. All the health funds wipe waiting times if you had the same stuff on your other policy.
Post by: Pete79 on March 09, 2017, 07:15:55 PM
I think there's enough evidence just in this thread to say that it is actually an over priced scam. ;)

I do like the comparisons to car insurance.
If health insurance actually worked like car insurance I reckon we'd all be signed up.
You know, you pay your premiums, then when you break it, they either fix it or replace it. Simples.

Imagine if car insurers started saying, "well that prado you just crashed might be worth $80,000 to replace, but we recon it's only worth $20,000. How about you just chip in the extra bit to cover the difference and we'll replace it just like we promised we would?"

I get there are situations where the private system can help, but overall the system is very broken.
For the average person a one off trip to the dentist for a root canal or a couple of trips to the Physio here and there to sort out the old footy injury does not justify the ridiculous monthly fees, let alone that scam that is the gap payment.

Maybe we'll see a mass exodus in the coming years if they keep hiking up their fees.
Will be interesting to see the industry's reaction once the cash cow is gone.
Post by: LB on March 09, 2017, 08:15:57 PM
I think there's enough evidence just in this thread to say that it is actually an over priced scam. ;)

I do like the comparisons to car insurance.
If health insurance actually worked like car insurance I reckon we'd all be signed up.
You know, you pay your premiums, then when you break it, they either fix it or replace it. Simples.

Imagine if car insurers started saying, "well that prado you just crashed might be worth $80,000 to replace, but we recon it's only worth $20,000. How about you just chip in the extra bit to cover the difference and we'll replace it just like we promised we would?"

I get there are situations where the private system can help, but overall the system is very broken.
For the average person a one off trip to the dentist for a root canal or a couple of trips to the Physio here and there to sort out the old footy injury does not justify the ridiculous monthly fees, let alone that scam that is the gap payment.

Maybe we'll see a mass exodus in the coming years if they keep hiking up their fees.

Its not about the one off trips to the dentist for root canal or the physio, if I didn't have private health insurance I would have to wait 12 - 18 months for surgery on my knee with the possibility of permanent damage being caused to other parts of knee due to the instability with another 9-12months rehab.

But thank you to my private health insurance. now I will be back in the field with the SES in the next 9-12 months with no further damage. If that's a scam then I am so glad I'm part of it. Of course my other choice with out insurance would have been to fork out the nearly $15,000 do have it done quickly (that's like 5 years worth of my family's health insurance payments).

Where our health system is by no means perfect we are a lot better off then some, you would be stuffed without insurance in places like the USA, they don't have medicare like we do.
Post by: Bird on March 09, 2017, 08:24:01 PM
Quote from: Pete79

They will do 1 of 2 things
1-  they will Shit their pants and drop prices which they say they cant afford...
2 - say **** you to those still in it (instead of giving them extra) and raise the prices again with full Gov support, more will drop out - then they will go broke.

I'm betting on #2. They are too arrogant now.

My old mans HCF is ~1800 yr... but when he broke his hip last year 5 mths in private hospital and rehab it was value - but they have been paying for it as long as I remember... If you  banked that money at todays massive .0% interest and 10% fees you'd be better off ???

It's great when you need it, but its extortion for the Gov Co to penalise those who cant afford it.

I don't think some people out there (or any rich **** politician) realise many families have no spare cash at the end of the week after essentials. Fuel to get to work, Gas, elect, food, schooling - and its gone. Some cant even stretch that far... more and more stories of FAMILIES living in cars.. what a **** of a life that would be.
Post by: Pete79 on March 09, 2017, 08:43:20 PM
The best thing about Australia is that we are NOT America!
As much as the health insurance companies here would love us to have that system.

I fear that you're right Bird.

For the moment our public system is pretty good, not perfect but for most of us it works.
My brother had a shoulder reconstruction through the public system, pretty sure the wait wasn't too bad for him. I had my appendix out through the public system, it was same day service for me.

I posted this one in my rant post, but the kicker for me was when we had our twins.
Call it luck or what ever you like, but the day we went in for a routine checkup the doctor on duty was a leader in multiple births. He travels the world lecturing on the subject. He had a whole tribe of students following him around as he came and saw us. His checkup was so thorough, I was super impressed. He found a few things he wasn't happy with with one of the babies, so straight up to the surgical ward and in for an emergency C-section we went.
Again, call it luck if you like, but we had world class treatment in the public system that didn't cost us a cent. Meanwhile in the bed next to my wife was a lady that had a normal, simple birth, but went through the private system. Same hospital, same doctors, same Shitty food, about $2,000 difference in price.

Like I said, it might be worth while for some (especially the elderly and those with pre existing conditions) but the vast majority of people are just getting ripped off by a system and industry that relies on fear.
Post by: LB on March 10, 2017, 02:29:26 AM
I don't want people to get me wrong I have nothing but praise for a public system staff our guys at a local Orange Base hospital are lovely. Had two of my children through the midwife program and 1 through the private system and if I had a forth I would have gone back to the public. We were only out of pocket about $800 and I did get to have smoked salmon, but I just didn't see the value, and to be honest I preferred the midwifes.

I f its an emergency like appendix, broken bones etc you will always be better off going public. A friend of ours who was a nurse at Westmead told us emergencies or urgent stuff go public everything else you are better off private.  I also do know it helps our local base hospital if we have insurance as they don't charge us anything but the get to claim a little extra from the insurance company.

You can choose with at least our health insurance to go to a no gap hospital and a no gap surgeon so no out of pocket.

For those who a doing it tuff bloody oath we should do more a friend of mine has waited over 12 months to get a hip replacement since he was put on the list, he is only in his 40's but his hip was totally screwed, its effected his ability to work and his quality of life like you would not believe.  There is very little spare cash in that family even though they work hard so no insurance and no ability to pay the 20K - 30K for the opp to go private. This just plain wrong. I struggle to see in this case how this is elective surgery.

And I totally agree one of the best things about Australia is we are not America!!!!! Their health care system is the least of their worries
Post by: Julian Kaye on March 10, 2017, 07:22:32 AM

My wife was a NSW teacher and we have been in the Teachers Federation Health Fund for many years. Their prices are competitive and the coverage is excellent.  For those looking for health cover and in the public sector maybe look into your union or association for a health fund. They are usually a pretty good alternative to the big health funds.
  A few people here have questioned the need and value of private health cover, now I am old enough to remember pre- Whitlam when everybody had private health cover and doctors worked in public hospitals on an honorary basis in return for treating their own patients in public hospitals. Now that was a system that worked very well. Then Gough came along and told everyone that in the socialist utopia health care should be free and universal. Personal responsibility went out the window with people swamping the public system for everything from head colds to ingrown toenails. That is why people have to wait 12 months for hip replacements, because the notion that people should take responsibility for their health care has gone out the window.
 This is how the private system works. I have been putting off a knee replacement for the for the last five years but it flared up badly in January and I knew the time had come. Saw my GP on the 3rd February, X-rays on the 8th February, saw the surgeon on the 28th February, started pre-op physio on the 1st March, surgery scheduled for the 22nd March. It will cost me $400 for the gap between my surgeon's fee and the health fund cover, the anaesthetist will be a $80 gap. Everything else is covered by my health fund. Everyone can make up their own mind if they think it is worth it, personally I would have to have the arse out of my pants before I would give up private health cover.
Post by: Bird on March 10, 2017, 07:30:55 AM
Quote from: Julian Kaye
, personally I would have to have the arse out of my pants before I would give up private health cover.
that's the thing.. many people have their arse out of their pants.
Post by: chester ver2.0 on March 10, 2017, 08:18:40 AM
When i came off my bike

Dislocated shoulder with bone chipped
Split skin up the side of the nose to the bone
Snapped in half eye tooth, tooth in front and chipped molar behind

Basically the public hospital re seated my shoulder stitched the nose and sent me on my wa.

private insurance covered
All dental work for repair of the teeth
Plastic surgery and repair of the nose as i could not breathe properly and it looked terrible
Additional surgery for the shoulder as they being the public hospital did not find the chipped bone the first time

My experience was that if you walk into a public hospital by yourself and you are not in immediate risk of dying the service you get is utter crap and my private health insurance was worth every penny
Post by: Julian Kaye on March 10, 2017, 11:32:19 AM
that's the thing.. many people have their arse out of their pants.

That's the thing, Medicare should exist for those who can't look after themselves, not those who have their own house with all the trimmings but who think the rest of Australia should fund their health care needs through Medicare. It's called priorities, the most important thing a person has is their health and yet many won't put a cracker into private health care cover when they could and should look after themselves.
Post by: LB on March 10, 2017, 12:12:26 PM

That's the thing, Medicare should exist for those who can't look after themselves, not those who have their own house with all the trimmings but who think the rest of Australia should fund their health care needs through Medicare. It's called priorities, the most important thing a person has is their health and yet many won't put a cracker into private health care cover when they could and should look after themselves.

Well said, if all those who could afford it had it and then that would take the pressure off the public system, and bring those waiting lists down for all those families and pensioners who can't really afford to have it.
Post by: D4D on March 10, 2017, 03:59:48 PM
Some interesting info here http://www.news.com.au/lifestyle/health/health-problems/the-private-health-insurance-hack-that-saved-us-4000/news-story/af02f0a6ffbd6e781133dce3f7d4238a (http://www.news.com.au/lifestyle/health/health-problems/the-private-health-insurance-hack-that-saved-us-4000/news-story/af02f0a6ffbd6e781133dce3f7d4238a)
Post by: krisandkev on March 10, 2017, 04:03:10 PM
I suppose people like my wife and I are part of the problem.  Did not join a health fund until I was 46, had to pay the extra % for the next 10 years and did not have to make a claim in that time.  Then when 56 they found I had a large pituitary tumour which was pressing against my optic nerve causing partial loss of vision in one eye. That was on a Friday, then after travelling to Brisbane for a MRI and then seeing a Specialist neurosurgeon by the following Tuesday I was on the operating table!  I was also under the care of two other specialists for a while. The neurosurgeon said lucky I have private health and was not waiting in the public system.  The tumour came back and in 2015 back for another operation and then two months of radiation. My wife in 2015 also injured her hip and now we find out she actually ripped a muscle and will need surgery as well as it looks like a knee replacement.  Again she can have all that ASAP because of our cover.

My point is that while we paid extra for a while to have private cover we did not have cover for most of our more healthy lives, but in the past few years and again soon we have been using our private cover.  So they need to encourage people to join a private fund when young.  I suppose it is like paying taxes, you pay them all of your life and hopefully you can retire one day on a pension.  Mind you we are self funded retirees and when we get to pension age we will not qualify for anything, but that is a good thing.   ;D   

So then does anyone have a answer?  How to encourage people to join a health fund as soon as they start work? Maybe a cheaper premium that increases over time?  Or what about making the premiums tax deductable?  Remembering the government health insurance rebate has been reducing!!  So a double hit in April, the funds increase and less rebate.  Kevin
Post by: areyonga on March 11, 2017, 11:32:13 AM
I am in defence health insurance and just came back from surgery with a previous stint for the same problem a few weeks ago and in 4 weeks back for more, my saving on the hospital is around $11,000.00 and there was no access.  I have also saved om some of the medical so I wouldnt be without private health insurance.

When doing your sums for health insurance consider a quote from defence health, my monthly payments I am paying are less than others and I am in top hospital ans top extras, its easy enough to get in as long as someone in your family is in defence or a defence civilian employee, it may even be a grandfather or grandmother who was in defence.

Post by: Nomad on March 11, 2017, 03:46:21 PM

I think thats a bit harsh.....so would you abolish the medicare levy for those people that own a nice house with all the trimmings....or are they expected to still pay it and not have any access to the public healthcare service.
Post by: LB on March 12, 2017, 05:23:50 AM
I think thats a bit harsh.....so would you abolish the medicare levy for those people that own a nice house with all the trimmings....or are they expected to still pay it and not have any access to the public healthcare service.

Even when you go to a local doctor this has nothing to do with your health fund this is Medicare so yes you still need to pay the surcharge. If you are in a bad car crash for instance you will be taken to a public hospital as well.

Post by: LB on March 12, 2017, 05:27:47 AM
Some interesting info here http://www.news.com.au/lifestyle/health/health-problems/the-private-health-insurance-hack-that-saved-us-4000/news-story/af02f0a6ffbd6e781133dce3f7d4238a (http://www.news.com.au/lifestyle/health/health-problems/the-private-health-insurance-hack-that-saved-us-4000/news-story/af02f0a6ffbd6e781133dce3f7d4238a)

Medibank Private has a thing on their website so you can pick no gap surgeons. It also lets you find members choice dentists etc. By using a member s choice you will get back the exact claim % you pay for. Ours is 85% and that's exactly what we get back.
Post by: Julian Kaye on March 12, 2017, 05:44:54 AM

I have posted twice on this subject and neither time did I suggest that the Medicare Levy be abolished for anyone. My point was simply that people who are able to look after their own health care needs should do so. It does two things, it gives the individual choice in their health care and it helps unclog the Medicare system for those who really need it. Quite frankly it ludicrous for a wealthy person to lob at a doctor or hospital and expect the poorer people in our society to pick up the tab,
Post by: GeoffA on March 12, 2017, 06:15:37 AM
....Quite frankly it ludicrous for a wealthy person to lob at a doctor or hospital and expect the poorer people in our society to pick up the tab,

An interesting comment Julian. The Medicare Levy is percentage based.
Low income earners may qualify for a reduction, or even an exemption.
People without private cover will incur a surcharge.
High income earners may be hit with an additional surcharge.

Those that earn more, pay more. It's not unreasonable to expect something for it....IMO

https://www.ato.gov.au/Individuals/Medicare-levy/ (https://www.ato.gov.au/Individuals/Medicare-levy/)

Post by: Julian Kaye on March 12, 2017, 10:34:22 AM
An interesting comment Julian. The Medicare Levy is percentage based.
Low income earners may qualify for a reduction, or even an exemption.
People without private cover will incur a surcharge.
High income earners may be hit with an additional surcharge.

Those that earn more, pay more. It's not unreasonable to expect something for it....IMO

https://www.ato.gov.au/Individuals/Medicare-levy/ (https://www.ato.gov.au/Individuals/Medicare-levy/)

Fair point Geoff, but from memory the Medicare levy covers less than 10% of the total cost of the national health care scheme, so one way or another lower paid taxpayers will end up subsidising well off people who don't take their health care seriously and use Medicare when they could and should be looking after themselves.
Post by: GeoffA on March 12, 2017, 10:49:37 AM
50% of people pay no net tax.....
Post by: Julian Kaye on March 12, 2017, 12:44:11 PM
50% of people pay no net tax.....

Too much middle-class welfare. Child care, family allowances and dare I say it, Medicare. Governments have been telling us for over 40 years not to look after yourselves, we will do it for you for free, it's why the country is an economic basket case.
Post by: richo9923 on March 12, 2017, 02:26:28 PM
I used to have private health cover, yes it was top lever cover with all the bells and whistles with HBA, when I took it out from memory it was about $120 a fornight (before the govt rebate), within 2 years it had risen to over $250 a fortnight, now maybe somewhere out in this world there is someone that had the same level of increase in their wage as that but I certainly didn't.

During the 2 years of having the cover I attempted to make 3 claims, and I say attempted because all three were rejected for various reasons.

1) I had a very serious eye infection that caused me to be off work for 4 weeks, and multiple trips to the eye clinic, now the eye clinic was close to $200 per visit and they did not bulk bill, so I had to pay on the day and try and reclaim the money, first I went to Medicare who gave me just under $70 back saying that you get a rebate on the recommended fee and if the eye clinic charge more than what medicare think is fair then you just have to suck it up, so I went to HBA and asked if they would cover the gap, short answer was NO its covered by medicare so we don't cover it!

2) which is related to number 1, part of the policy was income protection, at that time I was a casual employee at work, when I tried to claim the income protection due to being off work for 4 weeks, you guessed it, sorry sir as your a casual there is no income to protect...

3) I was involved in a car crash, which although I required no medical treatment, as a result an ambulance arrived so I was sent a bill for over $1000 from NSW ambulance, for an ambulance that I didn't even step into yet the driver at fault was taken away in, anyway contact HBA as the policy had ambo cover, the reply "sorry sir due the ambulance being part of a vehicle accident you'll need to get the car insurance to pay" which of course is never as easy as it sounds as they wanted a form signed by a doctor who wanted to charge me nearly what the ambulance bill was for doing so, which the insurance said they wouldn't pay. NSW ambulance wouldn't just take the payment from me as I had private health cover, it was a nightmare to say the least, however TAC paid the bill no questions asked because I was in a VIC registered car.

So needless to say my HBA cover was canceled, since canceling I've had medical bills as a result of the car crash and a work place accident, TAC have paid for everything associated with the crash including paying my wage for any time off work so I've not had to take my sick leave from work, and the Workcover insurer has done exactly the same.

Now I'm not saying priv health cover isn't worth it, as I know people that have it and use it and are more than happy with it, however I'm prepared to to take my chances, and now knowing that for most things there are always ways and means to get the treatment you need at a much reduced time frame and cost, its just a case of doing your homework.
Post by: Pete79 on March 16, 2017, 07:54:14 AM
Terry Barnes, a former health advisor to Tony Abbott, warned there was a lot at stake, particularly if consumers started turning away from private cover.

"It is important that those people feel [like they're] getting value for money, or they'll drop out," he said.

"When the younger drop out, that leaves older and sicker using services and claiming, and that's when premiums really spiral up.

"That's where [the] real tipping point will actually be."

http://abc.net.au/news/2017-03-15/health-insurance-ceos-could-be-summoned-to-senate-inquiry/8357250?pfmredir=sm (http://abc.net.au/news/2017-03-15/health-insurance-ceos-could-be-summoned-to-senate-inquiry/8357250?pfmredir=sm)
Post by: Bird on March 16, 2017, 07:56:31 AM
Terry Barnes, a former health advisor to Tony Abbott, warned there was a lot at stake, particularly if consumers started turning away from private cover.

"It is important that those people feel [like they're] getting value for money, or they'll drop out," he said.

"When the younger drop out, that leaves older and sicker using services and claiming, and that's when premiums really spiral up.

"That's where [the] real tipping point will actually be."
I bet hes on big money to think like that...
(https://cdn.meme.am/cache/instances/folder410/21512410.jpg)
Post by: Pete79 on March 16, 2017, 08:01:10 AM
I bet hes on big money to think like that...
It did say he was a former advisor to Tony Abbott. ;)
Post by: Pete79 on April 05, 2017, 01:23:38 PM
And we get another step closer to the US heath system, insurers are winning this war......

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-04-04/health-insurers-accused-of-anti-competitive-conduct/8414328 (http://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-04-04/health-insurers-accused-of-anti-competitive-conduct/8414328)

The ADA believes insurance call centre staff are pushing patients to use their contracted dentists, and increasingly to visit so-called super-clinics, run by the insurers themselves.

The Hicaps machines at dental clinics register every claim that is made and feed the information back to health insurers, which can find out what clinics are charging and how much money they are making.

If insurers are in the business of owning clinics as well, it means they know everything about their competition.

Nope, nothing wrong with this system.... ::)
Post by: Fizzie on April 06, 2017, 07:49:45 AM

No, no, nothing at all wrong...

After all, the boss of Private Healthcare Australia says that everything with their system is fine, so that should reassure you, shouldn't it ??? ::)
Post by: Pete79 on August 15, 2017, 07:54:57 AM
http://www.smh.com.au/national/health/same-surgery-different-surgeon-huge-variations-in-outofpocket-costs-for-orthopaedic-operations-20170814-gxvppb.html (http://www.smh.com.au/national/health/same-surgery-different-surgeon-huge-variations-in-outofpocket-costs-for-orthopaedic-operations-20170814-gxvppb.html)
Post by: gronk on August 15, 2017, 07:22:52 PM
http://www.smh.com.au/national/health/same-surgery-different-surgeon-huge-variations-in-outofpocket-costs-for-orthopaedic-operations-20170814-gxvppb.html (http://www.smh.com.au/national/health/same-surgery-different-surgeon-huge-variations-in-outofpocket-costs-for-orthopaedic-operations-20170814-gxvppb.html)

Bit like going to a mechanic, pick one that is good and also charges the right price.

I recently had a colonoscopy, by a well renowned doctor, who doesn't charge out of pocket expenses, in a private hospital ( I have basic hospital cover ).
If I wasn't in a fund, the same doctor would have referred me to a public hospital ( waiting list I presume ), BUT, he wouldn't do the procedure, an intern would.
Now, the "good" doctor has a failure rate of 1 in 10,000, but there was no way I would let an apprentice shove something up me with the potential of an operation to fix up any stuffup !!

So, private insurance has some advantages, but so does the public system if you are prepared to wait for a procedure....and possibly get a bush mechanic to work on you !!  ;D
Post by: 03GV on August 15, 2017, 07:26:25 PM
And we get another step closer to the US heath system, insurers are winning this war......

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-04-04/health-insurers-accused-of-anti-competitive-conduct/8414328 (http://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-04-04/health-insurers-accused-of-anti-competitive-conduct/8414328)

Heard on local radio that some dentists were pushing unnecessary dental work at bupa dental clinics. Some people had got second opinions and it was at odds with what the bupa clinics said.
Post by: Rumpig on August 15, 2017, 09:02:10 PM

So, private insurance has some advantages, but so does the public system if you are prepared to wait for a procedure....and possibly get a bush mechanic to work on you !!  ;D
i got lucky years ago in the public health system whilst seeing an eye doctor / Professor. There was no waiting required and I was operated on by the Professor himself all for free (I was awake for one op and saw him doing the cutting)...my wife works for Medicare and processed a customer of his claim that saw him privately, she commented that we couldn't afford to see him privately...lol
Post by: Julian Kaye on August 16, 2017, 10:04:41 AM
i got lucky years ago in the public health system whilst seeing an eye doctor / Professor. There was no waiting required and I was operated on by the Professor himself all for free (I was awake for one op and saw him doing the cutting)...my wife works for Medicare and processed a customer of his claim that saw him privately, she commented that we couldn't afford to see him privately...lol

The same old story, people think that health care by some miracle is "free".  There is a mighty chunk of mine and your tax that goes towards paying for this "free" healthcare, and plenty of people who earn enough so that they could and should contribute to their own health care. Just the sort of attitude that is sending this country broke.
Post by: Rumpig on August 16, 2017, 11:23:10 AM

The same old story, people think that health care by some miracle is "free".  There is a mighty chunk of mine and your tax that goes towards paying for this "free" healthcare, and plenty of people who earn enough so that they could and should contribute to their own health care. Just the sort of attitude that is sending this country broke.
get off your high horse, it was an off the cuff remark....obviously the cost is coming from our taxes FFS...I pay plenty of tax and have private health cover that costs my family a motza each year, you aren't the only person paying tax on this forum you know  ::) ::)
The way you carry on here at times is the very reason I know several forum members no longer frequent this site...it's getting rather old actually, and I'm heading the same way as them. This used to be a nice friendly forum, but these days it more feels like people like yourself just want to take pot shots at other posters all the time.
Post by: Bad Scott on August 16, 2017, 07:32:27 PM
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170816/dbdd9db999cfd65f8c383afb87c54c8f.png)

Post by: Pete79 on October 13, 2017, 05:53:12 AM
Watch this space.

Young people are going to save average $32 per year off their $1800+ premiums. Awesome!

Sorry hippies, your Tai Che and acupuncture isn't going to covered any more.

But the kicker goes right to heaps and heaps of previous posts in here. No more cheap hips and knees for the oldies.

Sounds fantastic, sign me up..... ;)
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on October 14, 2017, 07:30:25 AM
Hi All, My wife and I have been with Bupa for over 20 years, Great thing, In our case we had to have it as our first two kids are IVF took around 10 years to make them, so yes I am a wanker, The twins were born over three months premature and just legal at around 30cm long. they spent two month in the Mater in intensive care in Brisvages that cost around $26,000 each then one month in Selangor  private in Nambour that coat around $10.000 for both, they have both just turned 18, Then my wife had many opps over the years associated with having babies that another 25 grand worth, So we will keep paying to put money back in as we oh a lot to it, Craig   
Post by: Bird on October 14, 2017, 09:22:42 AM
Watch this space.

Young people are going to save average $32 per year off their $1800+ premiums. Awesome!
Im excited!!
Post by: Pete79 on October 14, 2017, 09:28:22 AM
Im excited!!
Remember what life was like way, way, way back in 2015?

The absolute top end of the discounts being offered to young people will take their premiums back to what they paid 2 years ago.....
Post by: shanegtr on October 14, 2017, 02:58:49 PM

People who earn enough are contributing to there own health care costs via the medicare levy anyway - I paid more in medicare levy than I did in private health insurance costs last year (actually thats not hard since my employer pays for most of my health insurance). My medicare levy last financal year was $2900 so Im not excatly getting "free" medical care.
Post by: Bird on January 17, 2018, 08:19:49 AM
Good to see it going up by upto 200 a year for families and Gov co says that's ok, its not as much as last time...  ::) ::) ::) ::)

they'll be dropping out like flies this time.
Post by: Pottsy on January 17, 2018, 01:25:06 PM
Each to their own when it comes to healthcare, I have had private healthcare since I turned 16 back in 1976, always with the same provider and yes it is expensive but if I were to add up all the premiums and gap payments etc against all the cost of treatments, I reckon I'd still be in front. The wife is set to undergo Deeep Brain Stimulation surgery in the next twelve months, not sure of the costs but you can guarantee it won't be cheap, then a knee replacement, again not cheap, plus all allied visits to specialists etc for Parkinsons and I would not be without private health. Ops for the wife and I alone over the years total in excess of twelve, plus dental, chiro, physio, and three kids.
We will continue with private health but I also could not blame anyone for dropping out or never having it.
My younger brother, 54, just this week had mis first ever stay in hospital, just an overnighter and he has been prepared to go without private health cover.
It's insurance cover, like house, fire, theft and even termite protection, all needs to be assessed individually.
Post by: Bird on February 14, 2018, 08:52:48 AM
12,000 more have dropped out in 3 months... and another 5% increase coming in April...

"More than 12,000 Australians ditched their hospital cover in the three months to last December, new figures show, as a separate survey suggests the key reason was they felt it wasn't worth the money."

“With premiums up approximately 70 per cent over the past decade alongside of policies with a growing number of loopholes, it is clear private health insurance is no longer a good value option for many people,” said Choice's Tom Godfrey.

“With wage growth remaining static, more people are feeling pressure on their household budget and are rightly questioning whether they need to pay for health insurance.”

The more that drop out the more it will cost the poor ****ers still paying, = more that cannot afford it... and the circle of death continues. Like wages and essentials etcx.
Post by: plusnq on February 14, 2018, 09:28:13 AM
12,000 more have dropped out in 3 months... and another 5% increase coming in April...

"More than 12,000 Australians ditched their hospital cover in the three months to last December, new figures show, as a separate survey suggests the key reason was they felt it wasn't worth the money."

“With premiums up approximately 70 per cent over the past decade alongside of policies with a growing number of loopholes, it is clear private health insurance is no longer a good value option for many people,” said Choice's Tom Godfrey.

“With wage growth remaining static, more people are feeling pressure on their household budget and are rightly questioning whether they need to pay for health insurance.”

The more that drop out the more it will cost the poor ****ers still paying, = more that cannot afford it... and the circle of death continues. Like wages and essentials etcx.

And more that are on the broken public health system.
Post by: Bird on February 14, 2018, 10:07:55 AM
Quote from: plusnq
And more that are on the broken public health system.

(http://blog.robballen.com/images/WindowsLiveWriter/ViciousCirclehasanewlogo_7A96/image_d2b2160b-0d4c-42da-9696-e3286b673126.png)
Post by: callmejoe on February 14, 2018, 10:16:54 AM
Thats alot of drop out..
Another issue i find with these system is a lack of loyalty.
Parent inlaws paided out for 20 plus odd years for private health cover, and never needed it but banked on the belief they'll benifit from it in there later years.......AND THIS IS WHERE THE PROBLEM STARTED..
Once they retired they tired to maintain there private cover, but the rapid rate it has increase was never forseen so never budgeted for and its became unaffordable..
So now at the ripe age of 70 plus and  where THEY thought the private scheme they paid so dearly for would have paid for it self has failed well and truely....... Once you stop paying it all gone all over rover...
Butttt the positive, since dropping it a few things have had to be rebuilt, as it public, no out of pocket, still have little waiting time and they where happy with the service....if they knew now what they do now they WOULD HAVE NEVER bothered with a scheme such as "private" health cover.

But this is more of a heads up to those who do have private cover to calculate IF you can still afforded it once you do retire and  believe this is when you could most benifit from it. etc..
Post by: Bunyip on February 15, 2018, 03:01:17 PM
My only issue with private health insurance is the rate of increase at double(ish) CPI, with wages going up less than CPI these increases are costing a heck of a lot more in real terms for families.

I have had insurance all my life, as has SWMBO and out kids, but once the kids turn 25 we can no longer afford to pay for their cover and there is no way they are going to be able to afford it themselves.
Post by: Pete79 on February 15, 2018, 05:01:30 PM
Time for the gov to do a full reboot. ;)

“Everybody logout!
We’re gunna shutdown it down and restart.

There’s bound to be a couple of programs that need to be forced to close, but there’s obviously too many dodgy processes going on at the moment and the system isn’t running properly.

After you’ve logged out, go make a coffee and relax for a while. Don’t worry we’ll have everything up and running again soon and it will work better then ever.” ;D
Post by: Pete79 on September 13, 2018, 02:13:33 PM
Not quite private health insurance, but principals are the same....

Breast cancer surgery wasn't 'radical' enough for CommInsure.

CommInsure refused to pay out a woman with breast cancer because it didn't consider she'd had "radical" breast surgery, despite the evidence of her doctor and surgeon.

The financial services royal commission on Thursday heard that CommInsure repeatedly denied her claim on the basis of an outdated and arbitrary definition of "radical" breast surgery, which it argued only included a mastectomy, despite that definition not appearing anywhere in the policy documents.

The woman bought trauma insurance in 1996 and was diagnosed with "carcinoma in situ", a form of breast cancer, after a mammogram in March 2016. She was treated with breast-conserving surgery as well as radiotherapy - a combination of treatment now often used as an alternative to a complete mastectomy.

After the woman's claim was originally rejected, the woman's treating doctors, including her surgeon and radiation oncologist, provided evidence stating that she had had radical surgery.

"The treatment received is radical because radiotherapy was required as an alternative to mastectomy," the surgeon wrote.

Under questioning from Ms Orr, Ms Troup refused to agree to a review of claims it had rejected based on its definition of "radical breast surgery".

Ms Troup said it was "something that's on my mind having prepared for today" but she wanted to discuss it with "the business".

"But you're not prepared to make a commitment that that will happen?" Ms Orr asked. "Not today, no," Ms Troup said.

https://www.theage.com.au/business/banking-and-finance/breast-cancer-surgery-wasn-t-radical-enough-for-comminsure-20180913-p503j6.html (https://www.theage.com.au/business/banking-and-finance/breast-cancer-surgery-wasn-t-radical-enough-for-comminsure-20180913-p503j6.html)
Post by: db on September 13, 2018, 05:33:00 PM
"... "But you're not prepared to make a commitment that that will happen?" Ms Orr asked. "Not today, no," Ms Troup said"

First against the wall when the revolution comes?  >:D
Post by: Bigfish on September 13, 2018, 05:39:06 PM
"... "But you're not prepared to make a commitment that that will happen?" Ms Orr asked. "Not today, no," Ms Troup said"

Yep...I hope the bitch gets breast cancer and is treated like the others who were told to piss off.  What a poor excuse of a human.
Post by: plusnq on September 13, 2018, 05:39:47 PM

Hand me the gun.
Post by: Bird on October 10, 2018, 10:32:19 AM
Time to play the last post.

Private health premiums could rise by 12 per cent next year, leaked modelling shows

https://www.theage.com.au/healthcare/private-health-premiums-could-rise-by-12-per-cent-next-year-leaked-modelling-shows-20181009-p508lw.html (https://www.theage.com.au/healthcare/private-health-premiums-could-rise-by-12-per-cent-next-year-leaked-modelling-shows-20181009-p508lw.html)
Post by: glenm64 on October 10, 2018, 11:29:22 AM
Time to play the last post.

Private health premiums could rise by 12 per cent next year, leaked modelling shows

https://www.theage.com.au/healthcare/private-health-premiums-could-rise-by-12-per-cent-next-year-leaked-modelling-shows-20181009-p508lw.html (https://www.theage.com.au/healthcare/private-health-premiums-could-rise-by-12-per-cent-next-year-leaked-modelling-shows-20181009-p508lw.html)
Its just the usual ploy.
Tell them its gunna rise12%. When it comes out its only 8% every thinks, geez its not as bad as I thought it was gunna be. But if it just goes up 8% without warning everyone would be screaming theyve been ripped off.
Politians have been doing it for ages.
Post by: Bird on January 11, 2019, 03:20:38 PM
theres lots on the news about all these companies mailing people telling they will be getting covered for less, and ... a price increase

There has to be a better way.
Post by: krisandkev on January 12, 2019, 06:35:09 AM
theres lots on the news about all these companies mailing people telling they will be getting covered for less, and ... a price increase

Maybe they are getting in early when there is a change in gov. Shorten has said he will limit their rate rises to 2  percent each year and the funds said they will have to drop some services. So maybe they think with the change in how funds are rated soon they may as well get ready for the new gov?  Kevin
Post by: Bigfish on January 12, 2019, 08:35:02 AM

There,s only one way to beat the bastards...dont get sick...simple!

I wish. :'(
Post by: tryagain on January 12, 2019, 11:10:07 AM
Maybe they are getting in early when there is a change in gov. Shorten has said he will limit their rate rises to 2  percent each year and the funds said they will have to drop some services. So maybe they think with the change in how funds are rated soon they may as well get ready for the new gov?  Kevin

If they can't increase their prices, they will just cut their services to maintain profits.
I think one of the issues is that now days public hospitals all want to know if you have private cover as well and then claim whatever they can from the fund, this means that funds are now having to fork out more $$$ without the customers receiving any additional benefit.
Post by: Bigfish on January 12, 2019, 01:19:05 PM
If they can't increase their prices, they will just cut their services to maintain profits.
I think one of the issues is that now days public hospitals all want to know if you have private cover as well and then claim whatever they can from the fund, this means that funds are now having to fork out more $$$ without the customers receiving any additional benefit.

If they ask...say no I cant afford it..thats why I,m here.
Post by: Pottsy on January 12, 2019, 03:15:02 PM
Sadly for some private health is the only option. We have private health and couldn't be without it, with the wife's Parkinson operation we paid over 15k out of pocket expenses but health fund covered in excess of 100k. If we had gone public we would still be waiting, the public health system only does 6 of these ops per year in SA, by the time it would have been our turn it would have been too late.
I've been in private health for 40+ years and with everything we have had done plus the three kids I reckon we,d be in front.
Post by: Bird on January 12, 2019, 08:34:51 PM
Quote from: Pottsy
Sadly for some private health is the only option.
Yep, true... but the way its going, costs going up - and offering less..  even they - the ones who really depend on it will be squeezed out...
Post by: alnjan on January 12, 2019, 09:06:35 PM
Sadly for some private health is the only option. We have private health and couldn't be without it, with the wife's Parkinson operation we paid over 15k out of pocket expenses but health fund covered in excess of 100k. If we had gone public we would still be waiting, the public health system only does 6 of these ops per year in SA, by the time it would have been our turn it would have been too late.
I've been in private health for 40+ years and with everything we have had done plus the three kids I reckon we,d be in front.

We are in the same boat and with cancer as a precondition, no one else is prepared to take you on.  In the meantime, learn how to you use the benefits the Private Cover does offer to get the most out of Physio, dentist, and the likes. 
Post by: JusyApples on January 13, 2019, 07:10:53 AM
We are in the same boat and with cancer as a precondition, no one else is prepared to take you on.  In the meantime, learn how to you use the benefits the Private Cover does offer to get the most out of Physio, dentist, and the likes.
We spoke about it last week. We pay $140 odd a fortnight for 2 x 30 something year olds with no health issues. We debated whether it would be more beneficial for us to put that money in an account instead of paying private health but unfortunately if you have that one big accident we may need that health insurance to cover the bills.

Post by: wakychapmans on January 13, 2019, 07:31:05 AM
this will be odd to mention but...

Kyria and I have no private health insurance. (simply can't afford it)

Tucker, our dog, has had full cover since he was born. costs us $29 a week.

the difference, we have access to the public health system. He does not. (and vet bills are seriously scary)

Post by: krisandkev on January 13, 2019, 07:41:24 AM
Like others who have and still have health issues we really have no choice, even being self funded retirees we need private health. One of the best things is the ability to get treatment straight away, not be put on a waiting list.  Kevin
Post by: Memem284 on February 12, 2019, 04:39:10 PM
We are in the same situation as Pottsy. Hubby had DBS surgery for his Parkinson's last year. Luckily our surgical team charged us at a no gap rate otherwise it was going to cost us about $26000 on top of our private health insurance. As it is, we are about $5000 out of pocket so far with appointments etc. If we didn't have health insurance, it would have cost us over $100,000 - there is only about 2 operations done each year under medicare so a waiting list is not an option. We need to stay in top hospital cover. It's one of our biggest monthly costs after food.
Post by: McGirr on February 12, 2019, 06:23:02 PM
We have been back in Wollongong nearly 2 weeks and my father was moved from a public hospital to a private hospital due to issues at the public hospital. We luckily, through a freind, got dad a top specialist to look after him. He had one toe amputated in the public hospital due to lack of blood flowing to his toes. Since he has been in the private hospital, he has had another 2 toes on the same foot amputated where his foot was cut on a 45 degree angle. Not pretty looking. The issues have been the slack nurses st the private hopsital, who seem to not give a Shit. When dad buzzes them to help him it takes ages, I was sitting there one visit and he hit the buzzer and 19 mins later one turned up. Now dads room is straight opposite the nurse station and I watched 5 nurses either sitting there or just walking around chatting. Today my sister noticed that the machine attached to dads foot to suck away the impurities on his foot has not been connected to power. I even noticed it was never connected to power as we thought it was battery operated. Apparently it is but for only an hour. So for the last 4 days the machine has not worked and know he has a hospital infection, which is not good. He has been put on a drip. The nurses have even helped dad change his pants during our visits in the last 4 days and did not check if the machine was working. One evening dad yelled out  saying he had to go to the toilet urgently and nurses ran in, hit his table with food on it and something fell off the table and cut his other leg, which has a large bandage on it. He bleeds easily due to his cancer medication he has been on for a while.

He was ready to go to rehab this week but now we are concerned about this major infection. My sister rang the specialist who is looking after dad and he was furious and said he will tear strips off the nurses. Yes private cover is great and you can get some great doctors , specialists but it's the caring afterwards that has let dad down. Yes, dad can be a pain in the ass, being 82, but he does not deserve what he has been through.
Post by: Pottsy on February 12, 2019, 06:44:03 PM
We have been back in Wollongong nearly 2 weeks and my father was moved from a public hospital to a private hospital due to issues at the public hospital. We luckily, through a freind, got dad a top specialist to look after him. He had one toe amputated in the public hospital due to lack of blood flowing to his toes. Since he has been in the private hospital, he has had another 2 toes on the same foot amputated where his foot was cut on a 45 degree angle. Not pretty looking. The issues have been the slack nurses st the private hopsital, who seem to not give a Shit. When dad buzzes them to help him it takes ages, I was sitting there one visit and he hit the buzzer and 19 mins later one turned up. Now dads room is straight opposite the nurse station and I watched 5 nurses either sitting there or just walking around chatting. Today my sister noticed that the machine attached to dads foot to suck away the impurities on his foot has not been connected to power. I even noticed it was never connected to power as we thought it was battery operated. Apparently it is but for only an hour. So for the last 4 days the machine has not worked and know he has a hospital infection, which is not good. He has been put on a drip. The nurses have even helped dad change his pants during our visits in the last 4 days and did not check if the machine was working. One evening dad yelled out  saying he had to go to the toilet urgently and nurses ran in, hit his table with food on it and something fell off the table and cut his other leg, which has a large bandage on it. He bleeds easily due to his cancer medication he has been on for a while.

He was ready to go to rehab this week but now we are concerned about this major infection. My sister rang the specialist who is looking after dad and he was furious and said he will tear strips off the nurses. Yes private cover is great and you can get some great doctors , specialists but it's the caring afterwards that has let dad down. Yes, dad can be a pain in the ass, being 82, but he does not deserve what he has been through.

We had a  similar sad experience in a private hospital after Lorraine had one of her toes amputated, this was prior to her DBS surgery do she was constantly having erratic body movements and severe muscle pains and cramping. She buzzed for a nurse to assist her to sit up, nurse arrived some 20 minutes later and told her she needed to do it herself and left her. I arrived at the hospital about an hour later and the wife was pretty upset. She needed to go to the toilet so I got her sitting up, swung her legs around and was just standing her up to take her to the toilet when said nurse comes in and and starts in on me, what are you doing, she is confined to bed, not meant to put or foot down, blah, blah blah. I politely told her to leave and I would talk to her when we were done. She started and I let fly, told her as a nurse she should know something about dealing with a Parkinsons patient and I then proceeded to issue a sermon. By the time I'd finished she was most apologetic and I can honestly say she was very accommodating over the next few hours. Thankfully the nurses on the next two shifts were fantastic.
In general I think we are pretty lucky but sometimes a discussion needs to be had.
Post by: Memem284 on February 12, 2019, 06:57:05 PM
I guess it shouldn't be private/public hospital bashing but.....
I'm a nurse and I work in a large public hospital and we have patient ratios. When I worked a private hospital, there were no ratios and we had more patients per nurse. My daughter still works at that same hospital, and it's the same. Private nurses also get paid less.
I know if I needed minor surgery, I'm happy to go private but if I needed major durgery, I'd go to the public. There are more resources, and better nurse to patient ratios.
I know everywhere is different, but that's my experience.
Post by: Pottsy on February 12, 2019, 07:09:44 PM
I'm a nurse and I work in a large public hospital and we have patient ratios. When I worked a private hospital, there were no ratios and we had more patients per nurse. My daughter still works at that same hospital, and it's the same. Private nurses also get paid less.
I know if I needed minor surgery, I'm happy to go private but if I needed major durgery, I'd go to the public. There are more resources, and better nurse to patient ratios.
It's interesting you say that, dad was in an out of hospital for two years before he passed and I always felt the standard of care he got was superior in the public system in comparison to private. I know when the wife was in the private hospital with salmonella the nursing staff always seemed to be under considerable pressure. It was easier for me to care for her toileting, showering etc rather than constantly buzzing the nurses and have them having to gown up etc.
Post by: McGirr on February 12, 2019, 08:38:31 PM
It's interesting you say that, dad was in an out of hospital for two years before he passed and I always felt the standard of care he got was superior in the public system in comparison to private. I know when the wife was in the private hospital with salmonella the nursing staff always seemed to be under considerable pressure. It was easier for me to care for her toileting, showering etc rather than constantly buzzing the nurses and have them having to gown up etc.

Yes we just want to get him home and we can look after him. People can heal / recuperate better in a familiar environment.

By no means having a go at nurses but it's just frustrating. If its was their father they would be all over him. Treat patients as humans not a room number. Hopefully things will change.

Post by: Kangaron on February 12, 2019, 10:15:30 PM
People can heal / recuperate better in a familiar environment.

So  True.
and the longer you stay in an hospital environment, the more chance you have of becoming really sick.
Post by: Bird on February 13, 2019, 09:17:20 AM
After my accident I've had plenty of experience in both...
After 6 mths inside, and on and off for 40+ ops, I'll take private.. but both have + and - and would vary from site to site. The bigger the hospital/site I'd think the worse it got.. EG: North Sydney hospital V some place in the country....

The food in private is edible. The slop in public, is old mucus from 4 pack a day smokers.

Then there was dad when he went into public as it was supposed to only be for as chest scan....  But nobody ever knew anything.. We were told he was going in for a scan, then out again same day.
3 days later they called asking when we would visit him as he was pissed off we hadnt been - and he also didnt know why he was there. Nobody told us he was there!

Went up there asking what the go was, nobody knew, but they would find out, piss off and never return.

I left notes for Dr to call, nurses to find out why he was actually in there - Nobody knew... Or how long he was in there for... Finally I called the nursing home, who made a call - and had ALL the answers in less than 10 minutes... This was talking to the same people I did.

My first job ever was as a 'wardsman' in Sutho hospital in the 80s, and I saw how busy most wards were as we had to interact with them..

I have nothing but respect for nurses, they have a **** of a job and little reward, Shit pay - for holding dishes for people to spew in, people Shitting the beds, needles, insane amounts of stress and abuse from patients and families.
Post by: Beachman on February 13, 2019, 11:04:40 AM

Very well said and I've had the same experience. Going Private has been fantastic for things like knee surgery and child birth for my Wife, but for big ticket items like Heart/Cancer the public system were fantastic with my Parents/Grandparents and we couldn't have asked for better care.

A mate was diagnosed with Non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma a couple of years ago and originally went through the public system for the diagnosis. When diagnosed the hospital pressured him to become a private patient. His Wife is a very strong willed lady wanted a breakdown of the difference between public/private especially with costs. Even with top health insurance they would have been around $15 000 + out of pocket and seeing they had a big mortgage/young kids they had no choice to go public. few small problems, but overall happy.
Post by: Bird on August 22, 2019, 11:35:32 AM
https://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/politics/federal/remove-rugs-from-aged-care-to-reduce-health-insurance-costs-report-says-20190820-p52itv.html

Post by: Pete79 on September 03, 2019, 01:50:24 PM
This story just keeps getting better.... ::)

“The consumer watchdog is suing Medibank for allegedly telling customers they could not make claims for spinal, pelvic, hip and knee surgeries even though their policies covered those procedures.

The alleged misleading behaviour meant members were left in unnecessary pain because they delayed the surgery they needed, or paid large out-of-pocket expenses for the procedures, the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission said.”

https://www.theage.com.au/business/companies/medibank-accused-by-accc-of-rejecting-surgery-claims-to-members-who-were-covered-20190903-p52ncl.html (https://www.theage.com.au/business/companies/medibank-accused-by-accc-of-rejecting-surgery-claims-to-members-who-were-covered-20190903-p52ncl.html)
Post by: Bird on September 03, 2019, 02:39:18 PM
This story just keeps getting better.... ::)

“The consumer watchdog is suing Medibank for allegedly telling customers they could not make claims for spinal, pelvic, hip and knee surgeries even though their policies covered those procedures.

The alleged misleading behaviour meant members were left in unnecessary pain because they delayed the surgery they needed, or paid large out-of-pocket expenses for the procedures, the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission said.”

https://www.theage.com.au/business/companies/medibank-accused-by-accc-of-rejecting-surgery-claims-to-members-who-were-covered-20190903-p52ncl.html (https://www.theage.com.au/business/companies/medibank-accused-by-accc-of-rejecting-surgery-claims-to-members-who-were-covered-20190903-p52ncl.html)
yea but its the ACCC... nothing will come of it.. just a story and headline.