Author Topic: Cordless Chainsaw dilemma  (Read 7343 times)

Re: Cordless Chainsaw dilemma
« Reply #25 on: June 14, 2020, 12:12:29 PM »
Sorry Glenno no specs on the 58v charger, other than 220v  / 240 v   - 50hz and  it puts out 58v at 5 amps    .... Bloody good chainsaw though, works a treat . ..

Offline Gazza00

« Reply #26 on: June 14, 2020, 12:47:57 PM »
As a guideline only  my EGO charger for the 56v battery has     Input :210-250V   ~50Hz  210watt     Output : 3A  56V    on the charger.
My 300W inverter charges it OK 

« Reply #27 on: June 14, 2020, 02:18:05 PM »
If its only for fire wood have you considered a hand saw?  I have a Silky "Big boy" that does the job if you don't need a lot of wood.  Packs very small and not petrol.

https://www.drifta.com.au/product-category/silky-saws-and-blades/

Offline britts

« Reply #28 on: June 14, 2020, 07:47:39 PM »
Husky have 12v charger option
https://youtu.be/leugFYpc8uA

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

Offline lloydus67

« Reply #29 on: June 14, 2020, 08:00:53 PM »
I suspect all 18v range probably perform about the same....

It’s just I have a bunch of Milwaukee batteries and a 12v charger

The initial outlay is up there.

Ozito’s is 36v but uses 2x 18v batteries in parallel. And come with a double high speed battery charger

Offline DandyD

« Reply #30 on: June 15, 2020, 02:50:51 AM »
I have a Makita 36 volt chainsaw [twin 18v) and I think it's pretty good for garden maintenance stuff without annoying neighours. I also have 240v Makita chainsaw which is actually better performance wise but I get fed up tripping over the cable. You do need two chargers though and a stack of spare batteries. The chargers are happy running from a generator.

« Reply #31 on: June 15, 2020, 06:42:23 AM »
Thanks guys, yep looked at twin 18v options, if I decide to go higher than 18v I think I’d keep with a single battery option.

« Reply #32 on: June 15, 2020, 08:23:05 AM »
We've got the Ryobi 18v version, which so far we've only used around the back yard, but it's taken branches / stumps up to ~150mm with no issues 8)

https://www.bunnings.com.au/ryobi-one-18v-cordless-chainsaw-skin-only_p3380992

Huge bonus there, of course, is that one battery fits everything (+ 6 years warranty!) ;D

« Reply #33 on: June 15, 2020, 09:15:14 AM »
Best bet is to stick with the platform you already have.  Although the Milwaukee chainsaw doesn't look that compact, being a 16" bar.  One this to watch with the cordless saws is the chain tensioner system is a bit flimsy on some makes like the Dewalt. 

As others said a reciprocating saw would be the cheapest and most compact solution for you.  Also no need for bar oil.
Use the 10" Milwaukee 'AX' blades and it will cut like butter.

I've got the Makita 10" brushed 36V chainsaw.  It's brilliant and now my go to saw for anything under 175mm diameter.

If you do want a compact saw.  Check out the 18v brushless version.  $500 with a 5ah battery and fast charger.
https://sydneytools.com.au/product/makita-duc254rt-18v-5-0ah-li-ion-cordless-brushless-250mm-10-chainsaw-combo-kit

For those people looking at 12v powered chargers.  They are generally pretty slow to charge.  The Makita one takes and hour to a charge a 3ah battery, but the fast charger in the above link does it in 22 minutes and will run off an $80 300w inverter.

The following users thanked this post: stephenh1235

« Reply #34 on: June 15, 2020, 09:52:28 AM »
Best bet is to stick with the platform you already have.  Although the Milwaukee chainsaw doesn't look that compact, being a 16" bar.  One this to watch with the cordless saws is the chain tensioner system is a bit flimsy on some makes like the Dewalt. 

As others said a reciprocating saw would be the cheapest and most compact solution for you.  Also no need for bar oil.
Use the 10" Milwaukee 'AX' blades and it will cut like butter.

I've got the Makita 10" brushed 36V chainsaw.  It's brilliant and now my go to saw for anything under 175mm diameter.

If you do want a compact saw.  Check out the 18v brushless version.  $500 with a 5ah battery and fast charger.
https://sydneytools.com.au/product/makita-duc254rt-18v-5-0ah-li-ion-cordless-brushless-250mm-10-chainsaw-combo-kit

For those people looking at 12v powered chargers.  They are generally pretty slow to charge.  The Makita one takes and hour to a charge a 3ah battery, but the fast charger in the above link does it in 22 minutes and will run off an $80 300w inverter.

Cool and thanks

I might give a recip saw a go this weekend as I like the idea of no oil...

have read some saws leak oil and the instructions state draining the oil.

A mate is bringing his 18v Ryobi brushless camping this weekend, be good to see one in action.

« Reply #35 on: June 15, 2020, 10:11:32 AM »
Quote from: weeds
I might give a recip saw a go this weekend as I like the idea of no oil...\
What about a 4 stroke chainsaw.

« Reply #36 on: June 15, 2020, 10:19:47 AM »
Think he means bar oil Bird.

Sent from my SM-T810 using Tapatalk

« Reply #37 on: June 15, 2020, 10:24:47 AM »
Quote from: glenm64
Think he means bar oil Bird.
ah gotcha.

« Reply #38 on: June 15, 2020, 12:06:27 PM »
Cool and thanks

Just make sure you have a sharp blade otherwise it won't be a fair comparison to a chainsaw. I've used my mates recip saws many times camping and they are fantastic for firewood sized branches. Plus much safer than a chainsaw if using at night when the fire is running out of wood or after a dozen beers.

« Reply #39 on: June 15, 2020, 12:23:42 PM »
I have the Ozito Brushless 2 x 18V chainsaw mainly for camping (I also have decent petrol saw to compare it too) It is actually pretty reasonable.
some of the reasons I think it's worth a look are.

-Price the skin is only $199
-Warranty, 5 years on the saw, if anything goes wrong with it you can just go to the nearest bunnings and swap it over for a new one, If you are travelling with other ones it is likely to have to be sent off for repairs, how will they get it back to you when you are on the road?
-The Ozito 18v saw, by comparison, is a bit average by all reports. I think it is difficult to draw enough power from a single 18v battery to be reasonable, I suspect this is a limitation that will apply to most 18v saws. 
-Batteries, Bunnings regularly matches Aldis $40 for a 4ah battery whenever they advertise them, which is usually at least a few times a year. Compare this to other brands.
- A negative is the length, a workaround for this though is as due to the toolless tensioner, it literally takes less than a minute to take the bar off and put it back together again so I store it in a bag, with the bar removed and it's pretty compact. The bonus is you then have a reasonable length bar should you ever need to cut anything bigger.
- Another potential negative is no 12v charger, as others have pointed out though, an inverter might be the better option.

A point I will make about all battery chainsaws though is that they are lower in power than their petrol counterparts, this is less noticeable with a sharp chain, a dull chain though will chew through the batteries and struggle to cut.

This is also worth a watch https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oI9gAw4AhJk someone else once did a comparison between a reciprocating saw and chainsaw for camping, but I can't find it at the moment.

What suits me is likely different to you, but hopefully some food for thought.

« Reply #40 on: June 15, 2020, 12:36:09 PM »
Cool and thanks

have read some saws leak oil and the instructions state draining the oil.

A mate is bringing his 18v Ryobi brushless camping this weekend, be good to see one in action.

We were having this conversation only a week or 2 ago on another forum!

One of the blokes was saying that he doesn't fill the oil tank on his saw (Ryobi?) as it leaks (& our's does as well :'() - he just sprays the bar with spray-can cooking oil! :o ;D

Waiting with interest to hear the comparison between the two saws! ;D

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #41 on: June 15, 2020, 04:18:20 PM »
how do you plan on charging the chainsaw ? , 12v will be ok but 18v+ ?
MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
2003 Dingo Offroad Camper Trailer.
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan
1998 Triumph Daytona T595

« Reply #42 on: June 15, 2020, 04:21:07 PM »
I,ve got the Milwaukee with 2 x 12amp batteries. Takes up alot less room than my Husky 2 stroke. Weighs no where near the husky, no oil spills, no dangerous 2 stroke fuel around, no greasing and batteries last for ages.  Bloody good thing in my opinion. Mate has a husky electric...milwaukee leaves it for dead.

« Reply #43 on: June 15, 2020, 04:45:12 PM »
how do you plan on charging the chainsaw ? , 12v will be ok but 18v+ ?

2 options...

Milwaukee have a 12v Charger for the 18v series, I already have the charger and batteries.

I also have an inverter being installed this week if I go a different brand chainsaw

« Reply #44 on: June 15, 2020, 04:46:17 PM »
I,ve got the Milwaukee with 2 x 12amp batteries. Takes up alot less room than my Husky 2 stroke. Weighs no where near the husky, no oil spills, no dangerous 2 stroke fuel around, no greasing and batteries last for ages.  Bloody good thing in my opinion. Mate has a husky electric...milwaukee leaves it for dead.

Thanks for the feedback......

Have heard the Milwaukee performs pretty good enough on power poles.

« Reply #45 on: June 15, 2020, 05:18:52 PM »

This is also worth a watch https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oI9gAw4AhJk someone else once did a comparison between a reciprocating saw and chainsaw for camping, but I can't find it at the moment.

What suits me is likely different to you, but hopefully some food for thought.

Thanks..

Geez the 1 x 18v was a little disappointing

The 2 x 18v performed much better.

It is a good point about the 5 year warranty

« Reply #46 on: June 15, 2020, 07:19:15 PM »
It’s was Shane the Sharkcaver

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CaQt46uGIvY&feature=youtu.be

and

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CaQt46uGIvY&feature=youtu.be

😂😂😂

Offline lloydus67

« Reply #47 on: June 15, 2020, 07:42:51 PM »
I had a 14” ozito petrol chainsaw. It worked first time every time for the first 2 years of irregular use, camping, bit of yard work etc. then for the next 2-3 years I had a problem every time I went to use it.
I got the 36v brushless ozito 14” chainsaw and love it, heaps of power. I have the 4ah batteries and 2ah as spares from other tools. I got a double high speed charger, 2 batteries (4ah) and the chainsaw for under $200 on special a few months ago.
I guess only time will tell, but so far I’m impressed
Lloyd

« Reply #48 on: June 15, 2020, 07:46:14 PM »
Hi Weeds,
I’ve been using a 18v Black & Decker for over 4 years.
Yes it won,t cut big trees but it is fantastic for smaller branches,etc ( up to 150mm dia)
This gives plenty of options for firewood.
I have 6 x 4ah batteries that are from my other units from home, wipper snipper, extension Chainsaw, blower, hedge snipper.
Charges easily from the inverter, but I can easily cut enough wood for 1-2 nites using only 2 batteries.

« Reply #49 on: June 15, 2020, 07:57:54 PM »

One of the blokes was saying that he doesn't fill the oil tank on his saw (Ryobi?) as it leaks (& our's does as well :'() - he just sprays the bar with spray-can cooking oil! :o ;D

Really ??   You'd have to have a 2nd person spraying while you are cutting .

Maybe he prefers the bar oil on his bbq ??   ;D ;D