Author Topic: Cost of setting up a 4wd  (Read 20701 times)

Offline toeball

Re: Cost of setting up a 4wd
« Reply #25 on: February 23, 2013, 11:32:17 PM »
Open  :-*

I-zoo-zoo D-MAX and a Lifestyle Explorer + (+ more)

Offline Wagon Man

• Here For A Goodtime As Well As A Long Time
« Reply #26 on: February 23, 2013, 11:34:21 PM »
« Last Edit: February 23, 2013, 11:37:23 PM by Wagon Man »
2013 Toyota Altitude SE Prado Graphite with a 2009 Billabong Safari Offroad Camper.

My Prado Build

Billabong Camper

Offline Wagon Man

« Reply #27 on: February 23, 2013, 11:36:36 PM »
ALL GOOD
2013 Toyota Altitude SE Prado Graphite with a 2009 Billabong Safari Offroad Camper.

My Prado Build

Billabong Camper

« Reply #28 on: February 23, 2013, 11:53:58 PM »
Please stop yelling at me Wagon Man..............................

Really just start a thread and ask........BTW i reckon about $45K. And I also own an unmolested 2011 hilux. Turning circle is sh!t everything else is good. I paid $51K.

Whats the reference to this link...what do you want me to go through 25 pages to see if toeball is a used car salesman???????????

CHEERS NOMAD.  :cheers:
« Last Edit: February 24, 2013, 12:14:57 AM by Nomad »

Offline Wagon Man

« Reply #29 on: February 24, 2013, 12:37:54 AM »
Nomad I don't now what your smoking......

BTW I wil start a new thread....

My Prado Build

Billabong Camper

« Reply #30 on: February 24, 2013, 06:54:47 AM »
I think some of you have missed the point of my question. The thread in question is about setting up NEW Mahindra with all the goodies, for about $50k  all up including NEW vehicle. So what would the al up cost be for the same setup on a NEW paj or patrol. I'm not bashing or stirring the pot here
If this can be done for $50k on a Mahindra how much for a prado or cruiser, is all 8)

Excavator

Anywhere from $15k to $30k upwards would be my educated guess from someone like ARB doing most of it. $15k would be bar lights winch, suspension, LR tank breathers etc, then you start adding lockers rear drawers rear wheel carries, chips exhaust etc. pretty hard question and of cause can be done cheaper doing it your self. ARB seem to be very dear on Labour so it can add up quick.

« Reply #31 on: February 24, 2013, 08:59:04 AM »
Another topic that ends up going down the wrong path! I wish people would stick to the OP topic, so people who genuinely want to contribute honestly can.

Offline Turbojohn

« Reply #32 on: February 24, 2013, 09:01:54 AM »
As mentioned earlier the mods will cost roughly the same, you will only save on the purchase price of the vehicle.
At the opposite end of the scale the same mods can be applied to an old clunker and far exceed the purchase price of the vehicle which is where I am.  The biggest problem I have is I cannot find anyone to insure it for much more than market value. Which doesn't come within a bull's roar of the replacement cost. Sorry if I've gotten a bit o/t :cheers:

« Reply #33 on: February 24, 2013, 09:42:19 AM »
Another topic that ends up going down the wrong path! I wish people would stick to the OP topic, so people who genuinely want to contribute honestly can.
x2 thanks for all the waffling some you folks have put in about buger all. >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( that had absolutely nothing to do with my thread  ???
Thanks to the few thoughtfull answerers  :cheers:

Keith

Offline rockman

• Live ... then don't
« Reply #34 on: February 24, 2013, 10:22:33 AM »
x2 thanks for all the waffling some you folks have put in about buger all. >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( that had absolutely nothing to do with my thread  ???
Thanks to the few thoughtfull answerers  :cheers:

Keith

lol

« Reply #35 on: February 24, 2013, 11:16:47 AM »
I think way too many people get caught up in the hype and as someone said, Wants and Needs are so far apart it isnt funny

Ask how many people with winches on their trucks have ever used them in anger offroad.
Lockers, most people have no idea how capable their rigs are with just good tyres and clearance.

Theres $3000-5000 alone.
Chuck on a rear twin wheel carrier bar $3000-4000.. and youve hit 10k of Shit you dont really need.

We havent got to the inside of the car yet.
Commercial storage units @ $1800-4000

How much did that car cost you again?

Cost of setting up a 4wd
« Reply #36 on: February 24, 2013, 12:29:10 PM »
You got in one lost.

Offline rockygu4.8

« Reply #37 on: February 24, 2013, 12:44:49 PM »
I guess it all comes down to what you can afford our car is setup with quite a bit of Arb gear somewhere around 26k plus another 12-14 spent elsewhere in saying that we have an extremely capable tourer which we use mostly for recreation. Yes it's a lot of money but taking the family to Bali last trip was 20 k money well spent I have to say. If this is your hobby then why not. Plan is to have this car for well over 10 years we love it. Could we do it in a stock gq sure but we chose to set it up like that so each to their own I guess. 4 wd extras are super exy way over the top in my opinion but like anything in this world you want it you've got to pay for it

4.8 litre Gu Patrol
2006 Goldstream Storm
2010 Armadilo Arma X

« Reply #38 on: February 25, 2013, 06:52:33 AM »
I have been reading this http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=17679.0  thread just for fun and was just wondering what would the costs be in an equivalent model toyota or mitsubishi ? And no,I'm not looking to replace the old "jacka" yet  :angel:

Mate, mine is the one with the drop slide, all up cost was a shade over $20k. Included Cooper ST's, bar, winch, uhf, 2nd battery, LR fuel tank, canopy was custom built for approx. $8k and painted, since that pic I have set up the back of the truck with drawers etc.

Have also added a Foxwing and a POD for the roof racks

Offline jtraf

« Reply #39 on: February 25, 2013, 08:45:28 AM »
A loaded question for sure........

If I add up the money I have spent on just making my car go better I am sure my wife would slap me....

it all comes down to what you will feel comfortable to get out and about and make life easier when dragging the trailer around.
James - 1994 Patrol GQ TD42T Auto dragging around our 2007 Trackabout Safari Camper

Offline ozbogwam

Cost of setting up a 4wd
« Reply #40 on: February 25, 2013, 08:54:14 AM »
My GU is pretty bare bones compared to most.

4.2 non turbo diesel

2" OME lift approx $1000
33"  $750
Rola roof bars and basket $250
Cargo barrier 2nd hand $75
ARB awning gift
Sliders $200
Rear storage is a $5 filing cabinet and a $10 wire shelf attached to the cargo barrier

Car came with factory bullbar and snorkel

It does everything I need, and cost under $21k all up including vehicle

Do things that you need, do it smart and don't get sucked in to catalogue shopping

Offline chisel

• Lifestyle Extenda 2012, Landcruiser 100 TD 2006
« Reply #41 on: February 25, 2013, 04:35:21 PM »
Haven't touched the suspension on my 100 except to add airbags to the back (think $300).  Has been to the cape and numerous fraser/moreton trips without major issue.
It had a bullbar when I bought it.
Fridge and fridge slide I count as 'camping gear' not part of the car (easily transferrable).
Homemade storage in the back (cheap, mostly transferable).
Roofrack did cost $1400.
Dual-battery isolator, cables and new batteries ... few hundred there.
Cargo barrier - $600 or something like that.
No winch.  No lockers.  Maxtrax yes but again easily transferable - not sure I'd include with the car setup cost.
Bigger AT tyres - only a little more expensive than normal road tyres. 
Could maybe include reversing camera, and the brake controller - $700 or so in that lot.

So I think I'm up to close to $3000 depending on what you count as car setup costs.  Half of that is the roof rack.
I could easily see myself spending another $10k on suspension, snorkel and diff locks but it is hard to justify when I haven't needed any of those in 5 years of ownership.  You could argue that it makes it safer for the family, and makes you feel more confident about getting off the beaten track, so to speak, but probably a waste of money really.

« Reply #42 on: February 25, 2013, 04:39:14 PM »
Mate, mine is the one with the drop slide, all up cost was a shade over $20k. Included Cooper ST's, bar, winch, uhf, 2nd battery, LR fuel tank, canopy was custom built for approx. $8k and painted, since that pic I have set up the back of the truck with drawers etc.

Have also added a Foxwing and a POD for the roof racks

That looks sweet!

« Reply #43 on: February 25, 2013, 06:13:55 PM »
I've spent a truck load of coin on my vehicle however, It's set up for what "I" want.

If anyone wants to follow their wallet is gonna get hurt........ ;D

Bet advice I can give is if you are planning to do remote travel like myself, a decent set of LT tyres, decent suspension upgrade, longrange fuel tanks and long range communication as a minimum.

Plodding around the bitumen.......totally different story.......

Offline cyberess

« Reply #44 on: February 25, 2013, 06:37:09 PM »
This is interesting -- It's my post and my Mahindra that this thread is referring to http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=17679.0 --   It amazing it's taken me this long to spot this thread :, but when I seen the topic of "Cost of setting up a 4wd", I avoided it..  and now I have read it I found out it's related to my Mahindra Pik-up. :laugh

O.K. it will be easy to work out against other utes  -- Just get the base price of the other ute and add -->

Rough costing on what was used
Item                                                               Rough pricing
Suspension Upgrade kit with fitting                $ 1350
Snorkle                                                           $  770
Steel winch bar                                               $ 1995
Runva Winch with plasma rope                       $   995
Tow bar                                                           $   770
Sump guard                                                    $   550
Alloy canopy with wired up central locking      $  5500
Reverse camera                                               $   500
Extra spare wheel and tire                                $   300
Dual battery setup                                           $   400
Centre bearing guard                                       $   300
UHF radio setup                                               $   500
Dash matt                                                        $    70
Long Range Fuel tank setup                             $ 2500
Extra Aux wiring                                               $   100
Approximate TOTAL (including fitting) about   $16600

Then plus the cost of the other ute whatever that may be, and maybe the cost of a Diff lock, and under seal protection (Standard on the Mahindra) if the proposed Ute does not come with these items.

O.K. there has been a few changes since I have owned the Mahindra, that is I have dump the 150L alloy tank setup, and now done a self install on a 80L under tray poly tank -- I guess if one was to calculate that it would be a $500 Aux tank setup  -- The Alloy tank was a $2500 stuff up, as it was just too low (Wisdom in hindsight).

Mods for the future  -- swapping to manual locking hubs (Maybe $200) -- and Tomorrow it's going in to get the tow bar modified  -- I getting it raised (rough quote of $200, but businesses in Darwin that will probably double).

Offline heath74

« Reply #45 on: February 25, 2013, 06:53:42 PM »
This thread feels like it needs the master card tagline,

Camping with your mates/kids/wife priceless

Or

Getting up the hill that your mates can't.... priceless

« Reply #46 on: February 25, 2013, 07:13:58 PM »
Yes, setting up a vehicle can be expensive but having said that, many of us do go overboard, myself included. Below are the extras I have fitted but I could do the same things I do with no where near the stuff I have fitted. This is also the strong reason why I am very reluctant to sell the truck even though I never use it to it's potential anymore.......All I say is, think about extras and think do you really need it. My mistake was always yes when it should have been NO....:-)

Figures are rough guesses as some time as passed...

1. 2 Inch Suspension Lift, King Springs with Series 2000 XGS Gold Series Shocks plus 15mm coil spacers front and rear. 3 degree castor correction bushes.$2000
2. Rear Poly Air Bags$550
3. Black Widow Draws with Partion, Top Shelf and Fridge Slide$3500
4. ARB Air Compressor and Front ARB Air Locker$1800
5. 3in Mandrel Bent Hi-Flow Exhaust and Dump Pipe$1200
6. Tradesman Roof Rack with 3mtr Roll out awning and Kaymar Post Hole shovel and Wallaby Jack holder.$1200
7. Roof Centre console (Department of the Interior) with ICOM IC 400PRO UHF $900
8. AE 4705/4706 UHF Aerial $400
9. Dual Battery system 105 Amphr Deep Cycle Battery with 2 controllers making it a 3 stage system to charge Kimberley Kamper Batteries.$1200
10. Safari Snorkel$650
11. Replaced both tanks with 145lt Main and 70lt Sub.$2200
12. Nissan installed Steel Bullbar and Tow Pack.Came with vehicle
13. 285/70R17Mickey Thompson ATZ 4 Rib$3000
13. Kaymar rear wheel spacer and work light$200
14. VMS 500s Navigation Unit with Topo.$800
15. Rear Door Fold Down Table$120
16. Rear Door hinge extension$50
17. Extended Diff Breathers$150
18. Black Widow rear seat false floor supporting 2nd 40lt Engel and Black Widow 3 Jerry Can Holder(Water only)$450
19. Second Air compressor - Bushranger Maxi-Air.......$200
20. Lightforce XGT's$500
21. Cheezy Rock Slider Steps $750
22. Takla seat pocket bag$80
23. Custom made Sheepskin seat cover for the front seats$450
24. HID Headlight kit Hi and Low$100
25. Michells Sac rear canvas seat covers... $550
26. Warn XP9500lb Winch$2100
27. OL Dual Wheel Carrier$2500
28. AVM Free Wheeling Hubs $250
29. Michells sacs Roof Top Bag$450
30. Motsons stage 2 Turbo upgrade $2200
31. Adjustable Steering Dampner from Tough Dog......$120
32. Eclipse 7in Head unit with reverse cam etc $2600
33. Side awning $300

Total=$33520=Me very silly........
« Last Edit: February 25, 2013, 07:28:11 PM by Teabag »

Offline GUEY

« Reply #47 on: February 25, 2013, 07:43:22 PM »
^^^^^^ bloody hell. How many tyres do you have.
2016 Colorado Trailblazer
2010 Swan Outback

« Reply #48 on: February 25, 2013, 07:46:53 PM »
^^^^^^ bloody hell. How many tyres do you have.

6 x $460 each tyre.....Just because they are 17inch rims, drop to 16in and they suddenly drop a $100 per tyre for more rubber, go figure....:-)

Offline GUEY

« Reply #49 on: February 25, 2013, 07:54:16 PM »
Should of looked at your sig pic. I know the feeling of 17 inch all to well.
Made the mistake of not going 16's back on my first set of mtzs. Could of had a new set of rims paid for by now with the saved money.
There be another lesson in setting up a 4x4 and how you can save money.
2016 Colorado Trailblazer
2010 Swan Outback