General => General Discussion => Topic started by: weeds on June 13, 2020, 03:01:39 PM

Title: Cordless Chainsaw dilemma
Post by: weeds on June 13, 2020, 03:01:39 PM
Prepping for our 2 maybe 3 year lap of AUS heading off in 18months time.

Currently have a petrol Stihl petrol, been really good. Although stored outside of vehicle don’t really want to much around with petrol.

All my cordless gear is Milwaukee, also have a 12v charger. Although doubt I’ll take any of it on the trip, very tight on space.

I see Milwaukee have a chainsaw but haven’t really seen anybody post up about them...although I’m thinking they all work/perform pretty much the same.

$560 for a skin at total tools.

$470 for 18v AEG with battery and 12v Charger

I looked at the AEG 54v and makita 36v but they are getting a little big

Will an 18v do for small camp fires for just two peeps.

Do I need a bigger unit

Any other brands I should consider, if I don’t go down the Milwaukee path.

Title: Re: Cordless Chainsaw dilemma
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on June 13, 2020, 03:07:56 PM
Stihl make a cordless chainsaw they have one at the school its a cracker, Craig
Post by: weeds on June 13, 2020, 03:13:42 PM
Stihl make a cordless chainsaw they have one at the school its a cracker, Craig

I was just looking at the stihl’s on line, didn’t realise they were 36v $480 ish, doesn’t look like there is a 12v charger option. Will have inverter though.

Post by: Bird on June 13, 2020, 03:37:16 PM
Theres been numerous threads on these in recent weeks, have a bit of a dig/search
Post by: weeds on June 13, 2020, 04:21:21 PM
Theres been numerous threads on these in recent weeks, have a bit of a dig/search

Search doesn’t appear to work when using tapatalk

Post by: McGirr on June 13, 2020, 04:30:07 PM
Just bought an Ozito chainsaw and comes with a 5 year replacement warranty. They do a pack with blade sharpener for $199.

Post by: Pottsy on June 13, 2020, 04:32:51 PM
Weeds if you are cutting small firewood for small fires and you have a Milwaukee 12v system why not consider the 12v recipro saw and chuck in a few 4 or 6 tpi recip saw blades. I run this in my camper trailer, cordless drill, impact driver, recipro and vacuum.
Post by: austastar on June 13, 2020, 04:52:14 PM
    And you avoid the 'No Chainsaws rule in National Parks.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

Post by: weeds on June 13, 2020, 04:55:49 PM
Weeds if you are cutting small firewood for small fires and you have a Milwaukee 12v system why not consider the 12v recipro saw and chuck in a few 4 or 6 tpi recip saw blades. I run this in my camper trailer, cordless drill, impact driver, recipro and vacuum.

Recipe I saw is another option.

Not keen to purchase another system.

Got a PM giving a good review of the Milwaukee chainsaw

Post by: weeds on June 13, 2020, 04:57:13 PM
Just bought an Ozito chainsaw and comes with a 5 year replacement warranty. They do a pack with blade sharpener for $199.

I suspect all 18v range probably perform about the same....

It’s just I have a bunch of Milwaukee batteries and a 12v charger

The initial outlay is up there.

Post by: Inland_Sailor on June 13, 2020, 05:14:26 PM
I've a AEG 54V Cordless and it cuts just like a 2 stroke, given that you've a sharp chain in either. A fully charged battery last about the same time as a tank of fuel in the equivalent sized 2 stroke. Takes perhaps half an hour to recharge from flat. so if you out an about and have an inverter, solar does the job.
On the flip side, I know plenty speak highly on using a reciprocal for the job and the blades don't blunt if you hit some dirt!
Post by: weeds on June 13, 2020, 05:22:40 PM
I've a AEG 54V Cordless and it cuts just like a 2 stroke, given that you've a sharp chain in either. A fully charged battery last about the same time as a tank of fuel in the equivalent sized 2 stroke. Takes perhaps half an hour to recharge from flat. so if you out an about and have an inverter, solar does the job.
On the flip side, I know plenty speak highly on using a reciprocal for the job and the blades don't blunt if you hit some dirt!

Had a close look at the 54v AEG today, big unit. Although saw will he store outside the rig the battery and charger is big.

Bloody good price and plenty of good reviews.

I’m very tight on space.

Post by: gronk on June 13, 2020, 06:45:00 PM
You already have a chainsaw....takes up no more room than an electric one ( except for a small can of fuel ). ?
Post by: rags on June 13, 2020, 08:08:49 PM
I’m running AEG tools these days and must say the 18volt chainsaw is a cracker.
Often you can pick them up in promotion packs like this one
 https://www.aegpowertools.com.au/outdoor/products/details/18v-6-0ah-12-brushless-chainsaw-kit-acs18bs6?list=all_products&list_name=All+Products (https://www.aegpowertools.com.au/outdoor/products/details/18v-6-0ah-12-brushless-chainsaw-kit-acs18bs6?list=all_products&list_name=All+Products)
Post by: D4D on June 13, 2020, 08:18:45 PM

Yup and you can buy/store a heap of blades cheap and no need to sharpen. For cutting up firewood a recipro is the go, much easier and safer, for clearing trails I'd still prefer a 'proper' chainsaw.
Post by: gronk on June 13, 2020, 08:19:44 PM
I’m running AEG tools these days and must say the 18volt chainsaw is a cracker.
Often you can pick them up in promotion packs like this one
 https://www.aegpowertools.com.au/outdoor/products/details/18v-6-0ah-12-brushless-chainsaw-kit-acs18bs6?list=all_products&list_name=All+Products (https://www.aegpowertools.com.au/outdoor/products/details/18v-6-0ah-12-brushless-chainsaw-kit-acs18bs6?list=all_products&list_name=All+Products)
Can still pick up a Stihl or Huskie chainsaw for $249!!
Post by: rags on June 13, 2020, 09:01:19 PM
Can still pick up a Stihl or Huskie chainsaw for $249!!

Not in the battery powered variety
 https://www.stihl.com.au/STIHL-Products/Chainsaws/01615/Battery-Chainsaws.aspx (https://www.stihl.com.au/STIHL-Products/Chainsaws/01615/Battery-Chainsaws.aspx)
Post by: weeds on June 13, 2020, 09:36:43 PM
You already have a chainsaw....takes up no more room than an electric one ( except for a small can of fuel ). ?

Er yep, and am thinking I no longer want to carry petrol , two struck oil....I’ve switch away from gas for cooking so carrying a second type of fuel is the target.

You in the market for a petrol chainsaw, I may have one going cheap.

Post by: gronk on June 13, 2020, 11:20:45 PM
Er yep, and am thinking I no longer want to carry petrol , two struck oil....I’ve switch away from gas for cooking so carrying a second type of fuel is the target.

You in the market for a petrol chainsaw, I may have one going cheap.

If it's a good Stihl, I'll give you $100.

I carry less than a litre of premixed fuel and 500ml of bar oil.
If you are camped out in the scrub, with 2 batteries powering the fridge, have you got enough spare power to recharge a chainsaw battery ?
Post by: weeds on June 14, 2020, 06:04:02 AM
If it's a good Stihl, I'll give you $100.

I carry less than a litre of premixed fuel and 500ml of bar oil.
If you are camped out in the scrub, with 2 batteries powering the fridge, have you got enough spare power to recharge a chainsaw battery ?

We have 18months til we head off, plenty of time to fine tune our set up....if the cordless doesn’t work out over many weekenders and normal holidays than we’ll re-assess

We are about to pick up our the rig from getting it’s new fitout which includes an electrical upgrade.

200amp/hr lithium battery with 280w of solar primarily running a fridge and induction cook top as required.

If we are desperate to have a fire and needed to cut some wood and happen to be short on power than I’d just start the engine (way quieter than a petrol chainsaw), which has a perfectly good charger sitting under the bonnet or.......grab the axe and cut wood the old fashion way.

Post by: achjimmy on June 14, 2020, 08:27:05 AM
I’d go the Milwaukee if you already have that, or the aeg if you want to leave it dedicated to your camper. Both brands share tech as they are all owned by a HK company that includes Ryobi.

I think most of the battery saws I reasonable , personal preference is for a company who’s been in the battery game as good battery tech is harder to develop than good chainsaw tech. Stihl and husky are good saws but Reasonably new to battery’s (stihl seem to have made a meal off it with several different battery styles assuring you can’t share tools)

The other chainsaw that gets a good wrap is ego. Not sure on the saw but there 56v battery tech is considered the best even outperforming Milwaukee in back to back tests .

Although I have a battery chainsaw I carry in the car, for long trips I have a stihl mini boss that has a dedicated space case with fuel, oil , chaps etc that goes on the roof . I figure the day you are really going to need to clear a decent tree (high country ) nothing short a quality petrol saw will cut it  ;D
Post by: D4D on June 14, 2020, 08:30:02 AM
I figure the day you are really going to need to clear a decent tree (high country ) nothing short a quality petrol saw will cut it  ;D

x100 :)
Post by: weeds on June 14, 2020, 09:22:57 AM
I’d go the Milwaukee if you already have that, or the aeg if you want to leave it dedicated to your camper. Both brands share tech as they are all owned by a HK company that includes Ryobi.

I think most of the battery saws I reasonable , personal preference is for a company who’s been in the battery game as good battery tech is harder to develop than good chainsaw tech. Stihl and husky are good saws but Reasonably new to battery’s (stihl seem to have made a meal off it with several different battery styles assuring you can’t share tools)

The other chainsaw that gets a good wrap is ego. Not sure on the saw but there 56v battery tech is considered the best even outperforming Milwaukee in back to back tests .

Although I have a battery chainsaw I carry in the car, for long trips I have a stihl mini boss that has a dedicated space case with fuel, oil , chaps etc that goes on the roof . I figure the day you are really going to need to clear a decent tree (high country ) nothing short a quality petrol saw will cut it  ;D

I only have a Stihl MS180, bottom end of the range.

Thanks for tip on ego....

I have a Poptop conversion therefore not trying to carry anything on the roof, solar is taking up 2/3 of the space therefore not much space for anything else. Currently have maxtrax and a water proof bag will take up the rest.

Post by: glenm64 on June 14, 2020, 11:24:05 AM
AEG have got a promo on if your in the market for a mower too.
https://www.aegpowertools.com.au/products/details/58v-4-0ah-18-brushless-lawn-mower-kit-alm58li402?bonus_offer_id=98

Sent from my SM-T810 using Tapatalk

Post by: glenm64 on June 14, 2020, 11:28:15 AM
Can anyone with the AEG 58v tell me the current draw of the charger. Cant find chargers specs online.

Post by: edz on June 14, 2020, 12:12:29 PM
Sorry Glenno no specs on the 58v charger, other than 220v  / 240 v   - 50hz and  it puts out 58v at 5 amps    .... Bloody good chainsaw though, works a treat . ..
Post by: Gazza00 on June 14, 2020, 12:47:57 PM
As a guideline only  my EGO charger for the 56v battery has     Input :210-250V   ~50Hz  210watt     Output : 3A  56V    on the charger.
My 300W inverter charges it OK 
Post by: Alan Loy on June 14, 2020, 02:18:05 PM
If its only for fire wood have you considered a hand saw?  I have a Silky "Big boy" that does the job if you don't need a lot of wood.  Packs very small and not petrol.

https://www.drifta.com.au/product-category/silky-saws-and-blades/
Post by: britts on June 14, 2020, 07:47:39 PM
Husky have 12v charger option
https://youtu.be/leugFYpc8uA

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

Post by: lloydus67 on June 14, 2020, 08:00:53 PM
I suspect all 18v range probably perform about the same....

It’s just I have a bunch of Milwaukee batteries and a 12v charger

The initial outlay is up there.

Ozito’s is 36v but uses 2x 18v batteries in parallel. And come with a double high speed battery charger

Post by: DandyD on June 15, 2020, 02:50:51 AM
I have a Makita 36 volt chainsaw [twin 18v) and I think it's pretty good for garden maintenance stuff without annoying neighours. I also have 240v Makita chainsaw which is actually better performance wise but I get fed up tripping over the cable. You do need two chargers though and a stack of spare batteries. The chargers are happy running from a generator.

Post by: weeds on June 15, 2020, 06:42:23 AM
Thanks guys, yep looked at twin 18v options, if I decide to go higher than 18v I think I’d keep with a single battery option.

Post by: Fizzie on June 15, 2020, 08:23:05 AM
We've got the Ryobi 18v version, which so far we've only used around the back yard, but it's taken branches / stumps up to ~150mm with no issues 8)

https://www.bunnings.com.au/ryobi-one-18v-cordless-chainsaw-skin-only_p3380992 (https://www.bunnings.com.au/ryobi-one-18v-cordless-chainsaw-skin-only_p3380992)

Huge bonus there, of course, is that one battery fits everything (+ 6 years warranty!) ;D
Post by: kylarama on June 15, 2020, 09:15:14 AM
Best bet is to stick with the platform you already have.  Although the Milwaukee chainsaw doesn't look that compact, being a 16" bar.  One this to watch with the cordless saws is the chain tensioner system is a bit flimsy on some makes like the Dewalt. 

As others said a reciprocating saw would be the cheapest and most compact solution for you.  Also no need for bar oil.
Use the 10" Milwaukee 'AX' blades and it will cut like butter.

I've got the Makita 10" brushed 36V chainsaw.  It's brilliant and now my go to saw for anything under 175mm diameter.

If you do want a compact saw.  Check out the 18v brushless version.  $500 with a 5ah battery and fast charger.
https://sydneytools.com.au/product/makita-duc254rt-18v-5-0ah-li-ion-cordless-brushless-250mm-10-chainsaw-combo-kit (https://sydneytools.com.au/product/makita-duc254rt-18v-5-0ah-li-ion-cordless-brushless-250mm-10-chainsaw-combo-kit)

For those people looking at 12v powered chargers.  They are generally pretty slow to charge.  The Makita one takes and hour to a charge a 3ah battery, but the fast charger in the above link does it in 22 minutes and will run off an $80 300w inverter.

Post by: weeds on June 15, 2020, 09:52:28 AM
Best bet is to stick with the platform you already have.  Although the Milwaukee chainsaw doesn't look that compact, being a 16" bar.  One this to watch with the cordless saws is the chain tensioner system is a bit flimsy on some makes like the Dewalt. 

As others said a reciprocating saw would be the cheapest and most compact solution for you.  Also no need for bar oil.
Use the 10" Milwaukee 'AX' blades and it will cut like butter.

I've got the Makita 10" brushed 36V chainsaw.  It's brilliant and now my go to saw for anything under 175mm diameter.

If you do want a compact saw.  Check out the 18v brushless version.  $500 with a 5ah battery and fast charger.
https://sydneytools.com.au/product/makita-duc254rt-18v-5-0ah-li-ion-cordless-brushless-250mm-10-chainsaw-combo-kit (https://sydneytools.com.au/product/makita-duc254rt-18v-5-0ah-li-ion-cordless-brushless-250mm-10-chainsaw-combo-kit)

For those people looking at 12v powered chargers.  They are generally pretty slow to charge.  The Makita one takes and hour to a charge a 3ah battery, but the fast charger in the above link does it in 22 minutes and will run off an $80 300w inverter.

Cool and thanks

I might give a recip saw a go this weekend as I like the idea of no oil...

have read some saws leak oil and the instructions state draining the oil.

A mate is bringing his 18v Ryobi brushless camping this weekend, be good to see one in action.

Post by: Bird on June 15, 2020, 10:11:32 AM
Quote from: weeds
I might give a recip saw a go this weekend as I like the idea of no oil...\
What about a 4 stroke chainsaw.
Post by: glenm64 on June 15, 2020, 10:19:47 AM
Think he means bar oil Bird.

Post by: Bird on June 15, 2020, 10:24:47 AM
Quote from: glenm64
Think he means bar oil Bird.
ah gotcha.
Post by: Beachman on June 15, 2020, 12:06:27 PM
Cool and thanks

Just make sure you have a sharp blade otherwise it won't be a fair comparison to a chainsaw. I've used my mates recip saws many times camping and they are fantastic for firewood sized branches. Plus much safer than a chainsaw if using at night when the fire is running out of wood or after a dozen beers.
Post by: tryagain on June 15, 2020, 12:23:42 PM
I have the Ozito Brushless 2 x 18V chainsaw mainly for camping (I also have decent petrol saw to compare it too) It is actually pretty reasonable.
some of the reasons I think it's worth a look are.

-Price the skin is only $199
-Warranty, 5 years on the saw, if anything goes wrong with it you can just go to the nearest bunnings and swap it over for a new one, If you are travelling with other ones it is likely to have to be sent off for repairs, how will they get it back to you when you are on the road?
-The Ozito 18v saw, by comparison, is a bit average by all reports. I think it is difficult to draw enough power from a single 18v battery to be reasonable, I suspect this is a limitation that will apply to most 18v saws. 
-Batteries, Bunnings regularly matches Aldis $40 for a 4ah battery whenever they advertise them, which is usually at least a few times a year. Compare this to other brands.
- A negative is the length, a workaround for this though is as due to the toolless tensioner, it literally takes less than a minute to take the bar off and put it back together again so I store it in a bag, with the bar removed and it's pretty compact. The bonus is you then have a reasonable length bar should you ever need to cut anything bigger.
- Another potential negative is no 12v charger, as others have pointed out though, an inverter might be the better option.

A point I will make about all battery chainsaws though is that they are lower in power than their petrol counterparts, this is less noticeable with a sharp chain, a dull chain though will chew through the batteries and struggle to cut.

This is also worth a watch https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oI9gAw4AhJk (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oI9gAw4AhJk) someone else once did a comparison between a reciprocating saw and chainsaw for camping, but I can't find it at the moment.

What suits me is likely different to you, but hopefully some food for thought.
Post by: Fizzie on June 15, 2020, 12:36:09 PM
Cool and thanks

have read some saws leak oil and the instructions state draining the oil.

A mate is bringing his 18v Ryobi brushless camping this weekend, be good to see one in action.

We were having this conversation only a week or 2 ago on another forum!

One of the blokes was saying that he doesn't fill the oil tank on his saw (Ryobi?) as it leaks (& our's does as well :'() - he just sprays the bar with spray-can cooking oil! :o ;D

Waiting with interest to hear the comparison between the two saws! ;D
Post by: loanrangie on June 15, 2020, 04:18:20 PM
how do you plan on charging the chainsaw ? , 12v will be ok but 18v+ ?
Post by: Bigfish on June 15, 2020, 04:21:07 PM
I,ve got the Milwaukee with 2 x 12amp batteries. Takes up alot less room than my Husky 2 stroke. Weighs no where near the husky, no oil spills, no dangerous 2 stroke fuel around, no greasing and batteries last for ages.  Bloody good thing in my opinion. Mate has a husky electric...milwaukee leaves it for dead.
Post by: weeds on June 15, 2020, 04:45:12 PM
how do you plan on charging the chainsaw ? , 12v will be ok but 18v+ ?

2 options...

Milwaukee have a 12v Charger for the 18v series, I already have the charger and batteries.

I also have an inverter being installed this week if I go a different brand chainsaw

Post by: weeds on June 15, 2020, 04:46:17 PM
I,ve got the Milwaukee with 2 x 12amp batteries. Takes up alot less room than my Husky 2 stroke. Weighs no where near the husky, no oil spills, no dangerous 2 stroke fuel around, no greasing and batteries last for ages.  Bloody good thing in my opinion. Mate has a husky electric...milwaukee leaves it for dead.

Thanks for the feedback......

Have heard the Milwaukee performs pretty good enough on power poles.

Post by: weeds on June 15, 2020, 05:18:52 PM

This is also worth a watch https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oI9gAw4AhJk (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oI9gAw4AhJk) someone else once did a comparison between a reciprocating saw and chainsaw for camping, but I can't find it at the moment.

What suits me is likely different to you, but hopefully some food for thought.

Thanks..

Geez the 1 x 18v was a little disappointing

The 2 x 18v performed much better.

It is a good point about the 5 year warranty

Post by: plusnq on June 15, 2020, 07:19:15 PM
It’s was Shane the Sharkcaver

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CaQt46uGIvY&feature=youtu.be

and

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CaQt46uGIvY&feature=youtu.be (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CaQt46uGIvY&feature=youtu.be)

😂😂😂
Post by: lloydus67 on June 15, 2020, 07:42:51 PM
I had a 14” ozito petrol chainsaw. It worked first time every time for the first 2 years of irregular use, camping, bit of yard work etc. then for the next 2-3 years I had a problem every time I went to use it.
I got the 36v brushless ozito 14” chainsaw and love it, heaps of power. I have the 4ah batteries and 2ah as spares from other tools. I got a double high speed charger, 2 batteries (4ah) and the chainsaw for under $200 on special a few months ago.
I guess only time will tell, but so far I’m impressed
Lloyd

Post by: Rob C on June 15, 2020, 07:46:14 PM
Hi Weeds,
I’ve been using a 18v Black & Decker for over 4 years.
Yes it won,t cut big trees but it is fantastic for smaller branches,etc ( up to 150mm dia)
This gives plenty of options for firewood.
I have 6 x 4ah batteries that are from my other units from home, wipper snipper, extension Chainsaw, blower, hedge snipper.
Charges easily from the inverter, but I can easily cut enough wood for 1-2 nites using only 2 batteries.
Post by: gronk on June 15, 2020, 07:57:54 PM

One of the blokes was saying that he doesn't fill the oil tank on his saw (Ryobi?) as it leaks (& our's does as well :'() - he just sprays the bar with spray-can cooking oil! :o ;D

Really ??   You'd have to have a 2nd person spraying while you are cutting .

Maybe he prefers the bar oil on his bbq ??   ;D ;D
Post by: Bird on June 15, 2020, 10:19:08 PM
Really ??   You'd have to have a 2nd person spraying while you are cutting .

Maybe he prefers the bar oil on his bbq ??   ;D ;D
one hand running the saw, and one hand sprayin oil :D Doesnt everyone do that ???