Author Topic: So What Did You Do For Australia Day ?  (Read 17924 times)

Re: So What Did You Do For Australia Day ?
« Reply #50 on: January 27, 2011, 07:22:33 AM »
We had a BBQ lunch at a mates place, It was an enjoyable relaxing day  8)

Offline TOPNDR

« Reply #51 on: January 27, 2011, 07:54:30 AM »
Took close to 5 hours to cover the 120 km from Burnie to Cradle Mountain, including lunch at Coles founder GJ Coles's father's store in Wilmot. Then attended a wine & cheese tasting fundraiser for the Qld Premier's Flood Relief Appeal at the Discovery (Big4) Park at Cradle Mountain.
'09 VX TTD Cruiser:- 6 speed auto, 650 nm torque plus bling
'09 Australian Off Road Quantum

« Reply #52 on: January 27, 2011, 08:00:57 AM »
I put the roof vents in my canopy.
What a pain of a job.
I' am still itching from the fibreglass.
Morag weeded her garden and did housework.
0 alcohol consumed as usual.
Thats basically all we got up to...
Bill and Morag
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

Offline meimarocu

« Reply #53 on: January 27, 2011, 09:11:51 AM »
When up to lake Tinnaroo,
took 3 conoes and too much stuff.
Ate too much
Drank too much
got too much sun
All with freinds and family.
Need to do more of it.

Ian

Offline MattNQ

• The smartist formerly known as Skypig
    • My website
« Reply #54 on: January 27, 2011, 11:42:50 AM »
We avoided the hot, sandy, crowded, jellyfish and tourist infested beaches & retreated to the mountains....
Crystal Creek is absolute magic on a hot summers day

Gonewalkabouts

« Reply #55 on: January 27, 2011, 01:07:30 PM »

I spent most of the day at home with the air conditioning going full bore and kids complaining. The highlight of the day being a late afternoon trip to BCF to buy a fishing rod. Hardly the most exciting day or posting on this forum.

I did Google search sails for a portable kayak, and looked at some custom made long bows and Mongolian bows (which are very nicely crafted), as a possible future purchase for my bow hunting trips out western NSW.

Hope you all had a great day

Gonewalkabouts

« Reply #56 on: January 27, 2011, 03:23:03 PM »
I cable-tied a flag to my UHF aerial, and drove around all day:

Actually, I lie. It's been there all week (still is, too).

Tuesday night was a BBQ at our place with friends, which we got in trouble for from the neighbour the next day for drinking too much and making too much noise. 7 stubbies, and 2 bottles of wine between 8 people is excessive, apparently??  ??? Anyhew, we spent The Day visiting friends with new bubs, and topped it off with another BBQ at home with the in-laws - pretty much a perfect day!

Glad to hear everyone else had / was going to have a good time. Since we haven't heard back from McGirr, we can just safely assume he's either still living it up with his new lady friends, or is locked in a hotel room in Cairns somewhere, in an ice bath missing both his kidneys. If we don't hear from you in a couple of days mate - I'll start ringing around!

« Last Edit: January 27, 2011, 03:53:27 PM by Matto »

« Reply #57 on: January 27, 2011, 03:34:57 PM »
Spent the day at home with partners best mate and our twins n blue healer pup
Squids had a great time on the trampoline with the sprinkler and then swam in the pool
Listened to triple J's top 100 had a bbq and consumed a little too much alcohol.. Maybe way too much...
As I attempted to perform whirly circles in the pool with partner as I do with the squids and awoke feely very poorly this morning
And been limping ever since  :laugh:
all in all great day..  :cheers:

Offline weso

• be good or be good at it !!!!!!!!!!!!
    • 64eh.com
« Reply #58 on: January 27, 2011, 03:53:06 PM »
Well After my Lamb BBQ lunch (so as to keep Sam Kecavich happy), in the sweltering heat i then went and worked at the Drags a favortie past time for so many aussies !!!!!!
64 EH(premier sedan)gone but will never be forgotten, 64VAN(windowless panel van),
2008 Nisan Navara, leisure matters ranger hard floor

Offline weso

• be good or be good at it !!!!!!!!!!!!
    • 64eh.com
« Reply #59 on: January 27, 2011, 03:54:19 PM »
oh and forgot to add then had quite a few chilled ale's to bring the core temp back down again.
64 EH(premier sedan)gone but will never be forgotten, 64VAN(windowless panel van),
2008 Nisan Navara, leisure matters ranger hard floor

Offline Grungle

• Itchin to hitch
    • Grungles Homepage
« Reply #60 on: January 27, 2011, 05:23:38 PM »
Had a BBQ lunch then went for a drive to St Helens Creek for a refreshing swim. Was goung to go to Boulder Creek for another swim but there was eleventy thousand people there so just drove through. Collected some firewood then headed home for a swim in the pool and a camp fire in our firepit. Oh and had a few  :cheers: when we got back.

David
2014 200 Series Landcruiser GXL 4.5L V8 TTD with some fruit.

1999 GU Patrol 4.2TD conversion (was a 2.8TDI) thats been tickled with a few goodies.

My website -> http://www.grungle.com

Offline mark40

« Reply #61 on: January 27, 2011, 06:27:03 PM »
Spent the day at the beach with the family. What a top day, wish they were all like that.

« Reply #62 on: January 27, 2011, 06:43:30 PM »
Went to work  :-[

Offline mark40

« Reply #63 on: January 27, 2011, 06:48:41 PM »

Offline rotor138

« Reply #64 on: January 27, 2011, 07:14:04 PM »

Same mate Only 2nd day of 2 week shift.

« Reply #65 on: January 27, 2011, 07:16:13 PM »
Is that not Unaustralian .      Chuck a Sickie  :cheers:

« Reply #66 on: January 27, 2011, 07:47:28 PM »
Is that not Unaustralian .      Chuck a Sickie  :cheers:
Ease up Speewa, some folk don't have a choice and some do but have a conscience. :angel:

Offline baldheadedgit

• your shout.?.. I'll ave Arf.......!
« Reply #67 on: January 27, 2011, 07:57:46 PM »
I worked half a day, managed to get another job ready. But there again, i'm still a pom......... ;D :cheers:

Offline rescue1

• D40 Navara [HIS] T31 X-Trail [HERS]
« Reply #68 on: January 27, 2011, 08:26:31 PM »
Worked all day introduced the office staff to Vegemite (illegally imported into South Africa) went to a function in Pretoria in the evening where we raised ZAR1000000+ for QLD & Vic flood victims. Amazing what a few expats can do when they put their minds to it.

Offline love_shack

« Reply #69 on: January 27, 2011, 11:20:22 PM »
We avoided the hot, sandy, crowded, jellyfish and tourist infested beaches & retreated to the mountains....
Crystal Creek is absolute magic on a hot summers day

SkyPig - Crystal Creek looks fabulous.
I'm new to travelling anywhere other than work  :laugh: can you tell me where abouts it actually is?

cheers..

Offline MattNQ

• The smartist formerly known as Skypig
    • My website
« Reply #70 on: January 28, 2011, 01:18:10 AM »
SkyPig - Crystal Creek looks fabulous.
I'm new to travelling anywhere other than work  :laugh: can you tell me where abouts it actually is?

cheers..

love_shack

Crystal Creek is about an hour's drive north of Townsville on the road to Paluma - You turn off the Bruce Highway about 60-odd kays north and head westerly up the range. It is fairly well signed. Road is a bit narrow in places, but all bitumen. Half way up you hit a small picnic area & carpark.  The bridge and swimming holes are just next to these.
The area is day use only, but there are a couple of caravan parks back out on the highway not too far away, or you can continue up the range past the creek and Paluma village and then out to Paluma Dam where you can camp.

« Reply #71 on: January 28, 2011, 07:14:46 AM »
We had a BBQ, invited some friends around, had lamb on a spit, free homebrew beer around the pool and swimming all day :cheers: :cup:

Offline GSK33

• Tent
« Reply #72 on: January 28, 2011, 08:05:59 AM »
Yeah me too  :-[  12.75 hours :'( Glad everyone else had a good Aussie Aussie Aussie Day  :cheers:

Offline love_shack

« Reply #73 on: January 28, 2011, 08:52:59 PM »
love_shack

Crystal Creek is about an hour's drive north of Townsville on the road to Paluma - You turn off the Bruce Highway about 60-odd kays north and head westerly up the range. It is fairly well signed. Road is a bit narrow in places, but all bitumen. Half way up you hit a small picnic area & carpark.  The bridge and swimming holes are just next to these.
The area is day use only, but there are a couple of caravan parks back out on the highway not too far away, or you can continue up the range past the creek and Paluma village and then out to Paluma Dam where you can camp.

Thanks for that SkyPig ...  :cheers:

« Reply #74 on: January 28, 2011, 09:20:39 PM »
I got really p#$%^&D :cheers:

met 2 really nice girls, partied all night ,  ;D

ended up in the hot tub with them,  :D

wow best night of my life.  :cup:

Thats how I want it to be will advise in 24 hrs what happened.........stay tuned  :'(

Ok this what happened

I got really p#$%^&D                    started drinking early :cheers:

met 2 really nice girls                     neighbours wifes and they looked nice after a few drinks ;D

partied all night                             sort of but had a sleep in between :D

ended up in the hot tub with them    cant remember ???

wow best night of my life                still deciding on this one :'(