Author Topic: NSW Fires  (Read 96239 times)

Re: NSW Fires
« Reply #550 on: December 29, 2019, 11:14:41 AM »
Our (under) 26M population today equates to 0.33% of the total world population.

I thought the worlds population is close to 6 billion.
I'm  lost :(
« Last Edit: December 29, 2019, 11:41:36 AM by Hairs »

« Reply #551 on: December 29, 2019, 11:27:26 AM »
Just as George Carlin...
love to see him do Greta or wat ever its name is

NSW Fires
« Reply #552 on: December 29, 2019, 12:35:07 PM »
I thought the worlds population is close to 6 billion.
I'm  lost :(
* The current population of Australia is 25,348,657 as of Saturday, December 28, 2019, based on Worldometers elaboration of the latest United Nations data.
* Australia population is equivalent to 0.33% of the total world population.
* Australia ranks number 55 in the list of countries (and dependencies) by population.

https://www.worldometers.info/world-population/australia-population/

« Reply #553 on: December 29, 2019, 12:48:28 PM »
These numbers you quote....are you saying our power stations emit 4.8% of global emissions ?? Or are you saying what we produce and export are burnt by other countries and that is somehow our figure ??
Our total contribution to the worlds problem, domestic and exported.

I’m not going to be polluting this bushfire thread with any more climate change stuff.
It’s a messy and decisive topic, and it’s pretty clear what everyone’s thoughts are on both sides.

There’s a great bunch of guys and girls on here and I recon we’d all get along great sitting around a campfire somewhere in our great outdoors enjoying nature together.
And I guess that’s what surprises me, a group of people that apparently all love getting out into nature can have a standup argument about how it’s perfectly fine to keep pumping crap into our atmosphere and destroying what we all supposedly love to enjoy.

So I’m not entering into more arguments on here, because I’m sure eventually we will all see the errors of our current way of doing things and will make a change for the betterment of everything on this planet and not just our tiny little economy....

« Reply #554 on: December 29, 2019, 12:50:41 PM »
* The current population of Australia is 25,348,657 as of Saturday, December 28, 2019, based on Worldometers elaboration of the latest United Nations data.
* Australia population is equivalent to 0.33% of the total world population.
* Australia ranks number 55 in the list of countries (and dependencies) by population.

https://www.worldometers.info/world-population/australia-population/
Sorry mate,
Didn't have me glass on and I didn't see the piont before the 33
My bad.
God I love this getting old crap :(

« Reply #555 on: December 29, 2019, 01:03:51 PM »
Our total contribution to the worlds problem, domestic and exported.

And I guess that’s what surprises me, a group of people that apparently all love getting out into nature can have a standup argument about how it’s perfectly fine to keep pumping crap into our atmosphere and destroying what we all supposedly love to enjoy.

No stand up argument from me ?  Also haven't heard anyone say it's perfectly fine to keep pumping crap into the atmosphere either ?
But for the same reason I dislike having a discussion about religion, I know I can't change someones belief....no matter how many facts I can throw at them, so I'll leave it as is as well !!

« Reply #556 on: December 29, 2019, 02:07:29 PM »
So we close the coal power stations and theres no more fires ever and we all live happily ever after in our disney movie I guess..

« Reply #557 on: December 29, 2019, 02:18:25 PM »
So we close the coal power stations and theres no more fires ever and we all live happily ever after in our disney movie I guess..

What was that quote about rose coloured glasses ??   ;D ;D

« Reply #558 on: December 29, 2019, 02:23:15 PM »

I hope you are not including CO2 in the 'crap'.  We need it or we will die. 

« Reply #559 on: December 29, 2019, 03:02:33 PM »
I hope you are not including CO2 in the 'crap'.  We need it or we will die.

Don't think there's much danger of it running out ???

Was watching a David Attenborough show on South America last night. He was talking about volcanoes & said that this one "erupts with the force of an atomic bomb, every 10 seconds" :o

« Reply #560 on: December 30, 2019, 06:42:55 PM »
 :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(

Volunteer firefighter dies after truck rolls near Albury

A Rural Fire Service volunteer firefighter has died this evening, with two others suffering burns while battling the Green Valley fire, 70 kilometres east of Albury.

It is believed that their truck rolled after being hit by extreme winds while battling the Green Valley Fire, one of four emergency fires burning around the state as of 7pm.

The fire is moving fast due to strong winds, and is increasing on River Road in the Jingelic area, to the northern side of the Murray river.

This marks the third RFS volunteer to lose their life during this catastrophic fire season, after Andrew O'Dwyer and Geoffrey Keaton were killed in a motor vehicle accident on the Green Wattle Creek fireground south-west of Sydney in the week before Christmas.

North of the Green Valley fire, the Dunns Road fire is also at emergency level, south-east of Wagga Wagga.

https://www.smh.com.au/national/nsw/volunteer-firefighter-dies-after-truck-rolls-near-albury-20191230-p53nqm.html

« Reply #561 on: December 30, 2019, 07:06:30 PM »
Never good when that happens, just saw it on Facebook feeds. 

Watching the News and following on from the PM going to compensate RFS members for fighting the fires they do a story on the big downturn of tourists to places like the blue Mountains and how it is affecting the Tourist related business there.  Suggestion made they should have some sort of compensation as well.  Yeah Nah.   

« Reply #562 on: December 30, 2019, 07:40:03 PM »
Never good when that happens, just saw it on Facebook feeds. 

Watching the News and following on from the PM going to compensate RFS members for fighting the fires they do a story on the big downturn of tourists to places like the blue Mountains and how it is affecting the Tourist related business there.  Suggestion made they should have some sort of compensation as well.  Yeah Nah.   

Few years ago as well as fire relief work with farmers etc (we helped a family that the father was in hospital with massive 3rd degree burns after the wind changed and came across his paddocks as a 4km front :'( they were so appreciative of our 4 days there they gave is a massive cook up!!! :D :D :D :D  ) but a few clubs down here got together and traveled the fire ravaged areas, buying fuel, buying lunch at shops in small towns, few beers at the pubs, staying overnight in motels, buying few t-shirts that dont fit me :'( ,  stubby holders etc... locals really appreciated feeling wanted and the few bux I hope helped.

Would love to do the same thing this year.

« Reply #563 on: December 31, 2019, 11:37:53 AM »
Got some friends evacuated down on the beach near Mogo/Tomikin in NSW....

They arent in a good way apparently.

photo from Twitter of Batemans Bay
« Last Edit: December 31, 2019, 12:33:12 PM by Bird »

« Reply #564 on: December 31, 2019, 12:13:25 PM »
Reading up on the young bloke killed yesterday and his injured crew..

The volunteer firefighter who died when his truck rolled at a NSW-Victoria border town has been named as father-to-be Samuel McPaul.

The fatal truck rollover near Jingellic on Monday night was caused by an "extraordinary weather event" when a "fire tornado" lifted a 10-12 tonne Rural Fire Service truck and flipped it onto its roof, Rural Fire Service Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons said.

"As it turns out, not only did a truck get blown over, but another command vehicle in the same extraordinary weather event was blown over," Mr Fitzsimmons said.

I knew fire can create its own weather but FARKLES... :(

Young bloke with a kid on the way too :'(

« Reply #565 on: December 31, 2019, 12:37:14 PM »
Not sounding good for friends house at Tomakin :(

https://twitter.com/hashtag/BatemansBay?src=tren

Batemans Bay 12 noon
https://twitter.com/i/status/1211819329311789056

Sarah McPhee
32 minutes ago

Approximately 200 animals have been locked inside Mogo Zoo "as much as possible" by 15 staff onsite trying to keep them safe from the out-of-control Clyde Mountain bushfire. The park is home to primates, zebras, white rhinos, lions, tigers, giraffes etc. More soon on @newscomauHQ
« Last Edit: December 31, 2019, 12:42:53 PM by Bird »

« Reply #566 on: December 31, 2019, 12:44:55 PM »
From another forum

"The situation around Batemans Bay looks pretty horrendous and the fire's jumped the Princes Highway near Mogo. "

"The industrial area in South Bateman bay is on fire. I am told Bunnings along with other shops and factories is burning."

Jesus, I don't even want to think about what a fire in the BGS would be like :o

« Reply #567 on: December 31, 2019, 12:46:33 PM »
From another forum

"The situation around Batemans Bay looks pretty horrendous and the fire's jumped the Princes Highway near Mogo. "

"The industrial area in South Bateman bay is on fire. I am told Bunnings along with other shops and factories is burning."

Jesus, I don't even want to think about what a fire in the BGS would be like :o

Yea, Mogo Zoo - the staff are stuck trying to sve the animals - and the fireys cant get anywhere near the joint

From Tomakin Road, across from the zoo

Latest fire updates
Vic Emergency website
Rural Fire Service website
Tasmania Fire Service website
Listen to ABC Melbourne 774 AM
Listen to ABC Gippsland 828 AM
Listen to ABC Sydney 702 AM
Listen to ABC Canberra 666 AM
Listen to ABC Hobart 936 AM

Edit:
Southerly change reaches Batemans Bay

The Rural Fire Service has confirmed the southerly change has reached Batemans Bay and significantly dropped temperatures.

It's unclear yet what impact the change in wind direction has had on the town as phone and internet coverage is poor, but with fire burning to its south there is likely to be some damage.
« Last Edit: December 31, 2019, 12:52:16 PM by Bird »

« Reply #568 on: December 31, 2019, 12:56:12 PM »
F%& that ain't good

From RFS website

EMERGENCY WARNING
EMERGENCY WARNING - Clyde Mountain (Eurobodalla LGA)

Posted:31/12/2019 13:50

Close modal
A bush fire is burning to the south of the Kings Highway in the Clyde Mountain area. The fire is more than 31,000 hectares in size and is out of control.

Current Situation

A strong southerly change is expected across the fireground. This will push the fire in a northerly direction. While you may not be at threat now, the fire may reach your area.

This large fire is burning on the southern side of the Kings Highway, in the Buckenbowra and Runnyford areas.
The fire has crossed the Princes Highway near Mogo. The Princes Highway is now closed.
Fire activity is increasing. Spot fires are burning ahead of the main fire front.
This fire has grown from the Currowan fire on the southern flank.
Latest

Multiple fires are currently burning between Cooma, Bega and Batemans Bay and a number of these pose a serious threat to life.
We urge you to seriously consider if you should be in this area today. People in bush fire prone area between Batemans Bay and Bega should move towards a larger town away from bushland areas, such as Narooma, Moruya, Bega and Batemans Bay, if the path is clear.
Advice

Areas north of the Moruya River and Mogendoura

It is too late to leave.
Seek shelter as the fire approaches. Protect yourself from the heat of the fire.
Buckenbowra, Runnyford and Nelligen

Fire activity is increasing in the area moving in an easterly direction towards the Buckenbowra River.
It is too late to leave.
Seek shelter as the fire approaches. Protect yourself from the heat of the fire.
Coastal areas east of the Princes Highway from Batemans Bay to Broulee

It is too late to leave.
Araluen and Reidsdale

Fire activity is increasing in the area.
If your plan is to leave or you are not prepared, leave west via Majors Creek towards Braidwood.
North Batemans Bay, Surfside, Long Beach, South Durras, Maloneys Beach and Long Beach

Monitor the conditions.
Be alert to embers and spot fires.
Know what you will do if the fire threatens.
Mogo, Bimbimbie and Mogendoura

Continue to monitor conditions.
If your plan is to leave, leave early in the morning before fire threatens.
Follow your bush fire survival plan, and know what you will do if the fire threatens.
Deua River Valley

Monitor the changing conditions. Follow your bush fire survival plan, and know what you will do if the fire threatens.
Mogendoura and Buckenbowra

Monitor the changing conditions. Follow your bush fire survival plan, and know what you will do if the fire threatens.
If you are threatened by fire

Do not be in the path of the fire.
Protect yourself from the heat of the fire. Wear protective clothing and footwear. Cover all exposed skin.
If the fire impacts, seek shelter in a solid structure to protect yourself from the heat of the fire.
If your life is at risk, call Triple Zero (000).
Neighbourhood Safer Places

Neighbourhood Safer Places are a place of last resort during a bush fire emergency.
Wharf Street Car Park - Wharf Street, Nelligen (adjacent to the wharf)
Hanging Rock Oval - Cnr Beach Road & Hanging Rock Road, Catalina
NSW RFS Training Building - Eurobodalla Training Ground, Bimbimbie Road, Mogo
Malua Bay Beach Reserve - George Bass Drive, Malua Bay (south of the Surf Club)
Jack Buckley Park - Sunpatch Parade, Tomakin
Mossy Point Foreshore - Intersection of Annetts Parade, Pacific Street and Surfside Avenue, Mossy Point
Moruya Showground - Albert Street, Moruya
Maloneys Beach - Cnr Maloneys Drive and Hibiscus Close, Maloneys Beach
Araluen Recreational Reserve - Araluen Road, Araluen
Evacuation Centres

For a list of evacuation centres visit Disaster Assistance.
People are encouraged to register online at Register Find Reunite before attending evacuation centres.
Other Information

Stay up to date on bush fires in your area by checking the NSW RFS website, listening to your local radio station, or by calling the NSW RFS Bush Fire Information Line on 1800 679 737.
All National Parks in the area are closed today. Before visiting national parks, check for closures at NSW Parks and Wildlife Service.
People with respiratory conditions who are affected by bush fire smoke should activate their health management plan and seek medical advice if necessary. Take precautions, such as staying indoors and closing windows.
For information on road closures, check Live Traffic NSW. Roads may be closed without warning.
Monitor weather conditions and weather warnings at Bureau of Meteorology.
The next update on this fire will be issued by 31/12/2019 14:25 or if the situation changes.
« Last Edit: December 31, 2019, 12:59:35 PM by alnjan »

« Reply #570 on: December 31, 2019, 02:44:20 PM »
Another sad day

NSW premier Gladys Berejiklian said two people have died in bushfires which swept through a small NSW south coast town, and another is missing.

"There are two deceased persons in Cobargo and there are grave concerns for another," she said.

The father and son were found in a house west of Cobargo.

Fears of more deaths with people missing. 

https://www.9news.com.au/national/bushfires-near-me-live-coverage-victoria-nsw-residents-evacuated-ahead-of-catastrophic-fire-conditions/d2fd78c3-c1b4-46f9-adb7-ba2cf6d6a3b8

« Reply #571 on: December 31, 2019, 06:14:37 PM »
Another sad day

NSW premier Gladys Berejiklian said two people have died in bushfires which swept through a small NSW south coast town, and another is missing.

"There are two deceased persons in Cobargo and there are grave concerns for another," she said.

The father and son were found in a house west of Cobargo.

Fears of more deaths with people missing. 

https://www.9news.com.au/national/bushfires-near-me-live-coverage-victoria-nsw-residents-evacuated-ahead-of-catastrophic-fire-conditions/d2fd78c3-c1b4-46f9-adb7-ba2cf6d6a3b8
was a great little town... looking at the latest - its all but wiped out. :'(

« Reply #572 on: December 31, 2019, 06:21:44 PM »
was a great little town... looking at the latest - its all but wiped out. :'(
Just catching up on the news now

So very sad
:(

« Reply #573 on: December 31, 2019, 06:22:51 PM »
Navy now involved evacuating from the beaches down the coast.. choppers and some landing craft boat thingys

« Reply #574 on: December 31, 2019, 08:48:01 PM »
Unbelievable footage from on-board a Fire and Rescue NSW truck

The crew from Fire and Rescue NSW Station 509 Wyoming recorded this video showing the moment their truck was overrun by the bushfire burning South of Nowra. The crew was forced to shelter in their truck as the fire front passed through.

https://www.smh.com.au/national/nsw/nsw-fires-live-multiple-bushfires-burning-at-emergency-level-on-new-year-s-eve-20191231-p53nrr.html