Author Topic: NSW Fires  (Read 96230 times)

Re: NSW Fires
« Reply #275 on: November 26, 2019, 05:46:21 PM »
After 2 weeks of working with NPWS and the RFS to cut trails and fire breaks around the Kempsey Road area, mates have had a lightning strike at the edge of their property that they'd managed to keep the fire off of... bollocks...

« Reply #276 on: November 26, 2019, 06:51:44 PM »

« Reply #277 on: November 26, 2019, 07:03:22 PM »
All this storm front is going to do is give Firies a head ache.
Winds blowing, carrying embers.
What we need is rain, 4-5 inches and then follow up rain.
Talking with farmers, RFS members, they are going to have a busy night.

Edit,
Let alone the lighting strikes on tinder dry grasses and country.

« Last Edit: November 26, 2019, 07:07:56 PM by Hairs »

« Reply #278 on: November 26, 2019, 07:06:50 PM »
All this storm front is going to do is give Firies a head ache.
Winds blowing, carrying embers.
What we need is rain, 4-5 inches and then follow up rain.
Talking with farmers, RFS members, they are going to have a busy night.
windy as **** here, mate in Goulburn said they been gettin flogged all day by wind

« Reply #279 on: November 26, 2019, 07:18:02 PM »
windy as **** here, mate in Goulburn said they been gettin flogged all day by wind
It's just #$%#@*
There is no relief in sight.
There is no rain in this, it will be like throwing a bucket of water into a blacksmiths forge.
:(

« Last Edit: November 26, 2019, 07:20:57 PM by Hairs »

« Reply #280 on: November 26, 2019, 07:29:59 PM »
Not my picture, was shared to me
Taken from Harwood kennels looking west towards Ashby.
Just went out side, the sky through the smoke is blood ted.

« Last Edit: November 26, 2019, 07:46:17 PM by Hairs »

« Reply #281 on: November 26, 2019, 07:49:25 PM »
It's just #$%#@*
There is no rain in this, it will be like throwing a bucket of water into a blacksmiths forge.

So called front is failing big time.  You might be lucky to get a spit or two.  We've had about three cracks of lightning and looking at the BoM the 'front has just about gone. 

« Reply #282 on: November 26, 2019, 08:15:26 PM »
So called front is failing big time.  You might be lucky to get a spit or two.  We've had about three cracks of lightning and looking at the BoM the 'front has just about gone.
Yep gone,
Just took the bins out to the side Street, a couple of drops, a couple of lightening flashes across the sky.
That's it, it's gone.
Wind is still blowin.

« Reply #283 on: November 26, 2019, 09:39:35 PM »
That be a sleepless night dude.. :(

« Reply #284 on: November 26, 2019, 09:46:26 PM »

« Reply #285 on: November 27, 2019, 05:36:40 AM »
It's just #$%#@*

Barrelled across us and dropped about 3 mm and has then dragged up a massive amount of dust behind it. Looks to have cleared a little this morning but it reminded me of a vehicle driving down a dirt road with all the turbulence behind it

« Reply #286 on: November 27, 2019, 05:38:23 AM »
Hi Al,
Just what they would of wanted to deal with last night :(
This morning, HotSpot is showing it has made the ocean.
Heard they lost a house at Ashby Heights.
If it is only one, they have done well.

Pacific H/way is closed north of the Iluka turn off again  this morning due to smoke.
« Last Edit: November 27, 2019, 06:34:21 AM by Hairs »

« Reply #287 on: November 27, 2019, 02:11:38 PM »
Better hope a southerly doesn't blow in,
Evans Head, could be next.

« Reply #288 on: November 27, 2019, 02:24:03 PM »
Quote from: Hairs
Better hope a southerly doesn't blow in,
Evans Head, could be next.

Gee, you'd have as many spare crews as possible wacking in a fire break to the north of that north flank

« Reply #289 on: November 27, 2019, 03:14:21 PM »
Gee, you'd have as many spare crews as possible wacking in a fire break to the north of that north flank
Reckon they(crews on tbe ground) would be doing everything they could.
This fire season isn't over by a long shot.

« Reply #290 on: November 27, 2019, 03:17:19 PM »
Reckon they(crews on tbe ground) would be doing everything they could.
This fire season isn't over by a long shot.
and then some.

« Reply #291 on: November 27, 2019, 06:26:38 PM »
Hi Al,
Just what they would of wanted to deal with last night :(
This morning, HotSpot is showing it has made the ocean.
Heard they lost a house at Ashby Heights.
If it is only one, they have done well.

Pacific H/way is closed north of the Iluka turn off again  this morning due to smoke.

When you start looking at the number of houses set in a rural setting it is amazing the number lost is not much higher.  I am one of them but I also try to keep a clearing around us and the bush.  But I have policies that stop me from falling trees that I consider are a risk.  Others what the trees growing right up to their house and wonder why their place will burn.   It will be interesting to see what comes out of the Inquiry after the fires. 

« Reply #292 on: November 27, 2019, 06:43:47 PM »

When you start looking at the number of houses set in a rural setting it is amazing the number lost is not much higher.  I am one of them but I also try to keep a clearing around us and the bush.  But I have policies that stop me from falling trees that I consider are a risk.  Others what the trees growing right up to their house and wonder why their place will burn.   It will be interesting to see what comes out of the Inquiry after the fires.

The inquiry needs to be above politics, wishful thinking I know.
All levels of response to events like this has to have a result that makes fire managment accoutable.

« Reply #293 on: November 27, 2019, 07:19:21 PM »
Quote from: alnjan
have policies that stop me from falling trees that I consider are a risk.
*cough* winch and chainsaw and the boys around for a few hours at dusk, all ash before anyone knows... it fell naturally *cough*

« Reply #294 on: November 27, 2019, 07:22:03 PM »

Are you in a 10/50 zone?
https://www.rfs.nsw.gov.au/news-and-media/general-news/1050-vegetation-clearing

« Reply #295 on: November 27, 2019, 08:37:12 PM »
Are you in a 10/50 zone?
https://www.rfs.nsw.gov.au/news-and-media/general-news/1050-vegetation-clearing

https://www.rfs.nsw.gov.au/plan-and-prepare/1050-vegetation-clearing/tool

Yep but......copy and paste from RFS site

"The parcel of land you have selected is located in a designated 10/50 vegetation entitlement clearing area. However, you cannot use the 10/50 exemption to clear vegetation on this parcel of land. This land is excluded from the operation of the 10/50 Code as it has been identified as being wholly or partially within:

specified Koala habitat mapped in Comprehensive Koala Plans of Management and as provided by the Department of Planning and Environment

You cannot use the 10/50 exemption to clear vegetation on this parcel of land. Contact your local council or Local Land Services Office regarding any clearing authorisation required.

You may also contact your local NSW RFS District Office if you are seeking advice regarding your land and bush fire hazard management.
"

« Reply #296 on: November 27, 2019, 10:38:24 PM »
https://www.rfs.nsw.gov.au/plan-and-prepare/1050-vegetation-clearing/tool

Yep but......copy and paste from RFS site

"The parcel of land you have selected is located in a designated 10/50 vegetation entitlement clearing area. However, you cannot use the 10/50 exemption to clear vegetation on this parcel of land. This land is excluded from the operation of the 10/50 Code as it has been identified as being wholly or partially within:

specified Koala habitat mapped in Comprehensive Koala Plans of Management and as provided by the Department of Planning and Environment

You cannot use the 10/50 exemption to clear vegetation on this parcel of land. Contact your local council or Local Land Services Office regarding any clearing authorisation required.

You may also contact your local NSW RFS District Office if you are seeking advice regarding your land and bush fire hazard management.
"

Well that’s a bugger for you, our old place we could clear under the 10/50 plan which was good.
The following users thanked this post: plusnq

« Reply #297 on: November 28, 2019, 12:28:35 AM »
Makes you wonder how they got on in the past without our modern communications water bombers and CFS capability and in war time too-
https://trove.nla.gov.au/newspaper/article/229265859
Just as well we have them with a lot more people out in that countryside nowadays and be thankful for that.
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

« Reply #298 on: November 28, 2019, 12:45:07 AM »
They did learn a trick or two after the tragic bushfires to pass on to us- https://trove.nla.gov.au/newspaper/article/248706451
Lest we forget eh?
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

« Reply #299 on: November 28, 2019, 07:51:38 AM »
https://trove.nla.gov.au/newspaper/article/248706451

16 Dec 1951

"A Forests Commission spokesman said today that Victoria was now so well organised for all-out attacks on bushfires that
there were no "black spots" left in the State."

Ummmm ??? :'( ::)