General => General Discussion => Topic started by: PWE on June 08, 2020, 09:22:37 AM

Title: Kings Electrical stuff
Post by: PWE on June 08, 2020, 09:22:37 AM
After some feedback
Kings have a wider range of electrical stuff, from BCDC chargers to action dash cams.
Are their electrical stuff still as crap as before?
I bought a VMS and engine monitor a couple of years again. They last about three months before I place them in the bin.
Title: Re: Kings Electrical stuff
Post by: Troopy_03 on June 08, 2020, 10:20:21 AM
After some feedback
Kings have a wider range of electrical stuff, from BCDC chargers to action dash cams.
I bought a VMS and engine monitor a couple of years again. They last about three months before I place them in the bin.

Do they have other brands, or did you mean DC-DC chargers?
Post by: Bird on June 08, 2020, 10:46:17 AM
Quote from: PWE
Can you afford to find out the hardway? ;)
Post by: Troopy_03 on June 08, 2020, 06:56:01 PM
Who the heck is "Kings" anyway. Do you have a link to their website?
Post by: Pete79 on June 08, 2020, 07:02:13 PM
Who the heck is "Kings" anyway. Do you have a link to their website?
You don’t get enough spam???
Post by: BC66 on June 08, 2020, 10:39:42 PM
My engine monitor lasted 2 days before I ripped it out. It was so inaccurate

Post by: Lobster on June 09, 2020, 08:02:01 AM
Whilst I cant comment or had experience with their other products, I do have the  Kings 7" Laser Driving Lights (Pair) | 1 Lux @1618m | 8152 Lumens. They are a fantastic driving light, Very very bright.  I only complaint is with the electrical harness supplied, the length of the positive to negative terminal was very short. I had to had a little to the length to fit it comfortably.

They are a good bang for your buck other than donating blood for the ARB intensities. :cheers:
Post by: gronk on June 09, 2020, 03:50:39 PM
Kings electrical is probably the same stuff that several other mobs sell. All made in the same chinese factory and branded for who ever wants to buy their stuff.

A set of driving lights are not hard to make ( I have a set myself and very happy with them ), but a device with electronics inside, at a very cheap price compared to other "name" brands is really a gamble as to quality of the product.

You want a device to look after batteries that cost $300, and more importantly look after a fridge with your beer in it, then that isn't a thing I would be looking for the cheapest device out there for. Same with solar controllers.....you don't need to buy the most expensive "name" brand, but with a bit of googling, you can find good middle of the road stuff.
Post by: Champin on June 09, 2020, 04:44:00 PM
100% agree with Gronk.

Sent from my SM-T700 using Tapatalk

Post by: Beachman on June 10, 2020, 07:06:52 AM
I have to be honest and say I don’t have any Kings stuff yet, but I am considering some spotlights.  But based on feedback from friends and what I’ve read, people give really good feedback in regards to the LED spot lights and Swags as it’s like they are flagship products of the company.

But everything else seems to be average.
Post by: PWE on June 10, 2020, 08:50:08 AM
The Kings 25 amp DC-DC charger is $359 vs redarc $609
Post by: Bird on June 10, 2020, 10:26:48 AM
Quote from: PWE
The Kings 25 amp DC-DC charger is $359 vs redarc $609
You can buy a Chinese made Chery for <13k new or a Corolla for 24k.

As gronk said, sometimes there is a good reason to save $, other times you regret it. poor people cant afford cheap things.

$609 is only direct from Redarc, theres Shit loads cheaper than that if you look around - EG: autoelecau website, or ebay.

You can get the Projecta 25amp DCDC for 300.

or the redarc one for much less than 600
Post by: paul.o on June 10, 2020, 10:37:45 AM
I think I'd prefer a Projecta 25amp DC-DC for about the same $$ or less than a Kings one...
Post by: PWE on June 10, 2020, 11:11:01 AM
All three look the same.

Redarc is made in Australia
The others are made in China

Is this correct?
Post by: Bird on June 10, 2020, 02:29:23 PM
All three look the same.

Redarc is made in Australia
The others are made in China

Is this correct?
Kings wouldnt be aussie made

Projecta I cant find info on where they are made but are assembled here
'From the company's head office and state-of-the-art automated paperless warehouse and production facility covering almost 14,000 sq metre in Knoxfield, Melbourne, Victoria, the extensive range of products are assembled, packed and processed to cater for ever expanding markets in the motor trade,

redarc aussie - which is why they are $$$  https://www.redarc.com.au/australianmade
Post by: BC66 on June 10, 2020, 03:00:05 PM
Another good aussie company is GSL
I had one of their vsr in my patrol. Had the jump start function too like the red arc one but lots cheaper.

https://www.autoelec.com.au/dual-battery-isolator-12v-volt-100a-amps-gsl-volta

Post by: tryagain on June 10, 2020, 03:34:14 PM
I think it's a case of, if you can afford better, then you are probably better of buying it. With the action camera, from what I have read it is pretty average, better of getting a GoPro or the DJI Osmo Action Camera. With the Chargers, there would be others I would probably be looking at first, the Projecta and the Renogy are two that come to mind.
Post by: Champin on June 10, 2020, 05:49:07 PM
I got the action cam when I bought an annex and 7" spotties. Love the spotties and annex. The action cam isn't even heavy enough for a paper weight.

Sent from my SM-T700 using Tapatalk

Post by: Watty2975 on June 10, 2020, 08:31:31 PM
Have bought a few sets of lights. Happy with them and the wiring harness supplied.
Have the battery box, seems reasonable as a back up in the camper.
Swag is great, had it up the cape and other places.
Gazebo is reasonable, same quality as any of the others available from BCF/Anaconda.
Post by: Matto on June 11, 2020, 02:21:11 PM
I've got a Kings 120W solar blanket. Bought it last year, used it a few times (including a trip up the western cape). Earlier this year it started to muck up a couple of times. Dropped them a warranty query, and it was replaced fuss-free with their brand new V2 design. Have only tested it in the driveway, but so far the new one has been fine. I know people do have horrible warranty stories about them, but my experience and those I've personally spoken to has always been really good.

Father-in-law bought a VMS off them probably 5 years ago now. It's been faultless ever since. We hooked an eBay reverse cam up to it, and it worked well. He's got an air compressor from them as well, plus a toolkit and a few other things. They've all been good. He watches the daily emails like a hawk and can predict the right time in their cycle to buy whatever he wants (not that the overall price ever fluctuates much). He's keen to get the 12V control panel for his new ute when it arrives, along with the DC-DC charger. Let's face it - those sorts of things are pretty much a commodity these days.

I've got the Big Daddy Delux swag. Love it - for the price, you can't go past it. Would I buy it if I was a full time stationhand and would be living out of it for 9 months of the year? No. But for what I use it for, it's perfect.

My brother bought the action cam years ago, and it was a fun toy for a while. At that price you don't mind tossing it in the pool or giving it to the kids to run around with. He eventually upgraded to a proper GoPro, and the video quality from it is, as expected, light and day better.

A mate has just picked up one of the 270-degree awnings cheap second hand (new in box). It's a fantastic piece of equipment, and seems sturdy enough. Sure, the hinges aren't up to the same standard as a Darche Eclipse, say, but for the price it's really good. We've had it in some bad weather up the dam with storms and such, and it's been fine.

Kings/Supacentre seem to be listening to feedback and developing their models to improve them all the time. They've just launched the version 2 of their hard-shell RTT with a bunch of improvements made directly from customer feedback (if you believe the videos). On the whole, I think they've done a lot to get people out and camping.

YMMV, but I've been decently happy with the gear I've got from them.

Matto
Post by: markg66 on June 12, 2020, 06:57:20 PM
I've got the 9" dominator spot lights a year or more ago. Lights are fantastic but the wiring harness is underrated in the copper cross sectional where the y splitter becomes one at a 2 pin plug. This plug welded itself together and when I checked the cable sizes it's way underrated to run the two lights in parallel. I split it and added another relay in parallel to the one in the harness, all good now, no hot connections or relays. 

Post by: Craig Tomkinson on June 12, 2020, 07:19:56 PM
Sorry not electrical, but bought one of there portable dunnies its crapped itself, have one of there awnings on my pop van used it once not game to use it again, Taking it off, would not buy anything else of theres, Craig

Post by: tryagain on June 12, 2020, 07:31:27 PM
Was actually driving past the Burleigh one this afternoon so decided to pop in, they have some very cheap and some pretty reasonable quality gear, but the cheap gear is not great quality-wise, and the reasonable quality gear is not spectacularly cheap. I still walked out with a few things though that should hopefully serve their purpose.
Post by: Bird on June 12, 2020, 07:36:44 PM
Quote from: Craig Tomkinson
portable dunnies its crapped itself,
LOLOL!!!!!
Post by: gronk on June 12, 2020, 07:43:29 PM
but bought one of there portable dunnies its crapped itself,

Bit like a fridge or batteries.....a dunnie isn't a thing you want to skimp on. Nothing worse when out camping and it all turns to sh*t..  ;D ;D
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on June 12, 2020, 09:17:49 PM
Yep the hand pump stopped working fixed it two times then gave up on it, , mite just have the dunny chemical in a 4lt bottle to flush it with, Craig
Post by: Comfortablynumb on June 13, 2020, 05:44:03 PM
Bought a 5 bar light kit form Kings.

Used it once, so far). Works great! Surprisingly better than I thought it was going to be.

So much so, I'm gonna go back there and buy a 3 or 4 bar kit to add on to it.

As above, some of their stuff is nasty. Flat pack fire pit would make a pretty good gong substitute!
Post by: Pottsy on June 13, 2020, 05:55:32 PM

Used it once, so far). Works great! Surprisingly better than I thought it was going to be.

As above, some of their stuff is nasty. Flat pack fire pit would make a pretty good gong substitute!

Just make sure you do not bend the connection to the led strip when packing them, this appears to be a weak point in the kits I have, done a few repairs but no complaints about the light output.
Post by: tryagain on June 13, 2020, 06:34:28 PM

Just plugged in my 4m LED strip (same LEDs as the 5 bar kit) and they are a really nice bright white light (as opposed to the purplish ones from eBay.) The 4 bar kit LEDs aren't as bright with smaller LEDs but still the nice white colour.

I'd happily recommend them, from memory they are pulling less amps than the crap ones I got from eBay as well.
Post by: Comfortablynumb on June 13, 2020, 10:15:07 PM
Just plugged in my 4m LED strip (same LEDs as the 5 bar kit) and they are a really nice bright white light (as opposed to the purplish ones from eBay.) The 4 bar kit LEDs aren't as bright with smaller LEDs but still the nice white colour.

I'd happily recommend them, from memory they are pulling less amps than the crap ones I got from eBay as well.

With all 5 light bars going PLUS 2 orange LED bars as an extension, they were drawing .7 of an amp.
Post by: bkim on June 14, 2020, 12:37:42 AM
I have 2 x 4 bar kings kits for well over 3 years now, never had the slightest problem, they have been exposed to several long periods of days with torrential rain as well, so the connections have been well tested for waterproofing!

Only bought them, because I wanted some to do a quick trip, and planned to buy better quality later on, the way they are going, it's going to be a long time before I need to upgrade!
Post by: Heavensent on June 14, 2020, 09:53:59 AM
I stay away from kungs personally.

Young fella had a subscription for a while.
Scored 5x led strip lights for camping with couple of renewals
Hate to admit but they not bad, except the dimmer/on off switch is cheap and nasty.
Thier tool kits arent bad for price and i like design of screw drivers so sockets can fit on end and hit them with hsmmer, but i chipped tip off Phillips head one bit too easy for my liking.

Swags, i looked at them and honestly you could see how much more they sagged in middle.
Ended up going darche while on sale, happy i went that way.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Post by: Comfortablynumb on June 14, 2020, 01:26:49 PM
I stay away from kungs personally.

Young fella had a subscription for a while.
Scored 5x led strip lights for camping with couple of renewals
Hate to admit but they not bad, except the dimmer/on off switch is cheap and nasty.
Thier tool kits arent bad for price and i like design of screw drivers so sockets can fit on end and hit them with hsmmer, but i chipped tip off Phillips head one bit too easy for my liking.

Swags, i looked at them and honestly you could see how much more they sagged in middle.
Ended up going darche while on sale, happy i went that way.

It's a bit of a case of pick and choose, no?

Son in law wanted a camp stretcher. Kings is rated for 200kg (he's a Maori, the usual economy size they come in). Both the display models in the showroom were broken. Tabs snapped off the end. Walked past them and left them there.

The air compressor, however is fairly decent for the price. As long as you aren't trying to inflate 4 vehicles worth of tyres up to road pressure from sand pressure, they'll be fine.

Their driving lights look to give decent brightness, but I'm not keen on the plastic brackets. 10 mins worth of decent corrugations and they'd be toast I reckon.
Post by: Lobster on June 15, 2020, 06:24:01 AM
We also have thier Carry Bag for the toilet and two other bags for various things. they suit the purpose ok :cheers:
Post by: wakychapmans on June 15, 2020, 11:56:54 AM
We also have thier Carry Bag for the toilet

so... their bags ain't Shit?

Post by: nab on June 15, 2020, 07:06:02 PM
I got one of the first double swags, it’s really good. Full canvas, edging is canvas, pole loops are canvas, rope tie downs and eyelets canvas. Zips seem pretty good too. Bag was canvas and big enough to leave the bedding in the swag.

The second one I bought in 2018 was only canvas on the main swag. All edging, pole loops and tie points are crappy nylon and the stitching is a bit iffy. Bag is also nylon and you can barely fit the rolled up swag on its own, really need to get it tight to fit the straps around it. Half the amount of eyelets on the base too.

They both work fine but the newer nylon one is showing more signs it will fail first. My advice is go to the shop and check out the gear in person. A bit hard with electrical items I suppose!!!!!
Post by: gronk on June 15, 2020, 08:09:10 PM

Their driving lights look to give decent brightness, but I'm not keen on the plastic brackets. 10 mins worth of decent corrugations and they'd be toast I reckon.

I've had a set of their led driving lights for approx 3 yrs. No plastic brackets on mine. For a copy of ARB lights, I reckon they are great.
Post by: BC66 on June 15, 2020, 08:25:37 PM
I've had a set of their led driving lights for approx 3 yrs. No plastic brackets on mine. For a copy of ARB lights, I reckon they are great.
Same
I have the 9 inch Osram set. Metal brackets and throw a good light.

Post by: NZMarkb on June 21, 2020, 12:54:52 PM
I've had a couple of sets of their LED spotties now and found them great
No plastic, good mounts and the wiring loom worked great. Only complaint is it's a bit too long but that beats being short

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200621/8a74c5c48c0b590a134967638a7996a8.jpg)
Post by: Lobster on June 22, 2020, 01:13:11 PM
so... their bags ain't Shit?
Literally. They are also made better than some of the BFC we looked at. :cheers:
Post by: NZMarkb on June 22, 2020, 01:50:54 PM
Literally. They are also made better than some of the BFC we looked at. :cheers:

I’d vouch for their bags
I have a few of the clear top ones
Post by: lloydus67 on August 01, 2020, 12:53:09 PM
After some feedback
Old thread I know but just for some feedback
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200801/cb186ede261158dd6bc2dd66f5189d06.jpg)
I have a Ctek D250s, I didn’t buy it from kings, but it is an excellent product. 20Amp charge and solar input, not at the same time though.

The redarc ripoffs I don’t know, I have not bought one, but why would you chance a knock off product  @ $350 to save $20 when they sell Ctek

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200801/de3ca854f5861457ad12414997e6a53a.jpg)

1500watt inverter, it says pure sine wave. I have not used an oscillascope to verify, but it hasn’t fried my sensitive electronics. It works well every time. That’s the plus
Negative. It alarms at 1200watts, perhaps momentary load of 1500watts, but not full duty cycle.
Just as a note it will pull 106 amps at 1200 watts, so make sure you have heavy duty rated cable suppling it an no long cable run, unless you want a fire

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200801/dfdcaac5f81193df8e12bb3479b08e40.jpg)

Seemed like a good product,
Turns out it’s a piece of crap.  Approximately 14 months old, display rarely works on the handset, poor instructions on operation and buttons. It’s trail and error to find out what a button does. Intermittently will not turn on, or is on but will not change channel or volume.
On a positive note, it always turns off

Overall king’s electronics are junk
 As previously said, spotlights are mostly good, canvas products also

Lloyd

Post by: Lobster on August 01, 2020, 03:00:00 PM
I've had a couple of sets of their LED spotties now and found them great
No plastic, good mounts and the wiring loom worked great. Only complaint is it's a bit too long but that beats being short

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200621/8a74c5c48c0b590a134967638a7996a8.jpg)

Our loom was a bit short between the Pos and Neg terminals.  I had to solder about 4 inches to make it fit ok.