Author Topic: Show us your bike (bicycle)  (Read 488739 times)

Re: Show us your bike (bicycle)
« Reply #1675 on: May 29, 2020, 08:58:16 AM »
With both kids nearly 8 and 6 I am getting back into riding and loving it! Carrying a few kegs more than when I used to be into it ???

Dusted off my daggy old commuter hybrid bike and an ancient old 26” hardtail giant for myself.

The kids meanwhile are rocking new wheels!!

I turn 40 this year and I think the kids need to buy dad a FS mountain bike for his birthday!!

Great stuff :cup:

« Reply #1676 on: May 29, 2020, 02:17:02 PM »
With both kids nearly 8 and 6 I am getting back into riding and loving it! Carrying a few kegs more than when I used to be into it ???

Dusted off my daggy old commuter hybrid bike and an ancient old 26” hardtail giant for myself.

The kids meanwhile are rocking new wheels!!

I turn 40 this year and I think the kids need to buy dad a FS mountain bike for his birthday!!

You're out there and riding, so it doesn't matter if the bike is daggy or not, good onya.  :cheers:

« Reply #1677 on: May 30, 2020, 03:36:07 PM »
Rode the O'Shannassy Aqueduct Trail with some mates today. It was very soft and muddy, good fun on a gravel bike.

Offline cruza driver

• ''Custom User Title''
« Reply #1678 on: May 30, 2020, 06:34:16 PM »
Rode the O'Shannassy Aqueduct Trail with some mates today. It was very soft and muddy, good fun on a gravel bike.

It's a nice ride along there hey
2012 MAZDA BT50 GT AND 2010 OUTBACK EXPANDA

« Reply #1679 on: May 30, 2020, 06:56:07 PM »
It's a nice ride along there hey

Yep and we picked the right trail. There were soooo many cyclists on the rail trail today, we had the aqueduct trail to ourselves for most of it. The traffic going to warby at lunch time was horrendous. I read PV & VicPol closed redwoods today due to traffic congestion.

The following users thanked this post: cruza driver

Offline cruza driver

• ''Custom User Title''
« Reply #1680 on: May 30, 2020, 08:01:07 PM »
Yep and we picked the right trail. There were soooo many cyclists on the rail trail today, we had the aqueduct trail to ourselves for most of it. The traffic going to warby at lunch time was horrendous. I read PV & VicPol closed redwoods today due to traffic congestion.

Yeah mate the redwood has been out of control. We do the same the aquaduct is a little secret. A good run is from the Mt Donna Summit across to Ben Cairn down Don Rd and onto the Aquaduct.

Get dropped at the top and it's a 40km ride

If you ever want to do Silvan on the MTB hit me up
2012 MAZDA BT50 GT AND 2010 OUTBACK EXPANDA

« Reply #1681 on: May 30, 2020, 08:04:13 PM »
Yeah mate the redwood has been out of control. We do the same the aquaduct is a little secret. A good run is from the Mt Donna Summit across to Ben Cairn down Don Rd and onto the Aquaduct.

Get dropped at the top and it's a 40km ride

If you ever want to do Silvan on the MTB hit me up

I have always wanted to ride up Mt Donna via Don Rd and the back way, but my legs always stop me.

The following users thanked this post: cruza driver

« Reply #1682 on: June 02, 2020, 10:25:01 AM »
I have always wanted to ride up Mt Donna via Don Rd and the back way, but my legs always stop me.

I have done Mount Donna up the main way and trust me that was emotional enough

« Reply #1683 on: June 02, 2020, 03:38:30 PM »
New grip day. Going new retro, I used to race with these glues on with hair spray and then tied with wire in the grooves so they would not slide off.

The new lock on ends make it much simpler. Black for my intense and a green set for Dec on his Norco

Sent from my SM-N976B using Tapatalk

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #1684 on: June 02, 2020, 05:01:05 PM »
New grip day. Going new retro, I used to race with these glues on with hair spray and then tied with wire in the grooves so they would not slide off.

I hope you like the feel of the Lock-On version.

They're definitely not as comfy as the originals. But that's due to them having a hard plastic central core to let the clamps on the ends do their job.

The original ones are just all 100% soft squishy rubber...

Wayne & Kyria Chapman
(+ Tucker & Monty the Samoyeds)
www.youtube.com/@morepawstravels/about
105 series Landcruiser 1HZ (soooooo much power)
1994, Supreme Getaway 14' (a "renovators dream")
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56736.0
2 x titanium fatbikes with 4.8" tyres

« Reply #1685 on: June 02, 2020, 05:29:12 PM »
I hope you like the feel of the Lock-On version.

They're definitely not as comfy as the originals. But that's due to them having a hard plastic central core to let the clamps on the ends do their job.

The original ones are just all 100% soft squishy rubber...
Will see how they feel. The old ones were sticky. Still have a set on my old Giant which is hanging on the wall

Sent from my SM-N976B using Tapatalk

Offline Benduro

« Reply #1686 on: June 03, 2020, 08:04:36 PM »
Are these narrower than the originals? Hope so!

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #1687 on: June 03, 2020, 08:51:11 PM »
Are these narrower than the originals? Hope so!

you mean shorter end to end?

or thinner?

they're slightly longer than the originals (thanks to the clamps) and the same thickness. (but as noted above... not as soft)

If you want comfort... then maybe look at the genuine ESI silicone grips. They come in like 6 different thickness and multiple lengths as well. (and yes, now that I re-read it... that previous sentence reads... wrong...)
Wayne & Kyria Chapman
(+ Tucker & Monty the Samoyeds)
www.youtube.com/@morepawstravels/about
105 series Landcruiser 1HZ (soooooo much power)
1994, Supreme Getaway 14' (a "renovators dream")
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56736.0
2 x titanium fatbikes with 4.8" tyres

« Reply #1688 on: June 04, 2020, 09:36:24 AM »

How many water bottles do you need in May  ;D

« Reply #1689 on: June 04, 2020, 09:46:24 AM »
How many water bottles do you need in May  ;D

3+ hour ride, 1 bottle per hour, 2 bottles of water, 1 bottle of carbs/electrolytes, all very scientific. I cramp after 2 hours with just water.

« Reply #1690 on: June 04, 2020, 01:34:16 PM »
3+ hour ride, 1 bottle per hour, 2 bottles of water, 1 bottle of carbs/electrolytes, all very scientific. I cramp after 2 hours with just water.

Ahh we are a little different. I personally have found the electrolyte drink useless on the actual ride and get much better results pre loading with it before i go out then just taking a bottle or 2 of water

« Reply #1691 on: June 04, 2020, 02:03:43 PM »

You could have washed it first... :P

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #1692 on: June 07, 2020, 04:56:40 PM »
Went for a ride this afternoon and had a slight off whilst negotiating a timber ramp thingy. Only a light fall. Got up and brushed myself off, listening to my son piss himself laughing at me. As I rode off and shifted gears I noticed it didn't shift right away. Went on a bit further and needed to change back to first and sure enough chain goes into the spokes and came off the chainring. Fan F#@king Tastic. Managed to get it back up and running but aborted the ride as the chance of doing real damage was to high.
So it's back to the bike shop for a tune up. This is the second time I've managed to bend the rear hanger. First was a decent wheelie that went wrong at speed and now this. I know the hanger is supposed to be the weak link, but this was a pretty light fall.
Really not loving the Sram stuff at the moment.
2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van

« Reply #1693 on: June 20, 2020, 02:44:46 PM »
Don't know if this is how ya show a link.  ??? Yahoo, it worked. Had a ride wiff ma boy yesterday, along the cliff and coffee rock area of where I live.  ;D

https://youtu.be/dG4Gebw6ww4

« Last Edit: June 20, 2020, 02:47:05 PM by Foo »

« Reply #1694 on: June 21, 2020, 12:36:56 PM »
I just bought some history, a 1985 Eddy Merckx Corsa with Campagnolo Super Record. I pick it up next week once the funds transfer. A few small tweaks like black seat and black bar tape but the rest will stay the same. It's an original complete bike and paint, and has a great patina for it's 35 years of age. It's a Sunday cruiser and maybe some Eroica events. I used to read about these in bike mags when I was a teenager. I really wanted Campag Delta brakes but they're out of my price league at the moment.

« Last Edit: June 21, 2020, 12:41:39 PM by D4D »

« Reply #1695 on: June 21, 2020, 01:53:28 PM »
Nice find.  8)

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #1696 on: June 21, 2020, 08:27:48 PM »
I just bought some history, a 1985 Eddy Merckx Corsa with Campagnolo Super Record. I pick it up next week once the funds transfer. A few small tweaks like black seat and black bar tape but the rest will stay the same. It's an original complete bike and paint, and has a great patina for it's 35 years of age. It's a Sunday cruiser and maybe some Eroica events. I used to read about these in bike mags when I was a teenager. I really wanted Campag Delta brakes but they're out of my price league at the moment.

I saw one of those floating around the other week - where'd you pick it up? Nice bike!

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #1697 on: June 22, 2020, 06:15:51 AM »
I saw one of those floating around the other week - where'd you pick it up? Nice bike!

Thanks, it popped up on the retro bike BSS FB page, I jumped on it after missing out on a Colango the other week. The seller lives near Clyde.

Offline 666Glenn

« Reply #1698 on: June 22, 2020, 12:39:08 PM »
That is 1 sweet looking 1985 Eddy Merckx Corsa with Campagnolo Super Record steel road bike.

I picked mine up of gumtree

« Reply #1699 on: June 25, 2020, 09:03:01 PM »
Went for a 20k out and back ride this arvo on the road bike. At the 10k turn around point I noticed the rear tyre was flat. No repair kit, no phone and no wallet. Walked for about 4km then thought stuff this and rode slowly for the last 6. Less than 80km on the tyre and tube. Both stuffed now.
I was riding on a shared pathway along a dual lane each way road and there was a lot of debris on the path. Schofields Rd in western Sydney if anyone knows it.