Author Topic: Anybody into SCUBA Diving  (Read 55586 times)

Re: Anybody into SCUBA Diving
« Reply #125 on: January 22, 2015, 04:08:59 PM »
I only need something for my refresher, so not looking to buy much.... but have found quite a bit online 70 odd PDF's
inc:
PADI Diving Knowledge Workbook.pdf
PADI.Open.Water.Diver.DVDRip.H264.pdf
SSI 2014 Global Training Standards ENGLISH (Version  v091213).pdf
Scuba Diving 4th Edition.pdf
US Navy Diver Manual 6.pdf
PADI Guide to Teaching.pdf
underwater-photography-made-easy-SeaLife-final.pdf
Basics-of-Close Focus Wide Angle.pdf
Fitness for Divers.pdf
Beautiful Oceans 2.pdf
SCUBA dive theory mastery complete.pdf
Dive Theory Mastery Complete.pdf
Sharks and Rays of Australia.pdf

several videos etc...

places like kickass torrents and even Youtube theres a few, but dunno how old and out of date they are.
http://avaxhm.com/ebooks/eLearning_book/3165836.html
http://avaxhm.com/ebooks/sports/Rescue_Diver.html
http://avaxsearch.org/avaxhome_search?q=scuba

The biggest downer, I learn better from watching stuff over reading :(

« Reply #126 on: January 22, 2015, 04:30:14 PM »
I cant wait to see Bird in a wetsuit  >:D

« Reply #127 on: January 22, 2015, 04:31:17 PM »
Should you? Yes.
Can you? No. Even instructors have to pay for their personal materials.  ???

If anybody actually wants to pay for the latest stuff, I can get it for you for my price. I'd need to do it with other orders though because PADI charges way too much for postage if I spend less than $300.
if your around here and have a couple I could borrow for a few days I'll pay in beers.... :)

Offline below sea level

« Reply #128 on: January 22, 2015, 04:38:12 PM »
if your around here and have a couple I could borrow for a few days I'll pay in beers.... :)

Ahhh, beer. The universal currency.

I'm in Brisbane, so can't help you there. Guess I need to update my profile...

« Reply #129 on: January 22, 2015, 04:46:56 PM »
Quote from: below sea level
Ahhh, beer. The universal currency.

I'm in Brisbane, so can't help you there. Guess I need to update my profile...
dvd burner?

Online GGV8Cruza

« Reply #130 on: January 22, 2015, 05:26:40 PM »
found a few books buddy

« Reply #131 on: January 22, 2015, 06:07:02 PM »
found a few books buddy

love u... drop em off at work tomorrow :P

Online GGV8Cruza

« Reply #132 on: January 22, 2015, 06:14:08 PM »
love u... drop em off at work tomorrow :P

Working at Sandi now, not close bud. Will work something out next week

« Reply #133 on: January 22, 2015, 07:18:06 PM »
Working at Sandi now, not close bud. Will work something out next week

wheres sandi? might have to go out to Packenham on weekend to pickup a laptop to rebuild for mate, will let ya knows.

Online GGV8Cruza

« Reply #134 on: January 22, 2015, 07:56:42 PM »
wheres sandi? might have to go out to Packenham on weekend to pickup a laptop to rebuild for mate, will let ya knows.

Sandringham, 10 minutes from the old digs

« Reply #135 on: January 22, 2015, 08:14:40 PM »
Sandringham, 10 minutes from the old digs

thought that's what ya meant..

« Reply #136 on: January 22, 2015, 09:34:20 PM »
ftp://207.215.212.62/stuff/padi/
some downloads.... good reading

« Reply #137 on: January 31, 2015, 03:11:10 PM »
I cant wait to see Bird in a wetsuit  >:D

Tuesday is the day
had a fitting today

Online GGV8Cruza

« Reply #138 on: February 01, 2015, 04:50:07 PM »
Found some more Bird

« Reply #139 on: February 01, 2015, 05:22:14 PM »
sweeeeeeeeet
just doin all the practice exams I've found on-line ... the dive table is pretty much down now, Tuesday is F day...

« Reply #140 on: February 03, 2015, 01:29:41 PM »
What an awesome dive...  Viz was 15+ mtrs - CLEAR AS YOU GET!

What a great bunch of blokes down at Diveline in Frankston.  Gave me the confidence to get wet again after all these years, and with my disabilities I wasn't sure how I'd cope...

Anyone considering giving scuba diving a go, I'd happily recommend Paul down at Diveline, and I'll even come down and go for the dive with you! You can do a "Discover Diving" gig for $150 or 200 for 2 people which includes ALL your gear for the dive...  :cup: :cup:

Got in to the store early, power was out in most of Franga due do NFI.. So I sat down to my refresher exam, and did pretty well, although blew a couple of questions on the ****in dive tables, but Paul sat down and went through them with me until I could explain them to him showing I understood.. No shortcuts down there :)

Now for the nasty pasty... Puttin on a wetty, and it was easy, the suit was a 1 piece, but I still think I like 2 piece.

Next was BCD and Tank etc together, tank tests, and we were ready to go.

Down to the Pier, and the long walk to the end.. :( I was rooted by the time we got there and was happy to jump in!

Jumped in, and Paul just wanted to settle me to make sure I was comfortable - so did I! Took me 5 mins to settle, then down we went and then sort out the weight so I could be neutral, and away we went!
We ran through some basics like mask clearing, losing the reg, etc. All good :) As I said, no shortcuts, and I didn't ask for any special treatment.  :cup:

We cruised under the pier, never seen so many starfish in my life - 1000s, I mean 100's... and different types too. Plenty of puffer fish, out to the pots and plenty of life out there, saw a couple of crikey killers - only small though, found a fishing rod, complete with reel line the lot, heaps of sinkers etc.  Paul was really good at finding the small things, like a really juvenile sea moth, an extremely well hidden blue ring occy on an old pillar, and then on th way back under the pier, 2 massive clouds of small fish..

Had a ball, oh and a chunder as we got back to shore as it was fairly rough :(

Packed up, I got a real good report from Paul on my diving, and he's happy to go out again sarvo if I want LOL

back to shop, wash up, sign off on the dive, and then back home. Now for a nana nap, cause that took it out of me. ;)

Bottom time was just under 70minutes, and my air use was outstanding, I came back with ~80 - went in with 230.... It was one thing I thought I'd go through faster.

Just need to get a better fitting wetty.

« Last Edit: February 03, 2015, 01:32:55 PM by Bird »

Online GGV8Cruza

« Reply #141 on: February 03, 2015, 01:45:44 PM »
Well done Bud, need to get back in the water as well, the pool just does not cut it

« Reply #142 on: February 03, 2015, 02:30:12 PM »
I call BS on Bird as  :worthles:

Offline below sea level

« Reply #143 on: February 03, 2015, 02:46:42 PM »
I call BS on Bird as  :worthles:

See the second pic in the post.  ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #144 on: February 03, 2015, 04:20:25 PM »
Quote from: below sea level
See the second pic in the post.  ;D ;D ;D

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #145 on: February 03, 2015, 10:58:27 PM »
**** now you are putting ideas in my head .
MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
2003 Dingo Offroad Camper Trailer.
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan
1998 Triumph Daytona T595

« Reply #146 on: February 04, 2015, 08:46:34 AM »
Quote from: loanrangie
**** now you are putting ideas in my head .

Do it dude, when your better, we can pair up as crippled dive buddies

Small | Large

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #147 on: February 04, 2015, 10:43:08 AM »
Do it dude, when your better, we can pair up as crippled dive buddies

http://youtu.be/MtGCQy4ny8E

Might just be the motivation i need, i can give my new gopro a workout too.
MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan

« Reply #148 on: February 04, 2015, 10:50:54 AM »
Quote from: loanrangie
Might just be the motivation i need, i can give my new gopro a workout too.
More than happy to go out..
The blokes I went through were only too happy to support me and gave me the confidence to go out again..
First couple of dives, they like ya to go out and just dive and get used to it, then take ya accessories out after that.. They wont stop ya, but it makes sense. :)

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #149 on: February 04, 2015, 02:12:08 PM »
Just need to find where i put my licenses , got 2 around somewhere.
MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan