Author Topic: Newbe  (Read 4342 times)

Offline rexie1100

Newbe
« on: December 02, 2010, 03:26:19 PM »
Howdy all, what a great site, went googling for ways/ideas to build a camper trailer and came accross this forum, heaps and heaps of ideas, love it.

I got myself a BOC 170amp invertor arc welder to make some rock sliders (side steps) for my 4wd and decided to build a camper trailer.

A mate of mine owns a sheet metal bussiness and will do all my sheet folding for free, he will even teach me how to weld (thats right, I'm new to welding), he will also order in all materials I need so that should also save me some $ers as I am on a very low budget, I'll buy a bit here and there and it should be ready by next xmas, I'm in no hurry.

Has anyone got some camper trailer plans that I could have a copy of, I would be more than happy to pay for them.

What I want to build is a 7' x 4' trailer, frame would be 50mm x 50mm x 3mm, A frame 100mm x 50mm x 3mm, it will need a canoe/kayak rack and all the goodies you see on camper trailers, so if there is anyone that can help me out with some plans i would be much appreciated.

Cheers and once again what a great forum.

Phil.
Maroubra
NSW
2001 Nissan Patrol GU3.0
2002 Honda XR650L
Softfloor camper trailer

Offline graylyn

• Kendall River Barramundi
Re: Newbe
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2010, 03:49:45 PM »
Welcome to the forum Rexie.  I am sure there will be plenty of plans for you to sift through here.

The worst day fishing is always better than the best day at work.

2021 Isuzu d-max utility 3 litre
2012 Jayco Swan Outback
full 60 litre Engel

« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2010, 04:16:41 PM »
G'day Phil and welcome to Myswag. There have been some great builds by members here and I am sure you should be able to get all the advice you need.

You should have the VSB.01 Building small trailers standard as you primary guide.

« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2010, 05:54:39 PM »
rexie1100  Welcome to Myswag  have a poke about & there will be a heap of info to help you in your quest , one thing about this forum you need to know  :worthles: Enjoy

« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2010, 06:15:06 PM »
Welcome to MySwag!

Can't wait to see your camper build up!

« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2010, 06:20:08 PM »
Welcome to the Forum, by the time you have got through the build I am sure you will be a great welder, and grinder  ;D,  keep us posted

« Reply #6 on: December 02, 2010, 06:44:09 PM »
Welcome,  looking forward to photos of your build. Well be very handy have a mate with a sheet metal business.  ;D  Love mucking about with steel. Welding, grinding, building, just love it. (I am a sheet metal worker by trade. Been out of the trade since 1985.  Miss having access to all the gear one would have in a shop.)  Kevin

« Reply #7 on: December 02, 2010, 07:05:38 PM »
Hi rexie1100 welcome to myswag, you'll be building in no time.

Offline rexie1100

« Reply #8 on: December 02, 2010, 07:32:18 PM »
Yer, handy to have a mate in the sheet metal trade, I go through his scrap bid often and find heaps of goodies, if anyone is local and needs anything let me know and I'll keep a look out for it.

So has anyone got any Trailer Plans, main things i need to know is (well everything realy) but one thing that I not to sure on is once trailer is built what size do I make the tent base frame.

I dont mind paying for plans like the ones on fleabay but I would like to look at them first just to make sure thats what i want.

I love everyone elses builds, been printing off heaps of pics and getting some great ideas, cant wait to start, once I get some plans I'll buy some materials so I can start over xmas sometime.

cheers.

phil
2001 Nissan Patrol GU3.0
2002 Honda XR650L
Softfloor camper trailer

« Reply #9 on: December 02, 2010, 08:35:48 PM »
G'day & Welcome Phil.

I hope you get lots of good ideas on here for your build. Got anything in mind yet? Soft floor, hard floor, front fold? Independent or leaf springs?

Perhaps you could post up a list of features and functions, and then we can offer suggestions and recommendations for each item. Let me kick off by suggesting a DO35 hitch.

Offline Ray-C

« Reply #10 on: December 02, 2010, 09:08:12 PM »
Welcome to my swag Phil :cheers:
C:\Users\Ray\Pictures\2010-08-01 tom price\tom price 017 email.JPG

Offline rexie1100

« Reply #11 on: December 02, 2010, 09:17:49 PM »
Ok, something like this.

7x4
Longish draw bar.
Heavy duty leaf springs and axle.
Brakes.
Softfloor, 15oz tent, with extra room/sun room.
Off road, not extreame.
15" rims (same as my 1993 pajero).
Custom stainless steel water tank, (my mate will make this (he doesnt know it yet)).
Jerrycan holders.
Gas bottle holders.
Custom made kitchen. (seen some good ideas on this site).
Rack system for my kayak and canoe.
Trailer wiring to be run through some sort of tubing welded to frame, (still sorting/thinking this one through).
Infront of near side wheel gaurd a locked box with all wiring for fridge/lighting, including invertor, 12v sockets, 240v sockets etc.
Idealy I would love to get the trailer galvinised but cant aford it, maybe when its ready I might but thats more than likely 8 to 10 months away, anyway I have enough Kill Rust Primer and Kill Rust Paint to paint it if ya all think that good to use.
Towbar hitch on rear.
Recover points just incase.
LED Tail lights.
D035 hitch (maybe) wish I new what that was, must look that up.

Must tell the minister for recreation and finance what I doing also, she has no idea off my plans (nor do I sometimes).

There will be lots more but I must go get another beeeeeer.

2001 Nissan Patrol GU3.0
2002 Honda XR650L
Softfloor camper trailer

« Reply #12 on: December 02, 2010, 09:46:14 PM »
G'day and welcome.

Sounds like a bloody good project and look forward to the pics along the way.  Have fun with it.

« Reply #13 on: December 02, 2010, 09:53:16 PM »

We'll enjoy watching the build till it all unfolds like clockwork.

Here's that DO35 that you'll be needing.  We like it.  Don't forget a hitch lock for security when it's not "out and about".

Offline Phantomxr8

« Reply #14 on: December 05, 2010, 08:05:23 PM »
Welcome and good luck with the build, I would also recomend the DO35  :cup:

Offline ferret

« Reply #15 on: December 06, 2010, 07:03:48 AM »