Author Topic: I'm looking at buying my first CT  (Read 4563 times)

Offline NicholasJ

I'm looking at buying my first CT
« on: April 25, 2011, 11:03:56 AM »
G'day All,

I have been into 4X4 and camping for a few years, but have only ever used a tent. Now getting a little older, and my son in growing up (now 7 years old), would like a little more room and comfort, hence thinking of moving up to a CT. From what I have seen of CT's (while camping in my tent), would like something that is quick and easy to set up. Have watched people spend an hour or more mucking around setting up their CT's, and that's not for me (especially in bad weather). From what I have read so far, a hard floor would be the way to go, but I don't have the 30K + for a good quality model, and from reading the reviews and posts on the cheaper models I don't think I'll buy one of them.

So I am tending towards a soft floor (or a second hand hard floor), and would like to know if anyone could recommend one which is quick and easy to setup, with the following requirements in mind:

Budget less than 15K
Room for 2 adults and 1 child
Can go offroad, mainly weekend camping nothing too extreme, although planing on going to Cape York in the next few years
Has kitchen with gas cooking and sink
Carry at least 50L of water
Small Fridge
Capable of using both 12v and 240v power
Takes less than 20mins to setup from scratch

Nick

Re: I'm looking at buying my first CT
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2011, 11:19:26 AM »
Hi Nick, welcome to myswag.
I've got a campomatic hard floor and it's great and was less than your budget, but was secondhand and if your in the market you can find plenty of bargins second hand. I was very intrested in the outback campers sturt, there made in Carrum and are also less than your budget new. There are a few people on the forum that have them and are very happy with them. One of the biggest things is weather you are after rear or side fold. Rear fold is better for getting in and out off without climbing over someone, anyway happy hunting.
dno.

Offline eldo

• Wollongong
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2011, 11:44:14 AM »
welcome to the forum nick, i did my research and got a kimbereley as i wanted a fast setup for our long term goal of heading up the cape. you can get an older one for around the 15K mark but its best to have a little extra if you want a good one, mine was around 17K.
good luck mate
eldo

« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2011, 05:48:53 PM »
Welcome to myswag Nick soft or hard floor there,s plenty of info on the forum. You should get something decent for 15k.

« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2011, 06:51:26 PM »
Welcome to the madness if you need to know all you have to do is ask  . Then somebody can help you  . Rip in to it   :cheers:

Offline kiwipete

« Reply #5 on: April 25, 2011, 08:19:07 PM »
Please consider these....

http://www.explorercampers.com.au/

We just got back from another trip in our Explorer and it is a pleasure to put up and down packs away perfectly and with the extra room in the cover for sleeping bags etc it saves space in the tug.. No need for guy ropes on the annex or any part of the tent makes moving around it save and no tripping over rope in middle of the night..

Andrew and Scott have thought of everything....

KiwiPete
1991 HDJ80
Explorer Campers & Canvas - Lawson Off Road
http://www.explorercampers.com.au/
Canberra

« Reply #6 on: April 25, 2011, 08:37:51 PM »
Checkout the trackabout

Offline ralphedward

« Reply #7 on: April 25, 2011, 09:19:52 PM »
G'Day Nick,

Sniff around this site and every camper show that you can and you'll end up soooooo confused.  Much like you I got sick of tenting and looked for a camper.  It took forever(2yrs +) and I then (basically) fell over the camper that I now have - a Tambo Cooper.  Tough as nails and quite easy to set up, and well within your price range.

I've just got back from 4 days away and am looking at it sitting in the driveway and am thinking - 'why - o - why am I here and not out with it set up.

There are many great options out there that will suit your needs, just keep researching and you'll get what you need!

SWMBO made me do it (whatever it was I did)!
VW Amarok & 'Cooper' the Tambo.

« Reply #8 on: April 26, 2011, 12:11:33 AM »
Hi Nick,
Firstly welcome to the forum, If your looking for a soft floor camper head up to Tolga and see Terry at Tolga Traders:Phone 40954296. He has the Trackabout range on display up there and you can also hire from him to take out and try it with you tribe. I can set up my Trackabout on my own in under 15 mins, that is not pegging it down , but I have only had to peg it once anyway. Worth your while as the back up is great and they are local.
cheers duggie GO THE TRACKABOUT

« Reply #9 on: April 26, 2011, 07:21:09 PM »
Hi Nicholas
Welcome to My Swag best of luck searching for a camper Happy Trails out there when you get one

Offline craigtempo

• welcome to the party that never ends
« Reply #10 on: April 26, 2011, 09:33:00 PM »
 Welcome to the site  ;D

have a look at the customline ct .optioned up u would still have change and there a great camper .

we have the 9ft offroad delux - $7500 ish .and for that u get a GREAT base in which to start and all aussie made .

craig

« Reply #11 on: April 27, 2011, 08:42:34 PM »
Hi Nick and welcome to My Swag, with 15k to spend you should have no problems finding a CT that suits your requirements. Try the classifieds section of this forum for starters :cheers:

« Reply #12 on: April 27, 2011, 09:25:42 PM »
Welcome to the Forum Nick, you have come to the right place for all the info camper related, ask away and good luck in the search. Keep an eye out in the classifieds section too

« Reply #13 on: April 27, 2011, 09:40:46 PM »
Gday Nick and Welcome to Myswag  :cup:

Best of luck mate, look forward to seeing what you decide on  :cheers:
There is an abundance of info on here, jump in the My Camper trailer section for some idea's and as said before keep on eye on the Classifieds  ;D
cheers BD

« Reply #14 on: April 27, 2011, 11:13:27 PM »
G'day Nick and welcome to Myswag. Looking forward to seeing what you end up with.  :cheers:

Offline NicholasJ

« Reply #15 on: April 28, 2011, 06:59:17 AM »
Thanks everyone for the welcome and the great advice, have taken it all on board, and now the search begins. I may have to also invest in a new computer, as I have spent heaps of time on the Myswag since joining, which hasn't gone down well with the wife and son, they haven't seen me spend so much time on the net.

Excellent forum, soooo much information, I will continue to read on, keeping a close eye on the classifieds, and the "Cape York 2011" thread as I am keen to do that run in the next few years (once I have found my new baby).

Nick   :cheers:

« Reply #16 on: May 01, 2011, 12:27:24 PM »
Welcome to MySwag  :D

« Reply #17 on: May 02, 2011, 03:35:10 PM »
G'day & Welcome

30K + for a good quality model

There is a handy looking Pioneer for sale on this site well within your budget, and don't discount the quality soft floor campers. Hire a couple if you're not sure what you must have in a camper, but I reckon you'll find a pearler for $15K.

Offline Benduro

« Reply #18 on: May 02, 2011, 07:50:37 PM »
Check: http://www.heaslipcampers.com.au/page.asp?parentid=3&parent2id=12

And look at the second hand market as they are of very high quality and built simple and strong. There are a number of good examples on the Trading Post site and in your price range.

We find ours extremely easy to live with as it has a terrific kitchen with equally good storage and the tub storage system in the trailer body makes for an organised camper.
Everything about this trailer is just so well thought out and simple. Set-up for the 9' model would be no more than 5mins all up (and I'm fussy). Add another 5 for the travel awning.

Good luck.

Offline carinya

• Nothing $30 million wouldn't fix
« Reply #19 on: May 06, 2011, 11:58:06 PM »
Welcome Nick.  It sounds like you have a decent budget to work with, good luck and let the stress begin.
MK Triton Dual Cab.
Cheap gal trailer with some stuff added.

Offline rescue1

• D40 Navara [HIS] T31 X-Trail [HERS]
« Reply #20 on: May 07, 2011, 12:21:18 AM »
Welcome Nick, just don't rush into getting the first CT you see, then again constant procrastination like I've been doing is probably no good either. My excuse is I've spent 4 weeks of the last 10 months in Australia.....hope you find what you want at the price you like