Author Topic: Greetings from Gecko.  (Read 4149 times)

Offline _Gecko_

Greetings from Gecko.
« on: March 16, 2012, 10:32:09 PM »
Greetings my Adventurous friends,
First off great site!
I have been reading this site alot and decided it was time to join, long time lurker first time poster as they say.
 I am currently Melbourne awaiting my lovely girl to finish her uni degree and once she has finished we are wanting to travel this fine land of ours.
I have been a hands on person most of my life but moving to melb i found a desk job, after almost 5 years of button pushing the walls are starting to creep in on me and my feet are itchy.
Done alot of backpacking and the old hitch hike my way around but not this time.

Now i dont have a 4WD so it will be mainly tarmac and the not too extreme dirt roads.
But we dont want to be in hotels we want to camp our way around. Seeing the stuff we want to see. We want to do some prospecting and metal detecting on our trip and see all the smaller old towns.

I have a 1990 XF falcon Panelvan on duel fuel its my Tin tent it is a bit higher than stock with HD suspension with LT tyres so it sits higher than most.
Was told buy the last owner it was ex-police hence the suspension and i have a trailer i want to customise to suit.
It is a bit big at the moment, but i am wanting to see what i can do with it.
 It will be more of a on road kitchen/wardrobe/tool shed on wheels.
 (I have found some one now to take the cats, because untill recently there was plans for a cat cage too...)

It will be different and i know a few people wont agree but it will be the way we want it done.

Be prepared for some questions that i may need answering hahaha.
On that note though, i am perfectly wonderful in use of the search function!!!
 >:D
I will add pictures as things take place and make a build thread.
Look forward to now being able to chat with you all.
Gecko

Edit, I noticed that the 'this thread is worthless without pics' gif is used alot so i figured i would get some up first.

This is from a panelvan run to Lima sth.

*XF Panelvan, Home Built Trailer, a Tent and my Girl. Living on the road since Feb 2013. So far we have driven Tas/Vic/Nsw, done over 10 000km's and counting.

Re: Greetings from Gecko.
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2012, 01:50:05 AM »
Welcome to the show Geko, hope you enjoy the ride.

« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2012, 05:52:48 AM »
G'day Gecko
Welcome to MySwag and nice setup.Heaps of things to do here and any
questions you have just ask away.Enjoy the chat mate. ;D

Greetings from Gecko.
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2012, 06:47:38 AM »
Welcome to myswag Gecko

« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2012, 07:25:09 AM »
welcome to myswag gecko
plenty of information here
looking forward to seeing the trailer build

cheers grc   8) 8)

« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2012, 07:32:07 AM »
Hi Gecko and welcome to My Swag

« Reply #6 on: March 17, 2012, 07:54:44 AM »
Welcome to the forum Gecko, too many people are just taking off on adventures at the moment. At least it will give me something to read and dream about while at work ;D

« Reply #7 on: March 17, 2012, 08:10:36 AM »
welcome to myswag Gecko & family

« Reply #8 on: March 17, 2012, 09:04:29 AM »

Great setup, hope to see you around a fire sometime.

« Reply #9 on: March 17, 2012, 09:47:45 AM »
To My Swag Geco  :cheers:

Chris F

Welcome from another Melbourne newby
« Reply #10 on: March 17, 2012, 10:54:29 AM »
Hi Gecko and your "lovely girl". I love your current setup! Simple but effective and comfortable. I look forward to seeing what you come up with  regarding the trailer.

Chris.

« Reply #11 on: March 17, 2012, 11:16:23 AM »
G'day Gecko and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:

« Reply #12 on: March 17, 2012, 03:52:02 PM »
Welcome aboard gecko, Love the old panelvan mate.

Offline lockyer

« Reply #13 on: March 18, 2012, 09:10:41 AM »
Welcome aboard

Offline _Gecko_

« Reply #14 on: April 02, 2012, 10:53:38 PM »
Thanks for the kind welcomes.
Have not posted anything as not to much productive things have taken place, the spidergears in my diff went as well as a mix up with our bank accounts. Things have come to a grinding halt....
I guess i shouldnt try and take it off road as much, she is getting old but there is something great about passing a bogged city slicker wanna be 4wd'er in my falcon on a bush track.

Just scored another Diff sadly just another open wheeler as the LSD i had my eye on was now sold after 8hrs of pulling out 2 diffs and reinstalling one the new diff had a pin hole in the brake line.... so then i lost my brakes.
Then it was pulling apart 3 diffs and 3sets of brakes to get mine working...ish.
I think i have air in the front left line as the front pulls to the right badly....
   and my speedo is badly out as i got a 2.92 diff and my last one was a 2.77.
Hope the right sprocket is in the wreck in my friends backyard.... but just as i finish the guy who got the LSD decided he didnt want it so it is now a future purchase again.

I will rebuild it and repaint it, bearings, discs, pads oil and new cones if needed.
Would rather have disc than drums.

Hope to be posting something useful soon, but in the mean time i will keep drooling over the food cooked in the camp oven section. I hope to be testing mine out this weekend.
Will take photos for sure.
Gecko

*XF Panelvan, Home Built Trailer, a Tent and my Girl. Living on the road since Feb 2013. So far we have driven Tas/Vic/Nsw, done over 10 000km's and counting.