Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1742432 times)

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #5075 on: January 07, 2020, 06:50:33 PM »
Have been working on a way to easily remove the 3/4 steel ARB roof rack from the troopy. Too heavy for the wife and I to do anything manually, so looked to employ an old boat winch in the shed.
Step one was to purchase a 3.2m length of 150UB18. A couple of base plates, 50x6 FMS welded in the correct position to align with the truss braces in the shed. Attach a pulley to the centre of the beam. I didn’t get any photos of this prep work.
Next stage was to lift the beam into position. This was so much fun, not...Started by lifting each end onto steps of two ladders, tied off for some effort toward safety. Once the height of the ladders had been exceeded it was a case of lifting one end 150mm and tying off, then doing the other end.

Kept doing this until finally reaching the truss crossmember.
This is it bolted into position

Thread the cable through the pulleys, ready to lift the roof rack into place.

Finally, lift roof rack into position so the troopy can be positioned under it.

A big thanks to the wife for her assistance with this task. Luvyababe
As an aside, I have to remove the roller door ‘stop’ bracket to get the truck, with roof rack attached, in or out of the shed.
The wife asked that I don’t park the truck under the rack for a couple of nights, to allow for anything nasty that might happen due to the workmanship.

« Last Edit: January 07, 2020, 06:53:25 PM by bmwfreak »
We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

« Reply #5076 on: January 07, 2020, 09:49:55 PM »
Great work BMW.
The older we get the smarter we work.

The following users thanked this post: bmwfreak

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #5077 on: January 07, 2020, 10:01:23 PM »
Thanks Glen, appreciate the comment. Not sure if my being older is a positive, but at least the beam didn’t fall on either of us while it was being lifted into position. 8)
2019 LC78 (troopy)

« Reply #5078 on: January 07, 2020, 10:26:21 PM »
Mate, everything I do now seems to be along the theme of " how can I make it easier"

Offline bkim

« Reply #5079 on: January 08, 2020, 12:28:52 AM »
Works well and makes life easier doesn't it!

Been doing a similar thing with my roof top tent for years, so I can lift it on and off by myself.  The photo was when I first tested it and the tent was brand new and never been setup.

I'm using an old "karpet Crane" winch with an internal brake, which a friend gave me, made in the USA with a rated vertical lift capacity of 1,100 lbs, the double C section purlon is engineer certified to 500kg, so my maximum load of around 180lb is well within safety limits
« Last Edit: January 08, 2020, 12:44:13 AM by bkim »

« Reply #5080 on: January 08, 2020, 08:48:05 AM »
Never heard of "skyhooks"?  :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

« Reply #5081 on: January 08, 2020, 08:50:59 AM »
The wife asked that I don’t park the truck under the rack for a couple of nights, to allow for anything nasty that might happen due to the workmanship.

Good idea :cup:

Had a mate that used to do that with his tinnie, then stand the trailer up vertically against the side of the house, so both of them, & his car, were all under cover.

Terrible noise one night & went rushing out to find that something had let go so tinnie > car > :'(

« Reply #5082 on: January 08, 2020, 08:54:51 AM »
Have been working on a way to easily remove the 3/4 steel ARB roof rack from the troopy. Too heavy for the wife and I to do anything manually, so looked to employ an old boat winch in the shed.
Step one was to purchase a 3.2m length of 150UB18. A couple of base plates, 50x6 FMS welded in the correct position to align with the truss braces in the shed. Attach a pulley to the centre of the beam. I didn’t get any photos of this prep work.
Next stage was to lift the beam into position. This was so much fun, not...Started by lifting each end onto steps of two ladders, tied off for some effort toward safety. Once the height of the ladders had been exceeded it was a case of lifting one end 150mm and tying off, then doing the other end.

Kept doing this until finally reaching the truss crossmember.
This is it bolted into position

Thread the cable through the pulleys, ready to lift the roof rack into place.

Finally, lift roof rack into position so the troopy can be positioned under it.

A big thanks to the wife for her assistance with this task. Luvyababe
As an aside, I have to remove the roller door ‘stop’ bracket to get the truck, with roof rack attached, in or out of the shed.

Not sure how those cross braces are held on, but on my shed they only use a couple of tech screws to attach them to the rafters. That I beam weighs in at 58Kg, plus the weight of the roof rack. That's a lot of weight on the two C sections.

Speaking of dropping it on ya noggin, I did that with a 4M length of 150mm C section, when building a mezzanine into my shed. I can tell you, it sat me on me bum, and I saw stars for a while.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

Offline Heavensent

« Reply #5083 on: January 09, 2020, 10:44:52 AM »
Help my mate do some work on his fslcon ute.

His old headlights had gone really smokey. So replaced them with some ebay ones. They fitted up really well and ge can actually see at night now.

We then painted up his rims.
Really brought up the look of his ute from tradie ute to almost sleeper look.

Need to pull my finger out and sort bunch of jobs on my GQ now.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Offline GanG

• NEDSA
« Reply #5084 on: January 09, 2020, 05:52:10 PM »
Spent the day cleaning my shed up........6 hours on it, and can hardly see where I have been, but the trailer is half full and the wheely bin is overflowing!
Light travels faster than sound............that's why some folks may appear bright until they speak

Offline Traveller

« Reply #5085 on: January 10, 2020, 09:00:34 AM »
Spent the day cleaning my shed up........6 hours on it, and can hardly see where I have been, but the trailer is half full and the wheely bin is overflowing!

When you are finished do you want to come and start on my tip (sorry shed)? Might be a beer or two in it. :cheers:

Offline GanG

• NEDSA
« Reply #5086 on: January 10, 2020, 01:31:35 PM »
When you are finished do you want to come and start on my tip (sorry shed)? Might be a beer or two in it. :cheers:
ummmmmmm let me think on it

Sorry but NO! :)
Light travels faster than sound............that's why some folks may appear bright until they speak

« Reply #5087 on: January 10, 2020, 02:18:28 PM »
Quote from: GanG
6 hours on it, and can hardly see where I have been, but the trailer is half full and the wheely bin is overflowing!
Thats the problem I usually face.. Then I stop for 6 mths.. :'(

« Reply #5088 on: January 11, 2020, 05:43:10 PM »
Installed this today.
70MAI Tyre Monitor lite.
Only draw back, the tyre presure is in BAR, not PSI.
I'll get use to it.  ;D
https://www.70mai.com/en/70mai-tire-pressure-monitoring-system-lite-sign-up/
« Last Edit: January 11, 2020, 05:45:17 PM by Hairs »

Offline tombie

« Reply #5089 on: January 11, 2020, 09:19:08 PM »
Installed this today.
70MAI Tyre Monitor lite.
Only draw back, the tyre presure is in BAR, not PSI.
I'll get use to it.  ;D
https://www.70mai.com/en/70mai-tire-pressure-monitoring-system-lite-sign-up/

Just change it to PSI. It can be adjusted.

« Reply #5090 on: January 12, 2020, 06:56:27 AM »
Just change it to PSI. It can be adjusted.

« Reply #5091 on: January 12, 2020, 01:34:50 PM »
As I have said before I don’t have a mechanical bone in my body but I do like cars, this is my latest build, a 1921 Ford Model T, approx 11 1/2” long.
The following users thanked this post: plusnq

« Reply #5092 on: January 12, 2020, 01:45:53 PM »
Mate,
Freakin awesome.
Love it.
The following users thanked this post: Pottsy

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #5093 on: January 12, 2020, 02:06:00 PM »
Not sure how those cross braces are held on, but on my shed they only use a couple of tech screws to attach them to the rafters. That I beam weighs in at 58Kg, plus the weight of the roof rack. That's a lot of weight on the two C sections.

Speaking of dropping it on ya noggin, I did that with a 4M length of 150mm C section, when building a mezzanine into my shed. I can tell you, it sat me on me bum, and I saw stars for a while.

Job is now complete. Stiffening plates added between cross braces and truss sections. Lifting ropes changed to chains and fixed chains installed so that once the rack is lifted to clear the troopy, the rack is held in place without stress on the winch.
2019 LC78 (troopy)

Offline Raym

« Reply #5094 on: January 12, 2020, 02:24:19 PM »
As I have said before I don’t have a mechanical bone in my body but I do like cars, this is my latest build, a 1921 Ford Model T, approx 11 1/2” long.
[/quote

Love your work Pottsy]

« Reply #5095 on: January 13, 2020, 05:05:39 AM »
Haven't seen my shed for 3 months leading up to Xmas. (21st Dec). All I did was park the trailer in it, got rid of a few cob webs, Hitch up the camper and went camping, came back home, parked the camper, opened it back up to air out, hitched the trailer back up and headed back to site(6th Jan), not to see the shed for another 3 months.  :'( :'( :'(
The following users thanked this post: GeoffA, archer63

« Reply #5096 on: January 13, 2020, 07:51:42 AM »
As I have said before I don’t have a mechanical bone in my body

Maybe not, but you're a damned good woodworker!

That is awesome :cup:

« Reply #5097 on: January 13, 2020, 12:00:20 PM »
Maybe not, but you're a damned good woodworker!

That is awesome :cup:

Just started a 1929 Chevrolet Ute today, hopefully some cooler weather so I can spend sometime in the shed.

« Reply #5098 on: January 19, 2020, 11:58:08 AM »
1929 Chevrolet Utility, approx 375mm long, done in pine, trim and running boards cedar stained, beeswax finish.

« Reply #5099 on: January 19, 2020, 12:24:05 PM »
Mate,
That's awesome.
Cheers for sharing.