Author Topic: Storm watch Brisbane  (Read 61620 times)

scrapsD40

Storm watch Brisbane
« Reply #125 on: December 06, 2016, 09:27:09 PM »
Nice little cell heading for Tweed Heads atm.
« Last Edit: December 06, 2016, 09:29:26 PM by scrapsD40 »

Re: Storm watch Brisbane
« Reply #126 on: December 06, 2016, 09:41:56 PM »
Starting to put on a show, might get a bit from it if it pops over the top of the Border Ranges, otherwise it will spin  off up the coast and we will only catch an edge .
EDIT: Well a bit of a P1ss and a fart couple of very close hits of lightning and a steady shower for five minutes and its all gone, Heads up Gold Coast its heading your way now ..
« Last Edit: December 06, 2016, 10:03:40 PM by edz »

« Reply #127 on: December 06, 2016, 11:16:44 PM »
Nice little cell heading for Tweed Heads atm.

The grass must be booming just south of the border at the moment.

« Reply #128 on: December 07, 2016, 04:01:42 AM »
Didn't correct your spelling, I corrected your grammar.  Gees, don't you know nuthing?

So, what the friggin hell did my gramma do to you ya tosser.

I tell ya KB, if grampa was still alive, he'd zimmer around to your place and flog you like ya would a redheaded stepchild.

I see Brissie and gold coast got another dump of wet stuff again early this morning

Offline GUEY

« Reply #129 on: December 07, 2016, 04:56:48 AM »
Yeah, not liking these late night/ early morning storms.
It's messing with my beauty sleep, and I need all the help I can get...
2016 Colorado Trailblazer
2010 Swan Outback

Offline Fathom

« Reply #130 on: December 07, 2016, 06:23:38 AM »
I'm in Mackay at the moment.
But SWMBO says we got a good downpour at about 2am with enough Thunder and lightening for our wimpy dog to be petrified.
Always give 100%... Unless you are giving blood.. then it may not go so well...

Offline StrvnMrvn

• I get payed to go camping!!
« Reply #131 on: December 07, 2016, 06:31:46 AM »
Yeah we got a good show!! Miss 5 couldn't handle it so she came and crawled into bed with me and SWMBO. I don't think the dog will climb out from underneath the BBQ any time soon!

« Reply #132 on: December 07, 2016, 06:46:16 AM »
Talking off grass, Reckon I'll need a 10 HP wet mower, might have to rig up the old Evinrude outboard in a trolley with a HD line trimmer head fitted instead of the prop  ;D ;D

« Reply #133 on: December 07, 2016, 06:57:26 AM »
It's amazing how strong some dogs get when there's thunder about. Haven't worked out if it's the fence or garden shed one of mine has moved, but it's managed to shift one of them, get out of its kennel and into the bloody house  >:(

Offline GUEY

« Reply #134 on: December 07, 2016, 07:11:42 AM »
The apprentice at work was camping at Somerset on Saturday when the storm went through. Reckons a lot of carnage through the campground.
No one on here I hope.

2016 Colorado Trailblazer
2010 Swan Outback

« Reply #135 on: December 07, 2016, 07:15:28 AM »
not the only one...........we've got an older ridgeback cross, bloody hell even a hint of a storm and it's wanting to climb, not jump, bloody climb onto your lap, whilst you're standing. the thing paws at you trying to drag you close as it can. On medication, pheromone collars and even the old t-shirt trick don't work on her....................

« Reply #136 on: December 07, 2016, 08:01:21 AM »
It always does when coming from the SW. It hits the hill, stays there, then the remnants go north of Mooloolaba and Caloundra area and further south. We get the dribbly bits.

It's when it comes from the SE that we cop it, same as those bastard winds. Remember a few years ago we copped 375mm in 3 hours. That sucked ;D That was when the opposite happened. South of Calounda got nothing, north of Maroochy River nothing,  it all funneled our way ;D

In saying that, we just got a reasonable soaking. No storm though.

Al

How right you are there mate.

At least this mornings one came from the west (or even a little northwest) and we finally got a decent drop.
That light show was fantastic. Haven't been out to have a look yet, but there where some really close strikes before dawn.

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #137 on: December 21, 2016, 04:39:57 PM »
Luv the look of these storm cells (as long as everything valuable is under cover😁). 22mm up till this one strikes. I reckon we'll get another 25 out of it. All my tanks are overflowing (99,000 litres). Got to luv it!!!
We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

Offline Terry W4

• Retired - loving every minute of it
« Reply #138 on: December 21, 2016, 04:43:38 PM »
Unless you turn those tanks up the right way all that water will leak out.
 :laugh:
Terry - Canberra ACT
2008 Prado 120 D4D and 2009 Swan Outback
Blog Travels with Terry: https://terrywalls.wordpress.com

« Reply #139 on: December 21, 2016, 04:45:44 PM »
Been spitting to rain here the last half hour and that's it, nothing in this for us...rain gauge says 0.0mm

Offline StrvnMrvn

• I get payed to go camping!!
« Reply #140 on: December 21, 2016, 05:11:07 PM »
Starting to get it now!

« Reply #141 on: December 22, 2016, 06:42:58 PM »
A week of watching it all sail straight past here, nothin at all........  >:(

Offline archer63

• Live For Today
« Reply #142 on: December 22, 2016, 07:06:17 PM »
Same here...don't want a bad storm....just a nice downpour ???
« Last Edit: December 22, 2016, 07:07:53 PM by archer63 »

« Reply #143 on: January 02, 2017, 06:38:29 PM »
Here it comes.
I may even get some for a change....

Offline archer63

• Live For Today
« Reply #144 on: January 02, 2017, 06:48:52 PM »
You (we) would have to be very unlucky to miss out on some of that...but let's hope the tease is over.

« Reply #145 on: January 02, 2017, 06:51:23 PM »
Its a big tease at the moment, it is stalled in the Numinba valley and stuck behind that dam Mt Tamborine .... AGAIN.  :-[

Offline archer63

• Live For Today
« Reply #146 on: January 02, 2017, 06:52:15 PM »
Arrgghhhh  >:D

« Reply #147 on: January 02, 2017, 11:27:25 PM »
Brisbane CBD got 47mm in 20 minutes earlier tonight, not sure what it totalled at in the end. Rained for about 3 hours at my place, had about 70mm (gauge says 72.6mm, but a small amount would have been Xmas day rain)....surrounding suburbs got between 80 - 90mm

Offline Bongo

« Reply #148 on: January 03, 2017, 12:50:37 AM »
Just finished setting out the canvas at Casino. The rain has stopped!!

Tom.

« Reply #149 on: January 03, 2017, 03:20:38 AM »
we got 1.6mm.