Author Topic: I had a look at a brand new Ford Raptor today  (Read 10195 times)

Offline SEADOO

I had a look at a brand new Ford Raptor today
« on: October 02, 2018, 04:35:59 PM »
Had a squiz at the new Ford Raptor today. They had a white one and a "Ford" blue one.

Not as big as what I thought they were. It's much wider. But, I still don't see $80k in one.

Great looking ute, got some Shit hot gear, Fox suspension, Fox coil over on the rear, factory 33's.

I just cannot see what their customer base is. Rich tradies, factory MX riders and jet skis with matching trailer?

Little 2litre twin turbo with 8 speed flappy paddle gear box, not something you would won't to tow a big van or Malibu ski boat.
I can't see it being purchased as a vehicle to cruise the outback with, not something you would drop at ARB and fit it with their cataloge.

I really don't know, it'll be interesting to see their targeted customers.

For the $80k, I'd purchase their wild track, and add some fruit and it'll be much more fersitile than the Raptor.
« Last Edit: October 02, 2018, 04:38:50 PM by SEADOO »

Re: I had a look at a brand new Ford Raptor today
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2018, 05:27:26 PM »
Quote from: SEADOO
I just cannot see what their customer base is. Rich tradies, factory MX riders and jet skis with matching trailer?
you hit their market on the head perfectly!

The following users thanked this post: wakychapmans

Offline Hookie

« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2018, 07:22:44 PM »
Dangit! I came back to say exactly that!^

I don't predict many 3 ton van dragging nomads buying these, but that doesn't mean they won't sell plenty. I was trying to explain that to my 3.5 ton 25 foot silverline hauling dad. He can't understand why anyone would buy a ute that can't drag 3.5 ton, and no matter how hard I try I can't convince him that there are people out there who don't need that towing capacity and (this one makes him need a lie down) might not even put towing capacity at the top of their list of criteria!

Having said that, I do reckon we'll be seeing plenty of these on the road soon enough, though I doubt I'd buy one even if I did have 80k to drop on a rig.

« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2018, 07:39:00 PM »
Little 2litre twin turbo with 8 speed flappy paddle gear box, not something you would won't to tow a big van or Malibu ski boat.
I can't see it being purchased as a vehicle to cruise the outback with, not something you would drop at ARB and fit it with their catalog

GVM = 3090kg
GCM = 5350kg
Kurb weight = 2332kg
payload = 758kg
max braked towing capacity = 2500kg

Load up the car, and you will need to trim back the weight of the trailer ?

2l twin turbo 10 speed auto................................doesn't sound highly strung at all ?

Offline JusyApples

« Reply #4 on: October 03, 2018, 06:01:36 AM »
I own a JetSki and have no interest in them  ;D I'm waiting for the 2019 RAM 1500
Bought a what?
Researching my next camper

« Reply #5 on: October 03, 2018, 06:14:22 AM »
I'd spend the money on a 2 or 3 nice old classics from the 50's and 60's.

You know, back when cars had some style, a bit class and you could tell what each one was by the shape, not the badge.
« Last Edit: October 03, 2018, 06:44:03 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

Offline Brodie Tas

« Reply #6 on: October 03, 2018, 06:41:53 AM »
you hit their market on the head perfectly!

Yep and those blokes that put 5inch lift and 35s on there ranger and there never seen a dirt road  :cheers:

« Reply #7 on: October 03, 2018, 06:46:35 AM »
I was trying to explain that to my 3.5 ton 25 foot silverline hauling dad. He can't understand why anyone would buy a ute that can't drag 3.5 ton,

I can't understand why anyone would buy a ute and try and tow 3.5 ton full stop ??

The Raptor will be for the urban wanna be cowboys.......a can of spray on mud will be an accessory !!!

Offline SnakeDoctor

« Reply #8 on: October 03, 2018, 07:00:00 AM »
Caravan owners hate this, but the Asia dual cab tow ratings are mostly fanciful, the Raptors at 2500 is probably honest.

I would absolutely buy a Ranger in a heart beat, the out of the box off road capability is great and it would tow a small camper trailer places where previously only nicely modified Jeep Wranglers would take them.

« Reply #9 on: October 03, 2018, 07:36:31 AM »
I’d go to an independent dealer and buy the real Raptor. Hopefully this model fails and ford see the light and bring the F trucks back now that dodge and Chev are making inroads

Offline Moxley

« Reply #10 on: October 03, 2018, 07:39:54 AM »
I can't understand why anyone would buy a ute and try and tow 3.5 ton full stop ??

The Raptor will be for the urban wanna be cowboys.......a can of spray on mud will be an accessory !!!

Or just about any vehicle for that matter, unless it’s a truck or rig (relying on the old Australian definition of that term, as opposed to the new American version).

« Reply #11 on: October 03, 2018, 08:02:51 AM »
Caravan owners hate this, but the Asia dual cab tow ratings are mostly fanciful, the Raptors at 2500 is probably honest.

I would absolutely buy a Ranger in a heart beat, the out of the box off road capability is great and it would tow a small camper trailer places where previously only nicely modified Jeep Wranglers would take them.
You didn’t just write that did you....??
A out of the box stock ranger will go the same places as a modified Wrangler. ???

Offline hardroad

« Reply #12 on: October 03, 2018, 08:08:22 AM »
I have a 79 series and do tow 3.5t. I also want to have plenty of room for all the other bits and pieces, and be able to carry them within the vehicles GVM/GCM. Also want to seriously go off road.

Offline Humphreythebear

« Reply #13 on: October 03, 2018, 08:17:17 AM »
Can’t buy a Maloo , Can’t buy an FPV ‘Ute ‘ .
Tradies who only need to carry a pencil in the back and get about fast will be lining up to buy .
These will carry a couple of extra apprentices also ....
Outback Sturt , Holden SS Ute and a MTB for the Rough Stuff

« Reply #14 on: October 03, 2018, 08:46:13 AM »
Ok so im the minority

Price point aside it is the engine that sunk me

I dont tow anymore and like the odd blast up to the beach or where i want to go and i also hate having to buy a new ute then go to ARB to spend extra money on stuff. I also cant stand the fact that in 2018 i have to buy a ute with crappy drum brakes on the back and handles like a pig due to leaf suspension. The Raptor potentially solved these issues

If they had of released the raptor with a decent V6 or similar petrol engine i probably would have bought a second hand one when the prices came down. It is designed as a off road fun machine more than a tow vehicle so why have a diesel at all

« Reply #15 on: October 03, 2018, 08:48:27 AM »
I really don't know, it'll be interesting to see their targeted customers.

A quick google search answers that one for you.

The standard Ranger is for the tradie that wants a ute which kind of looks like a Yank race truck.
The Raptor Ranger is for the tradie that wants a ute which looks a lot more like a Yank race truck and has Fox shocks, so they can drive too fast over little bumps and pretend they are in a Yank race truck.....

Just a very small sample of images from various "test drive" articles, but the target market is pretty obvious....
« Last Edit: October 03, 2018, 08:56:18 AM by Pete79 »
The following users thanked this post: Tombliboo

« Reply #16 on: October 03, 2018, 09:05:35 AM »
A out of the box stock ranger will go the same places as a modified Wrangler. ???

Methinks maybe a troll...……..1st post n all

« Reply #17 on: October 03, 2018, 09:18:17 AM »

Your just being polite...we call them wankers

« Reply #18 on: October 03, 2018, 09:49:10 AM »
My rat run to the kids school has about 20 speed bumps and other traffic calming devices. Then theres good old Chatsworth road goat track at Coorpooroo. I’d make great use of that suspension setup twice a day.

« Reply #19 on: October 03, 2018, 11:42:37 AM »
Quote from: Pete79

you could do that in a 1960 Vauxhall. :D

« Reply #20 on: October 03, 2018, 06:25:58 PM »
I have a 79 series and do tow 3.5t. I also want to have plenty of room for all the other bits and pieces, and be able to carry them within the vehicles GVM/GCM. Also want to seriously go off road.

Sorry mate, meant a dual cab....as in Ranger, Triton, Colorado etc !!

Offline SnakeDoctor

« Reply #21 on: October 03, 2018, 06:36:49 PM »

Some of the same yeah, obviously not all of them. In no way implying that the Ranger Raptor is as capable as a Wrangler just that it's the next best in the Au market.

Offline SnakeDoctor

« Reply #22 on: October 03, 2018, 06:38:54 PM »
Methinks maybe a troll...……..1st post n all

Not a troll, but the Ranger Raptor will get closer to keeping up with a Wrangler than say a Patrol.

« Reply #23 on: October 03, 2018, 06:43:37 PM »
Not a troll, but the Ranger Raptor will get closer to keeping up with a Wrangler than say a Patrol.
I like this guy.....  ;D 8)

You should post more often I reckon...  :cheers:  :cheers:
The following users thanked this post: boobook

« Reply #24 on: October 04, 2018, 05:17:21 AM »
you could do that in a 1960 Vauxhall. :D

You have got to be kidding.

The 3 speed column shift would let it down.....  ;D

Go the poxy Vauxy