General => General Discussion => Topic started by: MR MAC GU on June 21, 2011, 09:16:33 PM

Title: Smokers...Who wants to join me in quitting???
Post by: MR MAC GU on June 21, 2011, 09:16:33 PM
So after 20 odd years of smoking (30+ per day about $120 per week) its time to quit... again.... >:D >:D >:D

Anyway...i have tried it all over the last few years from gum, patches and hypnatismn (sp).

I think the only thing that will work is will power, and as I can see my health slowly slipping away its time to do it not just for me, but for the kids too.

I am sure there would be members on here that want to quit, so I figure we could all do it together and offer support if we slip etc. We can use this thread to discuss the ins and outs of how we are going inc feelings, cravings etc and how we have been handling them.

My plan is from this coming Monday 27/6/2011 to cut my habit by at least half and totally quit by Monday 4/7/2011.

If you have any valid suggestions please feel free to post them up.

So who wants to give it a go with me???
Title: Re: Smokers...Who wants to join me in quitting???
Post by: ras on June 21, 2011, 09:24:53 PM
I smoked a pack a day for over 25 years.
Gave up heaps of times!!!

Nearly 2 years ago, I took champix tablets (prescription via doctor) and havent smoked since...

This is the longest I have given up for....

It might be worth a shot for you... You still need willpower though.

Hope it helps.
Post by: TroyE on June 21, 2011, 09:30:08 PM
good on ya MAC, I gave it away 20 odd years ago, with just will power, (had only smoked for 10 odd years) not an easy thing to do but really satisfying to know you did it, every time you get a craving tell your self that your a nonsmoker and find some thing to distract your self with ( preferably not lollies) :cheers:

troy
Post by: Slipus on June 21, 2011, 09:37:39 PM
Yea Well Done,

I gave it up years ago... I just quit cold turkey.

Keep your self busy.  After a few days the physical addiction is gone and its all in your mind , so be strong

Post by: xvprado on June 21, 2011, 10:01:37 PM
Im a vote for the champix

I gave up 1 year 16 days and 12 hours ago...give or take

After  nearly 40 years smoking, I was on the tablets for way too long, until I decided to give up, then its not so hard, you gotta get your head right.

fOR ME, I SAID TO MYSELF, "SELF...JUST DONT SMOKE FOR A FEW DAYS", ONCE i HAD ACHIEVED THAT i HAD ANOTHER CHAT AND SAID TO MYSELF WELL IF YOU CAN DO 4 DAYS, YOU CAN DO FOREVER, THATS WHEN i DECIDED TO NEVER SMOKE AGAIN, AFTER i HAD PROVEN TO ME IT WAS POSSIBLE. The other bit was having a good reason, for me it was because I want to see my darling granddaughter grow up into a beautiful young lady....simple stuff, but powerful messages to your own head

Ahhh bugger, just realised I hit the caps lock...sorry

Anyway, that will do, good luck with giving up, its so worth it
Post by: TOPNDR on June 21, 2011, 10:50:22 PM
Mr Mac, a smoking mate found Allen Carr's book " easy way to quit smoking", very helpful.
Post by: mull dog on June 21, 2011, 11:09:34 PM
your about 6 months too late Mac, but i will offer encouragement. you CAN do it. all the best
Post by: DannyG on June 21, 2011, 11:51:23 PM
Too late for me to join you but I can offer some words of support.

I smoked for 20 odd years, admittedly I wasnt a real heavy smoker (approx 20 a day) however I had several failed attempts to quit.

A few months ago I made the decision that it was my time to quit. I went to the doctor and went on those champix tablets.

I smoked for the first week or so and totally quit on the chosen date as per the instructions. The tablets made me feel sick at times and they also stopped me from sleeping properly. Im not sure if this is the desired effect they are supposed to have to make you quit but after about a month the feeling sick and lack of sleep subsided slightly.

Anyway, I chose not to do the full 12 week program. I felt that will power and the fact that I was really wanting to get a proper nights sleep and to stop feeling ill was enough for me to stop the tablets.

I have not looked back. I am not going to smoke again. I do not want to let myself down.

It is tough. Very tough. There is not a day goes by where I dont have that urge to have a smoke. Sure it goes as quick as it hits me but it still very much requires will power. I am hoping over time that feeling of really wanting a smoke will go completely. However family members who have quit for several years tell me they still at times feel like a smoke.

You have to want to quit though. There is no point in taking it lightly. Give it a red hot go and be strong.

I now see people smoking, or I smell it on people I work with and it gives me motivation to stay off them.

Good luck with it, I really hope you succeed. Even if you dont succeed this time, give it another go. Keep trying.

I really think if I can do it, any one can do it.
Post by: Paul Mac on June 21, 2011, 11:58:11 PM
From one Mac to another...........I've been on the Champix for 2 months now and haven't felt the craving for several weeks now. You will feel much better in a few weeks time.

Just think about all the things you can spend your savings on.

Cheers and the best of luck with the quitting.

Post by: Heiny on June 22, 2011, 06:15:29 AM
I smoked a pack a day for over 25 years.
Gave up heaps of times!!!

Nearly 2 years ago, I took champix tablets (prescription via doctor) and havent smoked since...

This is the longest I have given up for....

It might be worth a shot for you... You still need willpower though.

Hope it helps.
I also took Champix, I quit smoking March 2010 and havn't touched one since :cup: I had also attempted to quit several times prior to this but as ras said you still require will power.
Post by: HEM19X on June 22, 2011, 06:31:25 AM
Never been a smoker but my father was.

He gave up cold turkey many years ago & his secret was "to do without, even if it was for just 5 mins" - get up & do something else or have something to eat etc...that was over 30 years ago & he is now 86...I'm sure he wouldn't have lasted this long if he still smoked.

I wish you well.

Post by: Tadpole on June 22, 2011, 06:50:05 AM
Good on ya Mr Mac,  :cup:
encouragement goes your way, I was a smoker (not for very long) but my mum was for many years (20+) and after much nagging from the grandkids, tried the tablets (not sure which one) and she has been smoke free for 2 years now.
Stick with your plan, you can do it........ :laugh:
Good luck.... :cheers:
Judy
Post by: griz066 on June 22, 2011, 06:56:43 AM
Well done for deciding to quit,

I agree cold turkey and will power is the way to go as it worked for me, I quit 15 years ago.

I smoked for 15 years the last 10 years I smoked 50+ a day up to 80+ a day on weekends if I was drinking. That was costing me $240 a month.

The first week is the killer you need to be strong and not give in to the justifications ie: I can just have one to get me through this rough patch this boring drive or this beer etc etc etc. There is a million ways we justify having a smoke when we are giving up.

My wife was giving up at the same time but is still smoking after the patches, pills and hypno twice, so it is not easy for all.

My motivation was I wanted to buy a house, i had a deposit but couldn't afford repayments without giving up.

You don't save the money but I guess you you end up with all the things you wanted when smoking but couldn't afford. If i smoked today it would be costing me $600 a month.

Good luck. :cheers:
Post by: Cactus on June 22, 2011, 07:46:29 AM
Mac
I gave up years 30 years ago, cold turkey, I made a life style change at that point to help. I stopped going to the hotel on Friday nights after work, a few beers and someone would offer you a fag and away you go. This worked well. I made myself a social outcast for awhile by not associating with people who smoked. This helped me a lot until I really kicked the habit (this took about 2months)  I have never been tempted since. So good luck and keep at it you will win.
A healthy 66 YO
Cactus
Post by: Tracey family on June 22, 2011, 07:50:48 AM
Good on you Mac!  Scott (hubby) had tried everything like you but the tablets from the doc finally did the trick. He even said it was pretty easy on them because there were next to no cravings - just had to keep his hands busy  :D

Best of luck!! Great decision.

:cheers: Glenyse
Post by: Chippy76 on June 22, 2011, 08:34:00 AM
Firstly, good on you for having another go at quitting, I know from experience that it isnt easy.  I turfed the smokes about 6 years ago, when I met my know wife (she is a staunch non smoker) I was good incentive for me to quit then.  Id be lying if I said I havent had one or two since then (mostly on the grog). But I have found that I simply don t enjoy it anymore, or the aftertaste. My only advice is to know your triggers. For me it is drinking, cold weather, and idle time (sounds like winter camping right ?! :S  )

So be strong, use what ever aids you need to help you through, and dont stress about the one or two that go through to the keeper. In the long run every ciggie you dont smoke is one less nail in your coffin. You wont regret it!!!!

Cheers Chippy :D

PS keep us posted on the progress.

Post by: tomsyl on June 22, 2011, 09:09:00 AM
I gave up 9 months ago after smoking for nearly 60 years, it's never too late, every day you go without a smoke, give yourself a pat on the back.  It's hard but not impossible.

Tom
Post by: Redback on June 22, 2011, 10:20:41 AM
1984 I gave up, I swore that I would give up smoking when they went to a $1 a pack (20s) I was also saving to go overseas, went cold turkey, never looked back, good luck and stay strong, the first 20yrs are the hardest ;D

Post by: blackstump on June 22, 2011, 01:20:35 PM
champix is good...really good....they work well

but not well enough for me   :'(...maybe time to try again... :laugh:

Patches helped me go from Winnie reds to Winnie blues  ??? and left red square blotches on my arms  >:(

when you crunch the numbers on how much you will save if your a pack a day person, it is scary and that should be enough to make you quit.

good luck with it mate
Post by: OffRoadDave on June 22, 2011, 01:31:09 PM
Good luck with it those that are giving it a crack, I've been off the fags for about 15 months now and never felt better, the difference for me with giving up was that I wanted to, I'd tried before but didn't really want to do it, so inevitably I'd end up back on them a very short time.

I can't exactly put a finger on why I changed from wanting to smoke, to not wanting to smoke, I just ran out of them one day, and asked myself why am I doing this, I went cold turkey and haven't had one since. I know there were serveral factors involved such as a grand father passing away from emphysema a few months earlier, and wanting to be around for my kids when they get to my age, I guess there were several reasons that eventually changed my mindset, but it is possible to give up, if you truly want to, and that is the key I reckon.
Post by: camdyson on June 22, 2011, 01:33:15 PM
Great thread - good luck, and there's always a free beer in my Engel for any ex-smoker who wants to visit my campfire  ;D (Beer-beggars please note, proof of previous smoking required!)

Bit of inspiration: new employee at my clinic a few years back was a fat little smoker who's only excercise was beer and darts. Got him off the ciggies and into bike riding. He's now an A-grade road racer who even has the gall to flog me up hills!! >:D Wouldn't touch a smoke if you paid him now, he's so hooked on being healthy. And still likes a beer... 8)

So best of luck with it, and never quit quitting.

Cam
Post by: Jon on June 22, 2011, 01:42:13 PM
Good on you for quitting.
I smoked for 17years and gave up just before the birth of my first child. My wife still smokes.

Firstly, and this is harsh, you are NOT doing it for anyone but yourself. You will let yourself down if you fail. Your kids may motivate you and that is good. But the most important person here is you.
secondly, dont cut back, JUST STOP. Anything else is just just delaying the inevitable.

Yes it is very hard, but just do it.
Chew gum, any type, doesnt matter. Also keep your hands busy.

Good luck with it, keep us posted.
Post by: Crazy Dog on June 22, 2011, 01:43:25 PM
COLD TURKEY...only way IMHO..

Grrr!!!

Smoked for 44yrs and last few years at least a 100 per day- chain smoker..

Made a promise to everyone that when my first grandchild was born I would stop there and then for that little person.

That little person is my grandson and is now 8.5 yrs old.

So it can be done..Never looked back or wanted another smoke. Guilt feelings are a gr8 help in this situation.

I wish you all the best in trying to give it up..YOU CAN DO IT IF YOU WANT TO..

Grrr!!!
Post by: Paul Mac on June 22, 2011, 02:13:24 PM
champix is good...really good....they work well

but not well enough for me   :'(...maybe time to try again... :laugh:

Patches helped me go from Winnie reds to Winnie blues  ??? and left red square blotches on my arms  >:(

when you crunch the numbers on how much you will save if your a pack a day person, it is scary and that should be enough to make you quit.

good luck with it mate

Robbie, you should quit mate.....it'll stunt your growth  ;D
Post by: blackstump on June 22, 2011, 02:17:49 PM
ide be 7' 23'' if i did mate.... ;D
Post by: cancan on June 22, 2011, 02:18:06 PM

My wife finally gave up with the aid of Champix tablets...been over 2 yrs now.

My sister in law gave up as soon as the doctor gave her the option of possibly living for 9 months without smoking or well less than 6 months continuing smoking. She has uncureable lung cancer at 47, Personaly I don't think those cigerattes were worth it.
Post by: areyonga on June 22, 2011, 03:45:58 PM
My Mother, Father and six of my uncles and aunties all gave up smoking cold turkey because it killed them, some young.  My best friend (brotherinlaw) died 10 years ago from lung cancer (he smoked).  My sister has never smoked and she is currently undergoing her second bout of chemo therapy for lung cancer and had half a lung removed due to breathing others smoke over the years (passive smoking) and I am having regular lung Xrays to monitor shadows on the lungs for the same problem as my sister and I have never smoked.  So please give it up at least for everybody elses sake.

Wil
Post by: yandiferal on June 22, 2011, 06:31:51 PM
well done on wanting to quit i gave up for 3yrs on the champix but got back on the smokes it has now been 4 weeks on champix again.
cause the mrs's and i want to buy a camper trailer we are putting our smoke money away  ;D plus we're getting married in September and we've asked for cash for the camper to LOL :cheers:
Post by: Tezza1974 on June 22, 2011, 06:49:01 PM
Alan Carr - How to quit smoking is a great book with excellent humour...i read it and i stopped i gave it to 3 other friends and they quit aswell......but you must read the whole the book....dont stop halfway!!!I thought at first what a load of tripe but my wife bought me the book....first chapter and i was hooked on quitting

good luck and its easier than you think...the nicotine & your habits will tell you otherwise....just read the book you will see...
Post by: scotty61 on June 22, 2011, 07:07:39 PM
I have just given up smoking after 35 years (it has been 6 weeks now) i have tried everything except cutting my hands off trying to give them up and nothing has worked up till now. Now i am sure some of you will be sceptical but electric cigarette's (e-cigs) worked for me as you are giving up smoking tobacco and are now vapping a juice which makes you think you are still smoking as there is a vapor that you see so it still looks like you are smoking. There has been some news reports saying they are illegal but they are legal to sell and buy the hardware but it is the juice that is the problem. If you buy juice with nicotine (nic) it,that is illegal in Australia but if you buy juice with no nic in it that's all legal. Nic juice is bought from china and no nic juice can be bought here online. Myself i have been using a e-cig with no nic juice for eight weeks the first two weeks i still smoked a packet of 30's a week instead of a packet of 30's a day then after two weeks i stopped smoking normal cigs. Yes you can say i'm still smoking a e-cig but that is a lot better than what i had been doing and my vapping rate has decreased as each week goes by so soon i will be able to stop these as well. This time i also think my head was in the right place to give up so if anyone wants more details just do what i did and google e-cigs and read as much as you can and make your own mind up and to anyone who has give up cold turkey i take my hat off to you as you are so much stronger than me and anyone who can get of the smokes by any way that works for them good luck as it is all hard work.
Post by: Kirky on June 22, 2011, 07:53:41 PM
Mac.  Do yourself a favor and go see your doc and get CHAMPIX.  I was a 20 years + smoker, 30 to 40 a day, stressful job and every time I gave up something would happen at work and I would be back on em.  I tried all sorts of stuff too.  Champix worked great.  Give em a bash and you will be pleasantly surprised.
Post by: V8100 on June 22, 2011, 09:11:49 PM
So after 20 odd years of smoking (30+ per day about $120 per week) its time to quit... again.... >:D >:D >:D

Anyway...i have tried it all over the last few years from gum, patches and hypnatismn (sp).

I think the only thing that will work is will power, and as I can see my health slowly slipping away its time to do it not just for me, but for the kids too.

I am sure there would be members on here that want to quit, so I figure we could all do it together and offer support if we slip etc. We can use this thread to discuss the ins and outs of how we are going inc feelings, cravings etc and how we have been handling them.

My plan is from this coming Monday 27/6/2011 to cut my habit by at least half and totally quit by Monday 4/7/2011.

Mate i will join u have been gradually cutting down for a few months and the time has come to pack up all together. I have been a pack a day smoker for about 20 years but all good things must come to an end. So good luck.

eddy
Post by: MR MAC GU on June 22, 2011, 09:27:39 PM
Mate i will join u have been gradually cutting down for a few months and the time has come to pack up all together. I have been a pack a day smoker for about 20 years but all good things must come to an end. So good luck.

eddy

Thanks Eddy.

It will be great to share the achievement with someone. I think if we make it through the first couple of weeks all should be good from there on in.

Are you going to look into the champix tablets. I was going to talk to my doctor about them tomorrow as from all reports they wont hurt the process.

Thanks everyone for the advice and well wishes. Things are looking up. I have not had a smoke tonight and i dont even feel like one, imagine how things will be when i actually start giving up.

My wife is going to ration me to 15 cigarettes per day as from monday and i will give her all my cards so i cant cheat for the first few weeks. I figure if i dont have any money available to me then i cant buy any cigarettes to smoke...lol

Post by: Crazy Dog on June 22, 2011, 10:31:54 PM
Good luck fella's--U can do it..

Grrr!!! :D
Post by: jaycamrie on June 23, 2011, 06:10:01 AM
MR MAC
             hope you succeed i am trying again for the umpteenth time again next week, will go on patches my wife used champix and has not smoked for 18 monthes i lasted 2 weeks ,but i know i can do it for i am over smoking keeps you broke and will kill you eventually and my young son asked the other day if we could swim with the whale sharks he seen on tv. and i started thinking keep smoking and i will never make it so i will try again i have quit once for 6 years why i started again i will never know so good luck  i think keep trying and will succeed
Post by: blackstump on June 23, 2011, 09:10:43 AM
Thanks Eddy.

It will be great to share the achievement with someone. I think if we make it through the first couple of weeks all should be good from there on in.

Are you going to look into the champix tablets. I was going to talk to my doctor about them tomorrow as from all reports they wont hurt the process.

Thanks everyone for the advice and well wishes. Things are looking up. I have not had a smoke tonight and i dont even feel like one, imagine how things will be when i actually start giving up.

My wife is going to ration me to 15 cigarettes per day as from monday and i will give her all my cards so i cant cheat for the first few weeks. I figure if i dont have any money available to me then i cant buy any cigarettes to smoke...lol

if you go the tabs mate, those 15 smokes will last you 3 weeks...I was lucky to be havin 3 for an entire weekend
Post by: Rumpig on June 23, 2011, 09:47:31 AM
.....get up & do something else

some great advice from Hem here Glen.....so next time you feel like a smoke, get off your arse and come around to my place and mow my lawn or wash my fourby for me.....lol
oh and you can pick up that fridge your buying off me also once you pay for it...lol
Post by: MR MAC GU on June 23, 2011, 09:54:15 AM
some great advice from Hem here Glen.....so next time you feel like a smoke, get off your arse and come around to my place and mow my lawn or wash my fourby for me.....lol
oh and you can pick up that fridge your buying off me also once you pay for it...lol

Lol.

I will mow your lawn for a fee...lets say for a 40l engel fridge...lol and you dont wash your fourby so why should I...lmao
Post by: Rumpig on June 23, 2011, 10:00:14 AM
Lol.

I will mow your lawn for a fee...lets say for a 40l engel fridge...lol and you dont wash your fourby so why should I...lmao
need that fridge money for my new tyres, probably just getting 4 new KM2's now regardless if i sell the MTZ's. as for washing the fourby...well it's still dirty from my trip to LCMP and then Sundown Nat. Park  :-[ ;D ;D

good luck with giving up the ciggies mate, the money saved will pay for your fuel bill on our trip later this year.
Post by: MR MAC GU on June 23, 2011, 07:28:45 PM
Ok, today I went and visited the Doc and he prescibed champix tablets. I went to the chemist and picked up the starter kit. Although I believe this time that I have the will power to quit I figure the tablets will make things easier as others have had great sucess with them.

Once again thanks for the support everyone and I will start the Champix tomorrow morning as prescribed to keep on track with my quit date of Monday week.

Post by: Cozzie on June 23, 2011, 07:58:07 PM
Alan Carr - How to quit smoking is a great book with excellent humour...i read it and i stopped i gave it to 3 other friends and they quit aswell......but you must read the whole the book....dont stop halfway!!!I thought at first what a load of tripe but my wife bought me the book....first chapter and i was hooked on quitting

good luck and its easier than you think...the nicotine & your habits will tell you otherwise....just read the book you will see...
I read this same book 15 years ago and have not smoked or even wanted to since, it really worked
hope it works for you what ever way ya go.
Post by: V8100 on June 23, 2011, 09:02:43 PM
Thanks Eddy.

I am going to use the patches at first. I am ready to give up now i never finish a smoke anymore get half way through and think i dont really want it. I think if i can not have the morning ciggie it will help heaps.

cheers eddy
Post by: mystq on June 23, 2011, 10:23:01 PM
Only losers quit!

But yeah it would be good.
Post by: singo-26 on June 23, 2011, 10:28:55 PM
I think if i can not have the morning ciggie it will help heaps.

cheers eddy

Thats a bloody good plan, And it does help.
Post by: Vince on June 23, 2011, 11:35:22 PM
I went for a medical 4 weeks ago for my transit authority application and near crapped myself as to how unfit I was. I since cut down from 30 a day to 12 then to 6 and now to none. I use the same method In gave away drinking (no I don't miss it) use the power of the mind and when you feel the urge to pick up tell yourself "Do I Need This"

I also found exercising a healthy help and in doing so it helped me keep away from the smokes specially from the feeling of the body being rejuvenated, so many pluses here.

Hope you have success   8)
Post by: stepheng on June 24, 2011, 08:13:55 PM
Good on you Mr Mac Gu,

I have been a smoker for over 20 years and in the last seven years, since I have had kids I have given up three times. Once by willpower, once by hypnosysis and once by tablets. The longest period was the tablets - 12 months.

I decided it was time to quit again, for the cost, kids, not a good look as I work in the health industry and cos these days you are seen as a lepor. I have even nearly had a full on fight recently in the street, cos someone thought they had the right to tell me that I stink and am discusting (well they were overweight and should stop going to Krispy Kremes I say!!!)  I have been a staunch advocate for smoking as to be honest I really enjoy the habit and nothing better when having a beer. It really is a nice way to get away from kids, work etc and have a couple of minutes time out.  I also hate the current nanny state attitude which is prevailing in our society, against everything that is bad for you but that is another rant.

Anyway, I used the Champix and started them a couple of weeks ago and havent had a fag for the last week or so. They do work and you still need will power but definantly not as much. Only take them when you have eaten or you will feel sick. I am having trouble sleeping and somenights will be awake to after 1am. I try to take the tablets in the early afternoon, not sure it is making any difference to the lack of sleep though.

Regardless it is worht it and will persist the main reason is I do want to see my kids longer. My Doctors is very good and  used to be a smoker ans is always encouraging me. I will leave these words of wisdown he shared with me" You may not live any longer but it jesus it will feel like it"

Post by: MR MAC GU on June 24, 2011, 08:31:55 PM
The Challenge has begun........................................

Well first day on the Champix today...

No real side effects yet other than a bit of a dry mouth (this may change as the dosage gets stonger)

Although I wasn't planning on cutting back until Monday I have not really felt like smoking much today. I probably only had about 10 or so and mostly while driving.
Post by: Paul Mac on June 24, 2011, 11:49:56 PM
Well done. Taking that first step is enormous but by deciding to take it your over half way there.

Post by: Kman on June 25, 2011, 12:01:21 AM
Well bugger it, I have about a 1/4 of a pack left, have quit for 12 months on patches before (went fishing and took it up again), quit for 3 months on the champix, my experience with those is that eventually the ciggies just taste terrible and you dont want one, so Mr. Mac, I am with you, got some Champix left and will visit DOC for another script Monday, gonna do it. My wife hates kissing me, having kids now (1st, at 14 months old) puts a perspective on caring to live as long as possible. So I am with you, and will set the dates in my calendar......Champix starts tomorrow. Im over it. Thanks for the motivation, look forward to ....er.....working with you????
Post by: jaycamrie on June 27, 2011, 07:55:32 PM
OK MR MAC
 tonights the night patches go on tommorrow i will no longer be a smoker  ???  , at least i hope so good luck to all who take up the challenge espeacially me  ;D
Post by: darrenh on June 27, 2011, 09:04:13 PM
I quit in feb 2010. 2 packs a day for 25 years a stress full job. I focussed on the inconvenience of smoking. Think about it we all still like the taste and the feeling but hate the inconvenience of smoking. The 2nd thing a say to my self everyday is nope not one puff ever
Post by: MR MAC GU on June 28, 2011, 07:18:29 AM
So far so good.

Have cut down by half leading to my quit date on monday.

Having a little trouble sleeping since I started on the Champix.

Cravings are less often and I'm finding it reasonable easy so far.

Post by: Snow on June 28, 2011, 07:29:19 AM
You blokes are champs. Go one up and chuck 'em in the bin today Mac. :cup:

I gave the filthy buggers away cold turkey after 10yrs of smoking and never looked back. You gotta hate them for what they can do to you and your family, while the pockets of an industry that peddles misery and death get lined with your hard earned readies.

A good 'hate on' is a great tool for getting over them.

Post by: Paul Mac on June 28, 2011, 09:53:09 AM
Well done Mac. The sleeping will get better but its something you have to put up with at the moment unfortunately.

The craving sensation will go completely in week 2 then its down to willpower to stop smoking alltogether.

I'm now in my last week of month 3 tablets and whilst every now and then you want to have one I keep telling myself that it will add years to my life.

Keep going mate.
Post by: DannyG on June 28, 2011, 10:24:30 AM
Well done Mac. The sleeping will get better but its something you have to put up with at the moment unfortunately.

The craving sensation will go completely in week 2 then its down to willpower to stop smoking alltogether.

I'm now in my last week of month 3 tablets and whilst every now and then you want to have one I keep telling myself that it will add years to my life.

Keep going mate.

This is exactly my experience. The sleeping does get better, you just have to put up with it for a while. I just kept telling myself it was a small price to pay for a long term gain.

Post by: V8100 on June 28, 2011, 09:24:46 PM
So day 2.  I Thought patches were going well till i realised didnt really have one on it had fallen off.  So i guess maybe it is mind over matter.  Have had around 10 today which is really good about half.
Tommorrow will be better still. '

Eddy
Post by: Kman on June 28, 2011, 09:41:09 PM
I was a day late :-[

Started the Champix today, I do not have a day picked for when I will give up.....I know it will be at least two weeks away....but keen as. 10 points for you Mr. Mac for starting this thread and geeing the few living smokers up a bit.. :cheers:
Post by: achjimmy on June 29, 2011, 06:51:57 PM
good luck all hope you are suscessful.

I have never smoked but after atending the funeral of my boss (and good mate) last week due to lung cancer i want to see all i can kick the habit. 
Post by: fishfinder on June 30, 2011, 08:28:36 AM
dont do it you will kick yourself going through life konwing your a quitter ..... kidding good luck
Post by: Slipus on June 30, 2011, 11:42:52 AM
Just a quick note of support for all the "new" non smokers among us.  Keep being strong  you are nearly there   :cup: :cup:
Post by: boxxy on June 30, 2011, 12:11:45 PM
Good Luck Mr Mac, I have been trying for years to kick this god forsaken habit and like you I just decided to give it another go to quit. I started on the gum last week with the intent of cuttting down gradually and then hopefully giving it up altogether, so I will join you and give it a good hard go mate. I still have one with my morning coffee and I reckon if I can get around that first one, I may just be able to beat it. Currently down to about 6 most days now which is a HUGE improvement on what I have been like lately. I finally decided I want to grow old with my grandchildren so as well as the cost and my health I have something to motivate me.

Anyone else want to join us ???????????????????????????????????

Boxxy
Post by: stepheng on June 30, 2011, 12:39:54 PM
Good luck to you guys. I have not been smoking for about a month now - although had the occasional slip up, ie when having a drink but it is important to start again the next day. I am on the Champix and they help a lot, they certainly take away the cravings and whilst you need some will power, it isn't that hard. The main effect seems to be a loss of sleep but can cope with that for a bit and I don't seem to be tired.

I have struggled with my ciggies addiction for years and whilst I understand psychologically people think it is a good thing to gradually reduce intake so you quit, I am sorry to say you are kidding yourself. Like all addictions, your brain will tell you whatever you want to hear so that you keep smoking, even if at a reduced rate.The brain doesn't care, as long as it gets its hit. No doubt your brain is saying, yes you can quite but lets gradually do it. You end up not quitting and back to were you were and in some instances (happened to me) you smoke more.

You have to bite the bullet and have none, it is very hard - nicotine is one of the hardest drugs to give up, physically and emotionally. It is also easily accessable as well. The physical addiction will last about 2 - 3 days and post that you are nicotine free - including sleeping. To stop smoking you MUST stop smoking for this period, to rid yourself of nicotine. Once the nicotine is gone, the rest is mental. It sucks and is horrible and you may have to avoid some things you don't want to. All my best mates, smoke (trying to quit as well) and I have had to avoid them for the last month - I have not liked this at all - whilst smoking is bad, not having a life is worse but for a short time it is something you may have to do.

Keep it up and I hope you stop BUT please donut go for the reduction method as it wont work and prolongs the agony - you will be constantly cranky cos you want your next hit and you could be like this for weeks or months you need to go straight to withdrawals. You may be cranky, irritable and horid but it will be for a couple of days only. 
Post by: smocky on June 30, 2011, 01:35:13 PM
Good luck to you all. Fortunately I have made it to 41 without smoking (I think it's because I like money so much and have never found smoking to be a worthwhile use of it) but knowing what we now know about smoking, there is more motivation than ever to give them up.

Both of my parents smoked a pack of Winfield reds EACH a day, much of it in the lounge room of the house while we all watched TV. No one really knew the effects !!! But why a teenager would start now, knowing what we know is just beyond me.

Whether your motivation is money or health, great decision and wish there was a way for others to help you.

Post by: MR MAC GU on June 30, 2011, 04:34:19 PM
Well another reasonably sucessful day, even with the stress of end of finicial year...

Feeling strong about this Monday.

Post by: Rumpig on June 30, 2011, 06:28:34 PM

Feeling strong about this Monday.

hey Princess,
how about you give up tomorrow arvo instead of Monday, so i don't have to put up with you smoking around us this weekend  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: MR MAC GU on July 03, 2011, 06:58:28 PM
12 Hours since my last smoke and feeling strong so far...
Post by: xvprado on July 03, 2011, 07:36:03 PM

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Good for you, keep talking to yourself.......if I can go 12, I can go 24, if I can do 24 I can do 48, 48 was good, so I can do a week........................you can do it 8)
Post by: V8100 on July 03, 2011, 08:03:36 PM
well done mate I have fallen off the wagon over weekend, too much alcohol i beleive start again tomorrow.
eddy
Post by: Hairs on July 03, 2011, 08:40:12 PM
Hi guys,
I gave up just over ten years ago. not long after suffering a brain hemorrhage, (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-think001.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php) aneurysm(this Dec 2nd 12 years ago, age 33, I'm 45 now). My eldest was 13 months old and Fysh had no idea that she had fallen pregnant the night before with our second, may explain why she is such a little fighter and strong willed, after that we had number three on the way. I had been smoking since I was 16. I had tried to give up countless times with no success. After my hiccup, I tried Patches, cold turkey until one day I just thought, I'm going to give up, and I did. It wasn't easy and I still miss a smoke with a cuppa, and I do love the smell of fresh Tobacco when a new packet is opened.
Now the Quacks cant say if it was the smoking or all the hits to the head while playing footy or the fights I use to find myself in, who can tell, but smoking is a demon that each smoker has to deal with.
I'm a lucky son of a bitch to be here. And my little girls may have grown up without their dad and Fysh might not of had her husband.
This is my story, and if it helps someone, that's a good thing   ;D
So, my hat goes off to you guys for having a crack at it.
It maybe a hard road, but you wont regret it.
Good onya's for trying.  :cup:

Post by: MR MAC GU on July 04, 2011, 08:30:10 AM
I have passed the 24 hour mark and I am unsure how i'm feeling. Although I don't actually feel like a smoke, I get a little lost at the times that I would normally smoke. The first smoke of the day used to be coffee and a smoke for breakfast which is now coffee and toast but straight after I have the 45 min or so drive to work. Any ideas on how to stop the boredom while driving?

I feel I can keep myself busy enough most of the time but the driving may possibly be my demise and as i head off on a major trip in 2 months time (approx 10000ks in 5 weeks), this would be the first time I have spent hours upon hours in the car without smoking.

Post by: dno on July 04, 2011, 08:46:32 AM
I went coldturkey from 70 aday and recon it all comes down to mental conditioning and will power, you have the hate the things. On long occasions of  boredom i found dry fruit and nuts handy, doesn't taste to bad ether.
Your going OK, every day without one is one day closer to not needing them.
Good luck.
Post by: Black Diamond on July 04, 2011, 09:18:57 AM
I have passed the 24 hour mark and I am unsure how i'm feeling. Although I don't actually feel like a smoke, I get a little lost at the times that I would normally smoke. The first smoke of the day used to be coffee and a smoke for breakfast which is now coffee and toast but straight after I have the 45 min or so drive to work.

Well done mate, keep going  :cheers:

Cheers BD
Post by: MR MAC GU on July 05, 2011, 07:13:51 PM
60 hours and going strong
Post by: gibbo301 on July 05, 2011, 07:26:23 PM
Keep up the good work mate pretty soon you will be saying 60 days  :cup:
Post by: Hairs on July 05, 2011, 09:44:47 PM
60 hours and going strong
Good Stuff
Post by: MR MAC GU on July 07, 2011, 09:49:53 PM
Day 5 and still alive...just  ;D
Post by: singo-26 on July 07, 2011, 09:59:38 PM
Brilliant. Almost a week down. It does get easier as time goes on (says he who gave up for 4 years and then restarted).
Post by: dno on July 07, 2011, 10:22:25 PM
Going well, soon it'll all be a distant memory and you'll be saying yer i used to be a smoker.
Post by: OffRoadDave on July 12, 2011, 02:06:06 PM
Well done folks, the first couple of weeks were painful for me but it gets a lot easier from then on I reckon.  :cup:
Post by: Prado BB on July 12, 2011, 02:36:51 PM
This is inspiring.  Congratulations to those giving it a go.  I gave up 5 mths ago after 20 yrs and it does get easier so keep going.  My advice is; don't beat yourself up over it, it is well worth the effort, believe me.  I love not having to excuse myself when we dine out, sneaking out in the cold, or pull over when driving long distances.  I'm free.........join me. :cup:
Post by: Slipus on July 14, 2011, 12:20:35 PM
Hey Guys,

Still off the smokes ?

Post by: MR MAC GU on July 14, 2011, 12:42:31 PM
Nearly two weeks now... :cheers:
Post by: Hairs on July 14, 2011, 12:47:01 PM

Most excellent stuff, good onya  :cup:

Post by: Paul Mac on July 14, 2011, 01:58:14 PM
Its been just over 4 weeks for me.

Anyone got a smoke?...........lol

;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: singo-26 on July 14, 2011, 02:04:43 PM

Almost time to start counting the rest of your life without them. Well done.    :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: Hairs on July 14, 2011, 02:06:38 PM
Anyone got a smoke?...........lol

Remember the saying?

A smoke for a poke, two for a screw, wonder what a packet will do?

Nah, Keep at it guys. Good stuff. ;D
Post by: dno on July 14, 2011, 03:29:40 PM
That's great to hear. Nothings imposable, just variable degres of difficulty. Are things smelling and tasting better ?
Post by: Slipus on July 14, 2011, 04:33:00 PM
Well Done!!!!!!!!!!!

Keep up the good work

Post by: Bob on July 14, 2011, 05:24:55 PM
Mac, do yourself a favour and get a copy of David Carr's "Easy way to give up smoking".

This book explains why we smoke and debunks every reason we can think of to continue.
I was a 20 a day for 37 years and gave up one afternoon after reading this book; 4 hours and 2 cigs.

I can't think of a good reason to start again, even after more than a few Jimmy's around a camp fire with my smoker mates, I still don't feel the urge or need.

Read it mate, it'll compliment the Champix.
Post by: Rumpig on July 14, 2011, 07:10:05 PM
Are things smelling better ?
nah Glen still smells as bad as he always has  ;) :P :P
Post by: jaycamrie on July 14, 2011, 08:01:14 PM
i think its allen carr
Post by: mada on July 14, 2011, 09:14:07 PM
Good on you all, on the 23rd july it will be 1 year since my last dart, pkt a day smoker i tried several times to stop but always used the old "went out for a few beers excuse" and yep went home with the half a pkt, that was that. , i dont even feel like a ciggie now so keep going guys, its amazing how quick your body starts repairing itself, it does get better, a lot better..
Post by: Bob on July 18, 2011, 07:57:38 PM
i think its allen carr
HeHe! Thanks for the proof read; it is Allen Carr, I stand corrected.
Post by: boxxy on July 19, 2011, 09:12:25 PM
After trying the "cut down gradually" bit it is now "stop altogether stage" - last smoke last Saturday morning and still on the gum and lozenges. Bit like you Glen, don't know how to occupy myself LOL but work keeps me busy, still feel like one at times but just grab another gum and all good for a little while. I used to always have one on the drive to work too Glen, try the gum mate if you don't already use it, helps sometimes.

Have tried many times to give up, am really hoping I can do it this time - 2 weeks Glen eh! great work mate, keep it going

Boxxy
Post by: Bob on July 19, 2011, 11:27:05 PM
The Allen Carr book explains that any nicotine replacement, gum, lozengers etc don't help.

There are two things you're trying to do:

1. Stop the habit of lighting the cigarette and putting it to your mouth; that's the EASY bit, it is just a habit and can be un-learnt.

2. Switching off your brains reliance on the high it gets from nicotine, this is the HARD bit.

The gums etc all have nicotine in them, your brain is still getting its hit, all they are doing is stopping the lighting up habit.
You can do the same using any gum or sweets, yes you'll put on weight, Mr Carr recon's approx 3-4 kilos but you'll stop giving your brain its nicotine hit.
It took me about 4 days to get past the irritable stage, after that it was pretty easy, liquorice allsorts were my drug  :laugh: of choice, I put on 5kgs which I've pretty much lost again after a year.

However you give up, you'll not regret it, we had a visitor to our house the other day and for the first time ever I smelled the stale smoke on her, not pleasant, but hey my sense of smell is returning ;D

Keep at it girls and boys.

Bob.
Post by: campgirls on July 20, 2011, 12:22:38 AM
Just wanted to say "Well done!" to you all!  :cheers:

I have done the on-again-off-again thing since I was a teenager... longest time off the smokes was 6 yrs after having my daughter, (she's nearly 20 now!!) but have been on and off since then.

Currently I am smoking just 'when I have a drink', but sometimes I will have a drink just because I want to have a smoke! (Great logic, huh? ???) I tend to 'binge' when having a few drinks, then not have any for a week or two, then have 2-3 of an evening for a week... I know it's not 'heavy' smoking and I also know that doesn't matter- it's still bad. Like everyone says, you've got to want to give up and I just don't want to yet, even knowing what I know! I know I will have to do it soon... (btw, the wife hates it - she's a clinical nurse specialist on a respiratory ward!!!)

I will do it..... and if I haven't done so beforehand, I'm making my 45th birthday (2014) my ABSOLUTE cut-off point! (You all have permission to remind me of that and hold me to it!)

So keep it up, don't worry if you fall off the wagon, just get back on again the next day and I'll join you there soon!   :laugh:
Post by: sandman on July 20, 2011, 09:15:53 AM
Although I don't actually feel like a smoke, I get a little lost at the times that I would normally smoke.

That was the hardest thing I found when I quit is that smoking was associated with so many things I did. Like when I was doing deliveries I would jump in the truck and light a cigarette while driving around. Even when I was camping a few weeks ago sitting around the campfire with a bottle of port I felt like a cigar, but thankfully no-one brought any :).

Keep it up. I don't miss the taste or the smell, in fact now I get an instant headache if I cop a face full of someone else's smoke. You will never regret it!!  8)
Post by: Hairs on July 20, 2011, 10:24:13 AM
on the 23rd july it will be 1 year since my last dart, pkt a day smoker

Good onya,  ;D
Thats awesome,
And to the rest of you, excellent, stick with it, I know it isn't easy at times, but hey, you'll get there.
Post by: making tracks on July 20, 2011, 08:10:52 PM
Well its been 5 days now but my story is a bit different.I have gone cold turkey but have thrown in a heart attack just for good measure.Pack and a half a day for 25 years which made me 15yo when i started and the scary part is i was 40yo just 5days ago when i had this heart attack.I think theres a message in there for anyone who has read this! The best part is i get to try out life without the ciggies ruling my life and health for once.Good luck to you and any other who decides to quit.
Post by: Hairs on July 20, 2011, 08:18:00 PM
Hi Making Tracks,
Mate, The main thing at this point in time is Ya still here, and you family and mates still have ya.
Well done, keep it up.
Post by: bert56 on July 21, 2011, 06:13:57 AM
I smoked for over 35 years and it wasn't hard to give up. You only need the right motivation.

Bert
Post by: making tracks on July 21, 2011, 07:13:03 AM
Thanks Hairs,it will be a long road ahead but im sure its going to be alot less bumpy.
Post by: Hairs on July 27, 2011, 11:34:54 AM
Hey Making Tracks how ya going?
Nearly been a week now. Hope ya still off them.
Hope the rest of you guys are doing well too, Just thought I pop on in and say "Howzit Going"
Stick with it.
Post by: Mace on July 27, 2011, 11:43:56 AM
12 months today since I ended up at St Vincents Hospital (Melb) after a minor heart scare.  Have had 5 cigarettes since, down from 30 plus a day.  Keep it up guys, you sound like youre over the worst of it.

Remember, reward yourself for giving up.  go out and buy that upgraded or new CT, or buy that winch for the Tug.  Its a way of reminding yourself what youve done/doing and what benifits you get out of it - better health and more disposable $$$$$$$. :cheers:
Post by: Barrabart on July 27, 2011, 12:00:31 PM
Well, first let me say thanks to Mr Mac GU for starting this post, i read it a week or two ago and it's just that little extra motivation i needed.... For the last 2/3 yrs i've been saying to myself i'd chuck the smokes when i turn 40. I've been smoking since i was 17, gave up for a few years when our first child was born, when i was about 23, then just smoked socially up until 3 yrs ago when i started working overseas since working away i'm smoking about a pack every 36hrs, then when i return home for break i go back to just a few a day, as i've never smoked in front of my kids, i think they know i sometimes smoke, but i've just never smoked in front of them....... anyway last Friday night i had a few rumbo's and smokes as the kids were all out for the night....... woke up Sat morning and thought....... bugger it i've had enough of the smokes and haven't had one since, i know it's only 5 days, but if my head keeps in this same head space i reckon i've got the best chance to never go back........  and it's a couple of weeks before i'm 40, so the timimng couldn't be better......

Thanks again.......... and to everyone else........ keep tellin your self your a non smoker, and feel good about that.
Post by: earlybird on July 27, 2011, 12:27:45 PM
You might get a new recruit in the fight to quit with this bloke:

http://www.gladstoneobserver.com.au/story/2011/07/26/light-up-portaloo-blamed-in-explosion-rockhampton/ (http://www.gladstoneobserver.com.au/story/2011/07/26/light-up-portaloo-blamed-in-explosion-rockhampton/)

Sounds like a lot of hard work ahead of him, if he makes it through.
Post by: Rumpig on July 27, 2011, 07:46:39 PM
You might get a new recruit in the fight to quit with this bloke:

http://www.gladstoneobserver.com.au/story/2011/07/26/light-up-portaloo-blamed-in-explosion-rockhampton/ (http://www.gladstoneobserver.com.au/story/2011/07/26/light-up-portaloo-blamed-in-explosion-rockhampton/)

Sounds like a lot of hard work ahead of him, if he makes it through.
something about that accident doesn't add up to me, those toliets are well ventilated as a rule (atleast all the ones i've used on jobsites are), so it makes me wonder if it's not a work prank gone wrong?
Post by: making tracks on July 27, 2011, 09:07:40 PM
Well?, All is good and still smoke free. Had a drink or 2  last Friday and started to come undone so i rushed to the chemist and got me some of those nicabate lozenges. All good and plan to suck on them less week by week and day by day. Not one person has ever said this was going to be easy and trust me it isn't,I'm sticking to my guns and i hope all that have given and all that wish to give up have the ammo to do the same same.  ;D
Post by: making tracks on July 27, 2011, 09:10:31 PM
THE ONLY SMOKE I WANT IS FROM THE CAMP FIRE  ;D
Post by: mystq on July 28, 2011, 05:44:29 AM
Good on you Mr Mac Gu,

I have been a smoker for over 20 years and in the last seven years, since I have had kids I have given up three times. Once by willpower, once by hypnosysis and once by tablets. The longest period was the tablets - 12 months.

I decided it was time to quit again, for the cost, kids, not a good look as I work in the health industry and cos these days you are seen as a lepor. I have even nearly had a full on fight recently in the street, cos someone thought they had the right to tell me that I stink and am discusting (well they were overweight and should stop going to Krispy Kremes I say!!!)  I have been a staunch advocate for smoking as to be honest I really enjoy the habit and nothing better when having a beer. It really is a nice way to get away from kids, work etc and have a couple of minutes time out.  I also hate the current nanny state attitude which is prevailing in our society, against everything that is bad for you but that is another rant.

Anyway, I used the Champix and started them a couple of weeks ago and havent had a fag for the last week or so. They do work and you still need will power but definantly not as much. Only take them when you have eaten or you will feel sick. I am having trouble sleeping and somenights will be awake to after 1am. I try to take the tablets in the early afternoon, not sure it is making any difference to the lack of sleep though.

Regardless it is worht it and will persist the main reason is I do want to see my kids longer. My Doctors is very good and  used to be a smoker ans is always encouraging me. I will leave these words of wisdown he shared with me" You may not live any longer but it jesus it will feel like it"

So true, a Beer and a smoke,,,,,,,,
Post by: watto11 on July 28, 2011, 09:31:03 AM
Hey everyone good luck quitting I support u all in succeeding I quit 4 months ago I believe the only thing that helped me succeed was Champix they definitely work great a word of advice though if they make u sick as they did for me get some medication to stop nausea I had real bad stomach cramps until I got some other pills to stop that but Champix definitely work I'm a huge advocate for them ??. Good luck and I'm with u all 100% u can do it
Post by: MR MAC GU on July 28, 2011, 12:13:22 PM
Coming up to 4 weeks this weekend................................. :cheers:
Post by: boxxy on July 28, 2011, 05:08:48 PM
I am up to 2 weeks smoke free this weekend. The cut down gradually seemed to work for me, cut right down then just did not buy more tobacco. i used the gum to start with and now find the lozenges a little easier to use. Have been using less and less of these each day as I get used to a smoke free life. Hardest part is 1st thing in the moprning and when having a beer but I just keep reminding myself why I am doing this - 1. My health and 2. To live long and enjoy my grand kids.

Week 2 nearly done - now for week 3
Post by: dno on July 28, 2011, 05:50:00 PM
Good to hear you guys are going so well, top effort.
Post by: john c on July 28, 2011, 11:26:32 PM
I gave up about 11 years ago; with the money I save I have got a new 4x4 and camper. A lot better use of hard earned $$$$ Stick with NO Smoking it is worth it in the short and long run. John C :D
Post by: olddigger on July 29, 2011, 12:32:34 AM
Keep going guys . . . no more fags. I gave up nearly 20 years ago (a heart attack is a gentle reminder that the fags are NOT good for you). My wife, unfortunately, still smokes. I bought a pack for her today . . . $15.55. Bloody hell! Cheers, Tony
Post by: MR MAC GU on July 31, 2011, 11:51:45 AM
Made it through my first month... ;D :cup: :cheers:
Post by: listo on July 31, 2011, 07:44:10 PM
Onya mate, good stuff... Giving up is a piece of cake i found, i did it heaps too. Good to hear you're staying off them, you'll feel better for it.
Listo
Post by: Kman on August 01, 2011, 11:48:26 AM
Well done Mr. Mac, I haven't been on for a while to have a post, nothing much to report....but I had my last ciggi (am taking champix) on Monday last week, so far so good. I don't want one, and every time i do I just drink water. Did you know there is a serious lack of public toilets around here?

Anyways, I look forward to saying my 1st month too. Cheers to you. :cup: :cheers:
Post by: bobnrob on August 01, 2011, 12:23:12 PM
Because of this thread, finally started what I'd been putting off.

Started the Champix 12 days ago, & smoke free today.
1/2 way through the day & so far so good. I've thought of it, but no urge...yet :)

Here's hopeing I never catch up to you Kmac & Mr Mac, & everyone else on here who's made a commitment to quit & started :)
Post by: MR MAC GU on August 30, 2011, 06:58:11 AM
Two months and going strong. :cup:

How is everyone else going?
Post by: making tracks on August 30, 2011, 07:21:31 AM
Going strong here,its been 7 weeks ;D Still on the nicabate lollies and good to hear all you guys are doing well also,keep it up :cheers:
Post by: kranky al on August 30, 2011, 08:15:22 AM
i jumped on this good ship 2 weeks ago - still kicking it - keep it up guys
Post by: Big Nath on August 30, 2011, 08:52:07 AM
TOP WORK!!

Congrats to all of you. I to am a reformed smoker.

i used champix tablets.

3 years this year. SWMBO has been putting the extra coin into our "holiday" fund.

I applaud all who are giving it a crack!!

Post by: kranky al on August 30, 2011, 09:00:54 AM
im on the champix as well -- i was ready to give it up after the first week - the insomnia and nightmares were intense - couldnt get to sleep - and then id wake up with a shot of adrenaline at 2-4am with the most vivid nightmares that all involved my old faithful dog being killed in some gruesome way - night after night - so bad that sleep was gone for the night

the first weekend i had a saturday off the pills completely so i could sleep and then started again monday morning - its been fine since and the desire to smoke just left me - monday and tuesday i lit up one ciggy with my morning coffee - then when i lit up a ciggie after that it just tasted like burning rubber and made me gag and a couple of times throw up.  my ash tray was full of one drag butted out remnants.

wednesday i threw the packet out and i havnt looked back.  anyone thinking about it i cant reccomend champix enough - im prone to insomnia anyway so dont let that scare you - but even if you do get it - it seems to go - my flatmate experienced the same as me and it went away for him.   

we are both hitting 2 weeks without a smoke and are doing it easy - ive backed down to one champix per day and i plan on avoiding alcohol for at least 2 months
Post by: Kman on August 30, 2011, 10:05:46 PM
Still going well, has been 7'ish weeks, have lost count, still poplin the pills (champix). Doc said come back for more when this maintenance pack is finished, I failed on champix once before, so I am doing what I am told......feel good, don't miss them, congrats to all for having a go . ;D ;D
Post by: austastar on August 31, 2011, 10:37:28 AM
   Hey congrats guys, it is a hard row to how. I've seen a few rellies and friends go through it with various techniques and success.

I have only ever botted a fag or two at parties as a youth, mostly after I had consumed a few too many drinks, so I fortunately didn't get addicted to the insidious weed.

Don't know why I did it, always felt crap afterwards.

Keep up the good work, and plan special treats for yourselves with the $ you will have in your pockets. It is your reward.

Post by: boxxy on August 31, 2011, 06:44:50 PM
Week 7 nearly done and dusted - use the gum and lozenges and getting less and less of them
Post by: graylyn on September 01, 2011, 08:45:53 AM
Congratulations guys.  I used the patches 10 years ago for 3 months.  I haven't had a cigarette since, and I used to smoke 30 a day.

By the way, how do the smokers afford it these days?  I believe they are nearly $200 a carton of 10 packs.  You could go on a lot of good fishing trips in a year on that sort of moolah.

Keep up the good work.

Graham
Post by: kranky al on September 02, 2011, 12:19:23 AM
first sorta test tonight - a few drinks - was surprised - didnt even feel like one - my housemate has cracked but and is having the odd one here and there and a few with his beers tonight.   just secretly though,  him cracking has made me stronger hehe
Post by: bobnrob on September 03, 2011, 09:48:08 PM
From the 1st Aug - present...still smoke free :)

Well done all you other quitters, & keep it going kranky al

:cup:      :cup:      :cup:      :cup:      :cup:
Post by: gacoxd on September 03, 2011, 10:35:27 PM

wednesday i threw the packet out and i havnt looked back.  anyone thinking about it i cant reccomend champix enough - im prone to insomnia anyway so dont let that scare you - but even if you do get it - it seems to go - my flatmate experienced the same as me and it went away for him.   

we are both hitting 2 weeks without a smoke and are doing it easy - ive backed down to one champix per day and i plan on avoiding alcohol for at least 2 months

Wife and I used Champix and was brilliant. The absolute major difference is that you don't think about not smoking. That was always the worst part of giving up before.  The dreams are a bit whacky and we blued a bit (out of character for us) but it was/is absolutely worth it. We have been off the gaspers for 18 months now.

Keep at it.

Damo

p.s. the taste of red wine, beer, and coffee is absolutely worth it in itself :-)
Post by: kranky al on September 05, 2011, 11:27:16 PM
completely off the champix now - was getting really depressed on it - quite irrationally so - haven't had any since friday and still have absolutely no desire for a ciggy.

DIRTY FILTHY STINKIN HABIT hehe
Post by: watto11 on September 05, 2011, 11:46:02 PM
Well done keep it up guys
Post by: gacoxd on September 06, 2011, 02:50:37 PM
Keep at it mate. You've broken the back of it now. You can go bak to half tablets if you develop the wobbles.
Post by: noel_w on September 06, 2011, 03:05:22 PM
I must applaud you guys as I know how hard it is to give up, not that I have ever been a smoker but my best mate has. I made a bet with him many years ago that he could not give up smoking for at least 3 months, if he won he was going to regain his health, if i won I got his Yammy RD250 (with 350 barrels & pistons). Three weeks later he gave up & relented, I let it slide for a second go & he lasted another two weeks before giving me the RD. End result is he is still smoking & I gained a lot of pain & suffering over the years from the falls I had off bikes. Great fun though & I still miss my cikles. He is still coughing his lungs up.

Keep going guys, it is well worth it.

PS he ended up with my BRNO Model 2 the b@$%^rd, another story..
Post by: dno on September 11, 2011, 06:23:13 PM
Doing well guys, you won't miss the peter jackson jiggle one bit.
Post by: Smithy2 on September 14, 2011, 07:40:19 PM
Awesome work from you all..keep it up. At the age of 28 (many yrs back now) I realised whilst smoking just over a pack a day that I had been smoking half my life.Given up each time I was pregnant and started again within a month of having the kids, social smoked, gave up started again a hundred times. My son came home from school at 6, looked me dead in the eye and said "you are going to die from that". A little later  that day I was heading to the shops for a pkt of smokes when I detoured straight to the chemist for patches and straight home, didn't go to the supermaket incase I was tempted! Used the patches for 3 days, felt as crook as a dog and had the horrid nightmares. Cut back to 1/2 patch for 3 mores days then went the old cold turkey. Rough going some days, was told by many just to have a bloody smoke & stop being such a bitch, all the triggers and temptations took a huge effort to get past, but if you just focus on one at a time, get through it and move on, slowly the days then weeks pass and soon enough 8 yrs on with a heap of health benefits and $$$$$ for more important things and there is no way in hell I'd go back to it...(ask me back then & I'd never thought I would say that). So stick with it one & all, reward yourselves every damn step of the way because you deserve it. Don't give up giving up.
Mrs Smithy2
Post by: fishfinder on September 16, 2011, 09:51:19 AM
I am not going through life knowing I am a quitter so I shall continue to quit smoking because if I quit quitting it still makes me a quitter so end result is it is too late as I now have to live with knowing I am a quitter
Post by: yandiferal on September 20, 2011, 09:05:18 PM
16 weeks tomorrow yay for me lol
$2000 in the pocket (well bank actually) and about $1200 for the wife (well next friday 30thshe will be)hahaha
Keep up the good work people stay strong YOU CAN DO IT you just have to want too :cheers:
O and we bought our first camper on the weekend yay again ;D
Post by: MR MAC GU on October 15, 2011, 08:24:03 AM
Well i am starting to lose track of how long it has been now (I guess that is a good thing).  ;D

I have just returned from my first major trip without the smokes and i thought it would be impossible but i actually found it very easy. Almost 10000ks in 5 weeks with no problems (smoking wise that is).

Even with the stress of breaking down (twice) and having charger problems in the camper the thought of smoking never crossed my mind.

Cheers :cheers:
Post by: Black Diamond on October 15, 2011, 08:52:52 AM
Well i am starting to lose track of how long it has been now (I guess that is a good thing).  ;D

I have just returned from my first major trip without the smokes and i thought it would be impossible but i actually found it very easy. Almost 10000ks in 5 weeks with no problems (smoking wise that is).

Even with the stress of breaking down (twice) and having charger problems in the camper the thought of smoking never crossed my mind.

Cheers :cheers:
Well done mate what a top effort  :cup:
Post by: making tracks on October 15, 2011, 09:21:56 AM
Well done MR MAC GU,nothing like a little stress to test you i say.You passed with flying colors  ;D Doing well here but still on these nicabate lozenge's which is not to bad of thing and its been 12 weeks i think,15 of July anyway and still going strong.Keep up the good work everyone.
Post by: cancan on October 15, 2011, 10:04:29 AM
Well done guys.
had to go to a friends funeral last week, she died of smoking related cancer at 44, You dont realise our short life can be but the hardest part was watching the children at the funeral, was the most moving funeral I have been to and we have another one coming up in the not to distant future, also in her 40's and smoking related but with pre teen children, this will be even harder.
Post by: Heiny on October 15, 2011, 10:43:23 AM
Well done MR MAC GU :cup: I gave up 19 months ago and don't miss it one bit, although I do need to loose some extra kilo's now ;D

bubba :cheers:
Post by: Mace on June 05, 2012, 10:36:32 AM
Firing this thread back up!

I had a relapse late last year, after 18 months of the gaspers.  Just started back on the Champix last weekend. They seem to work well for me if I take them with food and water. 

Had the usual weird dream last night too (no, not that kind of weird).  ;D

Anybody out there giving it a crack at giving up at the moment that wants some support?

Al.

Post by: fuji on June 05, 2012, 02:56:34 PM
Keep it up everyone! I smoked for over 40 years and gave up two years ago. Struggled on our trip last year to the Kimberleys and tried a half dozen but tasted foul. I'm still off them.
Wayne
Post by: jaycamrie on June 05, 2012, 03:01:58 PM
Well done guys my wife had champix has not smoked for 2 years  i am still smoking much to her disgust  :'(
Post by: austastar on June 05, 2012, 03:16:49 PM
Well done guys my wife had champix has not smoked for 2 years  i am still smoking much to her disgust  :'(

   you can do it mate. Put the $$ aside for a treat for yourselves (or some new tools)
Post by: cloakle on June 05, 2012, 03:35:31 PM
have smoked for 31 years, had my last smoke on sunday night, just going cold turkey, but have got the patches from doc, so far so good.
Post by: singo-26 on June 05, 2012, 03:49:05 PM
 I've stopped on Sunday night, been winding down the last couple of weeks, sick of them. A Dale camera is going to be my reward, bit I can already see the bonus of slowing down in my bank account.
Post by: Mace on June 05, 2012, 03:59:59 PM
Looks like three of us at least made the big move on Sunday Night!

Keep it up folks.

Post by: Kangaron on June 05, 2012, 05:57:58 PM
How did I miss this thread.

1st of Feb for me, after 30+ years.
Started with camels, then Chestefield plain and then moved to peter styvo's.

I just stopped. So far so good.
Ron
Post by: bobnrob on June 05, 2012, 06:29:00 PM
2 mths shy of 12 mths...though I've been tempted a couple of times, I reckon I'll hit the 12 mth mark no worries :)

:cup: to those still going, & those've just started  :cheers:
Post by: JGM on June 06, 2012, 07:42:59 PM
Sorry if this is mentioned earlier in the post, but I stopped smoking about 6 years ago after reading a book called " The easy way to stop smoking" by a fella called Allen Carr.
I'd tried all the tricks, patches, low nicotine smokes, gum etc and none of them worked.  Once I had a beer or three I'd get that beautiful smell of smoke (smokers will understand what I mean)  and "just one little puff" turned into full time smoking again.

After reading that book, I stopped about 3 days after, and never even felt like a smoke since, even when having a beer.  I have given it to several other smokers who have also all stopped. I wasn't really trying to give up at the time either, I just run out of stuff to read and one of the mates at work lent it to me, I read it in 2 or 3 days, and stopped a few days later.
 I don't know how it works, cause it's not really telling you anything you didn't already know, but it just works,,gets into your head somehow!

Recommend it highly

JGM
Post by: Snow on June 06, 2012, 07:49:50 PM
Great to see this thread still ticking over. All those trying to give the dreaded nails away and/or are staying off them......Awesome  :cup:

Keep going and don't give in to the filthy things.  :cup: :cup:

Post by: GMac on June 06, 2012, 10:58:43 PM
Just hit 4 weeks after smoking about 25 a day for the best part of 15 years.  Feeling pretty good at the moment too.  Good luck to all who are giving it a shot.  Damn it can be hard!  :cup:

Post by: Wandering Tassie on June 07, 2012, 06:20:31 AM
Thought it was time I told my story, but I do not recommend this method of giving up to anyone.
I have been an on and off smoker most of my life, the last off was at the beginning of April, wasn't feeling well so it was a good time.
In mid April I was diagnosed with lung cancel and booked in for surgery mid May. Before the surgery I had do some more tests to see if it had spread, what type etc. A week before the surgery was due I got the results back and the doctors have changed their mind, and have now cleared me of cancer.
If this type of scare doesn't keep me of them for life nothing will. I can tell you for that period my mind went to some vary dark places and things were not looking very good.
I am not completely in the clear health wise as what they though was a tumor is now an unidentified mass that even the biopsy hasn't identified( more test etc to do).
As the doctors have said, I am not out of the woods but I am out of the jungle. And after some of those dark places my mind has been anything is better than lung cancer.
As one of my mates said, "that's better than winning lotto".
For all those out there struggling I hope this story helps, even though I have been very lucky it does make you realise that it can happen to you not just someone else.

Post by: Hairs on June 07, 2012, 06:33:15 AM
G'day Trevor,
Sheesh, the roller coaster ride of life hey.
Thank you for sharing your story mate.

Amd all those that are struggling with giving up, keep at it, you are all champions  :cup:
Post by: Big Nath on June 07, 2012, 10:30:15 AM
Guys this is awesome!!! i quit near 4 years ago, havent looked back. I used Champix and a heap of support from fam and friends. Yes i still miss them, generally when im on the drink, i reward myself with a small gift every year.

I stand and applaud you all!!
Post by: mayney on June 07, 2012, 11:24:43 AM
Well done to those who have and for those who are trying, keep going, you can do it!
I quit April 22nd 4 years ago, the day I met my fiance!
How I did it was by going cold turkey as I took her camping to Thunder Bay (near Steep Point W.A) for a week and there wasn't a shop in sight for hours so I had no choice either way! I was suprisingly calm the whole time, hardly even thought about them, even while having a beer. I was just happy that my promise to myself that if I ever met the right girl it would be time for me to give up (sad I know) was upheld.
I smoked nearly a pack a day and every time i went to the shop to buy smokes I would spend more money buying other stuff aswell. The money I have saved from not needing to go to the shop and impulse buy is amazing.
All I can offer is keep true to yourself, think about your family and believe that you have the will power to do it, tell your mind that it is strong and you can achieve this.
Food never tasted better, I don't stink and my wallet is heavier, well not after joining this forum...
Keep going everyone, you will be very happy with yourself!

All the best,
Mayney.
Post by: kranky al on September 18, 2012, 06:39:18 PM
im still going strong - havnt even looked at one since i quit = champix is the business - most of the guys i work with smoke and i have no desire whatsoever

unlike many former smokers i enjoy the smell of it though

cant recommend champix enough
Post by: DannyG on September 19, 2012, 01:10:39 AM
im still going strong - havnt even looked at one since i quit = champix is the business - most of the guys i work with smoke and i have no desire whatsoever

unlike many former smokers i enjoy the smell of it though

cant recommend champix enough

I agree. Champix helped my wife and I quit. We are both going strong and dont look like ever turning back :)
Post by: fuji on September 19, 2012, 05:55:07 AM

Well done
I gave up a couple of years ago after 40 years, didnt smoke much, about ten a day. I tried several time and this time I stopped!! Stayed with strong patches only and will power. Stay away from cakes and sweet things, as you will put kilos on. I wish you all the best in your endeavours.

Wayne
Post by: chappo555 on September 19, 2012, 09:05:07 AM
Been just on 10 weeks since the wife and I quit. Plain will power alone.

Long story short the wife had an X ray which showed a shadow on the lungs 10 weeks ago. Turned out to be nothing but scared the Shit out of both of us enough to quit on the spot.

Very hard but getting easier every day.
Post by: Mace on September 19, 2012, 09:10:32 AM
Still off them, went thru the full course of Champix which finished last week.

The livid & strange dreams have stopped now Im not taking them!  I also had to take the first tablet each day @ 5AM as they made me quite nauseaous. Taking them then gave me time to recover in bed before getting up.  The evening tablet was no problem.

They are worth the side effects that you mite experience.

Post by: austastar on September 19, 2012, 11:06:04 AM
  well done on sticking with it. Nicotine is an insidious drug.
You can beat it and reap the health and wealth benefits for the rest of your life.

Post by: Rumpig on September 19, 2012, 04:59:28 PM
well done to those who have managed to keep off the durries....such a shame the original poster in this thread hasn't the same though  ::) ::) i know this because the other week he rocked up at my place and i could smell the ciggie smoke on him immediately.
Post by: kiwipete on September 19, 2012, 07:25:17 PM
Sorry if this is mentioned earlier in the post, but I stopped smoking about 6 years ago after reading a book called " The easy way to stop smoking" by a fella called Allen Carr.
I'd tried all the tricks, patches, low nicotine smokes, gum etc and none of them worked.  Once I had a beer or three I'd get that beautiful smell of smoke (smokers will understand what I mean)  and "just one little puff" turned into full time smoking again.

After reading that book, I stopped about 3 days after, and never even felt like a smoke since, even when having a beer.  I have given it to several other smokers who have also all stopped. I wasn't really trying to give up at the time either, I just run out of stuff to read and one of the mates at work lent it to me, I read it in 2 or 3 days, and stopped a few days later.
 I don't know how it works, cause it's not really telling you anything you didn't already know, but it just works,,gets into your head somehow!

Recommend it highly

JGM

I did the same except I finished reading the book and lit a smoke on the way out of work that afternoon deciding it was the last.  It tasted just like the first smoke I ever had...   never finished it... through it away and have never smoked since and like you it has been a awesome 6 years and never once have I craved a smoke...

BTW I smoked for 30 years before that book...  Love allan carr
Post by: bobnrob on September 19, 2012, 09:04:16 PM
well done to those who have managed to keep off the durries....such a shame the original poster in this thread hasn't the same though  ::) ::) i know this because the other week he rocked up at my place and i could smell the ciggie smoke on him immediately.

Stopped Aug 2011 with the champix. Ashamed to say I had a few 3-4 wks ago  >:(
Haven't had anymore since. The hell I got from the minister scared the bejesus out've me, as well as the low bastard I felt...can't condemn anyone who breaks, I'm one of them that it'll remain continuous battle for  :(
Post by: brickiematt on September 19, 2012, 11:04:35 PM
Well done to all those who have managed to quit. I've been trying for years to give the bastards up, just haven't been too serious about it. Started with the original Zyban tablets (i think they were called that?) but had to throw them away; man they were some serious pills :o Then the cold turkey (several times), patches, lozenges etc.
Now, after nearly 25 years, I'm ready. I really don't enjoy smoking anymore, it tastes like Shit and costs a fortune. I think you need to get into the mindset that you really want to quit, not just to appease others.
So, I've been slowly cutting back, and have set a quit date. We head to Tassie for 2 1/2 weeks tomorrow, and that will be my last hurrah. The moment I step inside the house when we return, I'm giving whatever I have left in the pack to the kids to chuck in the bin. And that's it.
I know it's gonna be hard, but I think the difference is this time I really do want to give them away.
So farewell Mr Peter Jackson. You've been with me through thick and thin, but now it's time to part ;D
Post by: DannyG on September 20, 2012, 10:18:36 AM
Well done to all those who have managed to quit. I've been trying for years to give the bastards up, just haven't been too serious about it. Started with the original Zyban tablets (i think they were called that?) but had to throw them away; man they were some serious pills :o Then the cold turkey (several times), patches, lozenges etc.
Now, after nearly 25 years, I'm ready. I really don't enjoy smoking anymore, it tastes like **** and costs a fortune. I think you need to get into the mindset that you really want to quit, not just to appease others.
So, I've been slowly cutting back, and have set a quit date. We head to Tassie for 2 1/2 weeks tomorrow, and that will be my last hurrah. The moment I step inside the house when we return, I'm giving whatever I have left in the pack to the kids to chuck in the bin. And that's it.
I know it's gonna be hard, but I think the difference is this time I really do want to give them away.
So farewell Mr Peter Jackson. You've been with me through thick and thin, but now it's time to part ;D

You are correct, you have to WANT to give up.

I really wanted to give up, I knew it was my time.

On the other hand my wife didnt have the mindset I had and she was giving up more for me and the kids so she had to struggle through the mental torment of convincing herself she can do with out them.
I would counsel her on a regular basis LOL But once I convinced her than she has gone 1 week she can go 1 month, you have gone a month you can go another etc she has come out the other side unscathed :)

She still craves a smoke though which is normal, it took me 12 months or more to stop feeling like a smoke from time to time. But the best advice i can give is that the cravings disappear as quick as they come so just ignore it as best you can and before you know it your ok and not thinking of it.

Good luck we are so happy we have quit the wicked stuff. 
Post by: wmarsb on September 21, 2012, 07:06:58 PM
good luck mr mac i tried it all over a 5 year period, then i tried hypno a second time. proud to say the last fag was 6 years and 14kg ago. may be chubby but feel great. best of luck and dont give up
Post by: Brett B on September 22, 2012, 09:56:02 AM
Hi everyone

I have given up smoking
Friday a week ago while working away from home I had a heart attack
Its knocked the living day lights out off me
Had 2 stents put in Thursday sent home Friday
Wont be doing anything full on for a while
Still a little bit of with the fairys
Give up if you can Its bloody hard thing to do
Post by: Kangaron on February 01, 2013, 07:57:13 AM
 :cup: to me
One year down.
Post by: oldmate on February 01, 2013, 08:08:41 AM
Wife and I are coming up to 3 years now.
Post by: Wunderlust on February 01, 2013, 07:51:08 PM
1 year 1 month - almost to the day. With the help of Champix. All that extra cash has been spent on the ct!

Never felts better. I pity the few who remain addicted to the weed. No longer have to plan my life around having a fag!
Post by: Top.ender on February 02, 2013, 06:24:50 AM
Smokers ,  dont make the fatal mistake of thinking your giving up anything , because your NOT.....your gaining...Health , Money , Longer Life , Better Quality if Life and the list goes on and on and on... :cheers: :cheers:
p.s if your sruggling try Allan Carrs... :cup: :cup:
Post by: GeoffA on February 02, 2013, 07:06:28 AM
I've never been a smoker......even when it was extremely unfashionable/unsociable to NOT smoke......so I can't offer any personal experience wrt quitting, but from a non-smokers perspective........

.....congrats to all those that have managed to kick it.... :cup: :cup:.......and....

.....to all those that are still trying, or about to start........go for it.........your family deserves it......

Post by: Boxhead 71 on February 02, 2013, 08:10:59 PM
Comin' up 3 years for me.  ;D After 20 odd years of around 25 - 30 a day and god knows how many packs of a weekend playin' with bands in pubs every friday and saturday,  >:(  and half a dozen half-arsed goes at givin' up, i got absolutely sick of the bloody things and just stopped. Never even felt tempted, although sometimes out of habit i'd start patting my pockets after a meal or a drink. Anyway, how's Mr. Mac going?
Post by: oldmate on April 07, 2013, 04:40:26 PM
 GOod on ya box head, just over 3 yrs for me and wife also, unfortunately my mate mr mac is not doing to well with it at present.
Post by: GanG on April 07, 2013, 05:12:38 PM
Miss em every now and then.........but sure am glad I dont smoke now!
Post by: fuji on April 07, 2013, 05:27:44 PM
Three years and 1 month off them.
Post by: speewa158 on April 07, 2013, 06:26:00 PM
2 pack a day man finished the last 14.6 years ago  , just dont start  :cheers:
Post by: kranky al on May 05, 2014, 04:02:11 PM
Coming up for 2.5 years now - give champix a go i have no desire whatsoever any more
Post by: oldmate on May 05, 2014, 06:27:09 PM
Coming up for 2.5 years now - give champix a go i have no desire whatsoever any more

:cup:  good one mate. Wife and myself have just gone over 4yrs :cheers:
Post by: Dingo0163 on May 05, 2014, 06:37:58 PM
After smoking a pack a day for 30 odd years , I haven't had a smoke for 18 months.  :cheers:
Post by: whatsa on May 05, 2014, 06:39:42 PM
Best way i ever gave up was
1 week out in the bush alone
kindest thing you can do for yourself and others ;D >:D
Post by: Terry W4 on May 05, 2014, 06:44:25 PM
I am at about 20 years. And my son works for British American Tobacco - but doesn't smoke either (now).
Post by: muzza01 on May 06, 2014, 12:28:36 PM
Been off the smokes for 20 weeks today. Still think about them.
Post by: Buster3931 on May 06, 2014, 01:06:52 PM
I am at about 20 years. And my son works for British American Tobacco - but doesn't smoke either (now).

Hey terry are bat going offshore ? I had heard they had moved their cheap brands but wondering about their premium variants. I'm about to be affected by their competitors going offshore at Xmas. My job is gone unless some North Korean dictator goes south for a holiday.

Buster
Post by: fishfinder on May 07, 2014, 08:51:47 AM
21 minutes since my last smoke
Post by: oldmate on May 10, 2014, 09:54:25 AM
21 minutes since my last smoke

Well done mate, keep at it and you'll make 25  ;D ;D
Post by: Bird on November 07, 2019, 02:57:57 PM
Quote from: Paul Mac
.I've been on the Champix for 2 months now and haven't felt the craving for several weeks now.

So... in searching for the Champix name for lady at work whose tried 190523095 things to give up (yea yea you really need to want to), dug up this thread

So who gave up ??
Post by: Barrabart on November 07, 2019, 10:00:43 PM
I stopped smoking at the start of July, haven't had one since. I think if u read back at the start of this thread I was keen to stop then, years ago...... anyway, seems I've stopped now. I read the Alan Carr book which helped for me, but mainly smoking was just sending me broke and I was starting to feel the lung effects more and more...... anyway, glad I stopped and good luck to your friend.
Post by: Banjo16 on November 08, 2019, 06:48:35 AM
Champix worked for me although I'm glad the doc didn't tell me about the possibility of side effects.
To me it was a magic bullet because of my lack of willpower.
Title: Smokers...Who wants to join me in quitting[emoji47]
Post by: Pete79 on November 08, 2019, 07:05:53 AM
Hypnosis.

30-40 ciggies a day for almost 20 years and no reason (or want) to quit until I started feeling guilty about my 2 year old daughters following me around when I was trying to hide from them to have a smoke. I had no health issues, no financial issues, just didn’t want my kids to think smoking was OK.

After 1 session of hypnosis about 9 years ago I threw the pack in the bin and never felt like lighting up another one since.

Even in those first few weeks that everyone struggles with I could be having a few beers, standing in the middle of a group of smokers and not for one second feel like I wanted one.
Post by: KeithB on November 08, 2019, 07:20:22 AM
I tried for many years to drop my 25 a day Winfield Blue habit and just couldn't quit. I tried nicotine replacement therapy, hypnosis, Alan Carr's book and even attended the smoking clinic at St Vincent's Hospital. But I always seemed to return to the fags.

Five years ago, I switched to vaping. I am not pretending this is not harmful, but medical authorities in the UK claim that it has only 5% of the risks of smoking. My lungs cleared up. Teeth stayed clean. No more filthy ashtrays or spot fires in the car. No more nasty smoke smells. All at a fraction of the cost of tobacco. I mix my own juices and, over the years, have progressively lowered the nicotine concentration.

Dunno why they don't legalise sale of the nicotine juices here in Australia.

Keith
Post by: chester ver2.0 on November 08, 2019, 07:56:13 AM
Quit 8 years ago
Moved to Melbourne
Watched the tour de france one year
Got inspired and bought a bike
Did my first ride down to St Kilda coughed and nearly died all the way down and back
Came home threw the ciggies in the bin went cold turkey and never looked back

Cold Turkey with a dose of exercise that needs a lot of cardio seemed to work for me
Title: Re: Smokers...Who wants to join me in quitting[emoji47]
Post by: glenm64 on November 08, 2019, 11:09:25 AM
Hypnosis.

After 1 session of hypnosis about 9 years ago I threw the pack in the bin and never felt like lighting up another one since.

Just get impulsive urge to walk around doing chicken impersonations whenever any says the word stop??
Post by: doc evil on November 08, 2019, 11:38:25 AM
Champix worked for me.
Post by: Bird on November 08, 2019, 12:08:58 PM
Champix worked for me.
awesome effort!
Post by: nab on November 08, 2019, 02:44:32 PM
Champix worked for me.

Farkkk, $18k in ~18 months!!!
Post by: Pete79 on November 08, 2019, 02:55:07 PM
Farkkk, $18k in ~18 months!!!

Just did the sums and it's a crazy expensive dirty habit these days..
I was smoking a 40 pack of Peter Jackson's a day on average (a little less during the week, a little more Friday-Sunday).

I haven't looked at cigarette prices in about 9 years, so had to look them up on the interwebs, apparently that 40 pack costs $52.95 today.....    :o
In 18 months that's $26,686.80

I seriously doubt that I would have continued smoking that much with those prices, but I'm sure there's plenty that still do.
Post by: Bird on November 08, 2019, 02:59:45 PM
Quote from: Pete79
I seriously doubt that I would have continued smoking that much with those prices, but I'm sure there's plenty that still do.
have mates who were "IM GIVING UP IF THEY GET TO $5 A PACK".... 30yrs later, still smoking like ****in chimneys.. Some pack a day, some more.... **** knows how they afford it.
Post by: Wazza999 on November 13, 2019, 02:52:57 PM
Geez I must be rich then, I gave up in March 1980,  a packet of 20 a day. No nicotine patches or gum at that time. I found that even after the initial cravings abated a bit, the biggest temptation was smoking OPs, fortunately I found myself around non smokers including the new girlfriend (now wife). Even after the cravings went, it was over two years before the feeling that something was missing from your hand when you were at the pub having a drink, went away.
Post by: lloydus67 on November 14, 2019, 10:54:43 AM
I have give up for approximately 13 years now. I smoked for 26 years approximately 20 a day and always said I can give it up anytime I want, I’m just not a quitter.
You have to actually want to give up, not just feel that you should.
I tried cutting back the number of ciggies, the strength and came to a level I could not get below, 8 x 12mg a day. Lower strengths and I just smoked more.
So I decided I would go with hypnosis. I had the hypnosis and was pretty certain I wasted my money, but being a tight arse Pom, I decided to give it a go anyway. The only 2 things I really got from that meeting was some advice. 1 the first 15 years are the worst, I thought she was joking. I still get the bloody cravings now, but at least they don’t last anymore and are less frequent.
The second part was working out when I most needed a cigarette, for me it was when I was running out of smokes, 3-4 left in the packet and I would chain smoke the lot because I was worried about running out.
I quit cold turkey that day, but I carried a packet of smokes and a lighter with me every where I went for the next 5 years.
I will concede that hypnosis is the subconscious, so maybe it helped. I think willpower, an understanding of you weakest moments and actually wanting to give up are what will get you over the line, not wanting to disappoint someone else would be unlikely to be enough.
Also I saved every cent I would have spent on smokes for the first 6 months or so and bought a brand new weaco 80ltr fridge with the money
Just my 2 cents, good luck to you all.
Lloyd

Post by: Hairs on November 18, 2019, 04:34:15 PM

Some pack a day, some more.... **** knows how they afford it.
I quit about 12 years ago, maybe longer, don't really remember.
I know back then it was a Shit load of coin out my pocket every day.
Our eldest daughter, works in a supermarket, sometimes on the cig only checkout.
In a small town, she knows most people that she deals with, she doesn't understand how they can afford to smoke.

Well done to anyone that can free themselves from the addictive Shit.

Post by: Bird on November 18, 2019, 05:38:48 PM
Quote from: Hairs
I know back then it was a Shit load of coin out my pocket every day.
Discussing with young bloke at work, who smokes rollys... $95 lasts him n missus a week - sometimes... which he said is cheaper than your packet of cancersticks.
I showed him Doc's image up above from Quit, and he freaked out.. he didnt want to know how much!
Post by: shakey55 on November 22, 2019, 09:00:11 AM
Champix worked for me. Haven’t had a smoke for 10 months.

Saved plenty.

Those trying to quit - keep up the good work and well done

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20191121/031bf7e568efb1563d45fe174e075f1c.jpg)

Post by: Hairs on November 22, 2019, 09:45:14 AM
Champion worked for me. Haven’t had a smoke for 10 months.

Saved plenty.

Those trying to quit - keep up the good work and well done

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20191121/031bf7e568efb1563d45fe174e075f1c.jpg)

Well done.
Good onya.
Post by: prodigyrf on November 25, 2019, 09:02:39 AM
As a hardened smoker you never quit smoking you decide to take up non-smoking and I've done that a number of times over the years the longest being 4 years. All it took to end that was sitting in the William Creek pub after a hard day out to Lake Eyre on big trail bikes and the BIL who'd also stopped smoking says- Marlboro country so what about a packet eh? I was back on them like I'd never stopped within a week. Could never fathom those blokes who didn't smoke all week except for a packet out on the tiles on a Saturday night.

Well I'm resigned to the fact that nicotine is my poison but it seems rather quaint now that we ever thought imbibing it via burnt vegetable was a good idea and dope smokers take note. Everybody else is making up those annual per capita booze consumption figures now because that's nothing to do with me and each to their own but I'll share the odd hit of caffeine with you. For 5 years now I've found the compromise in vaping my nicotine. Only took a week for the rattle in the chest and the morning cough to disappear and no fire ash butts or smelling like an ashtray and the sense of smell and taste returned. When I left subsidising the national deficit 5 years ago I was spending $100/week on a couple of packets of rolling baccy and that would be $10/week max now with vaping the strongest ejuice 24mg/ml nicotine.

If nicotine really is your poison check out the vaping community online and down at your local vape shop for the heads up and like the missus GF you might find it very useful too for taking up non-smoking like she did after 12 months vaping. If you are a reformed smoker then understand how vaping is all about harm minimisation for addicts like myself just like AA, light beer, needle exchanges, methadone, drug testing at pop concerts, etc. Well unless you're addicted to excise or earn a living from the moral scold industry of course while hitting the Grange. They do a nice a nice line of non-alcoholic wines if you really want to walk the talk  :cheers:   

Edit: err...burnt vegetable matter