Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 506939 times)

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #250 on: February 09, 2017, 07:34:44 AM »
Pretty much nailed it dead center, Some how when I clicked on that pic the thought " Unsafe at any speed " instantly came to mind   ::)

Offline Moggy

« Reply #251 on: February 09, 2017, 03:09:41 PM »
This was listed in the local fb classifieds

Reasonable price

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

All men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.
T.E. Lawrence

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #252 on: February 11, 2017, 02:13:21 PM »
Well, the coupe went to it's new home today. Didn't think I'd get upset about it but I had goose bumps and felt a bit sad about it. Have a great big hole in my shed now. Oh well, better things are to come.
Cheers, Mike.
2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van

« Reply #253 on: February 11, 2017, 11:52:09 PM »
If you think theres a big hole after only a couple of years owning it, Imagine what it would feel like to say goodbye to something after  30 + years, Not a day goes by that my mate doesnt regret selling the bike he built and rode at Bathurst ..

« Reply #254 on: February 14, 2017, 09:34:23 PM »

« Reply #255 on: February 15, 2017, 07:36:30 AM »
This one should be called Caddy Rat https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xAFaYSUJTS0

« Reply #256 on: February 16, 2017, 11:54:24 AM »
Power to weight aint too bad... ;)

The result was an engine that produced 704 bhp at 8,000 rpm with 535 lbs./ft of torque at 5,550 rpm.
Stock Curb weight 1180 kg (2601 lbs)

http://canepa.com/photo-gallery/1986-ford-rs200-evo5544/

« Reply #257 on: February 16, 2017, 12:34:04 PM »
Have always loved the RS-200, there are some very wild versions around these days far exceeding the original Grp B specs ..
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8dFfMmPJ6vo ..
From memory  it was reported back in the day that Martin Schanche's Rally cross car could hit 0 > 200 k's in just on 4 seconds https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hQJupVFjXac
Also wanted an Escort RS 1700 T   ....
Rally super cars group B vids on youtube  .. This is a great clip of the Audi Quattro https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wdy8CG09rSU
« Last Edit: February 16, 2017, 05:38:09 PM by edz »

« Reply #258 on: February 17, 2017, 10:31:16 AM »
Sold for $240k apparently.

« Reply #259 on: February 17, 2017, 10:50:36 AM »

Offline cardinal28

« Reply #260 on: February 17, 2017, 12:34:39 PM »
Those photos remind me of my old XA GT I had for about 15 years

Growing old is inevitable - growing up is optional.

« Reply #261 on: February 17, 2017, 01:38:55 PM »
Ya gotta love the 70's and the colours they gave us. :cup:

Todays colours, black, black, white, black, silver, white, black, white, silver........repeat x 10,000

Seeing the old Green Is Nice clip reminded me of this.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7tAM5tc1hag

Sitting at the Capalaba drive-in and I deadest got a horn watching that nitrous bottle getting turned on.
I swore, one day, I would run nitrous on a car.
We were sensible of course, as you would expect from me, running either a 250 or 300 shot on stock rods and crack and crossed fingers.

I think it was the crossed fingers that got us over the line too.

« Reply #262 on: February 22, 2017, 06:47:38 AM »
I just had a look at this not quite old, but some clever work though.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HqRQ4qV9cHk

« Reply #263 on: February 25, 2017, 03:16:16 AM »
He does really cool work ol Ron.

The Kombi looks as if its a cartoon toy, even watching it drive, messes with ya head.... well, mine anyway.

I would seriously love to buy the car below for Astrid if I had some money to spare.

https://www.hemmings.com/classifieds/dealer/ford/country_squire/1913484.html

« Reply #265 on: February 28, 2017, 10:42:53 AM »

https://www.shannons.com.au/auctions/2017-shannons-melbourne-late-summer-classic-auction/H3566NTC7CO5R99L/
I was at the auction early on, but left well before this came up. This one had massive interest in the lead up. I think they were estimating 250K. Looked like newish paint, but the interior was all original in mint nick.

The fully restored silver mink 186S HK sold for 92K!

A restored HR Prem covered in Nasco accessories had zero interest and got passed in with 1 bid at about 25K.

« Reply #266 on: February 28, 2017, 01:18:30 PM »
Its hard to fathom some times, the EK Holden did well yet the HR didn't.  ???

« Reply #267 on: February 28, 2017, 01:47:03 PM »
UC Torana going for $7k??? Has the world gone mad?
70k for number plates ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ???

The XP Coupe looks very tidy!

I'm finished (just piss off that scoop)
« Last Edit: February 28, 2017, 01:51:22 PM by Bird »

« Reply #268 on: February 28, 2017, 03:58:11 PM »
Based on the job Shannon's did with the Legends Of Motorsport series etc, I reckon they should do a show on their auctions.

Pick maybe one high end and one average car as slightly larger story portions, then cover the rest with enough time to make a one hour show and the ads etc.

The likes of Autobarn and those sorts of business's would flock to be on during it and IMHO, the viewer coverage would be pretty bloody good.

Would beat the crap out "My Kitchen is Full of Tools", "I'm a Dick, Get Me Out of the Jungle", "Home and Away" and I wish it would stay away, the millionth time that M*A*S*H* has been repeated and the rest of the Shit. 

I did listen to the Lloyds Auction live from the Gold Coast the other day, went alright except for Laurel and Hardy trying to be funny.
Even the wife said what the hell are they on about.

« Reply #269 on: February 28, 2017, 09:47:28 PM »
 ^^^   Arnt those shows on after your supposed to be in bed.. Prime possum and Big Dog wouldnt be happy to find out you young ones are still up at that hour . ;D ;D
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OwLIKWACug4 and https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K-maaIJL-UQ ..

« Reply #270 on: March 01, 2017, 03:24:27 AM »
I might be in bed by then, but I can tape it.

Stuff watching dribble on TV just to watch one show, rather go to bed and make my own reality TV in my noggin.

Handsome gardener, seduced by a naughty MILF.... ha ha ha ha in my dreams.

For the discerning Cadillac owner......

http://www.google.com.au/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=7&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwivjN3DqrPSAhWDGJQKHXUXDZ4QFggvMAY&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.ebay.com%2Fitm%2F63-64-Cadillac-Coupe-Deville-Polished-Stainless-Trim-Beard-Hair-Mustache-Comb-%2F331676758383&usg=AFQjCNH0_uAeuB55TrXUwUahhFLFE81Dbg

More here, make a nice Fathers Day pressie.

http://www.blvdchromb.com/
« Last Edit: March 01, 2017, 04:28:20 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #271 on: March 03, 2017, 01:45:36 PM »
https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1429742113703724&id=1355588237785779

Stupid phone is melting down and won't let me upload pics  >:(
Facebook link to one I finished yesterday.

« Reply #272 on: March 03, 2017, 04:14:18 PM »
Nooooice

« Reply #273 on: March 03, 2017, 10:10:52 PM »
The way to drive and not a computerelectrogizmo in sight .. Not bad for a little RS 1600   ;D ;D O'l Skool   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dnkPegCOD34  Big screen it and Crank up the sound .
« Last Edit: March 03, 2017, 10:38:07 PM by edz »

« Reply #274 on: March 04, 2017, 03:51:27 AM »
This would be very cool to drive to the next "Cars and Coffee" meeting.

https://www.hemmings.com/classifieds/dealer/dodge/coronet/1628363.html

This is a pretty cool clip for lots of reasons....... now behave ya self Bird, no rude comments....  :angel:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M6QAMqB4BQY
« Last Edit: March 04, 2017, 05:14:58 AM by Jeepers Creepers »