Author Topic: 2010 flamingo deposit paid!  (Read 5018 times)

Offline herbs

• Love exploring this great country of ours.
2010 flamingo deposit paid!
« on: August 19, 2012, 09:37:19 PM »
hi all,

Just though id drop my first post to mention we finally bit the bullett and bought a jayco flamingo outback. We had our heart set on a off road trailer but with bubs now born, we decided to go for a bit more comfort for a little less off road ability. Its such a hard decison!! Hopefully for our needs for the new few years the jayco should suit. We figure for the harder stuff we will take tents and leave the jayco somewhere..

We pick it up next saturday and will up load some pics then.

Thanks for all the info posted on this forum to help with our decision

Herbs
2002 Nissan Patrol 4.8, 2012 Lifestyle Extenda Elite.

Re: 2010 flamingo deposit paid!
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2012, 04:35:58 AM »
Congratulations Herb, we love our flamingo.

Here's hoping you have many years of enjoyment

« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2012, 07:35:24 AM »
G'day Herbs,

Congrats on your new addition to your family and well done on your camper.
You'll have many years of great camping ahead of you.
Plenty of great info here to help you setup your camper and there are heaps of Myswaggers with young ones doing the same as you guys.

2010 flamingo deposit paid!
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2012, 07:44:16 AM »
Well done mate and look forward to those pics :cheers:

« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2012, 01:22:21 PM »
You will love it and so will the kids...
Well done and looking forward to the pics

Offline rkwpjv

« Reply #5 on: August 20, 2012, 04:34:27 PM »
Congrats! Cant wait to see the pics!!
Prado 120 T/D Grande + 2010 Jayco Eagle Outback Alpha Pack

« Reply #6 on: August 20, 2012, 07:13:23 PM »
Nice choice of camper...

Offline Ricklanga

« Reply #7 on: August 20, 2012, 08:47:30 PM »
Congratulations Herbs & welcome to My Swag. I'm sure you & your family will love it.

--
Richard.
2004 Pajero Exceed & 2012 Jayco Eagle Outback

It always rains on tents. Rainstorms will travel thousands of miles, against prevailing winds for the opportunity to rain on a tent.

Offline herbs

« Reply #8 on: August 21, 2012, 11:45:20 PM »
Thanks for the welcome everyone! Can't wait till Saturday to pick it up. It will
Be interesting to see how the old 2.8 patrol will go with towing it.

I have already got a list together of mods to the camper list so far
As below
Treg hitch
Battery (none in camper at present)
Stone guard
Elec water tap
Bigger tyres perhaps? Will 265/75/16 fit? Anyone know what size can go to before
major mods?

I'm sure there is more...

Herbs

Offline herbs

« Reply #9 on: August 28, 2012, 10:40:27 PM »
first pics

Offline herbs

« Reply #10 on: August 28, 2012, 10:56:31 PM »
was quite happy that i could fully erect the camper under the pergola

« Reply #11 on: August 29, 2012, 06:52:34 AM »
Looks great.. Wheres the first trip planned for it?

Offline aquadux

• It's great to be outdoors
« Reply #12 on: August 29, 2012, 06:55:51 AM »
congratulations, I'm sure you and the family will have many great holidays

Richard
Toyota Prado diesel
Jayco Discovery

« Reply #13 on: August 29, 2012, 08:28:59 PM »
G'day & Welcome, and congrats on your new camper.

A second battery might be the only thing I'd add to your list, depending on how long you want to stay off the grid. They're cheap these days and you wouldn't want the baby bottles to get warm until you need 'em. Keep a beer beside them to ensure the temperature is just right.

Offline herbs

« Reply #14 on: September 02, 2012, 10:47:03 PM »
Went out to Kingston on Murray caravan park on weekend for first trial run. All as all went well. Still learning the ropes of packing ad unpacking etc. also I discovered that I managed to jam the bottom half of the door with the roof when trying to clip it down. Whoops! I was wondering why the clip on that corner was difficult.

Pics to come

Offline Janbo

• Jayco Eagle - Jeep Cherokee KK
« Reply #15 on: September 03, 2012, 08:24:56 AM »
Looks like a smasher, all the best!!
We are all in the gutter....... But some of us are looking at the stars!!

Offline Ricklanga

« Reply #16 on: September 03, 2012, 06:50:08 PM »
also I discovered that I managed to jam the bottom half of the door with the roof when trying to clip it down. Whoops! I was wondering why the clip on that corner was difficult.

Haha, I'm glad I'm not the only one to do this. I was very cranky & frustrated the first time I packed up because of this. The second time round though I had no problems.

--
Richard.
2004 Pajero Exceed & 2012 Jayco Eagle Outback

It always rains on tents. Rainstorms will travel thousands of miles, against prevailing winds for the opportunity to rain on a tent.

Offline herbs

« Reply #17 on: September 04, 2012, 10:44:16 PM »
first trip

Offline herbs

« Reply #18 on: September 04, 2012, 10:49:35 PM »
set up

« Reply #19 on: September 05, 2012, 03:54:42 PM »
Very nice herbs...

bunyip

« Reply #20 on: September 06, 2012, 09:48:19 AM »
Herbs,

Looks great. Congrats on the new camper.