Poll

Was/Is your experience?

Great
Good
So so
Poor
Pulling teeth was a better experience

Author Topic: NBN. What is your experience so far.  (Read 127640 times)

Re: NBN. What is your experience so far.
« Reply #50 on: August 12, 2017, 08:55:27 AM »
If you don't pay the  bill they might act quickly to pull the plug. 😀

Undoubtedly :D

But if you bought a carton of 30 stubbies, opened it up & there was only 1 in there; or went to the servo to get 100l of juice & they charged you $130 for 100l but you only got 3l out of the bowser, what would you be saying ???

In what way is this different ???

Offline Merts

« Reply #51 on: August 12, 2017, 09:03:50 AM »

But if you bought a carton of 30 stubbies, opened it up & there was only 1 in there; or went to the servo to get 100l of juice & they charged you $130 for 100l but you only got 3l out of the bowser, what would you be saying ???

You have a fair argument, but the difference is when you buy go juice for your car, you don't agree to conditions which say 100 litres is the maximum expected volume you will get, subject to a whole bunch of conditions which are out of the petrol station operators' control.
Towing a a National Campers 'Hermit 10' hybrid with an MQ Triton. Previously towed an Outback Campers 'Sturt' softfloor. (PM me if you want to buy the Sturt!)

Offline rossm

« Reply #52 on: August 12, 2017, 09:19:23 AM »

For one thing when you get ripped off at the servo or the  liquor shop you can deal with it face to face, not after waiting on the phone for an interminable time to speak to someone in a call centre somewhere in Asia.

Offline ATC

« Reply #53 on: August 12, 2017, 08:04:40 PM »
For one thing when you get ripped off at the servo or the  liquor shop you can deal with it face to face, not after waiting on the phone for an interminable time to speak to someone in a call centre somewhere in Asia.
When a servo sells a litre of fuel you know you are getting a litre.
If they dont, then fair trade sort them out....

None of the vague "speeds up to 100mbs" crap, and getting nothing like that

As an example this is on a 100/40 NBN plan, at leadt the upload is very good...

Sent from my SM-T815Y using Tapatalk

Offline rossm

« Reply #54 on: August 12, 2017, 08:51:56 PM »

As an example this is on a 100/40 NBN plan, at leadt the upload is very good...

I guess it comes down to what the contract says. If the contract guarantees a certain speed there might be a case but I suspect given we are dealing with telcos and ISPs nothing will be cast iron.

Offline ATC

« Reply #55 on: August 12, 2017, 08:58:14 PM »
I guess it comes down to what the contract says. If the contract guarantees a certain speed there might be a case but I suspect given we are dealing with telcos and ISPs nothing will be cast iron.
When I called Telstea to add the high speed they did say it will be monitored and if the line can't support the speeds the we'll be moved down and the account credited.

At 40/40 I'm still pretty happy.
30-40 meg upload speed lets me work from home....

Offline rossm

« Reply #56 on: August 12, 2017, 09:04:56 PM »
When I called Telstea to add the high speed they did say it will be monitored and if the line can't support the speeds the we'll be moved down and the account credited.

At 40/40 I'm still pretty happy.
30-40 meg upload speed lets me work from home....

That is good news. I did read something the other day that said in effect that while much of the focus is on downloads people in business were more interested in uploads.

Offline ATC

« Reply #57 on: August 12, 2017, 09:13:56 PM »
Yeah, on adsl2 we were getting 10 down and 0.7 up, on a good day.
Not every day was good.
Couldn't do skype and video calls from home...

With 10+mbs upload this should be a thing of the past.

I've spoken with a few people from NBN,  get the politicians out of the discussion and let them do there job....

« Reply #58 on: August 12, 2017, 09:33:02 PM »
Quote from: ATC
I've spoken with a few people from NBN,  get the politicians out of the discussion and let them do there job....

« Reply #59 on: August 13, 2017, 06:21:00 AM »
Optus 'technician' is booked for Friday morning for the install. Optus owns the lines in our estate and gave everybody 3 months to cut over - nice.

The bloke showed up, put a splitter in the Foxtel cable, powered up the box and buggered off. Half hour later I get the text from Optus saying we were good to go. It is lots faster than our old adsl. We are happy customers.

« Reply #60 on: August 13, 2017, 10:16:01 AM »
You have a fair argument, but the difference is when you buy go juice for your car, you don't agree to conditions which say 100 litres is the maximum expected volume you will get, subject to a whole bunch of conditions which are out of the petrol station operators' control.

You mean to tell me if I buy a Ferrari and don't get to work any quicker in peak hour than the Hyundai I can't sue Ferrari? The Gummint orta make laws against it or give us all Lamborghinis  ;D

Meanwhile back on planet earth lady friend at Marino didn't get her HFC hitched up yesterday as planned (be home between 1 and 5 pm maam). Tech rolled up alright but it seems the original overhead lead in to fascia arm then ran across an existing electrical cable to get to the termination box under the verandah and will need correcting, so he took a pic of the offending problem and left. To be continued...
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

« Reply #61 on: August 13, 2017, 11:28:23 AM »
You mean to tell me if I buy a Ferrari and don't get to work any quicker in peak hour than the Hyundai I can't sue Ferrari? The Gummint orta make laws against it or give us all Lamborghinis  ;D

Meanwhile back on planet earth lady friend at Marino didn't get her HFC hitched up yesterday as planned (be home between 1 and 5 pm maam). Tech rolled up alright but it seems the original overhead lead in to fascia arm then ran across an existing electrical cable to get to the termination box under the verandah and will need correcting, so he took a pic of the offending problem and left. To be continued...

And do you know why he left.  Because he still gets a nice little earner for attending but finding an issue that "he shouldnt fix ".   Once upon a time before all the nbn bullShit started all techs were telstra and the great majority would have worked around the issue as part of their service.  Now telstra are purely after a money grab...same as all the telcos.  I,ll bet you get a letter stating that it is up to you to get a contractor to move the cable!  Seen it happen heaps of time. Private contractors working for telstra and nbn are mostly in the crap side.  I did 30 years until recently and know that greed is the driving force. Quantity over quality and always charge the customer..no matter what. Old school telstra techs are few and far between...these blokes cared about the customer...this does not suit telstras new ideology of money making and so they were either forced out by ridiculous targets, age or redundancy. Telstra deliberately ran the copper service into the ground as it knew it would make more money by7 selling it off and not spending anything on it. Stuff the customer...let nbn sort it when they buy it.  Australia's biggest joke...next to turdbull.

Offline stabicraft

« Reply #62 on: August 13, 2017, 08:09:36 PM »
When I first got it, it was better than ADSL2,
MY ADSL was 5mbs
My brand new NBN was ariund 15mbs.

But 12 months on and Im getting 6mbs

So I complained

You knowvwhat telsrra told me.

" more people are coming on line so it will slow down the service"

So I asked if there was some way to speed it up, they said.

" you can go onto a larger plan or turbo boost your plan"

So there you have it
Once they have you, they gradually reduce you speed until you get annoyed enough to go onto a more expensive plan.

Yhis ongoing corruption and scamming really needs to be stopped.

If its not the grubberment ripping us off, or the gas companies, or the petrol companies or the power companies its the telcos.

No wonder people hate our pollies.

« Reply #63 on: August 13, 2017, 08:54:24 PM »
On ADSL you got it as fast as the copper wire could deliver it to your home.

On NBN, ( assuming you can actually get a fast speed ) you pay extra for any extra speed the line can deliver. Why ?  Because it's another way to charge more for something that should be free, as part of your original package.

Just how we call ourselves a modern country when a place like Somalia gets a better average line speed !!

« Reply #64 on: August 13, 2017, 09:02:51 PM »
On ADSL you got it as fast as the copper wire could deliver it to your home.

On NBN, ( assuming you can actually get a fast speed ) you pay extra for any extra speed the line can deliver. Why ?  Because it's another way to charge more for something that should be free, as part of your original package.

Just how we call ourselves a modern country when a place like Somalia gets a better average line speed !!
I think that's what everyone is getting at.

« Reply #65 on: August 13, 2017, 09:20:10 PM »
We have a winner!!! :cup: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

« Reply #66 on: August 13, 2017, 09:46:43 PM »
MY ADSL was 5mbs

So I complained

You know what telstra told me.

So there you have it
Once they have you, they gradually reduce you speed until you get annoyed enough to go onto a more expensive plan.

Yhis ongoing corruption and scamming really needs to be stopped.

If its not the grubberment ripping us off, or the gas companies, or the petrol companies or the power companies its the telcos.

No wonder people hate our pollies.

I found the problem...

It begins with T

Ends in A

You know you can change ISP, and there is a good chance that you can find one who is more reliable than Telstra are...

« Reply #67 on: August 13, 2017, 10:03:49 PM »
This supports Telstra being the problem - they're charging the NBNCo a fortune to use their infrastructure, which was probably part of the old Australian Telecoms network.

http://www.innovationaus.com/2017/07/30b-NBN-blunder-More-bad-news

« Reply #68 on: August 13, 2017, 10:48:06 PM »
I think the NBN was flawed well before Turnbull got hold of it with Labor donating money to Telstra from the start.  Why do politicians think they can run a business when they can't do their own job. 

« Reply #69 on: August 14, 2017, 01:08:37 AM »
I think the NBN was flawed well before Turnbull got hold of it

It certainly was and the 14 finalist tenderers should have been listened to that Labor's original thought bubble was seriously under-costed and it was left to the current Govt to try and squeeze the released expectations genie back into some semblance of an economic bottle. NBNCo's average connection prices having passed the halfway point are undeniable testimony to that. Then along came Netflix as a complete game-changer and everyone wants to stream movies at the same time, just like peak hour on the roads. Yes you can have a Ferrari capable of thrillseeker speeds but it aint going anywhere faster than a shopping trolley in peak hour.

Netflix, Stan and Foxtel, etc are now streaming services with HD and now 4K rolling out and that's the problem now the price of content has dropped and everyone wants to watch movies at the same time. The only way to ration out congestion is peak pricing and perhaps we'd see a return to the recorder box for many so they can download movies in cheap off peak times and watch them later. Short of that we have to build a massive overkill system that the average family can't afford anyway and the NBN is already struggling to cut costs to be affordable at present.

There's another thing city slickers always needed to get through their thick heads with the vision splendid. This was always a socialised system and as such you were always going to have to stump up to cross subsidise the slowpokes and nopokes out bush. It was never about city slickers dummies and when it was about you and Telstra and Optus rolled out fast HFC cable to the most economic 2.5mill premises in the SE of the country you wouldn't stump up and make it pay, so what chance with 93% of us all in this wide brown land? Truth is this country has become a bunch of whinging whining handout merchants. Got a squirrel wheel on your 4K B grade movie in peak hour possums? Cry me a river descendants of Burke and Wills, et al. 
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

« Reply #70 on: August 14, 2017, 09:25:47 AM »

& that's the thing.

Going back to the carton - if you bought a carton of 30 x 375ml stubbies, got home & found out there was only 24 in there, & only 200ml in each :'(, complained & they said "Too bad, because we say only up to 30 x 375, so no refund or discount", Fair Trading would be up 'em like the proverbial rat :police:

Why is OK for ISP's / NBN Co to rip people off mercilessly ??? >:(

when a place like Somalia gets a better average line speed !!

Mind you, that is the speed to the Presidential Palace, which is the only building in the entire country that actually has internet connected :D >:D

Offline rossm

« Reply #72 on: August 15, 2017, 06:41:25 PM »
Buyer beware. You get what you pay for

http://www.smh.com.au/business/media-and-marketing/if-you-are-only-paying-30-you-are-not-getting-superfast-internet-20170815-gxwek5.html

Some people don't get 12 Mbps, so would be a waste to spend more. And just because you spent more and had 25 or 50 Mbps, why wouldn't the evening "congestion" happen to you as well ?

My NBN has been pretty painless...so far...but my 25 Mbps does NOTHING more than my old 16 Mbps ADSL did !!

« Reply #73 on: August 16, 2017, 07:05:14 AM »
MY ADSL was 5mbs

So I complained

You knowvwhat telsrra told me.

So there you have it

seems like there is a bit of misunderstanding here...

the large plan and 'turbo boost' (telstra speed increase nomenclature) would only be effective if there was no congestion on your line to begin with...  you could originally be on a 25 plan and be capped at 25 (theoretically), but then move up to a 50 plan, which would then be capped at 50, not 25...  this is assuming no congestion.

if you had congestion, then increasing speed on your plan would have little effect.  for example, i am on a 100/40 plan, but normally get about 67, but sometimes this drops to around 50 in peak times (not always, but sometimes).  moving to a '120' plan (if it existed) would have no effect...

the two things being mentioned in the same conversation (speed boost and congestion) is a bit misleading... which doesn't help your situation...

only the ISP purchasing more CVC from NBN for your area would make a real difference to congestion... (as long as the physical infrastructure was in good condition, which if not, would also have a marked effect on performance).  think of purchasing CVC as buying a bigger pipe for internet traffic...

the ISP's having to purchase CVC from the NBN is one of the real reasons that congestion even happens in the first place.  other pricing models around the world don't use this pricing model...

« Reply #74 on: August 16, 2017, 07:09:16 AM »
My NBN has been pretty painless...so far...but my 25 Mbps does NOTHING more than my old 16 Mbps ADSL did !!

maybe not for you and maybe not now, but a move to fibre to replace copper is good for the country as a whole (stuff-ups and mismanagement not withstanding).

for plenty of people (as has been previously mentioned), increased upload speed is a huge boon to small business in particular, something that ADSL never offered in reality.

you are correct in assuming that some people will never notice the difference, and they can get angry if they wish (with some right to, depending on your situation), but in the long term, it will be a good thing, when we eventually get there...