Author Topic: New here seeking info  (Read 5111 times)

Offline Dazzaling

New here seeking info
« on: August 28, 2017, 09:35:21 PM »
Hi everyone my name is Darrin on the gold coast and i'm looking at buying my first camper trailer.
It seems that most of the new soft floor campers for the 7 to 10 k price range are all from china.
i know the all Aussie built ones cost a lot more but around 9 k is my budget. Does any one have any info or recommendations on what would be a good buy.
I have the Mrs, myself and 2 young girls. Have been looking at Emu and Black series campers but there are so many mixed reviews.
i'm ready to buy and anyone's input would be greatly appreciated. Or a good 2nd hand one.
My main requirements are off road and deep cycle batteries. Anything else i need i will add after a few adventures.

Re: New here seeking info
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2017, 10:05:09 PM »
Welcome to myswag.  Good luck in your search for a CT.

The following users thanked this post: Dazzaling

« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2017, 10:34:46 PM »
Shit loads of used trailers around your budget and cheaper with tons of goodies that are Aussie made...

Bargains to be had.

« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2017, 05:28:30 AM »
Gday and welcome mate.

Offline Dazzaling

« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2017, 06:18:36 AM »
Thanks for the welcome.
yes i've noticed a tonne of Aussie made stuff on here and i think that's the way i'll go.
As a hard working Aussie tradie i'm struggling with the idea of buying chinese. Don't think i can do it to myelf.

Offline Watty2975

« Reply #5 on: August 29, 2017, 06:23:25 AM »
We bought a good quality second hand Aussie built trailer. Came with extras and we are going on 6 years of trouble free service ;D

Happy hunting
Landcruiser 200 TTD GXL with a few goodies & campomatic camper

« Reply #6 on: August 29, 2017, 07:55:18 AM »
Hi Darrin, welcome to the forum!

Unfortunately I'm not much help with camper trailers. We've been tent campers for years, now heading for a caravan... Upgrade to a little luxury and all that. ;) Though there was a brief stint where we co-owned a soft floor camper... but it was rubbish!

If I was in your shoes I'd be looking for a second hand job. Heaps of good second hand gear from even the big brands getting around, that should be within your price range.

Good luck! :)

« Reply #7 on: August 29, 2017, 09:01:25 AM »
Where are you mate?  May be able to help with a recommendation.

« Reply #8 on: August 29, 2017, 09:06:58 AM »
Reckon this would suit your needs to a tee.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=52797.0

It's on the Goldy too so local. My last CT was a Trackabout, couldn't fault it.

« Reply #9 on: August 29, 2017, 01:32:01 PM »
Hi ,

I can strongly support noel about the Trackabout range of soft floor camptrailers .

I am a very proud owner of a 2009 Trackabout Delux 4x4 camptrailer , bought it new , flogged the bloody thing along some of the roughest terrain/roads that are in the northern section of Australia and as yet have had only minor repairs/maintenance needed .

Top quality canvas , well built trailer and plenty of room for a family .
The following users thanked this post: noel_w, Dazzaling

Offline Dazzaling

« Reply #10 on: August 29, 2017, 09:46:41 PM »
Thanks every one and yes i do like the track about.
King Billy i'm in robina on the gold coast

« Reply #11 on: August 30, 2017, 07:40:45 AM »
Black Series used to be called GIC, maybe google their reviews to help choose between them and the Emu you are looking at. I have no experience with either brand by the way, so can't give personal experience on them. Have you looked at Mars campers?...i know a few owners that like theirs.

« Reply #12 on: August 30, 2017, 11:24:48 AM »
Hi ,

I can strongly support noel about the Trackabout range of soft floor camptrailers .

I am a very proud owner of a 2009 Trackabout Delux 4x4 camptrailer , bought it new , flogged the bloody thing along some of the roughest terrain/roads that are in the northern section of Australia and as yet have had only minor repairs/maintenance needed .

Top quality canvas , well built trailer and plenty of room for a family .
What he said.

« Reply #13 on: August 30, 2017, 11:37:37 AM »
Welcome Darrin & Family,

The Trackabout would be a good buy, but look around as there will be a lot like that.