Author Topic: Crowdy Head Gathering 24-25 Oct 2009  (Read 131188 times)

Crowdy Head Gathering 24-25 Oct 2009
« on: June 30, 2009, 06:42:15 AM »
I'm organising a forum gathering to the beautiful NSW coast, ad you're all welcome to come along.

Deau, Jervis Bay, Abercrombie, Point Plomer, Crowdy Head:
;D  Bigjules   (1 adult, 1 6yo girl)
 ;D  Gronk   (2 adults)
 ;D  Gunna Do   (2 adults, 2 kids 11 & 14)
 ;D  Laith   (2 adults, 2 kids 10 & 12)
 ;D  Bullfrog   (2 adults, 3 kids 8, 10 & 13)
;D  HEM19X   (2 adults)
:-\  TRUPM   (1 adult, -wife? ? )
:-\  Snow   (2 adults)

Info on Crowdy Head

Put your hand up and meet some other keen camper trailer users. Families, couples, even Kranky Al  8), you're all welcome.
« Last Edit: July 02, 2009, 06:56:15 AM by bigjules »

Re: Crowdy Head Gathering 24-25 Oct 2009
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2009, 07:39:29 AM »
Looking forward to both trips now.  Hopefully there will be no chance of us GUNNA DO'S getting lost, guided by a new GPS of some sort and size. ???

Now if I have this correct, there is no camping at Crowdy Head (caravan parks at Harrington being the closest), however there is a choice in Crowdy Bay National Park, including caravan park type camping (Diamond Head) and wilderness camping at Kylies and Indian Head.

Have I got this right?

Have camped at Diamond Head years ago, which was nice, and have heard good things about Kylies as well as Indian Head.  Can someone in the know give us a bit more info on the last two including proximity to beach etc..

« Last Edit: June 30, 2009, 07:44:43 AM by Gunna Do »

« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2009, 08:12:12 AM »
Laith is a local and has offered to provide more info and possibly some photos.

« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2009, 09:24:34 AM »
Have been to both, and while more vans seem to go to Diamond, it isn't really a van park as such, just a grassed campground, which I don't think is as nice as Kylies, but is closer to the beach.....as in 50m away compared to 2 or 300m for Kylies..
On any given weekend ( except for holidays/long weekends ) Kylies is a lot quieter than Diamond ( except for the Kangas,monitors and occasional Koala )
Bring your own firewood or buy it at Diamond ( was $5 a bag last time I was there...very cheap )

Offline Laith

• Campers are like girlfriends... I like to check out everyone else's
« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2009, 11:06:28 AM »
There are 3 spots to camp at Crowdy Head NP.
Diamond Head, Indian Head & Kylie's.

Diamond head is the more popular (read busy) and is close to the beach and has the rangers hut where you pay fees and buy firewood ect.

Indian is the next one and is a nice grassy clearing with 2 separate lots of pit toilets. (Not sure about shower). Its a fair bush walk from the beach.

Kylie's is next and our favorite. It has 2 lots of pit toilets (one at either end) and the main lot have two cold water showers as well.
As Gronk said its about 200m walk/drive to the beach. 4wd beach access is also available from Kylie's. (although you are supposed to have a council permit).
There are bins for rubbish.
Fees: $5.00 per adult per night, $3.00 per child per night. Minimum site fee of $10. Annual pass or daily vehicle entry fee of $7 also required.
I have a annual pass that cost $21.00 for my car so I don't pay the $7.00 per night fee.

I went for a drive this morning while I was out working at took a few pics of Kylie's. (only with my Phone so excuse the quality).

« Last Edit: June 30, 2009, 11:09:41 AM by Laith »

« Reply #5 on: June 30, 2009, 02:04:14 PM »
Looks like a tuff job you have there Laith, thanks for the pics.

Offline Laith

« Reply #6 on: June 30, 2009, 04:29:03 PM »
lol.. ;D

One of the benefits of being your own boss. (Please don't tell my missus that I said I'm the boss). :-[

« Reply #7 on: June 30, 2009, 07:23:15 PM »
G'day all,
At this stage, we would love to join in & meet some of the Myswag gang. Crowdy is not too far South of us (home being Grafton ). 99% sure of being there, will confirm a bit closer to time. Not sure yet if it will be Mr &  Mrs Bullfrog or us +Tadpoles. Would be great to put faces/ names together. :cheers: Bevan & Judy.
P.S Hey HEM19X, What ya doin' mate , better come along too ;D ;D

Offline TRUPM

« Reply #8 on: June 30, 2009, 07:25:41 PM »
This looks like it would be a great spot to stay, especially for a myswag get together. Unfortunately, it appears the wife will at TAFE that Saturday at Macksville, so that will count us out. Our calendar is free the following weekend......Might even just have to make a day trip down and come and say Gday and check the place out as its not far from us.
Holden Rodeo 3.0 TDi work/play ute with Coolabah Camper

« Reply #9 on: June 30, 2009, 07:45:24 PM »
Your names are on the list now, so you'll have to turn up.

« Reply #10 on: July 01, 2009, 08:18:36 PM »
bigjules,

Count the Hem's in... sound's like a plan - would be great to meet the gang.

I'm sure more detail will emerge.

Mark & Kate

« Reply #11 on: July 01, 2009, 10:45:41 PM »
Howdy
 Of the group going to Crowdy Hd, who will have kids along for the trip? We have 3 girls(13,10,8 yrs), just wondering if any other kids will be there. :cheers: Bevan & Judy.

Offline Laith

« Reply #12 on: July 01, 2009, 10:48:42 PM »
I have a 12y old daughter and a 10y old son.

I'm hoping they have some company as well.

« Reply #13 on: July 01, 2009, 11:06:36 PM »
My son (14yrs) and daughter (12yrs) will be with us as usual.

« Reply #14 on: July 02, 2009, 06:15:35 AM »
I've got a 6yo girl.

Wanting to go camping with others who have children is one of the things that brought us to myswag, as all our friends kids are infants or teens.

The kids all had a good time at the Lostock Dam gathering.

« Reply #15 on: July 02, 2009, 09:24:04 AM »
I used to have kids ( now they are adults ) and it's amazing how quick kids will meet and bond together.....all that prejudice and stuff comes later..

Offline Laith

« Reply #16 on: July 02, 2009, 09:42:03 AM »
Except with brothers and sisters (well my 2 anyway). Mine bicker more than bond  :'(

With other kids though your on the money Gronk.

« Reply #17 on: July 02, 2009, 10:28:51 AM »
Except with brothers and sisters (well my 2 anyway). Mine bicker more than bond  :'(

With other kids though your on the money Gronk.

Ha ha....I think brothers and sisters are taught to hate each others guts....it used to fun when travelling in the car !!!!!   These days are a bit easier since the invention of that great travel device.....in car DVD players... ;D

Offline NewcastleKnight

« Reply #18 on: July 02, 2009, 11:12:07 AM »
I am a maybe on this trip, if my wife can sort her roster out we will be there.  I will definately have one child 12 year old girl and perhaps one cranky, somewhat attitudnal 15 year old female adolescent may choose to grace us with her prescence.  

« Reply #19 on: July 02, 2009, 11:22:44 AM »
Ha ha....I think brothers and sisters are taught to hate each others guts....it used to fun when travelling in the car !!!!! 

I can still hear it, only 40km into a 200km trip; "Mum, he's looking out my window, tell him to stop it".

Grrrr!

But hey, the other day they shouted us out to lunch, so perhaps it is all worth it.

« Reply #20 on: July 02, 2009, 11:30:10 AM »
Attendees so far:
;D  Bigjules (1 adult, 1 6yo girl)
;D  Gronk (2 adults)
;D  Gunna Do (2 adults, 2 kids 11 & 14)
;D  Laith (2 adults, 2 kids 10 & 12)
;D  Bullfrog (2 adults, 3 kids 8, 10 & 13)
;D  HEM19X (2 adults)
:-\  NewcastleKnight (2 adults, 2 kids 12 & 15)
;D  TRUPM (2 adults, 2 kids 3 & 1)
:-\  Snow (2 adults)
;D  Barnray (2 adults)
:-\  BlueBravo (2 adults)
:-\  Goldy
;D  Darren (2 adults, 2 kids 6 & 9)

« Last Edit: July 05, 2009, 10:38:15 AM by bigjules »

Offline TRUPM

« Reply #21 on: July 02, 2009, 06:33:55 PM »
Regards to kids, we have 2 - Rhys 3 and Madayln 1 + the wife. Put us down, but we will be down late on Saturday arvo, so everyone will just have to help us set up  :cheers: so we can crack a coldie and get to meet everyone and the kids can play. This looks like it is going to be a good turnout.  :cup:
Holden Rodeo 3.0 TDi work/play ute with Coolabah Camper

« Reply #22 on: July 02, 2009, 08:20:08 PM »
Ahh, the joy of it...Hems, Gronks & Snows having a nice peaceful weekend with everybody else's "Billy Lids" running amok.... only kidding guys..the Tadpoles call me "Uncle Arthur".

Looking Forward to it.

Offline Goldy

• TMCC
« Reply #23 on: July 02, 2009, 08:52:16 PM »
Not sure what we are doing next Saturday let alone in October, but that is a top spot for a get together.

The shack may need an outing by then, nice and handy for us too.
05X53d & Goldstream Storm
http://myswag.org/gallery/v/camper+trailer/
http://tareemcc.wordpress.com/

Offline barnray

• "The Road to my Horizon"
  • The Start Of My Trailer
« Reply #24 on: July 02, 2009, 08:59:35 PM »
javascript:void(0);This is a first pls put us on the list Barnray and Better Half. Barnary