Author Topic: NSW Fires  (Read 94495 times)

NSW Fires
« on: January 08, 2013, 01:02:14 PM »
Cooma area, Tarcutta, Bega area and more :(

So the Hume will be cut if Tarcutta is under threat, and chances are the coast will be cut, and then down thru the mountains will be under threat... :(

Hope all are safe.

SOARING temperatures and powerful winds fuelled major bushfires in southern NSW today, fulfilling fears that the state was facing one of its worst fire-risk days on record. 

Homes were under threat as up to 90 per cent of NSW was declared in severe danger, with conditions deemed “catastrophic” in some areas.

More than 100 fires were burning across the state, 20 of which remained uncontained, with thousands of firefighters in the field and thousands more on standby.

The worst blazes were near Cooma in southern NSW and near Bega on the NSW south coast.

The NSW Rural Fire Service (RFS) advised residents of about 10 properties around Mount Forest Road in the Cooma-Monaro area to take shelter in their homes as the fire approached bcause it was too late to leave.

The same blaze was threatening about 20 homes in the Kybeyan valley, with firefighters battling to protect properties.

Another fire has broken out on the south coast near Bega and is expected to affect isolated properties north of Eagles Nest Road.

An emergency warning was also issued for the township of Tarcutta, in southwest NSW.

The RFS said the fire front was about 3km from properties shortly before 1pm, and Tarcutta residents were being urged to “shelter in place” as it approached.

Firecrews and water bombers were also scrambling to put out a grass fire as strong winds pushed it towards the NSW Riverina village of Oura, east of Wagga Wagga.

Rural Fire Service officer Lesley Lemon said the fire was only a couple of kilometres away from homes.

NSW Emergency Services Minister Mike Gallagher said the extreme weather - predicted to create one of the worst fire danger days in NSW history - was now “starting to play out”.

“There was a hope that something would abate this weather condition as it moves across NSW, but the fact is that it has not,” he told reporters in Sydney.

“We are being confronted with a situation where up to three areas are deemed to be at catastrophic in terms of the fire conditions, with 90 per cent of NSW being deemed to be severe or higher.

“The far western and far south coast areas of the state have a fire danger of severe, and the rest of NSW will be at the high level.”

People living in Shoalhaven, the Illawarra and the southern ranges face the most risk.

Along NSW's south coast temperatures rose this morning by an average of two degrees every 30 minutes.

In the town of Bega, the temperature rose almost 15 degrees in an hour, going from 23 degrees at 8am (AEDT) to 37.8 degrees at 9am.

Bega then became the first town in the state to hit 40 degrees, which it did at 11.30am (AEDT).

“It's never been that hot, that early, in Bega,” said Julie Evans, from the Bureau of Meteorology (BoM).

Sydney temperatures trailed the rest of the state but were expected to peak at 43C in the afternoon, and hover around the 30 degree mark for most of the evening before a change tomorrow morning.

“Ahead of the cool change, quite warm and very gusty wind conditions are expected,” said Ms Evans.

All NSW national parks, reserves and state forests are closed to the public due to the fire risk.

The ACT also has imposed a total fire ban as fire fighters mop up a forest fire burning in the territory's south.

NSW Rural Fire Service Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons said it was shaping up to be a long day for the thousands of firefighters in NSW.

“Right across the state we are seeing fires breaching some of their containment lines, and we've also got fire agencies identifying new fires that are starting up under these hot, dry conditions,” he told reporters.

“We've got a lot of daylight left and a lot of nighttime left under these conditions.

“The front that's moving through NSW is not expected to pass through some of our worst areas until much later tonight.”

Sydneysiders would experience extremely hot conditions until after midnight, he said.
http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/nation/nsw-braces-for-horror-bushfire-threat/story-e6frg6nf-1226549351466

More here
http://www.smh.com.au/environment/weather/cooma-fire-spreading-by-square-metres-by-the-minute-20130108-2cdxl.html
« Last Edit: January 08, 2013, 01:11:40 PM by Lost »

Re: NSW Fires
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2013, 01:20:31 PM »
Yup, the Hume is now closed...

« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2013, 01:36:06 PM »
It is getting worse by the minute, I only hope the firies can get them under control quickly.  The one at Narrandera might cut the Sturt Hwy.

« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2013, 01:39:46 PM »
The RFS website is struggling to cope with the hits it's receiving.
They've ask for people that have access to FB to monitor their FB page for updates will be posted there as well.
NSW Rural Fire Service FB page
State overview at 1410:

124 incidents being fought by 1126 firefighters, backed by 340 trucks and 63 aircraft. 53989.59 hectares has been burnt.

In some great work by NSW RFS firefighters, we have not lost one home.

Thanks to everyone for their hard work.
« Last Edit: January 08, 2013, 01:42:49 PM by Hairs »

Offline aanda69

« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2013, 01:40:00 PM »
I am heading to Eden from Melbounre on Friday for a week camping with the kids. Do people up that way think we should be ok or should I look at cancelling.

« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2013, 01:40:03 PM »
NSW Rural Fire Service
State overview at 1410:

124 incidents being fought by 1126 firefighters, backed by 340 trucks and 63 aircraft. 53989.59 hectares has been burnt.

In some great work by NSW RFS firefighters, we have not lost one home.

Thanks to everyone for their hard work.

Offline ozbogwam

NSW Fires
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2013, 02:18:12 PM »
Glad we got out of the Bega area on Saturday. We missed a bushfire at Cann River on the way up just before Xmas too.

« Reply #8 on: January 08, 2013, 02:31:55 PM »
Quote from: aanda69
I am heading to Eden from Melbounre on Friday for a week camping with the kids. Do people up that way think we should be ok or should I look at cancelling.
I would consider a plan B incase..
But its only Tuesday at moment, chances are you'll have plenty of black ash and dirt to camp in where the fire went through.

www.rfs.nsw.gov.au/dsp_content.cfm?cat_id=683

« Reply #9 on: January 08, 2013, 02:38:24 PM »
The RFS website is struggling to cope with the hits it's receiving.
They've ask for people that have access to FB to monitor their FB page for updates will be posted there as well.
NSW Rural Fire Service FB page

And to acess the FB page you have to sign up! How fcuked is that. I hate FB with a passion.

« Reply #10 on: January 08, 2013, 02:47:27 PM »
Quote from: achjimmy
And to acess the FB page you have to sign up! How fcuked is that. I hate FB with a passion.
I'm with you on that.

I did manage to see this off the main page before it demands you sign up
EMERGENCY WARNING:
Mates Gully, Tarcutta (Wagga)
The township of Tarcutta is currently being impacted by fire. Shelter in place
and

EMERGENCY WARNING
#Warrigal Range (Bega)
http://ow.ly/gCnl4
leave now if the path is clear and relocate to Bega township. #NSW RFS
« Last Edit: January 08, 2013, 02:51:19 PM by Lost »

« Reply #11 on: January 08, 2013, 02:59:09 PM »
Seriously guys, why blow up about FB.

Offline eman

« Reply #12 on: January 08, 2013, 03:00:22 PM »
The twitter page might be useful for those who don't have FB

https://twitter.com/NSWRFS

« Reply #13 on: January 08, 2013, 03:15:18 PM »
deleted
« Last Edit: January 08, 2013, 04:37:35 PM by Mace »

« Reply #14 on: January 08, 2013, 03:23:47 PM »
Watch and Act - Ryan Road Fire, Munyabla (Lockhart) 08/01/13 16:20
Posted: 08/01/2013
Firefighters have contained  the fire burning near Ryan Road, Munyabla.

Current Situation

The fire has been brought under control and the threat to the township of Henty has eased. A reduction in wind speed and temperature has helped firefighters to contain this fire.

The fire came within 5km of the Henty township. No property or stock losses have been reported at this stage.

« Reply #15 on: January 08, 2013, 03:25:08 PM »
deleted
« Last Edit: January 08, 2013, 04:37:06 PM by Mace »

« Reply #16 on: January 08, 2013, 03:34:21 PM »
deleted
« Last Edit: January 08, 2013, 04:36:44 PM by Mace »

« Reply #17 on: January 08, 2013, 03:36:40 PM »
G'day Mace,
That's very good of you to cut & paste the information here.  :cheers:
I guess it shows how under prepared people are in these situations that the traffic that the RFS's servers have had to cope with people trying to get information has caused difficulty accessing the site.
In NSW there are some 140 fires atm and 40 are out of control.
In the past two hours 3 fires have been reported on top of the 5 already in the Clarence Valley Councils area alone.
And we don't have the heat or the winds at the moment that the southern areas of the state have experienced.
« Last Edit: January 08, 2013, 03:41:08 PM by Hairs »

« Reply #18 on: January 08, 2013, 03:42:15 PM »
deleted

« Last Edit: January 08, 2013, 04:36:14 PM by Mace »

« Reply #19 on: January 08, 2013, 03:43:54 PM »
No worries Hairs.

Imagine of you were/are on dial up in a rural area?   ???

« Reply #20 on: January 08, 2013, 03:44:54 PM »
Im surprised theres none from the Shire to Nowra, or Blue Mtns..

No doubt the Grays Pt team will be out and about again.
if you see these boys around, you are in good hands.
Wayne the Capt, and Kempy. Both have 20+yrs up their sleeves. Great crew.  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

http://www.grayspoint.rfsa.org.au/photos.htm

careful of Sig, like me he has a rooted leg :D
« Last Edit: January 08, 2013, 03:52:01 PM by Lost »

« Reply #21 on: January 08, 2013, 03:47:52 PM »
deleted
« Last Edit: January 08, 2013, 04:35:54 PM by Mace »

« Reply #22 on: January 08, 2013, 03:48:19 PM »
No worries Hairs.

Imagine of you were/are on dial up in a rural area?   ???
Yeah, It would be scarey stuff.

« Reply #23 on: January 08, 2013, 04:35:22 PM »
deleted
« Last Edit: January 08, 2013, 05:34:45 PM by Mace »

« Reply #24 on: January 08, 2013, 05:35:06 PM »
deleted
« Last Edit: January 08, 2013, 06:34:15 PM by Mace »