Author Topic: Show us your bike (bicycle)  (Read 488865 times)

Re: Show us your bike (bicycle)
« Reply #1550 on: February 21, 2020, 09:00:05 PM »
Interesting angle on the levers. ;)

« Reply #1551 on: February 22, 2020, 05:44:21 AM »
Interesting angle on the levers. ;)

It actually works quite well on a gravel bike. It wouldn't be 'aero' enough on a roadie :)

The following users thanked this post: Foo

« Reply #1552 on: February 23, 2020, 03:00:26 PM »
N+1 rule continues.

I added a Giant Fathom to the fold. The Aldi bike was a ripper for the dollars but was only a medium and Iam 6’1” . Loving the hydraulic brakes, tapered headstock and air forks  ;D

« Reply #1553 on: February 23, 2020, 03:29:37 PM »
N+1 rule continues.

I added a Giant Fathom to the fold. The Aldi bike was a ripper for the dollars but was only a medium and Iam 6’1” . Loving the hydraulic brakes, tapered headstock and air forks  ;D

Nice, I can't quite make out the valve stems they look like tubeless stems. If they are good, if they're not go tubeless, better ride and easier to maintain.

« Reply #1554 on: February 23, 2020, 06:06:56 PM »
Nice, I can't quite make out the valve stems they look like tubeless stems. If they are good, if they're not go tubeless, better ride and easier to maintain.

Yeah Jamie tubeless  :cheers:

« Reply #1555 on: February 23, 2020, 06:09:39 PM »
Yeah Jamie tubeless  :cheers:

Seat looks low, what's your inseam and seat height atm?

« Reply #1556 on: February 25, 2020, 10:31:57 AM »

Seat looks low, what's your inseam and seat height atm?

That’s when I bought it , seats been moved up since then . Though “seat “ is a moot word! the giant Seat  is going to get thrown out and replaced @#$&ing crazy uncomfortable.

Offline A-frame81

« Reply #1557 on: February 25, 2020, 11:18:36 AM »
That’s when I bought it , seats been moved up since then . Though “seat “ is a moot word! the giant Seat  is going to get thrown out and replaced @#$&ing crazy uncomfortable.

Saddles are a funny thing though. The stock Giant saddle on my Trance is the best one I've ever had, though I think it's a copy of a Fizik design from memory. I've been trawling the budget bins in every bike shop I visit to try and find another like it.

« Reply #1558 on: February 26, 2020, 08:04:01 AM »
I have three ISM seats on my main bikes and looking to purchase another two for my other main rides.  ;D

« Last Edit: February 26, 2020, 08:06:02 AM by Foo »

« Reply #1559 on: February 26, 2020, 02:43:59 PM »
Sorted the spare wheel/tyre storage, inspiration from Seth's latest Berm Peak Express storage video.

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #1560 on: February 26, 2020, 03:54:44 PM »
Sorted the spare wheel/tyre storage, inspiration from Seth's latest Berm Peak Express storage video.

Nice!!  He's on my YouTube watch list as well!

Is that cornice straight?? ;)

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #1561 on: February 26, 2020, 04:18:16 PM »
Is that cornice straight?? ;)

Nope, all the corners have dropped again, it's the 10 year old garage plaster drop. Next time I'm going to use timber trim and fix it to the bricks instead of cornice.

« Reply #1562 on: April 02, 2020, 06:59:29 PM »

The following users thanked this post: cruza driver, Spada, Gandalf the White

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #1563 on: April 04, 2020, 07:55:45 AM »
Aldi MTB on sale this weekend, $100 more expensive than last year, but 1x and hydro brakes are worthwhile upgrades.
https://www.aldi.com.au/en/special-buys/special-buys-sat-4-april/saturday-detail-wk14/ps/p/29-premium-adult-mountain-bike/
https://www.ambmag.com.au/gallery/we-test-the-aldi-premium-29er-mountain-bike-529075
Going down to get Wifey a medium one today. I mentioned I might get another one for myself but was reminded I've not long got My Trek Roscoe 8 probably don't really need another bike. The N+1 rule means nothing to her.  Anyway, she will only be riding it around town with the kids and myself so it will do everything she needs it to do. What I am thinking though, is to swap the Deore 1x from the Aldi bike onto my boys Trek Marlin 7. Wifey won't get any benefit from running around with a nice Deore drivetrain but my boy will when we are up in the bush. Much better spread of gears with the Deore set than the 2x9 Acera/Altus that's currently on his Trek(which I think is a Shitty drivetrain on a $800+ bike).
Hopefully they have stock as Aldi website mentions they might not have them due to Corona.
Wish me luck
Cheers, Mike.
2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van

« Reply #1564 on: April 04, 2020, 08:28:43 AM »
Aldi MTB on sale this weekend, $100 more expensive than last year, but 1x and hydro brakes are worthwhile upgrades.
https://www.aldi.com.au/en/special-buys/special-buys-sat-4-april/saturday-detail-wk14/ps/p/29-premium-adult-mountain-bike/
https://www.ambmag.com.au/gallery/we-test-the-aldi-premium-29er-mountain-bike-529075

I thought they had the hydraulic brakes last year as well ?

Going down to get Wifey a medium one today. I mentioned I might get another one for myself but was reminded I've not long got My Trek Roscoe 8 probably don't really need another bike. The N+1 rule means nothing to her.  Anyway, she will only be riding it around town with the kids and myself so it will do everything she needs it to do. What I am thinking though, is to swap the Deore 1x from the Aldi bike onto my boys Trek Marlin 7. Wifey won't get any benefit from running around with a nice Deore drivetrain but my boy will when we are up in the bush. Much better spread of gears with the Deore set than the 2x9 Acera/Altus that's currently on his Trek(which I think is a Shitty drivetrain on a $800+ bike).
Hopefully they have stock as Aldi website mentions they might not have them due to Corona.
Wish me luck
Cheers, Mike.

Good luck .bikes are really selling well atm so be quick.

I’ve still got  the earlier aldi MTB , it’s our spare and been ridden by all and sundry incl a few visitors who ride a bit. Been faultless and the comments about it are always positive !

« Reply #1565 on: April 04, 2020, 08:29:18 AM »
Wish me luck
Cheers, Mike.

Good plan and good luck, last year there were heaps left a few days later, this year I doubt it as everybody has taken up bike riding at the moment.

I'm tempted to get one, just because N+1  >:D

« Reply #1566 on: April 04, 2020, 08:33:43 AM »
Off topic BUT,
Could advise me on the N+1 quote Please?
;)

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

« Reply #1567 on: April 04, 2020, 08:39:28 AM »
Off topic BUT,
Could advise me on the N+1 quote Please?

The number of bikes you have vs. the number of bikes you need = N+1 :)

« Reply #1568 on: April 04, 2020, 09:27:18 AM »
Quick heads up for the tubeless guys.
I have been running the green car tyre slime that you can buy from BCF etc for about $17 a bottle, for the past 8 months on the MTB. So far so good apart from the valve unlocking thread always ending up stuck. I would assume this is the case with any brand, and no big deal.
In the good old USA there are multiple variations of slime, and the way they describe their bicycle tyre slime is "peppermint with little choc chips", and that is precisely what our Australian version for all tubeless tyres looks like so I took the punt - so far so good. I'm pretty confident it is the same stuff, not exactly rocket science.
I hope this saves somebody some coin.
The following users thanked this post: achjimmy

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #1569 on: April 04, 2020, 11:05:26 AM »
Raced down this morning and grabbed a medium. Home, assembled, test ridden and brakes bedded in. Gears were nice and quiet straight out the box. Shifts great. 99% certain that the Deore stuff will end up on the boys Trek. Brakes have bedded in nicely . It will certainly be enough bike for what she is going to use it for. All in all pretty happy with it. Biggest gripe.................the very bland, non existent colour scheme.
Cheers, Mike.
2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

« Reply #1570 on: April 04, 2020, 12:05:29 PM »
Biggest gripe.................the very bland, non existent colour scheme.

Well done! I like the ninja stealth, doesn't scream Aldi bike :)

« Reply #1571 on: April 04, 2020, 02:15:05 PM »
The wife had (still has until we chuck it) an Aldi dual suspensión MTB that was a piece of Shit. It is the Crane brand and nothing like their offerings these days. I bought her a 2020 Merida flat bar bike for her birthday last month that she is loving at the moment. I was pavement riding with a bunch of mates every Sunday morning the last 6 months on my 21 year old Norco Bush Pilot that is a great bike. 3 weeks ago I picked up my first road bike a 2009? Giant Defy cheaply and had it serviced and chucked on a new rear rim, tyre and cassette and did a lazy 20km last Sunday for it’s first outing and my first on a road bike. Certainly a bit less effort than the MTB.

Offline Watty2975

« Reply #1572 on: April 04, 2020, 07:53:44 PM »
Bought the medium today for my daughter. Built it together and she had a test ride. All worked well.😁
Landcruiser 200 TTD GXL with a few goodies & campomatic camper

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #1573 on: April 05, 2020, 08:19:59 AM »
Just got back from Wifeys first bike ride in over 12 years. Currently in the shower whinging how saw she is. Me.........trying not to laugh. Only did a 8k lap that the kids and I do sometimes. Hope she keeps at it because I think she secretly liked it.
Cheers, Mike.

Offline crappsy

• Life's short so enjoy it when you can
« Reply #1574 on: April 06, 2020, 06:24:56 PM »
Got a new bike myself recently, full suspension off road style thing...

I know it's a bit different to the norm...I stacked my old MTB last year and ended up with a significant spinal injury so this is me for now
The following users thanked this post: GBC