Author Topic: New member looking for help  (Read 8289 times)

Offline Birch

• Learning the Ropes
New member looking for help
« on: November 02, 2020, 12:05:00 PM »
Hey team, I am new to myswag.org and looking for some advice on the right camper trailer recommendations. This will be our first as we have always been in tents. I'm getting older now with young kids so the ease of a trailer is enticing. After looking at various options it all looked a bit over whelming hence I ended up here. Unsolicited advice welcome  :cheers:

Offline Bird

• Once Was Lost, now am found
  • Hard Top Camper User
  • Life is far too long....
    • My Place.
Re: New member looking for help
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2020, 12:15:13 PM »
Where are you?
Wat is your budget?
Where do you intend going with it? Cape York? Bimbi Caravan Park?
Any must haves?
How old kids?
What car you towing with?
Do you want one with the works?

Good advice is to go hire a few trailers, see what works for you and what doesnt.
-
Click to enlarge

Gone to a new home
The following users thanked this post: Birch

Offline Birch

• Learning the Ropes
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2020, 12:53:57 PM »
Hey Bird, thanks for the prompt response. I have tried a couple of campers and the various off road forward fold options are where I am at. What has thrown me a bit is the various forums that have discussed Chinese Manufacturing. That's actually how I ended up on this forum and where I am open to advice.

Specific questions answered below.

Where are you? - Based in Sydney
Wat is your budget? - Peace of mind about durability is a priority. I have been looking 2nd-hand and trying to keep it just under or around the $20k mark.
Where do you intend going with it? Cape York? Bimbi Caravan Park? - C & D Grade off - road tracks, i.e. National Parks... Typically long weekends away and perhaps once a year the longer trip around Aus