General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Bill on November 12, 2015, 07:51:00 PM

Title: 'Daily Rant Thread' 2015
Post by: Bill on November 12, 2015, 07:51:00 PM
Im on a couple other forums besides this one.
I make it a rule not to post advice/help unless I know darn well that what Im saying is correct to the best of my knowledge.
It drives me absolutly crazy some of the crap people post that is just plain wrong.
And being the non keyboard warrior that Iam, I wont just post up that so and so is wrong and here is the proof, because it always starts a slinging match.
And it seems to be the same people every time.
Title: Re: 'Daily Rant Thread'
Post by: Spada on November 13, 2015, 05:32:50 AM
I make it a rule not to post advice/help unless I know darn well that what Im saying is correct to the best of my knowledge.
It drives me absolutly crazy some of the crap people post that is just plain wrong.
And being the non keyboard warrior that Iam, I wont just post up that so and so is wrong and here is the proof, because it always starts a slinging match.

have you just come from the drone thread  ;D
Post by: GeoffA on November 13, 2015, 05:38:19 AM

One thing I cannot stand is intolerance.......
Post by: scarpsD40 on November 13, 2015, 06:00:39 AM
One thing I cannot stand is intolerance.......
lol.....not sure I can stand your stand;D

I reckn this meme could work for a few peops round here
Post by: plusnq on November 13, 2015, 06:07:08 AM
Now Im so confused. Should I be offended or not?  ;D
Post by: Fathom on November 13, 2015, 07:10:01 AM
My rant is that by the time I get around to reading the rant thread, it's been cleaned up and I miss half the entertainment.

If pigs could fly... Imagine how good their wings would taste.
Post by: dales133 on November 13, 2015, 07:18:28 AM
lol.....not sure I can stand your stand;D

I reckn this meme could work for a few peops round here
Post by: stabicraft on November 13, 2015, 07:49:25 AM
Are flies all attracted to lawn mowers?
Mowing the lawn yesterday I was inundated by flies as soon as I started the mower.
They hung around like politicians to a free feed until I stopped the mower when they all disappeared.

I must have swallowed at least 10.....................yuk

Post by: dales133 on November 13, 2015, 08:16:39 AM
Flies are already in plague proportions in victoria this year,has been hardly any the last couple of years.
Nothing ruins my mood faster than flies repeatedly landing on my face
Post by: edz on November 13, 2015, 09:38:18 AM
Mowing the lawn yesterday I was inundated by flies as soon as I started the mower.
They hung around like politicians to a free feed until I stopped the mower when they all disappeared.

Maybe they got a buzz out of it  ;D
Post by: Fizzie on November 13, 2015, 09:40:55 AM
Maybe they got a buzz out of it  ;D

Because he was using a buzz-box?  >:D
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on November 14, 2015, 05:27:07 AM
I've been trying to track down a light clunk in the front of the jeep for a month or two.

A couple of times, I thought I had found it, as I tightened up every bolt known to mankind on the Jeep.

Last week, the right hand lower ball joint pulled the ball out of the socket as the old girl backed out of our driveway.  :o

The worst part is, we REPLACED ALL 4 BALL JOINTS in august 2013.

I would have thought that 2 years and 40,000 klm would be a bit light huh.
Post by: GeoffA on November 14, 2015, 05:30:49 AM
Maybe the ball joint's OK, and the socket it fits into is stuffed..... ??? ???
Post by: edz on November 14, 2015, 06:03:39 AM
Thank christ it dropped the ball joint on the driveway and not adoing  a 100 k's scooting through the the twisty bits out in the  back blocks..
But yeahh I'd be a bit miffed at it dropping the ball joint at all ... Thats the type of thing youd expect an old dunger thats done a million miles of rough back country roads to do ..
Did it pull the pin out of the guts of the joint  Kev ?  ..OEM part or  aftermarket bit   or was it the whole joint out of the lower arm ..
Were they replaced in 2013 under this recall notice https://www.chrysler.com/universal/webselfservice/pdf/F23.pdf (https://www.chrysler.com/universal/webselfservice/pdf/F23.pdf)  I'd be going back if they were ..
Post by: duggie on November 14, 2015, 06:13:13 AM
I've been trying to track down a light clunk in the front of the jeep for a month or two.

A couple of times, I thought I had found it, as I tightened up every bolt known to mankind on the Jeep.

Last week, the right hand lower ball joint pulled the ball out of the socket as the old girl backed out of our driveway.  :o

The worst part is, we REPLACED ALL 4 BALL JOINTS in august 2013.

I would have thought that 2 years and 40,000 klm would be a bit light huh.

Must be a JEEP thing. ;D

Although it does happen a lot with Landcruisers ( Utes ) on the front right hand side.
Post by: kylarama on November 14, 2015, 11:10:35 AM
Getting a call from the missus to inform me some a hole has ripped both mirrors of the Pajero! Not the only one.  A few cars in the carpark got touched up.

Sent from my GT-I9507 using Tapatalk

Post by: plusnq on November 14, 2015, 11:14:59 AM
Getting a call from the missus to inform me some a hole has ripped both mirrors of the Pajero! Not the only one.  A few cars in the carpark got touched up.

They should rip the arms off that d*ckhead if they catch him. I can't stand wanton vandalism.
Post by: kylarama on November 14, 2015, 02:28:49 PM
I can't stand wanton vandalism.

Same.  I'd be peeved if someone nicked them for their own use, but to destroy them for no apparent reason peeves me off even more.

They're about $100ea 2nd hand, or $150 new aftermarket, but a pay about a $20 premium cause they're the chrome Exceed ones.  Haven't seen the car yet, so hopefully something is salvageable.

I tried to lighten the mood and said to the missus "I'm surprised you noticed them missing"

Didn't go down too well. 
Post by: kylarama on November 14, 2015, 06:49:23 PM

So I requested pics of said damage.  Shes currently away on a girls weekend.

It seems the mirror fairies have come along since and reinstalled the mirrors.

Yes, someone did tamper with the mirrors.... they folded them in! Along with a few other cars and I'm tipping the cars that didn't get messed with had auto folding mirrors.

Apparently  things look allot different at 4am when walking back to your motel room while wearing a very thick set of 'wine goggles'

Post by: dales133 on November 14, 2015, 06:51:28 PM
I hate woton damage too, i get even angrier if you steal my spring roll
Post by: D4D on November 14, 2015, 06:55:33 PM

All's well that ends well ;D

Glad to hear there was no damage.
Post by: scarpsD40 on November 14, 2015, 08:13:48 PM
lol.....yep, reckon I'd flip my egg noodle
Post by: Snapman007 on November 14, 2015, 09:02:41 PM
So I requested pics of said damage.  Shes currently away on a girls weekend.

Yes, someone did tamper with the mirrors.... they folded them in! Along with a few other cars and I'm tipping the cars that didn't get messed with had auto folding mirrors.

Apparently  things look allot different at 4am when walking back to your motel room while wearing a very thick set of 'wine goggles'

Classic stuff. You should get at least 20 years mileage from this.😬
Post by: tracker on November 14, 2015, 10:33:50 PM

Give Jeepers a call....he'll save you..... ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: plusnq on November 15, 2015, 05:00:17 AM
lol.....yep, reckon I'd flip my egg noodle

Lol. Good one guys  :D
Post by: stabicraft on November 15, 2015, 05:58:05 AM
My wife rang me one day and said the car was making funny noises.
She was reluctant to drive it so I said Id come and check it out.

It was two cans of paint behind her on the floor rattling about.
Got a couple of years out of that one.

My aunt, for who I bought a brand new Mazda 2 years ago, had been worrying about a clunking noise every time she stopped.
She took it to the service department and explained the noise, and they went for a test drive.
The noise manifested itself fairly soon after driving down the service centers drive, but the technician simply reached behind her seat and pulled out a can of soup that had obviously fallen out of her shopping and was rolling around under her seat.

She made me vow to disclose this to no one she knew.

Funny old thing life.
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on November 16, 2015, 12:26:48 PM
Time for an aftermarket transmission housing. Found the weak point in this one  >:(

Post by: plusnq on November 16, 2015, 12:33:11 PM
Time for an aftermarket transmission housing. Found the weak point in this one  >:(

You might be right there  ;D
Post by: Swannie on November 16, 2015, 02:10:40 PM

It will buff out :)
Post by: Bird on November 16, 2015, 02:14:55 PM
solder will fix it.
Post by: GeoffA on November 16, 2015, 02:48:11 PM

Pennzoil??..... ;D ;D
Post by: Bird on November 16, 2015, 02:51:16 PM
Pennzoil??..... ;D ;D
(https://i.ytimg.com/vi/Fn49U1ps01w/hqdefault.jpg)
Title: 'Daily Rant Thread'
Post by: scarpsD40 on November 17, 2015, 04:43:35 PM
So no flying this week making a nice change and using the train in and out of the cbd as much more relaxing that crawling around the  Tulla dodgem track toward home.

What is it with regular weekly commuters and train seating politics?
I don't care how many years you've been commuting and sitting in seat 78 carriage 1..........
I'm here now and tomorrow I might sit over there.

Makes you wonder if train seats are big enough?
Post by: GeoffA on November 17, 2015, 05:39:27 PM
Makes you wonder if train seats are big enough?

Stop wondering.....they're not....
Post by: Fathom on November 17, 2015, 07:24:31 PM
Seriously. Is it that hard to make toast?

Post by: scarpsD40 on November 17, 2015, 07:43:45 PM

Seriously. Is it that hard to make toast?

not really but I have heard burning rubber sets the detectors off......

Post by: oldmate on November 17, 2015, 10:46:05 PM

Especially when your away from home.  ;D
Post by: Fathom on November 18, 2015, 06:22:42 AM

Especially when your away from home.  ;D

I should have got a smaller hire car. If I got one that fit in the lifts, I could have done burn outs in the room and then I might have made the "what's making news today" thread.
Otherwise being sweet and innocent. I have no clue what you gents might mean.

Post by: oldmate on November 18, 2015, 06:26:14 AM
I should have got a smaller hire car. If I got one that fit in the lifts, I could have done burn outs in the room and then I might have made the "what's making news today" thread.

Of course! :cheers:
Post by: scarpsD40 on November 18, 2015, 08:10:46 AM

that's ok, neither do we on most ocassions
Post by: mickmac42 on November 19, 2015, 11:31:09 AM
I had a bloke come out to my place to replace the broken gas strut this morning. While he was there i got him to take a look at the struts under the bonnet of my car. I'd noticed they'd recently become fairly lethargic and i wanted his opinion on getting them re-gassed. He takes a look at the struts and tells me that they're not the original Toyota struts. Strange, i think to myself.
I tell him I've owned the car since new and nobody has ever mentioned changing the struts. He asks me when i last had the car serviced. About a month ago as a matter of fact. "And when did you first notice the struts weren't working like they used to?" he asks. "Well it would have been shortly after that because i was putting in an auto transmission cooler." He tells me, "I think you'll find that some mechanic has taken your good struts out and put these worn struts in." "Why would they do that?" I ask. "I reckon someone in the workshop needed some new struts. It wouldn't be the first time a mechanic has taken working parts from a car and replaced them with worn parts from their car. It's also not uncommon for the mechanic to tell you a part is worn and needs replacing. They'll put a new part in your car and take the old part for themselves because there's actually nothing wrong with it."

Ordinarily i'd be shocked and sceptical, but i've discovered these mechanics have done a number of dishonest things. Most recently, at the last service they told me my air filter needed replacing. I thought it had only just been done so i told them i'd do it myself. I checked the service log and saw that the air filter was supposed to be changed at the previous service, but they hadn't signed the service book or torn the docket out. There was nothing wrong with the filter. That same service they were supposed to change the diff oil. I went to install breathers a few days ago and checked the oil. It was black. I checked the receipt and saw i hadn't been charged for any oil or washers, but when i ask for a log book service i expect a log book service. What the hell is wrong with these people?!?

Post by: briann532 on November 19, 2015, 01:43:35 PM
I had a bloke come out to my place to replace the broken gas strut this morning. While he was there i got him to take a look at the struts under the bonnet of my car. I'd noticed they'd recently become fairly lethargic and i wanted his opinion on getting them re-gassed. He takes a look at the struts and tells me that they're not the original Toyota struts. Strange, i think to myself.
I tell him I've owned the car since new and nobody has ever mentioned changing the struts. He asks me when i last had the car serviced. About a month ago as a matter of fact. "And when did you first notice the struts weren't working like they used to?" he asks. "Well it would have been shortly after that because i was putting in an auto transmission cooler." He tells me, "I think you'll find that some mechanic has taken your good struts out and put these worn struts in." "Why would they do that?" I ask. "I reckon someone in the workshop needed some new struts. It wouldn't be the first time a mechanic has taken working parts from a car and replaced them with worn parts from their car. It's also not uncommon for the mechanic to tell you a part is worn and needs replacing. They'll put a new part in your car and take the old part for themselves because there's actually nothing wrong with it."

Ordinarily i'd be shocked and sceptical, but i've discovered these mechanics have done a number of dishonest things. Most recently, at the last service they told me my air filter needed replacing. I thought it had only just been done so i told them i'd do it myself. I checked the service log and saw that the air filter was supposed to be changed at the previous service, but they hadn't signed the service book or torn the docket out. There was nothing wrong with the filter. That same service they were supposed to change the diff oil. I went to install breathers a few days ago and checked the oil. It was black. I checked the receipt and saw i hadn't been charged for any oil or washers, but when i ask for a log book service i expect a log book service. What the hell is wrong with these people?!?

Because too many people sit back and take it............. >:(
Name and shame the thieving mongrels. Just place the word "alleged" before it and all is good......
Post by: D4D on November 20, 2015, 05:59:44 AM
What's with QLD not having daylight savings? Waking at 5am on holidays has knobs on it :'(
Post by: edz on November 20, 2015, 06:07:17 AM
Look on the bright side D4D, your up, fed Shit showered and shaved and on the way to be first in line at the theme parks / attractions gates .. before any dopey dozy QLDers  ;D ;D
Post by: GeoffA on November 20, 2015, 06:07:51 AM
What's with QLD not having daylight savings? Waking at 5am on holidays has knobs on it :'(

>:D >:D...... ;D ;D
Post by: Swannie on November 20, 2015, 06:11:53 AM

I always up at 4am when I'm staying in brissie
Post by: plusnq on November 20, 2015, 06:43:56 AM

We've got plenty of daylight. No need to save any here  ;D ;D
Post by: oldmate on November 20, 2015, 06:52:54 AM

Our cows are stupid
Post by: scarpsD40 on November 20, 2015, 07:27:15 AM

Our cows are stupid
spoken like a true ex NSW'r
Post by: BaseCamp on November 20, 2015, 08:01:45 AM
One  weird thing about Qld DS - (when the Govt trialed it a couple of times pre millennium) -- is when you're going out to fine dine; all duded up -- at say 6:30pm.......

It feeling like you're having dinner in the middle of the afternoon. .......   so much sunshine; heat; humidity; etc....

On a serious note though; not having DS in Qld and commerce not being in  synchronization with the rest of Oz causes some problems.....

Shake&Bake BB

Post by: Spada on November 20, 2015, 08:11:25 AM

On a serious note though; not having DS in Qld and commerce not being in  synchronization with the rest of Oz causes some problems.....

Shake&Bake BB

so when you say "the rest of Oz", I assume your referring to just NSW (except Broken Hill) and Vic, cause SA, NT, & WA are different to Qld as well............or are they not part of "the rest of Oz"  ;D
Post by: D4D on November 20, 2015, 08:20:06 AM
One  weird thing about Qld DS - (when the Govt trialed it a couple of times pre millennium) -- is when you're going out to fine dine; all duded up -- at say 6:30pm.......

It feeling like you're having dinner in the middle of the afternoon. .......   so much sunshine; heat; humidity; etc....

I prefer to sleep when it is dark and not be woken up with the sun at 5am
Post by: Homer_Jay on November 20, 2015, 08:59:00 AM
I prefer to sleep when it is dark and not be woken up with the sun at 5am

You do realise that the sun comes up at the same time no matter what the clock says??

Even our cows have worked that one out!  ;D ;D

Post by: WomblingFree on November 20, 2015, 09:19:14 AM

Just wondering if you have been playing in the outback?  That dust is finer than talcum powder and gets in past the boots and destroys ball joints.
Had a lower on my Prado do that on the black top. Cut it apart and the nylon cup inside was totally abraded away so the ball could just pull out. Nice little gathering of outback dust in the bottom and the seals looked perfect.

Just a possibility...
Post by: D4D on November 20, 2015, 01:58:30 PM
You do realise that the sun comes up at the same time no matter what the clock says??

Not during daylight savings, that's the whole point...
Post by: Rumpig on November 20, 2015, 05:54:50 PM
We don't do it, because we know it upsets the Southerners  ;) 8) 8) ;D ;D
Post by: MarkGU on November 21, 2015, 10:09:10 AM
Here is why people shop on Ebay..................................
Monday 16th of this month you had kids size wetsuits up to size 4 in you shop selling for $50. This morning we decided to come in and buy  a size 4 for our young bloke only to discover the EXACT wetsuits we looked at on Monday are now selling for $99.

Cashing in on holiday makers no doubt, but WE are locals wanting to support local businesses. Well looks like now we will buy from E - Bay.

Not good enough Fandango Surf Company - Yamba.:-(

Fandango is a surf shop in Yamba nsw.
Post by: gronk on November 21, 2015, 10:23:21 AM
Daylight saving is in NSW, ACT, Tasmania, Victoria and South Australia !!

But I don't blame you Qld's for not having it......I've been thru 2 sets of curtains in the last 10 yrs because of the extra daylight .. ;D
Post by: Robbo on November 21, 2015, 02:21:23 PM
Daylight saving is in NSW, ACT, Tasmania, Victoria and South Australia !!

But I don't blame you Qld's for not having it......I've been thru 2 sets of curtains in the last 10 yrs because of the extra daylight .. ;D

Ya should have just opened them one hour earlier..
It's OK, no need to thank me.. ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Fathom on November 22, 2015, 08:32:47 AM
Washed my car this morning. Was in at the Brisbane Convention Centre all day yesterday. Some low life scab stole my tow ball cover.
I noticed when grease got on my sponge.
Thanks moron. I mean WTF?there only a couple of bucks. Go buy your own. 

Post by: Foo on November 22, 2015, 08:46:43 AM
Pretty much sums up the leadership of this country for the last 15yrs and how they bend over backwards for the arshole minority groups!  >:D

http://pickeringpost.com/cartoon/5597 (http://pickeringpost.com/cartoon/5597)

Post by: krisandkev on November 22, 2015, 01:21:58 PM
Pretty much sums up the leadership of this country for the last 15yrs and how they bend over backwards for the arshole minority groups!  >:D

http://pickeringpost.com/cartoon/5597 (http://pickeringpost.com/cartoon/5597)

(http://images1.snapfish.com/232323232%7Ffp93232%3Euqcshlukaxroqdfv3%3A966%3Enu%3D6%3A%3B%3A%3E598%3E24%3A%3EWSNRCG%3D3767%3C94%3A%3B%3B33%3Bnu0mrj)

POLITICAL CONTENT
Post by: oldmate on November 22, 2015, 04:19:40 PM
Washed my car this morning. Was in at the Brisbane Convention Centre all day yesterday. Some low life scab stole my tow ball cover.

If they are only a couple of bucks, you won't miss it. Get over it, Talk about first world problems.  :D
Post by: Fathom on November 22, 2015, 04:23:00 PM

If they are only a couple of bucks, you won't miss it. Get over it, Talk about first world problems.  :D
If I wanted to hear an A hole talk. I would pass wind.
But thanks for your reply... Honest.

Post by: scarpsD40 on November 22, 2015, 04:24:45 PM

why do you have grease on your towball? Just asskin...eh
Post by: Fathom on November 22, 2015, 04:39:36 PM

why do you have grease on your towball? Just asskin...eh
Cause it looks really silly on the tyres.

Post by: Bad Scott on November 22, 2015, 05:11:34 PM

Use dry lube for ya towball
Post by: oldmate on November 22, 2015, 05:20:05 PM
Use dry lube for ya balls

His wife tried that once, not sure how it went
Post by: Robbo on November 22, 2015, 06:14:00 PM
His wife tried that once, not sure how it went

Not very well, i'd suggest.. ;D ;D
Post by: plusnq on November 22, 2015, 06:26:55 PM
Not very well, i'd suggest.. ;D ;D

Maybe someone stole his cap there as well  ;D ;D
Post by: BaseCamp on November 22, 2015, 06:49:56 PM
... and perhaps putting knees where they don't belong....   OUCH!    :)     ;)

Shake&Bake BB

Post by: Fathom on November 23, 2015, 07:55:00 AM

Maybe someone stole his cap there as well  ;D ;D
... and perhaps putting knees where they don't belong....   OUCH!    :)     ;)

Shake&Bake BB
That's what I like most about this forum. It's so open minded. A post about theft, somehow morphs into people thinking about other swaggers anatomy.
I'm flattered... Honest...
But it's just not for me.

Just shows how many signals I miss, at the my swag dinner when you two stayed back together in the carpark to discuss camping gear. :)
And now your thinking and even posting  about my Anatomy
I'll try to be more observant. Sorry. :)

:)

Post by: plusnq on November 23, 2015, 07:21:54 PM
Deleted. Probably poor taste.
Post by: BaseCamp on November 23, 2015, 07:32:43 PM
Actually Fathom - sorry mate. ...   pure and simple....

Any member of the forum has the right to post their concerns; views; questions; (usual socal etiquette etc being applicable)....

It would have been irksome that someone stole something off your truck...

What it was is totally irrelevant. ...

Hope I can catch up with you sometime and have a beer or 2 - and talk about things more  edifying:    4wding and camping       :)   

Shake&Bake BB

Post by: plusnq on November 23, 2015, 07:48:52 PM
Actually Fathom - sorry mate. ...   pure and simple....

Any member of the forum has the right to post their concerns; views; questions; (usual socal etiquette etc being applicable)....

It would have been irksome that someone stole something off your truck...

What it was is totally irrelevant. ...

Hope I can catch up with you sometime and have a beer or 2 - and talk about things more  edifying:    4wding and camping       :)   

Shake&Bake BB

X 2. Sorry if you feel I went too far.

Shane
Post by: Bad Scott on November 25, 2015, 08:02:57 AM
The day we gotta cart a heap of gear to top level. Elevator is out. Yep legs are stuffed
Post by: xcvator on November 25, 2015, 12:35:10 PM
The day we gotta cart a heap of gear to top level. Elevator is out. Yep legs are stuffed

Poor didums  :D :D :D :D should do some exercise carrying my fire wood  >:D >:D
Post by: Swannie on November 25, 2015, 03:19:35 PM
 other rant threads.... Ones enough

Post by: scarpsD40 on November 25, 2015, 06:38:09 PM

That's what I like most about this forum. It's so open minded. A post about theft, somehow morphs into people thinking about other swaggers anatomy.
I'm flattered... Honest...
But it's just not for me.

Just shows how many signals I miss, at the my swag dinner when you two stayed back together in the carpark to discuss camping gear. :)
And now your thinking and even posting  about my Anatomy
I'll try to be more observant. Sorry. :)

:)

toughen up I say. If they is talking about your anatomy they're leaving oldmates alone then.  See, there is a silver lining to every cloud;D

By the way, when you have a really sunny blue sky day with no clouds, where do our phones, ipads etc back up to?
Post by: Fathom on November 25, 2015, 06:40:46 PM

toughen up I say. If they is talking about your anatomy they're leaving oldmates alone then.  See, there is a silver lining to every cloud;D

By the way, when you have a really sunny blue sky day with no clouds, where do our phones, ipads etc back up to?
Now your talking about my anatomy too.

I've already told you in person your not my type.

Post by: scarpsD40 on November 25, 2015, 06:45:11 PM

Now your talking about my anatomy too, that's what I like to hear
'worthless'
Post by: MarkGU on November 25, 2015, 06:45:21 PM
Now your talking about my anatomy too.

I've already told you in person your not my type.

"I've already told you in person your not my type."

What,doesnt he have a heartbeat?

8)
Post by: oldmate on November 25, 2015, 06:59:53 PM
"I've already told you in person your not my type."

What,doesnt he have a heartbeat?

8)

Got to have a heart don't you?
Post by: MarkGU on November 25, 2015, 07:06:11 PM
could be optional to him as well Olly  ;D
Post by: scarpsD40 on November 25, 2015, 07:12:21 PM

it's ok, I haven't got a ball cover either if that helps.  Having said that, I don't grease mine either so cover not required

Post by: oldmate on November 25, 2015, 07:27:36 PM
it's ok, I haven't got a ball cover either if that helps.  Having said that, I don't grease mine either so cover not required

This is true, I heard they don't make a cover big enough for yours?  You did own a jeep
Post by: scarpsD40 on November 25, 2015, 07:29:32 PM
This is true, I heard they don't make a cover big enough for yours?  You did own a jeep
nah I suffered from PJOS and they've grown bigger for the experience
Post by: Steffo1 on November 25, 2015, 07:51:14 PM
We have a TV in the lounge which has a fire place & a TV on the deck.
Now, in winter, the good woman sits inside with the fire going while I sit outside, rugged up like an Eskimo, watching State of Origin & the likes, on the deck.
Now it's warmer the Light of My Life has migrated to the deck & I'm relegated to the inner sanctum.

p.s. the beer fridge is on the deck!
Post by: Moggy on November 25, 2015, 07:58:43 PM
We have a TV in the lounge which has a fire place & a TV on the deck.
Now, in winter, the good woman sits inside with the fire going while I sit outside, rugged up like an Eskimo, watching State of Origin & the likes, on the deck.
Now it's warmer the Light of My Life has migrated to the deck & I'm relegated to the inner sanctum.

p.s. the beer fridge is on the deck!

That just means she doesnt have as far to walk to get you a beer doesnt it.  >:D >:D >:D >:D
Post by: oldmate on November 25, 2015, 08:03:37 PM

That just means she doesnt have as far to walk to get you a beer doesnt it.  >:D >:D >:D >:D

Dead right
Post by: Steffo1 on November 25, 2015, 08:04:12 PM
Aah! Into marriage counselling, Moggy & Olly, are we?
Post by: Moggy on November 25, 2015, 08:06:40 PM
Funny you say that as my swmbo is a counsellor & most of her work is couples  ;D ;D
Post by: oldmate on November 25, 2015, 09:39:13 PM

Lol, yep, I'll give you all the advice you need, I don't have to live with her. Hahahha ;D
Post by: rockinj on November 28, 2015, 05:17:37 PM
Big storm hit our place yesterday afternoon. Lots of close lightening and loud thunder. Mr 7 and I were in the lounge room as I thought it would be the safest room in the house. I was trying to distract him with Chrissy decorations as to be honest, it was getting pretty hairy.
Next thing we heard a loud bang that gave us both the biggest fright - turned out among other things, some of the roof was torn off. The kitchen/dining room and spare bedroom ended up flooded. It's amazing how much water pours through the ceiling when some sheets of tin are missing.
Not ashamed to say I was pretty upset and shell shocked at the time.
Post by: plusnq on November 28, 2015, 05:42:21 PM
Take care. Thank goodness you are all ok. It's a beggar just before Christmas but at least no one was hurt.
Post by: BaseCamp on November 28, 2015, 06:13:08 PM
Geez that's tough. ....   So sorry to hear that happened to you and your family. ...

Shake&Bake BB

Post by: Bill on November 28, 2015, 06:15:18 PM
Glad no one was hurt.
Post by: rockinj on November 28, 2015, 06:28:35 PM
Thanks for your thoughts. The ses turned up after a few hours but it turned out it was too dangerous to put a tarp up at the time. This morning,  at nearly 1, the guys sent by the insurance company turned up. yah!!!
Was not fun trying to clean up today without fans in this heat. :-(
More cleaning and a big dump run tomorrow.
I hope everyone else stays safe!
Post by: Snapman007 on November 28, 2015, 07:45:34 PM
No fun now but the worse these thing happen the better stories they make in the future.
Good that no one was hurt. :cheers:
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on November 28, 2015, 10:25:53 PM
That sucks arse. How did you go tonight ???
Post by: Rumpig on November 29, 2015, 07:31:01 AM

Not ashamed to say I was pretty upset and shell shocked at the time.
nothing to be ashamed of at all,  we lost the front windows of our house in the big storm that hit Brisbane just on a year ago. It's the first storm I've ever actually gotten a touch frightened in, and thought we might lose the roof at one stage the house was moving that much (high set house on stumps). The noise from the hail was deafening, and the kids were crying and absolutely petrified with what was happening about them.
Mother Nature can be a very scary beast when she wants to be. Hopefully all happens quickly for you with the repairs.
Post by: BaseCamp on November 29, 2015, 07:40:16 AM
Talking about feeling anxious in severe weather...   I can recall a couple of times in the 1970's in BNE (which used to get cyclones back then)   being woken by dad in the middle of the night....   told to put shoes on and get dressed - as we may need to evacuate (aka run for our lives) -- as the cyclone raged around us....

Exposed highset Qlder on a ridge line in Coorparoo....

Shake&Bake BB

Post by: Hairs on November 29, 2015, 09:16:38 AM
We enjoyed fast internet speeds up to about 4 weeks ago. ADSL+2 we are less than 1km from the exchange, we could download at nearly 15mbs, with three teenagers using ipads, iphones, laptops, bought a new router 12 months ago, firmware is up to date, life was good, it's as if a switch has been flicked.
Then over night our speeds drop down to less than 3mbs(which makes for slow downloads with up to five devices connected). There  just happens to be a NBN Tower(In the same grounds as the exchange)that is commissioned at the same time the slow speeds start to occur.
I have performed isolation tests, send our isp all kinds of results from tests with screen shots.
Their response,
"We are sorry for the inconvenience of these slow speeds, but all our testing shows nothing wrong with our wholesalers equipment.
You can book a tech to investigate from your boundary to your socket at a cost."

Many of our neighbours have complained to their isp's about the same thing and have been given the same reply.

WTF is it with isp's, they BS all the time.    >:D >:D >:D

I'm going to check all wall sockets, junction boxes in the ceiling again and then we'll go from there.
Bastards  >:D
Post by: J.R on November 29, 2015, 12:07:36 PM
Have to give it to the Talliban, they are able to upload videos from the caves in the mountains of Afghanistan, but we are flat out getting good internet in Australia.

It seems our ISP's reckon if you have access to the Internet, even if it's worse than a third world country, then you shouldn't complain.
Post by: plusnq on November 29, 2015, 12:12:08 PM
Have to give it to the Talliban, they are able to upload videos from the caves in the mountains of Afghanistan, but we are flat out getting good internet in Australia.

It seems our ISP's reckon if you have access to the Internet, even if it's worse than a war torn third world country, then you shouldn't complain.

Fixed it for you
Post by: Hairs on November 29, 2015, 12:54:37 PM

It seems our ISP's reckon if you have access to the Internet, even if it's worse than a third world country, then you shouldn't complain.

Can't argue with that (http://www.hairfysh.com/images/Icons/Smileys/confused.gif)
Post by: jclures on November 29, 2015, 01:15:17 PM
We enjoyed fast internet speeds up to about 4 weeks ago. ADSL+2 we are less than 1km from the exchange, we could download at nearly 15mbs, with three teenagers using ipads, iphones, laptops, bought a new router 12 months ago, firmware is up to date, life was good, it's as if a switch has been flicked.
Then over night our speeds drop down to less than 3mbs(which makes for slow downloads with up to five devices connected). There  just happens to be a NBN Tower(In the same grounds as the exchange)that is commissioned at the same time the slow speeds start to occur.
I have performed isolation tests, send our isp all kinds of results from tests with screen shots.
Their response,
"We are sorry for the inconvenience of these slow speeds, but all our testing shows nothing wrong with our wholesalers equipment.
You can book a tech to investigate from your boundary to your socket at a cost."

Many of our neighbours have complained to their isp's about the same thing and have been given the same reply.

WTF is it with isp's, they BS all the time.    >:D >:D >:D

I'm going to check all wall sockets, junction boxes in the ceiling again and then we'll go from there.
Bastards  >:D

I have had the same here, I am down to 3mbs , I have complained and complained. They will not tell me what their minimum is when paying for adsl2 is so I don't know how to take my complaints any further.
This started when netflix got going, I think we have been throttled so they can stream at full speed, after all Telstra own part of foxtel, the opposition, so they need to prop it up at our expense I think.
Post by: Hairs on November 29, 2015, 01:39:59 PM
They know what's going on, they have access to all kinds of gadgets and testing to pin point a fault. 
We have three wall sockets, I have isolated all phones and other equipment that use a wall socket and the slow speed is still there.
The only thing left to do is climb up in the roof and check the two junction points there.
Years ago I had the same problem and a Telstra tech had found that the Gahlahs had strip the aerial wire from the pole outside of our boundary to the Telstra pit.
After that was fixed, we had a huge storm with many many stricks of lightening hit pits and the exchange, very few people in town had internet access, let alone phone access, yet there wasn't a problem at that they could see.
A local Telstra Tech admitted to me that Telstra's infrastructure was fried and it would take a few weeks to track down all line faults, yet the isp was saying that there was not a problem.

I hate being told BS.
 >:D

Funny, while talking to my isp, they mentioned that if I switch to the NBN there would be a chance that the slow speeds would disappear (http://www.hairfysh.com/images/Icons/Smileys/WTF.gif)
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on November 29, 2015, 02:52:09 PM
Hey Hairs, are you really sure its a fault?

It could just be that you're a little bit slow.  ;D

We still love ya if ya a bit simple but.  :cheers:
Post by: Hairs on November 29, 2015, 03:15:13 PM
Hey Kev,
(http://www.hairfysh.com/images/Icons/Smileys/th_Mooning-2.gif)
I will now disappear (http://www.hairfysh.com/images/Icons/Smileys/flush.gif)

Seeya on the Dark Side.

Post by: Snapman007 on November 29, 2015, 08:38:04 PM
Hey Hairs, are you really sure its a fault?

It could just be that you're a little bit slow.  ;D

We still love ya if ya a bit simple but.  :cheers:

Kevs' got a point.🙊

I think the telco companies suck us in for the honeymoon period then dial back the bandwidth.

Unless I want to spend 50mins on the phone complaining (on hold), at times I have to put up with dialup speeds or release the moths.
Post by: Jackdawg on November 30, 2015, 05:22:14 AM
3mb/s, in my dreams, I get 150kb/s on my adsl2 on a good day, I'm the last street they will provide service to from the exchange.
Post by: Bird on November 30, 2015, 06:45:46 AM
Quote from: Hairs
Funny, while talking to my isp, they mentioned that if I switch to the NBN there would be a chance that the slow speeds would disappear
gee, that's a shock.. **** up everyones connection so they swap over, and we can get rid of all our old comms gear...
Post by: Fizzie on November 30, 2015, 07:42:27 AM
Funny, while talking to my isp, they mentioned that if I switch to the NBN there would be a chance that the slow speeds would disappear

Hairs, you say it's a new NBN tower & then they talk about switching over - has NBN or anyone else advised that you can now get access to NBN?
Post by: Steffo1 on November 30, 2015, 08:15:58 AM
We lose internet access at least three times a day, sometimes for up to an hour. If I'm not aware of it & don't reboot the modem, it stays off. I was sent a new modem recently, after several attempts at getting the truth out of someone, with little or no improvement.
And then....................I get a request from them to ask if I'd mind if they stick an NBN tower & compound on my property for a moderate annual fee.
"Let me just think about that? It would easy knock $100,000 + off the value" & "No" I'm not a NIMBY.
I pointed out that there were several negatives to their offer & supplied a better site, in my opinion!
Post by: Kangaron on November 30, 2015, 08:16:54 AM
Chuck your address into this page.

http://www.nbnco.com.au/connect-home-or-business/check-your-address.html?cid=paid_google:nbn_brand_exact:nbn&gclid=Cj0KEQiA4eqyBRDUh7Omv9vCtsoBEiQAspfs8giTQnChfTNjzTPFFR5-qjUhLVTIFu-NgCYdiTaW7s4aAr-m8P8HAQ (http://www.nbnco.com.au/connect-home-or-business/check-your-address.html?cid=paid_google:nbn_brand_exact:nbn&gclid=Cj0KEQiA4eqyBRDUh7Omv9vCtsoBEiQAspfs8giTQnChfTNjzTPFFR5-qjUhLVTIFu-NgCYdiTaW7s4aAr-m8P8HAQ)
Post by: Bird on November 30, 2015, 08:25:37 AM
NBN co is around corner from work... still chattin to the blokes at lunch tryin to get a freeby connection :D
Post by: Steffo1 on November 30, 2015, 08:31:04 AM
Chuck your address into this page.

http://www.nbnco.com.au/connect-home-or-business/check-your-address.html?cid=paid_google:nbn_brand_exact:nbn&gclid=Cj0KEQiA4eqyBRDUh7Omv9vCtsoBEiQAspfs8giTQnChfTNjzTPFFR5-qjUhLVTIFu-NgCYdiTaW7s4aAr-m8P8HAQ (http://www.nbnco.com.au/connect-home-or-business/check-your-address.html?cid=paid_google:nbn_brand_exact:nbn&gclid=Cj0KEQiA4eqyBRDUh7Omv9vCtsoBEiQAspfs8giTQnChfTNjzTPFFR5-qjUhLVTIFu-NgCYdiTaW7s4aAr-m8P8HAQ)

Thanks mate. They can't even get my address correct as it comes up as Kobble Creek, not Armstrong Creek, although I might be being a bit pernickety there as the two districts are separated by our road. :D
Post by: Bird on November 30, 2015, 08:44:04 AM
Thanks mate. They can't even get my address correct as it comes up as Kobble Creek, not Armstrong Creek, although I might be being a bit pernickety there as the two districts are separated by our road. :D
sounds like your really up the creek then.....
Post by: callmejoe on November 30, 2015, 09:29:43 AM
Went to a servo,  go to buy 98 premium. Clicks on. Then off. Thats it no more. .35cents worth. Now I'm told oh pump must be playing up, and to find out it has been for a MONTH.   In goes 95. 125L worth...
Now my rant as I go to pay for the  95 plus they have included the 98 premium of a whole  .35cents. Which i refuse to pay. (Yes i know its only .35c)
As far as I'm concerned  for this piss amount  (bit different if talking  L's)it like getting a faulty product,  so why would i pay for a faulty product.... Specially when THEY KNOWN the pump wasn't working correctly. 
If i ordered a toastie and it came out uncooked would u pay for that. No i wouldn't either...

Joe
Post by: Green rv on November 30, 2015, 09:39:57 AM
so on friday night i tried to post in the drunk thread, while watching the ac-dc concert on tv (i think on channel 1)
but had major problems and ended up not posting :'(

i think i was to drunk 

oh the wisdom you all missed out on

Adam
Post by: plusnq on November 30, 2015, 10:37:40 AM
so on friday night i tried to post in the drunk thread, while watching the ac-dc concert on tv (i think on channel 1)
but had major problems and ended up not posting :'(

i think i was to drunk 

oh the wisdom you all missed out on

Adam

Maybe we should move this to the "what we are grateful for" thread.  ;D ;D
Post by: Green rv on November 30, 2015, 10:52:55 AM
Maybe we should move this to the "what we are grateful for" thread.  ;D ;D

dodge a bullet.

next time i might just try some bulk pm's instead >:D

Adam
Post by: xcvator on November 30, 2015, 12:13:43 PM
Just atm I am seriously p1ssed off  >:( >:( I have absolutely nothing else to rant about  >:D >:D >:D >:D
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on November 30, 2015, 01:21:32 PM
Missus' cousin has a slight disability, the second he speaks, you can tell.......

Any how, he owns a little Jap pop up roof diesel van thingy, that he travels the country in. He's not long had it and has had trouble with the fridge. 12v upright 80l ish. Battery keeps going flat. Someone suggested he get his battery tested. So he did. Surprise, surprise, needs a new one.

I suggested he drop the old one off to me at work and I'll charge it, load it up and see how it goes. He did and it was sitting at close to 13v, about 2 weeks after being removed from the car.

So Saturday morning, I plug in a hot Waeco 40l fridge, 30 hot cans and throw in the fridge monitor. Was expecting the battery to be dead by Sat night. It was around 12 1/2 volts (I did wright it down at home) Sunday morning much the same, beer at 1 deg. By Sunday night, 36 hours after the uncharged battery was loaded up by hot beer/fridge comb, the battery sat at 12.2v, what was left of beer was at 1deg.

Without jumping to conclusions, I'd guess this battery has SFA wrong with it. Charged it overnight and will restock with cold cans tonight and see how lasts, after a decent charge. If it holds up, which I'm sure it will, I'll take it down to where he had it replaced, play dumb and have them test it. Will be interesting to see what they say.
If they say it needs replacing, then I'll accept that is how they operate and will let them know what I think of how they operate. If however, they tell ME it is fine, the same battery they told HIM required replacing, it would appear they are playing on his disability. If so, someone there is going to have a very bad day.

Will see how it holds up over the next few days first. Maybe it is dead, but I doubt it.
Post by: Hairs on November 30, 2015, 05:41:14 PM
Hairs, you say it's a new NBN tower & then they talk about switching over - has NBN or anyone else advised that you can now get access to NBN?
My ISP is Exetel.
I've had a few problems over the 10 years or so I have been with them. Pulled them up a few times on their(Telstra's) BS, and our connection improved.
Yes, doing a NBN search address shows that we can access NBN.
An ISP Agent(Good Mate) has also said we can.
Next week I will churn to the NBN, see how that works out.
 8)
Post by: Fizzie on December 01, 2015, 06:51:35 AM
That's good to hear - hopefully your problems are over?

Bit strange that nobody has been in touch with you though? My understanding from reading other forums is that when NBN becomes available in an area, NBN Co advise you that it's now ready to go, so contact someone off this list of ISPs to sort out a new plan & transferring across, & you've got to do it within 18 months from now, because that's when the existing copper lines will be switched off at the exchange - if you haven't moved by then, you lose everything - phone, internet, fax, alarm ... Be interesting to find out how far down the 18 mths you are, & how long ago you could have switched?

Good luck!

Post by: GGV8Cruza on December 01, 2015, 12:32:09 PM
Rant 1

Why do Arnotts bother putting the break line in salada biscuits if it will not follow the line

Rant 2

Concrete poured at 32mpa should hit its strength a lot quicker than it has, costing us a fortune at the moment waiting for it to hit strength

Post by: scarpsD40 on December 01, 2015, 01:02:34 PM
Rant 1

Why do Arnotts bother putting the break line in salada biscuits if it will not follow the line

Rant 2

Concrete poured at 32mpa should hit its strength a lot quicker than it has, costing us a fortune at the moment waiting for it to hit strength

lol........sitting here reading this and thinking of my tradie son and his mate having this conversation. One would say to the other, you need to harden the **** up. In this case, just not sure which one, or both;D

No offence GG, just a funny read
Post by: Bad Scott on December 01, 2015, 01:28:25 PM
Just atm I am seriously p1ssed off  >:( >:( I have absolutely nothing else to rant about  >:D >:D >:D >:D
I'll give ya 5 mins >:D
Post by: Moggy on December 01, 2015, 01:56:03 PM

I remember when doing a major commercial project that we had to take 3 test cylinders every 3rd truck of concrete. 1st was tested at 7 days & was expected to be a minimum of 90% of specified strength, if it didn't measure up, the concrete company was sent a please explain. The 2nd cylinder was cracked at 14 days at which it was supposed to be 95%±. The final test was done at 28 days at which point the concrete had to have achieved its rated strength, if it didnt then the preceding & subsequent loads weren't paid for until a test came up to scratch. You can imagine the cost impliactions to a concrete company so most test cylinders achieved the desired MPa at 14 days. Most of them are 40MPa+, i found cos its cheaper to add a 100kg of cement when mixing it. In all the tests & loads out of about 800m³ i only ever had one fail & only by 1.5MPa. The architect & engineers gave the supplier a pass, because i had records of placement & could determine the location of the placed concrete & was accepted as non critical.

Unless your going to load the concrete with 5x its capacity  & it was poured within the last 3 days, why would you be waiting. Sounds like someone is bullShitting you about delays  ;D
Post by: Artie01 on December 01, 2015, 03:11:24 PM
Really? I mean Really????? 2am in a UK airport motel..the fire alarm goes off, everyone outside...... smoke up the fire escape.....2 hours later allowed back inside, flight leaves at 6...really????

On checkout (and no sleep), I ask the guys on the counter what was the fire about? Fire sir? What fire?

This one dickhead....

Much calmer 2 hours later as I was leaving to catch a plane.....sleep? wazzat?

Post by: BaseCamp on December 01, 2015, 03:52:15 PM
Rant 1

x 1000000   >:D

grrrrrr
Post by: tracker on December 01, 2015, 04:09:16 PM

Rant 1

Thats to give us something concrete to rant about....... ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by: cancan on December 01, 2015, 04:47:21 PM

Its like a serving suggestion .... this is what it could look like but in reality no where near it
Post by: MDS69 on December 01, 2015, 05:48:26 PM
Rant 1

Rant 2

Here is one for you that relates to both your rants.
Why does concrete crack everywhere except the expansion joints or the saw cut relief lines
Post by: scarpsD40 on December 01, 2015, 05:54:26 PM
Same with chocolate, never breaks on the mold lines. Reckon they're just there so there's less chocolate needed.
Chocolate companies that don't use the mold lines, always have thinner chocolate.....just sayin
Post by: Steffo1 on December 01, 2015, 06:00:27 PM
Yea, these give me the Shits!
Post by: Jackdawg on December 01, 2015, 07:27:00 PM
Rant 1

Rant 2

Some boofhead probably added more water, or you got ripped off. Concrete should hit strength real easy in the current weather!
Post by: xcvator on December 01, 2015, 07:47:48 PM
I'll give ya 5 mins >:D

Thinking, thinking, thinking, nup, oh hang on, yep, I've run out of bottles for you know what   >:D >:D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: xcvator on December 01, 2015, 07:50:51 PM

Rant 2

wait for the next 4 or 5 truck pour, distract the drivers and chuck in a litre of diesel into the aggie  or a shovel of fly ash  >:D >:D
Post by: scarpsD40 on December 01, 2015, 08:21:15 PM
Thinking, thinking, thinking, nup, oh hang on, yep, I've run out of bottles for you know what   >:D >:D ;D ;D ;D
my rant is when I reply to your pm with a pm of my own and with all your advanced linux and IT guru knowledge, you clearly haven't seen that you have mail and read it yet
Post by: xcvator on December 01, 2015, 09:23:03 PM
my rant is when I reply to your pm with a pm of my own and with all your advanced linux and IT guru knowledge, you clearly haven't seen that you have mail and read it yet
Oh yes I did
Post by: scarpsD40 on December 01, 2015, 09:34:00 PM

Oh yes I did
lol.....check my reply

Post by: xcvator on December 01, 2015, 10:00:47 PM
lol.....check my reply(http://emoji.tapatalk-cdn.com/emoji41.png)

Am I forgiven  :-*
Post by: scarpsD40 on December 01, 2015, 10:11:04 PM

Am I forgiven  :-*
could never be upset at you Keith ;D

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 02, 2015, 04:24:16 AM
Fibber
Post by: mickmac42 on December 02, 2015, 11:30:20 PM
1. The climate change rally in Sydney. They closed of a big section of the city so that a bunch of people could walk down the streets. What the hell did this accomplish? I had caught a taxi from the airport and was trying to get to Circular Quay, but ended up getting stuck in a traffic snarl of people trying to get into or around the city. My 30 minute trip became an hour long trip. Combine that with all the other cars, trucks and buses, and that's not helping their climate change cause. What did they accomplish by walking around in the city that they couldn't have done in the Domain, where they started from (and left a bit of litter by the looks of it as i drove past... twice).

2. Inconsiderate people at the train station. Having given up on getting through the city, i jumped out and caught a train from St James to Circular Quay. My wife and i were the only ones getting off our carriage but we were confronted with a wall of people about 10 deep waiting to get onto the train. Many of them seemed to have been involved in the climate change rally. I was under the impression that people on the platform should allow the disembarking passengers to get off the train before trying to get on. I stood in the doorway of the train, taking up most of the doorway as i'm a pretty big boy and was carrying all my bags, waiting for a path to clear. Everyone just looked at me as though i was inconveniencing them by not getting out of the way. I ended up just wading into the crowd, using my forearms to shove people out of the way so i could carve a path for my wife to follow. All it would have taken was for the people directly in front of the door to take one step away and i would have had a clear path. The fact that i was able to push them out of the way shows that they were both capable of moving away, and unwilling to take even one step. What the hell is wrong with people?!?
Post by: krisandkev on December 03, 2015, 07:27:46 AM
People have the right to voice their opinions, but they need to be mindful of other people and how they affect them.  I do not know what they achieved doing a sit-in at our parliament yesterday.  Felt sorry for the security staff that had to carry them out of our building.  And what was the go with one standing up and doing the haka!  :-\   Perhaps go back to your parliament and do it there.  Kevin
Post by: Robbo on December 03, 2015, 10:00:09 AM
People have the right to voice their opinions, but they need to be mindful of other people and how they affect them.  I do not know what they achieved doing a sit-in at our parliament yesterday.  Felt sorry for the security staff that had to carry them out of our building.  And what was the go with one standing up and doing the haka!  :-\   Perhaps go back to your parliament and do it there.  Kevin

I am quite convinced that many of those muppets that go and these demonstrations would'nt have a clue or even care about what the protest is about. It's obvious that most of them don't have jobs or they would'nt have the time to demonstrate during working hours and as long as it does'nt interupt with their dole collection time they are quite happy to inconvenience everybody else. As for the "Haka" that does'nt belong here and has no place in front of our parliament. >:( >:(
Post by: Snapman007 on December 05, 2015, 08:32:28 PM
For me it's overnight sleep studies, they can get fkd!
Last night I went in for my 7th one in the last 2+years. Sleep myarse. 20 electrodes plunged into you, cords and cables in your legs, chest and head. It goes roll onto your left side, then when your nearly asleep the door busts open, light on, I need you to roll onto your back, light off, hour or so later You start falling into stage 1 sleep, this is good then BANG, fkn door gets busted open again, lights on, roll onto your right, ffs this only about 1am by now.
4:45am a distant phone alarm wakes me up, just so she hasn't fallen asleep and forgets to wake me  at 5am. 5am Lights on, far cough, time to go home. Thank fk we don't have daylight savings and it was day break.
 Last one I did earlier this year was in winter and got kicked out in the morn it was pitch black.
They shoul,d rename them to nocturnal torture studies the fkn's!
Post by: shrek4 on December 05, 2015, 09:38:14 PM
Hmm. What was the study for? I had one done but at home. The monitoring device had colour coded probes and wires (lots) and detailed instructions so I could do the study at home. Was diagnosed with sleep apnoea.
Post by: Snapman007 on December 05, 2015, 10:49:22 PM
shrek pm if you need more info. I've got about 12k of info that I'm happy to share.
Post by: xcvator on December 06, 2015, 08:20:49 AM
I don't have sleep studies any more, the sleep people just take the sd card out of my pump, stick it into a computer program and can tell from that what, if any settings need to be changed.  :cup:
Yep those overnight sleep studies are a pain  :'(
Post by: scarpsD40 on December 06, 2015, 09:25:48 AM
I don't have sleep studies any more, the sleep people just take the sd card out of my bum p, stick it into a computer program and can tell from that what, if any settings need to be changed.  :cup:
Yep those overnight sleep studies are a pain  :'(
can't see what all the fuzz is about
Post by: Hewy54 on December 08, 2015, 09:59:29 AM
Advice and Advise
There is often confusion over the words advice and advise.
Advice
The word advice is a noun meaning a suggestion for a beneficial course of action.
(Advice rhymes with mice.)

Examples: ## Take my advice. I don't use it anyway.
## He who can take advice is sometimes superior to him who can give it.
## Many receive advice, but only the wise profit from it.

Advise
The word advise is a verb meaning to give advice. (It rhymes with prize.) To advise can also mean to notify (e.g., I advised him I was leaving.)

Examples: ## I have found the best way to give advice to your children is to find out what they want and then advise them to do it.
## The rich are always advising the poor, but the poor seldom return the compliment. 
## Attach yourself to those who advise you rather than praise you. 
## Women will never be as successful as men because they have no wives to advise them. 
Post by: edz on December 08, 2015, 10:17:12 AM
^^^ Letme gess Skool teecher rite !!  ;D ;D
Post by: Robbo on December 08, 2015, 10:53:15 AM
Engrish Teecher rerhaaps. ;D
Post by: BaseCamp on December 08, 2015, 11:31:08 AM
  >:D     Forum Members' Advisory WARNING     ;D       >:D

OMG - may I advise that now its the silly season; we seem to have how many?; maybe too many school teachers' advice loose on the public at large - them being armed with their @#%& 2 months off - with pay..  not mentioning the perpetually retired ones....     :laugh:       ;D

(but don't worry about little olde me) - after all; I am the product of a failed education system...  LOL
Where Dick and Dora and the little coloured wooden blocks reigned supreme in the '70s; teaching us all reading and arithmetic; and where the cane and the cuts - "six of the best, sir" rounded-off the rest of our collective educations....   

Post by: scarpsD40 on December 08, 2015, 11:42:08 AM
Thnx and lol;D

What pacifically are you trying to say?
Post by: KingBilly on December 08, 2015, 12:02:04 PM

:cup: :cup: :cup:

Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on December 08, 2015, 01:56:02 PM
Thnx and lol;D

It's pretty simple really. He's giving general advise on the correct terminology of the word. I'd advice you take his advise, as it makes perfect scents to me.
Post by: Hewy54 on December 08, 2015, 03:17:19 PM
Yes - retired sums teacher.
Got a fit of the guilts at earning so much money and having 3 months holiday every year and only having to work 9 to 3 and getting to meet all those lovely parents of the charming littluns I taught.
Post by: Robbo on December 08, 2015, 03:42:08 PM
Yes - retired sums teacher.
Got a fit of the guilts at earning so much money and having 3 months holiday every year and only having to work 9 to 3 and getting to meet all those lovely parents of the charming littluns I taught.

Hey Hewy, don't feel bad. If you have the guilts about being payed too much money and not having worked hard enough for it, you can give the surplus to me and i will distribute it to the needy.
It will be our little secret.  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: scarpsD40 on December 08, 2015, 04:20:25 PM
Hey Hewy, don't feel bad. If you have the guilts about being payed too much money and not having worked hard enough for it, you can give the surplus to me and i will distribute it to the needy.
It will be our little secret.  ;D ;D ;D
that's what I like about myswagg'rs. Caring and shearing.

Hey hewy, on a serious note, I like your style, nothing wrong with offering grammar and spelling tips on here. I would suggest you could start a thread just for myswagger spelling and grammar tips and education, after all there is some good general knowledge info on here about things other than camping.
You'll soon find it may start as it's own small group and grow with interested people to something big.  i.e. The quadcopter group
Post by: Hewy54 on December 08, 2015, 04:50:08 PM
Thanks for that scarps. Usually careful about making grammatical comments as I'm not 100% correct myself - combination of dyslexia and sticky keyboard, and do not want to overlook the valuable knowledge that is in between the bad spelling.
By the way I am also pleased to see that you are keen to help those on the land (being so "Caring and shearing")
Robbo
would love to share the wealth with you but with all that spare time with no lessons to prepare, I spent it all on expensive hobbies.
Post by: scarpsD40 on December 08, 2015, 05:09:23 PM

Thanks for that scarps. Usually careful about making grammatical comments as I'm not 100% correct myself - combination of dyslexia and sticky keyboard, and do not want to overlook the valuable knowledge that is in between the bad spelling.
By the way I am also pleased to see that you are keen to help those on the land (being so "Caring and shearing")
lol, actually I was looking out for my kiwi mates bro;D
Post by: Robbo on December 08, 2015, 05:57:53 PM
Robbo
would love to share the wealth with you but with all that spare time with no lessons to prepare, I spent it all on expensive hobbies.

Hey, no worries Hewy, at least it went to a good cause.  ;D ;D
Post by: Roo on December 08, 2015, 09:36:14 PM
Incorrect grammar can really change the phrase "I was helping my uncle jack off a horse".

Post by: oldmate on December 08, 2015, 09:56:14 PM
Hewi!!!  I suggest u pis of and give Apple a leson insted. It's this stupid ph that cant spel
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 11, 2015, 04:36:41 PM
Not really a rant as such, just an observation.

I have a pretty good mowing run, good clients who work hand in hand with me.

But at Xmas time, all the "FOCUS" people come out. (I saw the FOCUS thing in another thread and really liked it.)

So, the FOCUS people are now all ringing everyone (There's about 8 or 9 lawnies working here) trying to get mows and garden work and crap done for Xmas.
No regular mower man, just ring the poor bastards at their busiest time of the year and then just get cranky when their too busy.

One in particular, has had a quote for $250.00 for a suburban mow from one the guys, because its 2 feet tall and a bun fight. (I wouldn't do it for less than $300.00)
OH no, I can't afford that....... loser.

Her neighbor was telling me how no-one will mow it for her etc etc.

Crap, ya just won't spend the money.... ya dropkick.

Last year, I quoted one place and quoted $1,000 to $1,200 to clean the dump up.
Owner thought it wouldn't be more than 400 to 500....... Good luck and see ya later.

Oh well, they don't call it the silly season for nothing.  ;D
Post by: GeoffA on December 11, 2015, 04:48:40 PM
.....I saw the FOCUS thing in another thread and really liked it.......

Which one?? Link please, it's important...... ;D
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 11, 2015, 05:02:06 PM
Funny Photo's thread.

I just used it on the wife....... no idea.  ;D
Post by: GeoffA on December 11, 2015, 05:06:04 PM
Lucky it wasn't in the "Spelling and Grammar" thread.......
Post by: Raym on December 11, 2015, 10:06:24 PM
Some A/hole knocked of a ute across the road. Young fellow came out & sprung them so the driver panicked & reversed out of their driveway across the road & through our front fence Took out a large peach tree. They then took off.

Oh well I wanted to cut out the peach tree pity they missed the others I wanted gone.
Post by: D4D on December 11, 2015, 10:13:55 PM
Non family friendly avatars on a family friendly site...
Post by: plusnq on December 12, 2015, 05:54:17 AM

>:D
Post by: Jackdawg on December 12, 2015, 07:11:57 AM

Turn them off in your profile settings, I always turn off signatures and avatars on forums if they give the option (this one does), got a slow connection and every little bit helps  ;D
Post by: D4D on December 12, 2015, 07:21:34 AM
Turn them off in your profile settings, I always turn off signatures and avatars on forums if they give the option (this one does), got a slow connection and every little bit helps  ;D

:cup: :cheers:
Post by: Swannie on December 12, 2015, 09:14:52 AM

I'm sorry if I'm promoting drinking in my avatar :)

Post by: callmejoe on December 12, 2015, 11:52:40 AM
Trying to work in the shed with the wife....Replacing shelving. Easy job.. oh and yes the shelving is for her...

BUT 2 bosses JUST won't work.

FOCUS i keep telling her.....

I don't think I'm getting any loven tonight.
Post by: bobnrob on December 12, 2015, 08:26:41 PM

I'm often amazed at how very liberal minded a lot of families are from this site  LOL
Post by: Bird on December 12, 2015, 08:39:11 PM
Quote from: swannie
I'm sorry if I'm promoting drinking in my avatar :)

We come to expect that from you... just cause your camping.. you havent put that SMS up yet.. LOL!!!!
Post by: xcvator on December 12, 2015, 09:34:37 PM
I'm often amazed at how very liberal minded a lot of families are from this site  LOL
Yeah, but there are always the sticks  :angel:
Post by: Kunnara on December 13, 2015, 05:53:59 AM
Not really a rant as such, just an observation.

I have a pretty good mowing run, good clients who work hand in hand with me.

But at Xmas time, all the "FOCUS" people come out. (I saw the FOCUS thing in another thread and really liked it.)

So, the FOCUS people are now all ringing everyone (There's about 8 or 9 lawnies working here) trying to get mows and garden work and crap done for Xmas.
No regular mower man, just ring the poor bastards at their busiest time of the year and then just get cranky when their too busy.

One in particular, has had a quote for $250.00 for a suburban mow from one the guys, because its 2 feet tall and a bun fight. (I wouldn't do it for less than $300.00)
OH no, I can't afford that....... loser.

Her neighbor was telling me how no-one will mow it for her etc etc.

Crap, ya just won't spend the money.... ya dropkick.

Last year, I quoted one place and quoted $1,000 to $1,200 to clean the dump up.
Owner thought it wouldn't be more than 400 to 500....... Good luck and see ya later.

Oh well, they don't call it the silly season for nothing.  ;D

I'm a self employed Plumber...People must think about changing some taps or a toilet suite all year and then 4 weeks out from chrissy decide it must be done...Just as well I am just sitting at home waiting for them to call...
Post by: J.R on December 13, 2015, 06:56:02 AM
Selling things.

I have a 2014 Seadoo GTS 130. Only has 30 fresh water only hours, full gal trailer, Jerry can holders, jerry cans, spare wheel, ski tubes, ropes and cover. Brand new just over $14k.

I'm selling it for $9k and it has rego till April 16.

I have posted it on Gumtree with the "only reply via phone or text" and I still get emails from idiots with ridiculous offers. Or the get annoyed I didn't answer their email in time so they purchased else where.

The really annoying part, one dude offered me 6k cash, and I had to drop it off for him. I asked him how he came up with that price, he said he can buy a brand new Seadoo Spark (plastic hull and a massive 60hp) brand new and I was asking way to much for mine. Anybody that knows anything about Seadoo jet skis will know where I'm coming from.

Then another bloke offers a realistic off per of 8k. We were thinking about it, but has now disappeared. No replies or answers.

I wish buyers wouldn't waste my time if they weren't serious.

End of rant.
Post by: oldmate on December 13, 2015, 08:54:56 AM
That's why when I just upgraded to a new work van, I just traded the ute in rather then trying to sell it private. Yeah sure I could of got more for it, but didn't want to go through ^^^^^ that crap.
Post by: Robbo on December 13, 2015, 02:25:35 PM
I hear what you're saying JR, unfortunately Gumtree seems to attract buyers who are moronic idiots.
I have used TradingPost quite successfully over the years, you still get the morons but generally the buyers are a slightly better class of idiot. As Oldmate said, it's a nightmare selling a vehicle on the net for this reason that's why i always just trade it in and move on. :D
Post by: Moggy on December 13, 2015, 03:22:02 PM
I think you just have to separate the Shit from the sugar, and sometimes a sale will come when least expecting it. I've had my motorcycle on there since August, had a few nibbles but nothing serious & then out of the blue this bloke send an email. I get back to him he's keen but I'm in Brisbane til Saturday. He makes an offer sight unseen flys to mackay (actually beat me) meet at the airport comes home with me goes for a ride & throws down the cash. Deal done inside 2hrs.
I was the opposite as far as email vs phone, i didn't want to waste time with tyre kickers on the phone.

Post by: stabicraft on December 13, 2015, 09:05:00 PM
Seems like the moron who stood up in front of all Australians telling us the age of entitlement was over was obviusly not talking about himself.

$600k a year for life at 50 plus $350k a year on top of that for being looked after overseas.

But where will he live?
He will obviously get his wife to buy a house and he can live in it while claiming living away from home expenses.

Seriously people.
This man has cut pensions, destroyed the economy and sold out Australia to multinationals and other countries, while screwing us for everything he can get.

When are Australians going to wake up?
Post by: xcvator on December 13, 2015, 09:17:57 PM
Seems like the moron who stood up in front of all Australians telling us the age of entitlement was over was obviusly not talking about himself.

$600k a year for life at 50 plus $350k a year on top of that for being looked after overseas.

But where will he live?
He will obviously get his wife to buy a house and he can live in it while claiming living away from home expenses.

Seriously people.
This man has cut pensions, destroyed the economy and sold out Australia to multinationals and other countries, while screwing us for everything he can get.

When are Australians going to wake up?
Stabby, I hear you and choke on what's been done in Victoria, BUT we don't discuss politics on this forum, sorry, out of line atm 
Post by: scarpsD40 on December 13, 2015, 09:32:14 PM
My rant is about strange people ;D on facewastebook who like or comment on my posts, but when I realise who they are, try to send them a friend request, only to find they've locked their account to friend requests. Or maybe just ones from me???
Post by: oldmate on December 13, 2015, 09:35:02 PM
My rant is about strange people ;D on facewastebook who like or comment on my posts, but when I realise who they are, try to send them a friend request, only to find they've locked their account to friend requests. Or maybe just ones from me???
It's cause I don't like you!
Post by: scarpsD40 on December 13, 2015, 09:42:50 PM

It's cause I don't like you!
nah, we fixed yours, but now there's someone else;D

Post by: cancan on December 13, 2015, 09:48:31 PM
Going back to gumtree... i recently moved and advertised the packing boxes for free.. and people were asking if i could do them off for them... next they would want me to help them move

Post by: oldmate on December 13, 2015, 09:55:46 PM
nah, we fixed yours, but now there's someone else;D

I still don't like you
Post by: xcvator on December 13, 2015, 10:12:44 PM
I didn't like you either  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 14, 2015, 04:21:54 AM
I tolerate him in small doses.

He's like diarrhea, ya happy when he's gone, but the slightest wrong noise and ya flinch sumfin awfull, cause ya think he's come back.  ;D

Post by: scarpsD40 on December 14, 2015, 05:02:42 AM
As if
Post by: Bad Scott on December 14, 2015, 05:15:20 AM
Hay. he's running away. LOL
Post by: Bad Scott on December 14, 2015, 09:00:30 AM
Just tried. Denied.
Post by: scarpsD40 on December 14, 2015, 09:29:00 AM

Just tried. Denied.
so you too are on the outer? Maybe that person discriminates against handsome and great blokes then.
I'll bet Oldmate and Jerpers are friends with them then;D
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 14, 2015, 03:51:33 PM
Hey Scabs, not Jerpers, I don't have any friends.  ;D
Post by: scarpsD40 on December 14, 2015, 05:36:08 PM
Hey Scabs, not Jerpers, I don't have any friends.  ;D
my humble apologies Kev for my fat fingers mistake.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 15, 2015, 04:00:14 PM
Forgiven....  :D
Post by: Hewy54 on December 15, 2015, 04:14:05 PM
How hard is it to volunteer nowadays???
Have some spare time so thought I would help out with the rebuild after the Pinery fires. Only response from numerous emails and offers was from Red Cross. Great I'm in. Just have to attend an information session in the city, bring my 100 point ID, fill in the forms for the police check and then attend a Psychological First Aid training session.
Also decided to volunteer for some bus driving. Had my HR for 35 years and driven thousands of K's on school camps. Nope, have to get a national passenger accreditation and another police check. Should only take 2 months and cost me under $400.
Not sure if I will bother.
Much easier to get a paid job to fill in my time.
Post by: oldmate on December 15, 2015, 08:59:42 PM
How hard is it to volunteer nowadays???
Have some spare time so thought I would help out with the rebuild after the Pinery fires. Only response from numerous emails and offers was from Red Cross. Great I'm in. Just have to attend an information session in the city, bring my 100 point ID, fill in the forms for the police check and then attend a Psychological First Aid training session.
Also decided to volunteer for some bus driving. Had my HR for 35 years and driven thousands of K's on school camps. Nope, have to get a national passenger accreditation and another police check. Should only take 2 months and cost me under $400.
Not sure if I will bother.
Much easier to get a paid job to fill in my time.

YEP
Post by: Homerj on December 15, 2015, 09:39:31 PM
Have you tried Blaze Aid, helping farmers rebuild fences?  Don't know if it's what you're looking for but they have a website and a Facebook page.
Post by: Hewy54 on December 15, 2015, 09:49:52 PM
Have you tried Blaze Aid, helping farmers rebuild fences?  Don't know if it's what you're looking for but they have a website and a Facebook page.
Many thanks for that. Exactly what I was looking for. The current work is only 10 mins from home, but will be keen to help on future projects as well. Will call them tomorrow.
Post by: edz on December 17, 2015, 05:38:37 PM
Soooo Sooo disapointed in our childs usual after school and  vacation care [  read  SUPPOSED CARERS ] ...  It was pool day today at my work.. but for some reason they thought is was ok for kids to remove there rash shirts for a period of time ?? who knows how long etc in near 30*C temps and EXTREME UV  11+ ratings  add the reflection of the pool  ....  End result in one badly sunburnt kid ... My temps running about 110*C  ATM .. is a good thing they are now closed for the day . I may may not have been very polite to them otherwise ..
Have to see what tomorow brings though ..
Post by: macca on December 17, 2015, 07:30:53 PM
...... and a great and worthwhile organization

Post by: Hewy54 on December 17, 2015, 07:50:42 PM
Have contacted them and all is good.
Whoosed out for the next couple of days (41 Wed, 43 today,43 Friday and 44 Saturday), but start at 7 am Monday.
Post by: Jackdawg on December 18, 2015, 06:12:00 AM
Soooo Sooo disapointed in our childs usual after school and  vacation care [  read  SUPPOSED CARERS ] ...  It was pool day today at my work.. but for some reason they thought is was ok for kids to remove there rash shirts for a period of time ?? who knows how long etc in near 30*C temps and EXTREME UV  11+ ratings  add the reflection of the pool  ....  End result in one badly sunburnt kid ... My temps running about 110*C  ATM .. is a good thing they are now closed for the day . I may may not have been very polite to them otherwise ..
Have to see what tomorow brings though ..

I suspect they wont have a "constipation" problem today as you will installing a new one!!
Post by: krisandkev on December 18, 2015, 01:31:27 PM
Wife and I just went out for lunch at a local cafe and I was charged an extra 50 cents for using the Pay Wave?  Now I know some businesses will charge for using your credit card, but I have never been charged for using my Pay Wave. ???  When I queried the charge they said, ‘We get charged for that machine so we have to pass on the charge.’   Not happy and then they forgot our order!!!!  Will not be back... >:(.  Kevin
Post by: Spada on December 18, 2015, 03:05:22 PM
Wife and I just went out for lunch at a local cafe and I was charged an extra 50 cents for using the Pay Wave?  Now I know some businesses will charge for using your credit card, but I have never been charged for using my Pay Wave. ???  When I queried the charge they said, ‘We get charged for that machine so we have to pass on the charge.’   Not happy and then they forgot our order!!!!  Will not be back... >:(.  Kevin

Id reply with - you have to pay for the cash register, why don't that have a surcharge for paying cash ? They have to pay banking fees and staff labour to handle and bank the cash, so why don't they charge a surcharge for cash sales.

Or is it just an excuse to gouge some extra coin from the customer.
Post by: J.R on December 18, 2015, 03:37:02 PM
Selling items.

Trying to sell an immaculate 2014 Seadoo GTS.

This model doesn't have all the bells and whistles, no reverse, no cruise control, no variable trim. Doesn't have the super charger ($800 service every 100 hours just on the super charger).

That's why we wanted it. Less to go wrong, less to fix.

People ring, then complain it doesn't have what they are after, then winge why it's so expensive.

Why can't idiots do their research first, find out what models have as standard, and what don't.

Then you get the one offering a cash sale, at half the asking price, but I have to drop it off, then get upset when I tell them to GF'd.

Then you get the bloke saying he'll take it, organise a time that he'll turn up, you knock back other offers because you have a bloke interested, then doesn't show and can't be bothered to ring.

I guess this explains my lack of tolerance for the general public and people in general.
Post by: Bird on December 18, 2015, 03:53:23 PM
Quote from: J.R
Then you get the bloke saying he'll take it, organise a time that he'll turn up, you knock back other offers because you have a bloke interested, then doesn't show and can't be bothered to ring.
that's when you say first one with the cash gets it... if they are serious, they usually show up instantly..
Post by: scarpsD40 on December 19, 2015, 08:07:44 PM
Yoyota Druvers that aren't on holidays, get a Lada;D
Post by: Jackdawg on December 20, 2015, 04:13:38 AM
Selling items.

Trying to sell an immaculate 2014 Seadoo GTS.

This model doesn't have all the bells and whistles, no reverse, no cruise control, no variable trim. Doesn't have the super charger ($800 service every 100 hours just on the super charger).

That's why we wanted it. Less to go wrong, less to fix.

People ring, then complain it doesn't have what they are after, then winge why it's so expensive.

Why can't idiots do their research first, find out what models have as standard, and what don't.

Then you get the one offering a cash sale, at half the asking price, but I have to drop it off, then get upset when I tell them to GF'd.

I guess this explains my lack of tolerance for the general public and people in general.

That is why I hate selling stuff.
Post by: scarpsD40 on December 23, 2015, 12:27:00 PM
Spending $45 hard earned on a new Bream net, one like you might use on a yak, with a longer handle, then realising as you wind the fish in closer it's too bloody small, throw it and wrangle the big net out instead. Might have to give the new one to xcavator as a xrissy pres;D
Post by: D4D on December 23, 2015, 12:30:48 PM
...then realising as you wind the fish in closer it's too bloody small

So you've stopped 'fishing' and started 'catching' :)
Post by: Tim - Stratford on December 23, 2015, 12:31:47 PM
Spending $45 hard earned on a new Bream net, one like you might use on a yak, with a longer handle, then realising as you wind the fish in closer it's too bloody small, throw it and wrangle the big net out instead. Might have to give the new one to xcavator as a xrissy pres;D

scarps are you saying that you only catch big fish &
Keith only catches the little throw backs!   >:D

Sarah
Post by: oldmate on December 23, 2015, 12:33:41 PM
The fish that scarps west rejects?
Post by: scarpsD40 on December 23, 2015, 01:19:25 PM
So you've stopped 'fishing' and started 'catching' :)
sometimes it's just as much fun to go fishing on here and see who bites;D

You coming to Corryong Aus Day?

On a brighter note, this one's in the feezer to go with Xmas Dinner.

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 26, 2015, 12:50:48 PM
Well, as scheduled, serviced the boat this morning and all good.
Drinks this afternoon with the neighbours and then....... go boating..... for the rest of the week.  ;D
Happy to spend between $800 and a $1,000 on boat fuel, so lets go go go.

Just checked the weather reports,

Sunday. Fine day, light wind, late storm. (OK for boating, just gotta come in a bit early and keep tomorrow as a day trip)
Monday. blowing its ring off with 25 knots.
Tuesday. blowing its ring off with 25 knots.
Wednesday. blowing its ring off with 25 knots.
Thursday. blowing its ring off with 25 knots.
Friday. blowing its furkin ring off again off with farkin 25 farkin knots.

Some one must have knocked my cup of happiness over and broke the friggin thing, cause i'm not friggin very  happy.
Post by: Robbo on December 26, 2015, 02:55:03 PM
It's called "Karma" Jeepers, for not inviting me along.. ;D ;D ;D
Anyway, have a safe trip and great time.. :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: edz on December 26, 2015, 04:13:50 PM
Ahh ya big girl the Tub will handle it across the bay in the following chop, might just have to hug the mangroves around to Inskip and run the short stretch  till you make the lee of the island ,, Their saying its all SSEasters up until New Years ..
You could rig a few of ya shorts off the bow rail as a Kite sail  and save fuel  ;D ;D ;D  Have fun Kev and be nice to Astrid  ;D :cheers:
Post by: scarpsD40 on December 26, 2015, 04:47:48 PM
Well, as scheduled, serviced the boat this morning and all good.
Drinks this afternoon with the neighbours and then....... go boating..... for the rest of the week.  ;D
Happy to spend between $800 and a $1,000 on boat fuel, so lets go go go.

Just checked the weather reports,

Sunday. Fine day, light wind, late storm. (OK for boating, just gotta come in a bit early and keep tomorrow as a day trip)
Monday. blowing its ring off with 25 knots.
Tuesday. blowing its ring off with 25 knots.
Wednesday. blowing its ring off with 25 knots.
Thursday. blowing its ring off with 25 knots.
Friday. blowing its furkin ring off again off with farkin 25 farkin knots.

Some one must have knocked my cup of happiness over and broke the friggin thing, cause i'm not friggin very  happy.
maybe you need to trade this boat in for one with sails? Think of the saving on fuel.....
Post by: Bad Scott on December 26, 2015, 07:18:11 PM
maybe you need to trade this boat in for one with oars? Think of the saving on fuel.....
Fixed >:D
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 27, 2015, 03:50:18 AM
You people are not helping......  :'(
Post by: scarpsD40 on December 27, 2015, 07:06:57 AM

maybe you need to get a set of these on the back?
Post by: Fizzie on December 27, 2015, 07:21:06 AM
maybe you need to get a set of these on the back?

Definitely need a set of them & more than one set - but what are those two white things that are taking up all the room?  >:D
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 27, 2015, 07:32:35 AM
nice hooters.  >:D
Post by: Bad Scott on December 27, 2015, 07:48:02 AM
nice hooters.  >:D
Evin rude too
Post by: scarpsD40 on December 27, 2015, 08:06:09 AM
Sometimes I worry about you guys, but then something else grabs my attention and I move on

Remember
Chill, put the aircon on, climb another great track in the Vic High Country, then look north to see what our Qld brothers are up to on the beach?
Post by: dales133 on December 27, 2015, 08:15:28 AM
They look a bit out of proportion on that thing.....outboards are big too
Post by: Robbo on December 27, 2015, 12:52:10 PM
They look a bit out of proportion on that thing.....outboards are big too

What Outboards.. ;D ;D

Did i miss something?. ;D ;D
Post by: tracker on December 27, 2015, 01:17:20 PM
Never realised those motors were red.... ;D ;D
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 27, 2015, 01:20:01 PM
Its friggin raining here now..... stuff me sideways.

Some-one up there really wants to pi$$ me off and its working.
Post by: dales133 on December 27, 2015, 01:47:28 PM
Weathers been bollocks down here to jeepers...your not alone
Post by: Bird on December 27, 2015, 07:09:40 PM
Why do parasites feel the need to go sticky beaking at the burnt out houses and Shit down the coast??

Leave the poor ****s alone and stay the **** away
Post by: xcvator on December 27, 2015, 08:19:00 PM

And that surprises you, ??? ya great dufus   >:D >:D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: edz on December 27, 2015, 08:31:04 PM
Its friggin raining here now..... stuff me sideways.

Some-one up there really wants to pi$$ me off and its working.

Its a boat its ment to get wet  ;D...Clearer weathers on the way for ya mate, Just go anyway .
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 28, 2015, 03:56:18 AM
at 3am, it was blowing 36 knots, and gusting to 44 knots, all from the south/east, straight up the strait.
(the three ways would be like $50.00 hooker, very sloppy)

You come and get the keys Edz and take it out, i'm not.

I've been on a boat in that sort of wind...its a tad crappy.
Post by: tracker on December 28, 2015, 04:02:31 AM
at 3am, it was blowing 36 knots, and gusting to 44 knots, all from the south/east, straight up the strait.
(the three ways would be like $50.00 hooker, very sloppy)

You come and get the keys Edz and take it out, i'm not.

I've been on a boat in that sort of wind...its a tad crappy.

That's what we call up here " Fresh to Frightening "

Post by: Robbo on December 28, 2015, 06:44:52 AM
HeHe, that's your excuse Jeepers.

But we know why your boat was "rockin"  ;D ;D
Post by: scarpsD40 on December 28, 2015, 10:08:29 AM
Thought this was apt
Post by: Fizzie on December 28, 2015, 11:41:16 AM

"Someone's rocking my dream boat"  :angel:

But Jeepers, it could be a lot worse.

Just think about it for a moment - you're sitting at home, not going boating but also not working, listening to 30-40 kt winds howling outside, but with a fridge full of cold beer  :D

Right now, you could be one of the 10000 poor sods sitting on a beach within 100k of you, in a tent or CT, with those same 30-40 kts winds howling around them, pulling the tent pegs out, damaging things blowing stuff away, not allowing a camp fire & so on. The kids can't play or go swimming cause it's too windy so they're unhappy = Mrs unhappy = it's all your fault because you wanted to go camping at Christmas time  >:D

Instead, you're inside warm, dry & cosy, with nothing to do except get on the  :cheers: & call out to someone sweet far, far away  8)
Post by: Garfish on December 28, 2015, 11:57:22 AM
Back to school shopping. 
Requirements
1 X 128g iPad Air 2 or pro for middle child grade 7 plus keyboard.  These things never go on sale.
1 X laptop for master for grade 10. At least I can get one of these relatively cheap.. And annoy my son who thinks I'm getting him a gaming quality unit for him to destroy in 18 months....

What's wrong with pen and paper and actual text books.

Post by: edz on December 28, 2015, 12:06:24 PM
Been there done that bet the blokes on the southern side of D.I . are Hunkering down http://www.coastalwatch.com/surf-cams-surf-reports/qld/rainbow-beach (http://www.coastalwatch.com/surf-cams-surf-reports/qld/rainbow-beach)
Post by: Bird on December 28, 2015, 12:11:15 PM
Quote from: Garfish
1 X laptop for master for grade 10. At least I can get one of these relatively cheap.. And annoy my son who thinks I'm getting him a gaming quality unit for him to destroy in 18 months...
yea cammo had the choice of the Apple or the Windows machine  at his school, it was his choice - but he too thought I was getting him an Alienware machine!!! I made the mistake of sayin I could get them thru my Dell Rep at work, but it aint gonna happen!
Post by: Fizzie on December 28, 2015, 12:12:08 PM
http://www.coastalwatch.com/surf-cams-surf-reports/qld/rainbow-beach (http://www.coastalwatch.com/surf-cams-surf-reports/qld/rainbow-beach)

Appears to be lot's of people driving South down the beach, turning around & coming back up - I take it teh rocks are getting wet?   :'(
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 28, 2015, 12:37:16 PM
Mother Nature can stick her 40 knots of wind in her big spotty hairy blurter.

I'm going back to work tomorrow and make some money.

Better than sitting around the house picking my toes.
Post by: MDS69 on December 28, 2015, 12:46:40 PM
Back to school shopping. 
Requirements
1 X 128g iPad Air 2 or pro for middle child grade 7 plus keyboard.  These things never go on sale.
1 X laptop for master for grade 10. At least I can get one of these relatively cheap.. And annoy my son who thinks I'm getting him a gaming quality unit for him to destroy in 18 months....

What's wrong with pen and paper and actual text books.

I had to buy a iPad for my son going into Year 5. We were given by the school a list from a preferred supplier with prices for iPad Air and iPad Air 2 and all the different memory sizes so had about 7 different models to choose from. We went for the later model and a fairly big memory as we want it to still be relevant when he goes into Year 6 and also for family use on holidays with mapping etc.
I watched the iPad prices for a few months and no one could come close to the preferred supplier.
We are lucky that my daughter was the last year to get a school supplied MacBook until year 9 (in the school fees anyway) she is year 8 2016 so we didn't have to stump up for that at the same time. It is a K-12 school.
Actually it just dawned on me that we need to buy my son a MacBook for year 7 the same time we need to buy my daughter a MacBook for year 10. Ouch.
Post by: wakychapmans on December 28, 2015, 12:52:32 PM
bloody Ray's Outdoors...

all the ads on TV are promoting their *** MASSIVE *** sale.

including "Keen" sandals.

beaut' say I...

I wear my Keens every single day to work and well... everwhere.

So we make the drive from the in laws place at Gembrook, to that paragon of consumerism... Westfield Fountaingate (shudder) with me wedged in the backseat of a Kia Sportage (who the flock designed that thing)

So... we arrive at Ray's. Been to this particular store many times whenever we visit every XMAS. Ummm what the hell happened to the stock?

this place looks like it's having a closing down/all stock must go sale. It's gutted compared to say... last XMAS.

And the range of brands... looks like we have "Wild Country" and... "Wild Country" heavily stocked in every product category, replacing all the actual brand names.

So I finally find the Keen sandals that are on sale. They have one model, ladies only, in one overstocked size only...

But they do have mens in stock... $159

for the same model that I can get in Sydney for $99.

Looks to me like Super Group is pumping all their efforts into BCF nowadays and bleeding Ray's empty.

Rant over.

Post by: callmejoe on December 28, 2015, 01:31:38 PM
I was trying to start  work a day early this week so i could be back in time for new years.
But for those that don't know the road between Katherine and the WA border (Kununarra) is closed due to flooding. But my gripe is with MVR (Road department) who CAN NOT BE bothered to update there web site with up to date info. The road was actually un passable about 5hrs before they even posted that it was closed on the Internet. (Luck had it i and other sources for info in time)
All the information you can get is wait for it."Road flooded". Gee that's helpful. Is the water still coming up so expect another day,  OR  do i try to get to higher ground NOW. Is it  flooded that it has gone over  Victoria River bridge meaning at now a minimum of 2 days closure Which i only know from experience, what about other people. ?. There is ABSOLUTLY no information that can help someone make a SAFE decision.
At least I'm at home,  what about about the people between Katherine and Kununarra? ? THAT GOT THE INFORMATION TO LATE..

ANY other state it'll be all over the news. A web site with half hour updates. Services for those stuck.

MVR PICK UP YOUR GAME.

Post by: Jackdawg on December 29, 2015, 06:09:53 AM
I was trying to start  work a day early this week so i could be back in time for new years.
But for those that don't know the road between Katherine and the WA border (Kununarra) is closed due to flooding. But my gripe is with MVR (Road department) who CAN NOT BE bothered to update there web site with up to date info. The road was actually un passable about 5hrs before they even posted that it was closed on the Internet. (Luck had it i and other sources for info in time)
All the information you can get is wait for it."Road flooded". Gee that's helpful. Is the water still coming up so expect another day,  OR  do i try to get to higher ground NOW. Is it  flooded that it has gone over  Victoria River bridge meaning at now a minimum of 2 days closure Which i only know from experience, what about other people. ?. There is ABSOLUTLY no information that can help someone make a SAFE decision.
At least I'm at home,  what about about the people between Katherine and Kununarra? ? THAT GOT THE INFORMATION TO LATE..

ANY other state it'll be all over the news. A web site with half hour updates. Services for those stuck.

MVR PICK UP YOUR GAME.

ah, weren't they predicting big rain for at least a week before it started? Even talking about the first cyclone of the season?
Post by: D4D on December 29, 2015, 12:54:02 PM
Who’s the bright spark at ARB that decided no more calendars? ???

What am I going to hang in my garage now? :'(
Post by: callmejoe on December 29, 2015, 03:05:11 PM
ah, weren't they predicting big rain for at least a week before it started? Even talking about the first cyclone of the season?
Yep you are correct. So one would think that there web site would be right up todate. But from a very good source. The web site wasn't up to update because there was a lack of information coming through.  BECAUSE THE BLOKE DOING IT WAS ON THE PISS......
Post by: Foo on December 29, 2015, 06:24:22 PM
Mother Nature can stick her 40 knots of wind in her big spotty hairy blurter.

I'm going back to work tomorrow and make some money.

Better than sitting around the house picking my toes.

Bloody sook and no sense of adventure!  ;D

Post by: plusnq on December 29, 2015, 06:45:39 PM
Bloody sook and no sense of adventure!  ;D

Have you seen his toes ? ;D
Post by: Hairs on December 29, 2015, 07:39:02 PM
Have you seen his toes ? ;D

Sorry to admit this,
But I have felt them (http://www.hairfysh.com/images/Icons/Smileys/shocked.gif)

(http://www.hairfysh.com/images/Icons/Smileys/Banghead.gif)
Post by: plusnq on December 29, 2015, 07:44:28 PM
Sorry to admit this,
But I have felt them (http://www.hairfysh.com/images/Icons/Smileys/shocked.gif)

(http://www.hairfysh.com/images/Icons/Smileys/Banghead.gif)

Sometimes what happens in camp........needs to stay in camp
 ;D ;D
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 30, 2015, 04:24:04 AM
It was nice too, he didn't just touch them either, really more of a caress.

Oh Gee, I think I need to have a lie down, as i think of what could've happened.  >:D   >:D   :-*
Post by: Fizzie on December 30, 2015, 08:37:41 AM
& then you lot ask people to come to National Meets & so on  ???  >:D
Post by: scarpsD40 on December 30, 2015, 08:40:04 AM
Well unless someone comes good with another location bid, 2017 could be in the Vic High Country and let me tell you, sometimes spooning's the best way to keep warm on a cold night. Preferably with swmbo or a sheep but then each to their own.
Post by: GeoffA on December 30, 2015, 01:44:39 PM
....with comments like that ^ scraps, I'm not sure whether you're trying to scare them, or attract them.....  ??? :P
Post by: Hewy54 on December 30, 2015, 04:18:15 PM
Sincere thanks for that reply. I contacted them, started work last Monday, worked last Tuesday as well and did 3 days this week.
A fantastic group doing some amazing work for the fire stricken farmers.