Author Topic: Bribie - stopped counting at 400  (Read 4353 times)

Bribie - stopped counting at 400
« on: February 03, 2020, 11:11:50 AM »
Cannot remember the last time I had been for a drive on the Bribie beach....early 90’s

Was sitting in the back seat while daughter and her girlfriend got the hang of sand driving (high tide mind you).

Started counting when we turned around at the northern end. Hit 400 just before the exited the beach.

Few white pointers around as well.

Re: Bribie - stopped counting at 400
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2020, 11:43:56 AM »
400 what ?

« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2020, 12:07:12 PM »
400 what ?
wonder if he meant 400 pair of white pointers? (.)(.)  8)

« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2020, 04:33:15 PM »
400 what ?

4WD’s

« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2020, 04:35:47 PM »
wonder if he meant 400 pair of white pointers? (.)(.)  8)

Only three sets....the learner drivers got a giggle on the way back.

On the way up I mention did I just spot a couple of wire pointers.....they automatically looked toward the ocean.

« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2020, 05:21:12 PM »

On the way up I mention did I just spot a couple of wire pointers.....they automatically looked toward the ocean.

Amazing how many young girls these days are blonde !! ;D

« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2020, 06:46:58 PM »
Amazing how many young girls these days are blonde !! ;D

the learner drivers were actually blond......

« Reply #7 on: February 04, 2020, 09:21:28 AM »
When we go to the beach 4WDing with other families is the only time we turn our UHF radios on. So if one of the Dad’s says over the radio to check out the pod of dolphins swimming in the ocean, the other Dad’s know to look the other direction and check out the land white pointers.

Kids still look for the dolphins, but our wives are now onto what we are doing. 

« Reply #8 on: February 04, 2020, 11:35:10 AM »
I must go the wrong beaches.

Went for a drive down Rainbow day after boxing day and I didn't get any of these sightings. :'(

« Reply #9 on: February 06, 2020, 09:29:09 AM »
Never been on the beach thete and lived on Bribie and Sandstone Point for 22yrs. Don't intend going on it anytime soon neither. Just to many idiots turn up. 🖕

Sent from my SM-T355Y using Tapatalk

« Reply #10 on: February 06, 2020, 10:20:23 AM »
Never been on the beach thete and lived on Bribie and Sandstone Point for 22yrs. Don't intend going on it anytime soon neither. Just to many idiots turn up.

Didn’t really see any idiots......apart from a Ute parked up on a sand dune on vegetation and one whipper snapper overtaking where he could have just waited.

400+ cars I thought everybody was very well behaved.....present surprise as I was expecting something a little different.

« Reply #11 on: February 06, 2020, 11:31:59 AM »
present surprise as I was expecting something a little different.

That's because of the beach fee.....keeps the bogans at D.I. & Inskip.

Bribie - stopped counting at 400
« Reply #12 on: February 06, 2020, 03:08:36 PM »
That's because of the beach fee.....keeps the bogans at D.I. & Inskip.
And didn’t they all come out for Australia Day.... ::)

Driving home via DI late Monday afternoon revealed the mass of destruction they all left behind.
Not one fishtail or donut on the beach the whole length of Fraser. Come out from Leisha track and it’s straight out of paradise into the mad max zone.

The whole beach ripped up with donuts and fishtails from the dunes to the water.
We counted 3 Australian flags, 5 or 6 busted chairs and a couple of gazebos left up in the dunes or hanging from trees.
They even left a campfire smoldering on top of one dune. ::)

Only a matter of time before we all get locked out of that place. :(

« Reply #13 on: February 06, 2020, 04:07:59 PM »
We went to Bribie the other week and stopped at the first lagoon due to surf being full of Bluebottles. Rangers came around and stopped in front of every car putting rego details into their IPad. Twice the rangers got out for a chat and then hand over a fine for not having a permit. Unsure how much the fine was, but they were allowed to stay which surprised me as I thought they would have been kicked off the beach on top of the fine.

« Reply #14 on: February 06, 2020, 04:32:12 PM »
Never been on the beach thete and lived on Bribie and Sandstone Point for 22yrs. Don't intend going on it anytime soon neither. Just to many idiots turn up. 🖕

If you've never been on the beach there, how do you know "too many idiots turn up"?
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

« Reply #15 on: February 06, 2020, 06:03:39 PM »
Unsure how much the fine was, but they were allowed to stay which surprised me as I thought they would have been kicked off the beach on top of the fine.
Money, money, money.

Just like hiding in the bushes taking photos.
Collecting the cash is all that counts, changing the behavior while it’s actually happening doesn’t matter, just get that money!

« Reply #16 on: February 06, 2020, 06:09:55 PM »
Have to agree Pete79, remember the days when a copper actually pulled you over, gave you the ticket anda talking to. No chance of fine arriving in the post and palming it off to your missus so you keep your points. Visual policing is the best deterrent.

« Reply #17 on: February 06, 2020, 06:15:25 PM »
And the beach driving permits just punish the honest ones.

All the bogans and deadbeats doing donuts and leaving fires burning on the beach up at DI don’t pay for permits.

« Reply #18 on: February 06, 2020, 09:16:40 PM »
If you've never been on the beach there, how do you know "too many idiots turn up"?

You don't need to drive on the beach to see the idiots. Just walk or ride a bike up along there and then there's the pics in the local rag of fools and also others that live on the Island that have driven up there and said never again, that's how!  :P

« Reply #19 on: February 06, 2020, 10:00:00 PM »

Too true, it's unfortunate as without the hordes of ferals it's actually a pretty nice place, we have found the best time to visit is midweek before the school holidays in winter. It's generally not too busy or windy, and there haven't been masses of people recently crapping in the dunes.

« Reply #20 on: February 07, 2020, 01:52:30 PM »
And didn’t they all come out for Australia Day.... ::)

Driving home via DI late Monday afternoon revealed the mass of destruction they all left behind.
Not one fishtail or donut on the beach the whole length of Fraser. Come out from Leisha track and it’s straight out of paradise into the mad max zone.

The whole beach ripped up with donuts and fishtails from the dunes to the water.
We counted 3 Australian flags, 5 or 6 busted chairs and a couple of gazebos left up in the dunes or hanging from trees.
They even left a campfire smoldering on top of one dune. ::)

Maybe method in the madness..........

Keep most od the ferals on DI. That way the other areas are less boganized......

« Reply #21 on: February 07, 2020, 02:19:59 PM »
Quote from: tryagain
Too true, it's unfortunate as without the hordes of ferals

I honestly think things have got much worse with the ferals in the last 5-7yrs...  It the same down here in Vic High Country.. anywhere the 2wd fleet can get to gets destroyed