Author Topic: Storm watch Brisbane  (Read 61607 times)

Re: Storm watch Brisbane
« Reply #250 on: October 12, 2018, 07:45:20 AM »
Can't say I've ever seen a tornado warning before in Queensland.

I see the media is calling it Hailnado in one of the papers.
Its not even a friggin word.

If a shark washes up on a beach today, it'll be sharknado.

The following users thanked this post: AllanK

« Reply #251 on: October 12, 2018, 08:11:28 AM »
This from the poverty point camping area https://www.facebook.com/HigginsStormChasing/photos/a.149759021786560/2043762299052880/?type=3&theater :o :o :o

That top comment though !!!

« Reply #252 on: October 12, 2018, 08:47:38 AM »
Quote from: tryagain
This from the poverty point camping area https://www.facebook.com/HigginsStormChasing/photos/a.149759021786560/2043762299052880/?type=3&theater :o :o :o

That top comment though !!!
you wouldnt have dived under a car?

« Reply #253 on: October 12, 2018, 09:08:16 AM »
Farq.. :o

A Queensland mother and her infant daughter have been pelted by hailstones after her vehicle's windows were smashed while she was caught on a highway during Thursday’s severe storms and tornadoes.

Fiona Simpson posted images of her injuries on Facebook and recounted her story of taking the brunt of the storm while on the D'Aguilar Highway, about 200 kilometres north-west of Brisbane, with her baby and grandmother in the vehicle.
Kingaroy mother Fiona Simpson shielded her daughter as they were hammered by hail.

“I’ve learnt my lesson today, never drive in a hail storm!” she wrote.

Ms Simpson said they parked on the side of the highway as the storm intensified, then hail blew out the windows.

“I covered my infant with my body to stop her from getting badly injured.

https://www.smh.com.au/national/queensland/all-hell-breaks-loose-as-rain-hail-tornadoes-lash-seq-20181011-p5093u.html

« Reply #254 on: October 12, 2018, 09:19:03 AM »
you wouldnt have dived under a car?
Could easily have happened making the dash from a tent that had collapsed to a vehicle, which from the look of your other pic is no guarantee of safety.

« Reply #255 on: October 12, 2018, 12:06:20 PM »
Wednesday was supposed to be the day for the big storms.

One guy on TV last night, seemed surprised we missed anything wild Wednesday and had felt we dodged a bullet.

No so much yesterday it seemed....
wednesday was only ever going to be a big day IF the change came through by 3.00 p.m....that didn’t occur until hours later though. The media hyped up the day so much it was a joke, weatherzone forum as usual were more sedate about it, got excited about the possibility of super cells but at the same time stating timing of the change was critical in the actual outcome.

« Reply #256 on: October 12, 2018, 01:46:02 PM »
Radar says we're gunna have a big wet dump this afternoon.

« Reply #257 on: October 12, 2018, 04:10:19 PM »
about to piss down here.

Going by the Brisbane/Marburg radar, my back fence should be getting wet about now.

« Reply #258 on: October 13, 2018, 08:07:38 AM »
TCB has had over 200mm in two days.... holy crap.

Good chance the TCB road would be cut by now too.

« Reply #259 on: October 18, 2018, 07:30:45 PM »
Hang your dirty clothes out to be washed .. Looks like your about to get a bit of wet weather tonight .

« Reply #260 on: October 18, 2018, 07:40:34 PM »
yeah, just saw that and I friggin mowed today too.

« Reply #261 on: October 18, 2018, 07:59:14 PM »
Hang your dirty clothes out to be washed .. Looks like your about to get a bit of wet weather tonight .
Weatherzone forum were saying it'll likely die coming off the range, time will tell I guess.

« Reply #262 on: October 19, 2018, 03:47:49 AM »
it crashed coming down the range.

« Reply #263 on: October 19, 2018, 02:01:07 PM »
Ahhhhh. In Tassy at the moment, house sitters looking after our hobbie farm. We are 3 hrs north of Brisbane. So many people down here think the storm caused lots of damage in Brisbane. No I try to explain it was way north. Our place really got smashed and we will have heaps of work to do when we get back. Even going by this thread name. Storm was not in Brisbane. Kevin

« Reply #265 on: October 25, 2018, 06:29:55 PM »
Baton down the hatches and get the floaties ready Jeepers  ... Heads up Rummy, not looking good headed your way ..
« Last Edit: October 25, 2018, 06:35:16 PM by edz »
The following users thanked this post: plusnq

« Reply #266 on: October 25, 2018, 06:41:32 PM »
Baton down the hatches and get the floaties ready Jeepers  ... Heads up Rummy, not looking good headed your way ..
we'll see mate, they reckon there's a chance it may die yet, though reckon we might get something. Oakey and Boonah look to be getting hit hard currently, plenty of reports of hail having hit places already

« Reply #267 on: October 25, 2018, 07:50:56 PM »
Storm died here big time, very very lightly spitting to rain is all we got...no wind no real rain at all really, just some lightning and thunder is all. Always good to see the lightning and hear the thunder though
The following users thanked this post: edz

« Reply #268 on: October 25, 2018, 08:53:54 PM »
Fingers crossed that big black blob that’s currently just west of Narangba dies as it moves north straight towards us.

Grass is green, tanks are over flowing and I’ve got a relocated house in my front yard with a temporary roof and tarp over it.
We don’t need 120km/hr winds and hail around here.... :(

« Reply #269 on: October 25, 2018, 09:22:11 PM »
Storm died here big time, very very lightly spitting to rain is all we got...no wind no real rain at all really, just some lightning and thunder is all. Always good to see the lightning and hear the thunder though

Same here in inner North Brisbane.

« Reply #270 on: October 26, 2018, 03:41:13 AM »

All good here, barely wet the ground.