General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Jillsy on April 05, 2019, 08:00:44 PM

Title: Feel Free to Donate to Keep Myswag Online and Ad Free!
Post by: Jillsy on April 05, 2019, 08:00:44 PM
Hi Swaggers  ;D

Just a reminder that, contrary to popular belief, Myswag is privately owned (and privately funded when the "kitty" needs a top up) by Brett. Businesses don't pay to advertise in the Showroom Section and people who advertise in the Classifieds Section are not charged to do so etc. In recent years we have had a couple of Premium Sponsors come on board which has been a MASSIVE help financially however server fees, accountancy fees, tax, restocking of Member Stickers and Coolers etc all adds up.  If you enjoy your time here and are keen for Myswag to have a long life, you are more than welcome to make a donation to the Server Fund through the Myswag.org Online Store (http://www.myswag.org.au/store/index.php?catalog/all/-/name/1) (see the picture below). All donations, great and small, will be more than appreciated and will be directly responsible for helping to keep Myswag online.  Just think, if every member donated just $1 each, it would be enough to pay the Server Fees for 11 years

(http://www.myswag.org/MGalleryItem.php?id=2435)

Of course, you could also purchase some Myswag.org Merchandise from our great range :cheers:.

Jillsy, perhaps setup an optional recurring donation? $1,$2 or $5 per month.

Not sure if that's possible or something you are interested in doing, just a thought.

Folks if this is something you'd like to do (it's not something you're expected to do but would be more than appreciated all the same), please send me a PM and I will reply with Myswag's Bank Account details.  That way you can set up a direct debit via your internet banking. 
Title: Re: Feel Free to Donate
Post by: Jillsy on April 05, 2019, 10:18:11 PM
Folks,
We just received a $100 Server Donation from a Myswag Member!!!  It is very gratefully received  :cup:. I would also like to acknowledge that this particular Member has already donated $2255 towards Myswag through Server Donations and Merchandise purchases over the years.  Basically he and his family have single handedly covered the cost of the Server Fees for a whole year!  I'm not going to name him however I wish to acknowledge his generosity. You know who you are and from the bottom of my heart I thank you X
Post by: Jillsy on April 06, 2019, 07:27:49 AM
This post has had 91 views  :cup: :cup: :cup:

But only one member has donated  ??? ??? ???

Just think, if every member donated just $1 each, it would be enough to pay the Server Fees for 11 years
Post by: Spada on April 06, 2019, 07:30:17 AM
Folks,
We just received a $100 Server Donation from a Myswag Member!!!  It is very gratefully received  :cup:. I would also like to acknowledge that this particular Member has already donated $2255 towards Myswag through Server Donations and Merchandise purchases over the years.  Basically he and his family have single handedly covered the cost of the Server Fees for a whole year!  I'm not going to name him however I wish to acknowledge his generosity. You know who you are and from the bottom of my heart I thank you X

That's incredibly generous of the member who did that, I'd recon everyone on here owes him a beer. perhaps a stubby collection could be organized at the national meet and a secret myswag delivery organised.
Post by: gronk on April 06, 2019, 07:56:03 AM
What about every member who does donate, donates $10.......then only a tenth of the members need to donate.
Anything less is not worth the trouble of doing the actual money transfer.........and any more is always welcome .. :cup:
Post by: Fizzie on April 06, 2019, 08:04:21 AM
Jillsy, I'm pretty sure it's been discussed before, but how about charging people a small amount (even $1!) to sign-up to cover "admin fees" (always a handy standby :D)

Just had a look at the member list, & so far for 2019, there are 303 new members, + ~1300 for last year.

Surely a few $ from each of them would go a long way to covering costs?

PS Also putting a donation through now! :D
Post by: Jillsy on April 06, 2019, 08:32:05 AM
Jillsy, I'm pretty sure it's been discussed before, but how about charging people a small amount (even $1!) to sign-up to cover "admin fees" (always a handy standby :D)

Just had a look at the member list, & so far for 2019, there are 303 new members, + ~1300 for last year.

Surely a few $ from each of them would go a long way to covering costs?

PS Also putting a donation through now! :D

Your donation has been gratefully received  ;D

Mate yeah it has been discussed before.  People will rarely pay $$$ for something they haven't got to experience yet so having to pay up front is a huge deterrent for them.  We therefore work on the principal that if people enjoy their time here, they will hopefully be inclined to purchase some Merchandise or make a Server Fund donation or similar.  I think our biggest barrier is that people don't consider how a "Forum" is created and that the funds have to come from "somewhere".  Just the other day I received an email from a Member stating "I am a ***insert occupation here*** who loves fishing and camping I share info and get some in return, if I have to pay for being on this site, I would leave the site" .  Just $1 from every member would keep us out of trouble.  That's it...just $1.    :cheers:
Post by: McGirr on April 06, 2019, 08:32:41 AM
Donated

Post by: Jillsy on April 06, 2019, 08:35:50 AM
What about every member who does donate, donates $10.......then only a tenth of the members need to donate.
Anything less is not worth the trouble of doing the actual money transfer.........and any more is always welcome .. :cup:

Thanks for your donation Mate - it is so very very appreciated  :cheers:.

Why should only a tenth donate?  That's like 10 people going out to the pub together but only 1 person shouting the drinks.  Just a $1 a Member would be a huge help.  Or purchase a Member Sticker to wack on your Tug  ;D 
Post by: Jillsy on April 06, 2019, 08:37:06 AM
Donated

Thanks Mark for your wonderful donation - this post was not aimed at you though as you are another of our "high rollers".  Your support of the Forum has been unwaivering and we thank you for it from the bottom of our hearts.
Post by: McGirr on April 06, 2019, 08:40:48 AM
Thanks Mark for your wonderful donation - this post was not aimed at you though as you are another of our "high rollers".  Your support of the Forum has been unwaivering and we thank you for it from the bottom of our hearts.

Always happy to help out when I can.

Come on to all other members. What is $5. I spill that much worth drinking beer on a good night ;D

Post by: Fizzie on April 06, 2019, 08:58:23 AM
Mate yeah it has been discussed before.  People will rarely pay $$$ for something they haven't got to experience yet so having to pay up front is a huge deterrent for them.  We therefore work on the principal that if people enjoy their time here, they will hopefully be inclined to purchase some Merchandise or make a Server Fund donation or similar.  I think our biggest barrier is that people don't consider how a "Forum" is created and that the funds have to come from "somewhere".  Just the other day I received an email from a Member stating "I am a ***insert occupation here*** who loves fishing and camping I share info and get some in return, if I have to pay for being on this site, I would leave the site" .  Just $1 from every member would keep us out of trouble.  That's it...just $1.    :cheers:

Thanks - understood :D

Sorry, it's been a while so I don't remember :-[ - do new members get a "Welcome to MySwag" message ???
Post by: Jillsy on April 06, 2019, 09:06:23 AM
Thanks - understood :D

Sorry, it's been a while so I don't remember :-[ - do new members get a "Welcome to MySwag" message ???

Yeah they get an automated email from the Forum with the standard of behaviour etc....
Post by: Hairs on April 06, 2019, 09:13:04 AM
Done Jillsy.
Travel safe to the National Meet.

Sent from my SM-P585Y using Tapatalk

Post by: Jillsy on April 06, 2019, 09:22:09 AM
Done Jillsy.
Travel safe to the National Meet.

Thanks Hairs for your amazing donation  :cup: although this post was not aimed at you either. You are another of our "high rollers".  The knowledge you have imparted to others and the way you have welcomed countless "newbies" over the years hasn't gone unnoticed  :cheers:
Post by: Hairs on April 06, 2019, 09:28:01 AM
Jillsy,
Unfortunately we are unable to attend the National Meet, I've been pondering what to donate for the raffles/auction, your post was timed perfectly, more than happy to help.

Post by: JD-120 on April 06, 2019, 09:43:43 AM

Not sure if that's possible or something you are interested in doing, just a thought.

I think a lot of people are happy to donate, it's just remembering to do so.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Post by: Jillsy on April 06, 2019, 09:48:41 AM
Thank you for your awesome donation Mate  :cup:

I think a lot of people are happy to donate, it's just remembering to do so.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Folks if this is something you'd like to do (it's not something you're expected to do but would more than appreciated all the same), please send me a PM and I will reply with Myswag's Bank Account details.  That way you can set up a direct debit via your internet banking. 
Post by: JCOJ on April 06, 2019, 11:43:47 AM
I'll make a donation to you at the National Meet.
Title: Feel Free to Donate
Post by: Jillsy on April 06, 2019, 01:40:01 PM
I'll make a donation to you at the National Meet.

John you contribute more than enough to the Forum! Organising 2 National Meets and the Red Centre Trip and a Flinders Ranges trip just to name a few things! No need for you to donate  :cheers:
Post by: Jillsy on April 06, 2019, 02:49:04 PM
15 Members have donated so far!!! Thank you so very much for your support Swaggers - it is absolutely sensational!
Post by: Fizzie on April 06, 2019, 03:41:32 PM
Yeah they get an automated email from the Forum with the standard of behaviour etc....

Does that have any blurb included in it ???

Possibly something like:

"Please check out the merchandise on sale in our shop

MySwag was set up as a private operation in whenever by Brett, & is still funded privately by him, assisted by member donations. Any contributions that you may be able to make to assist with the running would be greatly appreciated"

or long those lines ???
Post by: Jillsy on April 06, 2019, 03:54:10 PM
Does that have any blurb included in it ???

Possibly something like:

"Please check out the merchandise on sale in our shop

MySwag was set up as a private operation in whenever by Brett, & is still funded privately by him, assisted by member donations. Any contributions that you may be able to make to assist with the running would be greatly appreciated"

or long those lines ???

Great suggestion! I’ll look into it :cheers:
Post by: Marcus73 on April 06, 2019, 04:31:14 PM
Ok after looking 4 times at the online store I still can’t see where I can donate...... help!!

Post by: Hairs on April 06, 2019, 04:43:45 PM
Ok after looking 4 times at the online store I still can’t see where I can donate...... help!!

Try here mate.
http://www.myswag.org.au/store/index.php?product/page/14033/Server+Support+Donation

Post by: Marcus73 on April 06, 2019, 04:44:48 PM
Try here mate.
http://www.myswag.org.au/store/index.php?product/page/14033/Server+Support+Donation

Sweet.... cheers

Done!

Post by: Jillsy on April 06, 2019, 04:46:40 PM

Post by: Marcus73 on April 06, 2019, 04:49:34 PM

Yep I’m an idiot

Post by: Hairs on April 06, 2019, 04:57:36 PM
Yep I’m an idiot

Nah,
I thought it was another sticker for sale at first

Post by: jwb on April 06, 2019, 06:00:01 PM
Jillsy,
Could you please pm bank details for server donations when able.

Post by: gronk on April 06, 2019, 06:20:05 PM

I too saw the difficulty....I find the website of any forum sometimes not set up for the dummies amongst us !!  ;D
Post by: Jillsy on April 06, 2019, 09:23:22 PM
Thank you to those 19 Members that have donated - your support means so much  :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on April 07, 2019, 04:08:32 AM
Nah,
I thought it was another sticker for sale at first

So did I, Jon.
Post by: tryagain on April 07, 2019, 09:27:47 AM
It might be worthwhile having somewhat of a running tally of what's required to make sure you and Brett aren't out of pocket might. I wouldn't expect that you would update it after every single donation, but it would then give the community a visible target to chase down. 
Post by: mickn on April 07, 2019, 07:21:22 PM
Done.   Thanks for all your efforts.
Post by: Hairs on April 07, 2019, 07:23:13 PM
So did I, Jon.
Easy done mate.
Travel safe

Post by: MarkGU on April 07, 2019, 07:34:21 PM
Jillsy.

We will be flying the My Swag flag again this year to advertise this great forum.  :cup:
PM sent.

(https://oi86.photobucket.com/albums/k81/MarkGU/Capture_zpshrulumsf.png) (https://s86.photobucket.com/user/MarkGU/media/Capture_zpshrulumsf.png.html)
Post by: tryagain on April 08, 2019, 02:31:41 AM
It might be worthwhile having somewhat of a running tally of what's required to make sure you and Brett aren't out of pocket. I wouldn't expect that you would update it after every single donation, but it would then give the community a visible target to chase down.
Post by: Jillsy on April 08, 2019, 08:15:46 AM

There is no particular target in mind TBH. As long as there is money in the bank when the monthly server fee bill comes in, or the accountant’s bill at tax time, or the printer's bill when we need to restock the Member's Stickers etc we're happy  ;D.  I started this thread the other day because tax time is coming up in a few months and kitty was looking somewhat scrawny. 

Myswag still owes Brett $5K from when he first bought the bulk polo shirts (back in 2011), 1000 stickers and 1000 coolers so that they could be sold at a reasonable price to Members (whilst making a small profit to cover Forum costs).  We don't count on ever getting that back though (and we're fine with that).
Post by: Fizzie on April 08, 2019, 08:51:31 AM
Myswag still owes Brett $5K

To me, at least, that's not acceptable! :o

I'd suggest that him being repaid (even if slowly) should be a priority, with a small amount coming off the top of every sale - maybe 50c from each sticker, $1 per stubby holder & so on up to $5-10 from each shirt / jacket.

With regard to ongoing costs, is there a single time of year that you'd like to see lump donations come in eg July for tax, or would it be better as a constant trickle year round ???
Post by: Jillsy on April 08, 2019, 09:19:42 AM

With regard to ongoing costs, is there a single time of year that you'd like to see lump donations come in eg July for tax, or would it be better as a constant trickle year round ???

Mate it doesn’t really matter - server fees are monthly so a bit here and there probably works...
Post by: S.W on April 08, 2019, 09:24:56 AM
Donated and purchased a sticker while I was there.

Thanks Brett and Jillsy for running the forum.
Post by: Jillsy on April 08, 2019, 10:00:19 AM
Donated and purchased a sticker while I was there.

Thanks Brett and Jillsy for running the forum.

Thanks for the thanks Mate. We don’t run it though - it’s runs itself under the guidance of our amazing moderators. We just pay the bills :)
Post by: Jillsy on April 08, 2019, 05:26:11 PM
29 Members have now donated  :cup:

It has been really lovely to see that a few Members who have never purchased merchandise or otherwise contributed to Myswag financially have sent in donations or purchased Merchandise - thanks Swaggers!  Your support is simply heartwarming!
Post by: gronk on April 08, 2019, 06:31:27 PM
29 members is alright.....but 429 would be more acceptable.

I would ask anyone who reads this post that a $10 ( or more ) donation is really peanuts for you......even though I have been guilty of not donating most years as I really haven't seen the posts.
Post by: Hairs on April 08, 2019, 07:00:25 PM
29 members is alright.....but 429 would be more acceptable.

I would ask anyone who reads this post that a $10 ( or more ) donation is really peanuts for you......even though I have been guilty of not donating most years as I really haven't seen the posts.
Hi mate,
Long time between drinks :cheers:
You're spot on mate.
Hey, where we going to catch up again?
Travel Safe.

Post by: gronk on April 08, 2019, 08:49:21 PM
Hi mate,
Long time between drinks :cheers:
You're spot on mate.
Hey, where we going to catch up again?
Travel Safe.

Yeh, long time....got a new camper but all the holidays ( and more ) have been booked for overseas and island destinations, so getting out for more than weekend camping is impossible for at least this year !!
Post by: Jillsy on April 09, 2019, 08:09:58 AM
33 donations! You guys rock!!!
Post by: Fizzie on April 09, 2019, 08:22:42 AM
Myswag's Bank Account details.

Hi Jillsy.

Think I've still got these recorded from a payment a while back - a/c finishes in 735?
Post by: Jillsy on April 09, 2019, 08:44:08 AM
Hi Jillsy.

Think I've still got these recorded from a payment a while back - a/c finishes in 735?

Yep yep - that's it.
Post by: 2010banditsa on April 09, 2019, 11:02:47 AM
pity ya cant just use credit card as I don't have pay pal- any card option at all?
Post by: Jillsy on April 09, 2019, 12:52:48 PM
pity ya cant just use credit card as I don't have pay pal- any card option at all?

You can just use your credit card through PayPal. The other option is that I can PM you Myswag’s bank account details and you could transfer the funds via internet or phone banking?
Post by: GGV8Cruza on April 16, 2019, 06:28:29 AM
A bump for an important thread while the team are out travelling to the national meet. Buy a sticker, drop $5 in the kitty, every bit helps.

Post by: duggie on April 16, 2019, 07:05:15 AM
I reckon that Brett and Jillsy should get a new run of stickers that promote donors ." Myswag Support Donor and Proud Of It "  sort of thing .
Post by: Fizzie on April 16, 2019, 01:29:56 PM
I reckon that Brett and Jillsy should get a new run of stickers that promote donors ." Myswag Support Donor and Proud Of It "  sort of thing .

But then I'd have to replace the 2 new ones I just got! :'(
Post by: Bird on April 16, 2019, 02:16:57 PM
my coin came out today for my package of goodies :)
Post by: Hairs on April 16, 2019, 08:11:26 PM
my coin came out today for my package of goodies :)
Good onya mate.

Post by: Jillsy on May 24, 2019, 11:22:51 PM
Hi Swaggers  ;D

Just a reminder that, contrary to popular belief, Myswag is privately owned (and privately funded when the "kitty" needs a top up) by Brett. Businesses don't pay to advertise in the Showroom Section and people who advertise in the Classifieds Section are not charged to do so etc. In recent years we have had a couple of Premium Sponsors come on board which has been a MASSIVE help financially however server fees, accountancy fees, tax, restocking of Member Stickers and Coolers etc all adds up.  If you enjoy your time here and are keen for Myswag to have a long life, you are more than welcome to make a donation to the Server Fund through the Myswag.org Online Store (http://www.myswag.org.au/store/index.php?catalog/all/-/name/1) (see the picture below). All donations, great and small, will be more than appreciated and will be directly responsible for helping to keep Myswag online.  Just think, if every member donated just $1 each, it would be enough to pay the Server Fees for 11 years

Of course, you could also purchase some Myswag.org Merchandise from our great range :cheers:.
Folks if this is something you'd like to do (it's not something you're expected to do but would be more than appreciated all the same), please send me a PM and I will reply with Myswag's Bank Account details.  That way you can set up a direct debit via your internet banking.

A total of 37 donations have come through since I posted this on the 5th of April - thanks heaps Swaggers!  You're awesome!  If you haven't donated already (or purchased some Myswag.org Merchandise) and but would like to, please feel free to do so :)
Post by: Jillsy on August 30, 2019, 10:07:16 AM
Bump  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Hairs on August 30, 2019, 11:05:01 AM
Done
Post by: plusnq on August 30, 2019, 12:50:51 PM
Also done.
Post by: Hairs on August 30, 2019, 07:42:02 PM
Also done.
On ya Mate 'cup'
Post by: Jillsy on September 02, 2019, 08:24:43 AM
Done

Also done.

Thanks Gents - you pair of legends!

Post by: Jillsy on September 09, 2019, 10:09:00 AM
Bump  ;D
Post by: Hairs on September 09, 2019, 05:41:02 PM
Come on Swaggers.
Open ya wallets, purses, throw a few coins.
Ya tight arses ;)
A box of cans, a bottle of ya favourite poison, sheeesh.
'Cheers'

Sent from my SM-A205YN using Tapatalk

Post by: Jillsy on September 09, 2019, 11:21:58 PM
Come on Swaggers.
Open ya wallets, purses, throw a few coins.
Ya tight arses ;)
A box of cans, a bottle of ya favourite poison, sheeesh.
'Cheers'

Ha ha ha!  Good on ya Hairs!
Post by: Jillsy on September 13, 2019, 01:20:43 PM
Thank you to the 5 Swaggers who’ve donated over the past two weeks. Your help in keeping Myswag afloat and online is very much appreciated
Post by: Pete79 on September 13, 2019, 01:35:07 PM
Thanks for bumping the online store thread and reminding us... ;D
Post by: noel_w on September 13, 2019, 01:48:37 PM
Done  :cheers: :cheers:

Post by: Jillsy on September 14, 2019, 03:52:25 PM
We've had 4 more Swaggers donate - thanks Legends!
Post by: Gandalf the White on September 14, 2019, 04:32:25 PM
I’ve had an old gold ring hanging around for a while, so melted it down & took it to cash converters.
Couldn’t let the dwarfs,  orks or hobbits get hold of it again🤔.  Small deposit from the proceeds on it’s way👍
Post by: Jillsy on September 15, 2019, 02:44:59 PM
I’ve had an old gold ring hanging around for a while, so melted it down & took it to cash converters.
Couldn’t let the dwarfs,  orks or hobbits get hold of it again.  Small deposit from the proceeds on it’s way

Thanks Mate :cheers:
Post by: Jillsy on September 15, 2019, 02:45:40 PM
2 more Swaggers have donated! Thank you!!!
Post by: Hairs on September 19, 2019, 08:18:23 PM
How are we going Swaggers?
Hope ya kicking the can to keep this awseome forum going.
Come on, it's worth at lest a box of cans to ya

Jillsy, you do an awesome job, it is appreciated, Cheers
Hey, as do the mods to keep it all fair and civil

Post by: Fizzie on September 20, 2019, 10:19:15 AM
Or you could do what I'm just setting up - transfer $1 / month, which you won't even notice gone! (What's that - 1 cup of coffee or 1 beer every 6 months ??? Or 5l of fuel :'()

If only 200 members did that, it would (by my understanding) basically cover the server fees ???

& by an amazing coincidence, I was just looking at he Member's List, & there's just on 200 members with 1000+ posts each! Isn't that interesting ??? (Hint, hint! ;D)
Post by: Hairs on September 20, 2019, 05:49:17 PM
Fizzie,
Well put.

I would hate to see advertising in this forum/group has given so much information, friendship, advice and enjoyment over the last 10 years to me.

I bet many pay membership to a vaired subscription magazines, apps, 4wd clubs.
If the gult trip isn't working,
well I've got nothing to convince you to chip in.

Sent from my SM-A205YN using Tapatalk

Post by: Jillsy on September 22, 2019, 11:11:29 PM
How are we going Swaggers?
Hope ya kicking the can to keep this awseome forum going.
Come on, it's worth at lest a box of cans to ya

Jillsy, you do an awesome job, it is appreciated, Cheers
Hey, as do the mods to keep it all fair and civil

Thanks Hairs  :cheers:
Post by: Jillsy on September 22, 2019, 11:12:06 PM
Or you could do what I'm just setting up - transfer $1 / month, which you won't even notice gone! (What's that - 1 cup of coffee or 1 beer every 6 months ??? Or 5l of fuel :'()

Thanks Mate - dead set legend.
Post by: Jillsy on September 30, 2019, 11:04:12 PM
Bumpity bump bump
Post by: Hairs on October 02, 2019, 07:02:15 PM
Bumpity bump bump
Get on to it Swaggers.
If you mob Do Not want to NOT SEE ADDS flooding ya posts, put ya hand in ya Skyrocket.
A big shout out to those members that do, you guys never ask for recognition for your effort, thank you.
I reckon this is the bestest forum/bunch of lunatics there is.
You guys & girls  give freely of your secrets, hidden camp sites, tech info and let me know if I've screwed up, as well as having a laugh.
Cheers & Beers Shaggers.
BTW, I have been a member since about 2010, in that time I benifited greatly from this  forum.
Not only regarding, traveling, camping, tech(yeh even the electrical section has), even replies to stupid posts.
Just like sitting around a Camp Fire.
I have posted this because,
MySwag has given our family so much.

Post by: Jillsy on October 15, 2019, 05:52:16 AM
Bump
Post by: scrubber on October 25, 2019, 08:00:12 PM
I've been a member for just over 11 years now (gawd time flys by) and whilst I might not be a big poster, I have gained a mountain of knowledge so I figure that it was time that I gave a bit back in the form of a donation.  I would hate to see ads appearing here as it would ruin the "vibe".

Scrubber
Post by: Pete79 on March 18, 2020, 04:31:34 PM
Apparently we're all going to have a bit more time on our hands these next few months and I'm sure this great site will be seeing a lot more traffic as a result.

Might be a good time to do our bit to make sure we can keep it ad free for a little while longer...  :cheers:
Post by: Jillsy on March 27, 2020, 05:04:52 PM
Mate thank you so very much for your donation to the Server Fund  :cheers:. 

It seems you inspired a few more to donate too :cup:.

Folks the next few months are going to be trying times for most people  :'(.  At present Myswag's Kitty has enough for about the next 3 months worth of Server Fees.  Brett and I are both very fortunate to still have our jobs at the moment so, if needs be, we will cover the costs when kitty runs dry.  Take care Swaggers.  Can't wait till this is all over so we can get back to enjoying the great outdoors.
Post by: Spada on April 02, 2020, 10:24:53 AM
bumpitybump  ;D

General activity and chit-chat appears to be a bit higher lately, probably because none of us are allowed to go camping  :'( and I'm assuming a lot of us have a bit extra time at home on our hands  :laugh:

Appreciate that some people may be in precarious places financially right now, but even $1 can help keep this forum alive - http://www.myswag.org.au/store/index.php?product/page/14033/Server+Support+Donation (http://www.myswag.org.au/store/index.php?product/page/14033/Server+Support+Donation) Always remember that it's not a business that maintains this forum, just a couple of people doing it for nothing other than self-satisfaction. 22000 members, and guessing about 10% active............. just $1 each would provide a little certainty around how to pay the next server fee  :police:
Post by: Fizzie on April 02, 2020, 12:29:39 PM
Yep, first set mine up as $1 / 2 months, than upped it to $1 / mth, which nobody will ever miss!

I assume it's working OK, as it's certainly leaving from my end each month! :D
Post by: Jillsy on April 02, 2020, 09:57:24 PM
Yep, first set mine up as $1 / 2 months, than upped it to $1 / mth, which nobody will ever miss!

I assume it's working OK, as it's certainly leaving from my end each month! :D

It’s gratefully received every month Mate :cheers:
Post by: Fizzie on April 03, 2020, 08:19:51 AM
It’s gratefully received every month Mate :cheers:

You're welcome! ;D

So, if only 1000 people put in $1 / month = $12000 / year!!! :o

Even $1 / 2 months would still = $6000 year, which would clear bills, pay the server fees & undoubtedly allow Brett & Jillsy to do things with the site that they've only ever dreamed about! ;D

So how about it people ???

:cheers: (which, depending on just what you're drinking ???, would probably cover your payment for the year!)
Post by: GGV8Cruza on April 09, 2020, 06:03:09 AM
Stickers arrived Jillsy, thanks for the quick post. Now I can send out a few for the POTM winners  :cup:

Post by: Jillsy on April 11, 2020, 02:47:13 PM
Stickers arrived Jillsy, thanks for the quick post. Now I can send out a few for the POTM winners  :cup:

Glad they arrived safely  :cheers:

Thank you also to the two Swaggers who have made donations to the Server Fund over the past couple of days.  They have been gratefully received!
Post by: Jillsy on April 17, 2020, 11:53:09 AM
Folks I have been processing orders made through the online store today and was heartened to see that 2 of the 3 orders were from Members who have been with us for less than 4 months (1 has only been a Member for 10 days)  :cup:

Thank you so very much to everyone who supports the Forum - it is very much appreciated  :cheers:
Post by: Jillsy on April 17, 2020, 12:51:47 PM
Folks I have been processing orders made through the online store today and was heartened to see that 2 of the 3 orders were from Members who have been with us for less than 4 months (1 has only been a Member for 10 days)  :cup:

Thank you so very much to everyone who supports the Forum - it is very much appreciated  :cheers:

FYI...

2020 Server Donations
January         $101 (plus $0 Merchandise Sales)
February       $    1 (plus $0 Merchandise Sales)
March:          $206 (plus $151 Merchandise Sales)
April so far:   $121 (plus  $20 Merchandise Sales)

I am blown away Swaggers - March and April are the biggest totals for this year even though they fall into a period where thousands of people have lost their jobs.  These donations have been received with so much appreciation however PLEASE DON'T feel obligated to donate if you are in financial difficulty! 
Post by: Fizzie on April 17, 2020, 01:37:18 PM
2 of the 3 orders were from Members who have been with us for less than 4 months (1 has only been a Member for 10 days)  :cup:

Good on them! :cup:

& I like seeing the 1 on the end of the donation tally 8)
Post by: Hairs on May 05, 2020, 08:32:14 AM
Yep, done acouple of days ago.
Post by: Jillsy on May 05, 2020, 09:26:45 AM
Yep, done acouple of days ago.

Gratefully received Hairs!   :-* :-* :-*
Post by: noel_w on May 05, 2020, 09:56:23 AM
Good on them! :cup:

& I like seeing the 1 on the end of the donation tally 8)
Yep good on them.  :cup: :cup:
And from now on it will be $3 at the end of the donation tally each month. I certainly won't miss $2/m. Can't even buy a coffee for that.
Post by: Jillsy on May 05, 2020, 10:01:43 AM
Yep good on them.  :cup: :cup:
And from now on it will be $3 at the end of the donation tally each month. I certainly won't miss $2/m. Can't even buy a coffee for that.

Oh Noel!!! Thank you so very much!!! That's awesome  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: Jillsy on May 05, 2020, 10:05:35 AM
FYI...

2020 Server Donations

I am blown away Swaggers - March and April are the biggest totals for this year even though they fall into a period where thousands of people have lost their jobs.  These donations have been received with so much appreciation however PLEASE DON'T feel obligated to donate if you are in financial difficulty!

FYI Folks, April topped out at $121 (plus  $20 Merchandise Sales)

Thank you very much for your support  :cup:
Post by: noel_w on May 05, 2020, 10:10:21 AM
Oh Noel!!! Thank you so very much!!! That's awesome  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Jillsy with the amount of free advice I have gained from this forum I should be putting in a lot more. Unfortunatly the number of seedy mornings/hangovers I also gained could maybe overrule that.  :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: 
Post by: Rodt on May 06, 2020, 01:49:32 PM
FYI...

2020 Server Donations

Jillsy what would be the chances of displaying this information on an ongoing basis (maybe in the Merchandise section) as a sticky or pinned to the top somewhere so that we can all be reminded and all easily see how things are travelling financially? Possibly also display in the same page how we are travelling in regards to the required target that is needed to keep the forum going. That way we get a visual reminder and can then decide to throw a few bucks as we wish to help
Post by: Jillsy on May 07, 2020, 01:05:36 PM
Jillsy what would be the chances of displaying this information on an ongoing basis (maybe in the Merchandise section) as a sticky or pinned to the top somewhere so that we can all be reminded and all easily see how things are travelling financially? Possibly also display in the same page how we are travelling in regards to the required target that is needed to keep the forum going. That way we get a visual reminder and can then decide to throw a few bucks as we wish to help

Check this out ---> http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=57231.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=57231.0)
Title: Re: Feel Free to Donate to Keep Myswag Online and Ad Free!
Post by: Rodt on May 08, 2020, 07:11:42 AM
Thanks Jillsy easy to see that we are going backwards every month

Time to contribute again  :cup:
Post by: Jillsy on May 08, 2020, 09:09:01 PM
Check this out ---> http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=57231.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=57231.0)

Updated the above to include May's figures thus far.  Thank you for the $448 worth of Merchandise Purchases and Server Donations Folks!  So very much appreciated!  You guys are legendary!  :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: Jillsy on May 09, 2020, 10:13:40 PM
Another $10 Server Donation just arrived - thanks Swaggers! You are all just so awesome  :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: Jillsy on May 10, 2020, 08:38:37 AM
Another donation rolled in around 11pm last night - thanks Swagger!
Post by: Jillsy on May 10, 2020, 02:24:15 PM
And another two this morning!!! :cheers:

Thanks Swaggers! Dead set legends!
Post by: Jillsy on May 12, 2020, 03:37:59 PM
Another donation received today...thank you so very much! 

I will update the totals some time after Thursday - am on my run of night shifts again at the moment...
Post by: Hairs on May 12, 2020, 08:09:12 PM

I will update the totals some time after Thursday - am on my run of night shifts again at the moment...
You do an awesome job of this mate.
Thank you.
Post by: Jillsy on May 22, 2020, 10:47:28 PM

Updated  :cheers:
Post by: Jillsy on May 23, 2020, 09:04:58 AM
Just received another order via the website - a request for some merchandise as well as a lovely donation to the Server Fund.  Thanks Swagger!

It's raining here so I think my morning will be spent stocktaking the Myswag.org Merchandise in preparation for tax time.

Have a lovely weekend everyone  :cup:. 

Post by: Hairs on May 23, 2020, 11:10:31 AM

Have a lovely weekend everyone  :cup:.
You too Jillsy.

Post by: Jillsy on May 29, 2020, 09:56:18 AM
Updating the Monthly tally now guys...we've received 3 more donations to the Server Fund since the last update - thank you, thank you, thank you!

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=57231.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=57231.0)
Post by: Hairs on June 08, 2020, 07:53:11 PM
Come on Swaggers, time to kick the can again.
There are a Swaggers that do, they did it because they love this group, thank you.
Chip in folks, sure life is tough for many, and if you can't at the moment, that's cool.
Happy days ahead.
Travel safe.
Post by: bullfrog on June 08, 2020, 08:12:13 PM
Will do what we can when we can Jonno, yo know us. Tax time is a cumin, Scomo will unleash Shit loads of spare cash on us all, for  the greater good you  know. :cheers:
Post by: Hairs on June 08, 2020, 08:29:50 PM
Will do what we can when we can Jonno, yo know us. Tax time is a cumin, Scomo will unleash Shit loads of spare cash on us all, for  the greater good you  know. :cheers:
Happy days mate,
No pressure, as you said, when Swaggers can.
Looking forward to a camp mate.
Post by: bullfrog on June 08, 2020, 08:39:19 PM
We're heading to Black rock ( Bundjalung)this Fri / sat / Sun) yo know the car, look for a Windsor Rapid van. welcome in our camp anytime mate . No invite needed bud  :cheers:
Post by: Jillsy on June 09, 2020, 02:21:49 AM
Come on Swaggers, time to kick the can again.
There are a Swaggers that do, they did it because they love this group, thank you.
Chip in folks, sure life is tough for many, and if you can't at the moment, that's cool.
Happy days ahead.
Travel safe.

Thank you Jon  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: Hairs on June 09, 2020, 05:11:00 PM
Thank you Jon  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
My bit towards a great forum, you guys and the mods keep it real.
Jillsy, you do a great job of it organising the merchandise, keeping us grounded.
Keeping it free from ads, I'm more than happy to chip in.
Safe travels, we will camp again.
:)
Post by: Jillsy on July 05, 2020, 09:53:28 PM
Have updated the tally again Folks - thanks to the generosity of Jon at Tentworld and some super generous Swaggers, Myswag is starting the new financial year on the front foot!

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=57231.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=57231.0)
Post by: Fizzie on July 06, 2020, 08:05:27 AM
Myswag is starting the new financial year on the front foot!

Yay! Nice way to start the new FY ;D

+$   1.00 (Server Donation - thanks Fizzie  :cheers:)

& thanks to you as well :cheers:

So far that's probably enough to buy us both a beer each!

& everybody - I've got it set up for a $1 transfer on the 1st of each month, & that amount shouldn't be missed by anyone!

If all our active members did the same (not to mention the ones who don't post!) ... ;D
Post by: Jillsy on July 06, 2020, 11:54:28 AM
Updated again - had a few orders come through  ;D ;D ;D

Thanks for your support Guys & Gals  :cup:
Post by: Hairs on July 06, 2020, 06:23:21 PM
Updated again - had a few orders come through  ;D ;D ;D

Thanks for your support Guys & Gals  :cup:
Good onya's.
Keep the dream alive.
Thank you Jillsy for the effort you put into organising this.
Hey Brett, you do your bit too, cheers ;)
Post by: Jillsy on August 10, 2020, 10:22:24 AM
Figures updated again  ;D
Post by: Jillsy on November 07, 2020, 11:01:19 PM
Figures updated again. Hope you’re having a good weekend Swaggers!!!
Post by: Jillsy on November 08, 2020, 09:12:48 PM
Folks - thanks to the generosity of 2 Swaggers - next month's Server Fees are now well and truly covered  :cup:. Thank you for your support Swaggers!

Please please please though Folks - do not feel obligated to donate!  It has been a helluva 9 months for some of you  :(.  Brett and I have both been very fortunate to keep our jobs and keep our hours so if Kitty gets a little skinny - we will kick in some moola to keep the Forum online.

Post by: Spada on November 09, 2020, 06:46:26 AM
Brett and I have both been very fortunate to keep our jobs and keep our hours so if Kitty gets a little skinny - we will kick in some moola to keep the Forum online.

Thousands of people benefit from the tips, advice, info and banter on this public forum, You and Brett shouldn't have to continually prop it up. Even if just 1 in 5 members kicked in just $1 a year, the server fees would most likely be taken care of.

Surely $1 a year is not too much to ask from people?
Post by: Fizzie on November 09, 2020, 07:50:03 AM
I look at the Members List, & sort it by the number of posts.

The first page shows the top 100 posters, with a minimum of 1744 posts.

OK, some of those people listed are no longer active, but if the rest of them (~90?) did what I do & put in just $1 / month, that would go a long way to covering at least the monthly server bill.

& yes, lot's of people are  doing it tough. but we're only running on 2 x JobSeeker ourselves & $1 is still nothing! ;D
Post by: Jillsy on January 24, 2021, 06:22:19 PM
Figures updated Folks.

Post by: Hairs on January 24, 2021, 06:34:32 PM
Iyes, lot's of people are  doing it tough. but we're only running on 2 x JobSeeker ourselves & $1 is still nothing! ;D
Mate, yep there are a lot doing it tough.
A Beer a month, is nothing.
Good on ya mate.
:)
Just kicked the can.
Post by: Fizzie on January 25, 2021, 07:27:43 AM
Figures updated Folks.

& welcome back, Jillsy! ;D :cup:

Been a while since we heard from you, kiddo :'( (& I don't just mean about bank balances!)
Post by: Fizzie on January 25, 2021, 08:15:24 AM
A Beer a month, is nothing.

Thinking about what you say here, & pondering ...

Maybe it's time for the "MySwag Lunch Money Challenge"(Pat. Pend.) ??? 8)

Lots of people grab a coffee off Maccas or wherever for the trip in to work, go out to the coffee shop & get another for smoko, across to the sandwich bar for lunch, then a couple of beers at the pub / Club on the way home ...

OK, so on everybody's first day at work each month, tally up what you've spent on all of that, & donate the same amount to the server! ;D

Post by: Hairs on January 25, 2021, 08:18:42 AM
Brilliant.
Thumbs up.

Post by: Jillsy on January 25, 2021, 02:15:02 PM
& welcome back, Jillsy! ;D :cup:

Been a while since we heard from you, kiddo :'( (& I don't just mean about bank balances!)
Yeah I know Mate :(

Life is a bit hectic - because working 36 hours of night shift each week and being a single Mum half the year (Brett works away) wasn’t enough of a challenge (***insert sarcastic tone here***), I have started studying a TAFE course externally as well.

I do drop in on the Forum at the very least weekly, I just sometimes don’t have time to say hi ha ha!
Post by: Fizzie on January 25, 2021, 03:48:47 PM
Yeah I know Mate :(

Life is a bit hectic - because working 36 hours of night shift each week and being a single Mum half the year (Brett works away) wasn’t enough of a challenge (***insert sarcastic tone here***), I have started studying a TAFE course externally as well.

You're sounding a lot like a friend of ours who's a :police:!

She also has this concept that sleeping is somewhere between a luxury & an option, but it's certainly not a requirement ::) :'(

I do drop in on the Forum at the very least weekly, I just sometimes don’t have time to say hi ha ha!

& do you remember any of that other pastime called "Camping" ??? :'(
Post by: Mace on August 03, 2021, 12:17:49 PM
(https://i.ibb.co/WBxVJtY/Myswag-server.png) (https://ibb.co/5sMKHFf)
Post by: GeoffA on September 16, 2021, 09:35:45 AM
I see that for each of the last 4 months, Brett and Jill have had to top up the MySwag account from their own pocket....

To those that contribute to the forum running costs..... :cup: :cup: :cup:

To those that choose to sponge off the good-will and good nature of others.... ::) ::) ::)

A few bucks from your own pocket every now and then is not too much to ask....

Server donations can be made here:

http://www.myswag.org.au/store/index.php?product/page/14033/Server+Support+Donation (http://www.myswag.org.au/store/index.php?product/page/14033/Server+Support+Donation)

Post by: Jillsy on September 16, 2021, 09:09:23 PM
I have updated the figures again Folks!

Thank you to the 3 Swaggers who made donations since last night which totalled $165.  Your generosity is so very much appreciated!

A massive, massive thank you to Jon from Tentworld who has signed up to be a Premium Sponsor of the Forum for the 4th year in a row!!! Be sure to pop over to the Tentworld board HERE (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?board=70.0) for a squiz and drop him a note to thank him for assisting with keeping the Forum online and ad free!
Post by: Jillsy on February 26, 2022, 11:48:44 AM
I've updated Myswag's Figures again Folks... ---> http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=57231.0
 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=57231.0)

Thanks to all those who have supported the Forum financially over the past few months.  Thanks also to those who have joined the Forum, welcomed new Swaggers, imparted knowledge to those who have asked for it and generally just made the Forum the wonderful place it is.

I think 2022 has gone and said to 2021 "Hold My Beer"  :o. Between COVID, serious weather events and the absolute horror that is occurring right now in the Ukraine...these are some seriously trying times.

Take care everyone XXX
Post by: Hairs on February 26, 2022, 06:18:23 PM
Hmmm, what a strange couple of years, drought, fires, covid, lock downs, more lock downs and now floods.
I've worn out my stubbie holders sitting here planning travels, as a Swagger would say, Make Dust. Hope ya well Jamie.
Thankfully I've ordered more :)
Safe Travels Swaggers.

Post by: Jillsy on February 26, 2022, 09:24:58 PM
Hmmm, what a strange couple of years, drought, fires, covid, lock downs, more lock downs and now floods.
I've worn out my stubbie holders sitting here planning travels, as a Swagger would say, Make Dust. Hope ya well Jamie.
Thankfully I've ordered more :)
Safe Travels Swaggers.

Those coolers are in the mail  :cheers:
Post by: Hairs on February 27, 2022, 05:17:30 AM
Those coolers are in the mail  :cheers:
Thank you Jillsy :)
Post by: Jillsy on May 21, 2022, 01:08:33 PM
I've updated Myswag's Figures again Folks... ---> http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=57231.0
 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=57231.0)
Post by: Jillsy on May 27, 2022, 12:17:01 PM
The store is fully functional again Folks! You’ll find it  HERE  (http://www.myswag.org.au/store/index.php?catalog/all/-/name/1)

Now I think I need a drink after all that  :cheers:
Post by: Hairs on May 27, 2022, 12:52:02 PM
Feet up,
You enjoy that drink Jillsy.

Thank you.
Post by: Jillsy on May 27, 2022, 12:56:58 PM
Feet up,
You enjoy that drink Jillsy.

Thank you.

Thanks Mate  :cheers:
Post by: Jillsy on July 11, 2022, 11:40:02 PM
Updated that Bank Balance record again Folks - thank you so very much to those who have purchased Merchandise or made Server Donations.

You rock!!!
Post by: Jillsy on September 03, 2022, 01:30:56 PM
I have updated the figures again Folks  ;D
Post by: Jillsy on January 15, 2023, 03:53:26 PM
Updated again  ;D