Author Topic: How Are The Preparations Going?  (Read 16086 times)

Offline Karen

• 'Myswag Trip Queen'
How Are The Preparations Going?
« on: April 26, 2010, 11:19:11 AM »
Well, here it is Monday and only a handful of days to go until the Fraser Fiasco hits Fraser Island.  8)  How are everyone's preparations going?  Are you ready?

This morning has seen the last of the major jobs completed and now we are just doing small housekeeping bits and pieces.  We even have the grog loaded.  ;D  All we need to do now is pack the clothes over the next couple of days and fill the fridge with food.

I hope it's going well for the rest of you, can't wait for the next few days to fly by..................................

Karen

Offline MnMs

• 'Specialist Trip Stirrer'
Re: How Are The Preparations Going?
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2010, 11:38:51 AM »
Where do I start.....

The Cruiser is pretty much ready, there are a few little things to tidy up this arvo and tomorrow. But we hope to have the cruiser done and ready to just be packed by Wednesday.

The Camper has not even been touched yet..... :o
~ A new hitch to fit
~ Bearings to be done
~ Brakes to be checked
~ Lanolin the underside
~ Service the Honda Genie
~ Fill all grease nipples
~ Change over the mattress

Yep, so a few late nights ahead there in that list alone.  :-[

Grocery shopping is to be done on Thursday. Some cloths are out ready to be packed. Some grog is out, more is to be purchased yet. So a lot has been done already, but there is still a ways to go.  ::)

Thursday night will inevitably be a late night, an early rise on Friday morning for swim squad, then be ready by 9am to hit the road. It is always this crazy rush......but I feel confident when it is like this. When we are ready days in advance we think we have forgotten stuff......

It will all get done, and we will leave on time for sure.  ;)
How about the Serenity!!!!!!!

2010 Land Cruiser Twin Turbo Diesel V8 with mods.
Jayco Outback Expanda 18.57-6.

chinman

« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2010, 01:15:22 PM »
hi, just introducing ourselves we are coming along on the fraser trip, :cheers: friends with berg and jody,. Im jenny , partner kirk and son trent. Cant wait.

Offline MnMs

« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2010, 01:21:19 PM »
hi, just introducing ourselves we are coming along on the fraser trip, :cheers: friends with berg and jody,. Im jenny , partner kirk and son trent. Cant wait.

Welcome aboard guys......we look forward to meeting you all. Sir Berg has spoken about you so much already...... >:D

It will be a great time indeed.....see you all soon.

Marc.

« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2010, 01:32:26 PM »
Welcome to the kaos guys  :cheers: , looking forward to the trip, need to buy food and pack a couple of bags of cloths, apart from that I thing it's all under control. BEER must buy BEER my favourite blend is on special so I went down to stock up but.............they've run out OH MY GOD  :'( . Have put a few boxes on rain check for pick up on Wednesday at the special price. Apart from that I think we're good for launch date  ;D .

Offline Karen

• 'Myswag Trip Queen'
« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2010, 04:05:09 PM »

Welcome Jenny, Kirk and Trent.  Hope you enjoy your time with us at Fraser and we promise not to be on our best behaviour. 

Karen

Offline Johnny Trackabout

• GIDDY UP...WHOO BACK
« Reply #6 on: April 27, 2010, 05:53:08 AM »
Camper is packed....4by is packed. I picked up a platinum fridge slide on friday and just waiting on the new fridge to turn up today and we are sorted......3 MORE SLEEPS :cheers:

Offline Brett

• MySwag.org - The Off-road Camper Trailer forum
« Reply #7 on: April 27, 2010, 06:03:27 AM »
Still no brake controller, wiring power to rear of ute, clean ute after weekend efforts, food shop, pack camper, 1 dayshift and 2 nightshifts still to do....

Offline Berg

« Reply #8 on: April 27, 2010, 07:52:47 AM »
This picture is yesterday morning after I just put the kitchen back on the new tailgate. It's now all wired and plumbed back up and all the drawers have gone back in. I've wired up some switches for various lighting positions around the camper but it doesn't look likely they will all turn up in time... :'( but if they do it's a quick job to just hook them up.
Gave the camper a good vaccum and now it's just a case of putting all the gear back in.
That sounds easy doesn't it, just put the gear back in. It never seems to turn out easy though  ???

See the spare wheel on the tailgate? lovely  :cheers:   
« Last Edit: April 27, 2010, 07:54:39 AM by Berg »

Offline MnMs

« Reply #9 on: April 27, 2010, 08:51:18 PM »
Got the camper home today and the fun has begun already........ ::)

It will be a full 2 days ahead, though the rewards of getting to Fraser will be worth it.

Bought all the grog supplies today, filled the grease nipples, Genie has been serviced, Recovery gear packed, Extra jerries of diesel and unleaded for genie all filled, and water filled too.

I am guessing that everyone is in panic mode by the lack of posts on Fraser threads........ :-X

Marc.

« Reply #10 on: April 27, 2010, 08:56:34 PM »
We're all over it like a fat kid on a cup cake  ;D , we leave for my dad's on Friday morning and on to River Heads on Saturday morning, if this trip lives up to half of it's hype it'll be a blinder  :cheers:

Offline Karen

• 'Myswag Trip Queen'
« Reply #11 on: April 28, 2010, 06:56:25 AM »
We're all over it like a fat kid on a cup cake  ;D , we leave for my dad's on Friday morning and on to River Heads on Saturday morning, if this trip lives up to half of it's hype it'll be a blinder  :cheers:

Do you have permits for the vehicle and camping yet jk. ::)

Offline Karen

• 'Myswag Trip Queen'
« Reply #12 on: April 28, 2010, 06:58:58 AM »
Got the camper home today and the fun has begun already........ ::)

It will be a full 2 days ahead, though the rewards of getting to Fraser will be worth it.

Bought all the grog supplies today, filled the grease nipples, Genie has been serviced, Recovery gear packed, Extra jerries of diesel and unleaded for genie all filled, and water filled too.

I am guessing that everyone is in panic mode by the lack of posts on Fraser threads........ :-X

Marc.

Yeah I thought it was a bit too quiet although no panic mode here.  Just sitting back counting down the hours, staring at too many cartons of beer and way too much food for a week.  :cheers:

« Reply #13 on: April 28, 2010, 07:02:52 AM »
Yeah I thought it was a bit too quiet although no panic mode here.  Just sitting back counting down the hours, staring at too many cartons of beer and way too much food for a week.  :cheers:

Karen Is that before or after the midday day movie, afternoon nap and reading the Womans Day. ;D

Offline Berg

« Reply #14 on: April 28, 2010, 07:30:08 AM »
 ;D hehehe, love your work Marko  :cheers:

Offline Karen

• 'Myswag Trip Queen'
« Reply #15 on: April 28, 2010, 10:36:11 AM »
Karen Is that before or after the midday day movie, afternoon nap and reading the Womans Day. ;D

Before and after.  I've been out today and taken a last look around BCF just in case there was something we needed to buy.  Lucky they don't sell food or alcohol because I came out of there empty handed for once.

So now I could be persuaded to have a nap.  It's the best thing for passing time when you're really excited and can't wait to go somewhere.  Oh, maybe not  :cheers: but it's a bit early!

Offline Berg

« Reply #16 on: April 28, 2010, 10:39:31 AM »
PMSL  ;D I can relate to that  ;D

Offline Ketsi

• Going Nowhere - and can't wait to get there!!!
« Reply #17 on: April 28, 2010, 10:43:50 AM »

I'm not posting because I have too much to do to waste too much time telling you how much I have yet to do and how little time I have to do it... what a great time to be busy at work...  >:( Late evening finishes at work means it's too dark to do the work I want to do when I get home... Last weekend and weekend before were busy ones... so look out if I don't get to relax and unwind when we hit the beach....  >:D I'll be there no matter what tho and whatever is done is done and the rest can be left out or not required....

Cheers,  :cheers:
Ketsi

« Reply #18 on: April 28, 2010, 11:02:15 AM »

Ketsi
The old saying.
You have your:
car
camper
food
alcohol

You can go into battle. ;D

« Reply #19 on: April 28, 2010, 11:07:25 AM »
Before and after.  I've been out today and taken a last look around BCF just in case there was something we needed to buy.  Lucky they don't sell food or alcohol because I came out of there empty handed for once.

So now I could be persuaded to have a nap.  It's the best thing for passing time when you're really excited and can't wait to go somewhere.  Oh, maybe not  :cheers: but it's a bit early!

You could always walk down to the newsagents and get the latest 4wd action dvd and watch the Fraser Island speacial on it, then you would really want the next two days to go quickly. Have a good time to all while away, hope to see lots of pics and good stories when you return. I think the forum traffic will slow up a bit while you are away.

Offline Karen

• 'Myswag Trip Queen'
« Reply #20 on: April 28, 2010, 11:47:57 AM »
You could always walk down to the newsagents and get the latest 4wd action dvd and watch the Fraser Island speacial on it, then you would really want the next two days to go quickly. Have a good time to all while away, hope to see lots of pics and good stories when you return. I think the forum traffic will slow up a bit while you are away.

Thanks GG.  Better not do too much to build the excitement level even more so I'll stay home.  Of course I have found a few more things in the last couple of hours to put in the trailer while no-one is watching.  >:D

We're a quiet bunch heading to Fraser so the forum should tick along as usual.  Enjoy your coolers, I know we will.  :cheers:

Karen

Offline Pipeliner

• I'm too old to rough it!
« Reply #21 on: April 28, 2010, 11:58:56 AM »
Camper is packed....4by is packed. I picked up a platinum fridge slide on friday and just waiting on the new fridge to turn up today and we are sorted......3 MORE SLEEPS :cheers:

If you can afford a fridge slide made of platinum you are obviously charging far too much for your CTs!

Have a great trip - wish I was going with you, but the trip to the Kimberleys in July takes precedence.
Camping is great as long as the mattress is inner spring!

Offline MnMs

« Reply #22 on: April 28, 2010, 02:10:17 PM »
I'm not posting because I have too much to do to waste too much time telling you how much I have yet to do and how little time I have to do it... what a great time to be busy at work...  >:( Late evening finishes at work means it's too dark to do the work I want to do when I get home... Last weekend and weekend before were busy ones... so look out if I don't get to relax and unwind when we hit the beach....  >:D I'll be there no matter what tho and whatever is done is done and the rest can be left out or not required....

Cheers,  :cheers:
Ketsi

Hearing you loud and clear Big K. Juggling an endless to do list to ensure the business will be fine in our absense and the to do list to be completed for the actual trip is proving to be a great challenge.  >:(

I visited my friendly butcher mate this morning and stocked up on some animals to consume.  ;)

I was up before the sun this morning to get stuck into my list and the camper is almost completely serviced and ready to pack. Lanolin is to be done under the camper and a new jockey wheel handle yet too.

All is on track.......just......I think anyway. :-[

Offline Berg

« Reply #23 on: April 28, 2010, 02:15:14 PM »
So long as you can get there with food and drink it's all good  :cheers:

And a shovel if you're a beach camper  :-* >:D ;D

Offline sablesoft

• Green Cub Supamatic Escape Off Road
« Reply #24 on: April 28, 2010, 02:21:07 PM »

Glenda is still wheel chair bound with her broken ankle so we will not be able to make the trip to Fraser Island.

We are very envious of you lucky people who will have a great time up there, I am hoping we can head up to Fraser once Glenda is walking but I am sure it would more fun to be up there with a bunch of myswagers.

Ray
Green Cub Escape Off Road