Author Topic: Fuel and Water Requirements  (Read 6634 times)

Offline seqfisho

• So much Australia, Never enough Holidays
Fuel and Water Requirements
« on: February 27, 2010, 04:41:48 PM »
Hi Fraser Friends,

What will we need to take with us, in regards to fuel I dont want to be running to the servo every second day if we are tripping around and I am mainly concerned with what sort of range required rather than trying to save money by not paying island fuel prices (I cant believe I just said that, from somone who has driven 10k's to save 2c a litre ::)) I have a 76lt tank and can carry around 4+ jerrys if needed, and expect to get about 14-16l per 100k at worst on the sand not towing.

Also what is the water resources like, if we camp at the Ketsi Karaoke Village on the beach where do we go for water and is the supply abundant, I am considering a second tank for the camper (total 170lt) but can carry about 60lt in jerrys on the camper as well as the std 85lt tank under.
2007 Rodeo VCDi DCab, Reasonably stock no longer ;-)
Now Camperless

Re: Fuel and Water Requirements
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2010, 11:16:32 PM »
This may be of some help  8)

Fraser Island Conditions Report (updated monthly)
http://www.derm.qld.gov.au/parks/fraser/index.html

This month's report
http://www.derm.qld.gov.au/register/p01663aa.pdf

We usually get water from Dundubara about 10 minutes drive from Cathedral Beach. So as long as you bring a couple of jerry cans you will be able to top up the camper.  As for fuel you can get unleaded and diesel from Cathedral Beach, they also have a bottle shop but expect to pay at least double on the booze and a hefty mark up on the fuel  >:D

« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2010, 06:51:37 AM »
The map here pretty much says it all - http://www.derm.qld.gov.au/register/p02628aa.pdf

I would probably only carry an extra 40L or so of fuel, last time I was at Fraser I only went through about 100L for a full week's worth of exploring.  With the amount of rain they have had down there the sand should be reasonably hard.

Offline Ketsi

• Going Nowhere - and can't wait to get there!!!
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2010, 11:38:07 AM »
Glen,

Fuel - The patrol has around 120L from std main and sub tanks and I expect to get around similar mileage (although the trip up the beach with camper may involve some soft sand work and chew into this somewhat). I envisage being able to get over and around and back to rainbow on this 120L but will take a 20L spare in jerry as backup. Or as said there is fuel on the island if the partying gets real hard core and we start drinking diesel daiquiris...  >:D You would need to weigh up whether it is beneficial to have extra weight and room to carry more fuel in jerries or just pay the extra for it on the island. My suggestion for you would be to carry 2 jerries of fuel and look to only have to do a splash and dash for the run home down the beach.

Water - I have 110L on board the camper and usually carry a 20L jerry as extra and so I have the possibility to refill the tanks if necessary. With this amount I have only usually run into dramas when using for showers also. If we utilise the campground showers occasionally or can source alternate water for showers we should make the week on this supply. My suggestion would be unless you are a heavy water user you should aim to use your onboard 85L and take 2 jerries so you also have the ability to refill (via jerries etc) from a reliable source at one of the campgrounds or something during one of your day trips.

This should hopefully help you save room and weight for the important fluids....  :cheers:

Hope that helps, cheers,  :cheers:
Ketsi

Offline seqfisho

« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2010, 01:31:16 PM »
So what your trying to say is if I take 60lts (3xJerrys) of diesel and 30lt extra of water (115lt in total) we should have enough room left for 6 slabs of beer, a slab of bundys, a slab of something disgustingly sweet for the cook and enough pepsi to fill 3 x solar showers for Karaoke Sing Off :cup: :-*
Now Camperless

Offline Ketsi

« Reply #5 on: March 01, 2010, 01:42:53 PM »
enough pepsi to fill 3 x solar showers for Karaoke Sing Off :cup: :-*

Now you have my attention...  :cheers: don't forget to add the 'something disgustingly sweet' to the pepsi shower mix... >:D

Otherwise I would say only 40L extra fuel (or are you planning on drinking the extra 20 you mention...  ???8)) and 30 to 40L extra water above what you tank carries and you'll be sweet.

Cheers,  :cheers:
Ketsi

Offline seqfisho

« Reply #6 on: March 01, 2010, 01:55:27 PM »
enough pepsi to fill 3 x solar showers for Karaoke Sing Off :cup: :-*

Now you have my attention...  :cheers: don't forget to add the 'something disgustingly sweet' to the pepsi shower mix... >:D

You will have to wait and find out what the suprise ingrediant is, will have to get my bootlegger to work on a wicked brew :cheers:
Now Camperless

« Reply #7 on: March 01, 2010, 06:54:40 PM »
Well every time I have been on Fraser we usually do about 1200 to 1500 K's over 2 to 3 weeks. I carry 6 x 20L jerry cans on the camper and the 80 can carry 260L internally :D  I find that to be enough fuel for us (with a long top up at Rainbow Beach on the way home) but we like to go from one end of the Island to the other depending on what the wife wants to do and what is happening locally .... lol

So if you work on say 600 k's per week on the Island at about 25L per 100 you will have plenty of fuel ............ mind you I usually end up recovering a lot of bogged backpackers and tourists ......... just one of the many perks on Fraser >:D

Offline seqfisho

« Reply #8 on: March 02, 2010, 05:59:56 AM »
Well every time I have been on Fraser we usually do about 1200 to 1500 K's over 2 to 3 weeks. I carry 6 x 20L jerry cans on the camper and the 80 can carry 260L internally :D  I find that to be enough fuel for us (with a long top up at Rainbow Beach on the way home) but we like to go from one end of the Island to the other depending on what the wife wants to do and what is happening locally .... lol

So if you work on say 600 k's per week on the Island at about 25L per 100 you will have plenty of fuel ............ mind you I usually end up recovering a lot of bogged backpackers and tourists ......... just one of the many perks on Fraser >:D

I would expect from previous sand trips to be only around half that consumption so an extra 60lt should see me through the week :cheers:
Now Camperless

Offline MnMs

• 'Specialist Trip Stirrer'
« Reply #9 on: March 02, 2010, 04:22:30 PM »
We intend to only take over the 180ltr of diesel that the 120 holds. A big top up at Rainbow Beach before getting on the barge is usually our plan when heading over to Fraser. I am thinking the beginning of the week maybe a lot of socialising and not a huge amount of trippin, so a few litres might be conserved then. 8)

A 20l jerry of unleaded will be on board too for the genny.

We are going to fill up our water tanks when we get to camp. This will be necessary to keep under the GVM on the trip up......uno, all the other "liquids" will be on board too. :cheers: :cheers:
How about the Serenity!!!!!!!

2010 Land Cruiser Twin Turbo Diesel V8 with mods.
Jayco Outback Expanda 18.57-6.

Offline seqfisho

« Reply #10 on: March 07, 2010, 10:48:50 AM »
We intend to only take over the 180ltr of diesel that the 120 holds. A big top up at Rainbow Beach before getting on the barge is usually our plan when heading over to Fraser. I am thinking the beginning of the week maybe a lot of socialising and not a huge amount of trippin, so a few litres might be conserved then. 8)

We are going to fill up our water tanks when we get to camp. This will be necessary to keep under the GVM on the trip up......uno, all the other "liquids" will be on board too. :cheers: :cheers:

Are genny's allowed on the Island, especially the beach camping, it may solve my charging issue if we dont drive much at the start of the week  :police: :cheers:
Now Camperless

Offline maca76

« Reply #11 on: March 07, 2010, 02:47:07 PM »
Hi seqfisho, got this of the derm web site {Generators no louder than 65 decibels can only be used in informal beach camping zones (where there are no facilities), and may only be operated between 9am and 9pm.

Generators are prohibited in all formal campgrounds, including the Waddy Point beachfront campground.}
hope that helps you

cheers ryan  :cheers:

Offline Karen

• 'Myswag Trip Queen'
« Reply #12 on: March 07, 2010, 02:58:56 PM »

Are genny's allowed on the Island, especially the beach camping, it may solve my charging issue if we dont drive much at the start of the week  :police: :cheers:

As maca76 said, yes they are.  We are taking one.  Ketsi probably will too so that he can run his hair dryer and straightener!  ;D
« Last Edit: March 07, 2010, 05:00:37 PM by Karen »

Offline seqfisho

« Reply #13 on: March 07, 2010, 03:59:29 PM »
Excellent, we'll bring our honda 10i so we can run the Margarita slushie machine :cup:
Now Camperless

Offline MnMs

« Reply #14 on: March 08, 2010, 09:46:06 AM »
Ketsi probably will too so that he can run his hair dryer and straightener!  ;D

You don't crack too many funnies Kazza, but that one is for sure.  ;D ;D ;D

I actually thought you were heading towards saying Ketsi may need the extra power for the Love Shack.........nah, I'll leave it alone.  :angel:

Cathedral Park allows generators to run up until 9pm at night.

Offline Ketsi

« Reply #15 on: March 09, 2010, 11:29:58 AM »

You don't crack too many funnies Kazza, but that one is for sure.  ;D ;D ;D

Very funny indeed... >:( I'm sure she just happened to miss the important word "missus" in front of hair dryer and straightener  ??? Gotta keep the girls happy or us men will suffer... 8)

Yes I will have the Yammie 10i on board and hopefully rarely needed because of the new solar panels and all that sunshining goodness we will be basking in.... and no, not what you reckon shines out your bot Marco... ;D

Cheers,  :cheers:
Ketsi

Offline MnMs

« Reply #16 on: March 09, 2010, 11:33:43 AM »
I like how you are covering your tracks now Big K......for a moment there, I thought I was going to get in a "sunshine out of my......." joke :D :D :D

Nice work mate.

Marc.

« Reply #17 on: March 12, 2010, 06:23:49 PM »

You don't crack too many funnies Kazza, but that one is for sure.  ;D ;D ;D

Very funny indeed... >:( I'm sure she just happened to miss the important word "missus" in front of hair dryer and straightener  ??? Gotta keep the girls happy or us men will suffer... 8)

Yes I will have the Yammie 10i on board and hopefully rarely needed because of the new solar panels and all that sunshining goodness we will be basking in.... and no, not what you reckon shines out your bot Marco... ;D

Cheers,  :cheers:
Ketsi

Hey Ketsi,

keen to see how your new setup works  8)