Author Topic: Those heading across to Fraser via Inskip barge - coordination  (Read 5406 times)

Offline Ketsi

• Going Nowhere - and can't wait to get there!!!
Those heading across to Fraser via Inskip barge - coordination
« on: February 26, 2010, 03:55:52 PM »
Just thought I would start a new thread for these discussions so we don't hijack the other one any further.

As there may be a few of us gathering at inskip for the early barges on Saturday morning it might be a chance for us to get together for the run up the island to around the Cathedral beach area. I think we should also think about the proposed meeting place to join with those coming from river heads as the tides don't favour having to wait down the island before travelling up. Perhaps we can look at this further closer to the time.

So at this stage it looks like Glen, Yogi and us may have a chance to meet up for the early morning barge across from Inskip. Depending on where we are all staying we can work out where best to meet and a time. I suggest perhaps the carpark just before the beach at inskip point as some may be camping up the point and not needing to head back into town. Time I would suggest would be around 5:30 to 6:00am ready for one of the first barges.

Cheers,  :cheers:
Ketsi

Offline seqfisho

• So much Australia, Never enough Holidays
Re: Those heading across to Fraser via Inskip barge - coordination
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2010, 08:41:49 AM »

So at this stage it looks like Glen, Yogi and us may have a chance to meet up for the early morning barge across from Inskip. Depending on where we are all staying we can work out where best to meet and a time. I suggest perhaps the carpark just before the beach at inskip point as some may be camping up the point and not needing to head back into town. Time I would suggest would be around 5:30 to 6:00am ready for one of the first barges.

Ketsi

Ketsi,

I'll hold the barge while you slap the eggs and bacon on my roll and it's two sugars in the coffee please :angel:
2007 Rodeo VCDi DCab, Reasonably stock no longer ;-)
Now Camperless

Offline Ketsi

« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2010, 11:21:36 AM »
Ketsi,

I'll hold the barge while you slap the eggs and bacon on my roll and it's two sugars in the coffee please :angel:

No worries glenno, might be a bit early for the ole grey matter to kick in so operation of cooking appliances may be limited...  Hope you don't mind raw bacon and egg roll and ice coffee  ???  ;D  ;D How bout I just shout ya something from the hot box at the servo...  :D

ketsi

Offline TOY80ST

• The Camper trailer Whisperer
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2010, 11:32:13 AM »
What time is low tide on the day. Although it would be fun to do the inland run with a CT on the back just to annoy the backpackers coming the other way.
I hvae tlruobe wtih selplnig and dxsyliea. NOW I'TS YUOR TRUN!

Offline Ketsi

« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2010, 11:44:02 AM »
It's around 5:20am by my understanding... and high is around 11:45am ish....

Also the inland run only gets you a certain distance up the island. Eventually you need to get onto the beach and do the run up to Cathedral Beach.

Offline seqfisho

« Reply #5 on: March 01, 2010, 01:24:26 PM »
So do we know how early the Manta Ray starts, I'll be happy to be first on and also the sand should be harder before the sun dries it out, but then again after the rain were having now I would expect it to be like bitumen :cup:

Nothing the Rodeo can't handle ;D

I hope ::) :-X
Now Camperless

Offline Ketsi

« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2010, 11:23:42 AM »
Righto... according to the web site http://www.fraserislandbarge.com.au/ the Manta Ray kicks off at 6:00am so any interested parties in joining in on the 'beat the tide' run up the beach we will have a few gathering at 5:30am at the car park at the end of the bitumen road at inskip.

Be there in time to air down, say g'day, watch glen eat my new to be world famous raw bacon, raw egg in shell roll with room temp coffee chaser and cross the sand for the first barge departure at 6:00am saturday morning.

Ketsi

Offline seqfisho

« Reply #7 on: March 02, 2010, 11:28:17 AM »
Be there in time to air down, say g'day, watch glen eat my new to be world famous raw bacon, raw egg in shell roll with room temp coffee chaser and cross the sand for the first barge departure at 6:00am saturday morning.

Ketsi

I reckon if it was crammed into a tall glass with a XXXX bitter and some tobasco sauce I'll be first up the beach for sure :o :-X

Now Camperless

Offline Karen

• 'Myswag Trip Queen'
« Reply #8 on: March 02, 2010, 01:41:35 PM »
JK's coming on the barge with us because he knows that there is a good chance of something yummy and chocolatey!  Not stodgy old hot box food.  Although cooked Kabana could be quite yummy at 6am.  :P

Offline Ketsi

« Reply #9 on: March 02, 2010, 02:03:02 PM »
JK's coming on the barge with us because he knows that there is a good chance of something yummy and chocolatey!  Not stodgy old hot box food.  Although cooked Kabana could be quite yummy at 6am.  :P

Oooohhh that's sticking one of the Kamp Knitting Kneedles' knitting needles right where it hurts... :'(

I guess if we were planning the luxury of a lie in, complete hair care and makeover and time to bake something yummy and chocolatey before our barge we would get to sit around sipping lattes and chatting about all things delicate too... :-*

Guess we're just too keen to get up the beach and start our holiday.... call us 'hardcore'...  ;D 8)

Besides you will save some of that yummy chocolatey stuff for sweets after lunch on day one hey Kazza... :-* :angel:

ketsi

Offline seqfisho

« Reply #10 on: March 02, 2010, 02:10:13 PM »
Hey Ketsi,

You would be suprised at what we can mix with chocolate once we are set up on the beach before lunch time
Now Camperless

Offline Karen

• 'Myswag Trip Queen'
« Reply #11 on: March 02, 2010, 02:17:07 PM »
Hey Ketsi,

You would be suprised at what we can mix with chocolate once we are set up on the beach before lunch time

I can picture it now - Crownie in one hand, chocolate brownie in the other and Mum letting the air out of the tyres.  ;D

Offline MnMs

• 'Specialist Trip Stirrer'
« Reply #12 on: March 02, 2010, 04:02:55 PM »
We will be across Inskip Friday arvo Big K.

So we'll just skip across, up the beach, set up and settle in ready for the arrival of the MySwag folk Saturday morning. Not sure what time we will be through Inskip in the arvo, but we will keep in touch and see if we can say g'day on the way through if time permits.

MnM's.
How about the Serenity!!!!!!!

2010 Land Cruiser Twin Turbo Diesel V8 with mods.
Jayco Outback Expanda 18.57-6.

Offline Ketsi

« Reply #13 on: March 03, 2010, 10:29:11 AM »
we will keep in touch and see if we can say g'day on the way through if time permits.
MnM's.

Roger M squared, we'll keep in touch and see what time things are happening. I would say we will still be in heavenly Caboolture at the time you are heading north.... might have to duck out from work and cheer you by on the Bruce...  ;D

Ketsi

Offline MnMs

• 'Specialist Trip Stirrer'
« Reply #14 on: March 03, 2010, 12:30:49 PM »
Yeah, not sure on departure yet. But I am thinking it will be somewhere around 10-11am so we hit Hook Point sometime around low tide for an easy run up the beach to camp.  :D

We would appreciate some cheering from Big K if you can pry yourself away from the desk........... :cheers:
How about the Serenity!!!!!!!

2010 Land Cruiser Twin Turbo Diesel V8 with mods.
Jayco Outback Expanda 18.57-6.

Offline sablesoft

• Green Cub Supamatic Escape Off Road
« Reply #15 on: March 19, 2010, 11:27:31 PM »

The 6:00AM at Inskip barge is a bit to early for me, we are looking at having a relaxed drive up on the morning of Friday 30th  and then catch a barge across to Fraser  around 1:00 PM approx (Low tide is 2:25PM, Waddy Point) , so we will be rounding Hook Point at low tide.

We will then head up to Beach camp near Eurong, possibly One Tree Rocks beach camping zone.

Then we can have a relaxing sat morning waiting for the gang to show up. and then head up the Island with the MySwag mob.

Ray 
Green Cub Escape Off Road