Poll

What recovery gear do you usually carry on longer camping trips?

vehicle mounted electric winch
158 (7.9%)
snatch strap(s)
290 (14.4%)
rated shackle(s)
284 (14.1%)
Hi-Lift jack
69 (3.4%)
Shovel
281 (14%)
MaxTrax, sand tracks or similar
206 (10.3%)
Hand winch (Tirfor/jaws and cable type)
18 (0.9%)
Hand puller (come-a-long/ratchet type)
6 (0.3%)
snatch block(s)
160 (8%)
exhaust jack
26 (1.3%)
portable electric winch
3 (0.1%)
extra rope (s), winch extension strap (s)
184 (9.2%)
tree trunk protector
203 (10.1%)
other
56 (2.8%)
chainsaw
64 (3.2%)

Total Members Voted: 280

Author Topic: Recovery Gear - Poll  (Read 30901 times)

Offline ADTradie

Recovery Gear - Poll
« on: February 28, 2017, 04:15:33 PM »
I recently started a topic on hand winches and synthetic rope in the Mechanical section and this led to some interesting responses, so I thought I'd introduce this poll.
I thought members may be interested to see what recovery gear forum members own and generally take on an extended camping trip, especially when planning a bit of dirt and off-road travel.
Feel free to share any clever DIY recovery gear or methods you use.
(Hopefully I've set this poll up correctly to allow members to vote in several options as I'm sure most of us have much of the above gear?)
« Last Edit: March 01, 2017, 07:04:39 AM by ADTradie »
A.D.
Colorado RG MY2014 dual cab ute, swag and tent

Re: Recovery Gear
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2017, 04:56:00 PM »
I didn't tag High lift or tirfor. I still have both but it would need to be a gnarly trip towing the trailer before I'd think to pack either of them these days. There was a time I wouldn't leave home without them, but I don't drive to find trouble much any more.
Both legitimate, but not generally taken since I have the electric winch and vehicle jack. New vehicles don't have a lot of places to attach a high lift these days.

« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2017, 05:14:27 PM »
 snatch strap(s)
 rated shackle(s)
 Shovel
 snatch block(s)
 tree trunk protector
 other

Offline ADTradie

« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2017, 05:25:31 PM »
Hi GBC,
I ended up making an attachment for my Hi-Lift Jack so I could bolt onto a couple wheel nuts to give me a lift point at any of the 4 corners. Although I can still use the rear towbar for a rear lift with the Hi-Lift.
A.D.
A.D.

« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2017, 06:09:02 PM »
New vehicles don't have a lot of places to attach a high lift these days.

Lol theres a guy driving around Noosa in a new 200. no bull bar or tow bar with a high lift strapped to his roofrack.  ;D
The following users thanked this post: GBC

« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2017, 06:11:06 PM »
Lol theres a guy driving around Noosa in a new 200. no bull bar or tow bar with a high lift strapped to his roofrack.  ;D
biggest wank accessory in history! most are rusted in place on the roofrack
« Last Edit: February 28, 2017, 06:42:40 PM by Bird »

« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2017, 06:16:33 PM »
Hi GBC,
I ended up making an attachment for my Hi-Lift Jack so I could bolt onto a couple wheel nuts to give me a lift point at any of the 4 corners. Although I can still use the rear towbar for a rear lift with the Hi-Lift.
A.D.

You can do an awesome amount of panel damage using those things. Hi lifts have a great habit of leaning in at the top half way through the lift. Be careful.

Offline MrCruza

« Reply #7 on: February 28, 2017, 06:41:29 PM »

All 200s have the towbar built in.
Cheers, John.

'12 Cruiser
2020 NextGen Blackline

« Reply #8 on: February 28, 2017, 06:47:15 PM »
D'oh I forgot about that.  :cheers:

« Reply #9 on: February 28, 2017, 07:03:45 PM »
Mine is, that's why I'm selling it with the truck and never buying another one again.
Winch dampener
2 x snatch straps
1 x Tow strap
6 x rated shackles of various sizes
2 x snatch blocks
winch extension strap
tree trunk protector
drag chain
Max traxx
Extra rope of various diameters and lengths
2 pairs of gloves
« Last Edit: March 01, 2017, 06:39:55 AM by Bill »
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

« Reply #10 on: February 28, 2017, 07:22:57 PM »
I thought a Chev badge on a Dunny door was  ;D

;D unless it gets used for other purposes other than 4wdriving.
Great for lifting up decks, verandah's, pulling posts out, just have to use your imagination  :cheers:

Offline Aussie Iron

« Reply #11 on: February 28, 2017, 07:25:24 PM »
snatch strap(s)
rated shackle(s)
Shovel
snatch block(s)
tree trunk protector
other

My Other. 

8Hp Honda driving a Landrover Capstan Winch which I use 100 metres of 27000lb (12000kg) rope. Only take it on really hard runs and never had to use it yet so it tends to get left at home a lot no days. But for sure one day I won't have it and need it. Saves carrying a Tirfor.

Dan.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2017, 07:28:25 PM by Aussie Iron »

« Reply #12 on: February 28, 2017, 07:34:34 PM »
snatch strap x 2
rated shackle x 4 or more
snatch block x 2
winch extension strap
tree trunk protector
drag chain

Offline Johnnos3003

« Reply #13 on: February 28, 2017, 07:57:59 PM »
snatch strap(s)
rated shackle(s)
Shovel
snatch block(s)
tree trunk protector
other

My Other. 

8Hp Honda driving a Landrover Capstan Winch which I use 100 metres of 27000lb (12000kg) rope. Only take it on really hard runs and never had to use it yet so it tends to get left at home a lot no days. But for sure one day I won't have it and need it. Saves carrying a Tirfor.

Dan.

wow...

I would be interested to see this in action, I use capstan winches at work and they are freaking gutless when we load them up cant imagine using one to which a vehicle out of a sticky situation.

« Reply #14 on: March 01, 2017, 04:50:09 AM »
I'm not seeing any attachment points either. What sort of mechanical purchase do you need? I would have thought 3:2 at a minimum which means your recovery length is 15 odd metres?

Offline ADTradie

Re: Recovery Gear - Poll
« Reply #15 on: March 01, 2017, 12:43:57 PM »
Just including this link to a post by Craig on budget sand tracks that a few found interesting (for those of you who may have missed it)

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=51429.msg888115#msg888115
A.D.
The following users thanked this post: kmcrosby78

Offline Aussie Iron

« Reply #16 on: March 01, 2017, 07:02:59 PM »
I'm not seeing any attachment points either. What sort of mechanical purchase do you need? I would have thought 3:2 at a minimum which means your recovery length is 15 odd metres?

If you look at the plate that the capstan is mounted in, in the first picture you can see there are holes that I put bow shackles in. The engine has a reduction drive of 8to1 and then into the worm drive of the capstan. Believe me that it doesn't need any more mechanical purchase. I've done one mod to it since making it and that was to fit a roller that the rope goes under to lead it to the capstan which stops it from trying to tip up.  We've used it to pull tractor out of bogs, shift containers into place.

You can't stall it out and it just keeps pulling as long as you hang onto the rope to keep tension on it. The wheels and the handle are just to make it easy to move around.

Dan.

Offline ADTradie

« Reply #17 on: March 26, 2017, 12:29:49 PM »
Aren't there plenty of recovery gear options?
I stumbled across this wheel winch idea and wonder whether any of you have seen one of these in action?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JY4cKc4FKSM

A.D.

Offline ADTradie

More re recovery gear
« Reply #18 on: March 26, 2017, 12:40:09 PM »
I'm wondering what experience any of you may have had with a winch cradle and using an electric winch, as a portable idea so you can choose to winch from either the front or rear of your vehicle?
A.D.

Offline BobT

• bobtrlin
« Reply #19 on: March 30, 2017, 12:12:40 PM »
I have two recovery hooks up front.  So among other things, I ticked "other" for an equalisation strap.  So far, I've only ever had to use maxtrax.
BobT

Offline Gunsrunner

« Reply #20 on: March 30, 2017, 04:07:15 PM »
I ticked other. My other is, the wife. She usually stops me from exploring anything fun, when 4x4ing, if she's in the car.
2014 NW VRX Pajero 3.2did
2012 Redtrack series 1 RF

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #21 on: March 30, 2017, 04:30:06 PM »
These are my standard on board items

snatch strap(s)
rated shackle(s)
Shovel
tree trunk protector

Hi-Lift jack - have one but rarely use it, have only maybe once carried it in/on the car.
 Great for lifting out fence posts though.
MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
2003 Dingo Offroad Camper Trailer.
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan
1998 Triumph Daytona T595

« Reply #22 on: March 31, 2017, 08:37:05 AM »
I would have put a tick in
 . . . . My mates fully equipped rig.
Never go anywhere dicey without at least one of the above.

Offline ADTradie

« Reply #23 on: April 01, 2017, 07:01:40 AM »
I'm surprised someone hasn't mentioned a chainsaw as a recovery item they carry. I know some people do take one. More for chopping firewood I guess, or clearing an alternative bush track rather than getting stuck on an impassible existing track :)
A.D.

« Reply #24 on: October 30, 2017, 07:12:59 PM »
Hi all, I Just found this, good topic ADTradie, I carry,
A Long handle shovel
A new Snach strap
two rated Ds
10 bits of meld mesh
A stihl Ms170 if I go north for fire wood, or up foresty tracks, illegal to carry in NPs
6m snigging chain
6x2 block of wood to put jack on
A good tool box
other heaps of spares