Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1745022 times)

Offline Campa

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #1425 on: March 25, 2014, 09:16:21 PM »
Thanks for this, it will not only help me but I hope several people may do this too.

The first step I need to take is grinding the concrete smoothe, I got heaps of stuff to move around so might have to do the floor in parts, total floor is 120 square m.

dont think I can stay out of the shed for 2 months.

Peter,
iPad with IOS 7.1 using Tapatalk HD

My best advise would be to do some research. This is a great place to get info on anything to do with garages.......
WARNING - it's very addictive
http://www.garagejournal.com/
« Last Edit: March 25, 2014, 09:43:21 PM by Campa »

« Reply #1426 on: March 25, 2014, 11:06:57 PM »
Fitted the new Customline CT cover to the Heaslip.
Fits like a glove!   :cup:

« Reply #1427 on: March 26, 2014, 04:09:53 PM »
I reco'd my fire extinguisher off the boat.

Its one of them weird things that goes off at 79c and has some whizzbang gas in it, that smells like citrus and is really good for fires around sensitive things like electrics.

Now, the base of the thing and about 3 inches up was going rusty and I was worried about it getting a pinhole leak, so I very very carefully hit it over the crook bits with a very worn flap disc and buffed all the crap, bits of rust, old paint etc. off it.

Treated it twice with corrosion rust convertor, hand sanded it, then put 2 coats of kill rust silver over it followed by 2 coats of bright red.

Looks like new now and I didn't set it off or anything stupid.   :D

Its still full and ready to roll, but a new one was gunna be $1,000 to $1,200 and I've done this one over with crap I already had in the shed and a $4.00 can of red paint.... bargain.
« Last Edit: March 26, 2014, 04:20:04 PM by Jeepers Creepers »

Offline FNQBunyip

« Reply #1428 on: March 28, 2014, 01:36:03 PM »
Yesterday I found my spray gun still had 2" of white top coat in it after I sprayed the new tray the day before we went camping 3 weeks ago .. Whoops ..

So it had a major over haul and came up sweet , lucky its been raining and cool as the paint in the gun head was still liquid , only had a skin on the top of the pot .. I was able to turn it all upside down and unscrew the pot clean the gun then drain and deal with the pot ..

I guess I had so much going on that when I finished packing everything away and getting stuff ready to go away , I just forgot about it hanging there on its hook ...

then today , I've striped and cleaned the impellers of our big pressure pump that sucks from our creek .
Our water system has rain water when its raining and for about 4 or 5 days after it stops then we change over to creek water , The pump some times sucks up a few small rocks if the creek has moved the suction pipe and they get stuck in the impellers .. I heard a bucket load roar up the pipe and clunk around inside the housing the other night , so I put a small back up pump onto the tanks till I could sort the big bugger out .. Well what a job , I'll be looking for a better foot valve screen when I'm in town next ..

mmmm Must be beer time

« Reply #1429 on: March 28, 2014, 01:54:05 PM »
Couldn't do this in the 'cave'...  My first flying lesson.   8)

Offline nedsrest

« Reply #1430 on: March 28, 2014, 07:29:22 PM »
Put gutters on the front of the shed in anticipation of getting a water tank/s before the next wet season

Using Tapatalk

« Reply #1431 on: March 29, 2014, 02:26:54 PM »
Gave the wifes dog a haircut today, that's the last dog.  ;D

Offline mrhappi

• The Blog
« Reply #1432 on: March 29, 2014, 03:45:20 PM »
Cleaned the cave today. See you in 2015 broom handle.

Offline Campa

« Reply #1433 on: March 29, 2014, 06:53:44 PM »
Made these little grass head men with my daughter. In a weeks time they should have a bit of hair! 

« Reply #1434 on: March 29, 2014, 07:29:49 PM »
fished out some old Rallye 2000 spotties i had lying about under the house, and then replaced the cheapy spotties the Nnnnnnnnn...Ford  Maverick work ute  ;) has on the bullbar. then i fished out some speakers from the shed i had in a cupboard and swapped the door speakers out aswell. had a 12V fan that was laying on the passenger floor of the ute that used to be mounted in the tray area for when the previous owners went camping and slept in the back, air con don't work in the Mav so i screwed the fan to the dash and aimed it at the drivers seat  8) 8)

Offline firecracker

« Reply #1435 on: March 30, 2014, 04:28:55 AM »
Stripped the front disc calipers  (62 Jag mk10) off my Essex hot rod, then put new pistons and rubbers in them. Now ready for daughter Amy to coat them in Rustolium, think we'll go for     red. ;D
D3 HSE, Compomotive18"275x65 Cooper ATs, Sumpguard, GVNP.rods, Prospeed tree sliders, Brembo 4pot
Out laning/camping when i can.(ongoing trailer build)

« Reply #1436 on: March 30, 2014, 07:44:03 AM »
Got a spare set of wheel bearings, packed them with grease and sealed them up with the old Sunbeam Vacum Sealer.
 Should have seen the look on Jens face when I used it for that. :cup:

« Reply #1437 on: March 30, 2014, 10:58:11 AM »
Serviced the families pushies. My bike got a new chain and pads, stops on a dime now.

Sent from my GT-I9305T using Tapatalk

Offline JPH

« Reply #1438 on: March 30, 2014, 06:16:48 PM »
With the help of my BIL who is a gas plumber I fitted a gas bayonet for the Baby Q to the Jayco today, that should make life nice and easy.  Best part is where the camper lives at home I can also utilise the bayonet fitting and have the babyQ on the deck! Handy as! I also emptied out the Jayco of unnecessary 240 v items and beach stuff from Christmas in preparation for the High Country in a week!

« Reply #1439 on: March 30, 2014, 07:03:34 PM »
pulled the last of the tools and most of the shelving out of my 7X5 tradies trailer getting ready to sell it. just need to cruise by a few trailer shops this week to get an idea of what it's worth, and then hopefully it's bye bye trailer.

« Reply #1440 on: March 30, 2014, 07:04:14 PM »
wired up a stereo & reverse camera in Frank.

« Reply #1441 on: March 30, 2014, 07:14:38 PM »
wired up a stereo & reverse camera in Frank.
Oh ffs, what are you doing to the old girl, what's wrong with a cd player and mirrors   ::)

« Reply #1442 on: March 30, 2014, 07:15:24 PM »
Oh ffs, what are you doing to the old girl, what's wrong with a cd player and mirrors   ::)
Check Franks page Mate :)

« Reply #1443 on: March 30, 2014, 07:20:06 PM »
Oh ffs, what are you doing to the old girl, what's wrong with a cd casette player and mirrors   ::)

Fixed it........ ;D

Offline Buster3931

« Reply #1444 on: March 30, 2014, 08:05:18 PM »
hi guys

it wasnt in the shed but in the bedroom. As a sparky I hate the power board behind the bedside drawers. One option was a four outlet USB adaptor but the one I found had a blue LED that lit up my half of the bedroom. After some searching I came across some Legrand Mechs that are double USB outlets. they are happy to charge a phone and Ipad together. I installed two together as I usually have other USB devices being charged under my watchful (snoring) self.

Buster

« Reply #1445 on: March 30, 2014, 08:55:13 PM »
Saturday:
Modified the mount for the shovel and axe attachment to the rear spare.
Now fans a bolt at TDC to hold the spare while it is being attached / removed.

Fitted the Uniden UH7760NB 80 Channel UHF CB o the drivers side of the centre console, in a location where it won't hit my leg.

Sunday:
Fitted the mounting bracket and aerial to the bull bar, and ran the cable around the engine bay and through the firewall to the radio.

Earth and power run to engine bay. 

Now just need to connect to power and hopefully it will work fine!
« Last Edit: March 31, 2014, 12:16:03 AM by B&B »

Offline Moggy

« Reply #1446 on: March 30, 2014, 09:44:34 PM »
hi guys

it wasnt in the shed but in the bedroom. As a sparky I hate the power board behind the bedside drawers. One option was a four outlet USB adaptor but the one I found had a blue LED that lit up my half of the bedroom. After some searching I came across some Legrand Mechs that are double USB outlets. they are happy to charge a phone and Ipad together. I installed two together as I usually have other USB devices being charged under my watchful (snoring) self.

Buster

are these connected to power circuit? Never seen them before!!!!!

Sent from my XT905 using Tapatalk

All men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.
T.E. Lawrence

Offline Buster3931

« Reply #1447 on: March 30, 2014, 10:03:44 PM »
Yep they come off the back of the GPO and therefore need to be installed by a licensed sparky. Really handy though. 

Offline RallyDog

« Reply #1448 on: April 01, 2014, 07:05:27 PM »
Fitted set off superior engineering upper control arms to the 200 series

« Reply #1449 on: April 01, 2014, 07:16:22 PM »
Changed the mangled blades on the ride on mower , reset the cutting deck control arms , seem to be a Tad out of shape .
Then entertained another Swagger with Beers  :cheers:
 A gentle close to the day  :cheers: