Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1730074 times)

Offline Tjupurula

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #500 on: July 14, 2013, 05:09:57 PM »
I have the right to remain silent ;D

Where did you get that photo of me and my sons..?

« Reply #501 on: July 14, 2013, 05:11:58 PM »
Nah just some Highway Patrol guy with his siren going :angel:

Yeah at 1.30 p.m. In the arvo

Offline Tjupurula

« Reply #502 on: July 14, 2013, 05:14:44 PM »

Yeah at 1.30 p.m. In the arvo

Not you then I gather.

nbd73

« Reply #503 on: July 14, 2013, 05:24:16 PM »
I have the right to remain silent ;D

C'Mon D4D, that's at least twice I've seen u use that chimpanzee photo this weekend: lift your game and be original or don't bother!! We could all reach 10000 posts if we kept putting up the same thing....

Offline rodw

« Reply #504 on: July 14, 2013, 05:26:08 PM »
Finally got the roof over my materials rack and comressor which finishes a job I started about 2 years ago.

And during the week bought a TIG welder

I know nothing about TIG but I wanted a small stick welder that was portable as my MIG weighs 90 kg. I figured that I ight as well pay a bit more for a few more features. I did not get an AC/DC one so will rely on my MIG to weld aluminium.

And made a bracket for a Triton body lift kit ( well I hope my guess of the geometry for this part works out OK!)

First time I used my mill since fitting the DRO (Digital Readouts) and it was nice being able to dial in dimensions using the display to the nearest 0.001mm.

« Reply #505 on: July 14, 2013, 05:31:46 PM »
C'Mon D4D, that's at least twice I've seen u use that chimpanzee photo this weekend: lift your game and be original or don't bother!! We could all reach 10000 posts if we kept putting up the same thing....

;D ;D ;D

nbd73

« Reply #506 on: July 14, 2013, 05:38:01 PM »
;D ;D ;D

I've always wanted a pet rock. Could use it to plug my mouth when it gets out of line (or to bash twitching fingers) ;D

Offline grizzly

« Reply #507 on: July 14, 2013, 07:29:34 PM »
The Planets have aligned and I have roughed in the access to the shed. :D ;D 8) :cup: :cheers: :laugh:
Grizzly :cheers: :cup:

« Reply #508 on: July 15, 2013, 05:56:15 AM »
The Planets have aligned and I have roughed in the access to the shed. :D ;D 8) :cup: :cheers: :laugh:
Grizzly :cheers: :cup:

Looks like a test track for winching if it rains  >:D

Offline grizzly

« Reply #509 on: July 15, 2013, 08:31:00 PM »
Speewa158
We had to drag the truck (single drive ) up from the street with the 4tonne excavator and that was just from the dew on the grass ???. praying we don't get any rain for a while so I can get a couple of loads of gravel delivered.
Grizzly :cheers:

« Reply #510 on: July 15, 2013, 08:36:27 PM »

If garden sheds count, then I removed my mower ... walked around behind it for an hour and a bit yesterday ... then put it back in there.

« Reply #511 on: July 15, 2013, 08:41:24 PM »

If garden sheds count, then I removed my mower ... walked around behind it for an hour and a bit yesterday ... then put it back in there.

well that's practice out of the way, now you can drop by my place and get into race mode and do my yard if you like  Kit_E  :cheers: ;D ;D

« Reply #512 on: July 15, 2013, 08:44:37 PM »

You haven't seen my yard!  The slope is great for those water slides from days of old.

« Reply #513 on: July 15, 2013, 08:54:02 PM »

You haven't seen my yard!  The slope is great for those water slides from days of old.

there are hills in Logan?  ;)

« Reply #514 on: July 15, 2013, 08:58:05 PM »

Sure is (at least one) ... my place is 273m above sea level ... and has a lovely view of another hill which is in the Redland Shire.  The rest of Logan is pretty flat however. 

The hill I'm on has a lovely view all the way to Mt Lindsay if you are on the right side of it (which I'm not) and there isn't any smog.

« Reply #515 on: July 15, 2013, 09:01:30 PM »

Sure is (at least one) ... my place is 273m above sea level ... and has a lovely view of another hill which is in the Redland Shire.  The rest of Logan is pretty flat however. 

The hill I'm on has a lovely view all the way to Mt Lindsay if you are on the right side of it (which I'm not) and there isn't any smog.

had to come home from brisbane via the Mt Lindsay highway. was in the 19 mtr b-double. met 4 semi's coming the other way. i need to be paid more........

Offline berlitza

« Reply #516 on: July 15, 2013, 09:03:02 PM »
smacked my shin into the towbar of the &*&T^&** car, was going to do the oil and filter but now it can bugger off

« Reply #517 on: July 15, 2013, 09:04:28 PM »
smacked my shin into the towbar of the &*&T^&** car, was going to do the oil and filter but now it can bugger off
Towbar.........a devise for finding your car in the dark  ;D

Offline berlitza

« Reply #518 on: July 15, 2013, 09:08:14 PM »
Towbar.........a devise for finding your car in the dark  ;D
Ive had kiddney stones before but the pain of that bloody towbar was like no other.i wont do that again, not even by accident

Offline Brumbypt

• Trailers, trailers, trailers, trailers..
« Reply #519 on: July 15, 2013, 09:08:22 PM »
What i did was all on a mates 80series, did the hand brake mod, fuel door mod, low range auto 4wd mod, fixed his grab handle, fixed rear wheel swing arm, turned the top radiator hose around as he had fitted it up side down. Replaced a head light globe, found and repaired the tail light. Plug wasn't plugged in correctly after a panel repair.
Sprayed some loob on the tail gate, tightened the rear number plate.

Tomorrow i do the rear passenger window fix as the glass has dropped out of the channel.. Or visa versa.. Also need to clean the power window switches as they occasionally don't work..

Also a few things on his second 80.. I think i will ban him from doing any more work on his on vehicles as his lack of ...... Is casuing more work.. Like the radiator hose that was upside down, it was pressing too hard against the dissy cap possible causing the 80 not run well, causing the engine to back fire, causing the safety sock (stubby holder) to blow a hole, so he used duct tape, which then caused the stubby holder to not do its job the next time the engine backfired causing the diaphragm to blow out...

I had my mechanic friend visit me today and together thats what we worked out to be the reason why the engine is not running on lpg..

Tapa talk is annoying. 
1993 80 series landcruiser

« Reply #520 on: July 15, 2013, 09:11:48 PM »
What i did was all on a mates 80series, did the hand brake mod, fuel door mod, low range auto 4wd mod, fixed his grab handle, fixed rear wheel swing arm, turned the top radiator hose around as he had fitted it up side down. Replaced a head light globe, found and repaired the tail light. Plug wasn't plugged in correctly after a panel repair.
Sprayed some loob on the tail gate, tightened the rear number plate.

Tomorrow i do the rear passenger window fix as the glass has dropped out of the channel.. Or visa versa.. Also need to clean the power window switches as they occasionally don't work..

Also a few things on his second 80.. I think i will ban him from doing any more work on his on vehicles as his lack of ...... Is casuing more work.. Like the radiator hose that was upside down, it was pressing too hard against the dissy cap possible causing the 80 not run well, causing the engine to back fire, causing the safety sock (stubby holder) to blow a hole, so he used duct tape, which then caused the stubby holder to not do its job the next time the engine backfired causing the diaphragm to blow out...

I had my mechanic friend visit me today and together thats what we worked out to be the reason why the engine is not running on lpg..

Tapa talk is annoying.
here is a solution for your mate in the 80 series with his window problems. install one of these and all will be good.
Red Green Handyman Tip - "Power Windows" (1999) Small | Large

Offline Tjupurula

« Reply #521 on: July 16, 2013, 07:39:40 AM »
I wonder if Napanangka will let me play in my shed when I get home this time.

« Reply #522 on: July 16, 2013, 08:27:42 AM »

And during the week bought a TIG welder

I know nothing about TIG but I wanted a small stick welder that was portable as my MIG weighs 90 kg. I figured that I ight as well pay a bit more for a few more features. I did not get an AC/DC one so will rely on my MIG to weld aluminium.

Skills simalar to oxy mate, you'll be right. Just watch the tip. I think there's plenty of info around to get yu going.

First time I used my mill since fitting the DRO (Digital Readouts) and it was nice being able to dial in dimensions using the display to the nearest 0.001mm.

What brand did you fit? Looking for a simple reliable unit for a lathe.

Offline rodw

« Reply #523 on: July 16, 2013, 08:39:22 AM »
What brand did you fit? Looking for a simple reliable unit for a lathe.

The one I got was from ebay seller ToolSales http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/400314583270?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649

I chose this because it came with the hardware to fit it to my mill so it won't work for everybody. But it was missing some brackets so it took a bit more effort than expected. The brackets are in the post but I got it done anyway! When I get one for my lathe I was going to go with Ditron from AliExpress. They have a "super" slimline scale with 1 micron scales and were reasonably priced. I found them because I saw the scale on display once at Hare and Forbes and went looking for it.

« Reply #524 on: July 16, 2013, 01:54:11 PM »
Got sick of tripping over the jarrah slab lying across the floor of the workshop and roughed out an island bench for the inlaws kitchen.