Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1730906 times)

Offline Chippy76

• :D
Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #425 on: July 05, 2013, 10:04:44 PM »
Well done my friend!  ...now thats a talent!

Cheers Chippy :D
"All ice is thin ...cross only when necessary" - Buck Tilton

« Reply #426 on: July 05, 2013, 10:18:48 PM »
Well done my friend!  ...now thats a talent!

Cheers Chippy :D
Thanks Chippy. I have visions of turning some of my space into a studio. There are no arguments from Mrs Snow.  :cup:

« Reply #427 on: July 06, 2013, 05:23:30 AM »
Top stuff mate  :cup:
Jen just asked me why I'm not that clever. ;D

Offline gruesome

• Don't follow me I'm LOST
« Reply #428 on: July 06, 2013, 07:14:41 AM »
Showing your hidden talents is really nice Snow, but your creating work in another household mate lol, nice work mate
cheers Andy
2001 Prado OME coils and springs, bfg 265/75/16, UHF, Warn 9000lb winch
dual batteries, snorkel, draw  system, TJM bar, hella lights
Complete Campsite trailer

Offline rellbell

• 2000 gu II + MDC XT12
« Reply #429 on: July 06, 2013, 04:05:40 PM »
My main man is down in his cave with the trailer up on the hoist rewiring the battery into the bigger box upgrade on our track about.  Only 8 more sleeps till were off to the cape, woohoo getting excited ;D cheers rellbell

Offline berlitza

« Reply #430 on: July 06, 2013, 04:30:41 PM »
braking open a few frothy'z and watching the most boring race I think I have ever watched

« Reply #431 on: July 06, 2013, 05:00:52 PM »
I've had a problem with the 93 'Cruiser ute (1HZ 4.2 After market DTS turbo) for over 12 months & decided to do something about it. It would run well up to around 90kph but then, under load up anything less than flat, would lose power. Methinks a change of hose on the turbo intake as it was pretty old & may be collapsing under load. Replaced it with a silicon hose. Off for a drive. Nah same problem. On the phone to an old mate (retired diesel mechanic) who came up today to have a squiz. Really strange but he found an hose clamp on the fuel line between the primary & secondary filters. Problem solved! NO. Replaced the fuel line as we thought it may have been damaged by the clamp. No again. Finally tried loosening the bleed nut on the fuel pump & pumping the primer on the filter which managed to place about 1/2 litre of diesel on the shed floor but, presto, running like a dream at 120+kph so must have been some crap in the pump constricting flow. I'm off now to clean up the mess before "you-know-who" gets home to park her vehicle.

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #432 on: July 06, 2013, 05:25:17 PM »
I'm not really in the shed (am just outside) starting to fix up the tandem trailer I got for $200. Started pulling out the old rusted out floor, found that some parts have been welded from underneath the trailer. Turning in to a bigger job that I hoped. Looks like I might be at it again tomorrow. I got given some second hand steel for the floor, just need to sort out lights and brakes and then register it. Even with new brakes and lights it should end up a cheap tandem trailer.
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

Offline FNQBunyip

« Reply #433 on: July 06, 2013, 06:59:58 PM »
Out the front of the shed as the new tray is slowly being built inside .......

Pulled the axles out and got ready to pull the rear diff out in the morning .
 Then to find a new / reco or S/H center , Monday..

3 T's  in life ;)

Offline kochy

• Toyota Hilux Dualcab Turbo
« Reply #434 on: July 06, 2013, 07:07:09 PM »
Fitted a new Tigez11 winch bar and Hercules 12000 lb winch to my 2006 Hilux Dual cab, bit of fun at first but worked it out fitting same to son in laws next week.
If you are not riding on the edge you are taking up to much room

Offline toeball

« Reply #435 on: July 06, 2013, 07:48:50 PM »
I found the floor!
I-zoo-zoo D-MAX and a Lifestyle Explorer + (+ more)

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #436 on: July 06, 2013, 08:02:28 PM »
I found the floor!

I'm working out the front because I can't find mine!
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

Offline Brumbypt

• Trailers, trailers, trailers, trailers..
« Reply #437 on: July 06, 2013, 08:24:53 PM »
Did some welding and grinding and sweeping, picked up atleast 2kgs of grinding dust off the floor..

Now if only i could make something out of it!!! Hmmm how could i join all those dust bits together

*******.....PETER......*******

I am a 2 shed family, one for me and one for living in..

1993 80 series landcruiser
Dual movement hip
Love the high country
1993 80 series landcruiser

« Reply #438 on: July 06, 2013, 08:46:06 PM »
^^^^ Magnet

« Reply #439 on: July 06, 2013, 11:06:04 PM »
I havent done much at all this week.
Been at the local hospital at least two or three times a day.
My 97 yr old grandfather is in hospital. As the only grandchild that is here and sadly that can make time, and with all my aunts and uncles away(all 7 of them) including my folks, my wife and I are the only family here at this time.
The stubborn old bugga still thinks he is good enough to look after himself.

At 97, he's old enough to expect to have a little help.

Offline FNQBunyip

« Reply #440 on: July 07, 2013, 02:11:35 PM »
Pulled the rear diff out of the HZJ75 , spent a fair while looking at my diff and one I had in the shipping container from a HJ75 ,  axle s seemed the same , bolt holes as well ,, the housing is a bit different , and the HJ does not have LS clutch housing around the cross , but the crown wheel measured the same ,,,

asked the question over at 4x4 action ..

got told it would work .  and it does  ;D 

so shes back on the road  , think its time too  :cheers:

« Reply #441 on: July 07, 2013, 02:53:50 PM »
Finished the install of the Deepie & LED strip lights& Batt box & switches & Anderson plugs X 2 & solar panels attachment  & a few  :cheers: cose l'v been busy  :cheers: Time for a nap before  :cheers: before dinner . :cheers:

« Reply #442 on: July 07, 2013, 03:41:38 PM »
Found my old cordless drill when cleaning out the shed, so took battery out, soldered a couple of wires to battery contacts inside drill, fitted an Andersen Plug to the other end and bingo I've got a 12v drill.
Someone had suggested this mod on here awhile back I think. :cup:

nbd73

« Reply #443 on: July 07, 2013, 03:50:10 PM »
Spent the day doing perhaps one of the stupidest things ever: decided ( heavily influenced by better half) it would be a good idea to remove roof rack between trips. So after much head scratching & several trips to bunnings finally managed to rig up some pulleys, rope & hooks to lift the rack off the 4wd and hang from garage roof when not in use. So all done, then climb onto roof to realise that 4 of the 12 bolts holding the rack to the roof are virtually inaccessible without removing the rack from the 2 adaptor brackets that mount into the roof channels. Another 12 bolts to remove, and half of them are nearly impossible to get an Allen key into. Buggers me how ARB fit the the damn thing.
Now nursing a bruised ego realising that a simple check of the roof BEFORE starting anything just might have been a good idea. Hope everyone else had more joy.
« Last Edit: July 07, 2013, 03:52:59 PM by nbd73 »

« Reply #444 on: July 07, 2013, 04:50:40 PM »
Wasn't in the shed, I dry lubed every door hinge in the house. Amazing the difference not having squeaking doors in the house is.

Offline Raym

« Reply #445 on: July 07, 2013, 08:12:13 PM »
Finally got some time on the carved horse.

This is due to be finished next month the artisans challenge at Cobb & Co in Toowoomba.

Still not convinced I have rounded the body enough.

Ray

« Reply #446 on: July 07, 2013, 08:15:42 PM »
Finally got some time on the carved horse.

This is due to be finished next month the artisans challenge at Cobb & Co in Toowoomba.

Still not convinced I have rounded the body enough.

Ray
Very impressive!

Offline Crisp Image

• Old enough to know better. Young enough to do it again!
« Reply #447 on: July 07, 2013, 08:20:25 PM »
Found my old cordless drill when cleaning out the shed, so took battery out, soldered a couple of wires to battery contacts inside drill, fitted an Andersen Plug to the other end and bingo I've got a 12v drill.
Someone had suggested this mod on here awhile back I think. :cup:

was it a 9.6v or 12v?

2008 Outback Sturt, 2010 Prado 150 D4D Tug

Offline staghornflat

« Reply #448 on: July 07, 2013, 08:24:11 PM »
Finally pulled the carby off my crf 450 and cleaned the jets, now it idles. Then had to go for a ride with son.  :cheers:
2017 200 Cruiser
2010 KK limited edition

Offline Crisp Image

• Old enough to know better. Young enough to do it again!
« Reply #449 on: July 07, 2013, 09:42:32 PM »
Finished one invention cart stage prop for the production of Beauty and the Beast (No I am not the beast) and started on the repair of another.
Tomorrow I continue on props.  I am really enjoying this but fear I will need to return to work for a rest. I have been on holidays for a bit over a week and have spent most days in the man cave.
Crispy

2008 Outback Sturt, 2010 Prado 150 D4D Tug