General => Previous Member Trips => Trips, Tracks, Touring and Reports => 2011 Cape York Members Trip => Topic started by: Symon on July 30, 2011, 09:43:33 AM

Title: What would you do differently next time?
Post by: Symon on July 30, 2011, 09:43:33 AM
Following on from the "Carnage" thread, I've been giving it a bit of thought as to what I would do differently with the vehicle and camper preparation for next time I head up.  So here is my list -

1. Take less of the gear you don't need, for the '11 trip I took about half as much stuff as the '09 trip, and that was probably still too much.  Stuff that I took this time but didn't need was -

2. Take more of the right gear, stuff I needed but didn't have -

3.  Stuff I did take that came in pretty damn handy -

That's it for now, I'm sure there will be more.
Title: Re: What would you do differently next time?
Post by: jclures on July 30, 2011, 10:34:07 AM
Symon when we did the gulf trip we worked out a trip menu and it worked out ok, only had a couple of things left over and they were either dried or tinned foods so they just went back to the house pantry.
I had a bit of fun pocked at me over my two angle grinders, one as a grinder one with an ultra thin disk, but they did come in handy fixing an A frame.
I did regret not having any welding gear with me though.
Post by: McGirr on July 30, 2011, 11:21:27 AM
Food is the biggest issue. What to take and how much !! Most times when travelling the Cape you stop in the afternoon and after relaxing with a few beers cooking just does not seem enjoyable specially if you have kids to feed. Quick simple meals are ideal. 

As Symon mentioned Seisa has a super market and abattoir for fresh meat and staying in the huts with power does make cooking alot easier.

I took food that we did not use and could have made more space for the beer !!! :cheers:

Post by: Redback on July 30, 2011, 01:08:21 PM
Food is the biggest issue. What to take and how much !! Most times when travelling the Cape you stop in the afternoon and after relaxing with a few beers cooking just does not seem enjoyable specially if you have kids to feed. Quick simple meals are ideal. 

As Symon mentioned Seisa has a super market and abattoir for fresh meat and staying in the huts with power does make cooking alot easier.

I took food that we did not use and could have made more space for the beer !!! :cheers:

Or drink less beer, Yogi and I had plenty :cup:

The only thing I regret not taking was the newer battery that I had as a spare for just in case, I forgot it, I could have replaced the one that died, that way I wouldn't have had to use Yogi's generator at Kingfisher, which I very much appriciated by the way.

We used just about everything we packed for the Gulf and Cape trip, we packed enough that we didn't have to replenish as much as others on the both trips, you can't pack too much food, one day you may need the extra food.

Post by: jk on July 30, 2011, 01:49:34 PM
After doing the Cape in 09 with Myswag we had a fair idea what we would need and what we wouldn't, things that we carry but rarely use actually got a run on this years trip,

The 12v welding kit turned out to be needed this trip, it's one of those things that is rarely used but if needed is a life/trip saver.

Gennie, EU20, came in handy for powering up to four sites at a time ( took the solar in 2009 but it was space consuming and the gennie has more flexable on a trip like this )

Food.........we did ok in this department, had plenty and ate like kings ( it helps if you camp close to yogi ), ran 2 x 40l Engles for food and beer and a 25l Waeco as a freezer for meat. We started to run low on 12v power about 10 day into the trip but a quick chat to the electrical guru ( Symon ) and we realised we were using more power than we were making, in future whenever we stop all fridges will be put straight onto 240v and then plug in the 30amp Projector Charger as well, this fixed our problem almost immediately.

The 2 burner BBQ was a great idea, we had many cook ups in the mornings and other trip members came and used it as well ( and you always score a bit of their grub while their cooking )  ;D

This year we did more bush camping then in 09 so the need for water did come up,.................easy fix, we carry a water filter hooked to a Sureflo pump with an Anderson plug on the end, when we got low on water we could pump water from the Wenlock/Jardine etc, filter it and fill up our 100l tank again. Came on very handy.

Take a good tool kit, I had to change an engine mount at Endeavor Falls, a good selection of tools is worth it's weight in gold.

John K

Post by: SteveandViv on July 30, 2011, 03:27:37 PM
We did OK but with the weather the way it was I would also take the Genny next time. With the two fridges we just didn't keep up (180watts). We got around that by running the car though and using the inverter with the battery chargers, again it would have nee easier to run the Honda 2 instead. We had to much just in case food. We were good with the meat etc but we are still using cans of this and that at Cairns over a week later. Water was OK with Terry having 80 on board and we did have 40 on the roof and 40 on the camper plus Terry had another 40. My tool kit got used a bit due to the bearing on the camper both needing changing and an idler on the Paj.
Post by: DAZnBEC on July 30, 2011, 03:33:59 PM
Good thread idea Symon,

We did the cape this year for the first time and wasn't sure weather we had too much or too little. We were able to take enough meat for the four and a half weeks we were away. We definately chewed through snack foods like, chips, muesli bars, fruit and lollies. But breakfasts were a challenge, as we all became sick to death of cereal, but had a cooked breakfast when we set up for more than one night. Another tip we got from Yogi was to use paper plates and that worked a treat.

As for spares, I didn't take a 12v welder but it would be something I will purchase for the next large trip. We blew out 2 wheel bearings at once on the camper but we had spares for all that. One thing that I had to borrow was a large col chiesel to smash off the inners of these bearings.

Our solar panel hardly got used, so I wouldn't take that again and our 12v shower was only used once.

As for the stops along the way, I could easily spend alot more time on the OTT camping at more creeks, it was one of the highlights for us.

Dazza
Post by: Frostd on July 30, 2011, 07:02:31 PM
We are very similar to SteveandViv. We took almost enough meat to last the entire 6 weeks we were away, with a little top up at Siesia and then Cairns on the return.  A gen set would be a must with so much cloud cover, even though, when the sun came out, the solar worked a treat. I probably need to update my tools, with a cold chiesel, as Steve had to bash one of his bear cases off the stub. I took a lot of what if spares, fuel filters, air filters, oil filter, spare bearings, radiator hoses, 1000 metres of hundred mile an hour tape. I may not need to take this much, but I'm not sure.  I would have an internal water tank, that works.

Im with Dazza, I found the OTL fabulous, we stayed 5 nights on the track, Dulhunty, Cockatoo and 3 nights at Sams.  I could easily do another 5 nights along the track and skip doing North of the Jardine. :cup:
Post by: spargo on July 31, 2011, 08:42:04 PM
Great thread guys, even for tips on equipment for trips other than the Cape.

One question I have. A few have said they wouldn't take their solar panels again. Is that because you are always on the go and recharging CT batteries from the cars as you go along, and then they're topped up for each night?? I'm assuming yes..

thanks!!
Post by: Symon on July 31, 2011, 08:50:36 PM
spargo - there were a few spots where we were camped in one spot for a few days (Canal Creek in particular) which let the batteries run down, but there were lots of trees around the campsite so solar was next to useless with the shadows.

The rest of the time we were either on the move (so charged off the alternator) or 240V was available.
Post by: Frostd on July 31, 2011, 08:59:03 PM
Spargo, (Steveandviv) & us, did alot of 2-3 night stays, Chilli beach, Sams Creek, Bramwell Station and a few others. What we found was the conditions were overcast probably North of Cooktown, which made it very difficult to get any charge out of the panels.  If it wasnt cloudy, we would have been fine for battery power. So a geni would be great.
Post by: geoffnvi on July 31, 2011, 09:34:47 PM
From my wifes viewpoint i took far too many tools (as she said we didnt use many of them). However, form my point of view, the tool you dont take, may be the one that could save your trip, so i will always make room for them  ;D
Food wise, we were pretty spot on, however next time will buy more meat and cryovac from the fantastic butcher we found in Cairns. I will take my EU20 as well and buy a 12v welding setup. As we will have either a Cape York extreme (like JK) or a Complete Campsite Byron (hardfloor) for our next Cape advenutre, the bits and pieces wil be a little different.
Like most of you, we will be spending more time bush camping along the OTL (3 nights minimum at each spot, more exploring and less time at Seisa.

The best bits we took along were the greasegun (i greased the hitch and suspension every few days) and the Coleman hot water system. This was fantasticly easy to use and made a hot shower an awesome end to long, dusty days.

Geoff
Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 31, 2011, 09:41:38 PM
With the mention of the 12v welding kit so many times is it something speacial or the batteries joined together with custome leads with eyes shut while welding. Can we get some further info please

Post by: Symon on July 31, 2011, 09:46:44 PM
The welding kit is basically so you can use a couple of car batteries as a welder.  You need three leads - one with an electrode holder on one end, and a large alligator clamp on the other.  Another with two large alligator clamps (for the earth lead), and finally a shorter length with two alligator clamps so you can series up two batteries.

jk might post up some pics of his, if not I'm going to be making myself one this week sometime so I will post up pics when done.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 31, 2011, 09:51:26 PM
Cheers Symon, pics and description would be great, I have seen how it all works but a reminder would be good. I think you could buy a set up from a 4by store a while ago

Post by: jk on August 01, 2011, 06:34:42 AM
I'm on it, give me until lunch time  ;D
Post by: darren on August 01, 2011, 06:45:32 AM
What do you think about only taking a weeks worth of cyrovaced meat, food etc and buying it on the way then you wouldn't have a need for the extra fridge, genny and maybe even welder. We did a 4 week trip similar with only a 39 l engle for 4.
Not a criticism, just a thought
Post by: jk on August 01, 2011, 06:59:49 AM
12v Welder pics,
I bought the earth clamp and rod holder from a guy at the local flee market,
The cable was old welding cable I had lying around the shed
The rod are taped up to try and keep the moisture out
The lense is in the zip lock bag...........Symon has the full welding mask  ;D
The man bag is from the campimg shop ( available in a veriety of colors to match most if your outfits )
Post by: Frostd on August 01, 2011, 07:50:17 AM
What do you think about only taking a weeks worth of cyrovaced meat, food etc and buying it on the way then you wouldn't have a need for the extra fridge, genny and maybe even welder. We did a 4 week trip similar with only a 39 l engle for 4.
Not a criticism, just a thought
Darren, you could do it that way, but you would have to be thrifty with your fridge. You would have to make sure you have enough amps in your batteries to cover your stop overs. We stopped for max 3 days in any one place without 240 volt power.. I ran two fridges, 50L in the vehicle and 60L in the camper, which held the meat, dairy, adults drinks, soft drinks and some salad items. I found there was no fresh/froozen items, including bread and milk north of Weipa, until you reach Bamaga. Depending how long you were going to stop, you had to stock up, it took us 6-7 days to reach Bamaga to re-stock due to our stop overs.
Post by: darren on August 01, 2011, 09:49:06 AM
Thanks for that. As i said, it wasn't a criticism. We have just got used too a certain way and meat for up to 3 weeks in the fridge is ok. I'm planning for another 4 week remote trip now with the same set up
Darren
Post by: DAZnBEC on August 01, 2011, 10:34:54 AM
Thanks for that. As i said, it wasn't a criticism. We have just got used too a certain way and meat for up to 3 weeks in the fridge is ok. I'm planning for another 4 week remote trip now with the same set up
Darren

I think everyones situation is different, but we are a family of six and find that buying food in remote areas is just way to expensive.

Daz
Post by: Squalo on August 01, 2011, 03:27:08 PM
12v Welder pics,
I bought the earth clamp and rod holder from a guy at the local flee market,
The cable was old welding cable I had lying around the shed
The rod are taped up to try and keep the moisture out
The lense is in the zip lock bag...........Symon has the full welding mask  ;D
The man bag is from the campimg shop ( available in a veriety of colors to match most if your outfits )

That's great - thanks for posting. I have just about all of the individual components at home so will make my own kit up this week.

Just need to get the man bag, hopefully I can find one in a nice lavender with room for my makeup  ;D
Post by: Frostd on August 01, 2011, 03:45:16 PM
Thanks for that. As i said, it wasn't a criticism. 
Darren no offence taken :cheers:. Everybodies situation is different. I have learnt so much over the past 6 weeks on the big trip. Now just got to plan the next big trip and put some of it into practise :cheers:
Post by: yogi on August 02, 2011, 09:27:23 AM
darren ......... 39L fridge to live out of for a couple of weeks is a top effort.

A 39L fridge is not big enough to store my beer quota for a day ;D Then there is the wygu steaks, black angus cube roll oh and the rib fillet on the bone. Not to mention the pre made curries, roast lamb, roast pork, ribs and the dry aged smoked bacon .... plus all the other goodies we keep in the fridge .... lol

I always take to much food and beer but that's the plan as you just never know when you might end up stuck on the side of the road for a couple of days ..... plus there is nothing like pulling up in the middle of nowhere and having a choice of what to have for dinner, lunch or breakfast 8)

Each trip I add to my specialty tool list and car part spares. Next trip I plan to have a 24v welding kit :cheers:

Post by: SteveandViv on August 02, 2011, 09:43:57 AM
I agree with you Yogi. I think I would struggle to get away with a 39l. We used a 60 on our trip across Aus to Broome but as we could decide when and where we wanted to be it was OK. The difference with the Cape trip was we weren't sure where or what we could get so it was good to have the additional 50l as well. Between the Frostys and us we were able to take lots of meat, roasts etc and we also had no less than 15 cans of beer then Cider available for the nights and honestly, we hammered that some times.

But like every one has said, there are many options and differences. I think if you know where you can stock up for a reasonable price then I would have taken less but the truth is it was expensive at some stops up here so I was happy to have had the stock on hand.
Post by: Redback on August 02, 2011, 04:15:29 PM
darren ......... 39L fridge to live out of for a couple of weeks is a top effort.

A 39L fridge is not big enough to store my beer quota for a day ;D Then there is the wygu steaks, black angus cube roll oh and the rib fillet on the bone. Not to mention the pre made curries, roast lamb, roast pork, ribs and the dry aged smoked bacon .... plus all the other goodies we keep in the fridge .... lol

I always take to much food and beer but that's the plan as you just never know when you might end up stuck on the side of the road for a couple of days ..... plus there is nothing like pulling up in the middle of nowhere and having a choice of what to have for dinner, lunch or breakfast 8)

Each trip I add to my specialty tool list and car part spares. Next trip I plan to have a 24v welding kit :cheers:

I've seen this in the flesh, it's big ;D

Totally agree with the second paragraph though, especially the bolded bit ;D

As someone has said, everyone is different.

Post by: duggie on August 05, 2011, 07:23:13 AM
I too took way to much food, spot on with the XXXX supply. Did not need or use the coleman hot water nor the shower tent and would not take some other things again on that sort of trip.
But the main thing that I would do if/when I go again would be to ring up all of the fuel retailers along the the way and ask them their prices and post them on the forum.
For an example: On my way home I did not refuel at the Archer River Roadhouse but chose to travel on to Coen, a futher 60'k down the road. Archer River price for diesel was $1.99 cents per litre but in Coen I paid $1.77 cents per litre. A huge saving when buying 80 odd litres of fuel.
If the fuel prices were listed prior to leaving on these sort of trips the group could pre plan stops, fuel refills and save heaps.
Post by: dno on August 05, 2011, 09:56:25 AM
Good point duggie,
The good lady has worked in the fuel industry for over ten years and at more than one company, They have rules and there not to give out fuel prices over the phone so you'd have to negate this problem.
Post by: 9775Andrew on November 19, 2011, 07:49:46 AM
Good info guys, thanks

We just returned from 8 weeks across OZ and had 2 fridges, the 60lt combo engel died day 3 into the trip, lucky for the 80lt evacool in camper. engel made a great esky / pantry

bought new 40lt in Broome

now packing for extended trip so all ya thoughts are very helpfull, no doubt I'll be taking more than I need, but we're going solo this run so have to be 100% self reliant.

Q1. Can any type of rods used for welding?

Q2. Do you have to use 2 batteries for welding (and I'll asume they are removed from said vehicle)

Some simple suggestions, most may already do this

1. Run fridge up high while driving and turn down when stopped and then down real low at bedtime, don't forget to trun back up in the morning (this saves the fridge working hard all night)

2. In hotter climate areas (Desert / WA north coast / Gulf / Cape etc) we would get a few drinks out and nibbles, put into an esky to save the fridge open and closing all the time. Makes a difference up in those areas. 30 to 40'C is hard work for a fridge. Also in the humid climates it frosts your frodge up quicker opening and closing.

3. Home made pre cooked frozen diners are great for the late night arrivals to camp. Whip out ya favourite dish heat it up and the kids are sorted without the fuss.

Post by: yogi on November 19, 2011, 07:57:46 AM
I just finished getting my weldding kit together last weekend ........ you want to run the batteries at 24V ie in series (if running in / from a vehicle remove all cables from terminals prior to welding) ........ I am just using general purpose 2.6mm weldding rods. Don't forget some good quality G clamps as they can double as a vice if required and a welding mask / strip (there cheap as chips and will save your eyes).

(http://gallery.myswag.org/gallery/d/34366-2/IMG273.jpg)

Post by: jk on November 19, 2011, 08:20:24 AM
Looks the goods mate, now we just have to break something  ;D  , and that shouldn't take us long  ;D
Post by: yogi on November 19, 2011, 08:23:21 AM
Time for another big trip ....... lol ..... I could get some tips off of the bush welding guru ;D

Post by: jclures on November 19, 2011, 09:14:06 AM
Is Symon taking his trailer with you yogi? ;D
Post by: Symon on November 19, 2011, 03:51:17 PM
Looks the goods mate, now we just have to break something  ;D  , and that shouldn't take us long  ;D

We've got the best people on it  ;D

Is Symon taking his trailer with you yogi? ;D

No doubt there will be something I'll need to patch on the trailer wherever it goes.

This and the other thread reminded me I hadn't made my welding kit yet either, so this is what I knocked up this morning.  The PVC pipe holds the welding rods, an idea I shamelessly stole from jk  8)  -
Post by: jk on November 19, 2011, 03:56:16 PM
Bloody nice set up mate, I should drink more often.............that's when I have all my good ideas  :cheers:  ;D
Post by: Symon on November 19, 2011, 04:03:42 PM
Quote from: yogi
(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/34366-2/IMG273.jpg)

That's a nice setup Yogi, I like the Anderson plug idea.  I'm guessing you have another cable that connects on to that to give you more length or something?

Bloody nice set up mate, I should drink more often.............that's when I have all my good ideas  :cheers:  ;D

Cheers mate, I was going to include the mask in the shot but it is still buried deep in the camper....
Post by: yogi on November 19, 2011, 04:40:26 PM
JC .......... every big trip I have done someone has needed a welder ...... it hasn't been me yet !!!! So I figure my time is coming and I had better get prepaired :D

Symon ........ yeah mate my jumper leads are the same size wire as the welding kit and figured it would give me a 5m+ welding range from the front of my truck should I ever need to. Time will tell if it works ;D Oh and that would be something that only the "6B&S Division" would pick up on from a single pic 8) Oh and nice setup ...... now I just need to get a water proof container for my welding rods.

Post by: jk on November 19, 2011, 04:43:54 PM

Oh and that would be something that only the "6BnS division" would pick up on from a single pic 8)

[/quote]

lol  ;D
Post by: jclures on November 19, 2011, 05:31:33 PM
We could have done with a welding set at Kingfisher camp, we had everything else. :cheers:
Post by: yogi on November 19, 2011, 06:12:29 PM
We could have done with a welding set at Kingfisher camp, we had everything else. :cheers:

Exactly how cool would that have been ........ remove, grind, weld, drive away ........ myswag power ...... lol

Post by: Symon on November 19, 2011, 06:43:18 PM
Oh and that would be something that only the "6B&S Division" would pick up on from a single pic 8)

I only noticed it because I am thinking of doing exactly the same thing!
Post by: yogi on November 19, 2011, 08:24:37 PM
I only noticed it because I am thinking of doing exactly the same thing!

Great minds think alike 8)

PS(are you thinking beer ;D)
Post by: jetcrew on November 19, 2011, 08:42:37 PM
I tell you what someone had better break some steel on the next trip  ;D ;D ;D ;D or we will have to grind some poor sods drawbar in half at night. and then wake up to the INVASION OF THE WELDING KITS. A tale of molten steel and fancy clamps ,coming to a campsite near you.

Jetcrew :D :D
Post by: staghornflat on November 19, 2011, 08:46:46 PM
If you had an extention between the anderson plugs would that extra length of cable reduce power to much to get a good weld? I thought I read that by decreasing or increasing the lenght of cable you can change the amps? :cheers:
Post by: Diksta on November 19, 2011, 09:06:12 PM
Symon,

should we do a list of must tools so to speak, and if people have them bring them along for eg there is not much point of having 10 hilift jacks and 10 chainsaws is there, since we are travelling as a troop, if for eg i say i will bring a chainsaw and a 10amp inverter welder, (which i will), and someone else can bring the generator, and a few people bring a hi lift, etc.

that way we have everything covered but not everyone is loaded up bringing along the same thing as everyone else..

besides if i take my little welder it would save destroying someones battery

just food for thought

Diksta
Post by: yogi on November 20, 2011, 04:01:05 PM
If you had an extention between the anderson plugs would that extra length of cable reduce power to much to get a good weld? I thought I read that by decreasing or increasing the lenght of cable you can change the amps? :cheers:

It all depends on the size of the cable, distance and amount of amps / volts your trying to carry. Not sure anyone has ever tried to measure the amount of current draw of a bush welder ..... if they had you could work it out fairly easily.

Post by: Apollo on November 20, 2011, 04:24:10 PM
I have a stainless steel CT, so I guess the bush welder is out of the question for me!
Post by: jk on November 20, 2011, 04:26:28 PM
I'm no welder but wouldn't you just use stainless rods  ??? , or do you need a lot more amps to get it to arc  ???
Post by: yogi on November 20, 2011, 04:59:48 PM
I have a stainless steel CT, so I guess the bush welder is out of the question for me!

I don't think all of your camper is stainless ....... unless your Kerry Packer's long lost son ..... lol ...... Seriously though the bit's that tend to break like draw bar, hitch, spring / shock mounts and axles won't be stainless. Happy to be proven wrong though 8)

Post by: Diksta on November 20, 2011, 05:09:45 PM

i have some nice little 2,5 mm stainless rods
Post by: 9775Andrew on November 20, 2011, 07:05:13 PM
when we travel with others we always cross reference who is bringing what.

we even check who is bringing what cooking gear so you don't have 6 stoves / 6 camp ovens etc
we share fridges ......... one for food and 2 for beer!

saves heaps of room and weight, highly recommend taking Symon's suggestion on board

obviously you have to have communal cooking etc, but its all part of the fun having different groups cooking and the others get a night off
Post by: Alesco on November 20, 2011, 08:12:50 PM
Just as a matter of interest ...
There is a butcher in the Coles Shopping Centre in Mareeba that also cryovacs meat.
Prices are no different from Cairns.
Post by: McGirr on November 20, 2011, 08:23:42 PM
when we travel with others we always cross reference who is bringing what.

we even check who is bringing what cooking gear so you don't have 6 stoves / 6 camp ovens etc
we share fridges ......... one for food and 2 for beer!

saves heaps of room and weight, highly recommend taking Symon's suggestion on board

obviously you have to have communal cooking etc, but its all part of the fun having different groups cooking and the others get a night off

I agree in part but it depends on the numbers in the group. As we travel in groups from 11 to 18 vehicles and members head off in different directions it is hard to arrange what you do. Agree on some items though...as I always ask who has chainsaws, welders,etc

Post by: 9775Andrew on November 20, 2011, 08:39:59 PM
Alesco
good to know as Mareeba is our new base for a while

McGirr

Understandable, we travel in small family or close firend groups of 2 to 4 vehicles, any more than that is a different story, however as Symon suggested you won't need 6 welders

Post by: McGirr on November 20, 2011, 08:56:24 PM
Alesco
good to know as Mareeba is our new base for a while

McGirr

Understandable, we travel in small family or close firend groups of 2 to 4 vehicles, any more than that is a different story, however as Symon suggested you won't need 6 welders

True you would not need that many. As most members split up on the way back from the Cape trip it is hard to decide what not to bring and what to bring.

Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on November 20, 2011, 09:06:38 PM

What would you do differently next time?  I'd actually go ...
Post by: Apollo on November 21, 2011, 06:27:05 AM
I don't think all of your camper is stainless ....... unless your Kerry Packer's long lost son ..... lol ...... Seriously though the bit's that tend to break like draw bar, hitch, spring / shock mounts and axles won't be stainless. Happy to be proven wrong though 8)

Yes Yogi, you are right to a degree, but the box, drawbar and spring mounts are stainless.  I would have hated to think what it would have originally cost. Only the hitch, springs and axle aren't stainless.  Ok, tent and bed base as well.  I may try to do some test welding with a 12 volt system including some stainless, just incase the I ever need it.  Wouldn't have though it would have worked but I will give it a go.

Post by: darrenh on November 21, 2011, 06:47:44 AM
You just use stainless steel rods
I work in the stainless steel game
Post by: Gunna Do on November 21, 2011, 06:59:29 AM
Can you still buy Weld-all welding rods (think that was their name).  I used these years ago to weld some stainless bore casing to mild steel stuff.

Would they be an option?
Post by: Gunna Do on November 21, 2011, 08:41:55 AM
For anyone who's not a guru at welding, there is some great information on the topic in this link.

http://www.austwelding.com.au/Technical%20pages/CIGWELD%20Filler%20Metals%20PocketGuide%202008.pdf (http://www.austwelding.com.au/Technical%20pages/CIGWELD%20Filler%20Metals%20PocketGuide%202008.pdf)
Post by: darrenh on November 22, 2011, 08:38:21 PM
904 series stainless steel rods will weld carbon steel to stainless steel
Post by: Apollo on November 22, 2011, 10:29:10 PM
Thanks for the info guys.
Post by: bert56 on January 11, 2012, 07:53:28 AM
I think your on to a great idea Diksta.

All it means is that when we split up there is at least one of every item in every group and someone who knows how to use them if required.

Last year I carted way to much food (and forgot the pots, pans and gas), but not enough beer or fuel. This year I will be taking half of what I took last year plus a few pre cooked frozen meals for when I don't want to cook. Great burgers can be had at Archer river, Bramwell junction and Musgrave. Seisa has excellent take away food as well.

This year I will be carrying extra fuel and a lot more refreshments as they do get expensive along the way and in Seisa.

I will have a fairly comprehensive tool kit (screwdrivers, pliers,sockets, spanners up to 19mm etc)this year but I don't think I will  have a welding kit, generator or chainsaw. I am leaving my high lift jack at home and are undecided about the max trax.

I'll bring some hd extension leads in the hope that someone will have some spare power.

Bert
Post by: jaycamrie on January 11, 2012, 08:12:45 AM
Last time we went it was me and a mate we went with a couple of families we went self sufficent but it worked out just as cheap and easy to order meals where you could left more room for beer in the fridge ;D