Author Topic: Batten Down the Hatches - Australia wide  (Read 165673 times)

Re: Batten Down the Hatches - Australia wide
« Reply #550 on: December 12, 2020, 12:25:18 PM »
One section of one street that backs onto a creek.   It usually goes under pretty quick.   In all it has been good steady rain, 230mls in 17 hrs.   I checked my drive and it's really not that washed as it could have been.   Even the creek wasn't up that much. 

The BOM from their weather station at the Coffs airport only had 150mls.   Like a lot of places we need about a week of 100-150mls each day, or rather over a 24hr period.   Now if we had even 100mls, 150mls in half an hour like we have previously had, then we are in trouble with some flooding.   
Used to go camping in the olds Kombi at Sawtell back in the late 70s I reckon it might have been... memories were of a real nice relaxing place near an outlet to ocean... maybe my mind is playin games..

« Reply #551 on: December 12, 2020, 12:38:36 PM »
Used to go camping in the olds Kombi at Sawtell back in the late 70s I reckon it might have been... memories were of a real nice relaxing place near an outlet to ocean... maybe my mind is playin games..

Sounds like Sawty

« Reply #552 on: December 12, 2020, 12:56:11 PM »
One section of one street that backs onto a creek.   It usually goes under pretty quick.   In all it has been good steady rain, 230mls in 17 hrs.   I checked my drive and it's really not that washed as it could have been.   Even the creek wasn't up that much. 

The BOM from their weather station at the Coffs airport only had 150mls.   Like a lot of places we need about a week of 100-150mls each day, or rather over a 24hr period.   Now if we had even 100mls, 150mls in half an hour like we have previously had, then we are in trouble with some flooding.   

Sounds like the ground needs to saturate before it starts to flood.

« Reply #553 on: December 12, 2020, 02:13:52 PM »
Sounds like the ground needs to saturate before it starts to flood.

Pretty much, like most areas affected by drought, the ground water needs replacing

« Reply #554 on: December 12, 2020, 02:31:32 PM »
Just tipped out the rain gauge here in Gulmarrad of 130mm since this morning..........and no sign of letting up yet  :cheers:

« Reply #555 on: December 13, 2020, 04:49:37 PM »
of Facebook  Natural Bridge at Springbrook where they had about 475mls

https://www.facebook.com/139175562844906/videos/129744765479413

« Reply #556 on: December 13, 2020, 05:17:26 PM »
Natural Bridge

& what it looks like normally! :o

« Reply #557 on: December 14, 2020, 07:12:46 AM »
I cored the lawn and spread 8 bags of fertiliser late yesterday arvo, so that should stop the rain now >:(

« Reply #558 on: December 14, 2020, 07:38:50 AM »
I cored the lawn and spread 8 bags of fertiliser late yesterday arvo, so that should stop the rain now >:(

Might need to do it again 😂😂😂😂

« Reply #559 on: December 17, 2020, 11:05:22 AM »
& it's raining again!

Decent downpour overnight with 83 mm, which pushed us way past our PB of 1949 mm, to make this the wettest year in the 7 years I've been keeping records :o

& another 43 mm between 9.00 & 11.00 means that we've now broken 2 m of rain for the year!!! :o

« Reply #560 on: December 19, 2020, 05:53:08 AM »
We scored 9.5mm last night, which was enough to top all the tanks.

If we could get one decent 30mm downpour in an hour, we would have some inflows for the dams.

When its steady rain, mother earth just gobbles it up.

« Reply #561 on: December 19, 2020, 02:03:13 PM »

Flood Watch for western inland Northern Territory
Issued on: Saturday 19 December 2020, 10:58:00 am (AEST)

Australian Government Bureau of Meteorology, Northern Territory

Flood Watch For Western Inland Northern Territory
Issued at 10:58 AM CST on Saturday 19 December 2020
Flood Watch Number: 2
WIDESPREAD FLOODING POSSIBLE FOR MANY PARTS OF WESTERN INLAND NORTHERN TERRITORY EARLY NEXT WEEK

A tropical low moving slowly southwest into the Kimberley. The low is expected to cross the north Kimberley coast during Saturday and then track over the inland Kimberley over the remaining weekend before continuing to slowly move south on Monday. Heavy falls will extend into western districts as the tropical low slowly moves south during the weekend and early next week.
Many parts of inland Northern Territory are very dry from a long period of low rainfall.
Widespread falls of 50-100 mm, with isolated heavier falls to 120 mm, are expected in the Tanami, Lasseter and Simpson Districts until Monday evening.
Significant rises in streams and creeks throughout the flood watch area are expected from Sunday and this could make many roads impassable including major highways. Many communities throughout the western inland Northern Territory may becomes isolated.

Catchments likely to be affected include:
Tanami Desert
Central Desert
Western Desert
MacDonnell Ranges
Finke River and Stephenson Creek
Sturt Creek District

https://www.abc.net.au/radio/alicesprings/weather/warnings/

« Reply #562 on: December 19, 2020, 04:44:03 PM »
Does that include "Dot Painting Central".  ;D

« Reply #563 on: December 19, 2020, 06:05:33 PM »
Does that include "Dot Painting Central".  ;D
I forgot about him....lolol

« Reply #564 on: December 20, 2020, 02:20:38 PM »
Got a cracker of a storm atm moving from the south west to north east through the Clarence Valley.
Thete are many lightning strikes.

« Reply #565 on: December 20, 2020, 03:05:07 PM »
Wow :o

Keep you head down, mate!

« Reply #566 on: December 20, 2020, 03:12:35 PM »
Wow :o

Keep you head down, mate!
Cheers mate,
It's passed now,
Just got an alert through my RFS app that there are power lines down near the Summerland H/way & Clarence Way.
Essential Energy is showing a big area out.

« Reply #567 on: December 20, 2020, 05:31:08 PM »
Swaggers near Dalby, Ipswich, Warwick.
SE QLD, Northern cnr of NSW.
Hope it isn't a rough ride.
Take care.

« Reply #568 on: March 18, 2021, 08:04:51 AM »
Hey Jeeps, did you get any of the rain around your area ???

« Reply #569 on: March 18, 2021, 12:23:37 PM »
Hey Jeeps, did you get any of the rain around your area ???

Yes thank you.... about 80mm so far...... the main dam is still a metre down but the place is as green as....

I'm about to go and mow some of it before it goes right off.
More rain this week end too.

« Reply #570 on: March 19, 2021, 07:06:38 AM »
Awesome! :cup:

« Reply #571 on: March 19, 2021, 12:15:05 PM »
according to the news sites, are we getting rain in biblical proportions?

The news.com site reckons Sydney is going to be washed out into the Pacific ocean.

Beautiful day here.... just did 2 hours mowing. sun is shining, nice balmy 28 degrees.

« Reply #572 on: March 19, 2021, 12:39:17 PM »
Yep the weather has turned bad ......................................   Apparentlty .  Only a few patches of light moisture showing in our SE Region, different story down Coffs Harbour way though .
« Last Edit: March 19, 2021, 12:45:00 PM by edz »

« Reply #573 on: March 19, 2021, 10:25:49 PM »
Mate got back from his dads funeral at Laurieton yesterday, think just in time lookin at the washed out roads, evacuations and Shit...

https://www.smh.com.au/national/nsw/public-transport-delays-as-sydney-lashed-by-wild-weather-20210319-p57c4w.html

http://www.bom.gov.au/products/IDR401.loop.shtml#skip

« Reply #574 on: March 20, 2021, 07:35:52 AM »
Hope all the Swaggers down there are OK ???

Stay safe!