Author Topic: Can a member eye ball a 4x4 in Mackay for me  (Read 3997 times)

Can a member eye ball a 4x4 in Mackay for me
« on: February 01, 2021, 08:12:31 PM »
Hi Swaggers,
Asking a favor, my son has his eye on a 91 80 series 1hdt criuser in Mackay, seems like a honest 4x4, got a few K's, as they all have.
I'm asking if anyone could eye ball on our behalf, if it's fair dinkum he's prepared to travel and pay for/ drive back.
Of cause the Beer economy would kick in for your troubles.

Let me know and I will send details/contact.

Offline 2Strokeit

Re: Can a member eye ball a 4x4 in Mackay for me
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2021, 08:18:38 AM »
$4100 lucky dip at an auction. Petrol on gas. Manual. The Gas converter was allowing lpg into the cooling system and misdiagnosis as a cracked head.
98 40th anniversary model. Was spose to be going to the red center tomorrow but I've given her mine until I can tidy up a few things and trust it then change over around June.  The '$10k it's a diesel' tax isn't worth the extra 2 litres per 100klm fuel economy  imho.
Could possibly be heading past Mackay in a couple of weeks if you don't get anybody to help eyeball it before.

« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2021, 04:00:20 PM »
Hey Guys,
Thanks heaps for the messeges, And for going to the effort to check it out for us.
It's greatly appreciated.

« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2021, 05:10:51 PM »
It's not the vehicle for him, a bit of coin would be needed to be spent to get it to where it would be a vehicle he could make something of it.
That may seem a strange thing to say, however, the price of 80's have become unrealistic of late, some call it the Covid Tax, where as before it was just the Toyota Tax.
Bird, you even mentioned the price of second hand vehicles, it is nutz what some are asking.
Thanks again Paceman, I value your time checking this out for us, we contacted the seller after your inspection, they were a little hestitant to answer some questions.
As requested a donation was deposited to the server.
Thanks mate.

The following users thanked this post: plusnq

« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2021, 05:52:10 PM »
Quote from: Hairs
Bird, you even mentioned the price of second hand vehicles, it is nutz what some are asking.
lately prices look like phone numbers.... for Shitheaps.

Thanks again Paceman, I value your time checking this out for us, we contacted the seller after your inspection, they were a little hestitant to answer some questions
Nice work.. hes not a bad fossil ;)

« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2021, 06:52:44 PM »
Thanks again Paceman, I value your time checking this out for us, we contacted the seller after your inspection, they were a little hestitant to answer some questions.
As requested a donation was deposited to the server.
Thanks mate.

no worries.  happy to help.

« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2021, 07:38:32 PM »
lately prices look like phone numbers.... for Shitheaps.

On Brisbane Marketplace I come across 2 different 80 series cruisers for sale with around 200 000 kms and the first was asking for $37K and the 2nd $40K. No doubt they are a fantastic 4WD,s but WTF as I would never pay that for a car that old.

« Reply #9 on: February 15, 2021, 07:40:27 PM »
On Brisbane Marketplace I come across 2 different 80 series cruisers for sale with around 200 000 kms and the first was asking for $37K and the 2nd $40K. No doubt they are a fantastic 4WD,s but WTF as I would never pay that for a car that old.

Tryin to find cheap run aabout for daughter who got her learners recently... Commodore or Lancer or similar 3000 specials are now requiring mortgages.

« Reply #10 on: February 15, 2021, 07:59:24 PM »
Mate,
I help admin one of the biggest 80 Criuser fb groups.
I've seen Granny spec 91 model 80's go for 40k plus
I wouldn't sell mine(1hdt GXL) for less then 30K(owes me 54K, owned her since 05) just under 500 000km, have original log books, receipts for every cent I have spent, serviced.
No rust, a Shit load of add ons.
To replace it, I'm looking at over 80K+.
I can't afford to sell it.

« Reply #11 on: February 15, 2021, 08:03:18 PM »
Mate,
I help admin one of the biggest 80 Criuser fb groups.
I've seen Granny spec 91 model 80's go for 40k plus
I wouldn't sell mine(1hdt GXL) for less then 30K(owes me 54K, owned her since 05) just under 500 000km, have original log books, receipts for every cent I have spent, serviced.
No rust, a Shit load of add ons.
To replace it, I'm looking at over 80K+.
I can't afford to sell it.
or is it perfect time to take advantage of idiot prices, and wait till it drops in 6-12mths time... and smile at the profit.

« Reply #12 on: February 16, 2021, 06:58:31 AM »
or is it perfect time to take advantage of idiot prices, and wait till it drops in 6-12mths time... and smile at the profit.

The news has been full of it for weeks now - "Sell your car for 1000s for than you'd expect to get"!

Yeah OK, but what do you then do for wheels ???

Go on a 2 onth waiting list for a new one, which has just gone up in cost by $10k ???

« Reply #13 on: February 16, 2021, 08:44:22 AM »
Quote from: Fizzie
The news has been full of it for weeks now - "Sell your car for 1000s for than you'd expect to get"!

Yeah OK, but what do you then do for wheels ???

Go on a 2 onth waiting list for a new one, which has just gone up in cost by $10k ???
He already has other wheels.

« Reply #14 on: March 20, 2021, 03:11:25 PM »
Hey Guys,
Thanks heaps for your time, effort & personal messeges.

Jack got hold of a 91 LN106 2.8lt diesel dual cab, style side 4x4.
362000km, yeah sure it is 30 years old, it in pretty good nik. Has a fibreglass canopy, ARB bullbar. New tyres A/T, Rims ate bit Shity, new radiator, ally side steps.
This morning he changed the rocker cover gasket(slight leak at the back) & changed out the wiper motor(a bit slow).
While is was fluffin about he removed the windscreen cowling, blow all the leaves out, cleaned it up, No Rust.
It's insured, got road side assist.
 He's pretty happy.

Thanks again guys.

« Reply #15 on: March 20, 2021, 05:42:44 PM »
Awesome little trucks, slow as but also fast enough to get in trouble.  Good find

« Reply #16 on: March 20, 2021, 05:50:47 PM »
Awesome little trucks, slow as but also fast enough to get in trouble.  Good find
and billions of bits for em everywhere new or used

« Reply #17 on: March 20, 2021, 06:21:56 PM »
and billions of bits for em everywhere new or used

yep have two in the paddock at some stage to make one