Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 506483 times)

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #1675 on: May 16, 2019, 04:52:29 PM »
Well, the Wolseley is off again tomorrow to enter into the 2019 Variety Bash from Newcastle on Sunday.

Doin' it for the kids  :cup:

Hope you have a ball.............and good on you for helping a charity organisation  :cup: That's what makes the difference between "living somewhere" and "being part of a community".
« Last Edit: May 16, 2019, 04:54:38 PM by Spada »
The following users thanked this post: MarkGU

« Reply #1676 on: May 16, 2019, 06:04:11 PM »
Nice Z car.... i'd have that in the garage.
Me too Kev. Had a 58 and a 62 Zephyr back in my younger days and often wish i'd kept one aside for future years. Is'nt hindsight a great thing.

Sent from my SM-J600G using Tapatalk

« Reply #1677 on: May 16, 2019, 08:10:30 PM »
Quote from: MarkGU
Well, the Wolseley is off again tomorrow to enter into the 2019 Variety Bash from Newcastle on Sunday.

Doin' it for the kids  :cup:
Awesome work Mark...

https://www.variety.org.au/bash/events/variety-nsw-bash/

« Reply #1678 on: May 16, 2019, 08:12:30 PM »
Thought this looked familiar.

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/223515866580/

« Reply #1679 on: May 16, 2019, 09:36:48 PM »
So you want to restore a car .. Check this rebuild out     https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QqlJLl7D9wA                               and the video eps of the rebuild
« Last Edit: May 16, 2019, 10:37:01 PM by edz »

« Reply #1680 on: May 16, 2019, 10:30:17 PM »
I had a Cortina with a crossflow 250 / 4 on the floor.
Great car, went like the clappers.

« Reply #1681 on: May 17, 2019, 03:58:44 AM »
Me too Kev. Had a 58 and a 62 Zephyr back in my younger days and often wish i'd kept one aside for future years. Is'nt hindsight a great thing.

Sent from my SM-J600G using Tapatalk

Those old Z cars, were a great old thing. They outdrove the falcons and Holden's of the time.
I have an old farmer down the road that has 5 of them.
1. The car his parents bought brand new in Gatton......... In ripper condition, rego'd and on the road.
2. The car he decided to buy on impulse on the same day, In ripper condition, rego'd and on the road.
3. The pink one from out west, a very good car, last rego was 2014 and sitting under the house. (I'm trying to buy this one off him)
4. The white one, a parts car parked next to the car #3
5. The green one, a parts car parked up semi undercover and restorable.

He's a tough old guy, I raided a small part off his white one yesterday to fix his door catch mechanism on car #1.

I reckon, i will end up with car #3 one day, but he doesn't sell stuff easily.
He also has a terrific 1956 ? international flat bed truck.... ripper condition, but no rego these days.

And then there is the farming gear and tractors.....

« Reply #1682 on: May 17, 2019, 03:52:01 PM »
Is'nt hindsight a great thing.

Had a HK Monaro in my younger days.....did a midnight flip and left the car behind because I couldn't afford to re-rego it   :'(

Yes....hindsight   :-X

« Reply #1683 on: May 18, 2019, 10:48:43 AM »
Nice!

« Reply #1684 on: May 18, 2019, 08:23:22 PM »
Nice!

Bit like a Dodge Charger, just can't ignore it when you see one...... :cup:

« Reply #1685 on: May 19, 2019, 08:25:18 AM »
Just a heads up about this at Dayboro today. Sorry about the short notice.
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10156573549168471&set=pcb.10156573549403471&type=3&ifg=1&__tn__=HH-R&eid=ARCavoeaCVK-lBA4kgfaQwn3jbY2LAQhGSXAEStdueoiCO4j4YKfvr-gYPEap3UGqdSC99nrE2q5umPU

« Reply #1686 on: May 20, 2019, 06:15:17 AM »
Mate came round yesterday in his new pride & joy. Got to say, it was pretty cool just cruisin around for a bit  ;D

« Reply #1687 on: May 20, 2019, 07:02:55 AM »
Nice XR. Old Shit is just fun to drive and play with huh.

I take the Caddy to the shops today to our weekly shop..... Just because I can.  :cup:

(I do park it way the f*** over the back away from the Nimrods though)

« Reply #1688 on: May 20, 2019, 07:10:42 AM »
JC you would need to find the carparks you can drive through for caravans.  ;D

« Reply #1689 on: May 20, 2019, 07:35:23 AM »
WE do suffer some size issues in the odd car park or two.

« Reply #1690 on: May 20, 2019, 07:53:06 AM »
This is on the Dayboro Facebook Community Buy, Swap, Sell. If you're not on Facebook and interested, PM me and I'll supply the contact number.
$34,000
« Last Edit: May 20, 2019, 07:59:27 AM by Steffo1 »

« Reply #1691 on: May 20, 2019, 10:23:24 AM »
Not for me.... I hate convertibles.

« Reply #1692 on: May 20, 2019, 10:56:46 AM »
Quote from: Spada
Mate came round yesterday in his new pride & joy. Got to say, it was pretty cool just cruisin around for a bit  ;D

love those old falcons.. but whats with teh colour, left over bathroom paint from 1962?

« Reply #1693 on: May 20, 2019, 12:21:45 PM »
love those old falcons.. but whats with teh colour, left over bathroom paint from 1962?

Ford "springtime yellow" apparently. Originally a Mustang colour?

« Reply #1694 on: May 20, 2019, 01:46:52 PM »
Ford "springtime yellow" apparently. Originally a Mustang colour?
i guess...

« Reply #1695 on: May 21, 2019, 09:46:22 AM »
show on tele at moment Desert Collectors from Perth area

this dude has 26 FX/FJ holdens on this site and "more at another site"...  lots of rare ones too, and first known FJ ute... some money there!

« Reply #1696 on: May 23, 2019, 04:18:41 AM »
I'm off this morning..... a bit west... to suss out a relic from 1961.  :cup: (its an oddball thing too)

I'm hoping its as good as it sounds (rarely) and worth the trip.
(f it works out, it will come home on a car trailer on Sunday)
If it turns out to be crap.... at least I got a nice drive in the county at a $1.80 a litre.

« Reply #1697 on: May 23, 2019, 02:54:47 PM »
Got it.....  :cup:

A 1961 Austin Lancer..... A WHAT?  wait for it, yep, an Austin Lancer, but not just any Lancer.

(By the way, if ya don't know what one looks like, picture a Morris Major Elite, pretty much the same thing)

This has a mod plate fitted and is all approved for an engine with 8 spark plugs..... Now, that's got your attention.

It's fitted out with a 2 litre, OHC, twin plug Pintara engine, 5 speed gearbox, Cortina rear end and a host of other mods.
This thing is quicker than Teflon coated turd off a chrome plated shovel.

« Reply #1698 on: May 23, 2019, 04:23:56 PM »
Noddy's  car   ..      EDIT : Well ok then they updated the grill and  for the record  I prefer the Noddy car look ;D ;D
« Last Edit: May 23, 2019, 05:44:38 PM by edz »

« Reply #1699 on: May 23, 2019, 05:05:17 PM »
That's a 58 ya goober.... mine is a 61.

In the trim its in with the engine etc, I would expect it to run a high 14 over the quarter.

Its a well sorted car, Fiat disc brakes, sway bars front and rear.... the owner has had it since 1968 and used the car on the Mount Cotton Hill Climb Circuit.
« Last Edit: May 23, 2019, 05:16:43 PM by Jeepers Creepers »