General => General Discussion => Topic started by: D4D on September 10, 2013, 05:18:28 PM

Title: Remote Control Cars
Post by: D4D on September 10, 2013, 05:18:28 PM
Dropped into Tradesman roof racks this arvo and on the way out spied a hobby shop. Couldn't help myself so I decided to have a look as I've always wanted a remote control car. The sales guy convinced me I needed a Traxxas Stampede for my son :) Anybody know anything about these? I'm looking for something that will take the rough stuff at home or camping, reasonably fast but not stupid fast, capable enough to go over bush tracks etc.

http://www.rcgarage.com/cars/trucks/stampede-2wd-monster-truck-rtr-12-turn-550-modified-motor-xl-5-esc-battery-charger-3605.html (http://www.rcgarage.com/cars/trucks/stampede-2wd-monster-truck-rtr-12-turn-550-modified-motor-xl-5-esc-battery-charger-3605.html)

(http://www.rcgarage.com/media/catalog/product/cache/1/image/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/s/t/stampy2.jpg)
Title: Re: Remote Control Cars
Post by: Mrs smith on September 10, 2013, 05:24:36 PM
http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=Traxxas+Stampede (http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=Traxxas+Stampede)
Post by: D4D on September 10, 2013, 05:29:05 PM
Alright now I really want one ;D

Traxxas Stampede 4X4 VXL Bashing, Flipping, Water, Domination (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PKnBmkixL44#ws)
Post by: Variflex on September 10, 2013, 05:38:34 PM
Careful, you can't stop at one ????
Post by: nick_4x4 on September 10, 2013, 05:53:08 PM
Ive got heaps of rc trucks and cars, so much fun when out camping (fun for me not kids :P )

Stampede has been around for ages i think 15 years now and its one of the best that traxxas make, there is cheap copies around that are good for startup but if you want it to last buy the brand over noname ones.

Ive got a 12 year old Nitro Rustler that i can still get parts for, my son drives it around when ive got my dune buggy out.

Post by: hammy on September 10, 2013, 06:05:15 PM
I've recently bought my 11yo son a Traxxis Slash 2WD and it's been fantastic in every way possible. I got a standard one with a brushed motor and standard batteries which is plenty fast enough. He can upgrade to LiPo batteries and a brushless motor when he's older.

I posted some questions on DBW and got some good help: http://www.dirtbikeworld.net/forum/showthread.php?t=103673 (http://www.dirtbikeworld.net/forum/showthread.php?t=103673)

TRAXXAS Slash 2WD
http://rchobbies.com.au/store/produc...ducts_id=37800 (http://rchobbies.com.au/store/produc...ducts_id=37800)

(http://rchobbies.com.au/store/images/TRA5805.JPG)
Post by: V8CRSA on September 10, 2013, 06:10:13 PM
I have a stampede with a brushless motor, it is stupid fast and not a lot of places you can use all the speed it has.
A standard stampede would be a pretty good starter, all parts are available and very well priced.

Cheers matt
Post by: D4D on September 10, 2013, 06:24:38 PM
Thanks guys, looks like I have been given the right advice.

Looks like this roof rack is going to cost me another $300 :)
Post by: Tim - Stratford on September 10, 2013, 06:26:00 PM
The young bloke has a Traxxis but I'm not sure which one. We got it through Tower Hobbies in the States - it worked out a fair bit cheaper than here after we joined their club.

It's been camping with us and charges ok through the inverter on the kamper. A bit of fun and exempt from the hoon laws  ;D
Post by: markpeh on September 10, 2013, 06:40:57 PM
Traxxas are the go. I have a 4x4 slash and it is awesome. Brushless motors are very good . This thing is faster than the nitros stuff was a few years ago. Even came with bfg km2's!

Trouble is now I want the one with low range and diff locks...
Post by: GGV8Cruza on September 10, 2013, 07:16:23 PM
I have a traxxas nitro and it goes like the clappas. Just need a lot of space for it and it makes a bit of noise. Also have a couple of old Tamiya buggies, some are being done up, others are just in pieces.

Post by: D4D on September 10, 2013, 07:17:49 PM
Now I can't decide between the Stampede or Slash...
Post by: ac cob on September 10, 2013, 07:40:41 PM
There's your decision right there...can't decide....get both! It really is no fun by yourself & so much more fun when you can chase each other around.  :police:
Post by: briann532 on September 10, 2013, 07:57:11 PM
For BeerGods sake fella's...........  >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(

Why the hell do you guys keep doing this????

Now I feel the need to go out and get one. ;D ;D ;D ;D
As if I didn't have enough toys............

Myswag is starting to be to me, what a shoe shop is to a woman.

Now if the great wealth of knowledge out there can tell me how I explain to the wife, why I NEED one and can't breathe without getting it????

Cheers all
Post by: dooguss on September 10, 2013, 09:12:52 PM
Thanks guys, looks like I have been given the right advice.

Looks like this roof rack is going to cost me another $300 :

Is that all they cost D4D???
Post by: oldmate on September 10, 2013, 09:13:52 PM
Also have a couple of old Tamiya buggies, some are being done up, others are just in pieces.

ANYTIME BABY    :cup:

Post by: brickiematt on September 10, 2013, 10:28:41 PM
Geez, this is bringing back fond memories of my old Tamiya Big Bear Datsun.
These were all the rage when I was a kid, had hours of fun with it.
Dammit D4D, now i want one of these traxxas beasts ;D ;D

Post by: Swogjb on September 10, 2013, 10:46:15 PM
I can't believe I have been researching RC monster trucks for the last 2 hours. ???

I always wanted a Tamiya Optima when I was a young fella, but the olds would not be in it.

Well I might have to buy my 2 1/2 year old son a new Traxxas Stampede VXL 4x4.
I am sure he mentioned wanting one the other day. >:D >:D >:D

Post by: kylarama on September 10, 2013, 10:56:03 PM
I can't believe I have been researching RC monster trucks for the last 2 hours. ???

Same here!

I always wanted a Tamiya Optima when I was a young fella, but the olds would not be in it.

I wanted the Hornet and my folks got me a....

Jet Hopper! 
Still got it today (somewhere).

Saw a ready to run Hornet in the shops the other week for $230.  Problem is I've got 3 girls, ones 16 and the other 2 are into ballet.  Makes it hard to get this type of purchase past the finance queen.
Post by: cruisindub on September 11, 2013, 12:39:37 AM
Buggger !!!

Now I want one as well...... 8) 8)

Post by: gec on September 11, 2013, 01:35:48 AM
My son and I both run the Axial Wraith Rock Crawler buggies and we love em, so much fun to cruise around and crawl over stuff, and we fitted them with brushless motors so we can go fast as well, good bonding time.

(http://i327.photobucket.com/albums/k452/BeniMan_08/005-12_zps61214152.jpg) (http://s327.photobucket.com/user/BeniMan_08/media/005-12_zps61214152.jpg.html)

(http://i327.photobucket.com/albums/k452/BeniMan_08/036-1_zps6935b6b3.jpg) (http://s327.photobucket.com/user/BeniMan_08/media/036-1_zps6935b6b3.jpg.html)
Post by: neilsk on September 11, 2013, 08:12:42 AM
I have a brushless Traxas Slash. its an awesome short course truck. very quick. ive done all sorts of stupid things with it. the other day me and my mate were jumping campfires with them. his got stuck in the fire he was lucky i was close and quickly grabbed it out. no damage. awesome trucks.

Post by: Red Dog 4x4 on September 11, 2013, 08:54:17 AM
Ok having raced the petrol 10th scale out of the box class since I was 12 years old and that went till I was about 18 then progressed into the rock crawlers and slowly turned into this....

(http://i699.photobucket.com/albums/vv359/Red_Dog_4x4/IMG_0601.jpg) (http://s699.photobucket.com/user/Red_Dog_4x4/media/IMG_0601.jpg.html)

(http://i699.photobucket.com/albums/vv359/Red_Dog_4x4/IMG_0603.jpg) (http://s699.photobucket.com/user/Red_Dog_4x4/media/IMG_0603.jpg.html)

(http://i699.photobucket.com/albums/vv359/Red_Dog_4x4/IMG_0051_zps7cdf7efc.jpg) (http://s699.photobucket.com/user/Red_Dog_4x4/media/IMG_0051_zps7cdf7efc.jpg.html)

(http://i699.photobucket.com/albums/vv359/Red_Dog_4x4/IMG_0155_zpse37762f4.jpg) (http://s699.photobucket.com/user/Red_Dog_4x4/media/IMG_0155_zpse37762f4.jpg.html)

(http://i699.photobucket.com/albums/vv359/Red_Dog_4x4/My%20AX10/IMG_0377-1.jpg) (http://s699.photobucket.com/user/Red_Dog_4x4/media/My%20AX10/IMG_0377-1.jpg.html)

(http://i699.photobucket.com/albums/vv359/Red_Dog_4x4/My%20AX10/IMG_0385.jpg) (http://s699.photobucket.com/user/Red_Dog_4x4/media/My%20AX10/IMG_0385.jpg.html)

(http://i699.photobucket.com/albums/vv359/Red_Dog_4x4/The%20New%20Trucks/IMGP5708.jpg) (http://s699.photobucket.com/user/Red_Dog_4x4/media/The%20New%20Trucks/IMGP5708.jpg.html)

(http://i699.photobucket.com/albums/vv359/Red_Dog_4x4/The%20New%20Trucks/IMGP5706.jpg) (http://s699.photobucket.com/user/Red_Dog_4x4/media/The%20New%20Trucks/IMGP5706.jpg.html)

(http://i699.photobucket.com/albums/vv359/Red_Dog_4x4/The%20New%20Trucks/IMGP5711.jpg) (http://s699.photobucket.com/user/Red_Dog_4x4/media/The%20New%20Trucks/IMGP5711.jpg.html)

(http://i699.photobucket.com/albums/vv359/Red_Dog_4x4/The%20New%20Trucks/IMG_0487.jpg) (http://s699.photobucket.com/user/Red_Dog_4x4/media/The%20New%20Trucks/IMG_0487.jpg.html)

(http://i699.photobucket.com/albums/vv359/Red_Dog_4x4/The%20New%20Trucks/IMG_0488.jpg) (http://s699.photobucket.com/user/Red_Dog_4x4/media/The%20New%20Trucks/IMG_0488.jpg.html)

(http://i699.photobucket.com/albums/vv359/Red_Dog_4x4/DSC_0407.jpg) (http://s699.photobucket.com/user/Red_Dog_4x4/media/DSC_0407.jpg.html)
Before the crash- this one has a 13.5 turn brushless system with a Summit Hi/Low transmission in it so top speed for a crawler around the 50km/h mark 
(http://i699.photobucket.com/albums/vv359/Red_Dog_4x4/DSC_0418.jpg) (http://s699.photobucket.com/user/Red_Dog_4x4/media/DSC_0418.jpg.html)
then this happened =
(http://i699.photobucket.com/albums/vv359/Red_Dog_4x4/IMG_0706.jpg) (http://s699.photobucket.com/user/Red_Dog_4x4/media/IMG_0706.jpg.html)

(http://i699.photobucket.com/albums/vv359/Red_Dog_4x4/IMG_0708.jpg) (http://s699.photobucket.com/user/Red_Dog_4x4/media/IMG_0708.jpg.html)

(http://i699.photobucket.com/albums/vv359/Red_Dog_4x4/IMG_0710.jpg) (http://s699.photobucket.com/user/Red_Dog_4x4/media/IMG_0710.jpg.html)

And how it sits now, with $3000 in it -
(http://i699.photobucket.com/albums/vv359/Red_Dog_4x4/IMG_1185_zpse817f4d1.jpg) (http://s699.photobucket.com/user/Red_Dog_4x4/media/IMG_1185_zpse817f4d1.jpg.html)

And this is something I'm building at the moment with a slash 4x4 front end which is a little narrower than standard and a wraith rear end clocked this one at 60km/h
(http://i699.photobucket.com/albums/vv359/Red_Dog_4x4/IMG_1174_zps11eccee8.jpg) (http://s699.photobucket.com/user/Red_Dog_4x4/media/IMG_1174_zps11eccee8.jpg.html)
Post by: D4D on September 11, 2013, 09:01:51 AM
OK I see you can't stop at just one :cup:
Post by: nick_4x4 on September 11, 2013, 10:56:06 AM
OK I see you can't stop at just one :cup:
No once the bug bites you its over.

Ive had around 20+ 1/10th scale and now im into the 1/8th scale, but it does not stop there, ive got quad copters small 3d helicopters and also getting into boats with the kids.

Its a wallet killer hobby but you can have a lot of fun with the right choices.
Post by: DeLuxHiLux on September 11, 2013, 10:23:25 PM
Recently picked up a 1/10 nitro tamiya Subbie WRX, butler as a teenager had 8 7.2 and 8.4v cars. I used to work for:-)
 the Tamiya distributorover the school holidays doing warranty assessments. always wanted a "Supershot", had a Porsche 959, 2 hornets ( Anytime Baby!!!!!!!!, 1 massivly modded with big shocks all round and go-fast motor) a Grasshopper, a wild one, anAudi Quattro, a Falcon and a few others in various states of operation. I used to be buying tyres every other week!!!! Bottomless pit........bit like a 4x4!!!!!!!

Kids want me to resurrect my Hornet and Falcon, those big trucks look interesting too.........more $$$$$$ to spend
Post by: Jaysea on September 11, 2013, 10:43:38 PM
For BeerGods sake fella's...........  >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(

Why the hell do you guys keep doing this????

Now I feel the need to go out and get one. ;D ;D ;D ;D
As if I didn't have enough toys............

Myswag is starting to be to me, what a shoe shop is to a woman.

Now if the great wealth of knowledge out there can tell me how I explain to the wife, why I NEED one and can't breathe without getting it????

Cheers all

X2 >:D  >:D argh!
Post by: Red Dog 4x4 on September 12, 2013, 07:38:53 AM
I really think you guys would like the traxxas Summit, it has a four channel radio hi/low trans, and remote locking diffs....
Post by: grc on September 12, 2013, 09:20:29 AM
Ive have a traxxas rustler had it for about 10 years
or so can still get spare parts
also a couple of newer ones
Yes cant stop at just one     :cheers:

GRC
Post by: sierrajim on September 12, 2013, 09:53:15 PM
Check out www.thecrawlpit.com for some neat Australian scalers
Post by: chester ver2.0 on September 13, 2013, 10:37:13 AM
Screw you Jamie now you have me thinking about the Hornet i had as a kid and then i find a hobby shop has opened down the road

Christ i may as well buy a remote control plane and a slot car while i am going
Post by: Swogjb on September 13, 2013, 11:57:57 AM
 >:D >:D >:D >:D

I ordered a Traxxas Stampede VXL 4wd last night.

SWMBO couldn't believe it ??? ???

Had to convince her that the young fella will get hours of enjoyment out of it. >:D >:D >:D
It had nothing to do with dad wanting one your honour..... I promise  ;D ;D

Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on September 13, 2013, 12:15:52 PM
The 1/4 scale speedway QLD Titles are on at Elimbah this Saturday, (just north of Brisbane). Starts at 12pm and is free for spectators.
2 stroke RC Sprintcars, Dirt Modified and Compacts.

Shane.
Post by: Smithyworld on September 13, 2013, 02:19:31 PM

I've recently bought my 11yo son a Traxxis Slash 2WD and it's been fantastic in every way possible. I got a standard one with a brushed motor and standard batteries which is plenty fast enough. He can upgrade to LiPo batteries and a brushless motor when he's older.

I posted some questions on DBW and got some good help: http://www.dirtbikeworld.net/forum/showthread.php?t=103673 (http://www.dirtbikeworld.net/forum/showthread.php?t=103673)

TRAXXAS Slash 2WD
http://rchobbies.com.au/store/produc...ducts_id=37800 (http://rchobbies.com.au/store/produc...ducts_id=37800)

(http://rchobbies.com.au/store/images/TRA5805.JPG)

I second this! Bought my 5 year old one to take camping and he loves it. Heaps fast enough and so far indestructible. Meant to be water proof as well. 
Post by: di008 on September 13, 2013, 04:54:41 PM
The 1/4 scale speedway QLD Titles are on at Elimbah this Saturday, (just north of Brisbane). Starts at 12pm and is free for spectators.
2 stroke RC Sprintcars, Dirt Modified and Compacts.

Shane.
Where in elimbah mate?
Thanks Dan
Post by: D4D on September 13, 2013, 09:30:46 PM
I ordered a Traxxas Stampede VXL 4wd last night.

Where from, what did you pay for it?
Post by: Swogjb on September 13, 2013, 09:42:31 PM
Where from, what did you pay for it?

Got it from RCHobbies.com.au

I ended up going for the 4wd with lipo battery & charger.

http://rchobbies.com.au/store/product_info.php?products_id=71008 (http://rchobbies.com.au/store/product_info.php?products_id=71008)
Post by: JCAT on September 13, 2013, 10:43:15 PM
My son got a HSP Brontasauras for Christmas, with the brushless motor and Lipo battery. Looks very similar to the Traxxas Monster Truck.

The first two weeks were great, then the nuts started chewing through rims or the wheels would just fall off. He got scared to use it because I was getting the sh.ts every time it fell apart. Sent it back to the manufacturers and they replaced a bearing, blaming us we had been using it in the wet, wouldn't replace the chewed out rim.

Now he has gone and stuck the battery charging cable into the receiver socket and blown that up. DOH!

So it is now just sitting there waiting to be fixed again, can't be stuffed with it which is a PITA as it was great fun when it worked, stupidly quick.
Post by: D4D on September 14, 2013, 03:39:12 PM
Bought the Stampede today, batteries are on charge, should be able to test drive this arvo!
Post by: Big Tread on September 14, 2013, 03:54:00 PM
Bought the Stampede today, batteries are on charge, should be able to test drive this arvo!

Concrete Skate parks are great for wizzing  around on, heaps of jumps and things.  Doesn't matter where you got though you'll always run into the only tree/post/rock etc ;D
Post by: GGV8Cruza on September 14, 2013, 05:02:46 PM
So how does it go

Post by: D4D on September 14, 2013, 05:39:36 PM
Even in trainer mode it is stupid fast but it is a lot of fun. I am glad I got the Stampede and not the Slash for the terrain across the road. Reverse seems to be a bit hit & miss so I probably should read the instructions tonight :)
Post by: GGV8Cruza on September 14, 2013, 07:44:07 PM
Might have to get mine out tomorrow.  Although I think I am out of fuel at the moment,  bugger

Sent from my GT-I9305T using Tapatalk 4

Post by: D4D on September 14, 2013, 08:56:54 PM
Aha pays to read the manual :)

Using Reverse: While driving, push the throttle trigger forward to apply brakes. Once stopped, return the throttle trigger to neutral. Push the throttle trigger forward again to engage proportional reverse.
Post by: Swannie on September 14, 2013, 09:00:10 PM
Dam you blokes. I got get one

Post by: D4D on September 14, 2013, 09:08:53 PM
Don't jump in just yet, I may upgrade to a 4wd model and you can have a slightly used 2wd model cheap :)
Post by: Snow on September 14, 2013, 09:18:30 PM
This is what I use to terrorise the local cat population.  ;D ;D
Post by: D4D on September 15, 2013, 06:55:49 AM
OK I need to ask a question of the more informed RC users.

The Traxxas site has the Stampede as 2.4GHz the one I purchased came as 27MHz, did I get stooged and buy an old model? I prefer the 2.4GHz as it doesn't have an alloy antenna my son can break easily. Is it an easy upgrade?
Post by: whitedg on September 15, 2013, 07:56:15 AM
27MHz was what I was using when I was into RC Aircraft and cars 25 years ago - I still have my old system in the garage somewhere.

2.4GHz is the latest in RC technology. It allows a better signal to the receiver and as the pick a "channel" when they bind, you can use multiple systems together (say at a meet with friends) without them interfering with each other. 27MHz need to be separated by the use of a peg board and a transmitter pound, so that someone doesn't turn on their transmitter and affect your model.

As far as I know, to upgrade you would need to purchase a new receiver and transmitter. Check out the range at Hobby King for some cheap prices on good gear. Something like this http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__31671__HobbyKing_HK_GT2B_3CH_2_4GHz_Transmitter_and_Receiver_w_Rechargable_Li_ion_Battery.html (http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__31671__HobbyKing_HK_GT2B_3CH_2_4GHz_Transmitter_and_Receiver_w_Rechargable_Li_ion_Battery.html) might work.

whitedg
Post by: D4D on September 15, 2013, 10:38:32 AM
Thanks, I spoke with RC Garage who inform me the 2.4GHz Stampedes are not in AU yet, although other AU websites have them. Anyway as you have mentioned I can fit a Spektrum DX2, they're willing to do a deal on it which is the least they could do. The other option is keep a spare antenna handy which is $10, but a PITA to fit. The Slash comes with 2.4GHz, maybe I should have got that model.
http://www.rcgarage.com/accessories/radios/surface-radios/spektrum-dx2e-surface-radio-w-sr200-receiver.html (http://www.rcgarage.com/accessories/radios/surface-radios/spektrum-dx2e-surface-radio-w-sr200-receiver.html)
Post by: Swogjb on September 15, 2013, 11:16:24 AM
Thanks, I spoke with RC Garage who inform me the 2.4GHz Stampedes are not in AU yet, although other AU websites have them.

I'm sure that the local hobby store had the 2.4GHZ VXL 4x4 brushless motor with lipo battery and charger in stock.
It was $190 more than what I paid delivered to my door.

Will the 27mhz make that make that much difference  for bashing around the local park?
Post by: D4D on September 15, 2013, 11:30:36 AM
That's my point, I paid the extra to go to a bricks and motar store expecting to get good advice, back online for me.

27MHz won't make any difference but the antenna will get snapped regularly as it is the old fashioned alloy multi piece antenna.
Post by: neilsk on September 17, 2013, 11:32:04 AM
I like to buy from a local shop, but all they have been doing is buying online then marking it up. to make things worse the attitude i get in rocky is terrible, as a newbie i wasnt helped very much. back to internet and saving money for me.
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on September 17, 2013, 11:53:06 AM
Where in elimbah mate?
Thanks Dan

Sorry Dan, just saw this  ;D

It's just off Torbul Rd. At the entrance to the Farm Fantastic. Check their website or fb page for the next meeting. Usually about every 3 weeks.

Shane.
Post by: kiwipride on September 17, 2013, 08:00:38 PM
I'm sure that the local hobby store had the 2.4GHZ VXL 4x4 brushless motor with lipo battery and charger in stock.
It was $190 more than what I paid delivered to my door.

Will the 27mhz make that make that much difference  for bashing around the local park?
Where did you get yours from?

Post by: Swogjb on September 17, 2013, 09:06:22 PM
Where did you get yours from?

http://rchobbies.com.au/store/product_info.php?products_id=71008 (http://rchobbies.com.au/store/product_info.php?products_id=71008)
They do free delivery as well.

I am away a work at the moment, its maiden crash run should be next tuesday arvo.
I  also ordered a couple more lipo2 batteries for it from the states.
Let the carnage begin!! >:D >:D
Post by: froggy on September 18, 2013, 08:23:59 AM
Here's my stable, losi 8ight-T, Losi SCTE, Losi 10T and axial EXO hoping to add a losi 5ive
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/09/18/8araba9y.jpg)
Post by: berlitza on September 18, 2013, 12:51:20 PM

I am away a work at the moment, its maiden crash run should be next tuesday arvo.

Ive been looking at the Kalahari since this thread started, free postage and $219 ,  ohhh boy am i going to get into trouble when it arrives here..
Post by: froggy on September 18, 2013, 02:27:48 PM

Check hobbyking.com great place for lipos
Post by: nick_4x4 on September 18, 2013, 02:35:01 PM
Check hobbyking.com great place for lipos

Yea by far the cheapest and best place to get bashing lipo's from.

Ive got a few cars from them, picked up the Desert racing buggy a while back, has to be by far the best bash buggy ive had, few upgrades cause the cheap plastic never holds up, and the buggy becomes a beast, waiting on the esc or motor to give out so i can do some upgrades to 3s lipo and bigger motor.

A good warning to anyone buying from hobbyking, you get what you pay for, at $100 for a car / truck i suggest spending the extra on hopup parts and spares.
Post by: RallyDog on September 18, 2013, 03:16:59 PM
This is my hpi baja 5sc ss
Post by: RallyDog on September 18, 2013, 04:37:02 PM
Sorry will try and get photo up cant down load
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on September 19, 2013, 06:31:36 AM
If you get a chance, check out this place. And it's free entry  :D

Shane

Elimbah Raceway Promo - 1/4 Scale Speedway (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jOHXjPzuxIk#ws)
Post by: HoMErMY12 on September 19, 2013, 11:19:21 AM
Reading topics like this always cost me money!!!!

I had been out of the RC cars for a few years, but a few weeks ago I got my Traxxas Revo 3.3 nitro truck out of the cupboard and stripped it down for a $1000 rebuild.

On top of that I'm rebuilding a 25 year old Kyosho Aero Streak I had when I was a kid. this is a challenge finding parts for on eBay.

And I have another Traxxas Revo sitting here that belongs to my Bro in law that he will hopefully sell to me. then that will get rebuilt also

That is on top of 2 Tamiya chassis I built many moons ago for drift (that was before I discovered how good off road was).

(that's the short list, if I add the wish list id be here typing all day.)

One day ill actually have a car i can drive. But half the fun is building them.

So it looks like im addicted again.
Post by: yogi on September 19, 2013, 11:43:19 AM
Can't go wrong with a Revo for bashing .......... Oh and love the Jato for the street :D

Post by: HoMErMY12 on September 19, 2013, 12:41:14 PM
I don't know how id go with a nitro Revo if I took it camping though.

Might get some unhappy neighbours complaining about noise  ;D ::)  >:D
Post by: nick_4x4 on September 19, 2013, 12:52:49 PM
I don't know how id go with a nitro Revo if I took it camping though.

Might get some unhappy neighbours complaining about noise  ;D ::)  >:D

Yea but neighbours with kids will love you for it.

Last camping trip we took 3 electric models and my 2 nitro's (rustler and a colt 1/10th) out of all the time we were there all the kids wanted to see the nitro running, even some of the dads come along to watch us doing dirt bike jumps with them.

Lots of fun out the bush, but you can get some grief from Grey Nomads and Rangers if they dont like them, but most ive met i usually just say do you mind me running these during the day and most are fine.

Have fun playing with your toys / addictions i know i do :D
Post by: sunshine on September 19, 2013, 07:45:44 PM
dam internet and forums  >:D

started reading this and then researching and you know the rest

it should arrive just in time for school holidays and camping trip  :cup:

reckon this will keep us out of trouble

mick
Post by: oldmate on September 19, 2013, 10:02:43 PM
Hey there footySS.  Great video, that stuff is cool. Great sound clip also
Post by: Swogjb on September 26, 2013, 07:13:31 PM
I've taken delivery of a Traxxas Stampede VXL 4x4' with brushless motor and 2s Lipo battery.

Holy $h1t does this thing go. Pull the trigger and she wheel stands on command. >:D
I got my 5yo daughter going tonight in trainer mode, she did an awesome job and picked it up really quickly.
The original battery charger took 6 hours to charge, way to long IMO.
So I purchased an Imax B6AC Pro balance charger. It will charge a 4000 mAh 2s Lipo in about an hour. Will charge all types of battery.
The biggest pain in the arse so far is if the stampede lands a bit hard it will blow the shockas top cap off. This has happened a few times. I may upgrade to better shocks down the track.

All in all, we are enjoying the Stampede so far and definitely recommend the product.
Even SWMBO reckons its good fun. :cup: :cup:

Cheers Glenn
Post by: Dion on September 27, 2013, 02:21:15 PM
Been thinking about buying a "Decent" R/C car ... well actually two ... one for me and one for my 7yo son (for Xmas).  We have a couple of $50 cheapies but they have limited R/C range and struggle (read don't go) on the grass.

How do the Traxxis 2WD ones stand up to high speed impacts against hard stuff (i.e. brick house)?

What about jumping off terraces?  Have got a terrace in my yard that's about a 40cm drop (onto grass) .. would be great for a leap off ...

Do they go okay on thick grass (got Sir Walter Buffalo grass)?
Post by: D4D on September 27, 2013, 04:18:16 PM
I have a 2WD Stampede, I run it in the park/playground across from our house. It runs fine through tyre high grass/mud/mulch. I jump/launch off a sleeper height wall with no issue and have stacked it into a post of a post and rail fence with no ill effects. Given how quick they are you really need a large space to enjoy these things. The park area I run it in is approx. 20m x 10m.
Post by: Muckinhell on September 27, 2013, 08:30:27 PM
I like a bit of the scale sorta stuff with low range mid range and high range on the fly from the controller and locking diffs, plus added realistic warn winch. still mine isnt half as awsome as some of the ones on you tube with miniature highlift jacks,snorkels,roof racks etc.
most of my mates have the nitro stuff though, but always break something so they never run for too long whereass mine keeps on keeping on.
Post by: cm4x4nut on October 26, 2013, 11:40:45 AM
well bugger you lot, you all cost me way too much money.

After reading through all this, I have now done something that I have wanted to do for years, I have just ordered an Axial SCX10 Rubicon Jeep. Have been tossing up between this or the Wraith and decided to go this way as there appear to be more upgrade parts readily available.

I have also picked up a cheapie for the boy to see if he is interested at all before forking out for a better one for him. At least parts for an SCX10 is cheaper than a 200  ;D

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/jeep2_zps5ad749f7.jpg)
Post by: D4D on October 26, 2013, 12:09:34 PM

What did you get for your son?
Post by: cm4x4nut on October 27, 2013, 06:58:29 AM

What did you get for your son?

just a $100 HPC cheapie. He is only 5 and it will let me know if he is interested enough to invest more.........

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/blake_zpsb557e903.jpg)
Post by: gnatsum69 on October 28, 2013, 05:03:37 PM
hey guys if anyone is still keen on something for them selves of their kids this isn't bad on a forum site I use a lot.  I have around 50 rc cars most of them are old school Tamiya, frog, hornet, madcap, box, boomerang, super hornet, grass hopper etc etc.  these are all in display case.  The ones I use are all losi,  losi mini 8ight and mini lst2, 8ight t 2.0 brushless, losi xxl brushless and so on
Post by: Marschy on October 28, 2013, 05:19:54 PM
hey guys if anyone is still keen on something for them selves of their kids this isn't bad on a forum site I use a lot.  I have around 50 rc cars most of them are old school Tamiya, frog, hornet, madcap, box, boomerang, super hornet, grass hopper etc etc.  these are all in display case.  The ones I use are all losi,  losi mini 8ight and mini lst2, 8ight t 2.0 brushless, losi xxl brushless and so on
Post up a picture of your display cabinet gnatsum69.

I've seen it, and let me tell you, its freakin' awesome.

Cheers, Marschy
Post by: froggy on October 29, 2013, 06:27:57 AM

After reading through all this, I have now done something that I have wanted to do for years, I have just ordered an Axial SCX10 Rubicon Jeep. Have been tossing up between this or the Wraith and decided to go this way as there appear to be more upgrade parts readily available.

I have also picked up a cheapie for the boy to see if he is interested at all before forking out for a better one for him. At least parts for an SCX10 is cheaper than a 200  ;D

this will be my next rc vehicle, would love to find a 200 series body for one, but I think I'll just have to settle for a tundra (http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/10/29/u2ejeta5.jpg)(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/10/29/e5azebu6.jpg)(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/10/29/u2emesyr.jpg)
Post by: cm4x4nut on October 29, 2013, 09:02:51 AM
this will be my next rc vehicle, would love to find a 200 series body for one, but I think I'll just have to settle for a tundra

yeah I have had no luck findiung a 200 body either. Would love the body and then build a mock up Kimberly for it to tow  8)
Post by: DrewXT on October 29, 2013, 09:04:59 AM
has anyone ever seen a remote controlled Amarok?  That's what I'm looking for at the moment...
Post by: KingBilly on October 29, 2013, 08:24:31 PM
Bought my son a Traxxas Stampede 4x4 VXL for his birthday tomorrow.  Also grabbed second Lipo battery and a 12V DC charger.  He's saved for more than a year so I paid the balance.

Guys at OZ RC http://stores.ebay.com.au/OZ-RC-MODELS threw in a Lipo carry bag http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Redback-Racing-Large-Lipo-Battery-Carrying-and-Storage-Bag-OZ-RC-Models-/400500035843?pt=AU_Toys_Hobbies_Radio_Controlled_Vehicles&hash=item5d3fa99103  Didn't know such a bag existed.

Think there will be a bit of fun happening this weekend.

Post by: jetcrew on October 29, 2013, 09:37:20 PM
This thread should be BANNED ...right now ...

Jet ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: jetcrew on October 29, 2013, 09:50:21 PM

where from how much  ;D ;D ;D ;D

Jet ;D ;D
Post by: gec on October 30, 2013, 12:59:57 AM
Here is one place that sells them, they are in WA but will ship Australia wide.

http://onetencrawlers.com.au/product_info.php?cPath=25&products_id=251
Post by: 02-SR5 on October 30, 2013, 02:40:19 AM
Axial make some great trucks.

I have the Wraith and the SCX10 Landrover. I have replaced the motor in the Rover for a 55 turn hi torque motor.

I prefer the Rover as it is more to scale.i am in the process of building a dedicated track in the old vegie garden.
Post by: jetcrew on October 30, 2013, 06:39:05 AM
Ok spent an hour last night searching the net,

looking for confirmation of advice online,

Axial SXC10 - more suited to direct rock crawling (slower more to scale)

Traxxas summit - bit more of an allrounder can do a bit of everything and a bit larger in size.

So based on this the Summit would be a good start out RC truck for the teenagers with taking it camping in mind ..Yes /No

Ta Jet ;D ;D
Post by: Coolblue80 on October 30, 2013, 08:07:24 AM
I've got a Hyper 7.
http://rchobbies.com.au/store/images/hyper7.JPG
Had it for about 7 years, has sat in the shed for the last 4.5 years. After reading this thread I got the urge to pull it out & see if it would go.
This nitro was stored without any after-run put in it & was fully expecting it to be siezed. Well bugger me if after fitting a fresh air filter, changing batteries & charging the glow starter it ran & drove on 4.5y.o stale nitro.  It than siezed a steering servo(good metal geared HI-TECH) which I changed out & with fresh nitro, is running & driving as good as it did 4.5 years ago. Haven't even needed to tune it.
The last drive last week saw it spit a lhf drive shaft, so at the moment it's awaiting repair.
MAkes me wonder why I ever put it away in the shed all that time ago.
Below is a Hummer 9.6v I got for the boy when he was 2ish.(Alright, I got it for me.)
This thing copped a flogging, including the boy siting on it & me driving him around. Eventually it had a catastrophic front end failure & had to be reitired.

(http://i817.photobucket.com/albums/zz92/pageys/DSCF2810_zps9e90a063.jpg) (http://s817.photobucket.com/user/pageys/media/DSCF2810_zps9e90a063.jpg.html)
Cheers, Mike.
Post by: cm4x4nut on October 30, 2013, 12:58:53 PM

Traxxas summit - bit more of an allrounder can do a bit of everything and a bit larger in size.

So based on this the Summit would be a good start out RC truck for the teenagers with taking it camping in mind ..Yes /No

Ta Jet ;D ;D

I was also tossing between SCX10 and the Summit. There are a few videos on youtube that compare the solid axles of the axials to the independant of the summit. Type in Wraith vs Summit and see how many come up. Basically what I got out of it all is that the Axials were a good base for crawling, and there were others that were great for high speed. The Summit was sort of half way between. A jack of all and master of none type of thing if that makes sense. It was the upright springs/shocks of the solid axle jobbies that made it more suitable for crawling and less stable at higher speeds......bit like the real things actually. I had a mate that had the Summit, and after going through the online stuff, some of the issues he used to have with it rang true.

Anyway, because I was more interested in crawling and the scale look, that was what swayed me to the SCX10.........I am yet to drive it though to confirm all my worldly, unexperienced theories though  ;D

I will give you some details of where I got the Wrangler when I get home and check  ??? It was through an ebay store based in Brissy and was $500. I will get the store details for you this arvo. Work PC does not like ebay  ;D
Post by: 02-SR5 on October 30, 2013, 04:45:24 PM

Ta Jet ;D ;D

Rock Crawlers seem to be appreciated to the older crowd. Where as the faster ones the can go fast and jump seem to attract the younger crowd.

My kid hates the crawler, but loves the fast one. The same with a mates kids. They don't see the attraction to the crawler. To slow they reckon.
Post by: cm4x4nut on October 31, 2013, 08:18:26 AM
The wrangler came from;

Mild to Wild RC at Arana Hills Qld

I can not recomend them yet as I have not had any real dealings with them. I am going to phone them today to find out about batteries and chargers, so I will let you know what I think of their customer service.
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on October 31, 2013, 08:24:20 AM
My kid hates the crawler, but loves the fast one. The same with a mates kids. They don't see the attraction to the crawler. To slow they reckon.

I agree with the kids on that one  ;D

Shane.
Post by: KingBilly on October 31, 2013, 10:32:40 AM
My son was really excited to get his Traxxas Stampede 4x4 VXL last night for his birthday.  Set the speed control to learner which is half speed to run it in and gave it a blast this morning.  Wow.  It is quick.  Can't wait to give it a go at full throttle.  And that's with just a 2 cell Lipo.  A 3 cell will give it a speed of 100kph plus.  Our back yard is just not big enough.  Will take it to Gordon Country tomorrow as the battery charger works off 12VDC as well.  Look out campers.

Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on October 31, 2013, 10:46:35 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fY15NyDG3Jg

Doesn't right, (should be a nitro car ;D ) but holy crap it's fast.

Shane.
Post by: Danr on October 31, 2013, 12:37:19 PM
Where do I get that tundra from I want it!!

And yes I think this thread should be closed can see it costing me money!!   
Post by: ewoksta on October 31, 2013, 01:11:57 PM
Reading through all of these posts, I reckon I will pull my old RC 10 graphite out of the shed and see if it still runs. Fried the battery connector last time I used it so will have to do some repairs prior. I remember it was fast 20 odd years ago when I bought it. Probably a learners car now with the speeds you guys are talking about!!

Andrew
Post by: cm4x4nut on October 31, 2013, 03:06:04 PM
The wrangler came from;

Mild to Wild RC at Arana Hills Qld

I can not recomend them yet as I have not had any real dealings with them. I am going to phone them today to find out about batteries and chargers, so I will let you know what I think of their customer service.

Well, happy with the service that I got from them. They also chased down battery dimensions looking for additional batteries for the boys truck......even though it was not one of theirs and bought from someone else.

It seamed like no bull advice I got from them, even down the path of asking what I wanted to do with the truck and if there were any future mods planned so we could accomodate it now rather than spending the coin twice.

Based on the little dealing I have had, I could recomend this mob
Post by: 4wd26 on October 31, 2013, 04:08:35 PM
I have the axial sc10 ute version for my 12 year old.  First foray into decent rc cars.  Spent plenty in the past just to see them destroyed or fail.  Had the axial for 6 months boy loves it , especially camping

Have had a couple of screws come loose but spare parts keep it running. Have a few friends come over with fast cars, interesting that the kids like each others cars, but the speed thing convinced me to trial the rock crawler with the boy first, control vs damage

I might get to play with the crawler occasionally as well, and its silver like my ute, so has the relationship between what dad drives and what the crawler does
Post by: 02-SR5 on October 31, 2013, 05:41:36 PM
Well, happy with the service that I got from them. They also chased down battery dimensions looking for additional batteries for the boys truck......even though it was not one of theirs and bought from someone else.

It seamed like no bull advice I got from them, even down the path of asking what I wanted to do with the truck and if there were any future mods planned so we could accomodate it now rather than spending the coin twice.

Mild to Wild are great. I have brought a total of 4 trucks of them. They seem cheaper than places like Hobyrama just down the road from Bunnings in Stafford.

I have had custom,work done by them. It took a few ,months, but that was,waiting for parts.
Post by: D4D on October 31, 2013, 08:22:15 PM
As the Stampede is too fast for my son, I was looking at one of these, any thoughts?

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/171159398177

(http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/ODAwWDgwMA==/z/2yoAAMXQfFJRW~mK/$T2eC16hHJGIE9nnWsyVqBRW+mJ84jg~~60_3.JPG)
Post by: KingBilly on October 31, 2013, 10:07:32 PM
The Stampede can be set to learner mode which reduces the speed to 50%.  Still fast but not stupid fast.

Post by: briann532 on November 03, 2013, 08:24:12 AM
Went to check out the stampede at our local hobby shop - Hobbies in the Hills....

Ended up staying a couple of hours. Its awesome. Boy got to play with the slot cars, some small rock crawlers and even get a go at an R/C helicopter.

Stampede on order for xmas - Couldn't buy it with him there, but we did come away with a model to build and of course the R/C heli.......

$$$

Damn you to the camping hell of politicians and rain, myswag..........
I thought camping was supposed to be cheap!

Now for some fun.... (Oh and of course I ordered the car charger and spare battery because I will use it mostly when we're in the camper)

Post by: D4D on November 03, 2013, 08:58:06 AM
The Stampede can be set to learner mode which reduces the speed to 50%.  Still fast but not stupid fast.

Yeah that's what sold me on it but even that is too fast for my son at the moment.
Post by: shrek4 on November 03, 2013, 01:49:57 PM
That's some serious coin for a RC.

I'm looking for something much cheaper ($50-$100) for my 6 year old for xmas.

Any recommendations?

Might buy two, so then I won't have to 'borrow' his  ;D
Post by: briann532 on November 04, 2013, 04:23:58 PM

Any recommendations?

I also have 1 of these...................
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/HSP-2-4ghz-RC-Car-1-10-4WD-Electric-Power-Dune-Sand-Rail-Buggy-94202-/400407452688?pt=AU_Toys_Hobbies_Radio_Controlled_Vehicles&hash=item5d3a24dc10

Obviously not as good as the traxis, but for the money, they go fast and are pretty robust.
As always though anything from evilbay is a risk...........

Post by: KingBilly on November 04, 2013, 05:01:40 PM
Well my son (and I) ran the Stampede at half throttle on its first battery at home as we were told to run it in.  That done, took it camping and changed it to full throttle.  Holy cow, does it move.  Chucking roster tails across the grass and leaves, kicked some serious dust on the dirt.  Awesome fun.  But he hit a hole and blew the top of a rear shock.  Lost all the oil.  Fixed it (minus oil) and told him to take it easy.  I got chatting and next he is back saying he blew the top off a front shockie.  Lost all the oil again.  Oh well, that was the end of the fun for the weekend as it wasn't tracking very true with two opposing shockies with no oil.  Got home and gave it a good inspection and found he had also busted a front suspension arm.  Must have hit that hole pretty hard.  I'm yet to find out how much for the parts to fix it but he's paying.  Going to get a few free lawn mows me thinks  ;D ;D  plus he has now learnt a valuable lesson and will take it a bit easier on the rough stuff next time.

Post by: Swogjb on November 04, 2013, 06:35:37 PM
Well my son (and I) ran the Stampede at half throttle on its first battery at home as we were told to run it in.  That done, took it camping and changed it to full throttle.  Holy cow, does it move.  Chucking roster tails across the grass and leaves, kicked some serious dust on the dirt.  Awesome fun.  But he hit a hole and blew the top of a rear shock.  Lost all the oil.  Fixed it (minus oil) and told him to take it easy.  I got chatting and next he is back saying he blew the top off a front shockie.  Lost all the oil again.  Oh well, that was the end of the fun for the weekend as it wasn't tracking very true with two opposing shockies with no oil.  Got home and gave it a good inspection and found he had also busted a front suspension arm.  Must have hit that hole pretty hard.  I'm yet to find out how much for the parts to fix it but he's paying.  Going to get a few free lawn mows me thinks  ;D ;D  plus he has now learnt a valuable lesson and will take it a bit easier on the rough stuff next time.

I did the same thing to our stampede 4x4. blew the plastic top right off.
A cheap fix is to purchase some aluminium shock caps. Have not blown since i changed to the aluminium ones.
IMO the parts are fairly well priced on the internet but a bit over the top at our local hobby shop.

Post by: KingBilly on November 04, 2013, 07:41:28 PM
I did the same thing to our stampede 4x4. blew the plastic top right off.
A cheap fix is to purchase some aluminium shock caps. Have not blown since i changed to the aluminium ones.
IMO the parts are fairly well priced on the internet but a bit over the top at our local hobby shop.

Do you have a link for the aluminium caps?  Sorry I'm just being lazy.  Will goggle tomorrow.

Post by: Nomad on November 04, 2013, 08:09:02 PM

Any recommendations?

I have been looking at the same things for my 6 year old. There's a big difference in ability (not necessarily quality) at around the $120 mark.

One I have found you can add Lipo battery and the speed jumps from 70 km to 110 km..........but does a 6 year old need that fast.........no....but I would like to give it a run on the tracks at Teewah at that speed..........and its easy to justify the battery upgrade because of the charge times.

Post by: HoMErMY12 on November 04, 2013, 08:09:23 PM
I prefer to support local hobby shops when I can. but the prices they are charging for traxxas parts compared to what I can get them direct from the US online stores is ridiculous.
Post by: D4D on November 05, 2013, 05:49:31 AM
I prefer to support local hobby shops when I can. but the prices they are charging for traxxas parts compared to what I can get them direct from the US online stores is ridiculous.

x2 but the wait is sometimes loooong
Post by: eman on November 05, 2013, 09:12:48 AM

Any recommendations?

The $50-$100 range will be what they class as the "toy" version, usually will find they cannot be rebuilt/upgraded/repaired easily

I bought the young bloke one of these a couple of years ago
http://rchobbies.com.au/store/product_info.php?cPath=27_24_39&products_id=60313

Has gone through two motors ($15ea) and a receiver (transmitter/receiver combo $50) so far.

As the Stampede is too fast for my son, I was looking at one of these, any thoughts?

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/171159398177

(http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/ODAwWDgwMA==/z/2yoAAMXQfFJRW~mK/$T2eC16hHJGIE9nnWsyVqBRW+mJ84jg~~60_3.JPG)

While at rchobbies buying a new receiver I ended up buying one of those, $45 and if it dies no big deal. Not quite as fast as the other truck but seems good value, has survived the punishment my boys gave it. Runtime isn't great but should get 15 minutes or so
http://rchobbies.com.au/store/product_info.php?cPath=27_24_39&products_id=69479
Post by: Renno on November 05, 2013, 06:25:05 PM

I think for about 85 bucks you can get all alloy shocks for them. Can try alloy caps first but they still screw onto plastic shock body. See how caps go but might be something to think about...
Renno  :cheers:
Post by: KingBilly on November 05, 2013, 07:44:49 PM
Thanks Renno.  Can get 4 caps for $12 so will give them a go first.

Post by: KIMBOPRADO on November 05, 2013, 11:15:37 PM
Yep-caught the bug about 5 years ago and bought a traxxas bandit,back then lipo batteries were not a standard, running the heavy brick batteries, upgrade motor,big bore shocks,take it for a run CRASH, something breaks back to workshop to fix and upgrade,upgrade etc. dug it out of the cupboard....

(http://s12.postimg.org/dr6lgz9bh/image.jpg) (http://postimage.org/)
online photo storage (http://postimage.org/)

Found this place not bad for parts etc

http://www.ultimatetoys.com.au/index.php

Hhmmmm- might have to investigate lipo / charger prices these days and get her out again!! ;D

Enjoy and let the kids have a go now and then

If your looking at a traxxas- go for the VXL models, the basic come with a Titan motor which after a while not good, the VXL come with a veilineon motor (lipo ready/brushless motor) sure pay more up front - but cheaper in the long run - I learn't the hard way
Post by: cm4x4nut on November 06, 2013, 08:45:05 AM

Well the LiPo's and charger have arrived, all is sitting in the box.........waiting, waiting, waiting.

I have to wait till its the boys birthday and I give him his before I can play with mine.........8 days to go  :'(
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on November 06, 2013, 09:04:48 AM
Just curious as to why most here are keen on electric cars? Do they perform better, cheaper, more reliable, than the gas cars?

Or is the less maintenance appealing?

Just curious, that's all.

Shane.
Post by: KingBilly on November 06, 2013, 09:07:47 AM
For me, less noise and less mucking around with fuel.  With the 12V charger we have power anywhere and I don't have to go to a shop to buy it.

Post by: gnatsum69 on November 06, 2013, 09:29:18 AM
Just curious as to why most here are keen on electric cars? Do they perform better, cheaper, more reliable, than the gas cars?

Shane.

Hey there unless u are really into nitro and know what ur doing it is hard work to keep them in tune and they stall burn glow plugs etc can be hard to start. Brushless how ever u charge the battery and basically know the car will run. Also feul has oil in it gets spilt and everything gets sticky dirt sticks to it cant use them inside. Thats my reasons they do go faster too.
Post by: cm4x4nut on November 06, 2013, 09:31:09 AM

Shane.

I'm a sparky and I like electric things :)
Post by: Red Dog 4x4 on November 06, 2013, 09:59:52 AM

Shane.

with the technology now in new brushless motors and Lipo batteries the run times are getting better, to give you an idea my two rock crawlers have a run time of about 45min to 1 hour, on a 2200mh lipo ( One of them wheighs  10.4 kg ). I used to race the petrol/ nitro on road cars, and every time we used to race you would spend 30min just getting it to run for the conditions on the day.
Post by: gnatsum69 on November 06, 2013, 08:02:42 PM
anyone looking for something cheap but big this looks okay.  it by no means a losi xxl or lst2 but its also half the price from this video doesn't look to bad. 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fTLCTB09LVI
can be bought here
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__29546__Basher_Nitro_Circus_1_8_Scale_4WD_Monster_Truck_w_2_4Ghz_radio_RTR_.html

I know its a cheapie but not everyone can afford the real deal so to speak
Post by: rotare on November 07, 2013, 10:39:54 AM

I can sympathise with you there.  I've always wanted a decent remote control car and a couple of years ago the wife made that dream come true and brought me a 1/8th nitro Hoboa Truggy for my bday.  It wasn't a cheapy at $750.  It was awesome, and I loved it, but everytime I used it something broke or wore out. 

No problem though as the local hobby store stocked all the spares, and the replacement parts were reasonably cheap..... but.  Everytime I went to replace the part the dude across the counter would say "look, I can sell you a stock plastic replacement part for $10, but you're only going to be back in here again next week replacing it again cause it will just break.  I suggest you go for the upgraded part made from aluminium or carbon fibre....."  It was always a great suggestion, but the upgraded part was always 5 - 6x more expensive than the stock replacement.  On this basis it can be an expensive hobby when a simple hour or so of playing with the car costs $100 in broken parts every single time.

I found with my nitro car that I spent half the time just trying to tune the thing.  There was rarely a time where you could just grab it off the shelf, fire it up and play with it as mine always required lots of stuffing around to get it running right.  It was fun at first and all part of the experience, but the novelty wore off pretty quickly.  My nitro car was also pretty loud, so whenever I used it in the street plenty of people came out to see what the racket was and I'm assuming from their facial expressions not all appreciated the sound of a nitro car as much as I did!

If I ever decide to go back to RC cars it will be electric for sure mainly because of the simplicity of the "plug and play" appeal.
Post by: HoMErMY12 on November 07, 2013, 12:57:07 PM
I bought a nitro Traxxas Revo 3.3 about 6 years ago as they didn't make an electric at that time.

Love the thing but as others have said. Everything I went out something broke. I eventually put it on the shelf about 3 years ago and only just recently started playing with it again. But first it is getting a total rebuild and upgrade.

I seem to find it more enjoyable sitting at my desk building things than actually going outside and using them.

But once this project is over and I start using it I'll probably do a ground up build of a brushless revo. I don't have an issue with the nitro but I think I'd go electric for the simplicity if it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk (http://tapatalk.com/m?id=1)
Post by: GanG on November 07, 2013, 01:46:21 PM
Don't tempt me!! :laugh:
Post by: HoMErMY12 on November 07, 2013, 01:48:05 PM
Don't tempt me!! :laugh:
Once you start it doesn't stop costing money!! >:D
Post by: gnatsum69 on November 07, 2013, 02:44:04 PM
A lot of people seem to be saying they break something everytime they go out with their rc car? I use only losi 8ight buggy and truggy both electric converted.  I have hardly broken a thing on them in years and they do get regular use.  They are not cheap but.  Biggest problem I have had is rear diff in truggy needed reshimming.  I have an losi lst xxl as well they break a little just tierods and arm or spindles if u hit something hard but for bashing around I cant recommend the 8ight truggy enough really hard to break.
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on November 07, 2013, 02:56:09 PM
A lot of people seem to be saying they break something everytime they go out with their rc car? I use only losi 8ight buggy and truggy both electric converted.  I have hardly broken a thing on them in years and they do get regular use.  They are not cheap but.  Biggest problem I have had is rear diff in truggy needed reshimming.  I have an losi lst xxl as well they break a little just tierods and arm or spindles if u hit something hard but for bashing around I cant recommend the 8ight truggy enough really hard to break.

My young bloke hasn't broken anything on his and it's had a fair amount of use. I've tried to drive the thing twice and broken it twice.   :-\

Shane.

Post by: rotare on November 07, 2013, 03:08:51 PM

It really depends where you're using the car.  If you have the luxury of using the car in a nice open space, like a bmx track or other type of track where you're unlucky to hit something then the likely hood of damage reduces significantly.  Unfortunately I often used mine in our street (it's still a fairly open area with no kerbs), but clipping a car tyre or losing control and smashing into a fence or tree at 50km/hr usually guaranteed some type of damage. 

My son has a Losi mini 8 with a lipo, my brother a Tamiya and my mate a HPI racing...... no matter what brand they all seem to suffer lots of breakages if used what they are meant for and require a lot of maintenance to keep them running A1.   
Post by: HoMErMY12 on November 07, 2013, 03:13:56 PM
Of you can go to an open area and just be plain unlucky.

I went to the school oval down the road one day. Large open oval, hill at one end. And took a front wheel and suspension off on a football goal posts.

This was after the wife said "you better not come back with it broken!"

Oops!!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk (http://tapatalk.com/m?id=1)
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on November 07, 2013, 03:29:44 PM
For me, less noise and less mucking around with fuel.  With the 12V charger we have power anywhere and I don't have to go to a shop to buy it.

Hey there unless u are really into nitro and know what ur doing it is hard work to keep them in tune and they stall burn glow plugs etc can be hard to start. Brushless how ever u charge the battery and basically know the car will run. Also feul has oil in it gets spilt and everything gets sticky dirt sticks to it cant use them inside. Thats my reasons they do go faster too.

I'm a sparky and I like electric things :)

with the technology now in new brushless motors and Lipo batteries the run times are getting better, to give you an idea my two rock crawlers have a run time of about 45min to 1 hour, on a 2200mh lipo ( One of them wheighs  10.4 kg ). I used to race the petrol/ nitro on road cars, and every time we used to race you would spend 30min just getting it to run for the conditions on the day.

I found with my nitro car that I spent half the time just trying to tune the thing.  There was rarely a time where you could just grab it off the shelf, fire it up and play with it as mine always required lots of stuffing around to get it running right.  It was fun at first and all part of the experience, but the novelty wore off pretty quickly.  My nitro car was also pretty loud, so whenever I used it in the street plenty of people came out to see what the racket was and I'm assuming from their facial expressions not all appreciated the sound of a nitro car as much as I did!

If I ever decide to go back to RC cars it will be electric for sure mainly because of the simplicity of the "plug and play" appeal.

Thanks, for your comments. Seems convienience and reliability is the winner. I always said I should have stayed at school and become a sparky.

Shane.
Post by: briann532 on November 07, 2013, 04:17:41 PM
Thanks, for your comments. Seems convienience and reliability is the winner. I always said I should have stayed at school and become a sparky.

Shane.

Nah mate............The lobotomy hurts!!!
Post by: gnatsum69 on November 07, 2013, 04:28:23 PM
It really depends where you're using the car.  If you have the luxury of using the car in a nice open space, like a bmx track or other type of track where you're unlucky to hit something then the likely hood of damage reduces significantly.  Unfortunately I often used mine in our street (it's still a fairly open area with no kerbs), but clipping a car tyre or losing control and smashing into a fence or tree at 50km/hr usually guaranteed some type of damage. 

My son has a Losi mini 8 with a lipo, my brother a Tamiya and my mate a HPI racing...... no matter what brand they all seem to suffer lots of breakages if used what they are meant for and require a lot of maintenance to keep them running A1.

I have a mini 8ight also the weak point on them in the shock caps and standard servo otherwise a great a little buggy and very fast on 3s lipo.  In saying the shock caps are a weak point I am yet to break one.  I really do disagree that they seem to suffer a lot of breakages maybe other people just hit the wrong thing.

This is a video of the lst xxl that I have an electric one of http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Odp5FNrkpk the 8ight truggy I was talking about is stronger again.  I have had mine for about 5 years and have not broken it at all.  My brother in law has one also the only thing he has ever broken is the rear gearbox case which broke doing a rc show at compass cup here in Adelaide had a big ramp setup doing backflips etc landed on spoiler which is mounted to gearbox case.  $14 was fixed again.  As to maintenance what are you talking about inparticular?  Of course hitting a tree or park bench is bad but maybe I am just lucky

As long as the bearing are still good and diffs still have oil etc there isn't really much to do.
Post by: Swogjb on November 07, 2013, 07:29:09 PM
Thanks Renno.  Can get 4 caps for $12 so will give them a go first.

How did you go with the shock caps?

I have a spare set here that I purchased from the states online if you have any trouble.

Glenn
Post by: KingBilly on November 07, 2013, 07:30:56 PM
Thanks Glenn  :cheers:  Been a bit slack and need to check to make sure I don't need anything else whilst I'm ordering.  I'll let you know if I strike any probs.

Post by: kiwipride on November 11, 2013, 11:23:07 AM
Damn you guy! :) Purchased a Summit on the weekend. Awesome fun!

Although today the sheering servo is making a grinding noise. Rippit (hobby store, Gold Coast) said just bring it back. ....I'll see how we go.
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on November 11, 2013, 11:59:10 AM
My young bloke hasn't broken anything on his and it's had a fair amount of use. I've tried to drive the thing twice and broken it twice.   :-\

Shane.

3 from 3 now  >:(
Post by: cm4x4nut on November 12, 2013, 09:35:31 AM
I need to modify the chassis on the one that I bought the boy. I am struggling to find a battery that fits in the available space, also not convinced 1100mAH is going to give him decent run time. I have found some 4800mAH ones that I think I can make fit for him :)

Just need to get it done before his birthday on Friday
Post by: D4D on November 12, 2013, 09:40:18 AM
Post by: Red Dog 4x4 on November 12, 2013, 09:51:49 AM
I need to modify the chassis on the one that I bought the boy. I am struggling to find a battery that fits in the available space, also not convinced 1100mAH is going to give him decent run time. I have found some 4800mAH ones that I think I can make fit for him :)

Just need to get it done before his birthday on Friday

What kit did you get again? I know with all my SCX10's I ran up to 5000mh Lipo's in them gets about 45min to 1 hour depending on the motor, the higher the number of turns more torque & longer run times, but it becomes slower
Post by: cm4x4nut on November 12, 2013, 12:48:23 PM
What kit did you get again? I know with all my SCX10's I ran up to 5000mh Lipo's in them gets about 45min to 1 hour depending on the motor, the higher the number of turns more torque & longer run times, but it becomes slower

The SCX10 I have 5000mAH lipos so it is not the concern.

We bought a cheapie for the boy to see if he is interested before spending decent coin, it is still running NiMH batteries. It is not one that I would worry about changing over to lipos. If we get that far down the track, I will buy him a new unit
Post by: cm4x4nut on November 12, 2013, 12:48:50 PM

I will get the pics when I try the mods this arvo :)
Post by: Crisp Image on November 15, 2013, 07:34:18 PM
So for you people who use LiPo batteries, what charging device are you using. I am building a quadcopter and have almost everything I need except for a charger. I am using Turnigy Nano tech 5000mah.
I would like a 240v/12v if possible so it gives me the best of both worlds.
Is is better to get a multi charger that will charge 4 batteries at once or a single charger or 2,3,4
I see the Imax copies on the bay for around $40 del.
Crispy
Post by: gnatsum69 on November 15, 2013, 08:17:50 PM
So for you people who use LiPo batteries, what charging device are you using. I am building a quadcopter and have almost everything I need except for a charger. I am using Turnigy Nano tech 5000mah.
Is is better to get a multi charger that will charge 4 batteries at once or a single charger or 2,3,4
Crispy

are the lipos you have or gonna get 2s 3s 4s etc?  will the quad copter run one or two batts? the imax copies you are talking about are only 50w circuit power.  volts x amps = watts meaning if you have a 4s battery the end charge will be 16.8 so 16.8 x 2.9 amp = about 50w (being the circuit power of the charger) all this means if that no matter how many amps you set the charge rate to it will only goto about 2.9 amp hope that makes sense.  It doesn't matter at all will just take longer to charge the battery.  if you were charging a 5s or 6s it would be even slower.  I believe most of the nanotech batts can be charged at 5c meaning 5x capacity so if you have 5000mah means you can charge it at 25 amp.  Need to spend big money to get a charger to do this and will always be 12v only when you get to the high end units.

this is not cheap but it is one of the only high power 240v chargers it has a 200w circuit power.
Post by: sierrajim on November 15, 2013, 09:10:28 PM
I've got a brand new axial scx JK for sale if anyone wants one.
Post by: D4D on November 16, 2013, 05:45:45 AM
I've got a brand new axial scx JK for sale if anyone wants one.

In the immortal words of Rodney Rude 'how much?'
Post by: sierrajim on November 16, 2013, 06:02:49 AM
$400 brand new ready to run
Post by: ozbogwam on November 16, 2013, 07:47:57 AM

$400 brand new ready to run
hmmm must resist
Post by: cm4x4nut on November 16, 2013, 07:52:30 AM
Crispy

This is the unit I bought of Mild to Wild RC

http://www.mildtowildrc.com.au/chargers/chargers/thunder-power-tp610c-ac-dc-charger.html (http://www.mildtowildrc.com.au/chargers/chargers/thunder-power-tp610c-ac-dc-charger.html)

Does LiPO, Nicad, NiMH, LiFE and lead acid. Charges at up to 10A but I am doing it at 1C at the moment. Does do both 240V and 12V which was key for what I was looking for. Have only done 4 batteries with it so far, but they are all charged
Post by: D4D on November 16, 2013, 08:21:01 AM
I am thinking of swapping the 27MHz system in my Stampede to 2.4GHz via a Spektrum DX2 kit. How hard is this to do myself?
http://www.mildtowildrc.com.au/radios/land/spektrum/spektrum-dx2e-2-ch-dsm-radio-receiver.html (http://www.mildtowildrc.com.au/radios/land/spektrum/spektrum-dx2e-2-ch-dsm-radio-receiver.html)
Post by: gnatsum69 on November 16, 2013, 09:05:36 AM
This is the unit I bought of Mild to Wild RC

http://www.mildtowildrc.com.au/chargers/chargers/thunder-power-tp610c-ac-dc-charger.html (http://www.mildtowildrc.com.au/chargers/chargers/thunder-power-tp610c-ac-dc-charger.html)

Does LiPO, Nicad, NiMH, LiFE and lead acid. Charges at up to 10A but I am doing it at 1C at the moment. Does do both 240V and 12V which was key for what I was looking for. Have only done 4 batteries with it so far, but they are all charged

Great charger only downfall is 80 circuit power it will only charge a 5 or 6s lipo at 4 amp just depends on what u are charging and how fast u want to charge it.
Post by: cm4x4nut on November 16, 2013, 01:24:40 PM
yeah at the moment I am only doing 2S LiPOs and NiMH. I can not really see myself doing any more than 4S at the most in the near future, so it should do me for a bit anyway
Post by: cm4x4nut on November 16, 2013, 01:35:07 PM
Well, it was the boys birthday yesterday........which means we both got our presents and went for a wheel...........lol

The big battery I got for his weighed a bit much, so this morning we had to make some mods. I made up some 8mm nylon coil spacers and did a rear quarter cut and all is now good except it binds a little on the tyres at full articulation. He is stoked and it has been running now nearly non stop for about 3 hours

Mine, I am very happy with as well. It is definitely a lot of fun to drive and is going to take a bit of work to learn all the technicalities. I have already ditched the rear mounted spare and when I get some longer bolts, we will relocate the battery over the front wheels for a bit better weight distribution.

and we did a bit of flexing...................................lol

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/DSC_0091_zps347125d7.jpg)

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/DSC_0088_zps4de631a0.jpg)

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/DSC_0090_zps69258106.jpg)

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/DSC_0089_zpsa2131eb0.jpg)
Post by: D4D on November 16, 2013, 01:43:48 PM
Nice flex, do you have a link to where you bought the small one?
Post by: cm4x4nut on November 16, 2013, 02:01:57 PM
Nice flex, do you have a link to where you bought the small one?

http://www.rchobbyestore.com.au/p-7149-new-rtr-remote-control-4x4-rc-rock-crawler-4wd-truck.aspx (http://www.rchobbyestore.com.au/p-7149-new-rtr-remote-control-4x4-rc-rock-crawler-4wd-truck.aspx)

it out flexes the jeep by miles. Has a ton of articulation, but is high enough that it does have a tendency to lie down when it gets close to its limit
Post by: sierrajim on November 16, 2013, 05:30:09 PM
Check out thecrawlpit.com for some info and mods for these things too. Helpful site
Post by: gnatsum69 on November 17, 2013, 09:12:57 AM
this is some pics of my collection of early Tamiya cars I have I would put the pics on here but I can't remember how. I don't use any of these they are all for show I made the cabinet that they are in too.  THe ones I use are all losi.

http://tamiyaclub.com/showroom_model.asp?cid=114339&sid=38157 (http://tamiyaclub.com/showroom_model.asp?cid=114339&sid=38157)
Post by: Crisp Image on November 17, 2013, 07:47:44 PM
are the lipos you have or gonna get 2s 3s 4s etc?  will the quad copter run one or two batts? the imax copies you are talking about are only 50w circuit power.  volts x amps = watts meaning if you have a 4s battery the end charge will be 16.8 so 16.8 x 2.9 amp = about 50w (being the circuit power of the charger) all this means if that no matter how many amps you set the charge rate to it will only goto about 2.9 amp hope that makes sense.  It doesn't matter at all will just take longer to charge the battery.  if you were charging a 5s or 6s it would be even slower.  I believe most of the nanotech batts can be charged at 5c meaning 5x capacity so if you have 5000mah means you can charge it at 25 amp.  Need to spend big money to get a charger to do this and will always be 12v only when you get to the high end units.

this is not cheap but it is one of the only high power 240v chargers it has a 200w circuit power.
I am will be using 4s 5000mah and only a single battery at a time.
Still looking for a charger but may have a contact to chat to this week. Any other advice is good for me.
Crispy
Post by: D4D on November 17, 2013, 08:41:40 PM
Decided to buy the cheapo crawler for my son, he's 3 so if he gets into it he can have my Stampede and I'll upgrade :laugh:

(http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/NjQwWDY5Mw==/z/f-YAAMXQskFRHK7q/$T2eC16FHJHgE9n0yDj0vBRHK7ps2Gg~~60_3.JPG)
Post by: CampAround on November 21, 2013, 09:34:17 PM
I'm about to purchase a hsp brontosaurus or hunter for my six yr old. Went into rc hobbies today and would like to buy from a bricks and mortar store but they are cheaper online. I think they have an eBay store anyway so if I buy from them thy still get the money.

Question is, how do I know which batteries to buy for this particular unit if I want a spare, and same gor charger if I want a faster charger?
Post by: D4D on November 22, 2013, 06:12:35 PM
The 'crawler king' turned up. For $50 it's a great starter RC car for young kids. Fast enough for them but not stupid fast and it can climb obstacles ok, large turning circle is about the only downside. Once my son masters this one he can move onto the Stampede.
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on November 23, 2013, 10:19:07 AM
1/4 scale speedway is on again tonight at Elimbah, on Brisbane's north side. Starts at 3pm

And entry is free  :cup:

Elimbah Raceway Promo 2 - 1/4 Scale Speedway (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SJ9OVHhf0UM#ws)
Post by: cm4x4nut on November 24, 2013, 07:03:32 AM
Went for a drive down to Nambour today and went in Mischief and Mayhem as well as Toyworld Hobbie Store just for a bit of a look around and to meet a couple of guys I have been talking to over Facebook regarding crawlers and crawling.

Well the first round of upgrade parts have been bought and I have a bit of spanner time ahead of me for the "little truck"

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/1463965_10152405901104418_1440151716_n_zpsab263f3b.jpg)

However, on the way home we stopped for a bit of a play whilst the little truck is still stock......

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/1455888_10152405881504418_991727567_n_zps4c5381c5.jpg)
Post by: cm4x4nut on November 24, 2013, 07:27:29 AM
and a couple of videos of us just being clowns, playing around

Wrangler donuts

SDV 0570 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vxGFglifzGc#)

playing with a mates son mini Losi

SDV 0577 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V2hXJJGh9NQ#)

but the wrangler gets its revenge..........lol

SDV 0578 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8BUqvMviXxY#)
Post by: GeoffA on November 24, 2013, 10:45:56 AM
Does Blake get a go, Craig??... ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Coolblue80 on November 24, 2013, 11:21:03 AM
Now I know why I put the Hyper 7 away in the shed all those years ago. Everytime I drive, it breaks. Just mashed a front diff & the driveshaft fell out. I'm thinking of going with a 1/5th Rovan Baja. Had a drive of my brothers yesterday & loved it. Especially the fact that it runs on $1.60/litre 2 strike & not $18/l nitro.
Cheers, Mike.
Post by: cm4x4nut on November 24, 2013, 11:29:12 AM
Does Blake get a go, Craig??... ;D ;D ;D

Blake has his own......he managed to smash the steering servo yesterday......he does not get to drive the wrangler much, he is a little to heavy on the "right foot" for my liking yet (can that be inherited)......but he is improving
Post by: cm4x4nut on November 24, 2013, 11:31:04 AM
not having much luck with all my bits so far today......they all seam to be slightly the wrong size  >:(

Will have to call the hobby shop tomorrow and find out if they are or if I am doing something wrong. It does not help that there are no instructions for the upgrade bits
Post by: Red Dog 4x4 on November 25, 2013, 07:55:33 AM
not having much luck with all my bits so far today......they all seam to be slightly the wrong size  >:(

Will have to call the hobby shop tomorrow and find out if they are or if I am doing something wrong. It does not help that there are no instructions for the upgrade bits

This is a great source of info, and might give you and idea of what can be done as well  - http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/axial-scx-10/ (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/axial-scx-10/)

This section is for the SCX10 so might help.
Post by: cm4x4nut on November 25, 2013, 12:22:46 PM
This is a great source of info, and might give you and idea of what can be done as well  - http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/axial-scx-10/ (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/axial-scx-10/)

This section is for the SCX10 so might help.

Cheers mate......you have just given me another outlet for when I am supposed to be working  ;D
Post by: D4D on November 30, 2013, 07:51:48 PM
Couldn't help myself on COTD, the missus said 'only Porsche you'll own' :(

http://www.catchoftheday.com.au/event/32161/product/rastar-rc-1-14-size-white-porsche-27mhz-23422 (http://www.catchoftheday.com.au/event/32161/product/rastar-rc-1-14-size-white-porsche-27mhz-23422)

(http://static.catchoftheday.com.au/images/product/23422/5120daf4b7658945028585.jpg)
Post by: Marcus73 on November 30, 2013, 09:09:17 PM
I also had an offer to steer one of those this week...... As much as really would have liked to, I'd be much happier to break one like yours. Very tempting though ????

(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/11/30/5uvuna2e.jpg)

Post by: cm4x4nut on December 01, 2013, 07:28:15 AM
Roof rack fitted and spare tyre moved from the back to on the back of the roof. Also you can not see it here, but the o-rings that came with the roof rack have been fitted to the top of the body mounts so the body is much more rigid on the chassis

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/DSC_0096_zps5c6ef79c.jpg)

The suspension links were changed out to Wraith units as well as the front has been converted to four link. An added bonus of running the longer Wraith units is the front axle has been moved forward by about 10mm. Also because the uppers are longer than previous, the diffs have been rotated by about 10deg and drive shaft angles are even straighter than standard.....win,win

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/DSC_0100_zpse8fdc29a.jpg)

With the new servo, and the extended wheel base, the front cross member had to be removed and this is the usual spot fro the front battery mount. I had seen this done elsewhere, so I made up the brackets and mounted it sideways. Also relocated all the electrics to where the battery was in the back in the first place

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/DSC_0099_zpsac954cfc.jpg)

I had to knock up a couple of aluminium brackets for support for the relocated battery

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/DSC_0101_zps996b0e12.jpg)

A new radio was on the cards as I could not get the adjustment out of the stock one with the new steering servo. Low speed control is much better now

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/DSC_0102_zps8fbd82a6.jpg)

Well the boy has now destroyed 2 servos on his cheapy.

Seeing as I changed the servo on mine, I made up some spacers and have managed to fit the original Axial servo from mine in place his 1/16 one. Hopefully this will last a bit longer

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/DSC_0098_zpsa0bdb8e8.jpg)
Post by: cm4x4nut on December 01, 2013, 08:06:58 AM
Quality spanner time with the boy fixing his breakages........ to me, this is what it is all about

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/20131127_164104_zpse1fe99ca.jpg)

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/20131127_164208_zps28de834c.jpg)
Post by: D4D on December 01, 2013, 09:07:19 AM
Awesome Craig, looks like the RC bug has really hit :cup:
Post by: KingBilly on December 01, 2013, 02:20:18 PM
Talking about fixing things.  Son bent a rear shockie on his Stampede yesterday.  Looks like some heavy duty shocks are needed  :'(  Oh well, at least the lawn is getting mowed regularly to pay for all of these bits  :D

Post by: cm4x4nut on December 02, 2013, 08:44:43 AM
Awesome Craig, looks like the RC bug has really hit :cup:

yeah it looks like it. I have a couple of mates that say I need to find cheaper hobbies  ;D

I think also the time will come soon when the boys will need upgrading
Post by: ScottT on December 05, 2013, 12:00:38 PM
Well, here's a different kind of 4X4 RC

The younger Project Engineer at work no longer used this, an approx 1998 Tamiya Porsche 911 GT1, so gave it to me for my 12 year old boy (well, me too !  ;D )

New batteries, quick lube and we're away !

The boy has started to personalise it, so I took the photos before the decals started going on. It was meant to be white, but we think the black looks better !

Cheers, Scott

Post by: cm4x4nut on December 09, 2013, 11:20:10 AM
Well another weekend at home, not going anywhere because the boss was working, so I thought it was a good excuse for some more shed time

This next lot of projects started out with some aluminium plate and aluminium tent pegs of all things (just to keep it camping related)

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/20131207_082003_zps978d0e85.jpg)

The aluminium sheet was cut down to make some lift kit plates and the pegs have turned into strut tower braces

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/20131207_144512_zpseca65a06.jpg)

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/20131207_145116_zps07ef45d5.jpg)

Also, after being happy with the location of the electrics, I used the rest of the aluminium sheet to make a gear tray

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/20131208_111616_zpsdfee0882.jpg)

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/20131208_115102_zps0b88bf2f.jpg)

The lift kit on the shocks has enabled me to soften all the preload off the springs whilst still maintaining the same ride height. It now does a much better job for "droop" enabling better traction on my log test track which it drove much easier this time around

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/20131208_114102_zps6e89c58b.jpg)

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/20131208_114356_zps046257a2.jpg)
Post by: jetcrew on December 09, 2013, 01:34:56 PM
He guys,

My eldest is getting a riffle but the little fella 7yo loves monster trucks do I was thinking of the traxas Monster jam @$350 complete.

Are the still a decent chassis with the cover changed or are they a cheaper unit all up.

I Read two different opinions on it ?

Ta
jet ;D
Post by: Red Dog 4x4 on December 09, 2013, 02:20:36 PM
He guys,

My eldest is getting a riffle but the little fella 7yo loves monster trucks do I was thinking of the traxas Monster jam @$350 complete.

Are the still a decent chassis with the cover changed or are they a cheaper unit all up.

Ta
jet ;D

Hay mate you can't go wrong with any traxas kits, Traxas are know in the states for being the bashers, they just keep going.

All though I will suggest any thing that is 4x4, you would not believe how hard some of these are to control being 2wd, think your young bloke it will be flat out or stopped... :cup:

Post by: cm4x4nut on December 09, 2013, 02:24:04 PM
He guys,

Ta
jet ;D

Jet,

My understanding of these is that they run the same chassis as the stampede, so there will be a ton of upgrades available if you want, or if you just want to leave it stock, they are definitely more than up to most work

Cheers, Craig
Post by: CampAround on December 09, 2013, 08:27:26 PM
Looking at buying a decent charger now to charge my sons nicd batteries now quickly and hopefully some lipo batteries for my own car in the not too distant future. Everyone recommends the b6ac. I have found a few differsn models but can't see anything that tells me what's the difference between us it's with tha same name but look different.

What's everyone using?
Post by: CampAround on December 13, 2013, 08:47:18 AM
Looking at buying a decent charger now to charge my sons nicd batteries now quickly and hopefully some lipo batteries for my own car in the not too distant future. Everyone recommends the b6ac. I have found a few differsn models but can't see anything that tells me what's the difference between us it's with tha same name but look different.

What's everyone using?

Anyone?
Post by: gnatsum69 on December 13, 2013, 09:17:21 AM
http://www.rctech.net/forum/australia-sale-trade/777236-sky-rc-e6650-ac-dc-balance-charger.htmlhttp://www.rctech.net/forum/australia-sale-trade/777236-sky-rc-e6650-ac-dc-balance-charger.html (http://www.rctech.net/forum/australia-sale-trade/777236-sky-rc-e6650-ac-dc-balance-charger.htmlhttp://www.rctech.net/forum/australia-sale-trade/777236-sky-rc-e6650-ac-dc-balance-charger.html)

What's everyone using?

Hey mate this is a good buy from a trusted seller on a forums site I use alot.

Cant get the link to paste where I want it on my phone hppe it work

Michael

Post by: Marschy on December 13, 2013, 09:25:23 AM
http://www.rctech.net/forum/australia-sale-trade/777236-sky-rc-e6650-ac-dc-balance-charger.htmlhttp://www.rctech.net/forum/australia-sale-trade/777236-sky-rc-e6650-ac-dc-balance-charger.html (http://www.rctech.net/forum/australia-sale-trade/777236-sky-rc-e6650-ac-dc-balance-charger.htmlhttp://www.rctech.net/forum/australia-sale-trade/777236-sky-rc-e6650-ac-dc-balance-charger.html)
Hey mate this is a good buy from a trusted seller on a forums site I use alot.

Cant get the link to paste where I want it on my phone hppe it work

Michael

Hello Michael, fixed the link for you

http://www.rctech.net/forum/australia-sale-trade/777236-sky-rc-e6650-ac-dc-balance-charger.html (http://www.rctech.net/forum/australia-sale-trade/777236-sky-rc-e6650-ac-dc-balance-charger.html)
Post by: Renno on December 13, 2013, 09:25:50 AM
Hi mate, I have the Imax 4B6 06 pro  (http://www.imaxrc.com/4B606-Pro.html) charger, does 4 batteries of different types together. Handy as the young blokes charge at a different rate to mine. Have the AC adapter for home, no complaints at all. Pretty fast. Lot faster than the genuine charger. I don't know much about the b6ac, don't think you will have a problem..

Post by: CampAround on December 13, 2013, 10:09:35 AM
Hi mate, I have the Imax 4B6 06 pro  (http://www.imaxrc.com/4B606-Pro.html) charger, does 4 batteries of different types together. Handy as the young blokes charge at a different rate to mine. Have the AC adapter for home, no complaints at all. Pretty fast. Lot faster than the genuine charger. I don't know much about the b6ac, don't think you will have a problem..

Did you purchase from O/S?
Post by: Renno on December 13, 2013, 10:36:06 AM
From HC Hobbies in Lidcombe, this B6 Compact (http://rchobbies.com.au/store/product_info.php?cPath=52&products_id=72593) one look s like a pretty good deal  with a lipo thrown in.
Post by: prodigyrf on December 15, 2013, 12:06:01 AM
Big boy toys for the lazies coming soon-
https://www.google.com.au/#q=self+driving+car&revid=1945977738 (https://www.google.com.au/#q=self+driving+car&revid=1945977738)
Post by: briann532 on December 15, 2013, 05:43:08 PM
Big boy toys for the lazies coming soon-
https://www.google.com.au/#q=self+driving+car&revid=1945977738 (https://www.google.com.au/#q=self+driving+car&revid=1945977738)

I think I'd rather spend a bit more and get myself one of these terramax's to play with..........

"Terminator" Vs Range Rover - TerraMax - Top Gear - Series 19 - BBC (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jV51BGIzkwU#ws)

Post by: HoMErMY12 on December 16, 2013, 08:17:19 PM
What can of worms have I opened now.

I've now added ANOTHER RC Car project to the bench.

It all started on Saturday night at my work Christmas show when my boss announced that we wil be having an Australia day bbq at his farm. What better place to stretch the legs of a nitro truck.

Problem is, that's only a month away and I need to spend in excess on $500 to get my truck ready to go (its meant to be a long term project).

All good though. While that sits idle waiting for funding I have my brother in laws truck here waiting for mine to be finished...... (we can all see where this is going).......

3 hours on Sunday and this second truck was a pile of parts on the kitchen sink getting a thorough bath and clean up. So now I've got a month to order a few parts and get it back together and running before Australia Day.

And before anyone says it, ill be adding pics. I just got a bit carried away on the stripping it down and forgot to get the camera out.

HoMEr
Post by: gnatsum69 on December 16, 2013, 08:45:02 PM
What can of worms have I opened now.

I've now added ANOTHER RC Car project to the bench.

It all started on Saturday night at my work Christmas show when my boss announced that we wil be having an Australia day bbq at his farm. What better place to stretch the legs of a nitro truck.

Problem is, that's only a month away and I need to spend in excess on $500 to get my truck ready to go (its meant to be a long term project).

All good though. While that sits idle waiting for funding I have my brother in laws truck here waiting for mine to be finished...... (we can all see where this is going).......

3 hours on Sunday and this second truck was a pile of parts on the kitchen sink getting a thorough bath and clean up. So now I've got a month to order a few parts and get it back together and running before Australia Day.

And before anyone says it, ill be adding pics. I just got a bit carried away on the stripping it down and forgot to get the camera out.

HoMEr

look forward to the pics where abouts if your bosses farm?
Post by: HoMErMY12 on December 16, 2013, 10:47:13 PM
look forward to the pics where abouts if your bosses farm?

The farm is in Kangarilla in the Adelaide hills, about 20 minutes from the city.

Here's a pic of my first truck before the build began
(http://i822.photobucket.com/albums/zz150/Homer812010/Revo%20Stuff/IMG_1200_zps808e4bb9.jpg) (http://s822.photobucket.com/user/Homer812010/media/Revo%20Stuff/IMG_1200_zps808e4bb9.jpg.html)

And heres the second one as it sits now
(http://i822.photobucket.com/albums/zz150/Homer812010/Revo%20Stuff/photo_zpsfa7b5560.jpg) (http://s822.photobucket.com/user/Homer812010/media/Revo%20Stuff/photo_zpsfa7b5560.jpg.html)
Post by: Dion on December 18, 2013, 11:38:32 PM
He guys,

Ta
jet ;D

I went into the local RC store today (OZRC, at Virginia - next to TJM).  Was looking for something "mid-range" for my 7yo.

Walked out with these two:
this one: http://traxxas.com/products/models/electric/3604Agravedigger (http://traxxas.com/products/models/electric/3604Agravedigger)
and this one: http://traxxas.com/products/models/electric/36044sonuvadigger (http://traxxas.com/products/models/electric/36044sonuvadigger)

One for him, one for me  ;D  Kinda ironic it's the Grave Digger and Son of a Digger for me and my boy!

The Monster Jam Traxxas unit are great.  They're based on the proven Stampede.

I also picked up a couple of extra batteries (lower voltage but more Ah, so not as fast but longer run time than the included ones) and a fast charger.

I'm chasing a decent 12V charger too to charge off the car/camper .. any suggestion?
Post by: Red Dog 4x4 on December 19, 2013, 09:17:59 AM
I use a Brand called Swallow AC is what I have as well as some of there 12v only chargers the AC one dose both 240v and 12v but also balances the lipo batteries that I use 

Here is the main one - http://www.duanesplanes.com.au/product.php?productid=692 (http://www.duanesplanes.com.au/product.php?productid=692) these are one of the best chargers I have used as it dose all types of batteries

And the smaller ones - http://www.batterywholesaler.co.uk/battery_chargers/swallow_battery_charger.htm (http://www.batterywholesaler.co.uk/battery_chargers/swallow_battery_charger.htm) these are 12v only
Post by: cm4x4nut on December 21, 2013, 07:09:55 AM
I am using the Thunder Power 610. Can do LiPO's, Nicd, NiMH, even lead acid. Does balance charge and will do up to 6S LiPO's.

I used it on 12V last weekend for the first time and all went as planned.

I do notice however that the price has gone up by $20 since I got mine

Post by: Swogjb on December 22, 2013, 05:38:25 PM
Any recommendations for a good after market body for the Traxxas Stampede.
I have the 4x4 VXL that we are having a heap of fun with.
Have added bigger suspension, and a decent after market bull bar that can take a pounding, but the standard body doesn't seem to take the abuse. On the second body already.

Any advice greatly appreciated.

:cheers: Glenn
Post by: markg66 on December 22, 2013, 06:07:42 PM
Looking at getting one of these, any comments? good? bad?

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=370968652604&ssPageName=ADME:B:WNARL:AU:1123 (http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=370968652604&ssPageName=ADME:B:WNARL:AU:1123)
Post by: berlitza on December 22, 2013, 06:22:33 PM

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=370968652604&ssPageName=ADME:B:WNARL:AU:1123 (http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=370968652604&ssPageName=ADME:B:WNARL:AU:1123)

buy it then let us all know, pretty decent price
Post by: markg66 on December 22, 2013, 08:01:51 PM
This is the PC game all you off roaders need to play
http://www.spintires.com/# (http://www.spintires.com/#)!/demo
Post by: cm4x4nut on December 24, 2013, 12:29:20 PM

The boys cheapy is a HSP unit and I would struggle to recommend one to anyone. The biggest issue I have had with it is the plastic hubs and steering servos failing. Having said that, they are cheap and it was a good way to find out if he was "interested" in this hobby before we went and spent proper money on one for him
Post by: cm4x4nut on December 24, 2013, 12:32:26 PM
Our playground for the last few hours. Had more than enough to keep the boy and I amused for a few hours, plenty to go back to. Mostly sandstone and plenty that was too big for the wrangler. Looking forward to getting back in there again......with a few other trucks next time

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/20131224_101502_zps49663679.jpg)

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/20131224_102053_zps80fdad34.jpg)

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/20131224_104627_zps0252781d.jpg)

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/20131224_104635_zpsf0ff9d79.jpg)
Post by: gnatsum69 on December 24, 2013, 12:40:21 PM

hey mate a good friend of mine bought this one for his son for xmas I will let you know how he goes with it.  http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/1-10-HSP-BRUSHLESS-TOP-11-1v-3S-Lipo-PRO-Buggy-2-4-GHz-Radio-Remote-Control-RC-B-/261342606685?pt=AU_Toys_Hobbies_Radio_Controlled_Vehicles&hash=item3cd93bb55d (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/1-10-HSP-BRUSHLESS-TOP-11-1v-3S-Lipo-PRO-Buggy-2-4-GHz-Radio-Remote-Control-RC-B-/261342606685?pt=AU_Toys_Hobbies_Radio_Controlled_Vehicles&hash=item3cd93bb55d)

I did a bit of research on them for him couldn't find a lot of people saying bad things about them really.  I think most people that would knock them do so cause they like what they have hence losi, traxxas.  My mate brought the one he got for his some over to me for me to check it out as he knows little about these things really for the money you can't go wrong.  Things like servo's are cheap and easy to upgrade. plastic carriers or spindles if they break easy not much you can do about that as they probably don't make alloy upgrade ones like they do for brand name cars.
Post by: berlitza on December 26, 2013, 04:32:22 PM
there maybe something in this 'don't drink and drive' thing,, drove my hsp camper into the wall and lost a huge chunck off the protective suspension cover this arvo, hopefully theres a repacement for the cover  otherwise it's upgrade time, always need more speed and maybe a some type of pedestrian front air bag system,,,, grrrr more money
Post by: HoMErMY12 on December 29, 2013, 07:07:33 PM
Well some good news.

getting closer to actually having a working car:
Still waiting on a fuel tank from ebay.
Fit a receiver
Potentially new battery
Fit the exhaust
And add fuel.... lets hope it works!!

(http://i822.photobucket.com/albums/zz150/Homer812010/Revo%20Stuff/photo2_zps31e407bf.jpg) (http://s822.photobucket.com/user/Homer812010/media/Revo%20Stuff/photo2_zps31e407bf.jpg.html)
(http://i822.photobucket.com/albums/zz150/Homer812010/Revo%20Stuff/photo1_zps2061c51f.jpg) (http://s822.photobucket.com/user/Homer812010/media/Revo%20Stuff/photo1_zps2061c51f.jpg.html)

HoMEr
Post by: SteveandViv on December 30, 2013, 06:07:32 AM
Well some good news.

Fit a receiver
Potentially new battery
Fit the exhaust

(http://i822.photobucket.com/albums/zz150/Homer812010/Revo%20Stuff/photo2_zps31e407bf.jpg) (http://s822.photobucket.com/user/Homer812010/media/Revo%20Stuff/photo2_zps31e407bf.jpg.html)
(http://i822.photobucket.com/albums/zz150/Homer812010/Revo%20Stuff/photo1_zps2061c51f.jpg) (http://s822.photobucket.com/user/Homer812010/media/Revo%20Stuff/photo1_zps2061c51f.jpg.html)

HoMEr

Love the idea of a fuel type of car. Can't wait to see some video
Post by: Dion on January 02, 2014, 10:43:06 AM
Well this R/C hobby is a can of worms  >:D

I've just ordered wheelie bars for both the Monster Jam Traxxas trucks as with decent batteries in them they'll do a flip on full power launches.  Took 'em to the local park the other day and geez they fly ...

But my son is often "trying" to crawl over things with it (And failing, since the trucks are 2WD).  Might be time to look for a pair of Axial Wraiths  :cheers:  My wife will scream when I suggest two of them  ;D
Post by: GeoffA on January 03, 2014, 07:04:06 AM
I think I need to buy one of these jiggers for my son..........(he's 24 ;D ;D)
Post by: Marschy on January 03, 2014, 07:23:45 AM
I used to be a member of a model plane RC club.

The electronics they are adding to model aircraft now is truly staggering.

Do you realise that the average punter can now fly a fully UAV capable aircraft for under a grand. They have features in quad copters such as auto takeoff and landing, flying autonomously between waypoints, return to home and return and land should the transmitter fail.

I'm waiting on a kit to arrive from China for a F450 DJI knockoff that i'm going to setup as a 'First Person View' vehicle. Just waiting for it to arrive.

F450 Quadcopter (http://www.aliexpress.com/item/F02192-B-RC-4-Axis-Multi-QuadCopter-UFO-ARF-Kit-No-TX-RX-KK-V2-3/632296330.html)
Post by: markg66 on January 03, 2014, 07:31:21 AM

Well some good news.

Fit a receiver
Potentially new battery
Fit the exhaust

HoMEr

Did you buy this as a kit? As I thought these only came as ready to run, in my younger days I put one together from a kit and that was as much fun as driving it, but everything including the nitro powered cars seem to only come as RTR? Unless I'm missing something........

Sent from my mobile communication device using Tapatalk (http://tapatalk.com/m?id=1)
Post by: HoMErMY12 on January 03, 2014, 08:14:09 AM
Did you buy this as a kit? As I thought these only came as ready to run, in my younger days I put one together from a kit and that was as much fun as driving it, but everything including the nitro powered cars seem to only come as RTR? Unless I'm missing something........

Sent from my mobile communication device using Tapatalk (http://tapatalk.com/m?id=1)

This was an RTR. But being fussy and the fact it hadn't moved in 3 years I decided that a clean up was necessary ( I'm glad I did as I found a few broken parts).

Plus I enjoy working on them as much as I do driving them.
Post by: Crisp Image on January 03, 2014, 08:26:22 AM
I used to be a member of a model plane RC club.

The electronics they are adding to model aircraft now is truly staggering.

Do you realise that the average punter can now fly a fully UAV capable aircraft for under a grand. They have features in quad copters such as auto takeoff and landing, flying autonomously between waypoints, return to home and return and land should the transmitter fail.

I'm waiting on a kit to arrive from China for a F450 DJI knockoff that i'm going to setup as a 'First Person View' vehicle. Just waiting for it to arrive.

F450 Quadcopter (http://www.aliexpress.com/item/F02192-B-RC-4-Axis-Multi-QuadCopter-UFO-ARF-Kit-No-TX-RX-KK-V2-3/632296330.html)

You mean like this one?
(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/Multi%20Rotor/_MG_8625.jpg) (http://s267.photobucket.com/user/crispimage/media/Multi%20Rotor/_MG_8625.jpg.html)
(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/Multi%20Rotor/_MG_8630.jpg) (http://s267.photobucket.com/user/crispimage/media/Multi%20Rotor/_MG_8630.jpg.html)

This is the one that I got for Christmas. I am waiting on some new motors to come to give me a greater lift capacity for my GoPro and will be using the old motors for the son and I to build our own projects.
I think I could build one for about $200 without the FPV gear. FPV is maybe another $200 depending on options.
That is if you already have a radio Tx and batteries.

Crispy
Post by: HoMErMY12 on January 03, 2014, 09:02:05 AM
This is what I'm looking at next. Quadcopters. (Does the spending ever end!!!!!!!  >:D >:D )

Looking at something to use with the gopro for some aerial filming.
Post by: Marschy on January 03, 2014, 09:05:37 AM
That's pretty much what I've just purchased. I'm looking at 1200tvl camera's (780 HD) with either a 2.8-12mm or 9-22mm lens rather than wide angle. These camera's are only around $40 US on Aliexpress.

(http://gallery.myswag.org/gallery/d/47478-1/FPV+Camera.jpg)

However I think the wide angle will be advantageous with FPV.

I'm looking at some 1200kv motors and SBEC ESC's as well for that extra lift and lower power consumption with the SBEC ESC. Also looking at DVR modules with SD cards on Aliexpress to record pretty close to the camera rather than losing image quality after it is transmitted to the receiver.

All this adds a big burden to the flight battery, so I'm going to power all the video/AV transmitter from a separate battery, hence the bigger motors. Don't know whether it will be worth getting 4S motors and ESC's or just high capacity 3S batteries, any advise here would be welcome.

Quad copters are bloody easy to fly, and due to the miriad of knock offs you can get from China, bloody cheap as well.

When I used to fly fixed wing, a trainer and radio set me back close to $1000 about 10 years ago. How things have changed.

Cheers, Marschy

Post by: Marschy on January 03, 2014, 09:16:28 AM
I think I could build one for about $200 without the FPV gear. FPV is maybe another $200 depending on options.
That is if you already have a radio Tx and batteries.

Add about $80-$120 for either a 6 or 9 channel 2.4 ghz digital radio. Cheap as chips. These get good reviews. There are also mods on youtube showing how to convert the AA batteries for the transmitter to Li-Po.

FlySky FS-T6 (http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Freeshipping-Mode-1-FS-FlySky-FS-T6-FS-T6-2-4G-Digital-Proportional-6-Channels-Transmitter/727054711.html)
Post by: Crisp Image on January 03, 2014, 09:24:18 AM
That's pretty much what I've just purchased. I'm looking at 1200tvl camera's (780 HD) with either a 2.8-12mm or 9-22mm lens rather than wide angle. These camera's are only around $40 US on Aliexpress.

(http://gallery.myswag.org/gallery/d/47478-1/FPV+Camera.jpg)

However I think the wide angle will be advantageous with FPV.

I'm looking at some 1200kv motors and SBEC ESC's as well for that extra lift and lower power consumption with the SBEC ESC. Also looking at DVR modules with SD cards on Aliexpress to record pretty close to the camera rather than losing image quality after it is transmitted to the receiver.

All this adds a big burden to the flight battery, so I'm going to power all the video/AV transmitter from a separate battery, hence the bigger motors. Don't know whether it will be worth getting 4S motors and ESC's or just high capacity 3S batteries, any advise here would be welcome.

Quad copters are bloody easy to fly, and due to the miriad of knock offs you can get from China, bloody cheap as well.

When I used to fly fixed wing, a trainer and radio set me back close to $1000 about 10 years ago. How things have changed.

Cheers, Marschy

Have a look at the T motor 2216-11 900kv. They will give you up to 1200g lift per motor which will do the job.
They will also work with a 3s or 4s battery.
I got mine from made to fly in NSW for $38ea which is the best price I have seen. Most prices are around $50-60ea.
If you use a camera gimbal for stability then you would need at least 7 ch radio. I have a Spektrum DX8 and AR8000Rx

Crispy
Post by: Marschy on January 03, 2014, 09:28:39 AM
I'm thinking rather than a pan and tilt gimbal for the camera, of getting a flight control board with altitude hold that adds stability anyway and only using a tilting gimbal which I can still use with a 6 channel radio. Can't see the purpose of a panning gimbal on a quadcopter, when with a bit of rudder you have pan anyway.

If that doesn't work, I'll probably look at the FlySky 9 channel transmitter for around $120 US.
Post by: Marschy on January 03, 2014, 09:31:58 AM
These are the motors I'm looking at

MT28-30 1200KV brushless motor (http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Free-shipping-Paidiss-MT28-30-Series-1200KV-High-Powered-Brushless-Outrunner-Motor-with-Accessories-package/1384850698.html)

and the ESC's

30A SBEC/UBEC Brushless ESC  (http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Mystery-Topspeed-30A-SBEC-UBEC-Brushless-ESC-Programablec-Speed-Control/1515320188.html)
Post by: Marschy on January 03, 2014, 09:44:21 AM
Here's a bit of footage of me stuffing around with my cheapy Kogan UFO quadcopter on Xmas Day.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mjhpJ5uYrZY (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mjhpJ5uYrZY)

This is with a crappy video dvr module that came with the quadcopter, looking forward to better results with a better resolution camera and more stable copter.
Post by: HoMErMY12 on January 03, 2014, 10:13:54 AM
For the experts on the Quadcopters here.

Obviously the ones you guys have posted seem a lot cheaper.
Just after thoughts on this one, suits me as it's gopro ready - http://www.modelflight.com.au/helicopters/blade-350-qx-quadcopter-bnf.html (http://www.modelflight.com.au/helicopters/blade-350-qx-quadcopter-bnf.html)

I'm thinking of using it with a spectrum DX6i transmitter.

Land vehicles I know, but aircraft are a new concept for me.
Post by: gec on January 03, 2014, 10:27:17 AM
My son and I also fly RC planes, here is a few of video's of some of what we fly(thank god for electric and foam)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eLo5wBroG_E&feature=c4-overview&list=UUG-Lt9SYzb91t7o1zf1AffQ (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eLo5wBroG_E&feature=c4-overview&list=UUG-Lt9SYzb91t7o1zf1AffQ)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ToYNnBmQFQ8&list=UUG-Lt9SYzb91t7o1zf1AffQ (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ToYNnBmQFQ8&list=UUG-Lt9SYzb91t7o1zf1AffQ)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wHklivlMr50&list=UUG-Lt9SYzb91t7o1zf1AffQ (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wHklivlMr50&list=UUG-Lt9SYzb91t7o1zf1AffQ)
Post by: Marschy on January 03, 2014, 10:34:36 AM
Hello Homer,

For me, the Model Flight one is expensive for it's size and Model Flight are not my goto place in Adelaide unless I need something quickly as they are quite expensive. The radio you suggest is a good one. Have a look on youtube for '450 quadcopter'.

Although the Model Flight picture shows a gimballed GoPro, I would think a 350 size quad would struggle with a GoPro slung under it.

The 450 size seem to be quite popular with FPV fans. The 'Flamewheel' knock offs are cheap and easy to repair, you can get complete frames for around $12 US plus shipping if you have a bingle.

Cheers, Marschy

All roadsters are sooooo 2 dimensional. Unless you own a Delorian.

Back to the Future Part 2 (1/12) Movie CLIP - We Don't Need Roads (1989) HD (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fCjsUxbNmIs#ws)
Post by: Marschy on January 03, 2014, 10:47:01 AM
For the experts on the Quadcopters here.

Obviously the ones you guys have posted seem a lot cheaper.
Just after thoughts on this one, suits me as it's gopro ready - http://www.modelflight.com.au/helicopters/blade-350-qx-quadcopter-bnf.html (http://www.modelflight.com.au/helicopters/blade-350-qx-quadcopter-bnf.html)

I'm thinking of using it with a spectrum DX6i transmitter.

Land vehicles I know, but aircraft are a new concept for me.

Also look at the props, your going to break a few, the Blade 350 has custom props, when you break one or two after a dicky landing, you're going to have to find suitable replacement props or be willing to replace them through Model Flight for, I expect, a pretty hefty price. Same with the body and motor arms, if you have to replace them, you are going to be spending some money.

The larger the quad, the more stable they are, same with fixed wing RC models. The dimensions are normally from one motor, skip a motor and measure to next motor (12 o'clock and 6 o'clock).

Your radio should handle a quad no problem, use it with the throttle at 50% at first, then dial it up until you feel more comfortable.
Post by: HoMErMY12 on January 03, 2014, 10:58:06 AM
Hello Homer,

For me, the Model Flight one is expensive for it's size and Model Flight are not my goto place in Adelaide unless I need something quickly as they are quite expensive. The radio you suggest is a good one. Have a look on youtube for '450 quadcopter'.

Although the Model Flight picture shows a gimballed GoPro, I would think a 350 size quad would struggle with a GoPro slung under it.

The 450 size seem to be quite popular with FPV fans. The 'Flamewheel' knock offs are cheap and easy to repair, you can get complete frames for around $12 US plus shipping if you have a bingle.

Cheers, Marschy

Thanks Marschy,

That's answered a lot of questions and created more confusion than my trip to model flight yesterday lol.

HoMEr
Post by: Marschy on January 03, 2014, 11:01:23 AM
On second thoughts, the Blade looks like good value, the spare parts are reasonably priced, they have most of the parts that would require repair, it has inbuilt gps with altitude hold and return to home, for these last two items the price is pretty good.
Post by: Crisp Image on January 03, 2014, 11:21:54 AM
Watch the tube and google forums.
Multirotor forums is ok and fpvlab is also ok.
No forums like the swag though.
Maybe we need to start another thread and leave these cars alone!
Marshy those motors look good in the specs. Google them to find reviews. I noticed the wires come from the top and not the bottom. You will also require prop adapters if they don't come with any.[Edit] Looked at the listing and they do come with all that is needed.
Crispy
Post by: HoMErMY12 on January 03, 2014, 11:35:45 AM
On second thoughts, the Blade looks like good value, the spare parts are reasonably priced, they have most of the parts that would require repair, it has inbuilt gps with altitude hold and return to home, for these last two items the price is pretty good.

Now I'm even more confused than I was before hahaha
Post by: Marschy on January 03, 2014, 12:56:52 PM
Hey Crispy,

Are you using FPV goggles or a monitor?

I'm putting a wish list together at the moment of all the bits and pieces I need to record FPV and have OSD/RTH/RTL functionality. I like the look of the Cyclops Storm OSD, but the RTH/RTL functionality doesn't work with copters. I've ordered a KK2 version 2.1 flight board from Hobbyking as it is easier to setup than the KK v2.3 flight board that comes with my kit, and for under $20 is worth a shot.

How do you find the video resolution with the camera via the transmitter?

This is the flight board I am looking at. It has autopilot, on screen display of gps telemetry, and can monitor receiver signal strength, battery capacity and comes with free software for programming flights onto the control board.

APM 2.6 Set (https://store.3drobotics.com/products/apm-2-6-kit-1)

Cheers, Marschy
Post by: Crisp Image on January 03, 2014, 07:34:41 PM
Hey Crispy,

Are you using FPV goggles or a monitor?

I'm putting a wish list together at the moment of all the bits and pieces I need to record FPV and have OSD/RTH/RTL functionality. I like the look of the Cyclops Storm OSD, but the RTH/RTL functionality doesn't work with copters. I've ordered a KK2 version 2.1 flight board from Hobbyking as it is easier to setup than the KK v2.3 flight board that comes with my kit, and for under $20 is worth a shot.

How do you find the video resolution with the camera via the transmitter?

This is the flight board I am looking at. It has autopilot, on screen display of gps telemetry, and can monitor receiver signal strength, battery capacity and comes with free software for programming flights onto the control board.

APM 2.6 Set (https://store.3drobotics.com/products/apm-2-6-kit-1)

Cheers, Marschy

FPV yes. I am using the Skyzone goggles from Foxtechfpv http://www.foxtechfpv.com/skyzone-goggles-rtf-combo-p-1240.html (http://www.foxtechfpv.com/skyzone-goggles-rtf-combo-p-1240.html)
I got the kit but don't use the Vtx. Instead I am using the immersion Vtx.
The video drops in and out when close but is much better when further away. Flying FPV is a strange feeling but I am getting use to it. When I get the new motors the FPV camera is going to be a GoPro black 3 on a gimbal.
(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/Multi%20Rotor/_MG_8631.jpg) (http://s267.photobucket.com/user/crispimage/media/Multi%20Rotor/_MG_8631.jpg.html)

(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/Multi%20Rotor/_MG_8632.jpg) (http://s267.photobucket.com/user/crispimage/media/Multi%20Rotor/_MG_8632.jpg.html)

So my list of parts are (or will be)
T motors 2216-11 900kv
DJI 30a ESC
F450 Flamewheel frame
Generic landing gear
AR8000 Rx
Foxtech Gimbal
Immersion EZOSD
Immersion Video Tx 5.8ghz
Circular polarised antenna
Props TBA after testing
Sky Zone FPV Goggles
Turnergy Nanotech 5000mah 4s bat
Turnergy Nanotech 1000mah 3s bat (For FPV)

I have on order a KK2.1 FC and other parts to make a Tricopter with image number 1 (13yo boy)
Should be fun.

Crispy
Post by: Marschy on January 03, 2014, 07:40:44 PM
I can see why you're getting bigger motors now. The landing gear is quite bulky. I've seen these on eBay/aliexpress but not on an actual quad. The picture tells the story. Just checked the tracking on my quad, it has arrived in Sydney from China so should be here early next week
Post by: Crisp Image on January 03, 2014, 07:42:56 PM
Bulky yes but not heavy.
It about 450g with the gopro and gimbal fitted.
Post by: Marschy on January 03, 2014, 07:52:57 PM
I'm also replacing my props. I'm getting 5 pairs of CW and CCW props in orange and black. It really helps with my UFO copter for orientation, so should help with the f450
Post by: Crisp Image on January 03, 2014, 08:37:18 PM
New Thread for flying things here
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=34452.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=34452.0)
We can leave the cars alone now.
Crispy
Post by: cm4x4nut on January 05, 2014, 07:31:39 AM
oh no, the cheapy is now on its final hub being held together by superglue  :'(

but, the boy has a new one on the way. He is a bit more interested in going faster and tearing around on the dirt than the full on crawling. Was hell bent on getting a Wraith for him and have been on the lookout for a good second hand one for a while, but alot of people seam to want alot of money for trucks that have been flogged alot. So I then thought about buying a kit and building it up and strengthening it, this was going to end up a budget of about $800 when all done and dusted.

Then a mate of mine was looking at selling a couple of his trucks. He had a Poison Spider Wraith which we drove, but was a bit dissapointed in the width and turning circle compared to the Wrangler. He also had a hybrid full metal caged Wroncho (Wraith/SCX-10 combination). This combines the speed and bashability of the Wraith with the axles (with hub extenders) of the SCX-10 which shares all the same spares as the Wrangler. Width wise it fits about half way between the Wrangler and the Wraith...........................price was too good to pass up given that I knew the history and the parts on the truck................................and Blake is loving it :)

Pics to follow later when I can get him to stop it long enough to take an unblurred photo
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on January 08, 2014, 01:30:08 PM
Young bloke picked up another toy car before Christmas. It has a broken front lower control arm. So far I've purchased every single lower control arm eBay has to offer, and all are different. Local hobby shops don't give a rats as it's not the brand they sell or deal in.  >:(

Can anyone recommend a shop I can send the sample to, to identify it and supply a new one? Apparantly it's too hard for most.
I believe it to be a 1/8 Hobao brand ???

Reason the young bloke ended up with it was it was too hard for the original owner to source one too.

Thanks, Shane.
Post by: HoMErMY12 on January 08, 2014, 01:39:23 PM
Any Pictures of the car?

I know Hobby Habit here in Adelaide deal with Hoabo.

HoMEr
Post by: Marschy on January 08, 2014, 01:41:44 PM
If you can determine if Hobby Habit have the part you are after, I can assist in getting the part for you. They are literally 5 minutes from me (same suburb).
Post by: weeds on January 08, 2014, 01:57:09 PM
great thread........

I have always ben temped to buy a rock crawler........

my budget cannot quite get me a SCX10......

considering a HBX Rockfighter http://www.rcgarage.com/rock-fighter-1-10-scale-electric-rock-crawler-with-4-wheel-steering-acdc-charger-7-2v-battery-hbxrockfighter.html (http://www.rcgarage.com/rock-fighter-1-10-scale-electric-rock-crawler-with-4-wheel-steering-acdc-charger-7-2v-battery-hbxrockfighter.html)

interested in your thoughts?

Post by: KingBilly on January 08, 2014, 02:02:57 PM
Can anyone recommend a shop I can send the sample to, to identify it and supply a new one? Apparantly it's too hard for most.

Mate, give these guys a call and see what they can do for you - Oz RC Models, Unit 31, 115 Robinson Rd East, Geebung QLD 4034, phone:(07) 3265 4547.  They normally work from 11am to 6pm but have a large ebay operation as well as their well stocked shop so they often don't pick up the phone and let it go to the answering machine.  Leave a message and they get back to you.  I have had some really good dealings with them.  All young fellas and pretty switched on and passionate about RC stuff.

Post by: weeds on January 08, 2014, 02:07:43 PM
Mate, give these guys a call and see what they can do for you - Oz RC Models, Unit 31, 115 Robinson Rd East, Geebung QLD 4034, phone:(07) 3265 4547.  They normally work from 11am to 6pm but have a large ebay operation as well as their well stocked shop so they often don't pick up the phone and let it go to the answering machine.  Leave a message and they get back to you.  I have had some really good dealings with them.  All young fellas and pretty switched on and passionate about RC stuff.

dropping in on the way home today........

Post by: KingBilly on January 08, 2014, 02:31:25 PM
Next to TJM but down the back.  Look for a blue BMW sedan out the front of the shop.  Owner's wheels if he is there.

Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on January 08, 2014, 02:39:24 PM
Thanks people, will try to remember to grab a pic tonight. I'll give both those mentioned a buzz tomorrow.

Failing that, anyone have a CNC mill in their back shed and too much time on their hands  ;D

Shane.
Post by: cm4x4nut on January 08, 2014, 03:47:07 PM
Young bloke picked up another toy car before Christmas. It has a broken front lower control arm. So far I've purchased every single lower control arm eBay has to offer, and all are different. Local hobby shops don't give a rats as it's not the brand they sell or deal in.  >:(

I believe it to be a 1/8 Hobao brand ???

Reason the young bloke ended up with it was it was too hard for the original owner to source one too.

Thanks, Shane.

Shane, I have been dealing alot with Karl from Mischief and Mayhem Hobbie, and he is local in Nambour for us. He has always been very helpful and especially enthusiaatic when something is a bit "out of the ordinary"
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on January 08, 2014, 04:12:55 PM
Shane, I have been dealing alot with Karl from Mischief and Mayhem Hobbie, and he is local in Nambour for us. He has always been very helpful and especially enthusiaatic when something is a bit "out of the ordinary"

Thanks Craig,

Shane.
Post by: Dion on January 08, 2014, 04:24:49 PM
great thread........

I have always ben temped to buy a rock crawler........

my budget cannot quite get me a SCX10......

considering a HBX Rockfighter http://www.rcgarage.com/rock-fighter-1-10-scale-electric-rock-crawler-with-4-wheel-steering-acdc-charger-7-2v-battery-hbxrockfighter.html (http://www.rcgarage.com/rock-fighter-1-10-scale-electric-rock-crawler-with-4-wheel-steering-acdc-charger-7-2v-battery-hbxrockfighter.html)

interested in your thoughts?

I saw one at a big chain Hobby Shop.  That fan cooled ESC was enough for me to doubt its practicality?
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on January 09, 2014, 07:25:34 AM
Young bloke got a cheap car for his birthday last year. Only bought a cheap one to see if he'd be interested in it and if he'd actually maintain it. Like a cheap camper trailer, I expected to be fixing it continually and it wouldn't be finished well from factory. (OMG, did I say that out loud  :o )

It was real slow and had a turning circle similar to a Mack truck. So I modified it  ;D

Leaned the little engine out so it would actually rev, ripped the front drive shaft out to make it 2wd, locked up the centre diff and changed the clutch to one that actually locks up. Now it hoots.  ;D

But found the next weakest link. The diff spider gears. Maybe they don't like doing 100% of the drive? As a young fella I locked heaps of diffs by way of CIG, but never have I epoxied one  :D Can teach an old dog new tricks.

Last pic is diff from his toy compared to one of mine.

Shane.
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on January 09, 2014, 07:27:59 AM
Pic of the other car with the busted lower arm.

Shane.
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on January 10, 2014, 04:14:35 PM
Any Pictures of the car?

I know Hobby Habit here in Adelaide deal with Hoabo.

HoMEr

Started with these guys first and they had the part on the shelf. Turned up today.

If you can determine if Hobby Habit have the part you are after, I can assist in getting the part for you. They are literally 5 minutes from me (same suburb).

Thanks for the offer Marschy, but they express posted it for me.

Thanks all for the help.

Shane.
Post by: HoMErMY12 on January 10, 2014, 09:29:01 PM
That's awesome news.  Good to see it worked out.

I was in hobby habit today buying the battery and fuel to get the truck running. Fingers crossed it comes alive tomorrow  :D

HoMEr
Post by: HoMErMY12 on January 11, 2014, 02:29:25 PM
Finally........ ITS ALIVE!!!!!

http://youtu.be/iUBxVLk6NMc (http://youtu.be/iUBxVLk6NMc)
Post by: markg66 on January 11, 2014, 04:20:02 PM
You guy's are killing me with all this talk of RC cars.
Just bought  this used Traxxas T-Maxx 2.5 Nitro monster truck off ebay.  >:D
Post by: D4D on January 12, 2014, 12:25:57 PM
Thinking of offloading the Stampede as my son prefers his $50 special :-[

Perfect running order, been used a handful of times, only one small bump, additional fast charger, all original boxes etc. Let me know if you're interested.

http://www.rcgarage.com/stampede-2wd-monster-truck-rtr-12-turn-550-modified-motor-xl-5-esc-battery-charger-3605.html (http://www.rcgarage.com/stampede-2wd-monster-truck-rtr-12-turn-550-modified-motor-xl-5-esc-battery-charger-3605.html)

(http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/NTIwWDcwMA==/z/vJ0AAOxy63FSyW4A/$_3.JPG)
Post by: Crisp Image on January 12, 2014, 01:27:26 PM
Finally........ ITS ALIVE!!!!!

http://youtu.be/iUBxVLk6NMc (http://youtu.be/iUBxVLk6NMc)

Careful you don't get done fro hoon driving! :police:
Crispy
Post by: cm4x4nut on January 13, 2014, 12:16:39 PM
Well the Wrangler has copped some much "needed" upgrades over the past few days  ;D

She is now running;

- full aluminium front and rear axles and steering
- a 35 turn brushed Rockstar motor
- aluminium front bar
- aluminium rear bar
- ???lb winch
- and for the kids benefit.......a driver  8)

as I said.......all much needed  >:D

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/DSC_0112_zps22ff9837.jpg)

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/DSC_0111_zps86fdf63a.jpg)

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/DSC_0113_zps516033d7.jpg)

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/DSC_0118_zps6ddf1948.jpg)

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/DSC_0117_zpsfc110c45.jpg)

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/DSC_0116_zps7d6e6148.jpg)

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/DSC_0115_zpsd29511e1.jpg)

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/DSC_0114_zps84ec87b0.jpg)
Post by: Crisp Image on January 13, 2014, 01:28:30 PM
- and for the kids benefit.......a driver  8)

WHAT you let am Minion Drive? You must be crazy!
Post by: VKPrado on January 14, 2014, 10:11:12 AM

Perfect running order, been used a handful of times, only one small bump, additional fast charger, all original boxes etc. Let me know if you're interested.

http://www.rcgarage.com/stampede-2wd-monster-truck-rtr-12-turn-550-modified-motor-xl-5-esc-battery-charger-3605.html (http://www.rcgarage.com/stampede-2wd-monster-truck-rtr-12-turn-550-modified-motor-xl-5-esc-battery-charger-3605.html)

Could be interested but think the postage to Tasmania would be the killer on the deal.
Post by: cm4x4nut on January 14, 2014, 02:31:06 PM
WHAT you let am Minion Drive? You must be crazy!

at least I have someone to blame when it all goes pear shaped  >:D
Post by: 02-SR5 on January 14, 2014, 04:21:05 PM
I have a Wraith and an SCX10 Dingo sitting on the shelf looking for a new home.

Both in excellent condition.

I built a rock garden to use them on, but we don't seem to find the time to use them.

I want to get into the bigger Baja style buggies. Not sure of the scale, but they are about 3ft long.
Post by: ozbogwam on January 14, 2014, 06:57:32 PM

I have a Wraith and an SCX10 Dingo sitting on the shelf looking for a new home.

Both in excellent condition.

I built a rock garden to use them on, but we don't seem to find the time to use them.

I want to get into the bigger Baja style buggies. Not sure of the scale, but they are about 3ft long.

Are they ready to run? What sort of $$
Post by: 02-SR5 on January 14, 2014, 07:01:32 PM
PM me mate.
Post by: markg66 on January 20, 2014, 11:06:53 AM
Any one looking for bearings and engineering parts for your RC cars / trucks, these guys have them, they are in Brisbane.
http://www.minibearings.com.au/ (http://www.minibearings.com.au/)
Post by: gumboot on January 21, 2014, 10:54:51 AM
Guys,
I have tried a whole bunch of cheap electric  RC buggy for my little boy. They last about a day wth him.
He wants something  good over grass/ dirt etc and a bit of speed. 
Seems only $50 or $300 plus , Anything in between? Any recomendations?
Robert
Post by: KingBilly on January 21, 2014, 08:11:51 PM
Guys,
I have tried a whole bunch of cheap electric  RC buggy for my little boy. They last about a day wth him.
He wants something  good over grass/ dirt etc and a bit of speed. 
Seems only $50 or $300 plus , Anything in between? Any recomendations?
Robert

Mate, give these guys a call and see what they can do for you - Oz RC Models, Unit 31, 115 Robinson Rd East, Geebung QLD 4034, phone:(07) 3265 4547.  They are also online http://stores.ebay.com.au/OZ-RC-MODELS (http://stores.ebay.com.au/OZ-RC-MODELS) but highly recommend dropping in to see them.  Very friendly and helpful.  I'm just a happy, repeat customer.

Post by: gumboot on January 23, 2014, 12:14:50 PM
Thanks KB,
I will check them out as they are not far away
Robert
Post by: HoMErMY12 on January 24, 2014, 02:21:22 PM
Well that was short lived..........

Been at the caravan park since Monday, decided to get the truck out today, before it got to crowded for the long weekend. Once it was tuned and ready to go a crowd started to form around me. And what do you do when a crowd forms............. Show off.............

Oops half a tank of fuel later I'm carrying the truck back to my site with a blown front diff  >:( first time I've done a diff so I don't carry spares.

I guess that's done for the weekend  :'(

Now back to the  :cheers: to drown my sorrows  :cheers:
Post by: woolgoolgaoffroad on April 03, 2014, 09:24:13 PM
Hi all.
I am getting inspired from the amount of RC cars here ( maybe at the next meet we can have a RC test track !!?? )..

Anyway does any one have one of these AXIAL SCX10 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 1/10 4WD RC Truck ??
I saw it on 4wd tv this arvo and it looked pretty good. Not sure what the alternatives would be but am open to suggestions and where to purchase one from

Then I jumped onto Youtube and found this guy that built a van ( bloody amazing detail ) for his jeep to keep GI Jane happy........

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=auMvK8iZ0BE (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=auMvK8iZ0BE)
Post by: Crisp Image on April 04, 2014, 07:29:33 AM
Hi all.
I am getting inspired from the amount of RC cars here ( maybe at the next meet we can have a RC test track !!?? )..

That sounds good and we can film it from above using the quad multi rotor.
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on April 04, 2014, 08:48:43 AM
Well that was short lived..........

Been at the caravan park since Monday, decided to get the truck out today, before it got to crowded for the long weekend. Once it was tuned and ready to go a crowd started to form around me. And what do you do when a crowd forms............. Show off.............

Oops half a tank of fuel later I'm carrying the truck back to my site with a blown front diff  >:( first time I've done a diff so I don't carry spares.

I guess that's done for the weekend  :'(

Now back to the  :cheers: to drown my sorrows  :cheers:

I disconnected the front diff from the young blokes car. It needed a paddock to turn and was real sluggish to accelerate. Removed the front drive shaft, locked the centre diff and now it screams and will turn the tightest of corners. It then destroyed the rear diff, so I locked it. Now it's way cool. Loose, but way cool!

Shane.
Post by: cm4x4nut on April 04, 2014, 11:57:26 AM
Hi all.

Anyway does any one have one of these AXIAL SCX10 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 1/10 4WD RC Truck ??
I saw it on 4wd tv this arvo and it looked pretty good. Not sure what the alternatives would be but am open to suggestions and where to purchase one from

Then I jumped onto Youtube and found this guy that built a van ( bloody amazing detail ) for his jeep to keep GI Jane happy........

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=auMvK8iZ0BE (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=auMvK8iZ0BE)

yes mate, I have had one of these for a bit over 6 months now

as it was out of the box

and as the little truck sits at the moment

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/20131224_102053_zps80fdad34.jpg)
Post by: cm4x4nut on April 04, 2014, 12:02:00 PM
have also upgraded the boys one. He now owns a metal framed Axial Wraith that we have just rebuilt including carbon fibre wrapped body panels

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/Image00002_zps59e4c755.jpg)

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/Image00011_zps138f08a2.jpg)

(http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k80/cam_champion/Image00004_zpsd474433e.jpg)
Post by: woolgoolgaoffroad on April 04, 2014, 09:02:11 PM
yes mate, I have had one of these for a bit over 6 months now

as it was out of the box

and as the little truck sits at the moment

Thanks Craig, looks good.

So how do you rate it ?...
And with things like.. can you upgrade parts.... price pretty good and the fun factor ??

Post by: cm4x4nut on April 04, 2014, 09:31:17 PM
Thanks Craig, looks good.

So how do you rate it ?...
And with things like.. can you upgrade parts.... price pretty good and the fun factor ??

It is a barrel load of fun. To drive it is very similar to driving the real thing.........just smaller. You need to think about the same lines, obstacles and such. It is a lot more fun to drive than the Wraith. Don't get me wrong, the Wraith is a good speed toy, but the wrangler is must so much scale fun.

Hmmmm, let me see, can you upgrade it...........the SCX10 is very easy to upgrade and there are a tonne of parts available........this one now owes me a bit over $1000 above the original purchase price..........so yeah plenty you can upgrade..........and still more for me to do if I want to.

So far running, alloy bead locks, IROK tyres, upgrade shocks/springs, 35 turn motor, winch, high power servo, full alloy axles front and rear, wraith alloy suspension links, roof rack, full alloy steering, CV front steering knuckles, solid steel drive shafts aluminium front and rear bars and a fair bit of home made alloy bits

Yeah it is fun and addictive
Post by: woolgoolgaoffroad on April 04, 2014, 10:11:27 PM
thanks Craig....
I think you just sold me one
Post by: cm4x4nut on April 05, 2014, 07:05:49 AM
thanks Craig....
I think you just sold me one

sorry  >:D
Post by: D4D on April 05, 2014, 07:17:23 AM

The Stampede is now officially for sale as my son hasn't wanted to play with it for months. It needs to find a new home where it will get lots of use.
Post by: DirtyJ on April 16, 2014, 08:24:59 PM
I went cheap to see if I was going to get hooked. My HSP 1/16th 4x4 is now in the shed with lots of worn bits and broken axles after too many 3m high jumps.
The truck was less than $150 when I got it but had to add lipo batteries. Spent just as much on a decent spectrum radio set which made a massive difference to driving.

Long story cut a bit short... Buy one of the top name brands first up. Anything less and you're just throwing it away.

I would definetly pay the extra for brushless and lipo though. The extra run time and power are worth it.

My 2 cents...

Sent from somewhere I wish I wasn't, using Tapatalk
Post by: woolgoolgaoffroad on April 21, 2014, 09:14:34 PM
Would anyone recommend an online shop where they sell the AXIAL SCX10 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 1/10 4WD RC Truck ??
Post by: RallyDog on April 21, 2014, 09:19:14 PM
You could try RC Planet thay have free shipping or power slied racing in QLD. Hope this helps.
Dicko
Post by: woolgoolgaoffroad on April 21, 2014, 09:48:28 PM
Thanks Dicko
Post by: MrNoodle on April 21, 2014, 10:02:59 PM
I got a traxxas nitro rustler in the shed.  I wish I had of bought a battery one.  It just sits there

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Post by: froggy on April 22, 2014, 07:41:38 AM

Would anyone recommend an online shop where they sell the AXIAL SCX10 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 1/10 4WD RC Truck ??
try tower hobbies in the US. I can give you a discount code that takes care of most of the postage cost. Also depending on what model you get they can split the payment over 3 months if it helps.
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/WTI0095P?FVSEARCH=axial+%3Cb%3Escx-%3C%2Fb%3E10
Post by: cm4x4nut on April 22, 2014, 03:37:37 PM

I got mine from Mild to Wild RC mate.

Was about the best price about 8 months ago on vehicle and charger. They are Brissy based
Post by: evolution on April 22, 2014, 04:27:01 PM
Does anyone by any chance have any wheel bearings in an
8x4x3 mm ?
I'm struggling to get any down here in Wodonga.

Evo
Post by: KingBilly on April 22, 2014, 04:34:57 PM
http://www.minibearings.com.au (http://www.minibearings.com.au)
Post by: evolution on April 22, 2014, 04:44:51 PM
Thanks mate, I'll give them a try tomorrow.  ;D

Evo
Post by: KingBilly on April 22, 2014, 04:57:28 PM
Can also recommend these guys

Oz RC Models, Unit 31, 115 Robinson Rd East, Geebung QLD 4034, phone:(07) 3265 4547.

They are also online http://stores.ebay.com.au/OZ-RC-MODELS (http://stores.ebay.com.au/OZ-RC-MODELS)

Post by: evolution on April 22, 2014, 05:13:21 PM
thanks mate, Its a bit hard as the tracker was missing the wheel bearings. So Im not 100% sure what bearings its supposed to have. The down side is the local hobby shop didn't have any at all grrrrrr.

Evo
Post by: Vitara_JaycoSwift_Outback on April 26, 2014, 06:01:07 PM
My wife bought me one of these today http://www.tamiyashop.com.au/shop/tamiya-58449-tamiya-2009-tt01e-tt01-typee-chassis-p-90014195.html (http://www.tamiyashop.com.au/shop/tamiya-58449-tamiya-2009-tt01e-tt01-typee-chassis-p-90014195.html)

I need to learn a lot about how they all work so I can make it better and faster.
Post by: RallyDog on June 09, 2014, 07:35:52 PM
Slow build took me over 12 months to build a hpi 5sc kit 1/5scale.
Post by: VKPrado on June 09, 2014, 09:37:13 PM
Very appropriate with the running of the the Finke Desert Race just being run.

Looks awesome.
Post by: D4D on February 02, 2015, 07:07:55 AM
Cool RC ad https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BOZywMwhEIM (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BOZywMwhEIM)

Some more https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zO-9sK9v0Fo (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zO-9sK9v0Fo)

Post by: GGV8Cruza on June 20, 2015, 12:05:41 PM
Bugger, purchased a cheaper unit from Jaycar for Xmas for the young fella and it failed twice. Got my money back yesterday so big thumbs up to Hallam Jaycar. Went up the road to the hobby shop and upgraded to a brush less unit which has now been charged and get a run today. http://www.hallamhobbies.com.au/index.php?ID=8&DID=8121&PID=235 (http://www.hallamhobbies.com.au/index.php?ID=8&DID=8121&PID=235)

Of course puchased extra batteries and bits today from hobby king and looking at converting my Revo 3.3 to electric, the noisy engine is not allowed at too many parks any more.

Post by: V8CRSA on June 20, 2015, 12:12:20 PM
I went brushless years ago, can't beat it.
Post by: markg66 on June 20, 2015, 01:35:36 PM
I'm still on fuel, can't beat topping up the fuel tank and going for it again, not to mention the lovely smell of Methanol and nitro-methane in the morning................
Post by: D4D on July 05, 2015, 11:26:03 AM
I'm considering buying a small Scalextric set. Can't decide between 1/64 or 1/32.

1/64 - track looks more interesting

(http://cdn6.bigcommerce.com/s-ij2up/products/956/images/1369/g1118c__24855.1434940391.1280.1280.jpg)

1/32 - bigger cars

(http://cdn6.bigcommerce.com/s-ij2up/products/947/images/1258/C1319c__89508.1433393972.1280.1280.jpg)
Post by: D4D on September 23, 2016, 05:10:05 PM
My son is going to go nuts when he sees this.
http://www.axialracing.com/products/ax90055 (http://www.axialracing.com/products/ax90055)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJRDJexSrtg (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJRDJexSrtg)
Post by: kylarama on December 08, 2016, 08:57:16 PM
Since I was a kid in the 80's I wanted a Tamiya Hornet.  Well my neighbor came home with one last weekend for his boys (yeah right), inspiring me to get my own.

Visited a hobby shop today with the view of getting The Frog, cause I couldn't be a copycat.  As cool as they are and the whole retro thing, reality is its 32 year old technology.

Hopefully come Saturday I'll have a Traxxas Rustler.

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161208/c748ecdcfb680a058d4820488bc40c4f.jpg)

No LiPo batteries or brushless motors, but good cheap fun and plenty of scope for future hop ups.

Post by: Nomad on December 08, 2016, 10:19:59 PM
I got my 9 year old a hornet for his birthday. It was on sale at Toyworld for about $275. I like the fact I can fix 32 year old technology lol. He had heaps of fun with it.......the body is fairly cactus but everything else has held up pretty well.  :cheers:
Post by: edz on December 08, 2016, 11:16:57 PM
Go to garage sales,You can get lucky...  got three Tamiya Hornets and radio's for $20, They had been pretty well trashed but built one decent one out of the three  and had spares ..
When the daughter got tired of it after a year or so,  we gave them away to a neighbours kid .
Post by: GGV8Cruza on December 09, 2016, 05:52:37 AM
My first was a Hornet, that was a long time ago. I have a supershot in the shed and a couple of others. Always on the lookout for a bargain, would like to pick up a Frog next

Post by: kylarama on December 09, 2016, 06:43:57 AM
Toyworld have got a ready to run Hornet on special for $250 and Hearns Hobbies want around $350 for a ready to run Frog.  Both come with a 7.2v 1800mh battery and 2 hour 240v charger.

The Traxxas Rustler is $350 rtr and has a 8.4v 3000mh batt and 4amp 12v charger, perfect for camping.  The Traxxas looks a bit more robust with a ton of aftermarket parts available, plus its fully waterproof.

The whole retro reliving my youth still does have its appeal though.

Post by: kylarama on December 09, 2016, 08:54:32 PM
This found its way into the back of my car this arvo.

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161209/d6609bc248d9c534b7d9a5940ffc7279.jpg)

Its still there too. Haven't figured out how to tell the wife....

Post by: DrewXT on December 09, 2016, 09:31:03 PM

Tell her the tax return paid for it!
Post by: timmyh80 on December 10, 2016, 05:12:28 AM
Don't know if anyone has seen these, but thought it an appropriate addition to the thread.

http://www.vaultrc.com/product/oztrek-rc-camper-trailer/
Oztrek rc scale camper trailer was designed to mimic  the Australian classic 4×4 camper trailers you see in real life.

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161209/a525ddafebc85b1f69b4b7caf6318228.jpg)
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161209/76e1b400e2b6e76bc9ad44c3e17141a0.jpg)

Post by: Nomad on December 10, 2016, 07:33:46 AM

Won it in a raffle?
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on December 10, 2016, 07:48:44 AM

I nearly had the same dilemma last weekend,  but with a Harley   ;D

Post by: oldmate on December 10, 2016, 07:52:56 AM
Wouldn't fit in the boot? Hahaha

Post by: Spada on December 10, 2016, 07:54:48 AM

Tell her you lost a bet  >:D
Post by: kylarama on December 10, 2016, 08:40:37 AM
It was purchased with some cash leftover from the sale of my dirt bike earlier this year. I might have sold the bike for more than what I told her...

She wants a new home stereo. So I might go and get her one as a distraction.

As the old saying goes. It's easier to beg for forgiveness than ask for permission.

Won it in a raffle?

The search history on the computer over the last week kinda makes it less convincing...
Post by: D4D on December 10, 2016, 08:42:10 AM
It was purchased with some cash leftover from the sale of my dirt bike earlier this year. I might have sold the bike for more than what I told her...

Unless she reads myswag ;D ;D ;D
Post by: fergy on December 10, 2016, 09:53:18 AM
wrap it up with Chrissy paper and put to you from santa on it
sneak it under the tree on Christmas eve
if asked just tell her santa must have brought it
question her Christmas spirit if she keeps asking >:D >:D
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on December 10, 2016, 10:24:59 AM
Tell her you lost a bet  >:D

Ouch   >:D
Post by: DrewXT on December 10, 2016, 10:36:39 AM

The search history on the computer over the last week kinda makes it less convincing...

You can delete search history... ;)

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Post by: 2010banditsa on December 10, 2016, 11:39:07 AM
man i wish i hadn't seen this thread again.... oops now it'll come up in my posts
Post by: kylarama on December 10, 2016, 01:09:55 PM
I wasn't quick enough on the delete Drew...

All good now though. There's 2 big boxes wrapped and under the tree containing a reasonably expensive Sony stereo now. I'm so in the good books when she gets home.

Traxxas is currently on charge, but forgot to get AA batts for the controller.

Post by: kylarama on December 13, 2016, 09:45:41 PM
So the battery has had about 6 charges since Saturday arvo. Apparently the Rustler is a good bit of gear. So miss 9 and miss 6 tell me! They've had about 85% of the run time...  It has battle scares.

These things have a beginner mode on the esc. You can lock it to 50% max throttle for the kids.  In full mode it goes pretty good, so I'd imagine brushless with Lipo's would be a handful.

Post by: 2010banditsa on September 24, 2019, 04:42:59 PM
digging up an old thread.....

Reckon ill be getting an offroad car for the son. Hobby Habit in Adelaide seemed ok and have been importing their own "Hobby Plus" units. Anyone heard of them or tried them? Still not cheap by any stretch of the imagination.

https://www.hobbyhabit.com.au/HBP-C161011SC-BLS.html?ref_cat_id=Radio-Controlled-Vehicles-Electric-Off-Road-Cars
Post by: rockrat on September 24, 2019, 04:53:53 PM
digging up an old thread.....

Reckon ill be getting an offroad car for the son. Hobby Habit in Adelaide seemed ok and have been importing their own "Hobby Plus" units. Anyone heard of them or tried them? Still not cheap by any stretch of the imagination.

https://www.hobbyhabit.com.au/HBP-C161011SC-BLS.html?ref_cat_id=Radio-Controlled-Vehicles-Electric-Off-Road-Cars
Four things would be top of mind for me:
1. Is it age appropriate for your son?
2. Can you get spares easily?
3. Is it a brushless motor?
4. Is the battery a standard size / form factor.

You could also go to your local RC car club and talk to some club members.

Hobby King is an online retailer (out of Hong Kong / China I think). They have reasonable gear at reasonable prices.

Post by: 2010banditsa on September 24, 2019, 04:59:23 PM
Hey Rockrat, thanks for responding. to answer your questions...

he's 10, so a bit advanced for him, but I'm willing to hel;p him out with it
Hobby Habit import all the spares, so yes very easy which was one of the attractions
yes mate, brushless, 4wd, and lipo battery
not sure about the .shape, i'll suss that out

cheers for that.
Post by: 2010banditsa on December 11, 2019, 12:05:12 PM
Draggin it up again..... my son really wants a car for Christmas, now thinking of getting the ECX Torment as a starter to learn and see how he goes (hes 8 so not too fast required). Getting decent 12v capable charger and battery as well. Trawled through the previous messages and cant see anything on these units, although plenty of online reviews say theyre ok value for money. Could prob get for 20 or 30 dollars cheaper ordering online, but cant be arsed and want to stitch up for Christmas. Anyone know anything about these Torments?  :cheers:

https://www.modelflight.com.au/ecx-torment-1-18th-4wd-rtr-short-course-truck-grey-orange.html
Post by: wilson79 on December 11, 2019, 02:52:47 PM
If you want a really good car for bashing I have a Arrma Typhon and it is pretty good Ive had it for 4 years now. Its brushless 1/8 4x4 buggy and Bloody fast on 4s. does around 80kmh, I have thrown a 6s battery in it once and it clocked 103km/h. It has copped a flogging with heaps of jumps and crashes and is still going. My Son has a little 1/10 VRX spirt it is also a 4x4 buggy which started out brushes until the ESC Shit itself, I purchased a cheap brushless motor and ESC and it flys too.

good fun to take camping and on the beach
Post by: 2010banditsa on December 11, 2019, 03:15:11 PM
thanks for the suggestions Tug, but i'm looking for something cheaper to get him going and then see if he likes it...
Post by: DrewXT on December 11, 2019, 03:34:41 PM
My son has a $50 car from Target that he loves... But I'm tipping you want something better than that...

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

Post by: rockrat on December 11, 2019, 08:18:57 PM
Just ask if they can get spares.

Post by: rotare on December 12, 2019, 10:09:34 AM
Draggin it up again..... my son really wants a car for Christmas, now thinking of getting the ECX Torment as a starter to learn and see how he goes (hes 8 so not too fast required). Getting decent 12v capable charger and battery as well. Trawled through the previous messages and cant see anything on these units, although plenty of online reviews say theyre ok value for money. Could prob get for 20 or 30 dollars cheaper ordering online, but cant be arsed and want to stitch up for Christmas. Anyone know anything about these Torments?  :cheers:

https://www.modelflight.com.au/ecx-torment-1-18th-4wd-rtr-short-course-truck-grey-orange.html

ECX Torment is a good car for the money - but my experience is more related to the 1:10 scale, not 1:18 scale.  It isn't quite as refined as some of the bigger names, but nonetheless they are quite durable and replacement parts are cheap (in relative terms!) and easy to come by either in store, or online.  I've dealt with the guys at modelflight plenty of time over the years, and they're quite reasonable and helpful. 
Post by: 2010banditsa on December 12, 2019, 12:24:46 PM
sweet, thanks gents, i'm going to run with the Torment (or Ruckas) basically same but aesthetics I believe. 
Post by: rockrat on December 12, 2019, 06:39:31 PM
You know, you really should buy two. Your son will love racing you (that’s what you should tell the other half anyway).

Post by: 2010banditsa on December 13, 2019, 10:54:09 AM
i'd love 2, and may well get a second as my birthday in Feb, just struggle to spend that much in 1 crack..... i'm actually looking forward to making a track for them at home, as we have a lot of space.