General => General Discussion => Topic started by: edz on October 24, 2019, 12:06:37 PM

Title: Ice maker and Eskies
Post by: edz on October 24, 2019, 12:06:37 PM
Conversation with a mate, ran along the lines of getting an Ice maker and running it off the 3000W inverter he already has, preloading cold stuffs and ice into the Eskies for his camping trip [ usualy two weeks ] . Ice machine makes 15 kg ice in 24 hrs  so he can use that to top up his Eskies  .. 
My thoughts .. Just buy a bloody fridge .. The ice maker pulls a 130W add that to the inverter and its going to suck some decent battery power
His was,  well the Eskies are more flexible as in use and go were ever plus can stack inside each other as there emptied for extra insulation / space .  Plus he will be out and about running the truck to keep batteries charged as well as solar and its a cheaper and lighter set up ...
Thought I'd throw it out there to hear  your thoughts .
https://www.kogan.com/au/buy/kogan-32l-ice-cube-maker/ (https://www.kogan.com/au/buy/kogan-32l-ice-cube-maker/)
Title: Re: Ice maker and Eskies
Post by: tryagain on October 24, 2019, 12:45:09 PM
Need to factor in the water required to make the ice as well I guess.
Post by: Pottsy on October 24, 2019, 01:22:01 PM
carry or have access to water, carry eskys, carry ice machine, nah, stop being a tight arse and buy a bloody fridge.
Post by: jwb on October 24, 2019, 07:00:55 PM
My daughter and her partner have a similar unit which he fired up last night when I stayed over for the night.
The ice that it generated didn't last that long in my rum drinks.
I don't think it would last long in a esky situation.
YMMV.

Post by: Bird on October 24, 2019, 07:28:32 PM
Quote from: edz
. Just buy a bloody fridge
This.
Post by: GeoffA on October 24, 2019, 07:52:35 PM
...never mind all the stuffing about...

Post by: Rodt on October 25, 2019, 06:13:26 AM
Off topic but years ago had a mate who was in need of a second (beer) fridge and he ended up buying a second hand ice maker from a local shop and fair dinkum it was the best beer fridge ever. Nothing like a beer straight out of the ice in NW Qld in the middle of summer  :cup:
Post by: edz on October 25, 2019, 06:46:09 AM
Well thats sort of one for the plus side of things  8)
Post by: paul.o on October 25, 2019, 08:55:42 AM
As stated above, I doubt the ice will last long as it won't be very "cold". It will be frozen water, but it won't be like bagged ice from the servo/bottle that's been sitting at minus whatever for a couple of weeks to cure.

Post by: GBC on October 25, 2019, 09:13:54 AM
He's mental, you're not.
Post by: k100dennis on October 25, 2019, 09:16:25 AM
Nothing quite like everything being wet from the thawed ice, especially paper wrapping.  Get the fridge I reckon.  Tell him to get a Silent Knight fridge with the kerosene burner, they were the go, especially when they didn't burn clean inside a shack.
Post by: briann532 on October 25, 2019, 02:55:32 PM
Too much fart arsing around changing the ice as it only makes 9 cubes or something per batch? (You have to keep replacing, adding water etc.)

As others said, just buy a bleeding fridge. After all that's what they're for.

On a side track...…… I had a mate (He's a swagger too, so I probably shouldn't admit to this!!!) Lets just say a distance acquaintance of un reputable behaviour, bought a chest freezer cheaply when on special. Then changed the thermostat so it operates on fridge temp not freezer ( a few buck on ebay for the thermos)
No "cold" spills out when opening and its WAY better insulated than a standard fridge.
Also cheaper and cheaper to run.

win, win, win. Cold beer  :cheers:
Post by: bazt on October 27, 2019, 04:23:39 PM
The ice that it generated didn't last that long in my rum drinks.
I have one that works well but the ice is bagged and stored in the freezer so lasts well in drinks etc.Cant see me doing that on the road.