Author Topic: PORT DOUGLAS caravan park for 2 nights which one  (Read 4167 times)

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
PORT DOUGLAS caravan park for 2 nights which one
« on: March 11, 2012, 08:37:03 PM »
Swaggers,

looking for advice on which park to spend 2 nights in on way north this year for cape trip any help appreciated.

JET ;D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Re: PORT DOUGLAS caravan park for 2 nights which one
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2012, 09:01:47 PM »
G'day JET
We stayed at Wonga Beach van park about 8 months ago.
We were very happy with the park.Clean and right on the beach.
Not at Port Douglas but not that far away.

« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2012, 09:44:05 PM »
G'day Jet,

We stayed at the Glengarry Park just outside of Port last year, nice spot and the people that ran the park helpful and friendly.

« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2012, 05:11:21 AM »
The 1 closest to the pub always  :cheers:

Offline Victim

« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2012, 06:50:31 AM »
Hi Jet,

Im going to Port Douglas for easter this year and we are staying at the Tropic Breeze park in town..

Spoke to a mate who lives up there and he said it is next to a backpackers hostel so it could get noisey at night  ??? Time will tell i guess... If i have too many beers I might out do them with my drunken singing  >:D

Its my first time to up there so I will let you know what its like..

2004 100 Series Kakadu V8 Landcruiser

« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2012, 07:50:02 AM »
We always stay at the Mossman Riverside caravan Park when we are travelling through that area.

http://www.mossmanriversideleisurepark.com.au/index.htm

Small friendly park away from the crowds.

Offline Kris

« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2012, 10:31:44 AM »
We stayed at Pandanus CP last July.  Loved the park, great fantastic camp kitchen!  We were in tents though.  Also stayed at Wonga Beach- nice park too, windy on the beach.  Kris
2006 Hilux SR towing 1999 Kimberley Kamper

« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2012, 12:44:09 PM »
Hey Jetcrew,

If you're ok with staying a bit out of Port, we love Pinnacle Village. It's a bit further north, but right on the beach.

Photos from last year:
https://picasaweb.google.com/103228508094767625630/20110423CampingPinnacleVillageForEaster

As Sol says, Wonga Beach is nice also.

Good luck!

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #8 on: March 12, 2012, 12:46:19 PM »
Matto,

How long is the drive to port from there ?

JET :cheers:
RV POWER SOLUTIONS

« Reply #9 on: March 12, 2012, 01:27:32 PM »
Pinnacle would be my recommendation also......About 40mins north of Port.....

Sent from my MB860 using Tapatalk

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #10 on: March 12, 2012, 01:50:56 PM »
Sounds like pinnacle is the go, I will be leaving cairns and have 2 days to squeeze in before 4 days at cape trib camping to do all the tourist things and reef trip etc.

I am worried that port might not have much to offer and thought about pinnacle for 2 days ,but then it,s pretty close to cape trib and might just be worth 6 days at cape tribe as a base and go out from there.

Or do you local guys reckon that wonga beach (pinnacle) is worth having as a base for 2 days and do a few things close to there before moving on to cape  trib and just do a drive through and lunch stop in port for Lara to see it as she has never been there.

For info at cape trib we are doing Ocean safari reef trip,jungle surfing,sea kayaking and a rainforest walk. 1 activity per day.

So what could we do based from pinnacle I thought mossman gorge.

This is so much harder than just driving past everything on the way to catch barra.LOL :D

Jet :cheers:
RV POWER SOLUTIONS

« Reply #11 on: March 12, 2012, 04:34:15 PM »
I am worried that port might not have much to offer and thought about pinnacle for 2 days ,but then it,s pretty close to cape trib and might just be worth 6 days at cape tribe as a base and go out from there.

Or do you local guys reckon that wonga beach (pinnacle) is worth having as a base for 2 days and do a few things close to there before moving on to cape  trib and just do a drive through and lunch stop in port for Lara to see it as she has never been there.
Hey Jet,

Personally, Port doesn't hold much for me. I like going there for lunch (the pub right at the end of the main drag serves great food for good prices), and the lookout is worth a visit, but otherwise I get bored pretty quick. Price-wise it's very expensive (to eat and to stay), and there's lots of boutique shops like at Noosa. Unlike Noosa though, they're just selling the same old stuff at high prices. Likewise, 4 Mile Beach doesn't really do it for me.

You could stay at cape trib the whole time, but then you'll have to come back over the ferry to go to Port. And the ferry is expensive. Sounds like you've got a good agenda for your cape trib stay. The guy who runs the sea kayaking tours is a nice bloke.

Personally, I'd go from Cairns to Pinnacle, and set up for 2 nights. Stay there the first afternoon/night and explore the beach. Day 2, head back to Port for lunch and a walk - 3 hours and you'll have done it all. Back to Pinnacle via Mossman for a look at the gorge. I believe you need to pay to get in these days, but it's worth a look. Back home for dinner and wine on the beach :)

Anger option - there's a bird sanctuary at Port. They do Breakfast With The Birds, and Lunch With The Lorrikeets. The breakfast is meant to be really nice, but we've never managed to wake up early enough to get all the way up there for it :).

You could always take a run up the Rex Range from Mossman to Julatten - there's nice views up there. You'll be at the top of the Black Mountain Road if you wanted a quick 4wd jaunt back down towards Cairns (ends up at Kuranda).

I like your plan. How long do you have in Cairns?

Cheers!

Offline Nutto

• Burning desire to camp.....
« Reply #12 on: March 12, 2012, 05:04:53 PM »
Jetcrew
IMO, what Matto says sums it up.

Nutto

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #13 on: March 12, 2012, 07:02:15 PM »
Hey Jet,

You could stay at cape trib the whole time, but then you'll have to come back over the ferry to go to Port. And the ferry is expensive. Sounds like you've got a good agenda for your cape trib stay. The guy who runs the sea kayaking tours is a nice bloke.

I like your plan. How long do you have in Cairns?

Cheers!

Thats good news about the paddletrex guy he seemed very nice on the phone and has said my little tacker can come out even though he is under age so long as I supply my vest for him( got his ggod one off the boat) and he passes a swim test. So that was good service in my book.

We are doing 4 days in CNS I have been there alot over the years but Lara and the boys not, so we will stay at the coconut palms (Expensive) I know but the kids will love it. I am thinking of reducing it to 3 days and then having another 3 day stay at wherever which is looking like pinacle at this stage.

The reason is that we are not doing any reef trips or anything from CNS so a walk at the esp and look around etc will get done in 3 days. than we will have 3 days in the mid section with a base at pinnicle and 4 days up at cape trib then head to cooktown to met up with the group at the pub.

Not a very adventouous plan but I am lucky getting Lara to agree to this trip so i want ease her into being on the road so to speak so a nice easy sheduale with amenities is a good ease in for here.

And to be honest I am making sure that no one is tired or cranky before we start the real cape trip , long drives and set-ups for one night
 = cranky kids=crankywife =divorce on the roads ;D ;D

I will post up my iteniary and let you northern boys have a look at it for your comments. There are a thousand spots I'd like to go to but for this trip nice and easy is the idea.

Thanks agian everyone , once agian myswag trumps google hands down. ;D ;D

JET :D :D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS

« Reply #14 on: March 12, 2012, 07:05:56 PM »
What dates are you here? Should catch up for a coldie?

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #15 on: March 12, 2012, 07:36:11 PM »
What dates are you here? Should catch up for a coldie?

Looking like

Wed 13th     till   fri morn 15th    or    sat morn 16th       JUNE 2012

Need to decide this week and make a booking. would be great to have a beer with you nthern lot.

JET ;D

RV POWER SOLUTIONS

« Reply #16 on: March 12, 2012, 07:44:48 PM »
I leave  Sunday the 17th June for the Cape.

Looking like

Wed 13th     till   fri morn 15th    or    sat morn 16th       JUNE 2012

Need to decide this week and make a booking. would be great to have a beer with you nthern lot.

JET ;D

Offline @fnq4now

« Reply #17 on: March 14, 2012, 01:12:37 PM »
Hi Jetcrew,

If the family is wanting time at the beach, Newell Beach (just past Mossman) would be a better option than Wonga.  It has a c/van park ( no idea what it's like).

http://www.newellbeachcaravanpark.com.au/

In Port Douglas, as Matto said, the Courthouse Hotel has great food at good prices.  Cain Toad Racing is always a hit with the kids but doesnt start untill 7-8pm.  The Port Douglas market is great but only operates Sunday mornings.  If you happen to time it right you can buys prawns direct from the trawler at the marina. If your into boats there are some awesome examples at the marina also.

Mossman Gorge is beautiful and great for a swim on a hot day.  It's still free at this stage but that may change before you get up here.

Cairns council have 'free' periods throughout the year for the Daintree Ferry. Depends on the timing.

Jungle surfing is awesome rain hail or shine.

Enjoy your trip!!  ;D
"The problem with common sense is that it's just not very common."